TOA PAYOH mummies

Dor & Ivy,

U checked with the aunty where the broccoli come from? NTUC usu. sells China broccoli which is harder. Australia broccoli taste better, easier to soften when cooking and so more expensive.

dor... *ouch* sorrie to hear abt your case. i'm also hoping to cancel my sis's package at a spa. the therapist we signed up with is no longer ard, and its her special TCM massage we favored so no pt going bac. hope you can get some refund. i read in the papers a lady juz signed a $600 package recently oni.

dor & ivy... giant squid is rite. the broccoli selling in the mkt is different. my dad keeps bragging tat it is an expensive, high grade type, different from ntuc. ha! and the lor 1 mkt is my "niang jia" lah, i've been going to tat mkt since i cld walk! and some stall owners know me tat long, so whenever i go, its a lot of warm welcomes and greetings, plus discounts and freebies! hehe... ah lao always say i go tat mkt is half hour buy things, 1 hr toking! and they always like to tease me lor, say last time i a baby, now i got my own baby. tats why i hope the govt will nvr tear down wet mkts, tho i do wish they operate longer hours.

are/giant squid,
ya i chked wif the stalls owner, most of them tell me is fm oz. to be sure, if am not wrong the shorter stem is fm oz and longer ones fm china (correct me if am wrong thou).

are,
thanks for your concern as well. perhaps you have a case coz the coy still exisiting.

rlrenn/sunny,
thanks for the advice and info. sunny, i was gonna use the 'threat' but again when i saw the papers this morning, it stated clearly that cardholders are still liable to pay the full installment ;( the mgr incharge fm uob called me yesterday as well singing the same tune too sigh!

'Small Claim Tribunal' - actually dropped the idea of visiting then again TODAY papers mentioned Wellness Village is still 'LIVE' perhaps i got a case again hee!

Dor,
Just to be clear
Say, you agreed to pay in e.g. 3 instalments, on say 2nd of Nov, 2nd of Dec and 2nd of Jan.
The card company would already have acted on your 2nd Nov instruction, so yes, you would definitely be liable for that vis-a-vis the card co, since both of you are 'innocent' parties.

My advice was in relation to any further payments you may have agreed to e.g. the 2nd Dec and 2nd Jan payment. For that, you should push strongly for the card company not to make further payment and further increase your loss.

Publicly, the card company will always say "YES CUSTOMER MUST PAY". If there are 100 affected customers, at least 70 will give up simply because they read the newspapers and what they read 'must be true'. Not necessarily. If you are persistent enough (and 'loud' enough), even if you dont have a very good legal case, the Bank/card co/insurance co may decide to do are you ask or negotiate some settlement with you just to settle the matter quickly and avoid further bad publicity.

If all your instalments are already paid up, then the bank is right, you have to pay the bank.

By the way, in case anyone out there is using a maclaren stroller like me, there was a recall for some affected models included Volo, Triumph, Quest Sport, Quest Mod, Techno XT, TechnoXLR, Twin Triumph, Twin Techno and Easy Traveller.

My SIL told me that in Singapore they wont recall the stroller but will provide a " cover kit " which will be in next week.

Hazard: The stroller’s hinge mechanism poses a fingertip amputation and laceration hazard to the child when the consumer is unfolding/opening the stroller.

Incidents/Injuries: The firm has received 15 reports of children placing their finger in the stroller’s hinge mechanism, resulting in 12 reports of fingertip amputations in the United States.

[I think the commonsensical thing is to not have your child near the stroller when you're folding and unfolding it anyway, but Americans are not the smartest people to start with....]
Still, if you want to be safe, contact the SG agent for your cover kit.

sunny,
thanks! for your help and suggestions really appreciate.
Am afraid, is already fully paid coz it's 6mths installment plan starting fm dec '08

ah, okay. sorry Dor. If a lot of $$, may still be worth it to see whether can get judgment agst the company and seize and lelong their assets.

