Twins/Triplets/Multiples Mum to be!

yumyum,

no, I lazy, got my extra virgin olive from kitchen and use. keke, can eat, so must be safe, right?

azureoct,

yes, mine is mc twins. I was abt 54kg, by the time i deliver, abt 74kg, I think. my weight at at wk6 is 56kg, butat 15 wk is only 52kg, lost weight due to all the vomiting.

actually, by 28 wks, my tummy so heavy, when I sleep, cannot turn, must get off the bed and sleep on the other side. haha.

gera,

SCU is special care. I did not hear abt this till they put my twins in! actaully is the not so critical case put in here. restricted as well as baby will not be able to go to my ward, I was put on a wheelchair to visit them after giving birth. the cost is lower then NICU, actually that time NICU is full house! that explain why Dr Tham very anxious make me try to delay birth as much as possible. think there are 2 sets of triplets and many critical cases when I give birth. I know later one baby from TCM is being rejected by KKH for NICU and mummy extremely upset.

think my hospital bill abt 6-7k? I was in delivery room for 24 hrs before giving birth.

so far the doctor only prescribe Folic and Calcium for my wife.

not sure if i should put her on other multi-vits or fish oil but the doc seems certain that these 2 (folic and calcium) are enough...

The olive oil thing is something new though... does my wife need to apply now or later when her tummy gets bigger?

so far my wife does not have too much MS but her weight (at week 12 now) seems to be the same as her original weight so I am a bit concern... was hoping she can gain at least a few kg...

1 more thing... confirment nanny... since the bbs will almost certainly be in NICU when they are born, do we need to confirment nanny immediately after my wife give birth or later (say maybe 1 month later)?

Anyone of you have good confirment nannys to recommend and what are the typical charges?

Don: please ask your wife to take DHA, a must, there is a type meant for pregnant mothers. do not buy other dha because the epa is too high, will thin blood and cause danger when deliver baby.

the olive oil is apply now till after delivery 3 months. my best friend kena stretch mark only during confinement. because is very oily, dun apply too much. gently massage and talk to babies at the same time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

did not get a confinement lady, becasue my due date is near CNY, I was told 3k plus and include 3 days holiday for CNY, so I gave up.

depends on what you want the confinement nanny to do, if she is to take good care of your wife, should be as soon as possible when she is discharge, if you want to care for babies, then will wait till babies go home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actually normal confinement lady should be abt 1.5 to 1.8k.

Thanks, May [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] were you working then or a SAHM? tough for me to imagine how i can still go to work if my weight really hits 70+kg. besides, i'm so so not keen to stop work earlier cos that will shorten my maternity leave which i can spend with the babies after they're born. btw, did you have to be on bed rest towards the end of your pregnancy?

when May mentioned that a baby from TMC was rejected by KKH's NICU.. it reminded me of how I'd always wanted to have my kids in KKH because I know that they have the best facilities for babies and that if there's complications if you deliver anywhere else, they will send you to KKH anyway. and now, it seems like i made the right decision right from the start... since i'm carrying twins now and will need close monitoring.. but i still hope that my babies will be born healthy and will be able to avoid NICU.

i hate to drink milk and eat stuff like cereals but i'm trying to make myself eat them because of the nutrients and how it will be good for the babies. told hubby to remind me when i complain that its for the GREATER GOOD of the babies :p and i do have to try hard cos i've lost close to 4kg from my pre-pregnancy weight.

azureoct,

I am working, but my colleagues help out as I am on MC so often! by 27wks, Dr Tony Tan told me I have to be on leave, meaning to say I have to on bed often, not strictly bedrest. strict means cannot get out of bed at all.

I am quite lucky to have leave all the way till I give birth.

