Ya, I also know of mummies who insisted on natural and they do all the walking, squatting etc, but when the day comes, they refused pain relief thinking they can do it, but they end up in the e-csect theatre.

Though I am tempted to try no-epidural, I suspect i will give in to epidural as my pain threshold is damn low. Being kiasu and kiasee, if there is no sound no picture of wanting to come out from the tummy, I will request for induction. That was what I did for my first born :p

My pain threshold is super low! Will definitely be opting for epidural! But my sister couldn't receive her epidural even after 30 hours of labour cos even after inducing 2 times, she was only 2cm dilated, and apparently must wait till 3cm den can have epidural? Scared siar..

The trick is after pill insertion for induction, you must walk for at least 1 hour so that the pill can work. Cannot keep lying down. Ya, min 3 cm ley, sians

Haha ya lor. I v fast tired le. U are v strong to push for 2h... Think past 1h i will show the white flag.
The clock was right in front of me, I kept counting the min, time crawled wor. Cos the epidural machine was turned off at 5pm, but the pain relief medication was slowly decreasing, luckily not like you turn off the machine, you will feel excruciating pain immediately, so not so bad.

Depend on your ward. For me, when I admitted I met my neighbour (Malay kampong). Then next day came a PRC who is waiting for delivery. Keep kaypoh abt me even when I draw my curtains when I just came back after my c-sect.
Wa Sians 1/2..the last thing you want is some kpo peeping through your curtains to see what you are doing esp you are so drop-dead tired

Thanks for sharing.

At night will it be v noisy? Cos i scared all 4 babies room in, will be crying whole night...

My fren dun have such problems coz no babies in the room at night. Well, maybe there will be some noise when the babies are sent to the mummies for breastfeeding, but not those kinda of whole night crying kind. I thought only A1 wards allow room-in?

Haha ya lor. I v fast tired le. U are v strong to push for 2h... Think past 1h i will show the white flag.

But 5mins of pushing is really very short le.

@towkayneo THH got say must do e-csect if baby still dun come out? Coz usually waterbag burst liao need bb to come out asap, if not need antibiotics wan le.

In order to administer epidural, must be between 3cm to 5 or 6 cm. After that hor, no point putting epidural liao coz the pain is max le.

The clock was right in front of me, I kept counting the min, time crawled wor. Cos the epidural machine was turned off at 5pm, but the pain relief medication was slowly decreasing, luckily not like you turn off the machine, you will feel excruciating pain immediately, so not so bad.

How come the epidural machine will be turned off wan? Thought supposed to be on till all the business are done deal?

Thanks for sharing.

At night will it be v noisy? Cos i scared all 4 babies room in, will be crying whole night...

1st night at B1 ward I am alone...

2nd night my neighbour start coming in...my side neighbour str away tell d nurse she wan fm given to her bb...she dun wan breastfeeding at all....n the rest of neighbour is noisy only when ppl come visit ....sleeping hours not noisy aso

I took B1 cos preemie scared bill ex...but I saw my bill yesterday...total still cost up to almost 10k for 3 night stay (e-c sec n I actually can discharge 2 day but I op to stay 1 more day)...

Imagine if I stay A1 d bill will confirm be rocket high....

I think if gg natural can stay A1..If hv complication best stay B1

My fren dun have such problems coz no babies in the room at night. Well, maybe there will be some noise when the babies are sent to the mummies for breastfeeding, but not those kinda of whole night crying kind. I thought only A1 wards allow room-in?

Kkh very into bb room in with mummy
..but if u can tell them bring bb to u only until feeding time cos u wan rest....

Wa lau! Push for 5 min then say tired, of cos he was pissed laaa...nv try hard enough :p Hahahaha...Must ask the hubs if he sees the head or not laa..else what's he there for? :p

In a way, I kind of agree, cos I had latching issues initially and I gave my first born formula and his jaundice cleared after 2 weeks plus?

I m gg polyclinic check my bb jaundice again ...am gg try fm all the way to clear his jaundice 1st provided today he never admin hospital....it break my heart to see him ding dong here n there...He is so small n skinny some more. ....

End of the day is his interest over my stubbornness to wanna direct breastfeeding him. ...think pump out n feed him aso not a bad option after he clear his jaundice. ..

My #1 also had jaundice though we managed to avoid hospitalisation (we almost didn't make the cut). U have to keep feeding to make sure the jaundice clears. Bb must feed regularly every 3h at least, that's what the nurse said, and to wake bb for feeding if he oversleeps. Jaundice takes some time to come down, but it eventually will.

I think u might have to consider formula to bring down jaundice faster. A few of my friends did insist to latch exclusively when bb had jaundice and ended up bb in hospital, one of them was pretty serious. If u are on the breastfeeding fb, pls don't believe the ppl who say just latch and latch for jaundice. From experience, the bb needs more than that to clear the jaundice safely.

