(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Haha CHicken LIttle,
My boy is a Nursery C....maybe they knew each other? Your gal at Childcare now? Which one..My gal at 1/2 day childcare at the one at Limbang.

I heard of Lewin but i heard their phonics is just like the kind the school is teaching, not very in depth one.

Maybe other CCK mummies may have some comments?

hi chicken little,
yes, my gal initially talks like ang mo speaking mandarin. She even tell us she is not Chinese, she is 'English Chinese'! **Faint**
That was when she is around 2/3 yo.

It took us quite a while to get her to speak mandarin and I think the childcare she attends plays an impt role.

Anyway, to encourage my gal, we will give stickers and praises, sometimes we define one of the wkend morning or car ride times as 'Speak Mandarin Time'.
She has nickname "little gang dang(potato)" and we encourage her to speak more mandarin so she won't be the little potato

We also try to speak to her more in Mandarin as she already has no problem with English. So far so good, she is not resistent to the language anymore and is willing to reply us in Mandarin when we initiate a conversation in Mandarin.

hi kc,
I took a course fm Star Phonics but I did not start a class 'cos I find it's not easy getting students.
But fm what I learn fm them, I feel that their couse contents are quite ok. And since I took the course, I teach my gal on my own lor.

kckc,

My gal in morning session. Yours in pm so wont meet. I know your boy's classmate Elena. I like this gal who used to be in the same playgroup as my gal. My gal with Del Care at Fuji Xerox Anson road which is nearer to hb's office because we doubt we can get home by 7.30 everyday

Violet,
I told my daughter she is banana, then she ask is her brother a kang dang. Next momemt she drew a banana with long hair which is herself and a potato with 3 hair i.e her 1 year old brother. Faintz.

chicken little,

How is BJG? useful? was pondering whether to bring my 7 mth old girl to attend.
Your girl's remark was so innocent and cute

I am not bringing my son for Phonics class cos he school teaches that and he has been absorbing quite well.

Tinklebell,

I am into flashcards at home so I thought it is a good place for him to start. My gal was with their katong branch when they first started from 12 - 18 months.

My boy is in the crawler 2 class currently the sat class got 4 of us only. small and cozy. Go for a trial lesson lah at $15 - 20 only.

chicken little,
i also believe in flash cards. Started my gal since young and she likes it. Also started my boy on flash cards. He is 11mths now but he dun seems as interested as my gal.

Do you still do flash cards with your gal now? I stop alrdy 'cos I dunno still hv use or not.

Violet,

I restarted again with my gal leh. She picked up better and she also wants to flash for her brother.

Hey your gal is 1 month apart from my boy so in 2006 babies. Feb baby ? So qiao, my is 2002 gal and 2006 boy and yours is the other way round

chicken little,
i dunno leh, maybe i havn't gotten any new flash cards to show her that's y i find no impact already.... maybe it's time to add new ones.

My gal is Jul 02 and my boy is Feb 06. Think our kid's sequence is the same if I read yr post correctly

Oops Violet

I sotong. Yup My gal is Aug 02 and boy is Jan 06. So sama sama. How is your gal coping well with the brother ?

Mine initially will be happy to help and in charge of everything for the brother. Now start to get jealous liao

chicken little,
yea... our kids are all 1 mth apart in the same year...
Jealousy is difinite but is not obvious as we reassured her a lot and still spend a lot of time with her. During pregnancy stage I also explained to her frequently that sometimes I had to spend more time with didi as he requires more care as a baby. She seems to understand and takes it well lor.
However, She does not play with her bro as he is too small to play 'with' her. He is like more of a 'destroyer' so she is protective of her toys when he gets near to her. Everything my boy touches will be into his mouth or pushed over.
But I guess that's normal, the toys they play is so diff due to the age gap.

Do you know why she has a sudden change in behaviour? Could it be more attention is given to her bro as he started to be more mobile?
Sometimes when she behaves well I will purposely say to her bro "look, jie jie is showing u a good example, blah blah blah". To make her feel good and also hv a sense of responsibility that she is a role model for her bro.

Hopefully the jealousy yr gal experienced is just a phase that will pass.

Violet,

Basically my gal has inherited my character of being temperamental. Ha ha cant blame her at times. Yup she wants to be in charge and he of course will not understand what she wants.

Ha ha I will always speak on behalf of my son to thank her for what she has done for him. Sometimes , she helps him pick up something then she will go like "why u never say thank you"

She likes to be in control but he is too young to obey her instruction so she gets frustrated. My son is with nanny so I think I spent much more time with her then my son. Ha ha in the morning, when my son wakes up, I flash cards for him then off he goes to nanny. While my gal I will spend time chatting with her in the car when we go to work while she goes to childcare. In the evening, she will have dinner with us, I do flash cards for her and my nanny's son then we will fetch our son.