(rlrenn) There's no need for the defendants (in this case the directors of WV) to actually show up at the Small Claims Tribunal hearings. It is possible and very usual for the courts to give a "judgement in default (of appearance/ defence)". But of course all these actions involves more time and more money out first, so do your maths and consider whether worth it.

[I had a friend once who got so mad at a concert organiser who cancelled an international show and didn't give refunds promptly that she sued him and got judgment in default for the ticket amount + S$15 for her 'legal' costs - since it was a small claims court). The company paid up the ticket price but refused to pay the S$15, so my friend got a garnishee order from the courts to freeze his account
in the end, he paid up the $15 plus at least $500 more. ) Just a story to share. Dont apply to the WV case since I'm sure the WV guys would have cleaned out their company accounts before they disappeared. ]

Sunny, tks for the maclaren info. I've 2 maclaren strollers .. gosh din know its so dangerous!!

Samantha, your kid is really a good helper. How I wish my 3 monsters r the same as well. They are too pampered by the grandmother and the maid that they don't even bother to lift a finger to do any simple house cleaning like packing the toys. Haiz .. I regret bringing a maid in and now I have prob disciplining the kids now.

Hi Janice
A mummy just posted in the Maclaren agent's contact in another thread:

Address: 69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Ind Pk SG 417947 (it's the Baby Hypermart address I think)

Telephone: (+65) 68441188

The safety covers will arrive next week. Leave contact details and they call you back. Require you to bring the strollers along.

dor,
so sorry to hear about what happened to you. hope u are able to get some sort of compensation.

samantha,
good job on you for teaching your boy what her knows now. think its something that i should learn from u and get my gal to do some simple and easy chores. usually when i do my chores i let her watch her tv progs. :p

Dor,
so sorry to hear abt ur case... hope u can get ur funds back.. previously i had similiar account too.. n i told my credit card company to cancel the trf coz i decided not to take the package.. had a really hard time.. but eventually i did it.. phew.. cant recall how then my hub n i made a BIG huha..

Sunny,
Daytripper not one of those recall item rite? =)

fish n vege..
Are n other mummies, i personally feel that the vege, meat (pork) n fish here at lor 8 market is simply cheaper than the rest of the market compared to lor 1 n 7.. not sure abt lor 5 n 4 though.. coz i seldom go there.. it's after comparing with lor 1 n 7. =)

Samanthan,
i take my hats off u.. really salute to u.. can handle so many things!! =) =) lots to learn frm u..

mummies here,
can advise where to get those small toilet seat cover for little ones? =)

Char & Galdolphin,
Thanks for the concern. Am not pinning too much hope thou...

Maclaren Daydripper was not in the lists of recall.

Aiyo… rlrenn, your princess still young la… Junior just turned 21 months. But gotta start as soon as possible so that the kids think and accept that keeping things tidy ‘is how life should be’. It will be discouraging initially cos young children don’t understand what you are trying to do/get them to do. Show them by example. E.g. you both can drink together. Then u say,” Mummy is going to bring the cup to the kitchen/sink. U want to come along?” Encourage her to take her pigeon mag mug along and show her where u both should put the cup/pigeon mag mug. Always use the same words until the kid understand the instruction (different words may confuse the kid).

Janice, agree with you along that line – grandparents pamper the grand children TOO MUCH. Whenever I show my “I-am-going-to-smack-you-ah” look, my parents would shield Junior. Saying he’s still young la blah blah blah… GRRRRRLLLL…

The maid issue is the most impt reason why we don’t want a maid. With a maid, I think all of us (yes, me too) would be too lazy to even tidy up our bed after waking up! For the sake of his good, we put up with the extra burden lor… Really hope this will pay off.

Char, the TV is a “wonderful babysitter” but we see serious problem with it. Firstly, Sg has the most number of kids being myopic. Both hubby and I are myopic so we hope to preserve our kid(s)’s perfect eyesight for as long as possible. Secondly, sooner or later, kids are going to be glued to the computers/tv/game boy etc, so why start so soon?

