(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

wah! Athena's imitating quite well!
I was saying "Flower", she repeated "Fow-wer".
HB said "Pa Pa Power" (nonsense haha), she repeated "Pa Pa Pawah".

Then HD tried other nonsense words like, "Wa-wa fa-da" and she got it quite close! LOL!

305635.jpg

New family portrait. LOL!

medusa,
both faye & tena look like 2 lil girls all grown up, who r very engrossed in e toys tgt. i love tena's outfit. is it a 2piece outfit? a dress? where's ELC btw?

lil prince,
auntie kelly sayang sayang rhyan...must hv been a painful knock.
did ur husband kenna influenced by my husband who is doing ALL e hsehold chores except laundry? :p if yes, it's gd influence.

Fireworks watching cum picnic:

I thought we r going there for a picnic? That is y I thought meeting @ 6.30pm is kind of late. If go there early for picnic, can chop space too.

medusa
thanks for the recommendations on dragging my mum to the PD...no use!! she simply shrug her shoulders and will listen with one ear in and then the next min it's all out on the other side of the ear...she also dun trust doctors and said "wat do the doctors know?"

nice portrait you have...a pity i do not have photoshop

kelly
geez....i never really thought about cutting up/dissecting a 3D cake if it's in the form of animal or even human beings!!! *gross*

it's darn ex for a 4kg cake i know but somehow it's more special mah, and i would agree that i rather spend on her clothes instead

medusa
thanks for your other links....i do have them bookmarked long ago

heh heh, i know auntie pat!!! she's actually my ex-boss....her sugee cakes and curry devil are superb!!! but i dun intend to order from her cos need to self collect

pcs
i normally sleep around 2am

littleprince
we tok over this for many many a long long time liao and he's still not realising that i want him to stay home and assist in chores (his reasoning is i'm not working!!! and even if i do work, i am better and faster at doing these chores than him so he leave it to me lor!!!)

medusa
the durian tiramisu i tried at marriott is also terrific!!! presentation is also similar as in they put it in a glass

Hi Puff
am HY, esther's mummy. After reading your post on hubby not helping with hsechores.. i buay tahan, must post to tell u that u must reason out with yr hubby just like what littleprince did. Even if you r not working, u r taking care of YX which is worse cos it is a 24hrs job. I remembered during my confinement period, i looked forward to the return of my hubby as that was when i could pass esther to him and took some rest.
Even if yr hubby is not helping during the weekdays, he should at least help out during weekends. The hsechords and taking care of child should be shared responsibilities and not solely the resp of the mummy.am sure all the other mummies will agree. sorry, just airing my view

how is yr hand? hope to see u tomo

kelly,
As requested
Find dat it dun quite look like Gab cos i based it on the pic dat puff posted recently. The real Gab looks much much betta than tis avater.

305733.gif

skyblue
thks for the avatar!

medusa
wah, must give u the most creative award liao!

athena and faye can be jie mei hua leh .. hehe ..

kelly
no lar, my hb has always been very nice wan. whenever his friends call to ask him out, he will definitely "consult" me first before confirming with them. if i say no, he wun go. just tt i also very nice, want to give him some free time yet sometimes i am not gracious enough coz tired after a day at work so when i say ok, i dun mean it lor. he does the hsework w/o being told if he is at home but if he go out, then no time to do mah. so after i talked to him abt it, he now do more hsewk so tt i do not hv reason to say he can't go out.

puff
though i am not a SAHM, but i am sure taking care of a kid 24hrs a day is also very tough. at least working people hv lunch breaks etc, SAHM's free time is depending on circumstances. when i take care of rhyan for the whole day, i hardly eat anything. he can learn to do certain chores tt he is better at mah, like vacuum and mop the floor, no excuses leh.

