TOA PAYOH mummies

oh hi mummies,

would like to find out if there is any good playgroup ard for kiddo 18mths n above?m tinking of sending my son there soon!! thanks ya!!

hi are,but i actually look for budget below $40 le..coz just for spare one to carry my boy to nanny hse le..thx anyway~!but i don know ur brand how it look like...somethg like combi one?i like combi type,coz vy light lo..:p

hi mummies, i'm bit upset! went up to bbsitter's plc today. again i was being EDUCATED pacifier & sarong is a MUST!

was there telling me she hv been looking after so many babies b4 & they have no problem kicking the habit when grow up. and is OKAY to eat just in the DAY and at night usually they wont fuss for it. IF THAT IS SO SIMPLE I still dont understand why must she insist on offering pacifier in the day leh.

i brought one beanie bolster over (his 'smelly smelly') Actually my boy can sleep without it too. Know what she told me? Is all because i didnt let him sleep in sarong thats why he easily get frighten up. I kept emphasis to her my boy can sleep without it too!!! my boy no problem sleeping on mattress but she still insist on sarong.

I'm not against the idea. But my boy is already 7mths old. I really dont understand why must train my boy those 'bad' habits when all these months he can do without it.

next she told me she will on tv for him to watch. i'm "okay". but know what she told me? "here u dont expect I will play Hi5, cartoon or kid program for him. He will watch what we watching. Adult show." :S

Am i expecting too much? haiz ...

Twinkle
The way we take care of babies, is very different from last generation.
We are not just taking care, we are taking care, discipline, guide and educate them.
I also dislike the idea of turning on the TV programs for the whole day.
It would be great if she don't try to introduce new habits, but to follow what you have been doing, so that it is much easier for you to take care during the weekends etc.
My personal view :)

Hi Stylobb,
Nice meeting u too!

Twinkle,
Agree with Precious. Old folks have their own mind set very hard to influence or change. Gotta give and take at times. However, not a good idea to let kids watch TV prog for long hours futhermore is adult prog. There's nothing much you could do abt it too, if u kept harping on her she'll be frust and might not take good care of ur lil one. Otherwise, you may wanna consider an alternatives such as send him to childcare or change nanny and do find out if she's an tv addict which can be detected thru casual conversation;)

dolphingal,
check with jfoo. She sends her boy to the Ykids daily program. I send my 2 girls to the weekend art class..

Twinkle
Not to worry too much about the sarong. My girl didn't have sarong until she was about 7 or 8 months as well. MIL wanted her in the sarong then. Not a bad experience overall. When she agrees to go in the sarong (sometimes she doesn't want to sleep and will struggle and sit up), she usually sleeps longer than if on the mattress. But at night, and at childcare, she has no problems sleeping on mattress. I think it's not a bad thing, she gets used to sleeping in different places so when we travel, sleep is not such a big problem.

When girl sleeping in sarong, what I do is put a mattress on the floor beneath the sarong. Maybe you can ask your nanny to do that.

Hi Twinkle..i fully understand how u FEEL!!coz sometime my current nanny also"educated" me...guess wat!Today she told me the excatly reason y she doesnt want to tk care my boy coz she said we too "kan cheong" to my boy,wen he fall sick,got red rashes on body,me ask this ask that...but im not saying tat not trust her,but i just wan to know more abt my boy wat happen to her,but she interprate as me Q her!!she said she "scare" of me, so don wan tk care better!wat la..upon tat time,me really angry lo,coz im his mum,i hv no right to ask her abt my boy thgs meh?some more i always put in vy good way to ask lo,she then raise her voice said"aiyo, is like tat one,y u so kan cheong?"hello!!me of coz kan cheong la!Is my 1st kid le!and my precios ma,cant she understand me as 1st time mum norm reaction?wat la..so pissed off.
My mum said if she doesnt wan tk care then find others lo..and luckly mine,got Dor recommend,i got a new one alreasy!I really appreciate Dor ur help!and im release now!!!coz erally hard to find one in short period,some more need a good one lo!even i still not really know her much,but from 1st conversation with her,i can feel it,and hope im rite!hehe...
so twinkle,i know how angry u are towards wat ur nanny told u..i thk they wan bb zz sarung coz they more easy tk care lo...for tv,tats really no choice,but the way she told u abt scastic lo!
ANW,my boy now 10mths le,but still zz sarung,i also hv no idea wen will train him zz on bed lo

Precious,is the bishan there alot stuff compare with china town there?

do you all know of any kids podiatrist (Foot doctor)? I need some advice for my 7yr old girl. Any mummies know of such clinics?

twinkle
Oh oh I'd be upset if I were you too. V difficult to align expectations between two parties.
Huh? Watch what they watch? Won't they turn bb into a tv addict?? Studies hv shown that 2 much tv is not good for bbs/kids leh....