If you dun like milk, can try soya products. Seaweed is a very good source of calcium, too much milk might not be so good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

May,

do you get the DHA supplements from your doctor or just go GNC to buy? Mmm.... now my wife's stomach is still small.. just a small tummy... cannot imagine that it will grow so big within a few months. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow... haven't come in for a while and suddenly this thread is super active. ;p

i am now 29 weeks and have gained a total of 12kg as of my last visit to the doctor. My belly is so heavy and i am positively waddling. having water retention problems - elephant feet and if elepehants have hands, i'd say i'm having them too. my fingers are stiff and clumsy right now. don't have the usual grip on things and they just slip out of my hands!

my gynae's at MAH. I was seeing him once every 2 weeks for the first trimester, getting the proluton 1M injection twice a week and duphaston 3 times a day from week 8 because I had very slight bleeding. He only "cleared" me after week 16 with no recurrence of bleeding for abt 4 weeks. then after the detailed scan, i saw him again in 4 weeks, because everything on the scan looked normal, the following one was in 3 weeks. Now i'm back to seeing him every 2 weeks.

on clothes, if don't want to wear maternity clothes so early, can try bottoms with soft elastic bands like skirts with roomier tops. often, the first trimester "growth" is due to bloating. i also had to "upgrade" even before my 1st trimester ends because i couldn't fit in my jeans anymore. keke. anyway, i only put on about 2kg in my 1st trimester, but i didn't have much MS so that's probably why i could gain some weight.

on supplements, my gynae started me on DHA and calcium once i reached my 2nd trimester. the DHA i am eating is for pregnant and lactating mothers, cannot remember the brand, but a similar type under the same brand is found in Guardian pharmacy. however, the one dispensed by my doctor doesn't seems to be available there and his is supposed to be more pure and slightly higher DHA content.

Seaweed might contain significant amounts of vitamin A, so do take in moderation. Same for liver. High does of vitamin A can cause birth defects. Most pregnant ladies are also wary about applying stuff with Vitamin A on their skins because of this reason. Soya products is a good source of calcium, like tofu etc. Most local women already don't get enough calcium in their daily diets, so calcium supplements can help. you can get generic calcium tablets from Unity pharmacy. And also generic folic acid tablets from there as well, for those still in the 1st trimetser.

for confinement lady, i think it is mainly for the mother, so that she is well taken care of and can recover better to look after the babies after one month. of course helping with the babies in the 1st month also mean that the mother can rest well to get her health back!

don

you can get this brand of fish oil for expectant moms from pharmacies. Its called Neurogain. there's blue and pink. Blue is cheaper (concentration lower). Pink is about $45/ bottle.

Gera,

I did not have rashes after taking duph. But i had terrible, very terrible hormonal rashes when i was abt 4 mths preg till i delivered. After delivery, it magically cured on its own....but i do have scars (itchy hands scratch it) to remind me of the ordeal...

My rash was called PUPPPS. Its called pregnancy ultecaria something.....

My daughter was in the special care unit for 2 weeks at kk, and son at nicu for a mth. SCU is mainly monitoring of breathing/heart conditions, low birth weights, multiple births, etc...It is def cheaper than nicu. My scu per day for her was at $400 while nicu at $800 under B1 class.

Don: yes is neurogain, i start off at $27 per bottle, by the time in confinement is $30 per bottle. now not sure what is the price, seems cheaper at unity when I bought it. think there is bulk purchase, can be cheaper.

MLPY,

keke, my maternity clothes,(local XL by 28 weeks cannot fit, so happy because I dun need to go to work by then, seriously not enough clothes to wear.) some is order from US, and XL, by 32 weeks I cannot wear the dress anymore because tummy expand till no space. so I bought some man polo T at some local shop and is XL size. they last me for 2 weeks.

did not know abt the seaweed Vit A, but since is water soluble is much safer than fat soluble ones like liver or fish?

Poko1,

wow, the charges are so expensive now? in 2006, SCU is 233.80 per day for class A, but include med and other stuff, 1.5k for 3 days.

SCU at B2 is 85 per day, add in all the other stuff, for 1 week, is 2.1k. (actually is 3 days class A and 5 days class B2)

actually now I see, my bill add to be 10k! not 6-7k as I thought! forget to add my boys bill to my bill!

my rashes gynae suspect is PUPPPS too but somewhat cannot be determine due to the not red colour and strange occurance.

