(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

kis...
i feel like u... cos if bb is small, i'd rather carry her... but i think like wat shook said... its not legal. sigh...
hey... think the bb car seat dat JL is selling is for kids quite big leh... but can still buy and keep i guess.

Soyabean
I can't afford to wait for GSS. My EDD early Jun

Luzon888
Items in goodie bag may change fm time to time depending on wat the merchant wanna give rite.
KK provides maternity pad, so dun need to buy liao. I wz checking out @ Giant last sat. Kotex brand comes in 10 pcs a pack. Wz wondering how many to buy. Luckily I din buy.
I intend to use cloth nappy dat's y I thot 1 packet of pampers NB enuff. So still gotta buy 1 pack.
Y u dun wanna use Dumex receiving blanket & Avent bottle? Did u get a breast pump?
Did u puke after u delivered? Heard some mummies puke after delivery due to effect of epidural. I plan not to take epidural but leave tis open as I dunno if I can tar han or not. My threshold for pain is quite high during normal time

Kis
I oso prefer to carry baby than to put him in car seat but it is illegal to do dat.

hi soyabean, kis n foreverfriends,
yup, i think under the traffic law, must use car seat for bb safety. if u all don't wish so early invest so much, buy a "rocker" type that also double as as a car seat (take note some "rocker" can't be strapped to seat belt so it's not a car seat). this seems more comfi for newborn n can use as a carrier once out of car. remb to ensure it passed the safety test/standard. chicco n graco are some ok brands. do check out wen u go shopping. i will check out too n update u all.
oh yes, will go c c the JL sales car seat at $99. can b used for newborn till 15kg i think.

oops, diff people seem to hav diff feedback on manual n electric breastpump. i oso dun know wat to buy leh.

foreverfriend,
few of my friends went thru labour without epidural, they vy determined. i hope i can, try lah hoh...

b2b3m4,
actually u didnt look heavy to me at all. i think it's just nice. ai ya.. me alwy underweight. envy by many but hubby keeps saying mus eat more, eat more.. eat oreadi still like tat wat to do leh..

Sanrio
Thx for the tips on baby car seat.
My hubby said his colleague said need to put baby on car seat when baby is 3 mths onwards. Wonder how true is it. She carries her baby when she travels in the car. Think the shop selling baby car seat shld b able to advise on tis
I oso plan not to take epidural. There r many side effects of taking epidural.

Luzon888
How do u find B1 ward? I intend to take B1 but many ppl advised me to take A1. Package price difference by $600, & I think other misc items oso cost more

hi shook...
oh yah... u wldnt be able to wait for GSS.

sanrio...
thanks for the tips on the car seat. i will keep them in mind... i will go find out more info when i hv the chance as well.

Gosh! So many things to buy... I headache already.
Luzon888, from what you said about the free gifts, looks like no need to buy much hor..

Hi shook, so you got to wake up in the middle of the nights to feed bb then.

Hi sanrio, you very skinny leh.

Hi Emily, I've booked the doubl-bed ward too. Most prob, not going for the antenatal class cos too lazy. GlenE got hospital tour meh?

Hi avocado, I don't think newborns sleep on pillow leh cos their necks still not strong.

Hi soyabean, same as you. I'm not getting any clothings for newborn cos my friend passed me 2 bags of clothings liao.

Hi Soyabean,
There's indeed some feedback abt Avent bottles. Its seems bcos their milk bottles are plumper, so other brands of nipples wld not fit, meaning u muz get everything, breast pump, nipples etc from Avent. Heard from someone in the forum that she bought Avent products and when in hospital the BB gotten used to Nuk nipples, she got no choice but to discard her whole set of Avent stuff. And Avent do have their own breast pump, looks very neat in a insulation bag. Was so tempted to buy until i read the story, now thinking of getting Madela. Some collegaues did share for auto ones, can be quite painful if the mother do not have much milk. Manual, can be express at your own speed, but tiring loh......

Sanrio,
Muz really get car seat ah??? Really don feel comfortable putting BB in the seat leh. Think may buy after delivery, since can't go out for one month after delivery anyway. Now more contemplating what cot/playpen to buy.

