What Primary School is good

appletan

My child will go have to enrol for Primary School next year, and we feel good schools are very important. Do you gals go all way out like doing volunteer work to get your child into your dream school? Which are the best primary schools in Singapore?

Yes, think I'll go or get Hubby to be a volunteer. Not sure if you can be a volunteer for schools that are not within 2km of your house. For us, we'll only be the volunteers of that one school that is 300m away from my place (cos heard someone said must ballot even within 1km). It's not my dream school but still a good school.

I would say the best primary school in Singapore is Nanyang Primary, followed by Pei Chun, Aitong, Rosyth, etc etc. However, very stressful for both parents and kid if he/she is in Nanyang. Do you want your kid or yourself to feel stressed 24 X 7? At the same time, you must assess your own capabilities in coaching and see if your child can meet the standard.

Firstly, you should determine if your child is of that calibre. If you know that your child is very bright then sending to Nanyang is not a major problem. Be honest with yourself about your child's capability.

Secondly, I am very particular about the type of education that the school can offer. Academic curriculum is just one of the aspects that I consider. How about core-curriculum? I want my child to have a memorable childhood. Some neighbourhood pri schools can offer that, not necessarily good schools only. Besides enrolling my child in a neighbourhood pri schools allows him to interact with people from all walks of life. I will not rule out the possibility of sending him to a neighbourhood school.

To conclude, I must say that most primary schools in Singapore are of a certain standard. I must congratulate the Ministry of Education for the job well done.

FYI.
For child born in Yr 2001, you will need to register as a volunteer b/f 30 Jun 2006. I heard that some school like Henry Park, you need to be a volunteer for at least 2 to 3 yrs.

Apple,

Now is the good time to check moe web for the list of "good" schools, you can tell by the number of parents volunteer under phase 2B and schools conducting balloting. Supposed this information would be removed once the registration is closed?!! One thing for sure, this kind of info is not archived.

I agree with what Missk said. But if your child is bright, perhaps you would like to do a little extra to put him in the good school e.g. the parent volunteer service.

I checked with my colleagues as well on their opinions of some schools e.g. school environment, culture etc.

I'm wondering which schools are "good" too. Could I just check if any of you have opinions as to among Anderson Primary, Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary and Henry Park Primary, which school is better? Thanks.

Hi Yan Shu,

They are all good schools and difficult to get in. Depends on where you live.

Hi Purin,
Thanks for the info. I actually live near one of the schools, but am considering moving (for other reasons besides being near a school too). I have two friends whose children have been to Pei Hwa and they recommend it, but I don't really know much about Anderson and Henry Park in terms of amount of school homework, happiness of their children there, social interactions, etc.

Zes, Roysth is a good sch.. not easy to get in...

I have a choice of enrolling my Son to either ACS or Henry Park.. and really dunno which to reg for him this coming June/July...

my concerns below.. hope someone can help to analyse and advise...

1. ACS is boys sch, Henry Park is mixed. Mine is a boy.. will u recommend a boy sch or mixed sch? At present, in preschool, my son seems to mix very well with gals than boys.. which is my concern.

2.Whichever sch i hv decided, I will need to move... however, Henry park will have a higher advantage as there are HDB flats around whereas the hses near to ACS are mainly private... think nearest HDB town is.. toa payoh liao...

3.I have concern that ACS seems to come from wealthy families .. not sure will it emotionally affect my son's not..

4.Lastly, ACS seems to be more "branded" than Henry Park... and not easy to go in.. my frens say very "sayang" if to give up...

how huh?.....

sorry.. some more points to add....

5. ACS govenment-aided, Henry Park not... so i supposed more sch funding kind of activities...

6.Both are GEP sch, which I supposed they are both academically good schs with CCAs? Please comments... Thanks

hi Singlemonof3,

if to register in ACS will be under 2A1, if Henry Park will be under 2A2.. guessed both chances are high....

any advise?... headache

Wait till the vacancies are updated before deciding. The one with more vacancies would be preferred. I would not want to risk any balloting.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/availablevacancies.htm

Regarding the other concerns, IMO:
1. gender - pros and cons for both. Young children will have curiosity and lack of inhibition to experiment. They aren't shy. Just have to maintain a good relationship with your child so that they value your opinion more than their peers, that your opinion becomes their opinion.