agree with HY, every sat when i am taking care of rhyan alone in the morning coz hb works half a day, i also look forward to him coming home earlier in the PM so tt i can take a breather. i feel you are a very dedicated mum and wife, and its very unfair for you like this. it is very impt for you to get through this point to him else it may affect your relationship as time goes by coz you will always be unhappy that you have to do everything alone lor. anyone else can help you talk to him?

skyblue,
thks a lot. i agree wif u tat e avatar dun look like gabe on e whole but u depicted his features very well. small eyes, tiny lips, barely-there eyebrows...very cute! i shant complain cos i cant even get it done. can u pls email it 2 me?

lil prince,
ya, i've heard u mentioned b4 abt ur husband "consulting" u if he wanna go out. tat's very thoughtful of him.

talk abt not eating anything while taking care of bb 24hrs, i was juz sharing wif some friens last wk tat my BF is at noontime cos tat's when gabe takes his mid-day nap. my lunch is when gabe naps again in e afternoon (abt 4pm or so) or when i go out kai kai wif him, luckily i can get lunch at 3pm or so.

puff,
i always salute you for being a super mum cos u handle yingxin alone til wee hrs (when ur husband works OT) but i tik u need 2 communicate wif ur hubby abt sharing responsibilities. i know "hse hse has a difficult to read scriptures" but no harm trying again & again until ur husband gets e picture.

when my husband has been out lately til 2-3am 3-4x in a wk, my face always black black b4 he goes out n black black e next morn. he gets e msg somehow n has been cutting down on these late nites.

kelly,
U didn't buy dat Bruin activity centre from toys'r us? Ig u have time to go to taka fair tomoro, maybe u can get the walker there. COst $25 n i tink it's much more fun than the Playskool one. Kieran has tis Playskool one n somehow he dun quite fancy it as compared to the one i bot in taka. Maybe cos taka one has lights n sounds. Wah sey, going to Chiangmai to celebrate bday...how nice
Heard dat it's a nice place.

puff,
Ur mum seems to have a fixed mindset abt how soya sauce n salt can make a child grow fat. I tink it's pointless to argue wif her. Jus one ear in n one ear out. I agree wif little prince's suggestions abt having a gd talk wif ur hubby. Some men nid constant reminders to do simple chores. My hubby needs nudging n i TRY NOT TO NAG. Instead, i'll tell him nicely to help me. U know, like act the damsel in distress. When he does the mopping, he dun do as gd a job as i do, but i try to close 1 eye cos if not, next time he sure won't help anymore. I oso praise him after he washes the toilet n these days, when he sees that i'm going to wash the toilet, he'll tell me not to cos i dun clean it as well as he does. Of cos i'll willingly let him do it

little prince,
Forgot to sayang Rhyan for his fall tis morning...So now i sayang him

berry/MT,
Faye n Athena look great in dat pic.

skyblue,
i did buy e bruin activity table when gabe was down wif e phlegmy cough.
305758.jpg

tis was gabe playing wif e box abt 1mth back cos husband said gabe has too many toys so wanna hold back opening tis up.
on 5aug, i went out for dinner wif GFs while husband bbsat gabe. when i came home, husband opened up e activity table liao. he said gabe was fussing badly so needed a new toy 2 keep him occupied.

as for e playskool push-walker (which i've been eyeing for a long while n husband saw it b4 so he gave green light 2 buy it) & another activity table, they r meant for my mummy's plc cos gabe has no toys 2 play there. btw, husband was against me buying any push-walker cos gabe pushes anything he can push. he pushes his purple ikea chair, his electronic piano set, etc around e nursery. husband saw gabe doing so n sees no need 2 buy an actual push-walker. he only agreed cos e playskool push-walker was going for $20.

oh ya, u asked if gabe is still commando crawling...yes, he is but he wants 2 walk wherever & whenever possible. while at my mum's plc, he pulls 2 stand at e sofa, at e table/chair legs, at tv console, at anything he can grab his hands on & pulls himself up. my mummy & daddy very bo eng so instructed me 2 bring some of his toys over. i dun 1 2 deplete his supply at home so bought 2nd-hand ones.

