TOA PAYOH mummies

Newmummy, I stay very near...uh, more or less just opp Union High (my gran's place is there, our place is there, a couple of my aunts and uncle there too). I'm the lucky one who need not wake up early for morning session, but then I didn't get to attend morning session cos I left at Form 2! Haha!

Back in action again when I get back on 15th, gonna miss this thread...and don't be so "happening" ok, otherwise I'll find it difficult to catch up

janice,
if your boy is vomitting then better bring him to dr heng liao. my gal goes to see her too. i know what kin means, when a child is prone to bronchitis/bronchiolitis/asthma, once they start coughing the whole day better to take action asap b4 the condition gets worse. my gal was prone to getting bronchiolitis so last time when she started coughing the whole day i would bring out my nebuliser liao. thankfully the last few mths her condition has gotten better so i just give her ventolin & flixotide inhalors when she's coughing but if that doesnt work after 2-3days then gotta use the nebuliser.

Hi char, thanks .. now the boy has recover from vomitting. Confirm that its not stomach flu, but due to the chinese medication. Such a bad side effects .. puke for 3 days.

If the kids does not have fever but just cough and phlegm, will it consider bronchiolitis too?

kin
Wow, you know the medical names of cough medication so well..keke

jfoo/newmummy
Enjoy your trip back to Penang.

Sick - my kids recovered yesterday...phew!!!
I took 3 nights night shift and cannot tahan on 4th night, asked hb to take over.

Me bz doing last min. shopping. Still looking for a pair of strappies...
Went to Tang's last nite - macham like free like that...haiz...

babe
I took the gals out of school this week. They are fine now. jesse has gone back since Monday, but PD says he shud not swim until his cough gets better.

gal.dophin
I think it was babe who organised the spree.

janice
Cough and phlegm - also not sure, but stimes you can hear their breathing like very chesty like that.. better ask doctor.

Just hv to take comfort that their getting sick is to help them build up their immune system as they grow...

janice,
not sure leh. to me if phlegm is stubborn for more than 3-4days then i'll send my gal to see dr heng liao. scared will develop to bronchiolitis.

Dor,

where do u stay in HK?me trying to organise a F&E trip there with my family hence m considering which hotel to book..
can advise?or any mummies who is familiar with HK can advise.. thanks ya..
looking ard end march to april.. thanks!

CNY eve is are birthday, CNY Chu 2 is my birthday.

Happy Chinese new year to all, my 1st CNY with a daughter haha.

newmummy, i happy and also not happy, cos din have time to buy clothes or get a haircut.. and am still breastfeeding, how to go out leh, she 2 mths old, still very cranky.

j foo newmummy, going back penang? bring back some gula melaka hehe. have a good trip ya, how i wish i can go for a short trip.

calling ascension mummies ... want to check with you how is the first day of school? Your kids adjusted well and ok in the long distance school bus?

I did not put the boys in ascension for this year .. but they will be thre prob next year. I've heard some reviews saying their standard has dropped alot .. not sure how true.

Happy birthday mummies!

Janice >My girl cried on 1st day of sch when going home and she couldnt see me, coz I was talking to the bus driver. 2nd day onwards, she was fine and have not cried since then, only on school bus.

hence, I pulled her out of the sch bus TO school, & opted bus to send her back home only and changed the alighting place to a 5mins walk from my voiddeck. In doing that, it saved my girl 30mins on the merry go round back home.