Sorry, I don't mean to offend anyone, just hope ur boy's jaundice can clear soon.

I agreed with what u say...cos from what u see I keep latching n be breastfeed he only getting yellowish by day...It is very frustrating ...

Some more Dr said hv a upward trend like 20points per day...think today sure over d point one. ..super sian

For mummy/mummy to be gg thro c -sec with Dr THH

I removed the cover for my wound few days ago n was surprised how low he did d c-sec...

Definitely wearing a bikini is not a prob n it is beautifully neatly stitch ...now u all mention how old he is...I m very impressive n glad he is my gynae throughout ivf till birth....**2 thumbs up for him**

For mummy/mummy to be gg thro c -sec with Dr THH

I removed the cover for my wound few days ago n was surprised how low he did d c-sec...

Definitely wearing a bikini is not a prob n it is beautifully neatly stitch ...now u all mention how old he is...I m very impressive n glad he is my gynae throughout ivf till birth....**2 thumbs up for him**
Hehe glad u shared ur exp! Jia you mummy...

I agreed with what u say...cos from what u see I keep latching n be breastfeed he only getting yellowish by day...It is very frustrating ...

Some more Dr said hv a upward trend like 20points per day...think today sure over d point one. ..super sian
Yup i think u made a gd choice... Jaundice will eventually clear... First few times of pricking mine was also upward trend. Only abt wk 2-3 then start to level and go down. I did mixed feeding.
With determination, u can still latch. Sometimes at this stage it cld be ur boy doesn't know how to latch properly so that's why he is not taking in enough BM to clear the jaundice. But when he is older and suckling more powerful, u can always try again if u wanna latch. If not, pumping is also breastfeeding.
Hope ur boy gets well soon!
U must try to get enough rest too :) take care.

1st night at B1 ward I am alone...

2nd night my neighbour start coming in...my side neighbour str away tell d nurse she wan fm given to her bb...she dun wan breastfeeding at all....n the rest of neighbour is noisy only when ppl come visit ....sleeping hours not noisy aso

I took B1 cos preemie scared bill ex...but I saw my bill yesterday...total still cost up to almost 10k for 3 night stay (e-c sec n I actually can discharge 2 day but I op to stay 1 more day)...

Imagine if I stay A1 d bill will confirm be rocket high....

I think if gg natural can stay A1..If hv complication best stay B1
Checking with u, your total $10k bill is before or after medisave deduction? Cos I remember 3yrs ago my bill no that high. Baby bill less than $1k.

Jaundice will take times to clear especially for baby whose blood group is different from mummy. U can try mix BF n FM. Both my cousins their baby's jaundice took abt 1mths, they on BM only but have to give very frequent. Like every 1.5hrs

Yup, A1 wards encourage room-in, the hubbies are allowed to room-in too :p

But 5mins of pushing is really very short le.

@towkayneo THH got say must do e-csect if baby still dun come out? Coz usually waterbag burst liao need bb to come out asap, if not need antibiotics wan le.
He did not say, but I was so exasperated that I told him I wanted to do e-csect. He said the baby is in the birth canal liao, just a few pushes will do the trick.

Cos I was strep B positive, so I was put on antibiotics drip before labour.

Checking with u, your total $10k bill is before or after medisave deduction? Cos I remember 3yrs ago my bill no that high. Baby bill less than $1k.

All is after gov grant

Baby bill in neonatal (3 days) ward in total =$1505.40

3 days delivery pkg (c-sec) = $1888
Additional service =$8003.60

Payment (I pay credit card when doing pre admin to hospital )=$2402
Mwdisave (inclusive of $900 claimable for pre delivery expenses ) =$4850

I still hv to pay by cash another $1400.69

All is after gov grant

Baby bill in neonatal (3 days) ward in total =$1505.40

3 days delivery pkg (c-sec) = $1888
Additional service =$8003.60

Payment (I pay credit card when doing pre admin to hospital )=$2402
Mwdisave (inclusive of $900 claimable for pre delivery expenses ) =$4850

I still hv to pay by cash another $1400.69
additional service?? $8k. Is ur surgery fee? Sorry so much question. so total cash u pay is $10k. I think to try A1 or Get back B1. Like that I better take B1. Hai

Nah is okay ...dun apologise for the question...I am glad I can do some sharing...

Yes $8k plus is the surgery...n yes total cash (inclusive of medisave) around $10k plus...

Natural is the cheapest but sometime due to sum unknown circumstances or breech birth have to do c sec ...If not cos of I wan stay w Dr THH for my surgery I would have even choose B2 to save $$$

He did not say, but I was so exasperated that I told him I wanted to do e-csect. He said the baby is in the birth canal liao, just a few pushes will do the trick.

