TOA PAYOH mummies

Winnie,
Sorry I didn't managed to attend the trial session at MMI Thomson. Hubby need to work last minute.

Babyminniee,
My gal with ykidz since she was 18 months old. It's been 5 months and so far ok. She attends the 2 hour playgroup. Come Jan-2011, she'll join the 4 hour playgroup. Her teachers felt she is managing well and can be "promoted" to the next level though she's not 2.5 years yet.

The 2 hr playgroup is $280/mth and 4 hours is $440.month
Playgroup: 17mths - 2.5 years.
4 hour extended playgroup is for 2.5 years old to 3 years old.
Junior workgroup 2.5 - 3.5 years old I think.

School bus charges for Jan-2011 onwards:
$90 (one way) and #110 (2 way)

Was told by the principal that the 4 hour extended playgroup is not learning repetitive things.

Agree with J_foo ykidz teachers are rather patience.
Note that Ykidz do not have attached toilets within the classrooms and is fully airconditioned. There's also no outdoor play component.
Also they do not practice use of communication book like what many pre-schools and cc do. So if my child takes school bus, I won;t be seeing the teachers so won't get regular updates about my child's progress / behaviours. Nonetheless, these were not major concerns for me.

You can always register for a trial class (FOC) and see if you and your kid like it.

Thanks winnie, gal dolphin and Ivy mummies for the kind words. Am still adjusting to life with 2 kids. U ladies buck up, must try for No. 2 before the biological clock ticks away! I am so glad that I am done with childbearing!

Gal dolphin
my new helper so far so good. Can't be picky as she has to help out with a toddler and a bb, so I am not that particular abt housework. When is yours coming? What happened to your earlier helper?

Re: shichida home practice
I dug out all the monthly worksheets yest and started my gal on it again. Supposed to do 1 sheet a day but I just went thru with her the whole stack see which one she likes to do. Anyway, a lot she srill dunno how to do yet. I hv to sa till cows come home and she still scribble all over. Do mummies experience the same?

Was reading the post about preschools, realised bus transport so expensive these days. 2-way can be 100 plus. Almost like 20% of the monthly sch fee sometimes

Surf
It is normal. Hence we have to constantly revise and practice what they have learnt from school. They learn fast, but also forget fast (perhaps just remember part of it). And that is why every year the school has to go through the sound phonics again. Yes, school bus transport fee is increasing, I'm paying $280 monthly for both children.

gal dolphin congrats! You passed me some glass bottles previously. Do you want me to pass them to you? I also have some extras, think some came from Are.

Precious, I have been thinking about the housing agent job. Mind sharing how it is like in terms of flexibility, timing, the good and bad. Cannot tahan to be home for so long liao. Very difficult to cope with 2 kids, housework, cooking, expressing milk and all the jazz. Looking around but thinking hard what to do with the two kids. My older kid says mummy cannot go to work. Aiyo! My younger one now recognises people. If I park him with someone for a while so that I can spend time with older kid, he will just fuss and cry non-stop. Does that happen to you?

Hi babygenius,

Oh u did not managed to attend the trial? Anyway, yr gal currently at Ykidz? U hv intention to change school?

Hi surf,

Still trying hard to overcome my phobia. Anyway thks for the support and will buck up! Same to u too! Jia you!

Eunice,
thanks.. dun tink i need the bottles back.. u can have them.. i wanna try using milk bag this time.. hehe coz bots are too bulky...
it's not easy weaning them off BM.. mabe u can try intro FM mix with BM slowly... then add more FM.. as time goes by?

Seems like most BM fed bb are fussy.. hehe... just have to be patience..

long time no log in here, busy busy busy. my baby is so high need, wants to be carried constantly. put him down he'll either cry immediately or sleep 5mins or even less then cry again. whole day like this, really buay tahan. CL also very tired. yday was very very tiring as he couldn't fall asleep the whole day. i think it may have got something to do with my EBM, he's not satisfied somehow although he's drinking 100-125ml of EBM at one go (he's going to be 4weeks old). he still won't go to sleep after that. but at night he sleeps better when we give him FM. so today i decided to try to give him FM whole day and see if he sleeps better. so far he's been sleeping after each FM feed as compared to everyday where he would fuss and fuss, cry and cry and will only sleep in our arms after drinking EBM. or maybe he's tired from lack of sleep yday? will try again tmrw and see how if FM really helps him sleep better.

Char, oh dear, dark circles popping out I'm sure. FM keeps the baby full as it's thicker and takes longer to digest than BM. At night if he's really waking up too often then switch to FM. You still have BM so don't waste that, use that for the day or alternate with FM during the day.

j_foo,
ya panda bear here. i'm so tired n stressed out by his constant cry to be carried all day. i do feed him FM at nite n EBM during the day but becos of that he seems to feel hungrier faster n can't sleep during the day at all. that's why i feel that maybe it's my EBM that's causing him to feel uncontented and very fussy.