All,

Thanks. I will drop by pharmacies to buy Nurogain later.

We joked about my wife wearing my clothes..haha... looks like it is going to happen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ah may,

When i had puppps, it made me quite depressed. u know, its really ugly and red, and open scabs too as i scratched it.

Had to wear long sleeve, or long pants. Some tot i had the pox!!! Do see a dermatologist to prescribe u something if u suspect puppps to be yr case.

Yes, Scu n nicu is rather exp now. The cost does not incl medication nor equioments.

luxe, your delivery class is also B2 as well? cos i am planning to choose B1, so wondering if medisave can be used for NICU as B1 is counted as private, and got no gov subsidy.

May, hmm i am planning to deliver in SGH, got bad experience at KKH, i not sure if SGH got SCU. but i did asked, they got NICU though. Still not very sure about the charges, i emailed them and they have yet to respond. But i did check the KKH website, for B1, NICU is about $500 including consummables, are you sure its $800? OMG! I already find that $500 is ex le. $800 is for one baby rite? wah! i want to cry already. The govenment is making it sound like Twins are for the rich to afford themselves. cos high % of babies needing NICU are multiples. They should offer more subsidises. i tot they in need of babies? now we are having 2 at one go lei, shouldn't we get more benefits? Sighs!

Gera

yah i took b2 also cos when i was admitted unexpectedly my gynae asked me to downgrade, only then will i have govt subsidy for my 2 boys in NICU. If i'm not wrong, B1 has no sub so bill size will be high, can use Medisave, but must see if you & hubby have enough. and non-standard medicine will of cos be more expensive.

Gera,

Yes, as what Luxelectrique mentioned, B1 has no subsidy. B1 class comes just after A1, and there is very very little price difference b/w these 2.

KKH just come knocking at our ward after delivery, letting us know that out of "goodwill" as bbs will be nicu, to downgrade us to B1.

We initially tot that there will be lots of difference in payment b/w A1 and B1.

Alas, when my the bill came..we realised....(not that i dont appreciate kkh goodill gesture)we are still pte patients, and the bill size turned out to be still hefty...Medisave covered a fair it of it though...whew!!!!

And yes. for us B1 pts, my son's nicu bill was something like $800 a day. But the bb next bed whose parents i spoke to, were in C class, paid 400 over dollars a day though.

We tried to get to C class status, went thru 2/3 interviews wif biz office, was turned down in the end. Basically, they only look at one thing they told me. Property. HDB vs Private. U know what i mean????

Poko1,

meaning if you stayed in HDB you will be able to get C class status regardless of your income?

May,

I got DHA capsules from GNC yesterday. Picked the one without any EPA, right?

Ah may, why after week 28 don't have to work?

I hope to work as long as I can so that I won't have to take too much annual leave to cover the absence. Also hope to delay the start of maternity leave as much as possible to spend more time with babies. But think most companies have a policy to start maternity leave by 2 weeks to EDD, including mine...

Poko, yup i do know that B1 got no subsidy that is what i was trying to say. i dunno how the downgrade works but last time i tried to downgrade and the social worker said i don't qualify becos of my parents income. but i said i was married and they say its still counted. and i stay in HDB, my parents also stay in HDB, also not allowed.

but anyway i hope my gynae won't scold me if i still insist on B1. just trying to calculate how much i have to put aside.

can i also ask how long was your hospital stay? was it 3 days? can i ask if 3 days is enough? i kinda worried, cos i have existing medical conditions, when i went for my endo surgeries, normal people 3 days can go home, i had to stay for 1-2 weeks.

btw can i also ask, i have terrible MS in week 6, then it got better for week 7 and 8 when i manage to eat and my appetite was good. but now in week 9 my MS is twice as bad as the one on week 6. is it normal? i mean if my appetite is improving, it should improve better as the weeks goes rite? now it seems like i am back to square one. is it becos of the HCG hormones fluctuating?

