(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

thank you, mommies,
i'm going to try all your suggestions, one at a time. it is worrying coz it happens too often.

hey serenade,
i thot you will be away longer...take this opportunity to rest. haha...ky is very lucky to have a hb who cooks, hope you are equally lucky too. i'm definitely not...
not sure if this a result of wearing contacts but my eyes sure become smaller over the years...i don't have the courage to try lasik, power is ok but astigmatism high.

lena,
i saw mel holding the pencil. thot it was quite alright...reminds me of artists doing calligraphy coz she was holding it quite high up. perhaps she will change when nursery starts.

Hi Lena!

Yap, the glucolin blue tin will do. That's what my children's PD told me. I think with your daughter you might have to add enough to give her some taste. Let her drink 1-2 glasses everyday. SHould be quite safe.

Also, there is this thing called Lactulose from the pharmacy here. PDs administer them when children have constipation. Main component is actually just glucose. Safe for children use.

Yeah, I agree... exercise is important. Coz when they run, they sweat too and they tend to take in more fluid.

Oh... hmmm, plain white porridge is also very good too. Coz when you have that with some dishes, you get lots of fluid in.

don't worry about being disciplined enough to teach everyday... children have really good memory. Recently, Bryan saw a dump truck while I was driving him home from school. I asked him where he learnt the word. And he said I read to him about it once. He was right, but that was about 3 weeks ago. So, whatever you do with Mel now, it will definitely stick to her.

Hi Mommies!

Any cool stories to tell for Mid-Autumn festival? Or any good sites with nice pictures?

It's Mid-Autumn Festival tomorrow!
Happy Mooncake Feasting!

Hi Sarah and Lena!

You could try getting one of these for your girls.

These pencils will allow the children to hold them correctly. You can get them from Faber Castell.
CHildren in Bryan's class are encouraged to practise writing with these pencils. Go for the chunky ones.

535916.jpg
535917.jpg

Hi Kristin's mon, Lena and Sarah,
Aston is using this faber pencil to write. I did not know this will allow children hold better. I bot it cos I thot it has a better grip...oh so it is for the purpose good grip allow children hold better...

Hi Moms!

I need help!

I've been tasked to tell a Mid-Autumn Festival story tomorrow at a gathering. We've got children aged 3 to 12.

I've adapted this story from a website, although the one I know has it with HOu Yi becoming a tyrant king. Anyway, any good pictures to show?

attachment_icon.gif

story_chang_e.doc (26.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Serenade,

glad to know that u r fine. do not know the reason, vision juz gets poorer over the years. sigh....

actually i do not mind to go thru it again. my doc told me that if the cornea is thick enuff, can actually do it again. but now is the cost issue. so much thing to do / buy, so little $$ : (

wow, now is real cheap. if i recalled correctly, i did it at national eye ctr 9 years ago, total cost at ard SGD7,000+. now in SG, tink oni ard SGD4,000+. M'sia is even cheaper, my frez is a m'sian and he did it at 1/2 price !! MYR5,000+.

btw, to those mummies who hv sent their kids to childcare or school, any experience if your child gets bully at school ? what is the best way to deal with it ?

my d came back today with bruises and red finger print on his face. My husband felt heart pain saw him like that and he complaint that someone hit him in school! sigh...

Hi Blurblur Pooh,

Aston often get bullied in school also. Some of them will pinch and push him. Not too long ago, he came home with a tiny blue black bruise on the face and he complaint to me a bigger boy knock onto him when he action wan to push the bigger boy. I get to know when I happen to start asking him how are you in school. I will usually "confronted" the school and see what they have to say. Most of the time, it's like oh you see these are children lovely childhood or they have big movements or teachers could not stop them at times. As much as I cannot accept some of the reasons, I can't debate or argue with them forever. In order kids parents dun come after me, I always make sure aston say sorry to the kid if he is naughty. There is one period of time he says nobody loves him in school. So I found out from principal two kids gang up dun wan share books with Aston during reading time. He was deeply hurt and was sad for a few weeks. Since then til now, everyday ask today must I go school. I think he has developed fear for school.