2. location - this largely depends on your budget. But if there are enough vacancies, you may not need to move at all (but have to drive a lot!)

3 & 4: other people's opinions versus your own. Again, maintain good comms with your children.

5. School funding activities can be good character building! Of course, lack of such activities could be replaced with other activities. My kids are in a government-aided school and I've seen opportunities to teach them through these fund-raiser activities. Recent examples: being active to help out and attain the satisfaction or just "siam" and don't do anything.

6. "Good" is a relative word. Academically good, I do not doubt. CCAs? Depends on the CCA and which school is strong in what, wants to build up what etc.

I suggest you not think about this too much till the vacancies list is updated in June

Generally speaking, Phase 2A1 and 2A2 no need balloting... most schools start balloting earliest 2B.

For me, I had choice last year between St. Hilda's and St. Andrew's. SHPS is near, SAJS is far. But for me, my boy is quite active... think if he go to mixed school, he will surely be disciplined a lot, because compared to girls, he will be very disorderly, but if only boys, then he's just one of them... in fact, now, he is considered very good, because he is quite obedient and not as rowdy as some of the naughty boys. Also, at home, all girls except daddy, so want him to have more interaction with boys of his age. Also considered whether single session or partial only... I personally don't like afternoon session... waste of time... prefer morning. Then found out SAJS CCA on Friday morning, school end late on Friday for whole school... no need to worry about school bus. For both schools, he would be in 2A2, so equal chance.

(Er, why you say must move? If you in Phase 2a, no need to move cos no need to ballot... unless it's because you want to be closer to the school lah)

This year, I also have to choose between SHPS and st. margarets... I have two dd.. My DD's character such that I worry she go into BGR too early... so decide girls' school better. Anyway, SMPS make all P1 and P2 do gymnastics, which she like, and I prefer the dress uniform... plus feel that it's not so pressurising... so going ahead with SMPS even though it's further. Also, same, it's single session... better for us. otherwise so headache, one go, another one come...

Guess you know your children and your household routine best... you have to ask yourself what you really want out of an education lor... it's for 6 years, so think of the influence of the school on the child, and what the child will have to do during that time (fund raising, concerts, etc...) and how well the child will fit into the whole ethos of the school.

this is just my own experience... hope that helps.

Any parents with kids in Nanyang Primary??

I am ex-pupil from there (infact, already paid S$1K to join the alumni, so kid confirm can get in)....but as times have changed, and now its a pressure cooker there, not sure if my kids can cope, or I should subject them to such pressure??

Any comments??

hi Singlemomof3 and dorie, thanks for all your advise...

Well,cos i will be selling my present hse as I am in the process of divorcing... so the next hse that i will be buying will be very much dependent on which school he will be going to...

As my son is my only child likely to be with me though the custody has nt been finalised yet... I have to consider my financial status if i go to a govenment-aided sch and oso not sure will he get teased when he interact with children frm weathly and complete families...

I am currently working from home so my timing is still flexible interms of whether it is partial or full session.. but dorie u did raise a good point in my consideration....thanks

fairyprincess,
Actually, good schools are always rumoured to be pressure cookers. However, I think it's not always true. ACPS and Nanyang, for eg, apparently are not what people make them out to be. I feel that many times, we get the wrong impression or information becos we listen to hearsay, and people tend to generalise from what they think how things should be like.

I've heard of how neighbourhood schools give much more work than the 'good' schools. In my opinion, 'good' schools are not 'good' without a reason.

As to whether your kids can cope, I feel that as long as you help support your children's learning, why can't they? In any case, if you send them to a neighbourhood school, you'll still need to support their learning, bcos it's impossible for the kids to manage the primary education today on their own - ok, unless the kids are exceptionally bright, and these kids go to GEP.