Having said that, Junior does watch tv la. But it’s always with our companionship so that we can explain some of the scenes and improve his vocab and pronunciation. Not watching tv totally seems too surreal to me… Now, he's so accustomed to the idea of "watching tv must have mummy and papa" that he refuses to sit in front of the tv without either of us.

Get your girl involved in the chores. Introduce the things involved, e.g. if you are mopping the floor, explain what is a mop/pail/water doing all together. Get her involved by giving her a piece of wet wipe. Tell her to help you (provided she understand the meaning of “help”) by cleaning that area (anyway la). Then after a while, pretend to examine her ‘work’. Praise her for the effort. Believe it or not, kids will feel happy.

Gal.dolphin, dont need to learn from me la. You donno only, my hair turning white very fast. Last time just married, only a two strands. After child birth, maybe 5-10? I noticed my hair is turning white very fast. Now, I don’t even dare to examine my hair liao! My hubby says I ‘geng’ too much! Hahahah

But really, I spend a lot of time planning to ‘cut short’ the time required.

Mummies I am no super-mother/domestic goddess, but I try my best. It helps that my hubby appreciates my effort, subscribes to my idea of how we should raise our kid and cooperate in whatever initiatives I campaign for (e.g. project “take off your socks and bring to the laundry basket!”). His active participation plays a pivotal role in the success of how Junior is doing.

Wah… u all really shop a lot at TPY markets hor… Me is supermarket queen. Except for fish, my mum will buy them from People’s Park Market and my hubby to pick it up.

janice,
you can try making things more interesting and fun rather then a chores to them.

Is not easy for a start however, if you are persistent things may change. To encourage them you may want to join them in their 'activities' too, set by example.

U may entice them with 'reward' for a start, however dun make it a precedent, whoever keeps their toys after playing or put their dirty clothing in the laundry bag will get to enjoy his favourite ice-cream or longer play/tv time next round. Or simply recognise their effort and praise them for their good behaviour.

With grandparents ard usually quite hard to discipline, unless you sound them out first.

dolphingal
I got it from toyogo. only $1. those plastic type.
easy to clean. some hardware shops also sell.

re: playing toys etc
"let's do it together!" it is what i always do, and she finds it enjoyable!

mummies with babies in CCC, what do we need to look out for? recently i went to my first skool.. but i dun really like the environment coz the children will play/study/sleep/eat at the same place. i wonder are all CCC the same? and CCC is really very noisy lor.. i wonder if i put my gal in, can she sleep anot? she is a super light sleeper.. nw was wondering shld i juz put her with my mum and i just got to travel b/w jurong and tpy everyday..hai.. tats the problem of nt staying near parents.

relenn,
Personally i'd experienced putting my gal in CCC. not the best choice as one falls sick easily and frequently too. noisy, yes, the tod has to adjust to it somehow, otherwise result to insufficient nap time.

One mummy in this thread used to leave her 8mths old daughter in the same ccc as u, din hear much complain from her thou. however, she'd gone back to Indonesia hence withdrew her gal out.

For cost saving, safety and better care of your child leave her wif own mummy or mil. Travelling hassle, if you r driving shld help you safe a lot of trouble.

Otherwise, like me consider a bbysitter/nanny advice to go thru recommendation.

hi rlrenn

All CCCs are the same I think. No centre will have exclusive 'bed room' area (except for infant section) cos it is simply not cost effective for the centre to have expensive rented space utilised only for 2-3 hours a day.

Ask the centre when the nap times are and try going at those times. You may be pleasantly surprised how quiet the centre can get even with 30 t0 40 young children in it.

At my kid's centre, if you walk in at 12.15, the whole place seems like a madhouse, completely crazy with all the kids who have finished their lunch and getting ready for their afternoon nap having baths, running around, having their milk, having their hair dried, etc etc Looks really disorganised and scary to a first time visitor. But if you come in at 12.30, it's like a different planet. From planet of the apes to a little peaceful quiet piece of child heaven. :D

hahahah.... sunny is so funny - From planet of the apes to a little peaceful quiet piece of child heaven...

Agree, most cccs dont have separate activity/sleep area. Rent is an overhead that all operators hope to keep to the minimum.