no toys for gabe at my ILs' plc...u know y rt? :p

a few wks ago, my GFs were juz asking how am i gonna celebrate my XXth birthday since it's a new era for me. i asked husband if he planning anything for me, he said, "hv dinner wif gabe lor". i was a lil disapointed but didnt complain lah (dinner wif gabe is also gd enuff). i also subtly mentioned tat my GF's husband brought my GF 2 sweden for her bday. who knows, husband dropped tis surprise on me n got everything booked.
i must say i'm very touched by his gesture.

ur bday quite close 2 my bday rt? wanna drop e same hint 2 ur husband? :p

so cute hor!! but too bad as my link dun provide character for babies as i really tik tis link all the women so pretty, heeee......

mt
ur cake link makes me drool....

*whine mode on*
Me not feeling well, cold
. Must tahan until after her Kindermusik tomorrow morning and see can pass baton to who...

medusa,
Me got a slight cough. Now taking herbal remedies...

kelly,
So long nvr see Gab n he's doing so many things these days. U must be overjoyed to see his development
Yar man, we're approaching a new era...old liao
Drop hints? No nid lah, cos tis period of time defintely no opportunity to go overseas. I beri easily satisfied one. A nice meal will do n i oredi told hubby wat i want liao. hehehe...

HOUSEWORK (SORRY HOR, end up abit long :p)- I really dont think that the responsibility of housework solely falls on the wife. If the wife is a FTWM, she'll be as worn out as the hubby at the end of a long day, so why is she the one responsible for housework? And if she is a sahm, that means she spends the day chasing/cleaning after a baby with hardly much time for herself (on some days, sahms with no help dont even get to eat/shower/do toileting properly, compared to her working hb who at least would have an hour to eat lunch in peace), and she works just as, if not harder. so why/how is she the one responsible for all the housework?

And hor, cannot compare to the olden days when women used to bear full responsibility of raising a horde of children AND do all the housework alone AND cook. Cause in those time, the entire clan stays together under the same roof and the sahm has help from mil/mum/next door neighbour/sister/whoever else (the VILLAGE concept- much easier to get stuff done when you have a village living under same roof looking out for your kids for you). And things are certainly different.

The mums in those days dont have to take care of so many aspects of a child's development like WE do today- whether the child's diet is balanced, child must get time to explore freely (freely explore = bo eng mummy), cannot sit walker, cannot put in playpen too long, must get enough exposure to stuff (physical play, music, watnot), must read to them daily to cultivate love for reading, must speak to them often to enhance lang development, some even do flashcards/yoga/dunno-wat daily, etc. The list goes on and on. AND sahms today also need to take minimum care and maintain their appearances more or less in order not to look like a completely dishevelled unpresentable 'auntie' :p
Plus in THOSE times, babies usually have the company of and are constantly entertained by siblings/nextdoor neighbours/chickens in the backyard whereas we're usually completely on our own these days. So sahms these days def dont have it easier than in the olden days when mums have more kids and live in villages!

Speaking for myself- For NOW, I really wont be able to cope with the housework by myself (I dont have anyone I can get to babysit faye even for a short few hours) and I also dun wan my hb to spend his precious after-work time doing housework, so I'm very thankful that I have a PT cleaner coming in weekly (3 hrs a week). Of course I'd much rather not have to inccur extra expenses, but right now its pretty vital to our sanity :p BUT HOR, I hope that when Faye is older and goes to school daily, I hope to be able to pick up on the housework myself again. Good form of excercise and can save $!

skyblue/MT, oh dear, I hope u both get well really soon.

Puff, I know its easy for bystanders to advise and suggest and not so easy sometimes for the ppl IN the situation to do much. Some things(like about your mum) beri hard for anyone to do anything about(including yourself). If there is no way to change her thinking/mindset, then maybe you DO your best to shut out her unhelpful comments? I know beri frustrating cause I'm also in similar situation with my mum alot. Whatever it is, you are REALLY doing a fantastic job!