Standard in what sense? I think for N1 now, they hardly teach much. But my girl seem to learn alot. She comes home daily with songs, and tells me what she does at school. She is happy going to school. I only hate the school bus, coz the older kids are really naughty.

hey Ivy,me also encounter the same with u wen my boy 2 mths old.
if u breastfeed,can pump and put in bottle and keep in fridge ma,but is true tat now ur bb too small,even wan to go out to somewer also ma fan!
Gula Melaka?i nvr buy b4 in PG le...hehe....i only eat laksa and those hawker food...:p
and of coz the biscuit, tou sa ping is the best!my coll and frens always ask me buy for them,but too bad,i always cant carrytoo many thgs back to SG le..now somemore got bb stuff to bring,heavy le~!:p

newmummy, u making me drool... penang laksa i like, but never had the authentic one in penang, always wanna go penang but find it so far... now its go by plane is it? last time pple tell me the bus journey is super long.

rite rite...if tk coach will tk abt 10 hours le!and some more is nite bus only available..nowaday vy dangerous lo..and luckly now got budget airline..vy convenience le..!!
if u wan travel to PG,can make adv booking for those budget airline as on off the will hv promotion one~!some time the faer even cheaper than coach fare~!:p

the thought of penang laksa is making me drool!! its been so long since i had that!

in case i dun have time to log in the next few days, here's wishing all of you a happy lunar new year! may the new year bring you good health & wealth! huat ah!!!

newmummy when my bb older i bring her to penang, must ask u how to go haha.

Char same here. Happy lunar new year to all, and its nice knowing all of you.

Hi there, i'm staying at toa payoh too. i'm thinking of switching pd for my son. any recommendations at toa payoh? he seems to be having a little cough so thought of bringing him to see doctor after CNY. thanks!

hi agnes,
welcome to the thread. i bring my 3yo gal to the PD at blk 177, children's clinic. no complains about that PD except that her charges at a little steep.

Happy New Year, Mummies!

It's just the first day and we feel quite siong.. the kids are bored when they hv nothing to do...sigh... today's a hot day.

ivy
It's cheap to take Jetstar.. can always explore this option... I hv taken Jetstar to Penang, KL (wl be doing a trip with gfs in Aug) and Bangkok.

char
I find the penang laksa too sour for my liking... prefer the char kway teow and wonton noodles...

agnes
Welcome!

Hi mummies, thank you for making me feel so welcome! any other good and affordable PD to recommend around our area or bishan or amk?

Hi char, what are the charges like for children's clinic? i've been paying $40 for consultation and $80-$100 jab for my current pd and he'll be taking his 6-in-1 soon..hope to switch pd soon as this current cant use CDA!

Hi Mummies! I'm back! Arrived back yesterday. Didn't get to eat THAT MUCH local food cos many of them were close for CNY, and some of the popular ones close way before "chu xi"!! I guess they've been earning so much that missing those few last days before CNY doesn't make a difference. Still, I managed to eat some of my all time fav
AND gained that extra few pounds! :p I'm sure Newmummy will be in the same shoes ;)

Welcome to this thread Agnes.

And Happy Belated Birthday to the birthday mummies.

Janice, if the cough is bad, phlegmy and you feel it's coming from the chest area, then best get it checked. I don't think bronchiolitis is necessarily accompanied by fever.

welcome back jfoo!! hope u had fun over there..

anyone been to cameron highlands???m tinking of going over this april.. any advise which hotel to stay?thanks ya..
m also thinking of stopping by KL..
hope mummies here can give me some advise.. thank u so much..
btw happi chinese new year to everyone!!n happy birthday to all the birthday mummies!!! =)

agnes,
the PD whom i mentioned, her consultation charges are the same as yours but i can't remember the charges for jabs cos that was about 2yrs ago. :p but vaguely remember about that same as you mentioned.

j_foo,
welcome back. that was a short trip. glad to know that you enjoyed as much as you could there.

dolphingal,
i can't contribute much about accomodation at c.highland but only that the weather is nice and cool and the food there is really good! do try out the scones and strawberry jam with cream there.

Hi! Mummies,
i just came back fm HK 2 days ago. It was quite a trip 1st time brout my gal o/seas. She loved HK especially Disney. We spend the whole day just @ Fantasy World, din manage to cover the rest of the 2 worlds. But it was fun and we are happy she enjoyed so much. However, she's been quite cranky perhaps din get her aftnn nap bah coz we r out almost the whole day everyday.