The only ccc that I have visited which has separate play/activity area and sleep area is Kinderland Bishan. They are housed in a double storey terrace. Down stairs is the activity place. Upstairs has 4 rooms, 2 of which is zzzz land.

Dor, yes i do drive and i will be the only one fetching her up n down.. coz my hb work shift so he feels it will be too xiong for me. but i guess i will see how 1st.. see more CCCs or put with my mum is the best choice.

sunny, hehe.. i went at ard 12.15pm, like u say it likes a madhouse, some are having lunch, bathe, play and some napping! i think the kids already got used to it.. i saw a gal so poor thing she is sitting on her mattress, sucking her pacifier but cant sleep.. she is new tho.. if my gal, i think she will be busy walking ard if she cant sleep. :p

rlrenn

My kid has been in infant care for 11 months now and I've seen quite a number of new kids come in, in all the different sections. [I go down almost every day (at different times betwn btwn 12 to 2) so see more 'during the day happenings' that other parents may nt get to see].

Earlier this year, a set of triplets toddlers came in. Settling in one new toddler is not easy. Settling in 3 at once... The howling in their first 2 months was quite horrendous. They take turns to set each other off, every morning clinging to either mum or dad and refusing to let go. But nowadays, they're fine. Try to give it some time la before you start deciding really can or cannot.

When you have shortlisted the CCC, ask to spend a few hours in there with your kid e.g. half a day. See how the teachers do things and more importantly, how the children interact with teacher and each other. We may think of all the loud laughter and chattering and clatter of objects dropping on the floor as "noise" but do the children think the same?

hey mummies... juz got tis email. not sure if it is a good deal. if interested, you can email the lady organiser, Joyce Lim [[email protected]]

BULK PURCHASE ORDER

Enfagrow Stage 3 (4xDHA)
1. 900g per tin @ S$28
2. 1.8kgs per tin @ S$54
Expiry date : Year 2011

Diaper : @ S$16 per pack
1) Huggies dry (M80/L68/XL56/XXL44)
2) Huggies dry comfort (M66/L60/XL54)
3) Huggies Ultra (M40/L34/XL30/XXL26)
4) Pull-Up Pant (L36/XL30/XXL24)

Self-Collection locations will be :

1) AMK Avenue 3 (My house)

2) Teck Whye Lane (My parents house)

3) Bukit Gombak MRT

4) Sengkang CC/MRT

5) CCK MRT Taxi Stand

Terms & conditions:

· Orders will only be confirmed once payment by T.T. is received.

· Other locations negotiable if i bypass.

Precious: im only looking at central, near mrt so that in future if i need to work overtime and my hb working, i can get my mum to come and fetch her.. so got quite limited choice here..

sunny, tks will take note of ur advice.

Chinese classes - FYI Berries Thomson has shifted to Bishan CPF Bldg, convenient for us in TPY. I hv made the switch...

Dor
I hv done the 5km run, pretty ok and not panting...hehe.
Now gearing for the 10km run in Dec.. but I'll be going for holiday first...

Dor
Wah, hope u get ur money back... I just paid like $250 for a pedi pkg from a shop in Central... after checking that they hv a steady stream of customers...

are
Food - is it true the best CHIX RICE stall is found in Blk 125??? hehe... Sunday Times said so...

Hol Programme - Teacher Liz is running a 3-day programme for kids around 4 to 8, I think, in early Dec.

Thanks Are .. but I realise the price almost same as Ang Moh supermarket leh. Enfagrow at Ang Moh is selling at $53.90 if I'm not wrong. By the way, I still owe you something hehe .. will pass to you before next Tue. This week is a very busy and frustrating week for me and the kids.

Talking about disciplining kids .. I'm quite a faliure. When I was living abroad with just my gal .. she is damn good and well disciplined. But when I came back, everything just turn haywired. My kids recently have also become serious TV addicts. Now they have no interest in books, toys, etc and keep yelling to watch DVD. Even my boys who can't speak well, can say "Okto" very clearly!! Haiz .. sometimes I really feel like putting all of them in the childcare where they are better entertained than staying at home.