And supposing if i swallowed my folic acid and duphaston, then 5 mins i vomited my breakfast, not sure if the pills came out, do i take them again? cos i worried if the duphaston didn't swallow.

how does PUPPPS look like? yeah when i was warded, the nurses gave me the info on it. she say my rashes looks like PUPPPS, normally it should appear in late trimester but her colleague had it in the first trimester. but my team doctors kept insisting its not possible. now i having weird red dots on both my arms, very itchy, scratch until very red and disgusting, then followed by a huge area of rashes on my chest.

hi ah may, poko and kkh mommies, if downgrade the ward to b2, i heard we cannot pick the doctor/obygyn at kkh. a bit scary right?

Gera,

think the mean testing extends to your immediate family memebers. The assumption is that they will be able to help you financially... not sure how much you have to exceed in order not to be able to qualify for downgrade though..

my doc at raffles quoted me about 30k per child... which is about 60k for both!! Don't think we will be able to afford that though but not sure how much we get to save at KKH if we don't qualify for the subsidies... the next best thing is to hope that the hospital allows us to have some kind of deferred payment or we load up our credit cards and pays the hefty interest accordingly... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Don, immediate family members meaning? as per whoever is living in your household rite? cos my household is only my hubby and me. i dun understand why they want to include my parents in the picture. i find it weird. cos as i was unable to downgrade, all my other specialists appts are stuck at private. cos once private, everything is private.

omg...that is alot. hmm...i not sure if raffles got NICU, but i saw the moh website, raffles got one of the lowest deliveries done last year. is your wife's gynae based in Raffles?

Yumyum....my Doc catagory delivers only A1 and B1. Meaning single and 4 bedder..I never understand why KK dont have 2 bedders!!! aNYWAY,

B2 onwards, I think any doc on duty at that time, will deliver yr bb.

Don and gera, I went thru means testing....The social worker asks u abt yr immediate family - hubb and u, also yr inlaws, and parents occupations and housing type.

Also, U have to bring many documents , like income tax, cpf, housing deed, loans, etc to show them (u need help)....

They will also ask u to do a homework, what is yr monthly expenditure like....

If u have older kids, dont forget tuition, transport, school, diapers, and EVERYTHING U CN THINK OF!!!!

My interview wif them was abt 45 mins each time...

Don, I am not sure if they just judge on housing or income as well..

Cos, in my case, i am a sahm, so single income for hubb, and i have 3 kids now...

I still dont qualify for subsidy to c class.

They said that for private property dwellers, they firstly see the residence. Secondly, if the bill hits 15k for 1 bb, they will downgrade to c2. But my smaller twin who stayed nearly a mth at nicu, when discharged, the bill was at 14.8K. And they still say cannot!! ####!!!!!

What an irony rite????

Gera, PUPPPS - I have pics of it man!!!!! I can send u pics of it!!! very red, scary man!!!! It was the powest points of my life when i first started it. Then when 7/8 mths, i juz lived wif it - long sleeves and pants and enjoyed the rest of my preg!

I still have scars now!

I started puppps at 4 over mths! Dermatologist say that for singleton bbs, it starts last trimester, mainly 8 or 9 mths. But for twins, wif excess hormones, can start much earlier.

wow, so many posting!

poko1: yup, B2 onwards cannot chose gynae I think or unless gynae is only consultant. I think back in 2006, is not so strict, we went thru 1 interview and then downgrade us. mainly they can see the prenatal bill we have spend at kkh, I have abt 23 receipts with me, each cost abt $100, with 1 amino @$600.

both my inlaws and parrents are retired and stay in HDB. For me, I was considering to stop working due to fact that no one to depend for the care of my boys.

abt the pupps thing(only can suspect because is not red and somehow it does not get worse when I stay in air con.), I gave up that time because I will have funny things happening every week of pregnacy. one of the reason why I stop at 2. Dun dare to get pregnant anymore even through hubby wanted a gal badly.

