(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

Cody,
i tik so too!
wow..dean is such a handsome boy!!

wahhhh
i look at all the avatars of yourselves, and i feel i should NOT do one cos they dun have a duplicate of rosanne barr in their database!
*ashamed*

peg, thanks for your compliments!
luckily my son more pleasant looking than the mom!

can i revive the topic of washing bottles and teats?

i read that some of you only bring 1 bottle out, and rinse with tap water & hot water.

Questions:
1. Isn't it HOT to hold the bottle with hot water?

2. How to rinse the inside of the teat with hot water without scalding yourself? Unless you bring tongs out as well??

3. My hot water flask is only 0.5litre. If i use it to rinse my bottle & teat, as well as to re-fill it for the next feed, is 0.5litre enough for the whole day?

Sorry if my questions sound stupid, cos all this while i have been BFing whenever we go out.
Actually i was planning to bring the detergent and bottle brush out with me! heeee

*blush*

Cody
Relax a bit lah. for my case, if got hot water i will rinse, if not, i just wash it with cold water.

Normally i don't bring hot flask out. When we go makan, just request for hot or warm water to prepare milk.

little prince,
Y u nvr say Kieran's one nice? *pout* *tell Kieran tonite not to let auntie little prince carry next time*

cody,
Dean is very handsome!!!

Peg
Wahaha. I just ask Sharon why the gal she created so chio. U post another one, even more chio. U ALL SURE A NOT?? Got so chio meh??

Cody
Yr boy is so handsome :p

Washing bottle
1&2)
a) Fill the bottle wif HOT water (abt 2-3 oz). tighten the teat holder and cap it. Shake it real hard and fast.
b) Remove cap only and face the teat downwards. Hot water will rush out from the teat so u can wash the inside of the cap wif this water.
c) unscrew the teat holder and pour the remaining water onto the outside of the teat. **Finish**

3)Think 0.5 Ltr is just nice for preparing and washing of 2 meals. If u r in a restaurant u can always ask them for hot water.

pcs,
LOL! bo lah, me not chio one, only in my dreams, like sharon..

btw, thanx for the washing instructions but whenever i try to wash bottles with hot water, the hot water always gush out & scald my hand leh..

cody
i dun use tongs at all, i can use my bare hands to pick up bottle and teat which are just sterilised and steaming hot .. haha .. of coz i am discreet in picking them up so tt i dun burn myself. as for hot flask, i bring the normal size kind, not the small kind so water enough for a day though i get hot water from restaurants if i happen to dine there.

skyblue
arbish u! i meant in my first sentence tt medusa and lil devil look nice in their avatar, second sentence all bbs look like their avatars lah (including kieran darling!)

eh, u very free huh? u do one for rhyan lar, i too busy today to do. :p

kelly
hope you got my answers with regards to the fish bone via sms

ref to taking the blood test for thyroid, we have not decided yet, will keep you girls posted

yuru,
Wahahahhaha...Kelvin is who? Jun Yang ah? I used to support Kelly but now i like Xin Hui oso.

little prince,
Not dat i very free...i having a throbbing headache. Bored wif work cos it's Friday!!!!

Hello mommies,
Do you have any idea where else I can get the Earth Best/ Healthy Times brown rice cereal besides Tanglin Mall ?

yuru,
Is it? I used Rhyan's recent pics that little prince posted as reference. Somehow, i tink Kelvin will not get into finals cos dun tink Mediacorp quite practical rite? But then again, he may have so many supporters dat he'll get in. I tink Jun Yang is soooo handsome.

pcs: thanks for the tip on washing the bottle! Sounds like a good idea, i may just do the same. only problem is that i dun really trust the hot water from restaurants etc esp if i am travelling...

compliments: thank you for complimenting my son!

TBL: does Nat ever get stuck in the bumbo seat? dunno if its becos my son has fat thighs... his legs always get stuck in the bumbo seat either when getting in OR out.

Puff: Thanks!