Sarong - when I had my first bb, I rmbr the confinement helper brot this huge sarong (complete with bars that look like those that gymnasts use...) ...keke... hb imdtly rejected it and said no, tkfully bb also cried when we tried him on.. anyway my boy slept in the crib lah...

Depends on how much you can take it.. may hv to change nanny.. but you also don't know if the nanny wl do as she promises...

char
Send me an invite plsss.. thanks...

ivy
You start introducing bottle to her ah??
Be patient ...

If anyone is interested, pls PM me.
Brand new Old Navy tops, v comfy material. SGD5 each. Too small for the twins..

3T
White stripes
Pink stripes

4T
Pink stripes
(already sold the White striped one)

Length of 3T - 37 cm from shoulders
Length of 4T - 39 cm from shoulders

3587720.jpg

(char, taken with new camera...swee or not?? keke)

styloBB, yes intro i think 5 days liao, finally this morning she drank without much fuss. Hopefully tml morning will be ok too.

Kin, my hubby says there's a Singapore Footcare Centre at AMK Hub. And there's another chiropody/podiatrist at Tanglin Shopping Centre. As to whether they cater for children, that he's not too sure. But at least can google for tel no and call them up.

newmummy08,
luck is at your side hee! and am glad u found this nanny suitable.

Char,
i'd replied your email and waiting for your invite ;)

RE: PT Cleaner - I have 1 to recommend, she's a christian chinese citizen married a singaporean. She's helping me occasionally but she doesn’t do ironing. PM me if anyone is interested.

Hi StyloBB,

My boy is about to turn 2 soon..
Not sure if I am that person you talk about (I cant remember if I really post that) but I have always wondered about it – How long can I live w/o kids compared to w/ kids. Always… so probably I am that person la…

(Posting on behalf of a friend) Any mummies keen on Colourful Hearts class on a Fri? Currently looking for kid age 4-6 to form a group of 3.

Need feedback or comment on 'Hand Strips' (sorry not sure the exact term) tat attached to mummy and toddlers with a rope or chain, so tat lil ones wont wonder or run about in crowded places.

Am thinking to get one for my HK trip to Disney. Can imagine my gal sure go 'gaga' seeing so many interesting rides and characters ard.

Jfoo, thks for your feedback on Luk..
Most probably I'll get a set for Ryan too.

Dor, I'm also bringing Ryan to HK. We r going in Mar, wat abt u? Re the leash u mentioned, I use a detachable stripe of a sports bag to attach one end to my jeans belt loop and the other end hook onto Ryan's pants belt loop to secure him.. I super kiasu, sometime when I bring him to concert or crowded places, I'll also do that..

I'm looking for a GP suitable for little children, since my gal is already 3.5yrs old.

Any feedback about the below list?

<font color="ff6000">FAITH CLINIC (TOA PAYOH)</font>
BLK 211 LORONG 8 TOA PAYOH

<font color="ff6000">FAMILYCARE CLINIC &amp; SURGERY</font>
BLK 85C LORONG 4 TOA PAYOH

<font color="ff6000">HEALTHWAY TOA PAYOH CLINIC</font>
BLK 177 TOA PAYOH CENTRAL

<font color="ff6000">MAKE-WELL FAMILY CLINIC &amp; SURGERY</font>
BLK 70 LORONG 4 TOA PAYOH

<font color="ff6000">MY FAMILY CLINIC (TPY) PTE LTD</font>
BLK 79D TOA PAYOH CENTRAL

<font color="ff6000">Y S TEO FAMILY CLINIC &amp; SURGERY</font>
BLK 177 TOA PAYOH CENTRAL

<font color="ff6000">NTUC MEDICARE FAMILY CLINIC</font>
BLK 600 LORONG 4 TOA PAYOH

<font color="ff6000">AMPM FAMILY CLINIC &amp; SURGERY PTE LTD</font>
BLK 123 TOA PAYOH LORONG 1

Precious

I go to
FAITH CLINIC (TOA PAYOH)
BLK 211 LORONG 8 TOA PAYOH

Doc Jeremy Tan is very nice. Costs v reasonable as well.

Christine,
Wow you r very innovative.. probably i will follow suite as well (save $$$). Btw, will he stumble by doing so when he starts to run? Am going b4 CNY f&amp;e incldg disney and staying @ cityview (yau ma ti mtr). How abt u?

Precious,
something like tat, but i am looking for a leash tat can be attached onto our wrist. i undstd Kiddy Palace carry these as well and wld like to find out how effective it is.

Dor

re the body harness type of child strap that is shown in Precious' link, there is a store in Raffles Place link (the corner nearer UOB basement entrance) which sells the same.