Hi mummies & daddies,

Understand that some mummies & daddies are keen in tupperware products
so just to share...Tupperware is having some kind of promotion for
certain items. And what's more..if u sign up as a member..u will get a
20% discount off the promotional price. You may refer to their website
at http://www.tupperware.com.sg/ for the range of their items. Pm me
if keen. Thanks!

hey mummies... those who ordered the CNY biscuits from me last year, you still keen? they are accepting orders liao, but i am asking if they can start selling now cos been craving for their pork floss rolls whole year!! hahahaha... think prices same as last year...

the pics/prices are not in their website so if you want the pdf, pm me your email and i will email to you.

Char,
*hugs* I think give FM at night is a good idea! hehehe. Maybe 1st feed and last feed FM, so u less stressful, as thats when u most tired. My girl was very hard to satisfied for her 1st mth, also 1st 3 months, some babies got a lot of growth spurt. Boys i think lagi need more.

ivy,
i give FM whole day now as i dun have the time to pump and my supply is dipping. i still have problem latching on, nipples get sore when i try. CL has left 1 week early and with hb who is on leave this week, we both find it so challenging to look after our "cry baby", very exhausting! can't imagine being on my own next week onwards. anyway, it's not my EBM but my boy, he's just very fussy and can't settle down to sleep easily. i tried different things but didn't really work. now my house have 1 netted bouncer, 1 of those rocker that rocks back and forth (borrowed) and a yao lan (given). got to rotate around, jia lat this boy.

winnie,
got it. THink i will give a miss for now, nothing major to buy.

Char,
Oh man, u must be exhausted. I did heard from frens that sometimes boy will be like that, my gf stop 1 month BF too becos her boy was needing so much milk, and grew to be quite tall too.

Did u had him check with PD? sometimes maybe be stomach unwell, or like u say, need more milk to fill up his tummy, that time my mother kuazhang, buy ji feng sang, buy feng zai shui, even wanna get zhen zhu fen... End up my girl just have a weak stomach and prone to wind, in the end colic for 3 mths...

Worst scenario, give pacifier. I gave at 3mths old as she so colicky, wean off at 4 plus mths old.

Hi Ivy,

It's alrite. If you need any in future, you are always welcome to contact me. Thanks ya!

To all mummies and daddies,

Wishing everyone a very Merry X'mas & Prosperous New year 2011!!!

ivy,
today found out that he is a bit colicky as found him to be arching his back when crying and when i tapped his tummy can hear the sound so applied ru yi oil. pacifier i gave liao cos i know from my gal's experience who cried quite a lot when baby, didn't wait for 3mths old to give, 1week old give liao, so did the same with my boy.

wishing all mummies here a merry christmas! happy holidays!

Hullo mummies

Have been busy these 2 weeks so din check in here.

CHAR

Oh dear, so sorry to read abt ur troubles.

My boy was very demanding n impatient too. Was sharing a while back on the difficulty of BF. He was drinking 1.1 - 1.2L every 24h. I din have that much milk! Plus he was impatient. N he refused to sleep atnite till 3/4 am. I nearly went bonkers then

Take care. Do what you can do and things will definitely get better.

Char,
good that you found out early. My girl was born bit colicky too, and we dunno, later on her colic got worst. Ya pacifier can give, just dun let them addicted to it. Hey merry christmas to you , ur hb, and ur 2 kiddoes

Merry christmas to all!!!

Gal.dolphin, thanks. Think my baby is alright with this brand of FM. Call for a few samples of milk powder to try and he finally settled on one. Thank God.

i have about 32 glass bottles for EBM storage use. only some have caps. all the caps and covers i have and the 32 bottles for $5 only.

i have pigeon glass bottles for sale also, about 5 large ones and one small one. if you are interested can discuss about the price.

i have a 9 yr old combi stroller to clear. large size and the baby can lay flat. the only thing not good is the sunshade has two broken section but usable. selling at $10. will send pictures if you need.

now clearing baby items will put up more here when i get them up on the for sale post.

let me know if anyone interested.

price is neg. can send to you within toa payoh if timing is right. else will have to meet you some where in toa payoh.

Happy New Year to all mummies here...
Precious, I have decided on United Montessari, I hope my girl will settle in well...will be starting 3rd week Jan.
Remember the part time cleaner,Yanghui you recommended, well she was engaged but she recommended me her friend Xiaoyun. So far so good. My maid will be coming back next Sat, really looking forward to it...=)

Can anyone share with me how to start a new post in Singapore MotherHood. This system does not teach me how to start one.

Thanks, Bin

Hi Precious, the school dont provide school bus. my husband will send and pick her up. Previously your girl is also in United Monesstari? Why do you stop, any problem with the school?