Chicken little,
ya, I oso do the same.... speak on behalf of my son and try to 'create' a simple conversation b/w my gal and boy... sounds a little silly hor but well, it's all in the hope that they bond better.

My son is taken care by our maid but I still feel that I did not spend enough time with him. Everyday I feel not enough time to split b/w the 2 of them.... plus my hb will be 3 of them...

What flash cards do you do for your gal? I dunno wat new theme to get for her already.

Violet,

Yup totally agree. Last time I can still have time with my hb during car ride and having dinner before going home. Now my gal will be with us since we enrol her in the childcare near our office ha ha . Everyday, I put son to sleep, next will be my gal. So still have 15-20 mins individual time with them each day. After that will come out for tea and chit chat with hb lor. When he goes to sleep, me no maid, so I will quietly watch my Korean drama and iron clothes ha ha

I still reviewing the GD set with her. Will go into the 1000 pic cards from the BP and speed reading next month.

chicken little,
i pei fu u.... working with 2 kids and no maid.
What time does your kids sleep?
My son will hv his last feed about 9+ and my gal will go in to sleep around 9:30pm. But by then I am so tired fm 'entertaining' the 2 of them and sometimes knock out by 10pm.

For flash cards, usually my hb will dl and print out himself on blank cards. But I think I am getting lazy alrdy.... and not disciplined enough to do consistently with them.
Where do you get speed reading materials? Maybe I can explore this with my gal.

Violet,
No choice my hb not used to having another person in the house. My boy can sleep as early as 8 pm, latest by 9 pm. My gal will be 10 pm. Agree and I feel I will one day be published as a person who does not sleep at all.

Speed Reading I went thru the BP leh. Comes with printed cards and CD. It is like the shichida method

chicken little,
i sent my gal to shichida previously but did not check whether they sell speed reading materials.
Hmm... come to think of dunno whether I will go thru with her or not if i buy it??

Initially I also dun like the idea of another person in the house, but it jus takes time to get used to lor. At least I got a good one which I can hv a peace of mind when I go to work. And she is a great help in the housework.
But one my boy can go cc at 2yo I will not need a maid anymore. So I tell myself, tahan 2 yrs lor.

Hi Violet,

I'm quite new in this thread.
May I know which agency u get ur maid from? Did u leave ur maid alone with ur kids when u go to work? I'm considering of getting 1 but so worry abt maids....

hi pauline,
getting maid is really heng suay. I must that I am very lucky to get this maid that I'm comfortable with. Initially we only engaged her for 2mths to help out during my maternity leave then nanny will take care of my son after that.

I also heard so many scary stories about maid that's y we wanted to put our son with the same nanny that took care of our gal. But after we observed her for that 2 mths we decided to extend her contract instead of putting my son to the nanny.

I got my maid fm hyperlink services and the lady I deal with is nice and the charges are reasonable. Let me know if u want the contacts.

Hi Sharon,
You can get fm Carrefour or Kiddy palace. But I forgot if Kiddy palace has the 2 wheel and 4 wheel type. I got the tricycle fm KP last time.

If your place has those bicycle shop they shd hv too but I guess choices will be limited.

Hi Violet,

Thks for ur info. Actually I'm thinking of engaging a maid in another year's time. But wanna gather more info on agencies. So your maid is from Hyperlink services, can I hv the contacts. Can let me know how's the charges like?

hi pauline,
the charges i paid are as follows :
1)$50 for the agency fee and
2)$100 for the maid's insurance and
3)another $50 or $100 for the 'insurance' for the $5K deposit.
That's all, no hidden cost. So I find them pretty honest and cheap n good. Except their location is in orchard which I dun like. But then again, i oni need to go a couple of times.

hihi chicken little,
actually i feel guilty towards my son as i feel that i still spend more time with my gal.
Typically i reach home around 6:30, settle down and take dinner and by the time i finish around 7:30.
Then i will play with my son and do some flash cards(if i am not feeling lazy that nite). My gal will be doing some simple writing while i play with my son. By the time she finishes fm 7:30 to 8pm, she will want me to read to her or play games with her.
While I read to her, i keep my son near us so tat he gets to listen and see the pictures too.
Around 9pm, my gal will drink milk, brushes her teeth and goes to bed at 9:30pm. My son's last feed is also around 9-9:30pm. Sometimes my gal will dilly dally till 10pm then goes to bed.
Then it's my time but I always feel tired by that time...
I think it's due to lack of exercise...

that's y i pei fu that u do not have a maid to help out....

