Young Mummy

kekeke... gotta be a little bit careful reading that sentence with that punctuation mark

don't want the entire gender be blamed just becos of one ignorant little kid

dear jes,
glad everything turns out fine. I hope you will have a smooth pregnancy journey. If you have any questions, do let us know. We will try to help u out.

i guess i wasnt tat brave after all. I'm still not sure of what to do. Even though i've decided on giving birth to it, but i'm still not sure of my own decision. The thought of all the barriers clearly display before me makes me frightens me.

Sometimes i wonder, whether i'm too stubborn. Maybe giving birth to it will lead me to a harsh journey in the time to come. But i cant bear to abort this baby. whenever i thought of abortion,i will cry uncontrollably. I even have nightmares, all about abortion.

I'm going to go for my 2nd checkup later. Today i should be able to see the heartbeat of my baby.

Hey Jes,

I thought you had your thoughts sorted out already? It's not unusual that you are starting to question your decision now. Why not have a talk with your BF about it?

How do u feel about marriage? How do u feel about being a mummy? Frightened? Overwhelmed? That's pretty normal. Besides you are still so young.

Better think properly what you want to do.

Kelly,
I went for my 2nd checkup just now. Saw my baby's heartbeat;so happy to see that it was healthy. Now my baby is 7 weeks and 4 days old. Now i know that i really wish to give birth to this baby. I'm going to talk to my parents soon, hope can settle this mattter soon. So that i can concentrate on my pregnancy. My gynae said that i look really pale, asked me to eat more meat and more nutritious food. I need my family to give me all their supports, including cooking good food for me..

Hi jes
I hope u talk to your parents REAL SOON and not delay it any further. You need all the help and support u can get now.

Whatever u do, take good care of yourself first as everything else can only follow thereafter. btw, have u sorted out your r/s with your bf? is ROM in the works? did he go to the checkup with u?

Take care...

Hi Big Apple,
I will, i need their help and support.. I've talked to my bf already, and he supported my decision. Regarding ROM, that will have to wait till both parents talk to each other. His mum once mentioned that she will not sign on the ROM if he insist on getting married. So whether we are able to ROM still depends on his mum. He went to both checkups with me, even though he doesnt look very happy or excited.

Hi jes
Is your uncertainly and doubt now something to do with his apparent lack of happiness/excitement about the BB?

Remember, there is no right and wrong answers now, only the best one going forward given the circumstances and situation which only u know best (so don't lie to yourself). To have a shot at building a happy family, this has to be a concerted effort by u two jointly, both understanding and willing to take on the responsibilities of married life and parenthood (not just u alone).

Most importantly now is; what does your bf think, just himself, as a man? Is he prepared to ROM and live his remaining life with u and the BB from now on with/without his mother's support? Someone, other than u and perhaps w/o your presence, need to ask him that question and get his honest answer. Based on your description, there is still this uncomfortable and unsure feeling about his commitment to u and the BB.

You two should really speak with a responsible adult that both of u know and can trust to discuss your next steps.

Jes, just because you want to keep the baby does not mean you definitely *have* to marry him. IMO, its disastrous to marry man because of a baby. It may be hard to raise your child up alone, but I imagine that that it'll be so much more painful to marry a man who is not there at all times to give you his 100% commitment and love. And not only you'll suffer long term in a bad marriage, the child is another victim. Do think hard about whether you really want or need to marry him. How hard is he fighting for you and your child? It reflects alot.

Young Jes,

How come your bf's mum so uncompassionate? She being a woman herself?!! She is really selfish to suggest this... her son has done something wrong and made a girl pregnant and she is trying to help him shake off the responsibility and abort the baby... I can't believe a woman will ask another woman to abort a baby, it's so cruel, sigh. She herself is a mother for goodness sake!

You have to be strong, looks like you will face objections and hostile attitudes from his mum but you have to be strong. Dun be upset by pple like her.

You need to talk to your parents nicely and get their support. You and your bf shld also also go for a marriage counselling course to help you be prepapred and ready... it will be v helpful to you. Big Apple is right, you need to have someone older and responsible to help you all thru this difficult time.

Talking abt ROM, need his mother's signature at ROM meh? His father can sign also rite?