Don: private NICU can be very exp, heard for 1 case at gen.E in 2005, for 1 week and only 1 baby, already hit 100k or so, still cannot cope, they have to transfer to KKH eventually because the doc dun have the equipment to handle the baby. By the time the baby recover by 3 months, bill already more than 200k, that time can buy a 5room HDB and still have change for renovation.

all DHA will contain EPA, you need to read the fine prints on the content. I remember reading it at GNC and I ask the person, then she explain to me abt this EPA, so I stick to neurogain.

yumyu,

I quite lucky as I downgrade after I am discharged. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gera,

my vomiting cycle is 6 days, I will be seriously sick for 2 days, the symptons will be better, then by day 6, will repeat again. this continue till I give birth, just that after 16 wks, I dun really vomit unlike wk7 to wk15, is cannot control, swallow saliva will also vomit. think is how your body react to the rising hormones.

MLPY,

I was at risk to deliver earlier, dunno why, so was told to be on bedrest often to prevent premature delivery. actually later I discover my friend (who has 3 kids)who touch my tummy at 29wk, she ask me why my tummy so tight, she says is dangerous, so she even ask my husband to hang the landury. I am told not to raise up my hands and exert any force because can result in contraction. think abt that time one Taiwanwese actress lost one of her twins because she was hanging up clothes to dry.

I also heard many cases at 28 weeks, the mother too stress or walk too much and babies are out by that time.

May,

Ya... think quite scary.. on top of the risk of losing the baby.. still have to cope with the pressure of footing the bill if they managed to turn out fine... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

GNC have both. I took the one without DHA.. a lot more expensive than EPA but considering i'm having momo twins... dont wanna risk it.. however, you think it is suitable to eat the pills now or wait till my wife enters her 2nd trimester (which is next week..)

Poko, no wonder cos when i tried to downgrade last time they ask for my parents income. and i failed horribly on that. now my parents recently bought a condo, that one no need to say le. no need to waste saliva knowing that it will be rejected. And also worried cos if downgrade wait, the doctor on duty only deliver caesarean for singleton, wait twins how, got mistake? i dun want to risk it man. i dun mind paying more and go into debt then risk the health of my babies.

it seems like mine is 2 weeks severe MS, 2 weeks slight MS, then again severe MS. argh..and the worst part is that my hubby hear that i got severe MS, he very happy cos that means babies are doing well. cos last week i had a scare, had severe mood swings and i stomp my feet, forgot i was pregnant, he was super worried coupled with the slight MS. so now with severe MS i am so miserable, and he is smiling. so mean rite?

as for the PUPPPS, can let me see some pictures? cos now i only week 9, can't be PUPPPS rite? and normally what do they give for the treatment of PUPPPS? must see dermatologist to get is diagnosed?

oh seeing may got 23 receipts, i want to ask...noramally can clain $450 for prenatal visits. should be sufficient cos singleton normally about $600 for that period. but how bout twins? can we claim double? or still $450? like that not fair lei, since we have to go in for scans every 2 weeks, our bill definitely sure cost more than double one rite?

Don, it is ok for your wife to start on the DHA supplements at this time. It's supposed to help brain development and eye development of the growing baby, if I remember correctly.

MLPY,

will DHA cause thinning of the blood though? I heard EPA does and thus may increase the risk of pre-mature deliveries so twin mum should avoid EPA.. not sure about DHA though.. can't seems to find any information on this [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gera,

Does not make sense to include parent's income/property though...sometimes i don't get Singapore's system... you get penalised when you earn more than others through the tax system.. you get penalised even further after you have paid the tax coz you will not be eligible to use the benefits paid for by the very taxes you paid!!!

i am currently bout 17 weeks pregnant w twins.

My baby bump is not very big. Is it normal? This is my first pregnancy. How much weight gain shd i have by now. I have no more MS, or hunger pangs. In fact i eat only 2 meals per day cos I wake up at only noon.