No epidural??? I don think so lah... But have disadvantage loh. Epidural can make u lose control over your muscle n may have more difficulties pushing the BB out.

Luzon888,
Yep, me wif KKH. Most probably will take A class, as my company reimbursed me for A class. EDD: 3 July !!!!

Any aches n pains recently. Yesterday, dunno what happen, experience this sharp pain below my umbilical, ended can only lay flat. Got my hubby all shocked!

b2b3m4...
oic... thanks for the info on avent... i wonder if there is a type of pump whh allows manual and electric oso... dat wld be a dream pump.

i agree on the epidural part... women who use it dun feel the urge to push... and hv difficulties even though its painless.

oh... i oso got this sharp pain below my belly yest nite... not directly below belly... abt a few inches down... nearer to the pubic area.

Emily
What the merchants give are only sample size.

Shook
They also provide confinement food. I find B1 ok cos only stay there for 1 nite and my 1st nite was at the delivery suite but hubby can't stay overnite with u at the ward lor. Sometimes there's only 2 patients in the ward and they also restrict to 2 visitors. Furthermore, u can draw the curtains for more privacy. My curtain was drawn up during my whole stay. Miscellaneous charges are only the pain reliever and your bb's charges, otherwise don't think u need extra packs of maternity pads (they give 2 packs of kotex) and pampers from KKH. Think the 1st 4 hrs in the delivery suite is included the package, after that u have to pay additonal for every hr in there - can't remember how much. Price will definitely differ for A and B1 wards as we'll also expect different level of service too, same goes for other wards like B2, C... etc.

My SIL loan me her Medela electric pump, so no need to buy. But heard from friends that u can actually loan the electric pumps.

I did not vomit but I was shivering and have slight fever after I gave birth, have to wait for my fever to subside before going to the ward. These are one of the side effects but only for a short while.

I have 2 receiving blankets and bought the NUK bottles before I gave birth. So I don't need the extra receiving blanket and the AVENT bottle.

Giggler
Ya boy, I think I gotta wake up @ 9 to feed my baby. Hopefully he doesn't wake up @ 9 for feed. My hubby's colleague's daughter drinks milk after 10:30pm then wakes up 5+ or 6+ am for the morning feed. She v guai somemore. Din hear her cry when we went to her hse. She cld sleep even when it is v noisy. Wish my baby like her.
U oso v lucky, cld find hands me dwn.

Avocado
Read somewhere dat baby doesn't need to sleep on pillow. If wanna sleep on pillow, muz buy those v v flat ones.

B2B3M4
How nice dat your company pays for your stay @ A1 ward. My company doesn't even subside a single cent.
I thot of buying Avent manual pump but won't buy their milk bottle. My cousin advised me not to buy milk bottle 1st as I may receive as gift fm ppl. She said get glass milk bottle fm KK 1st.

Lately I feel my tummy tight on some occassion.

B2B3M4
As for epidural, the doctor did not want to give me 100% of the pain reliever 2 hrs before I gave birth cos he said that I'll not have the energy to push. I can still feel the pain while giving birth but no pain while my gynae was sewing. Think they can adjust the valve on how much epidural they are giving u. One of my friend have no energy to push at all and her gynae have to help by pushing her tummy downwards.

Luzon888
The maternity pads KK provides is stick on type or loop type? 2 packs wow dun need to buy anymore.
How many pack of pampers KK gives?
Thx for the offer of the receiving blanket & milk bottle. How do I get fm u?

Shook

They provide the loop type, string also provided. Each pack consists of 10 pads. They give 1 pack of pampers NB, think 34 pcs.

Which area are u working/staying? Me still on maternity leave but returning to work in 2 weeks' time, will also go to my parents and in-law's place on weekends. U are having a prince or princess?

