(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

Foreverfriends, thanks for the 'recipe' for birds nest. Can I cook it in the slow cooker (crock pot)?

winwin, I too have mild asthma, but I have taken birds nest before with no problems. Just don't take too much, otherwise it's probably too cooling.

This morning I measured my waist - 35.5 in. I'm still in the lead. hahahaha.

harlo sue,
actually i shd be 18 wks oreadi, still close to yours, even my weight (nearing 48kg) n tummy (32")
pardon me for asking agn coz tis thread moves so fast. what is ur EDD? mine is 21/7/04.
i have a bird nest question. is there a "cleaner" yet "good" type of bird nest (beside the bottled one) where u don't have to spend hrs picking the tiny hairs? tot of ownself go n buy n make but has limited "knowledge n skills" with rgds to bird nest. dun wan to trouble mil or mum.

Giggler, i'm seeing Dr Lisa Chin at GlenE. Her service so far so good lah...

Priviledged, actually i've never tried bird nest b4. My gyane oso advice mi to try a bit at a time if i wan...

Sue, mi quite close to u too leh, oso in 17 wks...

Hehe i measure my tummy liao, it's 32.5 oredi.

hi sanrio,

I share the same Qs as u oso
I oso want to buy the purer & cleaner type of bird nest but not sure how to choose.

Hi sanrio, how abt Lo Hang Ka bird nest? You don't have to cook and it's more concentrated than those normal bottled ones.

Hi winwin, I saw Dr Lisa Chin before. That time, I got vaginal infection and my gynae went for holiday. I find her quite nice and doesn't talk much.

EDD: 14/6/04 (23weeks)

giggler and winwin,
I'm also seeing gynae ar GlenE. Seeing Dr Tan. Very nice and friendly doctor. btw, are u gals on package? how much? Which bed-wards have you gals decided on?

soyabean,
don't worry about tummy. Mine is very big too. In fact, I think bigger than yours. My cousin, who's pregnant one week later than me is very surprised that I get a seat very time in the MRT. Shows how big I am ..

with regards to hospital charges, found an interesting site:

http://www.motherhood.com.sg/dirlistings/hospital.asp

Check it out!

Hi Emily, are u seeing Dr Gordon Tan? I'm on package and I paid $770 for it. I've decided on double-bed ward.

EDD:14/6/04 (23weeks)

Hi Sanrio,
Do u know anything abt the the talk on "Nurturing your child" in KKH on Saturday. Was looking thru the timetable and wondering why suddenly there is this talk at the Auditorium. Also the last time on the pamphlets, there was mention abt a talk for Fathers, but it wasn't mention in the time table.

Soya,
So joining us tomorrow? Its exercise tomorrow! Hubbies muz come to learn too.

hi Giggler,

where can buy Lo Hang Ka bird nest? about how much per bottle?

Hi emily,
thanks for the website
very informative!

soyabean... dun worry, u r not the heaviest one here.
My weight is 67.8Kg and before pregnant i have no idea what is my weight. I used to be around 53 Kg and that was before my customery marriage. after marriage, put on weight like nobody biz... put on 2.5kg for last month... think becoz of the chinese new year... eat too much liao. haha... a bit scary... imagine the weight i have to get rid after given birth...

Name: taringal
EDD: 11/6/04
Baby No: 1st one in my tummy
Baby : Girl
Felt baby kick: Yes

hi Giggler,

I heard fr. the nurse tat if we choose on double bed, husband cannot stay overnight. They can only stay overnight for single bed ward..

If we choose to hv C-section, about how long will we need to stay at hospital? I don't think i've the courage to go for natural birth..too much pain & stress liao!

hi giggler, tks
for telling me Lo Hang Ka. think i saw it bf. u're right, it's clean, concentrated n packed in a bottle. i shall go buy a bottle tis wkend. the cost is $100++?

avocado, i think we can get it at takashimaya basement. there's a stall somewhere near the cold storage i think. jurong pt has 1 stall, not too sure thou.

hi b2b3m4,
like u i knew there's a talk for father. didnt know is "nuturing..." this sat until i saw the course outline given. so soon ah.. but me n hubby shd b there. u leh?
soyabean, hope u can join us.

