(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

BROWN RICE:
hello mummies, wanna get info from you.
I am going to start my son on brown rice soon.
I read that there is organic brown rice fr Earth's Best shop at Tanglin mall right?
Does it come in powder form, or do i have to grind it myself?

I aw aware Eu Yan Sang has brown rice powder form, but it comes with some other stuff in it. Wonder if anyone has tried it? $9 per tin if i am not wrong ....

306345.gif

Anyone here knows where i can buy plain brown rice in powder form for babies?

Deniz,

The thing is Sharyn going 11mths still only weighing 8 plus. Based on her age, having such a weight can be considered small. How old is Meghan? Younger right?

deniz, that avatar maker beautifies mah :p

cody, grains that are grounded cant keep for long (a month in the fridge max?) without the nutrients disintegrating, so if you find any pre-grounded rice thats sold in cans and has long shelf-life, chances are that preservatives are added or the nutrients are all gone. I grind my own BR with a grinder. Quite simple, just throw in grinder, grind and keep in bottle!

berry
need to ask for medusa's assistance, she sure can help you colour your hair. :p

yuru
very nice pixs of cindy.
. See, i always tell you she is a pretty gal!

AVOCADO
i fed rhyan avocado with cereal previously and he ate. now tt i do not feed cereal anymore, hv not figured out how to feed plain avocado to him coz he is not keen on most fruits, only likes apples and pears. i can give him a sweet papaya and he scrunch his face at me. i feed fruits by ME eating one mouth then he eat the next mouth leh, and i dun fancy eating avocado myself (yucks!).

BB's intake and weight
Eh, i also feel that bb eat alot NOT EQUAL to better weight. rhyan is 11-12kg but he only eats 2 bowls of porridge and 4 milk feeds (180ml MAX) per day. a few bbs here are eating more than him but not necessarily heavier, so dun hv to be too worried tt bb is not eating enough coz we can't control how big size or small size they grow lor.

deniz
i dunno leh .. LOL! maybe coz itsun wore specs tt day, rhyan likes ppl who wear specs! hehe .. oh, like berry's hb!

Hi everybody,
Nice pics of the babies and avatars.

Cody,
Brandon is taking the EYS brown rice with si sen, and he is okie with it. I think becos of the si sen, the rice has got a herbal taste. I have tried it myself and personally like it more when fish/meat/veg are added to it.

Weight gain:
My PD was telling me that as long as your baby triples his birth weight by 12mths means your baby is developing ok.

Alot of babies in Singapore face the issue of obesity because parents have a tendency to over-feed. This is the same reason why alot of PDs recommend solids only at 6 mths instead of 4.

So if your babies are near or have already tripled their birth weight at 12 mths, there's nothing to worry about....

Berry:
thanks v much! think i blend my own then.
How long can u keep the brown rice that you've blended?
Must keep in the frige also?

Erm, where do u buy your brown rice from ah?
At tanglin mall is it?
My MIL said chinese medical halls have it also, but its not organic lah.

I remember there was alot of talk abt brown rice, washing them before grinding etc, but because it wasn't applicable to me at that time, nothing registered in my pea-brain leh.

Berry, can you pls teach me ? I remember something like the brown rice CANNOT be washed before grinding else they turn mouldy or something right?
But if we dun wash before grinding, the rice is clean meh?

hmmmm *confused*

my MIL said in olden days, they will wash the brown rice, lay the rice to sun dry in the kampong back yard, then proceed to grind.
how ah? i where got kampong back yard ????

thank you in advance ....

Bing:
yah that's what i worry abt ... the herbs.
cos i am not a TCM person, so i am skeptical.
I only considered the EYS brown rice becos its already ground and convenient to use!

honestly i would prefer just plain brown rice without the herbs .. no offence hor....

cody, I buy organic so that I wont have to wash it. Non-organic ones may have traces of pesticides, u wont have this problem w organic mah. So I just grind directly. I keep for up to a month, in an airtight bottle in the fridge.

Good morning all!

Yuru,
Lovely pics of Cindy!

So Cindy loves avocado? I haven't tried introducing it to Tricia bcos I dunno how to choose the good & ripe one! So how u choose?

And wow, she has 8 teeth now? can eat meat liao!

Berry,
Poor Faye! No wonder she's not eating well, hope she gets well soon! BTW, where's the open gymboree?