Discipline must start early, even before the kiddo can talk. My form of discipline started at 3 months when I cut off night feeds. Many say, "aiyo, how can? 3 months only." But I made sure they had their fair share during the day, and when it came to bed time, no more feeds, all the way till the next morning. The first stretch was already 6 hours. Of course the first week was a nightmare, not only for us, but probably for our neighbours too, but I did switch on the air-con and had all the windows closed, haha! And nobody came knocking on my door the next day, nor did I see any neighbours' lights coming on, haha!

On another note, a soup recipe to share - today I tried boiling winter melon soup and adding barley. Nice
And I tried beef a la orange, ok, ok, suppose to be duck a la orange, but I didn't have duck so substitute with beef. Anyway, this is Chinese style, not western. Also turned out a hit with the extended family.

rlrenn, i send my son to first skool cc. Initially he had difficulty adjusting to the environment (far cry from his previous infant care) but kids, they will soon learn to adjust. Some a few wks, others months. But if you are worried, you can maybe do a trial period of 2 wks.

sunny72, which infant care is your kid attending? I'll be sending my younger boy also to first skool in mid nov.

Regarding the lobang that Are has posted:

The huggies pull up pants is not worth buying. There are cheaper options. Many places are selling the twin packs pull up pants, selling at $30.85 threeabout.

absolutely agree with j foo - discipline must start early.

Actually I think putting kids with a group of well behaved kids will do them some good. In environment like the ccc, teachers will not be lenient to any one kid because they have to maintain the 'one for all, all for one' concept and also simply because they can't be on a 1 teacher : 1 child system.

When the some kids comply, other kids will follow suit. It's a psychological thing, I supposed. You want to feel 'belonged'. At least for Junior, I think his time in ccc is well spent. We have to accept that the teachers in the ccc plays a part in shaping into what he is today.

Are and Janice
Provision shop next to Blk 94 market (lorong2/3/4) sells enfagrow 3 the big tin for S$45. The only thing is that the milk powder is sourced from "australia and/or new zealand and/or the netherlands and/or america" and the packing is done in Thailand. NTUC at central sells the same brand for S$54 but sourced solely from the netherlands and packaged in the netherlands. Donno la. Nowadays nothing is completely risk free.

Be@ns
My kid is attending citikids academy (CBD area). If I'd ever have to or want to switch, I'd probably switch to First Skool at TP. Love their super high ceilings and the fact that they have the "upstairs outdoor courtyard area" so the kids are not cooped up by 4 walls the whole day. Speaking of the super high ceiling - rlrenn - the high ceiling probably contributes to the "noise" factor - like an echo wall.

stylobb,
envy tat u able to find time for running....its been a looooong while since i run in the open, miss those days...how long u tk to finnish 5k? Great slowly u can stretch it to 6k...8k....10k!

Blk 125 has good chix rice, i also dun noe hee maybe i'll chk it out tonite since near my plc.

Flea Market Stall rental: I saw a notice that there'll be a Flea Mkt at tpy not sure the location coz just took a quick glance.
Anyone interested? I'll find out more this evening.

hi mummies, i'm looking for a handyman/ contractor to fix my window grills. any recommendations? too long a list on HDB approved contractors, can't decide who to call.

janice
Hmmm...I cannot comment on Tien Hsia as my kid does not go there.
They adopt fun learning which I want for my boy as I didn't want him to become adverse to learning the language. Mind you, some of the words for K1 are not easy!!! I hv to coach him too.
Will be sending the twins there next year.

TV - we are strict on tv. My boy only gets to play pc games or watch shows on Wed and Fri nights. At my mom's, he watches minimal tv.

jfoo
I totally agree that discipline starts early.
We trained our kids to sleep through around 6mth.

I hv no qualms disciplining them esp when it comes to bad behaviour. I cannot stand kids that do not behave.
Anyway so far, they never tell they hate me or anything, in fact after the disciplining, they still hug and say they love me.
I will try to explain to them why a certain behaviour is not acceptable.
I read somewhere that correct discipline actually helps to bring stability in a child's life.

dor
Have you decided where you are going for your holiday?