Hi Rains,

You do have a point =)

Well, if any forumers' kids are in Nanyang- do comment...look forward to hearing the "inside" story =)

Actually how do we go abt knowing which schools are good etc? MOE website? My girl is 3, still early, but plans like shifting have to be done now if necessary.

Anderson Primary good? Affliated to Anderson Secondary?

Rain
you raise a good point
'as long as you help support your children's learning...In any case, if you send them to a neighbourhood school, you'll still need to support their learning'

parental effort is consistent regardless of elite or neighbourhood school.

Linda
I think we should choose a school that is consistent with what we believe in education. doing volunteer work in the school is a good way to know the school better and whether the environment is suitable for my child.

I remember reading somewhere in this forum that some parents dropped the school after doing volunteer work because they realised it is not what they want for their child

also depends on whether you want your child to be a small fish in a big pond (elite) or a big fish in a small pond (neigbourhood)

Hi hippo
Thanks - I like your last statement.
Fish...
At this point in time, I do not think of placing in an elite school. I dun know how's her academic skills and I do not wish her to be the "smallest fish" in the big pond. I think it will hinder her confidence growth.
I just want a good enough school with good teachers who are involved in character building and love for the children as well as above average results... Too much to ask for? kekeke...

Honestly, I am staying in Woodlands and I have not heard anything abt the schools here. Perhaps not at that level yet (my girl still young).

How do we go about doing volunteer work?

Linda,
You'll need to call up the school you are interested in and enquire. Some schools require parents to start volunteering early while some don't. Some schools require parents to do more hours than others. So it really depends on the school.

I feel that the fish theory doesn't apply to all children bcos the standard of schools differ from one another. The really good ones will of course be up there. But for most cases, the child may be a koi in a neighbourhood school but he still may not be good enough for a top secondary school. If that's the case, I'd rather my child is an ikan bilis in a good primary school and get into a top secondary school. I'm saying this bcos I've seen some children from the top class in a neighbourhood primary school going to some lousy secondary school. My husband was an ikan bilis in his primary school no doubt - he never got in the top ten in his class and never a pet of teachers. But he went to a top secondary school after PSLE.

To me, secondary school stage is the most important stage of one's academic life - more so than primary school stage. I always thought that we're so anxious for the children to get into a good secondary school that we are so kiasu in wanting to place them into a good primary school bcos we all know too well that going to a good primary school does up the chances of the kid going to a good secondary school. Or at least, that's what I think.

Hi Fairyprincess, I was from NYPS too. Also have concerns about subjecting my kid to too much stress if he goes in. Not willing to pay $1K to join the Alumini leh. Also, are you asked to join committees or donate even more $ after joining? If under 2A2, is it 100% guaranteed a place?

Cindy,
Actually, it's quite safe to be in the 2A2 phase. I would say it's close to 100% guaranteed already. It was only worrying last year as it was a baby boom year and the majority of the places were taken up in the first and 2A1 phases.

About the stress stuff, I would say that if you have been preparing your child for primary school education, you do not need to worry unduly.

Emilybiz, in sengkang, you can consider Nan Chiau Primary. That's where I intend to send my kids to as I stay within 1km of the school, very convenient and I quite like the environment.

Another one can consider is Sengkang Pri. Not as well-known but it has produced the top PSLE student before, not sure was it last yr or the yr before. Of cos the child is bright himself, but I think the school plays a part too. Will be a neighbourhood school to consider as well.

Bluesea
hehe, I think top scholar in a neighbourhood school is pure luck, the school's luck

the school is simply lucky that an extremely bright child choose to enrol there for convenience lor. his or her parents must have pumped a lot of effort to nuture the child at home

rains
my bro & I were from the same neighbourhood primary school. he went to a top secondary school while I went to a neighbourhood secondary school

he had 7As for his O level & nobody paid him any attention because everyone else was getting 9As, 11As.
I had 6As for my O level and my school gave me an outstanding achievement award, haha!

me big fish in small pond while he's small fish in big pond lor

my personal opinion, which school the child goes is not the most important

location is more important. with CCAs and daily school, it will be very tedious if the child has to travel a distance to/fro school. furthermore, school bus is extremely early for morning session

so my selection criteria of a primary school is walking distance from my house

Hi Cindy,

Joining alumni of NYPS means your kid is in phase 2A1; if you do not join the alumni, means your kid is in phase 2A2- according to NYPS- past few years' track record showed that for both phases, guarantee the kid goes in.