Itsun,
Thanks, it's the 1st time she holds on to a book w/o eating it!

lil prince,
Like Yuru, I'm relieved bcos Tricia's oso eating abt the same amt as Rhyan.

ruffy
i booked a bungalow for rhyan's birthday liao coz hb's side and my side got extended families one. imagine i need to cater food for at least 100 pax, i have yet to prepare guest list etc coz its surely a headache, with my MIL wanting to invite EVERYONE (sure got unhappiness one).

yuru
i told you long ago wat, tt cindy is doing well. :p hmmm, avocado apple / pear sounds yucky also leh .. nvm lah, i see how again.

cody
emphasize for berry, must keep in FREEZER better.

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Babies' Name</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Babies' DOB</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BB Age (in mths)</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Mummies' Nick</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryan Chan Yan Hui</TD><TD>05/03/04</TD><TD>17m 11d</TD><TD>ruffy_happy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gabriel</TD><TD>23/08/04</TD><TD>11m 24d</TD><TD>gab04 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jiang Rui</TD><TD>23/08/04</TD><TD>11m 24d</TD><TD>junior </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kiern</TD><TD>24/08/04</TD><TD>11m 23d</TD><TD>jer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah-Lynn</TD><TD>25/08/04</TD><TD>11m 22d</TD><TD>radiohead </TD></TR><TR><TD>Keefe</TD><TD>31/08/04</TD><TD>11m 16d</TD><TD>cubbiebb </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kieran</TD><TD>09/09/04</TD><TD>11m 07d</TD><TD>skyblue </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>14/09/04</TD><TD>11m 02d</TD><TD>expecting_mum </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tan Hong Wei</TD><TD>15/09/04</TD><TD>11m 01d</TD><TD>mom </TD></TR><TR><TD>-</TD><TD>18/09/04</TD><TD>10m 29d</TD><TD>chiuling </TD></TR><TR><TD>Keira</TD><TD>18/09/04</TD><TD>10m 29d</TD><TD>vaingirl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Faye</TD><TD>23/09/04</TD><TD>10m 24d</TD><TD>berry </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rhyan</TD><TD>24/09/04</TD><TD>10m 23d</TD><TD>littleprince </TD></TR><TR><TD>Quinn</TD><TD>24/09/04</TD><TD>10m 23d</TD><TD>little_devil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Keira</TD><TD>26/09/04</TD><TD>10m 21d</TD><TD>pcs </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lucas</TD><TD>27/09/04</TD><TD>10m 20d</TD><TD>SLK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharyn</TD><TD>28/09/04</TD><TD>10m 19d</TD><TD>pets </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shaness</TD><TD>28/09/04</TD><TD>10m 19d</TD><TD>yingzi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Carriane</TD><TD>28/09/04</TD><TD>10m 19d</TD><TD>blisse </TD></TR><TR><TD>Arnav Neil</TD><TD>03/10/04</TD><TD>10m 13d</TD><TD>sun </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rachael</TD><TD>04/10/04</TD><TD>10m 12d</TD><TD>are </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lavigne</TD><TD>05/10/04</TD><TD>10m 11d</TD><TD>casros </TD></TR><TR><TD>Esther</TD><TD>06/10/04</TD><TD>10m 10d</TD><TD>ziztine </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shanice</TD><TD>08/10/04</TD><TD>10m 08d</TD><TD>angph38 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ray</TD><TD>08/10/04</TD><TD>10m 08d</TD><TD>micky </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gabriel</TD><TD>10/10/04</TD><TD>10m 06d</TD><TD>kelly </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meghan Alyssa Francis</TD><TD>12/10/04</TD><TD>10m 04d</TD><TD>deniz </TD></TR><TR><TD>-</TD><TD>13/10/04</TD><TD>10m 03d</TD><TD>bride0712 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Qian Ning</TD><TD>18/10/04</TD><TD>9m 29d</TD><TD>andrea ku </TD></TR><TR><TD>Athena</TD><TD>18/10/04</TD><TD>9m 29d</TD><TD>mtmtmt </TD></TR><TR><TD>Isabel</TD><TD>20/10/04</TD><TD>9m 27d</TD><TD>charsiew rice </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gabriel</TD><TD>20/10/04</TD><TD>9m 27d</TD><TD>may may </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nilay</TD><TD>22/10/04</TD><TD>9m 25d</TD><TD>august </TD></TR><TR><TD>Justin</TD><TD>25/10/04</TD><TD>9m 22d</TD><TD>AC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anders Foo</TD><TD>26/10/04</TD><TD>9m 21d</TD><TD>cow </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharwyn</TD><TD>28/10/04</TD><TD>9m 19d</TD><TD>sharon </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gabriel</TD><TD>29/10/04</TD><TD>9m 18d</TD><TD>gabby mummy </TD></TR><TR><TD>KJ</TD><TD>01/11/04</TD><TD>9m 15d</TD><TD>kelly (mona) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>08/11/04</TD><TD>9m 08d</TD><TD>yuru </TD></TR><TR><TD>Isaac</TD><TD>09/11/04</TD><TD>9m 07d</TD><TD>cosmo </TD></TR><TR><TD>Esther Tan Yun Ting</TD><TD>10/11/04</TD><TD>9m 06d</TD><TD>itsun </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ying Xin</TD><TD>11/11/04</TD><TD>9m 05d</TD><TD>puff </TD></TR><TR><TD>Calista</TD><TD>11/11/04</TD><TD>9m 05d</TD><TD>chihiro </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rui Ying</TD><TD>17/11/04</TD><TD>8m 30d</TD><TD>KC </TD></TR><TR><TD>-</TD><TD>18/11/04</TD><TD>8m 29d</TD><TD>deer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shannon</TD><TD>20/11/04</TD><TD>8m 27d</TD><TD>guess </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amanda</TD><TD>22/11/04</TD><TD>8m 25d</TD><TD>seahorse </TD></TR><TR><TD>Brandon Koh</TD><TD>23/11/04</TD><TD>8m 24d</TD><TD>Bing </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ethan</TD><TD>23/11/04</TD><TD>8m 24d</TD><TD>kypf </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tricia</TD><TD>23/11/04</TD><TD>8m 24d</TD><TD>peg peg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>29/11/04</TD><TD>8m 18d</TD><TD>wooof </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aaron</TD><TD>30/11/04</TD><TD>8m 17d</TD><TD>maple_leaf </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>01/12/04</TD><TD>8m 15d</TD><TD>chantelle </TD></TR><TR><TD>-</TD><TD>01/12/04</TD><TD>8m 15d</TD><TD>rochelle </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>02/12/04</TD><TD>8m 14d</TD><TD>TBL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Allycia </TD><TD>03/12/04</TD><TD>8m 13d</TD><TD>emma </TD></TR><TR><TD>Steffi Chia</TD><TD>04/12/04</TD><TD>8m 12d</TD><TD>LL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dean Awyong</TD><TD>06/12/04</TD><TD>8m 10d</TD><TD>cody </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>06/12/04</TD><TD>8m 10d</TD><TD>leo29 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luke Ong</TD><TD>06/12/04</TD><TD>8m 10d</TD><TD>fruitcake </TD></TR><TR><TD>Trixilia</TD><TD>10/12/04</TD><TD>8m 06d</TD><TD>sulivyn </TD></TR><TR><TD>Declan Isaac </TD><TD>10/12/04</TD><TD>8m 06d</TD><TD>mngo </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeannieve</TD><TD>11/12/04</TD><TD>8m 05d</TD><TD>jen </TD></TR><TR><TD>Andric</TD><TD>15/12/04</TD><TD>8m 01d</TD><TD>stephie </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rae-Ann</TD><TD>17/12/04</TD><TD>7m 30d</TD><TD>lachesiz </TD></TR><TR><TD>Linus</TD><TD>18/12/04</TD><TD>7m 29d</TD><TD>oranges </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jodie</TD><TD>20/12/04</TD><TD>7m 27d</TD><TD>beanie </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nicole</TD><TD>24/12/04</TD><TD>7m 23d</TD><TD>wendypooh</td></tr></table>