I think need both parents signature. I will get my mum to help me out of this mess, probably get her to talk to my bf and his family. I understand the fac that it will be disastrous to marry someone who is unwilling to give his 100% commitment and love. I've talked to him several times regarding this issue, and he always assure me that he is willing to give his commitment and love. However, i always have this uncomfortable feeling, i dont think he means what he said.

Talkiing about his monsterous mum, i cant believe that there is people like her too. She is obviously trying to help him shake off the responsibility by asking me to go for abortion. Sometimes, even my bf also cant stand her. She always insist that i MUST go for abortion. sigh.

young jes, Its ultimately up to you to decide whether to believe him or not. But trust your instincts. A woman's instinct is very powerful.

Yar, i also feel that a woman's instinct is very powerful. My bf also say that my instinct always very accurate. Whatever things that i predicted will come true. Maybe not all, but almost 80%. Hope my instinct will tell me that everything will turn out fine, soon.

young jes,

Dun press your boyfriend too hard also lah.. dun pressurize him too much by keep asking him whether he is sincere and all.. sometimes just gotta win him over with your love lor.. get him involved with your prenatal visits to doc and all that.. so he'll begin to feel for the life inside you and that he has a part in that.

Yah his mum is so mean, the son has committed a mistake and this is the way she is teaching him?!!? I would definitely give my son a piece of my mind and tell him I am very disappointed in him and tell my son to bear the responsibility because he is an adult he has to be responsible for his actions. How can he put a girl thru all those physical and emotional pain after he's had his fun?!?! The least he can do is to be a man and face up to the consequences.

aiyo, i still can't believe him mum.... so cruel.

Really wish the best for you, young jes.

Hi jes
You appear to be very confused over what is happening. Given his mother's objection and u think he is not prepared to give u 100% commitment and love, do u think it is wise to ask your own mother go to his house to talk this over? Call me traditional but i think it is bad enough that he is not going to your place to ask for marriage... But now, for u to ask your mother to go to their place to talk this over instead?

Is there any other people that can help u other than putting your mum through this? Is it possible that u have a private session with his father to see what he has to say?

Hi Jes,

Yes... It's bad enough that his mum isn't supportive of both your decisions. But for you to get your mum to go over to their place is really a bit too much!!!

Why is your BF mum behaving this way?? She is so unfeeling!! I am so angry at that woman.

young jes,

Thot tt all's well for u liao.. but since then it haven't been.. I feel very sorry for u..

Anyway, ROM cert needs both parents' signature, one parent fm each side only..

I'm wondering wat's holding u fm telling yr family.. thot fm previous postings u mentioned u gonna tell yr mum aft her b'day.. I worried for u cause the longer u drag, the risk will increase when u go for abortion.. now u considered pushing 8 wks. u r gradually moving to the danger zone u noe.. U r risking yr health now..

Frankly speaking, I think if u r a mother yrself, will u think tt if yr son make a mistake and by marrying the gal and giving birth to the innocent will solve the prob or create new social prob? As a mother, her responsibilities is to help her son settle the prob (even if it means hurting other ppl)..Call her selfish.. but I think she prefer being called tt name rather than ruining her son's future noeing he may b creating another mistake by this settling this current mistake..Yes! Her son did make a mistake, but so did other ppl's daughter.. If u ask yr mum along, u r subjecting her to humiliation by yr bf's mum .. saying she nvr teach u properly.. Big Apple is rite.. Though u r not in the position to negotiate now, at least u shld preserve yr family's pride..

Sorry to say tt.. this is harsh.. but she may really say tt to yr mum.. if she did.. where will yr mum gg to place her face? Will she feel humiliated by her own daughter's mistake too..She can't put all the blame on other ppl's son.. U have also agreed to have s*x wif the other party, remember?U didn't stop him when he failed to put on protection too rite.. so in a way, her son is a victim too ya.. How's yr mum gg to fight for u then?

The plain fact is , U dun even noe how yr family can take it.. they may not want this child u noe wat i mean.. all this while is just btw u and that family.. Tell yr parents soonest, mayb there will b a diff ending.. Hopefully a better one!

And for the last time I gonna say.. thot tt boy aldy shown his support for u. So even aft he saw the heartbeat he's still doesn't look happy/ excited .. ask yrself.. wat does it means? no point we tell u everytime. U got to see for yrself..