I sugguest u have to find out from Shawn's teachers what actually happen and request them to monitor him not to get bullied. Kids are still young and innocent and we need to take care their emotions properly.

Hi Pooh,

Brandon gets bullied in school too. He has been complaining to me abt being pushed by older kids since day one. I'm contemplating to withdraw him from school when this term closes. One drawback is that he won't get to attend any school until next year. So, I'm still considering.

Those who come my house for 1st gathering have seen how Aston is so demanding and determine to get his things and his way. Then at school, he gets bullied. So ironical side of him.

Can I join here? My boy is an Oct 03 baby and he will be 3 next week.

Abt bullying, I feel as a parent, you have the right to call up the school to find out wat happened. When my boy came back w a bruise on his leg, prob caused by a knock but KS me wanted to make sure, I requested an explanation from his teachers by writing in his school communications book. His teacher gave a v detailed explanation of wat happened, apologised for the incident, etc. Case closed. The other day, a boy pushed him and he had a cut on his face. His teacher called me immediately and explained abt it. Kinda glad that his school has such caring teachers.
Bullying in school is inevitable but as some kids tend to be timid (like my boy), we can try to help by asking our child to tell the teacher when he gets bullied. If all doesnt work, then perhaps a change of school is the last resort. The last thing we want is for our child to have a fear of school....

kristin's_mom,
hmm, i don't know abt hou yi becoming the tyrant king...but there's another version - china's revolution against the mongols. revolution's plans were hidden in the cakes and distributed to the chinese pp, and when time comes to (ie mid autumn), to uprise against the mongols.

all kids get bullied at some point in way or another, just dun let us see visible bruises or scratchmarks or the likes, think my hub will tear the shcool down haha

but seriously, will have to train the kid to complain to the T or tell mummy. Hey u guys have boys, i have a feather weight girl, shouldn't i be more worried? i notice that some kids are hard core bullies, and the teachers perhaps have exhausted the ways to deal with them. Don't think they would want to put them in the dark room. (ST forum: PAP AMK)

Serenade, K's mom,
a parent wrote in to ST to complain how his son suffered when asked to stay in a dark room for 'time-out'. he became violent at home and was not his usual self, a visit to the child psychiatrist revealed that he was traumatised by the incident. another parent wrote in to confirm that her child also received similar treatment in the same school. Freaked me out, the sch is just 5 min from where i am.

sarah/K's mom
Mel is using the palmer;s grasp to hold pencil and refused to let me correct her. v stubborn
I have a triangular shaped pencil, similar to the one K's mom mentioned, no use. now i am beginning to suspect she's a left hander. do your kids have a predominant hand? or u encourage right hand? mel can use both with equal ease.

5 Noc is ok for me, keep me in the loop.

Anyone have photos of my darlings and can send to me please? Forgetful mummy did not bring camera...

apricot: maybe because he's bullied at shcool, so he bully u at home?

how to train my gal with logico har? the button are a bit hard to push and she's get so frustrated.

Hi MH,
Move the logico buttons few more times like you are "oiling" them..mine was so very hard to move and now they are so smooth now.

Hi mummies, got a FREE TRIAL CLASS to share...got it from other forum.. Have already attended the trial, am signing up for my son.. Please email the teacher directly if you have any queries...

Hi Parents,

I am currently planning to provide home practice service to all busy parents with children from 18 months to 6 years old at Jurong area from my home.

My lesson will be a mixture of SM &amp; GD on:

1) Image training
2) ESP
3) Flashcards (English &amp; chinese)
4) Photographic Memory
5) Activities on brain teasing, motor skill(fingerplay) , etc depends on age
6) Foreign Languages
7) Introduction to science
8) Maths (High speed calculation and dots )
9) Words recognition (English &amp; chinese)
10)perfect pitch thru basic music training
11)Speed Reading

If you are interested, you may e-mail to me at [email protected]

hehe. since is free.. why not go and take a look..