TEETHING FAYE- PD also said faye is teething now, upper AND lower *faint*! all her incisors are out, so that means she is teething big teeth, either cuspids or molars. Hope her teeth all quick quick come out then when she on milk strike I'll have plenty of food choices to offer.

Need ur advice - Am bringing T to Hyatt for a weekend stay at the Hyatt &amp; not sure what I shld bring for her since this is the 1st time she's staying overnight somewhere else. Any suggestions? &amp; we shld be bringing her a swim too so can she just make do with swimming diapers or I hv to buy a swimming costume for her? TIA!

peg, bring a familiar security item to help her sleep in a foreign bed. Maybe like a small pillow or a familiar blankie she cuddles to bed normally. Also, check with hotel if they provide SMALL tubs for bathing bbs, cause that time I tried to bathe Faye in hotel bathtub and she was terrified even though me AND hb were in there with her. Hmm, cant think of any cause I dun have actual experience with this yet :p

peg
you just hv to write down the list as you think through what she will be doing at the different hours, wear what clothes etc and write down the stuff you need to bring. eh, i think no need sterliser lar, just rinse the bottles after each use with cold and hot water. tt time i brought rhyan to stay overnite in sentosa and swim next am, i also did like this. if you do not want to bring too much stuff, then maybe swim diapers and a tee on top? dun hv to specially buy a swimming costume unless you intend to bring her swimming often after this stay lor.

peg
oh, tt time i brought rhyan's bolster along lor coz he need to hug something to sleep. BATHING - tt time no bathtub, we just let rhyan stand on the floor and one person hold him while the other person apply soap and shower him.

berry's avatar - this one looks better lar. :p

Berry, sexy...
looks like u leh...