Kelly, your hubby is really sweet

RESPONSIBLILTY of being a WOMEN
umm..... i really agreed wat or how berry put it. even my mum told me tat she feels heart pain to see me soooo busy and no proper resting time. tat day she was telling me how she use to cope it in the past. she has very nice neighbour *and i still rem them* tat will offer to come over to our place to baby sit me or bring me out for a walk. so tat makes her life easier. for myself, hubby is much like homebase job but theres time when hes out to meet clients. besides tat, he will help me with anything in the house, like housework *but lately no lah as hes toooo tired with his job, dun even has time to rest* but he will always let me rest enough and of cos i will in return do the same* and he always tell me tat he appreciate me for wat i have done as he knows tat quinn is a active baby, so whenever he can, he will help out. so the only thing or hobby he has is to go for golf *its very therapetic for him* and for for me, i will have my own time too and tis coming wed, i will me out with my fren for shopping and coffee. initiately planning to let my mil bb sit quinn but hubby says he will bb sit him instead....

in the very beginning when quinn arrived, its abit messy *in terms of our daily life* too but i guess it take awhile to adapt and i tik everyone need time to adapt though some need shorter or longer time and for my case i tik we took quite awhile. and by communicating is veryyyyy imp!!!!

Berry,
I LOL when I read "entertained by ... chickens in backyard" :p . Ok I must go rear chickens for my darling or else she very deprived :p .

MT, eh while u are at that, how about a goose and ducks to go along (then she can tell the diff between them all mah) and you also make a swing from fallen tree trunks and old tyres! And churn your own milk to make homemade cheese! Then her life will hereby be complete :D

Went for Telok Blangah CC BABY SHOW this morning! First time join, I only realised it's a HEALTHY BABY contest. Got doctor JUDGE leh.

Athena's 8.5kg liao! Din measure ht. Then doc sit there, try to make baby smile/ talk/ REACT with toys etc. My darling of course sit there and STARE. Din take any of the toys, din say anything, din smile, din cry... just STARE.

Din win anything lah. LOL!

Berry,
eh u know last time I watched this documentary about this couple who brought their 6mth old baby to live with them in JUNGLE while they film the jungle. Very funny- one playpen in middle of jungle, then baby grow into toddler, will pull the parents and point, "SNAKE!"

HB ws sooo inspired and impressed, since then, he keep saying want to bring Athena to live in jungle.

Kelly:
so u noticed i had pet pet in my trolley!!! tell you ah, that day i didn't just buy 3 packets. My total haul was 14 packets of Pet Pet !!!!!!
8 packcets for me, rest for my sis.

Giant had a purchase-with-purchase offer; each packet only $11.95. I thought quite cheap, so i GRAB lor ... ended up with 4 packets of Medium and 4 packets of Large.

Lately i tried the Toys R Us diapers, v good too!
but slightly more expensive than Pet Pet, abt $0.25 per piece.

Oh yes! dean sucks the trolley & handle too! either that or he will be busy grabbing products displayed on the shelves...that's why i have to give him something to hold ... to entertain him while i shop.

Fireworks:
Hmmm....seems like there is no consensus on what we are going to do betw 6 to 8pm. anyway just asked hubby again and he says we'll only be going at ard 730pm. See you there later today!

AVATAR- eh, how to save the avatar huh? When I right-click to save it, I enned up saving only PARTS of it, like the hair/face/clothing. Cannot save the entire picture leh.

305801.jpg

305802.jpg

^ After the judging, there was another room for optional baby massage lesson (which wasn't very good). But space for her to roam

Skyblue,
wah ur HB's herbal cough remedy so solid, can okay so fast! But I personally dun like chinese medication (though I hope Athena will be OK with it, ahaha).