Cos I was strep B positive, so I was put on antibiotics drip before labour.
Does it mean once the baby is in the birth canal, by hook or by crook must push out liao? Cos also cannot get out thru C Sect as it is too far down?

I think so? Or maybe the doc feels that it's just 1-2 more pushes hence, e-c-sect is unnecessary? As far as I know, THH doesn't do anything unnecessary..

Nah is okay ...dun apologise for the question...I am glad I can do some sharing...

Yes $8k plus is the surgery...n yes total cash (inclusive of medisave) around $10k plus...

Natural is the cheapest but sometime due to sum unknown circumstances or br33ch birty have to do c sec ...If not cos of I wan stay w Dr THH for my surgery I would have even choose B2 to save $$$

oh dear, I din know c sec is so ex. I estimated 8k plus and after claiming medisave need pay about 5k at most.
I think i no chance stay in A nor B1 le. I have twins and if premature, i think the bb bills will add up quite abit as well.
Chance of downgrade will be high! :(

The trick is after pill insertion for induction, you must walk for at least 1 hour so that the pill can work. Cannot keep lying down. Ya, min 3 cm ley, sians

Alamak, my sis din know leh.. She was suffering in pain for 30 hours siar!! Thanks for sharing the tip!

Cos I was also happily lying down after inserting the pill, but there was no sound no picture, so my hubs dragged me to walk around the whole of KKH (not strolling, but brisk walking) for at least 1 hour (I was so pissed at him that time). Eventually, it worked, I dilated till 3cm and I quickly asked for epidural to prevent unnecessary pain :p

That's why the nurses always ask those induced patients to either do squats or walk after pill insertion. Maybe to encourage blood circulation and for the pill to work wonders.

The other point why my child's cord blood was eventually not stored I feel is because sccb has high standard for all donated cord blood. They must meet a certain number of cells to be useful for other patients in future. On the other hand, pte banks will be more than happy to store whatever you have, since they have taken the money from you

I have the same sentiments as you. But I guess some mummies store to have a peace of mind, like insurance....

oh dear, I din know c sec is so ex. I estimated 8k plus and after claiming medisave need pay about 5k at most.
I think i no chance stay in A nor B1 le. I have twins and if premature, i think the bb bills will add up quite abit as well.
Chance of downgrade will be high! :(

I paid cash all in all about $4000 plus...the rest all paid by medi save max out is $4500.....

Some even is preemie (mine is preemies) if everything ok not necessary be in nicu so dun worry...maybe u dun even need c-sec? See what Dr say 1st....

Maybe u can op for B1 1st...den decide later after birth....

I paid cash all in all about $4000 plus...the rest all paid by medi save max out is $4500.....

Some even is preemie (mine is preemies) if everything ok not necessary be in nicu so dun worry...maybe u dun even need c-sec? See what Dr say 1st....

Maybe u can op for B1 1st...den decide later after birth....
I also got frightened by your bills. . I also only target cash payment abt $5k. Baby's bill used my medisave. My bills use my DH's medisave. This time round my is schedule csect and I planning to stay 1more night to rest. At home still have my elder one. Very difficult to rest. Like you my mum is doing my confinement. So I pretty much hand on this time.

Oh ic....mine a bit more siong is Cos ivf treatment,mine surgery bills and baby bills all is using my medisave so u can imagine my medisave not much left I think ...

Not tt my hubby never offered to co-shared but I find it troublesome ...now I sort of think I should hv take up his offer :p

If can actually no need stay like me 3 nights ...some 2 nights went home....but since u mention at home still hv #1 difficult to rest so ok Den....but do prep to be very tired ....

My mum never help much only cook for me...I find it very difficult for me esp at night I trying to breastfeeding. ..I dun hv any rest at all. .

Now I switch to fm cos of his jaundice keep increasing n not clear. .at least I can take 5 (let others feed him while I pump)...

Oh ic....mine a bit more siong is Cos ivf treatment,mine surgery bills and baby bills all is using my medisave so u can imagine my medisave not much left I think ...

Not tt my hubby never offered to co-shared but I find it troublesome ...now I sort of think I should hv take up his offer :p

If can actually no need stay like me 3 nights ...some 2 nights went home....but since u mention at home still hv #1 difficult to rest so ok Den....but do prep to be very tired ....

My mum never help much only cook for me...I find it very difficult for me esp at night I trying to breastfeeding. ..I dun hv any rest at all. .

Now I switch to fm cos of his jaundice keep increasing n not clear. .at least I can take 5 (let others feed him while I pump)...
My mum will do cooking n washing for baby clothes. Daytime she can help abit. At night is me taking over. I also plan to BF. Hopefully is successful. Last time I cannot BF. Kena gallstones. Very sharp pain until I break into cold sweat. Have to take painkiller n ended have to remove gallbladder. Hai

Talking about this, how do you claim the S$900 pre-delivery thingy? You just show all your pre-delivery bills?

