(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Dear Hippo.

They said they cannot match the area of service that i can offer. When you go to their website, there is a form to fill in and submit. They have a list to ask you for your expertise and i tick most of them. But still got rejected. I believed partly due to where i stay?

do you mean they prefer landed property?

if that's the case, better off sending your child to another school. not sure this is the right value to cultivate in a child

No, What i meant was not within the radius. So it will not be fair to those who live around that area. Anyway, Nan Hua is a neighbourhood school therefore the pupils there are also from humble background i guess. Just kinda disappointed though, to be rejected even before given a chance to interview...

Janet
Nan hua is one of the top school. The areas of volunteer work varies. Just like Nanyang usually takes 40 hours but nanyang is 80. For the first time I am so glad I kept my school report book to enrol my kid there.

What other school you have in mind ? By the way , if you are staying at bukit panjang, you interested to enrol your kid in chinese class. Can come trial lesson at my home in CCK. I have got this native Chinese Teacher to teach my kid every sat 1-2.30 pm. She herself has a pri 2 kid and a son same as ours in 2002. So she is building up their interest and later on to gear them up

JXY
Ai Tong not easy to get in too.

Janet Loh
These few days I took off to coach my girl in her exams, no time to join in forum. Sorry for late reply.

I called up Nanhua about 3 weeks ago and asked about chances of 2C. She said balloting for within 1km. Nanyang worst, no one applied for 2C for past 3 years because all places taken up during 2B. For PeiHwa, balloting for 1-2km for 2C.

I am at a loss. Someone advised me to apply the school of choice after P1 if results are good. But would the school take in someone from average school? P1 results not known as of now. Also, I want the type of exposure (academic) in good school, the average school definitely can't match.

I hope the lower births in 2002 has no balloting for 2C. Unrealistic??

Yes, Nan Hua will be tough if you stay outside 2km . My cousin was lucky, his kid got into Nan Hua without doing any volunteer work last year (dragon year) as he stays within 1km, balloted and his kid got in.

Ai Tong will not be easy to get in as I stayed outside 1km, thus I've joined as Hokkein clan member, to get into phase 2B (still not guaranteed though), and I've also volunteered in Kuo Chuan Presbyterian. Very kiasu hor...trying to get myself for phase 2B for both schools first, see how's the situation this year, then decide. I've heard not so good things about Ai Tong so I'm really very undecided at the moment.

Janet,
If outside 2km, a bit difficult to get into NanHua unless you could register under 2B, but wait and see this years P1 registration, as birthrate is on the decline, so horse year babies definitely lesser, may still have chance next year. Come to volunteer work, (not to offend anyone) actually, all these "prestige" schools are selective; I got a feeling they only want the "right" kids (i.e. with professional parents)into their school, to make sure that the kids could help to maintain the school standard. Its not just the genes issue, most of these parents can easily afford to send their kids to the most expensive enrichment classes and will definitely not allow their kids to fall behind.

I read somewhere, a doctor has volunteer in a school and end up doing gardening work...so are they really matching your areas of expertise to their requirements??

Janet Loh
I have discussed with my husband. Shift house to Clementi which is within 1km. But you know, shift house is a big thing. It is not guaranteed to get into NanHua. And I don't want to move into 2nd hand smaller house. We don't have money to move to Condo. Jobs nowadays are not secured.

jxy,
wow! u v hardworking to join so many groups.
is Nan Hua good?
I am one of those crazy pp who shift house bec of pri school reg of my boy. i will be shifting fr Bukit panjang to bishan to be within 1km of catholic high. Will be in Phase 2b bec of church affiliation. hopefully can go to catholic high ...if not, must really bang my head on the wall cos i spent a bomb on the move.

i also stay outside 1km fr Aitong. Although my new place is within 2km and pp told me no use ...sure cannot get in.

if u all thinking of moving, better do it fast cos it seems like the property prices for hdb also going up v quickly. i was told i had a good deal cos the asking prs in my area now around $40k more and in cash! crazy world!

regardless of birth rate, good schools are still highly sought after. demand always more than supply

I also moved house from Sembawang to Bedok to be near my parents. Lucky to have a good school across the road from my house. To secure a place so that my girls need not take school bus (the next nearest school is 3 bus stops away), I'm now doing volunteer work in that school.