Sorry! I didn't mean to splash cold blanket.. but the prob remains unsolved unless u take the stepping stone to tell yr family.. tt's where the solution start arising..

Wish u Good Luck! Dun drag anymore liao..

young_jes, u mean u still ve not told ur parent abt ur pregnancy?! but don't u think tat it's very foolish of u to trust that ur bf is standing on ur side???

young_jes, yah, ROM cert only require one parent signature from each side of the family, dun let this be an excuse that your BF will give if should he wants to delay the ROM to say he need times to persuade his mummy. You must be strong at this moment. Your parents support is very important so you must tell yourself you have to be a brave mummy! Cheers!

Just a note... for someone below the age of 21 but above 18, he/she needs both parents to be present when filing the Notice of Marriage.

FYI, if you are under 21, you need approval from BOTH parents & not just one. If you are above 21, not any of your parents need sig anything.

I've talked to my parents about my pregnancy, and they are going to talk to the other party soon. They gave me their support in giving birth to the baby. They are very calm about the whole matter, didnt even raise their voice at me. Guess they are more to worry and dissapointed, den to angry.

My bf's family came up with a decision 2 days ago, and i only get to know it yesterday. On tuesday, his dad came to tell my bf that the whole family is going to support his decision.

Oh My God.. Congratulations!! Young Jes,

God Blessed U!! All's well now.. so no more worries for u liao huh?!

Just take care of yr body and bb well.. kekeke.. Feels very happy for u now.. All the Best!

Jes... glad to hear the support that you are getting.

There's a solution to every problem... you just need to be strong from now on... for yourself and your baby =)

Hi jes
Good to hear tt ur bf's family is going to support his decision. If he has not oriedi done so, he shd come ur hse to ask ur parents for ur hand in marriage.

Remember tt this is just e beginning of everything. Make sure u two work together and communicate often on what and how u each feel and think (dun adopt e "i think u shd" mentality). Always clarify ur fears n doubts with each other and stay strong.

Take care n best wishes

The meet-the-parents session just ended. My bf's parents came over to my house to talk about our marriage. Finally, everything has been settled. We are going to ROM first, followed by the dinner. My bf family still haven decide on whether to have the dinner, but my dad said that they are going to have the dinner no matter what.

After they left, my family tell me that my future MIL is going to be a difficult one. She isnt very nice to get along with. They tell me that i can always come home if i dun feel at home there. So touched by their words.

Hi jes
That's great! guess then u wld be hanging ard this forum more often for all e wonderful tips

Yes, i think ur MIL is not goin 2b easy to live with. Well, anway, I always believe true sincerity will touch pple. So, just be sincere in dealing with her. stay strong n catch up with ur frens outside or come here to release stress in future

Hi Big Apple,
Now we are trying to search for bridal studio, but have no idea which 1 to go to. We went to look at the other treads, and find that Yvonne Creative got pretty good comments from other brides. Thinking of going there, but i have no idea who should pays for the package. Since both of us have no savings, then whose parents should pay for it? Both sides have asked us to look for a bridal studio.

Hi jess
I m sure u wld find 1 u like, just be careful of hidden cost. But just to let u know, i hav a fren who ROMed then gave birth and then had their wedding 1 yr after, just in case u wan another option.

On the money side, I suggest u each borrow from ur parents a few k with plans to return over e next few yrs. See thread here on who pays for wedding costs.

Wish u lots of love in ur new family
72394.gif

Hi Big Apple,
thank u for ur advice.. i will try to solve tat problem soon..

Anyway, this tread seems to be less active le.. so saddening..

hahaha... its a long weekend. Many pple mayb out of the country or on holiday. I'm sure u wld get more advice come Monday or Tuesday.

Hi Jes...

Don't think too much about whether you will get along with your MIL. I stay with my in-laws and everything is a-okay. Don't let your mentality be a stumbling block... sometimes it could be just a self-fulfilling prophecy ;) Communication is an art to be learned... just keep an open mind for now and deal with the problem when it really arises (there is always a possibility that it may not even happen... so why worry unnecessary? :p).