Gal.dolphin,
We stayed in Cityview @ Yau Ma Tai (Kowloon) htl is still 3* standard no doubt the agency stated 4*. Its convenient coz there r eateries jus opp. the htl and MTR is jus stone throw away. But if u really wanna shopping area, u may stay @ Lagors which is abt 15 mins walk to Cityview.
Cameron is nice place but journey is quite scary esepcially going dwn hills. the road is really narrow. I cant rem which htl we stayed prevoiusly but it was quite nice somewhere near Highland hotels.

Janice,
not sure abt the standard since N1 is basically jus playing not much of studies. Unlike Ryes, my gal still cant get use to school. Morning wakes up 1st thing she told me 'Mummy, i dun wanna go to sch' or 'Mummy, i dun wanna wear uniform'

dolphingal, prepare plastic bags cos the road up (and down) is bendy. I remember when I was young, I'd throw up like mad either at the top or bottom of the hill. Oh, make sure no holes in the plastic bags
I haven't been up since donkey yrs ago so can't advice on accommodation.

Wahdor...

I also wanna go HK !!!
You will be the next best person for me to ask and ask when I have decided to head there!

Your gal is so cute..I hope she will adapt well to the PM session, then hopefully she will look forward to going to school.

My gal says the opposite of yours. Wake up say : Mama, I want to go school. Today I had to lie to her school has not open yet, so you will only attend school tomorrow.

Her daddy wants her to stay at home to recuperate after so many days out during the holiday last week..

dor,
looks like a fun HKG trip!

dolphingal,
one of my msian fren told me that there is now a less winding route to cameron.

janice
Which standard wl ur boys be next year at ascension?

My twins are in N2, together w/ babe's gal. They are ok lah, everyday v happy to go to school, I suspect partly is cos they like the school uniform/dress...keke.

dor
Thanx for sharing the photos.

School - wow, maybe it's too early for her... cos still young mah....

dolphin gal
We are driving in to KL mid Mar, upmteenth time going there liao.. eat and relax.. (tho not really relaxing for me and hb..keke). Staying at Hilton.

Accommodation in HKG:
Langham Place HKG is highly recommended.. one of the mummies showed me her photo with 3 beds (1 double and 2 singles w/in a room!)

Also this place.. recommended by another mummy
http://www.chi-residences.com

jfoo
Precisely why I don't lean towards Cameron cos I hv motion sickness...keke..

Ryes,
Thanks. HK is quite suitable for little tots to go, oriental food such as porridge, soup noodles are easily available & transport such as MTR is accessible as well.

HK Disney for little Tots are jus the rite 'size' to cover compared to L.A. which is much bigger in scale.

But i must say CX food sucks, seems like standard has dropped. Dun request for kid's meal as the food is not fresh.

Ystd, my gal jus rx'd a BD party set fm her classmate. the mother really puts in effort to wrap and plan for her son's bd party. I was not being informed abt the party and wonder shld i return a gift instd.

Mummies, wat are the usual practice can advice? and if i intend to throw my gal a BD party in sch wat shld i do?

Char,
Overall we enjoyed this trip, putting aside her crankiness hee

I just rx'd a Enfakid A+ (age3-6) $5 voucher fm Mead Johnson, plus 3x 35g satchels and wld like to give away.

PM me if interested.

Dor, you need not return a gift to your dd's classmate, or at least I don't, unless he/she's a close friend, or if I know the parents.

As for throwing a party in school, generally need to find out how many kids there are in total so that you can prepare party bags and what size the cake should be. I normally put toys or "useful things" rather than junk food in party bags. Party bags can be very elaborate (my daughter's friend once gave each friend a helium balloon PLUS a party bag full of Jap cookies and snacks), or can just be simple. I find it meaningful if it reflects the birthday kid's liking, so for my girl, it's normally something to do with animals.

j_foo,
Thanks for the advice.
Btw do i need to prepare separate party bags for trs. too?