I'm a SAHM aka unemployed but I guess the school didn't really mind that leh

hippo2002
Which school are you doing volunteer for ?

Tinklebell
Nan hua is very good leh. Should be comparable to Nanyang , right Caroline ? I hope you can get your place in Catholic.

Caroline
Clementi house also not cheap now and you know within clementi everyone is eyeing that NanHua school

Nanyang still have grassroot leaders to compete with so quite tough

Is it stressful for your gal to be in RGS ?

Chicken Little,
Nan Hua - so popular?
i know of someone who is well connected w the school and wanted to help me get in if i want. i was thinking what school is that?
So i "you-yan bu zi tai san".

Tinklebell
Alamak then you dun have to waste big bucks to move to Bishan liao. Bishan so exp oso

I actually want to kill my hb. He is very against my gal going to Nanyang because he scare it is too stressful for her. Plus she is quite lazy so dun think she can catch up.

But i old gal leh, how can i miss this opportunity when I am given a chance before the grassroot leaders.

Now it seems like no point volunteering already la. Now have to look at the few schools that is within my radius and choose the best one to enrol. Was thinking of CHIJ Bukit Timah, Bukit Panjang pri or Zhenghua primary. Lousy school also get can top student to join their gifted counterparts in top ten school... So i think i will not fight with doctors to do gardening work for SAP school.... Thank you all so much for your suggestions and care. Cheerios all mummies

chicken little,
but then, i would still prefer my kids to go to christian schools if possible. therefore, would give nan hua a miss unless my boy cant get anywhere then maybe i will call my friend to help..heeeheeee

janet,
heheh... cannot say here in the forum lah. later kenna marked by the school wor. u also stay in BP? btw, why u like nan hua so much?

Hi tinklebell,

Welcome to Bishan neighbourhood! Where will U be shifting to? I'm in block 291, just next to catholic.

No choice lor..since not within 1km of any school, got to elevate my chance by getting into 2B. Nan Hua is the best school in Clementi area.

Though my friend who stays in my block, have to ballot for a place for his son (lucky for him, he got in), but he registered in phase 2C; since you're in phase 2B, chances should be very good. Btw, which kindergarten did you register for your son, got to queue some more.

Chicken Little,
Yeah...good for you to put your kid in Nanyang, if got chance should go. Afterall, not really very far from CCK.

jxy,
i stay v near u ...257 opp salvation army

my hub liked bishan hts but i dont encourage him to buy there cos v expensive! (though i find the environment there v good and condo like). The 5 room asking for $500k!! in the end, i bought an EM for much less. will be shifting in july.
i have registered my boy for Zion Bible kindergarten starting next year. Which kindy is your kid in? yours is a girl right?

tinklebell,

that's quite near, though still one stop away

I like bishan hts too, yes....I love the environment here..quite private, just the 6 blocks in this "corner"...moved here in 2002, that time, did not consider about schools, etc. that's why end up no school within 1km. Yes, this area is more expensive, maybe becos they are the newer blocks in bishan.

Oh..Zion Bishan, right? in St. 13? I tried to registered my gal there too for K1, but they don't have anymore space for the morning session. So, now I sent her to Thomson Road Baptist Kindergarten, next to United Square.

re: phrase 2B balloting

neighbour schools also ballot nowsaday leh. the advantage is the convenience, less travelling time
unless there is another top school nearby. then again, if it's more than 2 km away, may ended up as 'free labour' afterall
I only consider volunteer work for school within 1 km. really waste of effort if ended up in phrase 2B balloting & kanna ballot out !
at least within 1 km, will have priority even if ballot, unless all parent volunteers are within 1 km lah
it's all about calculated risk.