Superstar

Derick still young lah. Think he can try again next time. I think Wei lian really sing V V V well this time.
Xinhui sang well yesterday definately pose a big threat to Kelly. But hor yesterday her dress REALLY CANNOT MAKE IT :p

cody,
haha.. Nat's fat thighs also get stuck these days. guess they can only sit in bumbo seat for another 2~3mths. then we can save this for bb #2.

pcs,
I STRONGLY AGREE wif u abt Xin Hui's dressing last nite. My gosh, wat is she tinking abt when she decided on dat outfit? Looks like some lingerie...maybe she's trying to seduce the audience/judges? Kelly's singing sometimes abit buay steady. I didn't watch the guys singing on wed but my hubby oso said dat Wei Lian sang very well.

superstar
i catch no ball what u all are talking abt .. hehe ..

skyblue
great minds think alike!!! when i tried doing rhyan's avatar, i chose the same background (bowling alley) and hairstyle! but i cldn't pick any matching eyes and so the whole face turns out funny, u did it well! did u save it or not? if got, send a copy to me leh .. hehe!

kelly(mona)
you can try forum shopping mall basement got one Vitakids and another place call Super Nature at Orchard Boulevard (its a condo but the first floor is a supermarket selling all organic stuff).

Skyblue
Wahaha yah lor the dress makes her look b***** rite?? That's what I thought too last nite when I heard kelly sing- a bit shakey.
Aiyoh u miss Wei Lian sing *sayang* Felt that this is his 2nd personel best performance.

little prince,
I purposely chose the bowling alley as background cos u n ur hubby like bowling n dat time u brot Rhyan there oso mah. I tried many sets of eys n tis seemed to be most matching. Hairstyle oso... Yar, i saved it...email to u another day, okie?

AVATAR- I'll get hb to fix up adobe then I'll post mine too hehehe!

GOODWOOD/ MOONCAKES- Hmmm dunno why I dun like Goodwood's durian products leh? I still much prefer marriott's snowskin durian mooncakes. **yummmmyyy**

Sharon, hehe thanks for offering, dun wan trouble you. I'll post mine later to show you!

skyblue, wahsay u darn good leh, Keiran's one really look like him! And Rhyan's one also look look like him (except that real Rhyan chubbier heehee)!

pcs, hehe lovely pics!!:D
Eh, dun play play, PEG is really as chio as the avatar, I saw her before, can testify!

Cody, your boy looks v big-boy!

Peg, the avatar you made looks like you!

TBL, er.... I think the REAL natalie is much prettier than the avatar u made LOL! In photos, her eyes are so beautiful and her smile always so bright!

yuru, wahahaha cindy's avatar pic looks like her, esp the eyes! But hair obviously different lar :p

WOW... SO MANY POSTINGS

Kelly

Gabby is in an infantcare centre so at any one time at least 4-5 caregivers... I work pt so when I work, he is in infant care...

thyriod

Me down with this problem when I was young, so lost much weight, ha then can eat like a cow and still be thin now another story... but the point is, it is usually hereditary. My dad + 2 grandma + 1 uncle + 2 aunts down with it. Hope that your girl is alrite and is blessed with gd genes

FIREWORKS:
may i ask the mummies here .... we meet at 6pm but fireworks only start at 8pm. What are we going to do during the 2 hours?

How about dinner? Should i eat dinner first then come meet up?

sorry ah, but i need to plan the "itinerary" lah...

Wahaha.... never know that all mommies here r so creative.

Hi medusa,
The bb really looks like Athena.... got sling somemore.... very nice.

Hi little devil,
I like yours alot too. The devil horn and wings really match yr nickname.... wat else can i say.
Oh ya, and the hairstyle.... haha.

Hi sharon,
U should add a hairclip to sharwyn's avatar pic (like the hairclip on yr avatar pic)..... hehe.

Hi pcs,
Very very nice avatar pic of keira.... even the hairstyle is so similar. Btw, Keira had a wonderful time @ Sungei Buloh..... she smiled until so so happy.

Hi skyblue,
Keiran's avatar pic looks great too, especially that matching hairstyle.... hehe.

Hi yuru,
Cindy's avatar pic is so sweet looking.... just like her in person.

Hi kelly,
Nice lantern. So fast moodcake festival is here again.

Hi cody,
Will definitely rem dean's handsome face... =P. But i am not gd @ remembering faces at all, better let my wife does that..... hehe.

Superstar:
My wife is glued to Superstar too (so I got to watch that too). I must say that Wei Lian really did very well on wed.

skyblue,
can u PLEASE make a avatar for gabe?
i cant seem 2 do it right. i'm quite an idiot at such stuff.

berry/peg,
thks for ur info.
i discussed wif husband n we decided 2 get MARRIOT & GOODWOOD PARK's durian snowskin mooncakes. we using his credit card points 2 claim for 1 while using my credit card 2 buy another wif discount.