The fees is $100 per month (4weeks), 1 hour per class.

hi apricot, hi emily

wrote this morning but accidentally deleted before posting ... so here goes again.

Ben got "bullied" only a couple of times in his old cc. His teachers mostly witness what happened (though can't stop in time) will discipline the kids and ask the party in the wrong to apologize. Sometimes both parties are wrong. Then they would inform the parents. His "good" fren once bite his arm and the marks stayed for months. I don't consider that as bullied but as young kids, they are still self-centered at this age and it happens when they are snatching the same toy. I've seen that even happening in parent-child playgroup. I feel the teacher need to have be aware; the children are under her care and she can't simple says she doesn't know ... and a good teacher would know how to discipline and even engaging the parent to be involved.

Apricot, another mother told me that as kids are in fullday cc learnt how to protect themselves. You mentioned that Aston is being bullied in school ... perhaps he has learnt by example and hence he's quite aggressive. I don't think it's ironically so.

MH, I have more pictures ... give me time to send them out ok ...

Worry_Mum, what's the trainer's name on SM/GD course? Will go for the trial coz I'm doing this too ... she covered all the topics listed in the trial? seems like a lot of Jurong people doing this to their kids ...

.ky.

Hi Sarah!

Thanks for pointing me to those sites.

Yeah, you're right about the mooncake revolution story.

The Chang'e and Hou Yi story has many versions too. This is mainly about Chang'e ascending to the moon legend.

Oohhh... it's exciting
Mid-Autumn Festival tonight! But weather is quite bad... sigh! So probably no outdoor lantern activity.

By the way, anyone from HCJC? MAF at Central Plaza tomorrow night from 6.30pm onwards.

Gotta go do my potluck dishes already...

Enjoy your weekend!

Hi Lena!

Correct her whenever she's in the mood to learn. If she switches back, then let her be. Once she starts kindergarten next year, she'll naturally want to be the same as the rest of the children, i.e. no palmer's grip anymore.

DO you have left-handedness in your family? Or Mel's daddy? Children tend to switch from left to right and back again... just let them pick up the pencil naturally. Bryan's preschool teacher told me it's not really fixed until they are about 6 years old. She's a got leftie son and a rightie son. Bryan also switches from right to left sometimes. But we have very remote lefthandedness in my side of family.

These triangular shaped pencils are ex, right? There are coloured ones too.

Good giref... time-out in dark room... poor boy, he must be scared stiff... even adults would be terrified! Where's this school?

When the little children in Bryan's school misbehave, they'll be sent to the director's office. They sit there on a chair and watch her work on the comupter... And that's boring enough to punish them already.

Hi Lena!

Do you moderate this thread?

One of the photos from the post on Faber Castell pencil should be removed. Or take out the post if everyone already had a look at them.

The screen goes all the way to the right now... and I'm sorry that most of you have to toggle left and right to read.... VERY VERY SORRY!

Hi Moms!

Any chance to talk to the parents of the school bully in your children's kindergarten?

Arrange play dates with them. Let the kids get more familiar with one another. And if they have differences, the parents can be there to help sort them out.

Bryan used to fight with this boy in school. But they've been good friends since. And now, he's got a group of good friends who watch out for each other. Recently, a boy came back from vacation and joined the class. So this boy is a bit out of the routine. And whenever he pushes or hits someone, one of Bryan's friends or B will surely go tell the teacher.

Or get your kids to know his peers well and help them form alliances so that the bullies can't get them.

Hi ky!

Which school does your son attend?

It's good to know that they do scholastic book orders too.

The American School here does it too... but when we are back, we might have to rely on you to help us place orders.

Really a good range of readers, right??? I usually order a lot and take out a new one every week... I remember it was the books "Good enough to eat" and "Little Quak's Bedtime" that finally got Bryan into routine after we were here for 6 months!