re: phrase 2C balloting

the way I see it, there is an opportunity cost in balloting
we can only register for one school on enrolment day. if ballot & can't get into 1st choice school, while 2nd & 3rd choice schools are all fully taken up on the same day, then really stuck with limited choices, can only enrol in those 'left over' ones leh

my hubby's friend bought a condo in Bishan next to a school but because of balloting, his son didn't get a vacancy. The other nearby schools were also taken up. He ended up in a 'left over' primary school much further away, really frustrating leh

Tinklebelle

Reason very simple. Cos its the only Top school in the west. A good primary school will be a good start for the kids. Anyway, have to "kan kai dian" or should i say "bo bian"

Hippo2002

I have somehow give up the idea to look for top school and also not so keen to be free labour. Let nature takes its course.. Your hubby friend are really unlucky, done so much for the sons future but so sad to learn of the ultimate result.. All these experiences i see make me give up hope.

i give up looking for schools liao cos my family haven't decide whether to stay at the West or shift to the East.

Janet

he regretted not doing volunteer work because previous years statistics 1 km no need to ballot. that's why we learnt from his experience.

if the school is just downstairs, safer to do volunteer work regardless of previous year statistics. for my convenience & beauty sleep the next 8 years (I have 2 girls age 2 years apart), I would rather be more hardworking the next 1 year. although volunteer doesn't guarantee a place but at least I try my best

Janet

2km can do volunteer work but the risk is may end up as free labour if overwhelming response in phrase 2B
I read somewhere in this forum some popular schools need to do volunteer work for 2 to 3 years and may still end up as free labour

but don't give up yet. check with the schools you shortlisted what's their past statistics & response.

Hippo2002,

agree with your sentiments about balloting. for me, i've got no choice as nearest schools is still outside 1km, so my next best option is to get myself into phase 2B. As you mentioned, popular schools, like catholic, even within 1km must ballot for phase 2C.

my colleague is volunteering in Nanyang (also registering for P1 in 2008), need to chalk up 80 hrs, and she is outside 2km, but she still want to go ahead,though we feel she should have tried for Henry Park instead, which is within 1km. Nanyang has reduced volunteers intake to 30, hoping that all pv in phase 2b will get a place without balloting.

hippo,
the feeling of ending up as free labour is terrible!

your hub's friend must be v sad that his son didnt get in despite buying a condo there. condo there is not cheap wor.

jxymum,
u must have bought at q a good price at that time.

janet,
ya loh, i agree have to "kan-de-kai". if cannot get in, will schools accept donations? this type of question - how to ask? and who in the school to ask?

tinklebell,

not really a good price, as the price should be lower now. i paid $364k for a 4-rm (7th floor) plus pay, I think, $25k in cash. Bishan is a good area, but hor, traffic is a problem, especially in the morning, it is too central that you can't avoid paying ERP! to get anyway in short time. Every morning I got to pay ERP even for sending my gal to kindergarten!

jxymom,
quite ex for a 4 room but good location and nice exterior. i pd $23k cash for mine. PP asking for $50, 60k... terrible!!! oic... lucky my hub goes the other way to the west to work, dont need to pay erp. for me, MRT will be the best.

tinklebell,

oh...I thought now no need to pay cash anymore as EM not so easy to sell and the flats in bishan are quite old already. yes, my time, some pp were asking for $70k for 4-room in the upper floors, terrible!!

jxy, no , not true wor... maybe when times were bad, the EMs cant sell, now, seems opp (fr my home searching experience), cant find EMs in bishan easily. if have, they get snatched up v fast. those left r low floor or chinese not eligible types.

ChickenLittle
To me, Raffles & Nanyang no. 1, Nanhua no. 2.

Very very stressful for me & my girl in RGPS.

For those going to Raffles (so far, nobody mention registration for this sch), be prepared to teach yourselves (teachers throw supplementary worksheets, additional activity booklets, test papers, mock papers to parents when they have no time) in addition to attending very good enrichment centres.

hippo2002

ya you are right about those popular school. A neighbour of mine whose daughter are due to go to P1 next year, called up Pei Hua to volunteer. However, she was told she should have signed up the year her daughter was borned... They told her its far too late now

Yup agree with Janet
Low birth rate means they will stick to a certain number of classes. Only exceptional years like Dragon they will need to increase. They need to ensure sufficient resources too.
Huh sign up since she is born. Too much leh.