Hi shook, your friend's bb very guai leh. Hope our bb also like that next time.
You're rite, I'm very lucky that my friend passed me a lot of stuff. Not just bb stuff but also maternity wear.

hi soyabean, b2b3m4, giggler, foreverfriend, kis and all,
so excited. wen for detailed scan tis morn. is a boy boy, can c the birdie so dr said 90% sure. bb did open his legs wide but was lying down comfortably n refused to turn n they cant c the spine thou tried all ways n angles. they told me go for walk n go toy shop n excite bb a little. came back 1 hr later, bb turned but position still cant c full spine so they made me turned this side n tat side, finally saw. relief! but bb quite disturbed oreadi n was using his legs to kick n kick. 2dy heard the heartbeats too, like horse galloping vy fast..
giggler,
yup, i really "jia liao bi" one. 2dy is my 19wks n only put on 2.6kg. but gyane said bb growing vy well which mean all the wt gain wen to bb n placenta, not on me. so she said i need not slim down af birth, shd be "automatic". hope so..
soyabean,
i saw a medela single electric cum manual pump at the kkh outlet. the shop tat sells quite lots of bb stuff. the staff said they specially import this set so outside may not hav. she said the mini electric can use only twice a day as motor is small. this set allows u to alternate btw electric n manual, whichever suits u. it's on offer at $169.

as for car seats, i remb newspaper n news reported sometx back tat grace period for car seats already given n is over. cant remb w effect which date, the law is fully enforced. so dun know how strict is this traffic regulation. i tink it's for bb safety loh, they worry in emergency situation or when driver jam break, not safe to carry on hand.
like wat b2b3m4 said, 1st 2 mths mayb hardly go out so i oso may shop for this item later. meanwhile jus c c.
mayb can check with traffic police dept??

Luzon888
I m staying in Sengkang, working in Beach Rd. My mum stays @ Pasir Ris, I go there v often. It is fine, u dun have to hurry to give receiving blanket & Avent bottle to me so soon. My EDD is 5th June
I m carrying a boy boy

Giggler
U got v gd lobang. So envious

Sanrio
Congrats for knowing your baby's gender
The sonographer v patient. I never expect KK have tis kinda std. I thot they will say can't c no choice.
Dun put on much wt gd wat. No worry of dieting.

Hi sanrio, your boi so obedient hor? So both u and hubby that your bb is boi boi? I didn't put on any weight when I abt 19weeks too. Till now, I think I put on abt 3kg (24weeks). Hopefully, all my weight gain goes to bb and I don't need much effort to lose weight after birth also.

Hi shook, I'm lucky that my friend so generous and willingly pass me all those stuff.

Giggler
at wk 24 I put on 4.5kg liao :p

My hubby's colleague said he wanna pass us his baby's stuff (dat guai baby I mentioned) but she only 3mths +. Hope my baby guai like his baby gal using his baby gal's stuff

Hi Sanrio, congrats on boi boi.
me having boi boi too... hopefully we won't have much prob bringin up boi boi.

Actually my boi boi a little naughty these days after detailed scan. Kept waking me up in the middle of the night coz of his kicking and tossing.

Giggler, yes Gleneagles have hospital tour.

Hi shook, you also didn't put on much weight hor? Hopefully, I won't experience sharp incr in my weight for the next few months. Then I hope my bb will not be as spoilt as my friend's bb after using her stuff. hahaha.............

hi giggler, foreverfriend, emily,
tks. af i "monitor' for wks,realise my boy boy like to sleep in morning n active during evening to nite tx. sometx middle of nite, i feel sudden pull at lower abdomen, he mus hav woken up then.
tink he got a bit agitated by sonographer disturbing his sleep tis morning, but overall he quite cooperative.
the sonographer was vy patient. i quite surprised too. did the scan vy thoroughly n slowly explained to me the bb's various organs.

Giggler
I try to keep total wt gain @ the most 10kg. Hopefully I can make it.
My company's ex tea lady advised me to let my baby wear hands me dwn during the 1st mth so baby easier to take care

Sanrio
Your baby is a 9 owl
Do u or your hubby sleep late?

Giggler,
Am not sure about the antenatal classes... coz hubby's working hours not very fixed. But I'll definitely go for the hospital tour. Then will at least know what to do and where I am supposed to go when I am due.

U want to go too? I'll goand check out the dates for all of us.

sanrio...
hehe... sent congrats on mtb thread liao.... but still wan to say congrats again...

ur boiboi very guai... but a bit stubborn oso... hehe lucky in the end can see spine.

shook...
my mil oso told me of the saying dat if let bb wear hand me downs, bb will be easier to take care i.e. in a sense more guai.

emily, sanrio...
good dat u all can gauge bb active period leh... my bb up to now v inconsistent... initially always move at nite... nowadays morning oso move, afternoon after lunch oso move... i cant catch the trend.