Puff, sharon, acherly my hb oso read the postings... he ALSO commented that I'm SOOO lucky lah... BTH... MEN!!! Wahaha... But of cos I Lup Him lah...

Re: Avatar
Medusa, how u manage to do one with the sling??

waah, yuru, this one really does look like berry! nice!

peg

yah, think no need swimsuit, swim diapers will do, unless you are planning to let her stay in the pool for long then may wanna cover up more to protect fr the sun.

Welcome BitBit!

Sharon
BB #2, why your hubby curious? Go ahead lah, be the 2nd mummy here. Baby dust for you:

Yuru
Little Cindy looks like a little gal, so many teeth! envy.

Wah........ had been very busy recently. Today finally im free to come in here and read the posting

Bitbit,

kao_welcome.gif

Sharon,

I will be trying for bb #2 soon..... Y, ur hb wan to know how many of us is trying then he will consider issit?

Puff,

Thanks for the info on the doggie piano... will check it out.

Hi little prince,
I think Ryhan must be wondering "who's that funny looking uncle that keep on taking my photo?"..... haha. I will send the pic to u tonight, yahoo acct?

Hi yuru,
Cindy is so pretty. Is she trying to lick the avocado off her nose.... haha.

Hi pet,
8.8kg @ 10 mth is not small. I think Sharyn's size is ok.

Hi pcs and deniz,
Next gathering??? Any volunteer to organise one? =P

Hi fruitcake,
LOL..... Ryhan mesmerised by me???? I think he was attracted to the camera's flash.... hehe.

Hi cody,
Esther took EYS brown rice b4. I think some mommies mentioned b4, si shen supposes to help bb increase their appetite. But EYS brown rice is abit more troublesome to prepare coz it requires some cooking (heating over fire for a few min).

Hi bitbit,
Welcome.... can share more info abt yr bb + pic?

Hi sharon,
Sharwyn's turn to milk strike? Don't worry too much, sometime bb very funny one. Until now, we still dont know what is the reason for esther's milk strike.

Berry:
thanks!! think i will buy organic also.

littleprince:
har? keep ground brown rice in freezer? will it get frozen? how to scoop out each time i need to use it?

peg:
swimming ... swim diapers or even a pair of shorts will do!
sleeping ... ya, bring something that she's familiar with eg pillow
bathing ... most hotels won't have baby bathtub, so i suggest you train yourself / hubby to shower T.
food ... either cook porridge fr home and bring in thermos flask, or feed instant cereal with jar food.

Sharon:
i want to try for baby #2 at the end of this year. Maybe can start trying in Oct, to give myself some buffer.

Bit Bit:
welcome! my dean is also born on 6 dec!

Itsun:
i thot ALL brown rice need to be cooked over fire? u mean you know of some instant ones?
pls tell me!

bitbit

itsun
yahoo acct better coz more space. thks!

cody
eh, must ask berry to explain why need to keep in freezer, something to do with slowering the processing of the grounded BR from turning bad. it wun get frozen lar coz dried mah, just use spoon to scoop some and put the rest back. i am doing it too.

thanks so much for all ur advice..am copying the list now..so excited, this is the first weekend getaway for us! hehe..

And good luck to those mummies trying for #2!

Bit Bit,

bitbit, welcome...
do send ur info to angelia for her to update u to our list...

hi gals, i got suggestion leh... shall we put a column for daddies' names in the list so that next time, if we meet up and the hubbies usually also come, we dun need to call the person by "so-and-so's husband"... duh... :p

Hi all...

oh I feel so welcomed...

Ok i have bb pix to share, i will upload it.

pcs, do you still remember me? I got the walker fm u. my bb is using it.

cody, pardon me for being 1st timer... is you or your hubby or both foreigner? Saw your son pix with grandpa,and your son looks handsome.

bit bit:
LOL! no lah, hubby and i are both chinese.
that ang mo man is my father in law's good friend.
anyway, thanks for your compliments!
my son not ang moh lah .... but he resembles my hubby when he was a baby.

quick quick show us your darling. we all love to see pics!!

little prince: thanks! ya lor, berry is THE EXPERT......