So far, i have gained bout 4kg only..

hi serene, congrats and welcome to the thread!

for bbs size, did you ask the gynae? i dun think doctors look at the bump that much, they just look at the growth of the bbs.

hi poko and ah may, i can only pray bbs need not stay at nicu for too long. talk to bbs everyday. otherwise, pray hospital take pity and downgrade me.

Don, yeah i also dun understand. what its got to do with my parents if i don't stay with them, they don't give me money, and i am married? its not like my parents help pay for my household expenses. doesn't mean my parents is rich, i must be rich as well..stupid Gov. i staying in hdb and i am a home-maker so hubby is the only one contributing to the household.

Hi yumyum,

haha, was in thread long ago la.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] just have been rading the posts these couple of weeks..

my gynea din bother to measure their lengths. so sad..

Serene, no lei....different address. that is why i find it weird. i remember the social worker ask me so many questions like how much my hubby earn, what kind of flat i stay in, then ask me what i work as, so i thought sure can make it, then she ask what my parents work as, what is their total income, and what kind of housing they stay in. after which she say i don't qualify to downgrade based on my parents income. i tried to mention that i am married and not living with them, but she kept saying its CPF board criteria that SGH follows. so i kept quiet lor.

Don: I took the DHA by 14wks or so, think is important for brain development. only EPA thins blood. DHA is building block for brain. if mummy dun take sufficient DHA, will lose her own DHA in her brain to babies, so that means her brain will shrink and function less effectively. keke, i use this excuse even now, saying I got stupid because I lost too much DHA to my boys. haha. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gera,

I did not claim any thing, too complicated. hubby overpay KKH, because of deposit and whatever, so in the end, we have to chase KKH to repay us the balance. I was quite angry with the adminstrative staff, so I ask for detail billing, want to laugh when I see the things they charge us. anyway, after my birth of my boys, I dun have sufficent help, and 2 weeks after the delivery, during chinese new year, I was so tired that I fainted. no choice have to get domestic helper in the end.

serene,

no worries, some people have tone tummy, so the bump not noticable, my cousin pregnant at 6 months, still cannot see. think as long as gynae dun mention anything should be ok.

yumyum,

yup, good to talk to babies every day. that is how i pass my time. heard before singleton at 36 weeks need icu because lungs not develop properly. at 28 weeks, Dr tham very anxious send me to get the injection to mature babies lungs, just incase. but since I did not get into premature delivery, that painful shot is for nothing. when the actual time came, he inject me again, and delay for 24 hrs so that this injection can work and my boys come out lungs ok.

Gera, pm me and give me yr hp...I send u pics of my puppps....I guess preg hormones can still trigger puppps regardless of numb of weeks preg u r.

But pls do see a dermatologist to verify. My gynae told me that he too cant confirm as he is no skin specialist, and to look for the derma dr.

Gera,

unfortunately that is the way you will be measured. Think siblings are not included but parents are. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

May,

thanks. I will probably get my wife to take the DHA only after her first Trimester since she is on her 12th week already and technically she will be on her 2nd trimester next week! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Kinda sucks to be counting down though.. time cannot pass fast enough.

All,

Recently my wife got an issue with sleeping. Seems that when she lie down flat on the bed, she feels that her stomach area is over stretching and it very uncomfortable.. the past 2 nights she has been sleeping while sitting up.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Have you also experience this? If so, any way to relieve the problem? like speicial pillows, support items etc.

May, when you mention overpay in deposit meaning? so before admission to deliver, how much deposit i must come out with approx? will it be double since its twins? i hate to overpay in deposit. last time overpaid and SGH took their own sweet time to return the amt.