Sanrio,
U mean the talk tomorrow was the one meant for Fathers? Oh no, dunno whether hubby can make it.

Soya,
Coming ?

Hi Giggler, yes am seeing Dr Gordon Tan. Have you heard about him b4? Any thing gd or bad? My package is $1000 from the 2nd visit onwards. Was thinking of double-bed too. Actually, now that I see all the costs, am thinking of going to Mount Alvernia. Coz their deposit is not so much... what do u think? But as our gynae is at GlenE, it definitely will be more convivient for them if we are admitted in GlenE. But then again, if labour comes at night, then not much of a diff.

Hey girls, does any of you know how much we can claim from Medisave? and also the deposit at the hospital, can use medisave?

Hi avocado, I only know there's Lo Hang Ka at IMM (Jurong East) and Jurong Pt. I don't know the price leh. Sorry can't help much. It's true that hubby can't stay overnite for double-bed. My hubby may not have time to stay cos he still got to work so I choose double-bed lor. I think I need to stay 4-5 days in hospital for c-section.

Hi taringal, don't worry too much. I've friend who gained 20kg during pregnancy but managed to lose within 4 mths after birth.

Hi sanrio, I not sure the price of the bird nest.

Hi Emily, a few of my friends seeing him. Don't worry, all I heard is good comments. But one of my friends told me that she only pay $500 for her package leh. Maybe she starts late. I not sure how much we can claim from Medisave. Can we check from CPF website?

hi emily,
i got this info from cpf website. hope it helps. do check with the hospital n get their staff to explain further.

Does Medisave cover expenses for maternity?
Yes, you can use Medisave to pay the hospital stay for the delivery of the first three children of the mother, up to $300 per day for daily hospital charges, including a maximum of $50 for doctor's daily attendance fees. You can also use your Medisave up to the following limits for delivery charges:

Type of Operation, Table of Operation, Medisave Limits ($)
Normal delivery 2B 450
Forceps delivery 3A 800
Caesarean Section 4A 1,400

However, Medisave cannot be used to cover ante- and post-natal consultation fees.

emily, are u refering to dr gordon tam. he is quite a famous gynae, i saw his book in the library. my frd sees him for women problem. quite gd she said but do take note hospital alway give interim/estimated bill first. my tis frd had a minor op done by him. the interim bill was not high but when the final bill came, it's few thousand more. do check with his nurse n gleneagles.

hi b2b3m4,
yes, the talk at the auditorium tis sat (not fri)is meant for the fathers n us.

Hi Emily n giggler

Im on package too. My package start only from 3th mths onward and it cost $735. I havent decide on the bed-wards yet, no need to decide so early one rite? My EDD is 29/07/04.

By u ways, any of u interested on prenatal yoga? Am thinking of signing up... Heard tat it's good to do some stretching during pregancy.

Hi winwin, I more interested to go swimming but till now still have go near the pool yet. ;) Then Dr Lisa Chin more ex cos my package starts at 4th mth cost $770 but Dr KH Chan uses 3D scan which is more ex than normal scan.

Sanrio, I got my bird nest from Fu Hua. It's $150 for one 'liang'. When I bought, it's buy 2 get 1 liang free. It's quite clean, just soak & dun really have any feathers to pick. According to FuHua, it's processed so cleaner but my friends told me it's not so gd. Better to buy those that need to pick feathers becos it's not chemically processed. Like what Giggler said, you can try Lo Hang Ka birdnest. No need to boil. My EDD is 5 Aug but I've a feeling that I'll be due end July.

Hi Winwin, Hee....glad to have someone same wks as me. My EDD is few days after you, 5 Aug. I need to tell my nurse which hospital I want by my next appt ie next Sat. I've decided on Mt A.