JXY/Tinkellbell
Well you pay more at a good location and such location price are always quite good. For me very jia lat I bought resale in CCK never think of kids when we first got the flat. Now the price is rock rock bottom so cannot sell. Should have bought a smaller one at Farrer Road.

Chicken Little
Sembawang area couldn't fetch good price even though the flats are so new. didn't even recover my renovation cost. Furthermore, Bedok area need to pay above valuation for almost 30 years old flat and then spend another fortune to re-do the whole house

we also 'kan kai' lah. It's the convenience that counts. many good schools here and most importantly my parents are nearby

Janet Loh
It is not true that low birth rate means few classes open for registration.

For each school, they have fixed enrolment, eg. 390 or 270 (unless MOE further reduce class size from current 30). Maybe from goat babies onwards, because birth rates drop to below 40K.

The extra classes opened for dragon babies will not be opened for snake babies and horse babies, I think. Horse babies are 7000 less than dragon babies (233 classes x 30 pupils = 23 new schools, assuming each cohort is 10 classes). These extra classes were opened in newer schools like neighbourhood schools, not Nanyang or NanHua. They were opened because the new schools have the facilities (ie the no. of dragon babies is same as year 1997 = 47K)

CL,
ya loh, i also learnt that we need to make long term plans like that. that's why now i advise my girl friends who r looking for flats to look out for this factor.

hippo,
my friend is looking for a place in Bedok and Chai chee area and she told me the cash portion is horribly high (something like above $30k figure!).

Janet Loh
I want to correct you when you said "Lousy school also get can top student to join their gifted counterparts in top ten school... ". How you know our children would be top student? Even if top student in lousy school may not get into gifted programme.

I know of somebody who said her daughter is very good (ie Maths Olympiad) but she cannot get into Raffles Gifted Programme.

Raffles' standard is extremely high. It is hard to believe but it is a fact. I am coaching my girl, I know.

it's whether you want to be a small fish in a big pond or big fish in a small pond

my brother had 7As for his O Level. he was in one of the top secondary schools. nobody blinks an eye lid because everyone is getting 9As, 11As

I had 6As for my O Level and my neighbourhood secondary school gave me an outstanding achievement award, haha!

this year P1 registration will be a good reference for us. we will know whether MOE is further reducing the number of student intake.

my hubby's friend was caught by suprise. In his year, MOE reduced the number of student intake and the school cut down 1 class, resulting in balloting

Just find this thread and would like to join.
My boy is April 2002.
Staying Redhill area, anyone staying nearby?

I've written in to Pei Hwa as volunteer, however was recently notified that they kiv my application as the list is too overwhelming. If there's any withdrawal they will call for my service. Sighh...isn't this considered rejected?
anyone knows of someone doing volunteer for Pei Hwa now?
wonder wat is their selection criteria...so disappointed!

Yes...for popular schools, you really need to be ks and write in really early. Some people I know, wrote in when their child is 4 years old.

Hi MO2,

Which school do you intend to register for your son for P1? Hehe...I don't stay near redhill, just kaypoh only.

hehe, for my case I started calling the school principal since Dec 2005 because I need to know whether we have any chance of being accepted as parent volunteer before deciding where to buy the house

registering for primary school is a big project

Hi JXY,
Still not sure yet, that's why need to find out more. Maybe ... River Valley or Radin Mas.
Anyone know which one better?

Thanks to hippo2002,
she reminded me at the other thread that we need to do register as volunteer it asap if we want to register P1 on 2009.
But I still cannot decide yet which school to go.
I'm very slow mommy hor.

MO2
you are most welcome :eek:)
by the way, what is your selection criteria?

my number 1 criteria is distance. I wanted a house near my parents. so the school must be near my house and my parents' too. everything must be within walking distance. didn't want my girl to take school bus so that I can sleep later especially for morning session. hehe, I'm a lazy mommy, everything must be near near

Can everyone who is registering next year indicate choices of school so that everyone knows how stiff is the competition?

My choices are:
1) NanHua (2C)
2) PeiHwa (2C)