Poko, i pmed you le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don, speaking of which, i also find the time passing so slowly.ugh. i wonder what i can do to make time pass more quickly. As for sleeping, i also have difficulties sleeping comfortably. i even bought additional 2 fluffy pillows, so total i have like 2 under my head, 1 on each side and 1 at my leg, and still not enough, every morning wake up, whole body aching, as if i didn't have a refreshing sleep. i read from this book, it says now its the start to learn to sleep from the side which really helps. cos as the tummy gets bigger, sleeping on your back will be super uncomfortable. i tried the side thing, less discomfort but it still need getting used to.

hey can i ask if take DHA got any side effects? i heard from my friend who had a singleton pregnancy, she said, after DHA, her baby became super active and kicking her ferociously. then when she stop her DHA, the kicking stopped. her friend's baby have ADHD from DHA. i wonder if any of those are true. Her comments scare me until i dunno whether i want to take liao. but i do know taking DHA is beneficial for babies' brain development.

hi gera, today i asked dr from kk about overdosage of vitamins. i told him about the dha and hyperactivity. he said no such thing.

i oso notice that my babies were already kicking quite vigorously at 14-15 weeks when i was eating fish oil omega 3 (dha 120 mg+epa 180mg) from gnc plus multivits. these few days i cut down on the fish oil and they seemed quieter.

hi serene, i oso met the sonographer today. they said that after 8.4 cm, they measure other parts such as femur bone cos the bbs can bend and the length mioght not be accurate. so dun be sad okie?

hi ah may, a stupid question - how long should i talk to the bbs? should we talk to them as a group or one by one... sorry lah.. i know this sounds real dumb. how come need 2 injections to mature the lungs? is the injection steroids-based?

Gera/Don,

I read that sleeping on the left side is most beneficial to the babies as this position does not press the major vein linked to the lower part of the body, so blood flow to babies not compromised. But sleeping on one side through the night is not comfortable and also not practical, as we will surely turn and toss while sleeping. But you (or your wife) will find that it is more comfortable sleeping on the sides then on the back, when the bump gets bigger, because can really feel the weight then. I alternate lying on my right and left sides, because it can be quite hot sleeping on just one side only. Hee.

Gera, I ever borrowed my hubby's hugging pillow to prevent me from turning onto my back, but I find it uncomfortable. Not to mention it's also hot. Haha. My opinion after that try is that it is more important that to be comfortable and sleep well. Are your head pillows too high that's why you have aches? Maybe you can go back to one pillow to see if you can sleep better?

yumyum, not sure if the DHA/EPA ratio of the fish oil is ok or not. The one on neurogain S states that the DHA is 10 times that of EPA, with 325mg of DHA and 32mg of EPA.

By the way, does anyone know where to get Neurogain S (pink box)? I tried to find at the pharmacies previously but I only managed to find Neurogain PB (blue box). I like Neurogain S because no fishy smell, which I heard some other DHA supplements have, but I have not tried others lah..

Yum Yum, I took 2 inj (that is all that is needed) when dr told me that i had to deliver them at 33/34 weeks due to low birth weight. It is steriods, to strengthen the bbs lungs so that they will not have breathing diff if lungs not mature.

It is painful, yes....

MLPY,

yup me also alternate both sides throughout the night. otherwise will be so stiff. but i have to sleep on 2 head pillows, cos with one, i tend to feel giddy and tend to vomit, if not then i also feel breathless. maybe its too high? not sure lei, but i rather have aches then vomit throughout the night. Having severe MS right now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

btw is taking DHA necessary? cos what if my gynae never prescribe? should i take them on my own? my friend who delivered le, she also say her gynae never prescribe her to take any. is it becos both our gynaes are not singaporean? or is it got to do with the hospital? cos both of us seeing SGH.

hi mummies, i took v little supplements. Onli started folic acid at 7wks+. Then 2nd and 3rd trimester i think i took calcium tablets and obimin. Didn't take any fish oil, hope it won't affect my babies too badly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyone keen to have Obinmin? I have a brand new bottle of 30 film tablet, unopened. To give away to mommies of twins/multiples who need it, just pay the postage will do.

Also have 9 strips (of 10 tablets each strip) of CaVIt-D3(calcium +vitD3). Same, willing to give away free, just pay postage.