Giggler, then you can see who bb looks like around 30 wks. So nice. I'm still thinking whethe to go for 3D scan or not.

Hi sue, so I still got to wait for few more weeks before I can see bb's features clearly? Now I can see bb's features but not really developed yet so not really clear. My friend told me not to get clean bird nest also cos they're chemically processed and not too good.

Hi giggler, Dr Gordon Tan's package is $1000 but we only pay $500 first. The rest can be settled after delivery and using medisave too - that's what his nurse told me.

Thanks Sanrio for the CPF Medisave info. Will check out further details for all of us here. Coz I have my next appointment and detailed scan tomorrow.
can't wait! Am so excited that I am thinking of camping at botanical gardens tonight... ehehheee...
just joking! My hubby will never allow me to do that!

Hi Emily, you very funny leh. So you'll know your bb's gender tom. That means Dr Gordon Tan's package is comparable to my gynae's. Maybe that's what my friend did pay $500 first.

Hi Sue,
Do u hv any idea how they process the bird nest chemically?

For Lo Hang Ka birdnest, if no nid to boil,how to we heat it up? By microwave?

b2b3m4...
hehe... sori... wasnt in ofc yest...
dun think going lah.... hvnt sign up.... haha....

shook...
kk's website rather diff to surf... took me a while to find the packages.... website not v friendly... must feedback... haha... i will hv a lot of questions to check wif my gynae on next visit... hv written them down... mostly imptly, will be checking whether the package will be eligible for claim under my hubby's civil svc medical benefits....
cos rite now i dun pay a single when i go visit... i jus show the card the amt will be deducted from hubby's salary later on. and i wld be subsidised for my inhospitalisation as well.

Hi avocado, I don't think u need to heat up the bird nest from Lo Hang Ka leh. I think you only need to eat 1 teaspoon everyday, that's all. You can always check with the sales asst. there.

hi giggler n sue,
tks for the bird nest info. will check w the salesgirl fr Lo Hang Ka. do u have any feedback on this LHK birdnest. is it oso chemically processed??
hi emily,
most welcome. u so funny, heehee. i oso excited like u. think tis wkend n monday, i sure can't sleep well, as my detail scan is 24/2. do update us when u back

hi soyabean,
i oso can claim maternity fees from my co. just a note: but not all items under inpatient (for maternity) is claimable, can ask ur hubby to check w his HR.
i in same class as b2b3m4, u not joining us ah, nvm, if got any useful info abt kkh, can update u here

Hi sanrio, I remembered that there's one batch of mummies who take Lo Hang Ka bird nest during pregnancy one. So I think should be safe.

Had my scan yesterday...My ger shy shy, use her hand and hide her face, then back-faced us somemore, so cldn't see much of her...

My gynae comments on my weight gain. Says must ctrl diet!!! sighed, so sad, esp nowadays i ate alot. Says my wt gain most go to me and not bb.

Updates:
Wt: 47.2kg (up 6.6kg fr 40.6kg) 23week.
Tummy: 34inch.

hi sanrio...
yeah thanks!
update me if anything hor...
btw... wld u gals be going for kkh's tour of their facilities? its being held everyday mon - fri. i hvnt gone for it... wld go if got chance and timing fits wif my appt.

Do you girls realise that you are on a mood-swing roller-coaster? Well, it definitely is true for me. Was weeping and sobbing last night... and today, am bright and cheery! Think hubby will have a hard time figuring me out.

Am so excited and happy and find this chat very cute... have been updating my hubby sometimes about what you girls have been eating and of course doing ... like going for classess, durians very "pur" and bird nest very good for baby's complexion.. but for later months etc..

He also enjoys hearing these and learning about what everyone is doing.
In fact, when I told him about the durian stuff last night.... he nearly went to buy the durians at cold storage for me... but I told him never mind... as it was so expensive ($12 per box) - small box some more.