KY, when i went for the trial.. she covered most of the topics. The Teacher's name is Catherine. Do u mean u also teaching? or DIY teaching ur kids? Me too doing DIY with my son, but as a FTWM, sometimes went home really late, hence not consistent on this issue. And with me teaching him, he tense to be naughty.. whereas in the teacher's home, he so obedient.

Hi Worry_mum, hm, I know Catherine. She has 1 3-yr girl and I think 1 6-yr boy ... we were having a home-practice session together for just a short while. I only went one time but find timing not suitable. I just check that it's her email-ID ... I'll give it a miss cos I know the work she's doing :>

I DIY myself but right now GD/SD is not my focus.

Kristin's mom, Ben's attending a cc nearby CCK. If you know where's ten-mild junction, it's just across from it. The Learning Ladder. Am told the book orders are every 3 months. I went by his school yesterday coz wanted to join in for the lantern fest celeb. I ended up having a sneak preview of the yearend concert ... got it down on video and would upload to my blog soon :>

Sarah/Apricot, I went to Daiso yesterday ... each time I went I find new stuff ... mostly new toys ... just bought simple wood puzzles.

Anyone knows Japanese? I need help on translation on a set of instructions. tx!

.ky.

KY, ya I think is the same person. She ever mentioned she did home practice with some parents. Do you know any CCK parents doing any home practice class? Can share? can share ur blog too?

Now organising Botanical Gardens Picnic. All are welcome. Pls add in your name in below if u are keen.
We will tentatively plan it while hoping the haze will go away.

Venue: Botanical Gardens - TANGLIN CORE
Date: 5 Nov(Sun)
Time: 10am

I think that Tanglin Core is the best place for our lil's ones. They have a swan lake there so our kids can enjoy the beautiful greenery with the white swans around..

The entrance to Tanglin Core is along Napier Road. You may park your vehicle at the underground car park at the Green Pavilion. We shall meet around the Swan Lake ok ?
Here's the link to the parking rates: http://www.sbg.org.sg/visitorinfo/parkingcharges.asp
Here's the link of the map at Tanglin Core: http://www.sbg.org.sg/tanglincore/tanglincore.asp
Here's another link for getting to the Botanical Gardens by various trpt: http://www.sbg.org.sg/visitorinfo/openinghours-new.asp

Do remember to bring ur own mat, snacks and drinks also. Or do we wana pot luck ?
Hmmmm... as for games.. Anyone has any suggestions?? Otherwise we will just let the kids roam and mix among themselves.. Hahaha..
That's all.. Hope I have not missed out anything?!

Anyone else joining??
1. Apricot (2 adults &amp; 1 boy)

Hi apricot!

Not that we're gonna be there to join you guys...
but just a suggestion:

How about a Sports Day for the whole family?
e.g. sack race (kids love to bounce)

roll a hoop from one point to another... etc

Of course, only if the air isn't too polluted...

Hi Kristin's mom,

Sport days is not bad idea but think of what to play and things to prepare is hard for me cos I am not experienced in planning this. Any mummies volunteer to plan this ??

Hi all mommies,

not in here for 2 days oni, hv so much to catch up, so interesting! *V*

Thx to those mommies who have offered their advice on child gets bulied. luckily the school teacher is quite nice to follow up on this matter and even called me to update status and apologised even though the incident was happended in school bus and not during school.

but got to know that that boy is oredi famous for being a bully even at school and school told me that his parent &amp; school are working very closely and hope to discipline him better. hopefully this works out for him as he is oni 4 years old this year and can't be so violent, if not when he grows up, how ??

YES! Apricot, i wil be there !
thx again for organising.

Botanical Garden outing on 5 Nov @ 10am
2. Blurblur_Pooh (2 adults, 1 boy &amp; 1 baby girl)

Hi Lena,
Have you tried the rubber pencil grip? The child will learn to hold onto the grip, instead of any other parts of the pencil. I recalled that ELC was selling that not long ago.

So I guess you won't be considering PCF now, right? Actually, that type of punishment is not new. My friend's gal was subject to such darkroom treatment nine years ago.