I joined the alumni more for further assurance, "just-in-case", but I have not decided if I should send my kid there...

Rains and Fairyprincess, thanks for the info.

I also agree with hippo on the distance factor. I myself already find it so tiring to spend more than 1 hour on the bus every morning to go to work.

i am looking for a new place now and one of the factors would be to move to a good school (if i can lah). Any comments between Pei Hwa Presb. and Henry Park? What's their difference?
I will have to be a volunteer (ie if the school wants it, cos i heard is very difficult) if I were to be in Phase 2B and I heard for henry Park, need balloting even if i am within 1 km in Phase 2C.

i am looking for a new place now and one of the factors would be to move to a good school (if i can lah). Any comments between Pei Hwa Presb. and Henry Park? What's their difference?
I will have to be a volunteer (ie if the school wants it, cos i heard is very difficult) if I were to be in Phase 2B and I heard for henry Park, need balloting even if i am within 1 km in Phase 2C.

hi thks for the reply earlier, any idea which pri school is better --HOLY INNOCENTS' PRIMARY near to hougang mall or Rosyth pri ?

Anyone got any more info about Rosyth pri school ?? Need help here !
thank you.

hi zes,
Rosyth is supposed to be one of those 'branded' schools compared to holy innocents.
Rosyth has always sounded more 'impressive' than holy innocents and is one of those really difficult-to-get-in schools.
You may want to note that Rosyth has gifted programme while holy innocents is a sap school.

stressma,
The differences lie in that:
1. Pei Hwa only has Chinese as Mother Tongue while Henry Park has CMT;
2. Henry Park's intake is mostly rich kids with bcos of the demographics;
3. It's more difficult to get into Henry Park. I got a friend who did volunteer work at Henry Park didn't manage to get a place for her kid during balloting.

thks rains for the reply....
now with ppty prices shooting up...i think i can forget abt moving house liao...

maybe i should explore other areas.:>

I forgot to mention that my sister said that her colleague lived opposite Henry Park and also didn't manage to get in. She had to get her child to go to a school further away. So it's not very worth it to shift near to the school. If still can't get in, it'll be so exasperating.

Stressma

you can consider the East, many good schools in this area

Temasek, Yu Neng, Red Swastika, St Hilda's, Tao Nao but still must be prepared to do volunteer work or ballot

Anyone got any information on Radin Mas Primary School or Zhangde Primary School? Are they good? Also, would like to know do these schools giving alot of stress to the children? Many thanks.

hi rains thks a bunch for the reply. I am still not decided on whether to send my child to Rosthyn or HOly innocent as I saw on the web for Rosyth pri school, volunteer needs 60 hours for 2 years !! thats sounds really like huge waste of time -and I am not sure if its gonna be good to send my son to some highly competitive school...yet on the other hand , I prefer those "well known school" where I feel that they are well known surely due to their efforts to keep abreast of educations strategies etc ..

need some advise please .

Frankly I dun really like neighbourhood schools as there were times I meet those kids that come running out of the schools and I observe their "behaviour" and I realised that although there are good neighbourhood schools around , but somehow the "enviornment " is abit different -i suppose... I cant help it although I know I may sound a bit "discriminating " etc.

Frankly, me a primary school teacher, I dun think schools make much difference. Even supposedly good schools can have very ah beng students. Maybe you can try schools with religion background, like catholic schools, or mee toh that kind of schools because they will have mass, recitation that kind of thing, and kids will more or less learn some moral values.

Anyone has info on St. Anthony Primary School and Bukit Timah Primary School? Which one is better? I want my boy to learn moral values but not forgetting a good education as well. Please help me.. I'm really really confused..

How does one go about to become a volunteer? Go to the school principal to express one's wish or email or call? Or is there an official form which we can get from MOE website?