TRIP & MORE TOYS!

i very happy 2day...not tat gabe is eating more (cos he still wont eat solids) but i juz bought these 2toys after seeking husband's approval.
305572.jpg
305573.jpg

though these r 2nd-hand toys, condition is excellent (according 2 seller lah). i picking them up tis wkend and i'll put them at my mum's plc 1st but will bring them home 2 rotate wif other toys soon. i finally got a push-walker for gabe...1 out of my wish-list

husband juz confirmed tat he's bringing me & gabe 2 chiang mai during end-sept. i'll b celebrating my birthday there too!

*sigh*

my mum called this evening and pissed me off AGAIN!

this time, she called me specially and ordered me to add SALT and SUGAR into yingxin's porridge so that she will grow BIG BIG cos she lamented she's way too small!!
(last time was to add SALT and SOY SAUCE)

already told her baby is born small and wat's most important is that she is healthy and that she eats well

but she claimed that by excluding these 2 from her diet, i am making her very UNHEALTHY and restricting her growth and she will also have "no strength" (dunno what stupid logic and reasoning)

also said that KKH nurses advocate having these in baby's diet!!!!!!

*bang my head several times on the wall*

i have to repeat myself thousand of times to her that taking salt has NO RELATION to gaining strength and growing BIG!! on the contrary, too much salt would in fact cause damage to kidney and other diseases

plus they are still so young, will have their whole life to take watever amount of salt they deem fit next time; it's not as if i'm controlling it for life time

she kept comparing my child rearing method to her olden days of child rearing method and doubt my ability; she insisted that if it works last time, it's definitely fool-proof and will work also for kids nowadays

told her techonology is more advanced now and many things have since been improved and changed; if we keep thinking back we will not progress with times

dunno how long this differences will last cos she can practically nag and nag and nag every alternate day

kelly
nice activity centre

ya, i have the same thought as cody - are you guys bringing finger food there and really sit at the plastic sheet to eat while waiting for the fireworks from 6 - 8pm??

eh, fireworks starts at 8.30 or 8pm?

puff,
cool down...let me juz say tat i'm in e same plight wif u. sigh! if u like, call me n we can "b***h" abt our plight tgt (btw, juz had an argument wif husband on national day bcos of an incident similar to yours...outside e restaurant, there were fireworks. inside e restaurant, there were fireworks bet me & him too!).
thks for ur sms. i was out at tamp mall so went 2 check out NTUC for threadfin & cod fish bones. i still cant find leh...either i chey meh or e fish had no bones.

kelly
i bought goodwood durian mooncakes last year and i love it!! have not tried marriott though, maybe this year? heh heh (hb is gonna frown)

oh, there's another one which i find it good too, snow skin durian mookcake from golden crown restaurant located at queen's town club, they have a pushcart at heartland mall (but not sure whether it will be there this year)

kelly
maybe those fishes selling at NTUC at the time you were time was already de-boned; if that's the case, think have to buy from wet market or shop and save cos they do have fresh fishes

toking about "fireworks"....sigh, my stupid hb came home at 10.30pm and went out again at 11pm to meet frens for kopi (3 times a week) despite my black face; he always complained that he's tired when home but when he is going out to meet frens, he will be super zesty!!! why can't he just kuai kuai stay home and help me around with chores or chit-chat with me??

medusa
i emailed hot fuchsia to enquire about 3D cakes but unfortunately they have ceased such services; now they only do sugarpaste figurines sitting on top of a cake

then i got a quote from creative bake for a 3D 4kg cake which can serve up to 60 pax and gosh, it's $227!!

puff,
oh dear, I have a suggestion but don't know if it'd be of help in your case. Why don't u just drag your mum to the clinic the next time YX has to see a doctor, and let the doctor explain directly to her? A doctor's a professional in this field, she can't possibly know better than one.

Or perhaps bring YX for the thyroid test, get it eliminated once and for all, and let the doc explain to your mum. Would hopefully get everyone off your back on this issue.