Running - finished in 32mins+. Felt good as it was a first time for me... My hb/kids were at the finishing line waiting for me.....
Actually I covered 9.1km while training this week.... so it's another boost for me!
But hor, for Dec run, there are several factors that need to be aligned: whether I feel tired, will I hv tummyache, hungry or not, stressed or not...kekeke

Chix rice stall - ok, pls update. Apparently it was featured in Sunday Times.......

Flea Market - hey! can you find out more?

Flea Market .. i'm keen

Mummies , I need to seek your advice. My Jayden recently has become even out of hand esp outside. I don't know where he learnt it from, and his behaviour is getting worse. On the street, when he could not get what he wanted, he will lie on the floor, with the face down and refused to get up. After I pulled him up, he will either sit on the floor or run to the destination he wants to go. I tried to ignore him and walked away, but it seems doesn't work esp when there are so many onlookers on street. I've tried methods like carry him to a quieter corner and discipline him, but this kid seems don't understand. It becomes a habit for him to sit or lie on floor anywhere. His twin brother is copying such behaviour now. What will you do if you are me? Buckle them in the pram is an obselete idea now as they have discover a good way to stop the stroller from moving by using their feets to stop the wheels.

1 is a terror, 2 are monsters ! Mummies, if you see 2 boys lying and sitting on the street and throwing tantrums, prob you have spotted my boys ..

Oh dear, terrible twos are starting to showhand! Haha!

Not sure whether this will work - prep talk before going out. Tell Jayden what is expected and if he does play-up then time to head home. So if he really does show his colours when you go out, straight away head home. Must really show who's the boss with kids, or at least that's my take. Say must do. If half way through he listens to you and stops whatever he's doing, then give him a chance. But if he starts off again, it's straight home. No more chances.

maclaren cover kit
Where can we get it aside from baby hypermart?

Stylobb, where are you going for hols? Btw, wanna arrange a playdates for our gals? Heehee..thot get my gal ready for school with pp she will know..

Tks J foo. When he is in good mood, he will follow the instructions. But usually he will not. U r right, I will head straight home. Dragging the kid home is like dragging a wild animal back to cage. Kick and punch me or the maid and struggle his way to break free. There was even one occassion when he even broke his dad's spec when the father was trying to hold him. Terrible right ? I really hope he will outgrow this Terrible 2 stage sooner, esle I will have to bring a rope out hahaha ...

Jfoo
Once she misbehaves outside, I told her her "Mr Right" would appear once we arrive home.
And I did, though it was after a few hours.
Now she knows, when I really mean it, I would do it.

hmm... actually I belong to the "I donno how to discipline my kid" camp too...
Junior is 21mths now... Terrible Two phase will be starting soon... for me.

At Junior's cc, some of the mummies are already telling me how they have canes (plural ok, caneS) at home
OMG... one is bad enough. But canes?

Hey Precious, back at home, they bang their heads on floors and doors if they could not get what they wants. They are trying to get my attention, so usually I will send them back to their room if they misbehave. In the room, they will scream for around 15 mins before they cool and calm down.

Samantha, I have caneS too. They even choose their own colours. These are the last resort when nothing works.

Terrible 2-3, am also facing the prob eerrrr.
I gave up canning coz it doesn’t work on my gal, the more i cane her the more she insist on her way and even beat herself harder.
Now, whenever she throws tantrum or misbehave i have to reason wif her, if she goes out of hand i'll leave her alone let bth of us cool down b4 talking to her again. The other way i jus 'tested' out over the weekend was to carry her up stroke her and let her cool down.
Dun noe if this is encouraged but sometime really goes out of idea.
I was pouring my prob to a girlfren and she tld me there was once her sister's children made her so mad that instead of beating them she beat herself real hard. Her children got a shock and were frightened by such behavior and from then on they are easier to discipline.

Flea Market, went to the CC @ blk 122 but close. Will try again today.