(2014/11) Nov 2014 Mummies

hey I like your nick, kinky_mummy....
:D

Anyway, today shld be my 6th week, plan to see gynae only next wk or later so that can see evtg more clearly. So far only my hubby, my mum and sis know. Went to test yesterday cos' felt cramps the last few times I coughed, and when I went to check I realised I'd been a few days past my last menses.

Still feel unbelievable! Need to confirm at gynae side already then feel more 踏实...

Anyway, today shld be my 6th week, plan to see gynae only next wk or later so that can see evtg more clearly. So far only my hubby, my mum and sis know. Went to test yesterday cos' felt cramps the last few times I coughed, and when I went to check I realised I'd been a few days past my last menses.

Still feel unbelievable! Need to confirm at gynae side already then feel more 踏实...

Yeah yeah i totally get the last part..since i can feel so not pregnant on some days.. am also in my 6weeks now.. my gynae's visit is next Sat!

Kinky mummy, if go earlier i tink gynae can prescribe duphaston to support the preg ba?

I had painful cramps yest too.. but cnt differentiate w gastric lol. Hoping its gastric instead. I dun recall hvg such pain in previous preg. Hmm.

Kinky mummy, if go earlier i tink gynae can prescribe duphaston to support the preg ba?

I had painful cramps yest too.. but cnt differentiate w gastric lol. Hoping its gastric instead. I dun recall hvg such pain in previous preg. Hmm.

Sunshine smile, dun tink gynae will anyhow prescribe med to stablise the pregnancy unless there are signs which show it is required. I'm just thinking if go too early show sac only, then I'll worry until the next scan is up, haha. Meanwhile just treat evtg normal, take folic pills daily and maintain happiness!

Though gotta keep it from people ia hard but due to pantang dun wanna jinx it. :p My last preg the morning sickness is quite bad, vomit mid-day in office after lunch. So for boss and colleagues I'll wait and see whether morning sickness hint to them or if not, after1st trim... :)

Hey yup true. But my last preg there was a blood clot near womb. Can only c via scan. Also de scan will rule out ectopic lor. Heh.

Yeah lor, won't feel assured only until scan and confirms it's fine. I was so paranoid, I went to test the preg stick again and got caught by hubby, asking me why am I testing again.

I told him I just wanna re-check and confirm. :p

Speaking of dying hair.. I already forgot some of the dos and don'ts of pregnancy already cos #1 was abt 2.5 years ago. Also can't remember what kind of food to abstain..

Seafood my CL said to avoid stingray, causes phlegm in babies. In generally they are ok as long as thoroughly cooked, but avoid deep sea fishes like shark, merlin etc cos they contain higher levels of mercury.

Personally I avoid crabs cos they r the last in food chain, very 'dirty' cos they eat the waste and debris of others in the food chain. *yucks*

Avoid high mercury fish eg shark, tuna, king mackerel, batang.. Read up on it, even cod (Chilean seabass) is high in mercury

I avoid crabs and big shellfish like lobsters too. Ok w prawns n mussels n sotong in moderation

Make sure veggies and fruits are washed thoroughly. I use a special wash to soak them at home

Most herbs better avoid in first trimester.

Oh and general rule of thumb, avoid preserved and 'man-made' stuff (like hotdogs). I myself will abstain from anything to do with caffeine (such asccoffee and tea) also....

I also hv white hair.. V sian gotta tahan til aft confinement

i colored my hair during my 4th week. =X

I Googled and refreshed my memory. Generally liang foods (watermelon, coconut etc) and herb-y food to be avoided in first trimester.

How about seafood? Anyone remembers?
just ate crabs for dinner today. Avoid those fish with high mercury levels.salmon is ok as long as fresh.. if dont wanna take the risk, just make sure it's fully cooked.. salmon is actually really good..

Hi ladies... do you announce your pregnancy to family (both sets of parents) before 1st trimester ends?

I'm trying to sort out the care giving of baby so thinking to break the news to them...

Hi ladies... do you announce your pregnancy to family (both sets of parents) before 1st trimester ends?

I'm trying to sort out the care giving of baby so thinking to break the news to them...

I have actually told both sets of family over the weekend. While it's very early, I thought if family members know, they can help to look out for you. Still thinking if I should give my boss heads-up before 1st trimester ends but to inform at 2nd trimester seems very late right? Also, I dont know if ill show by then. If they suspected 1st...then not very nice.

Is this your first child?

I have actually told both sets of family over the weekend. While it's very early, I thought if family members know, they can help to look out for you. Still thinking if I should give my boss heads-up before 1st trimester ends but to inform at 2nd trimester seems very late right? Also, I dont know if ill show by then. If they suspected 1st...then not very nice.

yah... I thought so too. Might be announcing to them! They can be my pillars of support if anything goes wrong *touch wood!*

A handful of colleagues are aware because I'm not sure how things will do for me (my 1st pregnancy) so happy to preempt them in case I need to be on MC. As for my Boss, I'll wait till my 6th week appt (to confirm sac and heartbeat) before announcing to him.