Please dont hantam me for this suggestion:
If you want something more flexible (ie strap can be made longer or shorter depending on the crowd/area) - there are retractable leashes which you can find in pet stores, just modify a bit for use with young child.

hey precious..the one at CK Tan, Dr Serene, seems quite ok, and antoher one Dr. Quek also not bad...
located at Lor 1, Blk 125..in fact the dr, jonathan, Dr. Chan and tang family clinic at same blk, also not bad...:p

Sunny,
Hahaha! Actually i almosst wanted to get tat fm daiso last week ;) but since Christine shared her secret formula, am thinking of trying out. Kalau tak boleh jadi, saya beli dari daiso atau kiddy.

Precious,
our family GP is also CK Tan. She's very soft spoken and seems popluar among lil ones. Dr. Chan is as good but find his fee higher compared to CK Tan.

Hi Dor,
i tot is terbalik le..means CK tan more ex than Dr Chan le...as for my boy injection also done at Dr. Chan there le..as copare the fee,is diff le...:p
but sometimes wen i went to CK Tan,Dr.Serene always not around and is Dr Quek around,she still ok lo...
Hey Dor,how come u know malay, so well some more?:p

Twinkle, wow very angry hearing what your nanny says to you. Seriously if I were you, I will not take this nanny. The nanny must share the same method to bring up the child. And to tell you so frankly about adult TV programme, I think she could be a TV addict. I would worry how my child will grow up being glued to TV all day. Seriously you should consider other alternatives like child care centre which would be a better bet.

yup...Dr Chan is slightly cheaper than CK Tan for vaccination. Not sure about the normal consultation thou.

juz a quik one...

styolobb, galdolphin, &amp; jfoo, my fellow durian lovers... i went to the new shop stylobb mentioned @ blk 85 and bot 2 very very good "mao shan wang"! i've always dare not buy cos scared kenna cheated, and last year the prices v ex. but that uncle seemed v sincere and let me try before i buy, and it was the best durians hubby &amp; i ever eaten! on the way home, i stopped at a shop to buy something, and the lady boss called out loudly "who buy durian" and i proudly answered "ME!" hahaha... then when i met my neighbour at the lift, he was sniffing ard till i tell him i buy durian! yumz yumz!!

and ivy ah... i miss isabella so much leh. ger ger... faster grow bigger then auntie dare to carry you! :p

nice meeting all the pineapple tarts mummies. hope you enjoyed the tarts! i noe giant squid did! hehe...

Are, lol. I hope she faster grow up too but most impt be grow to be better girl!! That day din even offer u a drink haha, paisay.

BTW i havent open the tarts, i scare wait before cny finish liao.

ivy
3T / 4T means the size.. for 3 yr old and 4 yr old.

are
Durians nice ah?? Too bad, my hb does not like.
I wonder if Jessin and the hair salon wl complain of the smell or not...keke..
I'm trying to keep my throat good for the CNY leh... My T1 started coughing badly...

j_foo,
what a good idea to use a strap as a leash.

precious,
when i was staying at lor 1, my hb, fil and i went to that clinic and we find the docs there pretty good.

Gal dolphin

I am on waiting list for Edufarm play group at blk 78B. Is that near your place?

Not sure if it's good, probably cannot compare to the "branded" PG out there. But my prority is must be near my place so that the old folks taking care will not complain that it's far, must take bus, blah blah blah....

newmummy08,
the last time i brought my gal there the lady Dr. charge me $40 for normal flu &amp; cough, if med made her recover faster am ok but it din. i brought her back again to see Dr. Chan and feedback to him and i jokingly mentioned tat this my 2nd visit hope the charges wld be cheaper and indeed i paid abt $28 for 2 new bottles of med hee! Actually am fine wif Dr. Chan he's quite detail but not the lady dr.
Then recently my gal went to CK Tan for the same thing and hers was ard $35/$38.
i picked up bahasa previously hence know a little.

Precious,
newmummy08 mentioned CK Tan clinic location, it's jus 2 blocks away fm mine.
re: diy wrist harness, thanks for your suggestion i'll try it out. if cant make it, as am not gd at diy, will jus get it off the rack =P

Blk 85 really has quite a no. of good stuff, like enrichment ctr, nice durians, ang mo, aiyah Stylobb I envy u, all tat r jus a stone throw away fm ur blk =)

Hey Dor,Dr.Chan and Tang clinic got lady doctor meh?or mayb is jus a replacement for temp when dr. chan not around?is she look young?if not remember wrongly,i oso visited once,but forgot the fees le...
ya,dr.chan really details and nice lo...
whereas ck tan,dr.Serene charge quite ex lo,but also nice lady la...and anotehr one dr.quek also nice,and her charge abit cheaper...hehe...
so strange lo...how come same clinic but the charges so diff lo...
oh,u pickep up bahasa?wat make u so interested to it?just curious...haha~!