How's the Addition &amp; Subtraction lessons coming along? I just spotted this "Bus Stop" game which teaches addition in a fun way. Great activity to do when not in the mood to do lessons.

Hi ky,
You can try the translation service online. Try http://babelfish.altavista.com/

Hi Sarah,
Which nursery have you enrolled Hannah?

Hi Kristins_mom,
You can contact the moderators at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2/302091.html?1160291628#POST2154682 or http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2/283584.html?1160204301

Hi Serenade &amp; Lena,

I am oso DIY my boy at home at best effort basis. *V* coz FHWM with 2 kids + my sat lessons, real struggling.

btw, Can share some tips on how to introduce addition and subtraction ?? just started trying to do this over the weekend but not successful. good that u guys raised it here juz in time for me to ask. he he...

Hi Serenade!

You'd love to be at the International Book Fair in Frankfurt.

My husband and I dragged both the kids along... actually, they were very happy to see so many books. We walked two halls... not even the whole of them but we had lots of bargains, and above all free books coz most stands were already packed up by the time we were there and some were generous to give away books.

This annual event draws publishers around the world to showcase their latest books. Usually, the first three days are only open to the traders and the public can visit the fair on the weekend. On the last day, which is today, book sale starts at 1pm.

I managed to get the Logico primo board at 8 Euros instead of the the normal 11,90 and several booklets (going at 5 Euros!). I was very pleased that my husband was also entertained by the Logico idea. We were able to let Bryan try out some of the pages at the stand before we made the decision to get it.

ALso managed to get many titles from the UK publishers direct... very, very happy!!!! 46 books for only 30 Euros!

This is possibly THE highlight in Frankfurt for me... I think next year, I shall go in earlier for a few days just to scout around for better planning. We could only cover some of the children's section today.

Hi apricot!

I think you won't need to have much planning...
just get people to bring some balls (good to use as markers on the fields or to kick to throw or to be jumped over), some hoops, some skipping ropes, small traffic cones. And I think the daddies there will be glad to come up with some sports event impromptu!

I usually bring a few balls, a rugby ball, a hoop when I go to the park with Bryan and Kristin... and we just run around!

But drawing from the previous sports day we had in school, give very simple instructions. And you need to give a good demo and do a trial run with the kids.

Have loads and loads of fun!

thanks for organising, will be there!

3. MH (2 adults, 1 girl, 1 baby)

Hi Apricot

Like to get you (&amp; everyone's opinion here). You are organizing a BP for huo xing wa, right? it's with regards to how chinese char arrived at the form today ... there's another BP on in another forum (http://sgparenting.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=956) ... I'm thinking the other set is more suitable as each page is focused on just 1 character, whereas huo xing wa is crowded with a few chars per page. And frankly, I personally don't like to use Audio CD as Ben prefers me to sit down to read with him. What's your opinion and which would you prefer?

On Botanic Gardens, will let u know later. Sunday is playgroup date for me and ben ...

Hi Serenade

Thanks for the website. I'm aware of that. But firstly I've to know how to key it in first. It's in hardcopy :>

kristin's mom
How much does 30Euros convert to in SGD? So how much did u pay for Logico in all?

.ky.

Hi Ky,
The other BP is on King Series books or wat they called Zhi4 Xing2 Tu2. It's one page one word and showing how the word is form olden days, the related words to that word and the strokes. The books and the cards are exactly the same. There are about 120 words in the 3 books or total 120 cards.
I am giving it a miss becos my hubby reminded me I have smaller word cards showing the strokes of the chinese words. So I will make do what I have now and save money. Audio CD of huo xing wa is story telling and describing the words in a fun way. I am using "playing" method to teach Aston as you know he cannot sit with me throughout.

By the way, wat translation service you are using on ?

Hi ky!

30 Euros is about 60 S$.
Those were the English books I got from the English publishers. Bryan had lots of fun last night with those giant books on dinosaurs, bulldozers, animals... and they all come with jigsaw puzzles, almost 50 pieces per page. They were real bargains!