I do find it a bit difficult and embarrassed to tactfully smiled when some suspects because I'm trying to refrain from my usual morning kopis.

I intend to inform both sets of family in the next 2 weeks during my 1st one's 2nd bday. Can be like double happiness haha.

As for boss, once I confirm with gynae I'll inform her so that she has enuf time to prepare for my maternity cover etc. But she'll undstd not to tell others yet as it is less than 3 mths. But as a form of respect, shld inform earlier rather than wait till 1st trim over, come to think of it...

kinky_mummy, your nick is very cute leh... hehe...

Hahaa.. I think many mummies commented on that too. ;)

Agree.. maybe good idea to tell bosses only after appt with gynae. Mine is on 2nd April. Looking fwd! Just hope I don't suddenly puke in office. Slight nausea these few days.

Hmmm, is it late/rude to inform bosses at 2nd trimester ?

I guess it's up to individual... especially the extend of morning sickness or any underlying medical condition and the basis of your work.

I'm on good terms with my Boss and colleagues and they are aware of me actively trying for a child. In fact, it was my Boss who talked to me on having a child now, and not delaying it. For me, I would inform him after confirmation from gynae so he can make future plans as I'm a contract staff.

Hello Fluffyduck, I think more up to individual. I'm handling a few projects this year so just think its more polite to give early headsup. By 2nd trimester.. only left with 6 mths.. will stress my boss and my officer supporting me during my absence.

Also.. I need to pull out of the JP Morgan run happening in April which is together with my colleagues so must tell them soon. Else I will get evil eye. Hahaha

F
Fluffyduck, how easy is it to get maternity cover on your side? Some big companies need to do alot paperwork to approve, select from job agencies etc, may not be as straight forward. Any other precedent cases with your colleagues?

Also, I tink it depends on how close u r with your boss. If quite close n on gd terms, no harm informing earlier, ca look out for u also. Other colleagues can slowly wait.

Hahaa.. I think many mummies commented on that too. ;)

Agree.. maybe good idea to tell bosses only after appt with gynae. Mine is on 2nd April. Looking fwd! Just hope I don't suddenly puke in office. Slight nausea these few days.

My nausea was bad last week until I figured what to do to myself.

Take short breaks and walk in fresh air for 5-10 minutes. And take small meals/fruits. Remember to hydrate yourself frequently!

F

Fluffyduck, how easy is it to get maternity cover on your side? Some big companies need to do alot paperwork to approve, select from job agencies etc, may not be as straight forward. Any other precedent cases with your colleagues?

Also, I tink it depends on how close u r with your boss. If quite close n on gd terms, no harm informing earlier, ca look out for u also. Other colleagues can slowly wait.

Hmmm, i think no problem for application of maternity leave for my coy, but we are having headcount freeze so my work will be divided and delegated within my current colleagues.. i think i will wait till my first trimester is over.. previous colleagues did that too.. thanks all!

My boss is one of the first few who knows I'm pregnant. I thought by informing her earlier, she could plan the manpower (because I have another colleague also pregnant one month earlier than me).

It's good to inform boss earlier especially if your work requires physical power. Once they hear that you are pregnant, most will start making arrangement to give you less physical work.

Am a bit apprehensive about sharing too much here cos its public domain afterall. Anyone can come in and read. -paranoid me- hahaha thanks in adv Fluffyduck!

Hello everyone, just got introduced to this forum by my friend. Hee! This is my very first pregnancy. So a bit kan jiong. Hee! I understand that there is a fb group, can add me?

Hi, I just tested positive yesterday as well, still in very early stages. Keeping fingers crossed till gynae appmt 3 wks later. This is my second, first one one is 4. Can I join too? My email is [email protected] thanks!

Hi Ladies... i was tested postive at KKH last wk during my follow up checkup after ops..

Had done blood test and scan.. And i shd be ard 4-5wk at that time. But i was having spotting and scan shown only sac, no heart beat.

my nx check up will be nx monday... gynea said, if still no heart beat, mean miscarriage have to terminate it..
having mixed feeling now.. it seem like the time is moving very slow.... :(

Hi Ladies... i was tested postive at KKH last wk during my follow up checkup after ops..

Had done blood test and scan.. And i shd be ard 4-5wk at that time. But i was having spotting and scan shown only sac, no heart beat.

my nx check up will be nx monday... gynea said, if still no heart beat, mean miscarriage have to terminate it..
having mixed feeling now.. it seem like the time is moving very slow.... :(

OH dear azlin, can undstd ur anxiety and time feels very slow right now. :( Pls tske care and try to bed rest more if it helps, hope evtg will be fine for u...

Hello everyone! I just tested positive yesterday and based on my LMP, edd shld be 16 Nov. This is my 2nd, my 1st is turning 2 yo in 2 wks' time.

Hope to share experiences here! :)

Can I join the fb group?

Hihi kinky-mummy,

High Five!

Am also expected with no. 2 and estimated due is also mid Nov. My first boy is 2yr 2mths! We have some similarity here:)