Hi Violet,

Thks for your useful info on the maid agency.

Hey, my gal is oso Jul 02, same as urs. But my the other 2 kids r Dec 96 & Aug 04.

Seeing how u divide ur time wif ur kids, I really feel so guilty of not spending enough/quality time with my 3 kids nowadays.

Everyday seems so rush for me...time for hse chores are the time after they hv gone to bed everyday. Sometimes can do laundry until 1am......very tiring.

WAH Pauline....3 KIDS! I salute u!
I don't hv the courage to go for 3rd one unless I've the financial and time freedom to be a SAHM for them.
I hope u get a good helper soon, it is indeed very very tiring hving to juggle your time.

Pauline,
Which sch is yr eldest one in? If u r putting yr gal in the same sch then dun hv to worry about allocation alrdy. For me I gotta start thinking about it now.... headache.

Violet,

I enrolled my son to a nearby pri sch, in fact juz opp our block only.

Before registering my son into Pri 1, i oso headache. At 1st wanna put him to Ai Tong, but no chance coz all taken up by those staying within 1km. Catholic high oso full...

Then a mummy advise me to put him to a sch nearby coz it's convenient and time saving if my son need to go back sch on sat for CCA. N dun hv to worry abt no sch bus if he has to stay bk for supplementary classes. Well, it's quite true...

Anyway, my son has been going to sch by himself since Pri 3. And after sch, he's in a nearby student care too.

Pauline, u stay in Bishan area?
me thinking of putting boy boy in catholic high... thru 2B hope got chance cos 02 like not so many babies.... now worrying where to put my no2 girl.

Check with u... now in K1, do your kids have spelling every week? my boy has spelling every Friday - one week chinese and another week in english... is it the norm?

paulune,
i oso wanna enroll my gal at the one nearest to my place, 'cos it's soooo convenient, Just downstairs and the after sch care is next block.
But i headache no time to do volunteer work 'cos i scared more ppl apply next yr. And the sch is a single session sch so no need for volunteers during weekend.....
Think i got to jus depend on my luck and hopefully application dun overshoot.

Tinklebell,
I think depends on the kindergarden bah? My gal's CC dun hv spelling every week.

Tinklebell,
Yes i stay in bishan. U too? For ur girl, how abt Ai Tong, izit near ur hse? So ur boy is 02, how abt ur girl? 04?

My girl is in childcare n she dun hv spelling every week oso. Tink different kindergarten do operate differently.

Violet,
Ur neighbourhood sch is a good sch, rite? So really hv to depend on luck oredi. Cross ur fingers tat applications dun exceed the limit. Anyway, where r u staying?

Btw, mummies, got any recommendations on ballet class with good standard n reasonable rate? Intend to send my girl to learn leh, heard tat some CC are good....

Pauline,
I'm going to move to bishan middle of the year. Wh part of Bishan u r staying? me in st 22. My girl is 2006 bb. For her, think i'll try st nicholas. It's within 2km fr my house and also qualify under 2B...hopefully can go in. i'm quite lazy to do volunteer work so prob give AT a miss.

Violet/ Pauline,
oic... diff kindergarten diff teaching method. i thought it's a bit stressful to have spelling every week at this level but their teacher says they have to get used to it in order to be able to fit into the Pri sch education system next time.
My boy is a Dec bb and i also have this worry that he cannot catch up with his peers so we always push his v hard to get all correct for his spelling. So far, he has not disappointed me but honestly, i dont think he likes that.

Pauline
I stay in SK and that sch is a neighbourhood sch that kena the top PSLE student a couple of yrs ago. But I dun think it's a SAP sch or anything, so far last yr no balloting then i just hope it'll keep that way then I dun hv to go around looking at other schools.
I oni scared who knows for watever reasons(murphy's law??), the application suddenly a lot then i got to scramble to look for a sch at registration time lor.

Tinkelbell,
i oso find hving spelling at this age a bit stressful leh. They can start at K2 to get used mah, dun hv to start at K1.
I was jus asking around my colleagues and some say their kindergarden start spelling at 2nd half of K1 for Eng oni then K2 will hv both Eng and Chinese.

Tinklebell,
Dun worry, my boy is also born in dec, but one thing good is tat he loves reading. Seriously i tink reading plays an impt part. I rem after he 'graduated' from his phonics class in K2, he started to show interest in reading English story bks. I was so happy coz i myself din really like reading in fact..haha..lazy mum.. Then he began to request me to buy story bks for him n he finished reading pretty fast. So not to waste too much money, we brought him to library instead. He simply loves to go library.I really hope tat my girls will love reading osobut need to build up their interest lahBtw, Im staying in st 13.