Ouch !! I didn't know it can take so long.
So far, I only have 1 friend that does induce labor and she was like "insert pill at 8+am and bb pops out at 3+pm".
Now I have second thoughts about induce labor... So scary!!

So far, I only have 1 friend that does induce labor and she was like "insert pill at 8+am and bb pops out at 3+pm".

Insert what pill? I also induced le, but never insert pill. All through IV, was wondering how you all can walk around?
I also started the IV drip around 9plus am and popped at 3+pm de.

Talking about this, how do you claim the S$900 pre-delivery thingy? You just show all your pre-delivery bills?
I remember 3yrs ago KKH help us do the claim. They got records of all our bills in the system. I no need to give them my previous bills. Cos i already pass to my company to claim.

My mum will do cooking n washing for baby clothes. Daytime she can help abit. At night is me taking over. I also plan to BF. Hopefully is successful. Last time I cannot BF. Kena gallstones. Very sharp pain until I break into cold sweat. Have to take painkiller n ended have to remove gallbladder. Hai

My mum also did what you mum intend to do....but I breastfeed she cannot help with tt...so my bb fussed and etc is I all the way...at night also...very very taxing on me..

Sorry to hear tt u get gallstones tt time...can feel ur pain...

Although I make up my mind to do fm...1/2 of me feel very very guilty tt I have to feed him tt...cos is not tt bb can't latch only suckle weak n jaundice....I was crying when my hubby feed him fm...I really do not know how to overcome tt feeling.....feeling super lousy .....sigh**

My mum also did what you mum intend to do....but I breastfeed she cannot help with tt...so my bb fussed and etc is I all the way...at night also...very very taxing on me..

Although I make up my mind to do fm...1/2 of me feel very very guilty tt I have to feed him tt...cos is not tt bb can't latch only suckle weak n jaundice....I was crying when my hubby feed him fm...I really do not know how to overcome tt feeling.....feeling super lousy .....sigh**
Is ok. My supply is low too didn't latch much. My elder one is on FM. To me as long as bb is health n happy. I am a happy mum. BM is like additional vit for my Bb.Got take in the golden BM I am happy. Don't take it too hard on yourself. As long bb got put on weight n jaundice is clear. We tried so hard on IVF to carry LO in hand. They healthy is most important. U try give 1wk FM to bring down his jaundice then give back BM. For now build up at BM supply n stock. In no time we will be going back to work

Hey girl u are doing ur best... Pls dun feel guilty.
I know of one mom whose bb jaundice was so bad cos she insisted latch only, ended with permanent damage. Her guilt is terrible...
Bb health is most impt... Nothing wrong with fm. Everyone wants to bf of course but there is nothing wrong with giving fm when u need to. When jaundice is better, u can go back to full BM...
Rem motherhood is a very long journey ahead. U also need to take care of urself to have the stamina to go on. Jiayou... I think u are doing well.

No la, I think my sis case is different cos she just keep laying in bed, didn't walk around. Plus she's also not a very active person by nature la..

But den again my sis is the first person I heard that also cannot administer epidural.. Before that I also didn't know must wait till min 3cm dilated den can administer woh

Hey babe, indeed like what the rest of the mummies mention, don't be too hard on yourself. Giving fm doesn't make u less of a mum. To make u feel better, I'm taking bf real easy as in have then give, don't have then give fm. I didn't even bother to research those pumps etc. Just borrow from my sis & I'm due soon but I haven't even open the box to see which are the parts I should be getting. So yeah, ppl can judge me & say I'm a lousy & lazy mum but hey, to me, motherhood is not just abt pumping latching & the cycle repeats. I would very much prefer to regain my sanity & enjoy bonding times with my child than stressing over milk supply. There's no right or wrong whether to give full bm, fm, pump or latch etc. Just know that u have done your best for your child. I believe most of us grew up drinking fm anyway & I would say we're all well & healthy! Anyhows, no offence to those mums whom are advocates of bf.

Insert what pill? I also induced le, but never insert pill. All through IV, was wondering how you all can walk around?
I also started the IV drip around 9plus am and popped at 3+pm de.
Insert cytotec to induce labour...no la, insert pill still can walk around. I couldn't walk around when I was on the epidural machine and IV drip. I was hooked up to epidural at 4am and popped at coming to 7+pm

Will they turn off epidural completely when time to push, or they just lower the dosage?

Based on my wife's case, they only lowered the dosage, hence she couldn't feel anything when pushing, but no issue nurse would help to tell you how and when to push.

She was induced at around 10.30pm, started pushing around 8.30am, gave birth around 9.30am.