Separately, I spent about 35,50 Euros on the Logico set. You see, all the booklets and cards are all in German. So I picked those that are independent of language, e.g. matching, logical sequencing, thematic everyday life, zoo etc. My board is called a Logico Rondo, with 6 buttons. But I was told that the Asian market carries an equivalent called Primo. And usually the content for Primo comes in cards - is that right? Anyway, the guy recommended booklet ones for home use - and they were cheaper - 5 Euros for booklet, instead of 7,50 Euros for one stash of cards. SO 35,50 Euros for the board and 4 booklets and one stash of cards (unfortunately, no more booklet available). Personally I thought booklets are better. There are things one could do on the reverse side with the child other than the checking the solutions, whereas the card ones only show the answers. And I don't have to pick after Bryan.

The titles are similar to those available in Singapore, e.g. at the Zoo, Shapes and Colours, Traffic signs etc...

Do you know if the booklets can be obtained separately in Singapore? From the websites Serenade gave me, it looks like it is sold as a whole set. And in Chinese, it's in essence the same thing (referring to those thematic cards like zoo or logical thinking types), except that the questions are set in Chinese. I haven't seen those in English/Chinese with regards to word recognition and vocabulary building ones. Do they exist? I saw the equivalents in German, and they sure look fun.

The Logico sets can only be ordered directly from the publishers in Germany. Every item can be ordered individually. Did you have to buy the whole pack in Singapore? It would be ideal if one could get some titles in Chinese and English to complete the whole collection.

For the German ones,
You can look at this link here:
http://www.finken.de/elternhaus/index.htm

Have you also tried the Kumon workbook before?
We picked a few free copies yesterday at the fair. They look pretty good.

If you are planning for a holiday, I'll really suggest an international book fair or toy fair. And go on the last day, you'll surely get lots of bargains.
In Asia, there's a Toy Expo in Shanghai coming up soon, 18/10-20/10/06.
Bangkok International Book Fair 28/03/07-10/04/07 and Beijing International Book Fair 30/08/07-03/09/07.

Hi aa,

We did not discuss how long our picnic will be.
Personally I think it's dependent on how the kids can tahan, some have nap time so will leave early &amp; weather condition to consider. At least it shld be 2-3 hr gathering.

Hi ky,
Have you managed to solve the Japanese translation? If not, I can get my neighbour to help. Just got to know she understands some Japanese.

Hi kristins_mom,
The bookfair sounds exciting. Think my hubby is glad that we don't have such events here. Otherwise, I'll be burning a big hole in his pocket. The books are a great steal, 46 books for 30 euros. If I were there, I'll probably need a trolley. But I'm surprised that there's not much discount on the Logoico set. The Logico Primo set was available at S$200 (for 16 booklets, if I remember correctly). For separate booklets, you can try Groiler in Singapore. They might carry them.

Hi pooh,
Perhaps you can try this website http://www.billybear4kids.com/worksheets/start-math.html to introduce the addition concept to Shawn. Did you try any addition &amp; subtration workbooks with Shawn?

Hi Serenade,

you girls r really resourceful, always have a lot of web link to share. thx a lot and shall explore it myself 1st.

actually no, have not reali strated him on that yet. it's juz that that is these addition 7 subtraction game on his toy PC ,and sometime he will ask for an answer.

btw, do u know any web link or books that teaches young kids on airplane like the plane body parts or world map but child friendly type ?

hello mommies,

Sorry been missing this chat for quite sometime. been very busy with work. hard to juggle being a FTWM, 3yr son. like to check around, any recommendation for musical class? Bought my 3yr to kindermusik. he likes it. wanted to try around before committing him to this program.

hi apricot, would love to join in for Botanical garden outing. i brought zavier couple of times. he simply love to run around with his ball.

Hi aileen,
Nice to hear from u.
Pls update in this format.
3. MH (2 adults, 1 girl, 1 baby)

3. MH (2 adults, 1 girl, 1 baby
4. Aileen (2 adults &amp; 1 boy)