BTW, yest i wanted to measure my tummy again cos i thot it looked bigger liao... but my mil stopped me... she cant measure...
some superstition and when i asked for reason she didnt tell me. sigh...

Hi, have checked the stuff for GlenE.

Here's the info: maternity hospital tours are conducted every Tuesdays 12noon and every Thursdays 4pm. Registration required as only 7 couples allowed per session.

Antenatal classes:
- 3 lectures on (a) nutrition for mother & baby, (b) labour & delivery, (c)breastfeeding. All lectures are on Wed @6pm.

- 4 practical sessions on (a) exercises & stretches for muscle affected during pregnancy (b) breathing techniques for different stages of labour (c) postural correction (d) video on normal delivery. All practical sessions are on Tuesdays or Thursdays @ 6.30pm or 7.30pm.

Antenatal class participants who deliver at GlenE are entitled to 2 free complimentary postnatal execrise sessions.

Cost: $160 (exclusive of GST)

Alternatively you can have a private antenatal session of 2 hours - complete everything @ $180 (exclusive of GST). Can book any timing but only on weekdays. Must book early too... coz this is quite popular as well.

Soyabean,
Hmmm... what superstiton can that be? Hmmm....
Oh, btw, babies are usually more active after a meal. Coz have sugar... have food... have energy!

Hi sanrio, I'm not able to monitor bb's patterns yet. She'll like move around most of the time.

Hi shook, I also leh. Hopefully, I can keep my total weight gain to 10kg only. I think my bb will not have any new clothings to wear for the first few months cos my friend passed me quite a lot of clothings.

Hi Emily, I'm interested in the hospital tour. Thanks for checking out the dates for us. So you going for the hospital tour since it's weekdays?

Hi soyabean, prob your mil doesn't know the reason behind it also. Hahahaha.

hi sanrio,

Congrats!! So cuteee when u describe ur boi boi..how I wish i could know my bb gender during my next visit.

biw,which hospital do u follow-up wf??U mean the detailed scan is not done by the gynea but sonographer?

Hi Kis,
thanks for the info..Will chk out JL sales on bb stuff this wkend.

Hi soyabean,
don't scare me...I measured my waist twice oredi..

Shook
my in-laws are staying in Bedok, may go there this sat. I may also go to Tampines to do some shopping so I can drop by Pasir Ris to pass u the items. Will confirm with u again.

hi soyabean,
tks, yup we got few similar pts
these few days, start to feel bb movement a bit more.
hope u enjoy ur coming scan, mus talk to bb bf tat. vy interesting n touching session..

hi foreverfriend,
we're early birds, sleep n wake up early almost evyday. probably bb in tummy still adjusting to his own timing

hi avocado,
soon soon...u'll know ur bb gender. i c gynae at kkh. detailed scan is done by a sonographer together w a doctor in ADC (antenatal diagnostic clinic). but they vy experienced n patient, no worries. u leh, pte or kk?

Soyabean
I oso never heard dat can't take tummy measurement. My hubby measured for me twice liao.

Giggler
U oso another lucky gal. I m still looking ard for hands me dwn

Luzon888
No need to come to Pasir Ris juz to pass the things to me. So pai say. May b I meet u @ Tampines? Wat time u going there? My mum wanna bring me to Queen St to shop for baby stuff. Can PM me @ [email protected]

sanrio...
yeah... i'm afraid dat i wldnt be able to zzz on sun nite.
reali lookg 4wd.

shook...
i oso never heard of such thing... but then hor... sometimes gynae will measure for us one rite?

Emily, thanks for gathering gleneagles info...still considering wan to go 4 the hospital tour, cos the timing not so good leh.

Soyabean, aiyo, i meansure my tummy many many times liao leh...

Hi sanrio,

i'm seeing dr chow at Gleneagles..I oredi in 18weeks (based on gestation), don't know why my bb still not kicking. I joked wf my hubby that our bb is as lazy as him..hee..