Am so excited about the baby stuff. I'll definitely let u girls know about my scan tomorrow.. and of course the results if baby will open legs...
Then can start to buy the (blue/pink) clothes and stuff.

Think I will go and buy the bird nest too.. anyway, pregnancy is definitely an excuse for eating what one likes yeah? heheee...

Kris, don't worry about your weight. If u were 40.6kg before, I think you must have been underweight. So gaining some weight which may be the baby and all the placenta stuff, and of course gaining some weight for yourself is fine. But of course too much is also no good.

hi emily...
its common to hv mood swings when preggie... think it might even be worse when we are in our 3rd tri cos we wld be so near to our due date...

hehe... ur hubby so sweet wanted to buy durian for u...

Hi Kis, did u manage to see bb's features?

Hi Emily, I guess some preggies go through the mood swing. Try to tell yourself positive and happy things when u not happy, it helps. Remember to talk to bb and tell bb to open legs for u to see.

hi Emily,

Same here..sometx,I happy,sometx,sad & depressed..

worse still,my hubby is not really understanding sometx..

I've mood swings for my appetite too.Sometx,can eat a lot sometx eat very little..

since I pregnant,i prefer to be alone..

oh..didn't know there's durian selling at Cold storage...ur hubby sooo sweet

Bird nest is not fattening...so can eat more,hee..

Hi Emily,
I'm small size and short mah. Will try to ctrl my diet loh...

Me not so much of mood swing etc, but more emotional definitely. So far, have cried few times before, n watch sad show will cry too.

I also brief my hubby on info and facts get from this forum, v. useful sharing info. in this way. Hope u can see bb gender tmr...Must tell bb to let u see, so that u can buy things for him/her.

From the form my gynae nurse gave me, it says for:
normal delivery: max medisave claim is $1050
assisted delivery: $1400
Caesarean delivery: $2300

Btw, my nurse have also help me to appoint paediatrician. Very fast hor, me haven't do any research on tat yet. Anyone has any info or recommendation on paediatrician???

Hi giggler,
Can't see her face at all! she use her hand to hid her face fr. us...so sad. I even talk to her tat mummy n daddy going to see her. Sighed, next time must tell her to position better n let us see.

Hi Kis, I just used the PD that the nurse recommend. I think he's just opp the clinic of my gynae. Maybe she's sleeping and don't want people to disturb her that's why she hid her face behind her hand.

Avocado, it definitely is hard not to let things upset us these days. We get so easily upset these days, yeah? My hubby is not always understanding too... but I can see that he is trying.

I heard that it takes hubbies longer to get used to the idea that a little one will be kicking and crying and it will not be just the two of you anymore. All hubbies need time to adjust... it definitely is easier for us, as we are carrying the baby.

Can all of you imagine that in about 4-5months time, we will have a little baby crying all day in our house? Gosh! I think most of us first time moms will not be able to imagine...

Hi Emily, I agree that hubbies take longer time to adapt. I've a friend and her hubby takes 5-6 mths before he get used to the idea of having bb of his own and start to help out with bb.

To all ladies who already knew the gender of the BB, don get too overboard wif the pink/baby blue stuff. Unless the scan done was very clear, meaning the scan show the BB's genitals very clearly, otherwise there is still a 10-15% chance of a mistake. Esp for girls. My gynae related to me an incident whereby the mummy always tot she had a girl until the actual day, she was shocked when told it was a boy! Sometimes the genitals can be hidden away, giving the reader the impression that it is a girl, so my gynae actually recommends me to get more white. Can use fot the next baby too!

Sanrio,
U wearing pants today? Its physio session today!

Hi B2B3M4, but my gynae sounded very confident when he announced the gender to us leh. So there's still 10-15% chance that it may be wrong. But white stuff will turn yellowish easily leh.