Dunno how to dance at Kindermusik tomolo morning leh. But really cant have her miss it just cos I unwell (if SHE unwell then makes sense to miss). Wonder if my MIL or my mum can go in my stead. Heheheh.

CHRIS...simply boey tahan by yr comments "CHICKENS in backyard"...

Housework
Soli i duno who started tis hehee but tis is from me :p
yesterday i finally cooked porridge for J, FIRST TIME!
nothing to be proud of, for not doing so earlier hehee but my point is...my hub has been cooking it for the last 3 mths, as well as bathing J, feeding J, changing diapers etc, all these since day 25oct04...so who said guys canot shared house responsibilities?
btw, i am also doing SOME THINGS, coz i am the background worker :p i do watever my hub is not doing lor!

305858.jpg

Sorry, camera skills still ok :p but camera itself not-ok in lowlight, LOL!

Great meeting everyone, and thanks esp to HY and Itsun!

Baby Chairs

Just wondering if you mummies know what are the food courts that carry baby chairs. Its really financially draining to eat out in restaurant all the time just because baby can participate. Anyway, just thought of starting this baby chair list, feel free to contribute so that we can save some...

Food Courts with Baby Chairs
1. Food Court at Starhub
2. Oscar, Food Court at Anchorpoint (opposite Ikea)
3. Food Court at Loyang Point

MT,
Actually not hubby's remedy. It's a kind of liang teh form chinese medicinal hall. Hehehe...can imagine Athena staring at the judge. Gd experience rite? Can't help lol at your hubby's suggestion to live in jungle
Wah, the fireworks gathering seems like fun

gab's avatar so cute!

berry
wah! u explained very well how come last time women can handle so many kids and now WE, only with one kid take care till heh heh chuan! hehe ..

itsun
really thanks alot to HY and you for getting a space reserved for all of us so early, it was indeed a worthwhile gathering to see the nice fireworks!

gabbymum
i agree with you! nowadays everywhere i go for makan, always hv to find out if got bb chairs or not first!

Food Courts with Baby Chairs
1. Food Court at Starhub
2. Oscar, Food Court at Anchorpoint (opposite Ikea)
3. Food Court at Loyang Point
4. Compass Point food court (Level 4)

skyblue
cheh meh, wah u very tokong leh! how come i never see all these nice trucks ah? btw, one of the toys (a remote control car) which we bought supposedly for hb's nephew hor, my hb mentioned just now if he can take it for himself instead coz he like the car design alot and wanna play himself! LOL! (still got many toys in the storeroom leh, dunno can wait till x'mas or not? :p)

Faye is on milk strike AGAIN.

She started her srtike on saturday night- refused to take her last milk feed before bed and only had one milk feed the whole of yesterday(morning). Refused to have her milk today since she woke at 6am. Now sleeping in my arms (I typing w one hand hehe) w empty stomach. *Aiyo-aa-ahhhhhhh*

skyblue, WAAAHHHH! thats alot of toys!! Tsk tsk tsk! *wags finger and shakes head*

gabbymum, Faye doesnt sit in highchairs (she'll either CLIMB out of her seat belt and try to stand, or she'll ROCK till the chair moves a distance away!), so I can only eat at places that have booths or very spacious full-back chairs so that Faye can stand next to me when I eat. She stands next to me, I hold her waist. But its getting increasingly difficult these dayse cause she tries to perform acrobatics at the same time :p

hi Berry,
Well Said!!! *Clap* *Clap* pei fu that yr stamina so good, can write so long... yr composition in school must have scored really high mark.. hee hee.
Yr little darling on Milk strike again.. not even via the spoon??