3D cake
a mummy mentioned abt how 2 cut 3D bday cake? tat's y i dun fancy getting a bear/cartoon character for a 3D cake. whoever's cutting e cake need 2 slice e bear's tummy apart, cut off his head somehow, etc...get wat i mean? i dun fancy doing such "slaughtering" on my bb's 1st bday.
me looking for train set, car, buildings, etc...non living thing

puff,
thks for ur info on e 2 bakeries. wow! $227 for a 3D 4kg cake 2 feed 60pp...i rather spend e $$ 2 buy more toys/clothes/books for gabe. husband n i discussed tat we wont spend more than $150 for an actual bday cake & some cupcakes for gabe's 3 bday parties.

i agree wif medusa's idea. u shld bring ur mum/MIL 2 yingxin's doc n hear it from e horse's mouth.

thks again for e info on e golden crown's mooncakes. i tik i'll stick to goodwood park & marriot. shld b enuff for me & hubby to savour.

sharon,
same tots wif puff & cody...shall we proceed somewhere for dinner b4 going back 2 clifford pier abt 745pm? or must we b there abt 630pm 2 "chop" places?

cody, pcs, tbl,
there were 3packs of pet pet in ur trolley? u buy so many at 1 go or was pet pet at a gd price? dean is very adorable. does he chew on e chain or handle? gabe does. i very boh eng every time he sits in e trolley. i need 2 shop for groceries & watch out for watever gabe may grab or chew at.

pcs,
ur lil "monkey" is very cute. she couldnt sit still at e picnic huh?

tbl,
u hv PM.
natalie still can sit in e bumbo? her cheeks r very chubby. feel like pinching it.

Puff
I also think that Medusa method is good, can try and see how. Try not to take yr mum's wood too seriously coz u know thats her pattern.
Whenever MIL says something ridiculous, I'll laugh my head off in front of her coz this a better way than to quarrel wif her.

Itsun
yah Keira enjoyed the trip to Sungei Buloh coz can get to see a lot of things - fish, plants, birds ,chicken and even monitor lizard, Haha

Kelly
U know lah. Cannot expect monkey to sit still :p

Puff/Medusa/Puff
U ladies r superwomen or what. Posting at such an hr!!! Hahaha.

pcs,
came home late last night mah... and HB take over bb shift :p. This morning he velly good- he boil water, wash, sterilise, assemble bottles, change pooed diapers, and bring her out for some alone-bonding time (go mkt walk-walk, then maybe fastfood joint for her to sit in highchair see-see people).

Last time we had a "boil-water incident"... normally I boil, then one morning I found he boiled b4 I did, so I fill Athena's bottles, realised NOT ENOUGH water. So casually asked, "why didn't put more water since u boiling ah?" He replied, "cos I boil only for myself (for his mug of coffee)." NOW, if he boil, he make sure ENOUGH for everyone. :p

I very shake-leg mood now :D , recently adopted "wash ONCE wkly laundry". So Fri will wash load after load, then hang all at one time, keep all at one time. Rest of week I just forget about laundry. Not like last time, machiam competing with laundry basket (to keep it empty). Sorry very housewife rambling hehe. :p

Medusa
Wah so gd can shake leg. *envy*
U got a good temper. If I knew hb boil water only for himself I will surely #*&^!*!.
Once a week laundry!! U got so much space to hang 1 week load of your whole family clothes meh??

read thru the postings in a haste coz rhyan napping, gonna wake soon!

just now he fell down
. i thot he was holding on to the play yard well and i was clearing some stuff on the floor, can't recall if i was supporting him with my other hand but suddenly he fell and hit the floor. gave me a fright and of coz he cried like mad, luckily it was carpet floor.

kelly
i was the one who asked abt cutting up 3D cake .. haha .. think i better make do with a normal one lah coz i intend to get a winnie the pooh one.

puff
sorry to hear abt your sorrows, i think its good to drag yr mum to the PD and let him explain to her lor. as for hb going out, maybe hv a good talk with him? previously my hb was also like tt, go out to play billiards till midnite then come bk. after i talked to him abt the whole load of hsewk i got to do after coming hm fm work and letting rhyan sleep, he also changed for the better. now, he do ALL the hsewk, i only do laundry and rhyan's stuff .. hehe ..

medusa
me also competing with the laundry basket all the time .. LOL! always no time to fold then new clothes come in, sometimes i play cheat, push the basket near hb when he watch TV so tt can hint him to fold .. hehe .. i folded SO MUCH clothes last nite coz every room hv a pile!