I went to JL during lunch time..don't hv lots of bb stuff on sales leh...

Hi avocado, I only feel bb's movements when I was 19 weeks. So be patient, you'll feel it soon.

Hi Kis, the timing for hospital tour not very good hor? I wonder how long is the tour. If it's quite short, then maybe still can go during lunchtime.

Hi soyabean, so far my gynae never measure waist for me leh.

hi avocado,
i oso jus started feeling slight bb movement at 19 wks. started vy slight so may not notice.

hi soyabean,
me few days bf detailed scan oso vy excited, the nite bf the scan, i read story book to put bb n myself to sleep

hi foreverfriend,
i oso surprised when the sonographer "introduced" the doctor to me. the sonographer did 1 round, took lots of measurement, then the doctor did the vy thorough 2nd round, looked at heart chambers, stomach, lip, mouth etc in details n explained to me many details, i oso cant remb much liao. did u ask for ultrasound photos? i asked for abt 5 diff views. they nicely gave to me. tat's why i oso wonder why service so gd leh..

soyabean, remb to request for photos during detailed scan..

hi giggler,
ya loh, timing not good, and dun know can reach hospital at 12pm leh.

hi avocado,
i only can feel bb movement at ard wk22 cos earlier on, i couldn't be sure its bb movement and till now, dun have a trend.

so u went to JL sales liao, which outlet? Me going tonite leh, mayb go and c c loh.

hi sanrio,
ur detailed scan is really v v detailed and having v. good services too.

Hi sanrio, your detailed scan really a detailed one hor?

Hi Emily, so will u be going for the hospital tour? Too bad they don't have it on weekends or nite time.

Hi Kis, we also need time to travel hor?

giggler...
mayb not now lor... but my colleague was telling me her gynae measured for her.

sanrio...
so cute... tell story to bb....
wat story did u tell? hehe... i feel abit weird saying story like dat leh.

Soyabean
My gyne din take measurement of my tummy leh. Did your gyne take measurement for u?

Avocado
I received pamphlet fm JL. Baby seat selling @ $99 for members today n tml. Did u c the baby seat?
I feel my baby's movement @ wk 19 too. U will feel yours soon

Sanrio
U v lucky leh. Got Dr to do detailed scan as well. Your detailed scan sounds more detailed than mine. Mine wz abt 20min. How long wz yours?
The sonographer only took 2 pictures n my gyne gave both pictures to me.
I oso borrow story books for toddler n read to my baby now dat he shld b able to hear sound. I learn to talk to him too. My hubby oso to read to my baby

I think it's alrite to read anything to bb rite? Sometimes, I read out whatever I'm reading so that bb can listen.

Hi giggler,
dun know can get time-off to go for hospital tour anot leh, wat do u think?

Hi sanrio & shook,
me too starts to read story book for my girl. But hav to admit, sometime too lazy to read.

shook...
no leh... my gynae didnt measure for me... my colleague's gynae was Dr Sim leh... but think might not measure at every visit lor... maybe later stage... not too sure oso cos didnt question colleague further.

hi shook,Kis
i went to JL Northpoint. Nope,i didn't notice the bb seat..I've most of the bb stuffs given by my sis in law..except the playpen..so i didn't take note of the bb seat

hi sanrio,
i think nowadays kk is better services than pte.. hospitals..

Giggler
Memory search me, baby can hear starting fm wk 24

Kis
I always sleep late ard 12, so skip reading to my baby if I m available only b4 bedtime. Dun wanna let him develops late sleeping habit like me.

Soyabean
Has your colleague wif Dr Sim delivered?

Avocado
Personally find dat KK doesn't offer personalized service like private hospital. Every test u go to different dept. The staff @ different dept dun explain, the problem wif segregation according to specialization. My gyne patient to ans my questions tho but her ans is usually normal, normal. I gotta read up the reason of the discomforts I feel. Well, I learned fm antenantal class dat it is gd dat your gyne c u for v short while. It means u r perfectly alrite. If gyne c u 4 a long time, there is something wrong. Gyne won't tell patient direct to worry patient. Patient gotta catch the words in b/w the lines.