Medusa and Little prince,
we went there for the supposedly " Fireworks watching cum picnic ", had brought some sandwiches, cold drinks and groundsheet then realised no one was there for the picnic at all!! LOL
Anyway, glad to see all the babies, mummies and daddies..think we have 9 babies
actually am still wondering where does esther get her " BIG" genes from?? the question mark is bigger now after seeing all the "normal"size bb girls

Fireworks
Aiyoh U all have a good time at the gathering. I was actually at Fullerton yesterday nite coz I was stucked at the fullerton bridge. Whole bridge Jammed So Cannot make it to Clifford Pier in time. Ur bbs like the firework? Keira was NOT interested at all. So any more pics of yesterday Gathering??

hi gals... so nice to see you yesterday...

wah lau... i buay tahan leh... i come back after so many days to find pple attacking me again!!! sianz...

<font color="aa00aa">morning mummies,</font>
a lot of posts, no time to read, only scroll to see pix..

Shanice is down wif very bad cough since abt 2 wks back, milk intake dropped to 80ml, then 20ml!!!! brought her to GP, got worse (we hear wheezing sound when she breathe), vomitted 2x last Thursday early morning so my mum brot her to (another) GP again. brot her to the usu (my more trusted) GP on Friday, diagnosed with slight bronchitis. might have to put on nebulizer if it got worse.

now her milk intake is still lingering at around 120~140ml, cough got better, wheezing seems better.. hopefully it IS getting better!!

Puff
2am!!! What time u wake up?? I also tried to talk to my hb regarding the hsework issue but sometime end up quarelling. But yr situation is much worse. At least I can rushed home after work and do my hsework while my MIL takes care of keira.
If u r unable to talk to yr hb maybe can write a letter to him/e-mail him. This will reduce the chance of quarelling and get yr message across.

Berry and Medusa
LOLL on yr topic "rearing chicken at the backyard".

Why
Oh u finally appear!! Hands Itchy Buay Tahan oreadi rite. Hehe

Skyblue
Aiyoh. think Yuru is rite, U must resign as cheh meh. LOL.
Thought u bought only 1 or 2 toys so can excuse u but U come back with carload of toys leh! :p

Medusa &amp; skyblue
Hope both of u recover soon.

Berry
Acutally what is the reason for Faye's milkstrike. Teething??

Angelia
Shanice case sounds bad. Hope she get well soon. Miss her.....*thighs*. Hehe

pcs, I not sure leh
I suspect teething cause she keeps sticking her fingers at molar area to chew and chew. Plus I could FEEL and SEE a pretty big bump at the back!

why
eh, HY. yr surname starts with W ah? yr nick so cute. Eh, though i said i will reach late but actually i feel very paiseh leh when we reached coz u choped such a nice place with groundsheets and all.

rhyan also got BIG genes leh, cannot be anything to do with me .. hehe .. ppl always saw me and him not proportionate. :p

angelia
hope shanice recovers soon!

berry
the chart very nice but like not accurate leh. rhyan already got upper cuspid liao but the chart says 18mths.

Good morning mummies:

FIREWORKS:
thanks to those mummies and daddies who went early to chope a good location and even brought picnic mats!
It was really nice meeting all the other babies, mommies and daddies.
I must apologise for not knowing everyone, cos i am really bad with recognising faces and remembering names!

Jen: thanks for your help y'day!

Medusa: sorry ah, i was so smitten by your athena y'day i kept looking at her at fullerton last night. My hubby said was i almost visually molesting your daughter! My apologies ...

FOODCOURT:
at the foodcourt, hubby and i take turns to eat. Usu i eat first, cos i eat faster. When i finish, i take over from hubby.
When dean was younger, we could both eat at the same time while i held dean with one arm (he would sit on one of my legs, talk abt unglam ... sitting at foodcourt with legs wide open!)

FAYE's MILK STRIKE- I think she has decided to drink only ONE bottle a day! Just now fed her at 9.30am, she finished it all up (motivated by sheer hunger prolly :p)!! Yesterday also the same, only drank ONE bottle and thats it. hmmm....

WHY, so nice to see ya here! :D Its a pity I couldnt make it to the fireworks, hope to see you and esther another time!

little prince, I think these charts are a-gar a-gar only wan. not 100% accurate cause bbs all diff mah.