Violet,
U r rite, quite tiring to go around look for sch. If can go in w/o balloting tatll be the best. If not, ballot fail still need to search another sch fast, otherwise will be auto-relocate to another nearby sch.

For me, Ill enroll both my girls in the same sch as my son.easier oso. Another 2 yrs time, Ill need to lookout for Sec sch liao.dunno will hv headache or not.

Pauline,
ya, it's easier for u since yr gals alrdy hv their bro in the sch. For me is headache since is for my 1st child. If she get in then I no worry for 2nd one alrdy.
Some more the after sch care at the next blk gives priority to students who studied at the sch downstairs. So if dun get in, finding another after sch care will oso be a problem.
I can oni pray hard la.

Pauline,
My boy can play with yours next time :p Wh kindergarten is he now?
How abt your elder one?
Yes, it's good your boy loves to read. Mine can read simple words and sentences. When he looks at books, he prefers to look at pics. In particular, lately, he loves books on life cycles.

violet/ pauline,
Ya loh ... so stressful at this age. But i think his teacher has a point too. It's a matter of time they get used to the dreadful education system

tinklebell,
my nephew jus enrolled into P1 this yr and my sis say now the system is a bit diff alrdy, not so stress alrdy, lesser homework also. And spelling is also very very easy ones like father, mother, brother, etc. So maybe it's changing for the better?

Tinklebell,

My elder one is the boy, now already Pri 5. For my girls, one in Childcare K1, one in daily Montessori class (90mins lesson).

R u working or SAHM?

Hi JayJay,

I'm a SAHM too...for 5years though

My girl is 5yo n boy is 3yo (in dec...2004 baby too )

V similar....where do u stay?

Violet,
That's easy for P1
Hope it stays that way.
So far, i noticed his Eng spelling list now are mainy 3 syllable. still quite easy.
But chinese list is DIFFICULT! Got words like "jin1" (as in jin tian), "da3" (as in da-shao) etc.....

Pauline
Oh... ur kid is so big already.

I'm a FTWM.

tinkerbell,
hmm... i find the chinese words u mentioned not that difficult la, simple strokes and nothing very complicated. But unlike Eng words where they can learn by spelling them, I guess Chinese words got to learn by writing them? I also find Chinese more difficult to learn even for me since young.

Hi Tina and jayjay

Just happened to chance upon this thread.. My girls is 5yo (2002 Nov) and boy is 2.5yo (Oct 2004)..
Anyone of you happen to stay in North area?

Hi all, my girl born in March 02, and the latest creation is born in Oct 06. Right now, im looking for enrichment classes for my elder girl. Any recommendation? Is Kumon gd? Thking of sending her for ABACUS also (any centre accept a 5 yrs old kid). Im staying at Tampines

Hi Pauline & Sharon,
Sorry I missed this thread as it's always so difficult to catch up here.

DD is taking ballet at Changi Simei CC, every Sunday afternoon.

Any SAHM with 2 kids without helper? I'm going to be one soon but don't know if I can manage. My kids are 4.5yo and 18 months now. How do you maintain your sanity? Your kids in childcare or PCF schools? My mind is in a whirl now, on one hand I want to spend more time with the kids but on the other, I'm worried if I can manage the household chores + looking after the kids and still maintain my sanity. Any advices?

Hi Reena,

I'm a SAHM for 5years ++ now, since I was pregnant w my 1st daughter. She's 5 n my son is gonna b 3 this yr.

B4 u stayed at home pemanently, plan your daily activities. from wake up time to sleeping time. but of cos u hv to be flexible when kids are in. but dont b hard yourself if things do not go as plan, the chores not done, dinner not cooked. gotta take thgs day by day and babysteps.

i go to flylady.net to organise myself, n i follow sandi richards "fixing dinner" plan for my dinner planning. the rest is my own time management skills...what i hv. I am a perfectionist n procrastinate most of the time too...but aft 5years only now i got control of everythg. good thg my DH is "do wt you can, do overtire urself, mama" kinda darling.

So you'll b ok. Impt is you know whts ur priority once you started to b a SAHM. oh, we manage to teach the kids reading n writing too. My DD reads when shes 3 n DS is picking up reading now. So its gd if you want to stay at home, we get to look aft the kids n home ourselves. the satisfaction is overwhelming.

Oh well, i'm no expert just sharing my experience. you can call me if you need a chat. one thg u need r friends. girlfriends! REALLY!

Thanks Tina! Very encouraging and this made me feel better.

My other biggest concern is, I'll become naggy and calculative. Anyway, since I've chosen this path, I'll have to constantly remind myself what not to do so that I won't end up as a typical ah soh.