JTS:
- Natas fair is on fm 26-28 feb sin expo and believe me they up the entrance fee to $4/adult fainted. Children under 12 yo free entry.

- Crocs Sales @ Isetan starting fm 5-11 March.

Wow, Dor, so nice.... It's been a long while since I last travelled. Think I will be grounded for another 2 years before I can start travelling again. How's Disney HK?

Mummies, Happy New Year!

Hi Dor,

looking at your pics I can't wait for it to be my turn to go HK disneyland next mth.. seems like the weather is still quite cooling there now?

Eunice,
Disney HK is nothing compared to L.A. however, i find it suitable for little tots age ard 2+ to maybe 8yo looking at the rides and size of the 'playground'. Quite hard to believe tat we actually spent the entire day jus staying @ one sector "Fantasyland'. I guess the queuing part takes up most of the time. Imagine we spent 1.5hrs jus queuing to take photos wif Mickey and Minnie. The Adventure land and Tomorrow land i'd yet to cover only happened to take the train ride and get a glimpse of these 2.
I reckon spring is the best time to go as the weather is nice and cooling hence one won't feel frust queuing and waiting for the rides and pix taking.

Christine,
Yeap, weather is still cooling. Dun rely fully on the weather forecast. Prepare few pcs of light and warm clothing. It says 17-25 degree during our stay however the 3rd day it suddenly dropped to 12-17 degree and it’s windy too. Good to chk out the weather everyday b4 u guys venture out.
When u r there, chk out 'Dumbo the Flying Elephant' ride; 'It's a Small World' Indoor water boat ride; 3D show and 'Story Telling' it's a muscial performance. Dun miss the Parade @3.30pm and fireworks in the evening too.
I din have time to shop for their local products such as 'lau po ping' and almond cookies. Only managed to buy them fm HK airport shop 'qi li' taste good and fresh recommended.
Hope u all enjoy the trip as much as I do.

Janice - Am interested to know the fdbk of Ascension as well.

Re: EnfaKid A+ i'd given away

Hey mummies, thanks for the feedbacks. My main concern for the young kids is also the school bus issue ... and the idea of putting the boys in school bus and let them roam around in the school without me really scare me off . My boys are now in CCC in Novena ... so far ok. They love to wear uniform and the bus ride with me to school every morning. Though not learning much, but at least they have learnt to be more independent.

Feedbacks .. rude administrator, pricy school fees with lots of hidden cost ( which I think is very true, the fees is much more higher than what I paid in my girl's church kindy in Novena) and frequent change of teachers. I think these are some very norm feedbacks in most school hehe ... most importantly is the kids love school.

wow DOR, is it tough to travel with young kid? I'm hoping to bring the boys to HK disneyland, but I think the trip will kill me as they are too hyperactive and naughty.

Frequent changes in school teachers - I think this is such a common thing in many of the preschools. However I must say that S'pore Montessori Kindergarten is one of the very few I've come across that did not have a single turnover throughout the 1 yr plus my daughter was there. Not only that but majority of the teachers have been teaching there for years! Impressive!!

janice,
my gal 2+yo also taking sch bus to & fro. usually the staffs or sch bus aunty will bring the younger ones into the sch compound, quite safe. as for 'rude admin staff' i agree one of them sitting in the ofc is quite rude, but the other one is very friendly.

Travel wif kids - if your boys r old enough to undstd instructions clearly. set few rules for them b4 going to the trip. I reckon go for a short one just to 'test water' like me hee! my gal also very naughty, she made a scene when we were out shopping 'fainted' and becoz of tat we went bk to htl haf way thru :p Put aside her 'nonsense' overall we still enjoyed the trip coz watching her have fun @ disney really made us happy.

<font color="ff6000">Just to share</font>

Just found out that Blk 259 Kim Keat (opp Lor 7 market), there is a childcare centre: Jingles Childcare Centre operated for almost 19yrs. They do provide half day, full day and flexible programs.

In case you need someone to look after your child, they do provide such service, $25 for full day, $12.50 for half day.