Sabrina
For long term, we prefer school bus. It is more convenient especially we have two children now.
Previously she was with Bishan Montessori, not a childcare

happy new year to all!! hope you and your family stay healthy, stay happy, stay well.

I am now doing a charity project, collecting donations to buy groceries (rice, cereal, biscuits) to distribute to 150 needy families on 22 Jan 2011. these 150 families/pax are from the 4 rental blocks in my area under public assistance . they are under the care corner family service centre's charge. my RC will also be distributing NTUC vouchers to them, while we present them groceries.

Any amount is welcome. i will collate all donations, then buy as many items as possible to send to the organiser, care corner family service centre for packing. i will be present on day of distribution to ensure every cent donated goes to the needy.

please join us!!

Are i saw ur sms. So you looking for cash donations or food donations or volunteers to distribute the things?

hey ivy... basically, i am helping to gathering cash contributions so that we can buy grocery items to give to them. i will usually collect all the donations, then buy as many items as possible, and arrange delivery to the organiser care corner to pack and distribute. i will be present on distribution day to ensure all our donations go to the deserving people.

Got a tin of nestle wheat and honey cereal under stage 2 (expriing Apr 2011) to give away. Anyone keen?

Also got a pack of breastmilk storage bags 18 pcs under pigeon. Selling at S$8, anyone keen?

Hey mummies

Happy belated new year!

Mia for a while, wad trying hard to adjust to life w 2 kids after CL went off. So far still oooooooooook lar but tiring coZ of the night feed and pump. Dunno how I am going to survive when I return to work after cny. Dread it

Elder gal has Bern down w flu and cough for 2-3 weeks. Saw gp twice and took much medicine. Her front and bk body broke out in rash. The rash us those flat kind under the skin. Any mummies experienced such w ur kiddos? My mum was saying may be measles. Still thinking whether to bring her see another gp today but when I think if more medicine to eat, I am skeptical. We brought her on sat see eys clinic at Blk 79 there to try out, so far ok no adverse reaction to the tcm medicine. Any mummies see the tcm physicians there?

Oh yes, anyone heard of hou zao San for cough?

Desperate mummy trying to get well. Me m gal down for 3 weeks alr

Surf,
I'd brought my gal to EYS @ Blk 79 a few times for her cough. Heard the male phycisian is better but I always missed him saw the lady instead. My gal tried hou zao san too. Usually one who consume TCM will takes a longer time to recover as it suppose to '调养' ones health at the same time. Unlike western med.

Hope both your gal and you have a speedy recovery.

Need some advice.

My gal coming to 4yo recently rejects formula milk. However, her appetite for solid food is good but when comes to FM she'll show sign that she wanna puke and only drinks a few sips. Tried giving her fresh milk but doesnt work either sigh. I am worried she's not consuming enough calcium and especially in the morning she'll be hungry when she reaches school

Mummies who had experienced or heard of such case appreciate if you could share with me. Many thanks.

Surf, hou zao is supposedly used for really serious coughs. Works for my kids but didn't work for my SIL's kids. It's ex too and you will need quite a few doses before you see any effect.

As for the rashes, did she have high fever? Could be a post-high fever rash which can be mistaken for measles.

Dor
We saw the female physician. Hmm... aloof lady, dun really fancy. Brought my gal to Children's Clinc this morn instea of GP, damage was $200 plus
, need to be put on inhaler (Thank goodness not nebuliser as my gal will scream and cry). She thinks the inhaler as a toy and can do it even when she asleep. Hope it really cure her cough this time. Well... many a time, we do think that seeing a GP is sufficient since she alr reaches 2 years old, but at times, we still hv to turn to PD. Dr told us to stop all TCM medicine as well as that may trigger off the allergy too. *shrug*.. well , see how it goes.

My gal rejects milk and bottle for 4 weeks when she was 15 mths. She gave e a disgusted look and wanna puke whenever we tried giving her the milk. I freaked out coz that's too young an age to stop drinking milk. I also tried fresh milk and packet milk and change powder brand but it didn't work. After that 4 weeks, she suddenly just turned to milk again but this time wo bottle. So she was weaned off bottle automatically. Been drinking from a normal cup ever since, not even a sprout or straw cup. I wld suggest you just keep trying. Dun give up. U tried changing brand? A coll change to Mamil coz got honey flavour and her son likes and starts taking milk again. Or u can ty those UHT milk instead of the chilled fresh milk. So long as they start drinking and get their calcium, does not matter what type of milk. Had wanted to change to cheaper mamil brand back then when starts to drink again to save money.. haha... like what I said, as long as they drink, does not matter wat brand.

j foo
Yes, my gal had fever but not high fever. Is fever rash a norm? Realise Hou Zao San hs this scorpion content in it, wonder if that is what cause allergy. U bought from eys? mine was from normal TCM shop. Hubby bought it last time for himself but box says even infant can take for good sleep.