Join in the discussion in the threads of the various BS and hear what the other brides have to say... it is very informative and helpful in decision making. Oh ya... whatever it is... do not commit yourself to any BS, especially before you have the chance to try on their gowns. Lots of brides regretted signing up with a BS at exhibitions because they only get to see photo albums and when they visit the shop itself, they are disappointed to realise the style and designs are not what they have mind.

As for the costs, you need to discuss with your FH and both set of parents, and decide what is the best step. What Big Apple has suggested is a good idea.. you might what to explore that. Do not feel embarrassed about bring it up to anyone... I always believe that preparing for a wedding is a good way to prepare a couple for married life... all the decisions you need to make, compromising, coming to middle ground, effective communication etc etc.

BTW... how's your baby doing?

Hi Jes,

When I got married, I also borrowed money from both our parents. You just need to commit to return them back the money.....

Who pays?? By right you both got to pay for it yourselves lor, cos it's not fair to ask the parents to pay for it. But if it's a loan, then it's fine. Unless they offer to pay lor.

Young Jes

Nice to hear that everything is ok.

Must be brave and happy and be responsible adults from now.

Yah, never go to bridal exhibitions....dun sign anything on the spot. Visit the bridal studios themselves to check out. I suppose you have to do everything soon rite? Before tummy starts to show? Guess most of all depends on ur budget. Generally most bridal studios are fine... depends on how much you wanna spend and what style you like.

Really wanna wish you all the best. take good care of yourself and do come in here to share.

i am 17.. my bf wan mi to remove tis bb.. i dun wish to do tat.. so i wanted to tell my mom tat i am pregnant but how should i tell her? tis is my important yr 4 studies too.. is abortion the onli choice 4 mi???

hi xiaohui, if u had read all the posts here for youngjes u wld realised tt support from ur bf is critical to start a family. Life will be v tough for u if u decide to do this alone.

How many weeks are u in now (i.e. how much time do u have to decide this)? and how old is ur bf and is he working now?

Whatever it is, take good care of urself first for now.

Juz a thought. Isnt it consider high risk for lady tat is below 18 and above 35 to give birth?

i've did my pregnancy test recently onli.. wad should i do next? go 4 a check-up? can recommend? my bf is 19yr old.. still studyin.. not workin.. i dun hab the courage to tell my mum, it will onli make her more trouble n upset.. so left the onli choice which is to abort it..

xiaohui,

i think u r still v young to know the responsibility of being a parent. moreover, yr bf is still studyin and he doesn't support u as much as young jes's bf. support is the pillar of your marriage..
pls do consider yr decision properly n tok to yr parents as soon as possible.

Hi Xiao Hui,

The best advice I have for you is to visit a gynae first - there are a lot of gynaes who do abortions in their clinic hence it's more private than to go to KKH. Costs about $500. If you need to have a name of a gynae who does this, I can give you my gynae's name via email.

Remember the earlier you do it the lesser risks for you.

i dun intend to tell my parent.. my dad will not accept tis.. tat's 4 sure.. he pin his hopes on mi.. but 4 now, i will go 4 a checkup within tis week.. after tat then decide to keep not..

XiaoHui,
Think u better decide soon. The ealier u decide, the better it is for u. Is ur bf going to accompany u for ur check up?

Another qn.. they will do the scan to determine how mani weeks during 1st consultaion rite? make an appointment or juz straight go there??

Hi Xiaohui, it's better to call the clinic to make the appointment beforehand. Sometimes a gynae can run two clinics and will not be around on some mornings or afternoons. Just need to tell the receptionist that you want to make a first appointment with the gynae. No need to offer details over the phone.

During the first consultation, the gynae will scan to detect the gestation sac(water bag). Usually, it should be there if the pregnancy kit tested positive. It's just a small round thing. The baby is still too small to be seen at this stage. So, the presence of the gestation sac will confirm your pregnancy.

Remember to bring enough cash for the consultation. Some clinic does not accept NETS or credit cards. Like mine. You can ask for a rough estimate of the costs of first appointment and what mode of payment they accept when you make the appointment.

I hope that your bf will change his mind about requesting for the abortion after your gynae visit.

Ok.. thanks alot... i do hope tat he will change
his mind.. will ask him to make an appointment wif the gynae later..thx so much..