Cody,
No offence.
Like what itsun has said, si sen is supposed to help bb increase their appetite.

In fact, I grind brown rice myself too and keep in freezer. Grounded brown rice does not take very long to cook, abt 1/2 hr. Quite easy to prepare as well.

Nowaday, my bb always want to be carry and my mum is already complaining very naughty and difficult to take care.

She also complain that she cannot do anything, keep entertaining and carrying him only. Try to coax him to sleep also dun wan to sleep.

We / my mum try to put him on the walker, after a while he becomes so bored with it and wanted to be carried and go outside walk walk. My mum said she really can't think of anything to entertain him.

Every night after i returned from work, my mum always complain to me. I understand she is venting out so I just let her be, after a while she will be ok already.

Can I know if ladies, you all face the same problem? If so, how to solve the problem?

bitbit,
i have the same problem! I can understand the tiredness &amp; feel sorry for my mum bcos she has to cook dinner &amp; even bring my girl for walks 3 times a day so i'll keep quiet when she grumbles or tries to make me guilty when i can't be home on certain days. Imagine she even remarked that Tricia can't recognise me when I wasn't back for a day! That's why i always rush home after work to help so that my mum can take a breather, have her shower, dinner, hsework etc..

Guess the only way is to endure until she calls it quits..i hope to put tricia in a childcare when she's older..

kypf
errr....i've seen her pictures 30 years ago, she wasn't thin to begin with....wahahhahahahahahahaa

itsun
who's who in the picure? i can only recognise rhyan, esther and sharwyn

littleprince
guys always say women hard to fathom but guys also....sometimes cannot understand them, they dunno what is priority

ask the girlfriend to point a gun at your bro and coerce him to get married else will look for someone else....kekekekek

berry
hair does look like yours....and figure is of the same, so slim and lanky

yuru
the top cindy is wearing is from FOX?? heheh, she is smiling so sweetly and happily, she really like avocado ah

cody
oh, the kids dun bear to eat a "dead barbie"...so cute!!

pets
so long sharyn is healthy that is the most important and she has very good appetitie i must say

yingxin weighs 6.3kg at 9 months only; her growth is at 3 percentile and she's even "smaller" but i'm not bothered about her size lor, i feel it's just right

so long baby triple their birth weight when they hit 1 year old, it should be fine

fruitcake
i think yingxin is eating well, she takes her cereal in the afternoon and about 1.5 to 2 bowls of brown/white rice porridge for dinner; and drinks 150 - 180ml 3 times a day but she poos about 2 - 3 times a day leh (probably digestive system too good liao)

my mum is not thinking that yx will eat more if it is seasoned, she thinks the food will taste better and it will be more "healthy" lor, dunno what she is thinking also...

if i really add salt into her food now, it's gonna build up bad habits later in her life

but my crowd all adults leh, the most only 3 kids

Pets,
Actually, Meghan only abt 2 weeks younger based on Angelia's recent list (Thanks, Angelia!) so not much difference. Anyway don't worry so much lah, so long as PD says ok or no comment, Sharyn's doing fine.

yuru
u are welcome

wow, now you are an expert in choosing avocado liao!!

that's a better avatar for berry....can do one for me pls?? (if u are free)

peg
if you buy from cold storage, choose those with sticker on it saying "ripe for good eating"

else pick those husk that are brown in colour cos those are ripe

cody
i dun grind the brown rice; i just pre-soak for half and hour and thrown into the slow cooker to cook

sharon
that time ziztine, jen and kelly came over my place and my mum was around; but we did not mentioned anything about diet

thanks for sharing your experience; i also felt dizzy and broke out in cold sweat a couple of times and nearly fainted during pregnancy but my blood test is normal

heh heh, i agree with charsiew, be the 2nd or 3rd mummy to announce to us that you will be delivering in 2006

sharon
hahahaha, that pic so funnie, but hor, very "chek ah" leh

bit bit
welcome

cody
yes, nestle has instant brown rice cereal and brown rice cereal with orange chamomile, just need to add water

oh, this is supposed to be for cody, not fruitcake

3D cake
but my crowd all adults leh, the most only 3 kids
so dun think these adults would be "afraid" to eat the cut up 3d cake

hello mummies n daddies!!

wow, we got more new mummies joining us

WELCOME !!!

<font color="ff6000">puff</font>
er, my colleague attended a bd party with a 3D bear cake .. they brought back the head
he also commented to me that its not ez to cut the cake wor

it is normal that bbs will be on milk/food strike occasionally ah?

er, meaning, strike today .. then tomolo ok liao.. back to normal