Hi giggler, think we have the same PD leh. Dr Lee rite?...need to do some research cos co. may not be able to claim full.

hi kis, emily, soyabean, avocado, giggler n all,
me 1st trim more mood swing, now better. but i become more emotional since preg. i agree with giggler must try n keep telling ourself to stay positive n happy then bb will oso be happy.
i finally ate durian yesdy af all of u mentioned abt it. but it seem quite ex as not durian season.
i think men alwy feel why women so emotional/ difficult to understd n all the more when the bb comes, our hubbies may take a while to adjust to it. but i think in their heart, they are alwy supportive
i heard some men cried the moment they saw the bb comes out.
hi giggler,
gd tat u mention, me will talk to bb n ask him/her to open legs so can see gender in my coming scan. i oso worry can c or not?
hi soyabean,
no prob, will update u. i think the antenatal class may arrange a visit to the ward. i not too sure, will check.

Priviledged
Sure u can cook birdnest in slow cooker but u gotta spend longer time cooking
My gyne said as long as u r not sensitive to bird nest it is fine to consume birdnest, juz dat u got a big hole in the pocket

Sanrio
How much is the talk at the auditorium tis sat?
wat time is the talk?

Soyabean
Where do u query on tour of KK's facilities? I check wif admission dept & new patient registration counter @ clinic. Wz told they no longer conduct dat.

Mummies delivery @ KK
Went to c my gyne @ private suite for the 1st time yesterday. Total time spent in the suite only 45 min. V fast. Got FOC beverage & environment v nice. If u wanna take inpatient premium package, I strongly advise u to c your gyne @ the private suite. The consultation charge (for snr consultant) is more x by $6 but my gyne did ultra scan for me foc. She explained to my hubby & me when she wz doing the scan.

Kis
U muz b under wt @ 40.6kg. Wat is your ht? As long as your BMI is not on the overwt side, u can afford to put on wt. Learned fm antenantal class dat preggie wif low BMI can afford to put on more than preggie wif high BMI so dun worry too much ya.
I m oso more emotional now
My baby wz facing dwn when my gyne did ultra scan yesterday. Oso can't c his face

Giggler, Emily
I train my hubby to adapt to having a baby by asking him to carry my soft toy once he sat dwn to relax. I will use my soft toy to talk to him. After dat I give him 2 soft toys. Now give him 3 soft toys. Initially he said I m so funny to ask him to play wif soft toys. I used my soft toys to say "u want baby rite, so u gotta learn to carry & play wif us. If u can't handle us how u gonna handle your baby who cld react & want attention when he likes"
I m crazy rite

B2B3M4
The sonographer who did the detailed scan told me very confidently dat my baby is a boy. Tis is confirmed by my gyn

hi Emily,

Mayb becoz of hormone changes...we get work up & upset easily..Sometx, i don't feel like talking too...

my hubby gets angry when I don't take gd care of myself..for e.g. when I eat too much or drink cold drink. I still hv occasional ms..though I'm oredi in week17..

I can't wait my bb coming out soon leh! I'm so curious how he/she looks like..but most imptly,my bb muz b healthy..I muz admit I'm not a good mother, I eat lots of spicy food, cold drink..I'm very worried if my bb will cough or get flu easily..but I can't help to avoid spicy food & cold drink leh...

i can't wait to feel my bb kick soon..he/she muz b very comfortable inside until don't feel like kicking,hee...

hi b2b3m4,
yup, i did. u're right, may not b 100% accurate hoh. i dun know mine can c clearly or not. okie will try buy more white unless vy sure

Hi shook,
i'm ard 1.5m, mayb a bit underwt b4 preg lah. Sighed, so u same as me, bb facing down...
U so cute, play the soft toy with ur hubby...For me, i used to ask my hubby to read those preg. books, but now he has no time, so i summarise to him loh.

shook...
i found out abt the tours in one of the pamplets they prominently display at the clinics leh... sigh...

so ur gynae did the scan for u? wow... btw, who's ur gynae? u mentioned b4 but i must hv forgotten. and yes... i hv heard of the short waiting time at the private suite.