TOA PAYOH mummies

Miin,precious

so are the hubby follow the gathering or better stay at home and let them do housework hehe...

Door, Miin
Not only you ever been sotong before,...I also left my HP on the desk (not in the drawer leh) when I went back home 2 days ago.Luckily col was on OT then he help me to it.
Sigh..I don't know what happend,..the other day I went to market to buy fruits, bread and on the way back home I so shocked that I couldn't find my Hp,..I search my sling bag and some of the plastic carrier ...I wanted to go back to the furit store perhaps I left there when I choose the apples, but..... found it's hang on my hand together with the plastic carriers.
You see,...I've been "sotong queen" before hehe..
don't know why,..hormone change??getting old???

Hi Precious

I should be able to make it for the gathering.

Please put me in. Maltbibi & Chloe (born in July 2005)

hi maltbibi.. another chloe in our group.. Dor's gal oso Chloe..

Juliana, I had that very same experience.. i was queuing to pay at AXS.. then i couldnt find my hp (it's in a pouch).. panic man.. finally i realised the hp pouch is hanging on the hand... aiyo.. cant tell u how relieved i am..

Hi Miin

Hehe..oh din notice that!!

Your boy and my gal is in the same age group. Looking forward to meeting you and the rest of the mummies and kids

Juliana
No, I did not go to the Toyrus sale. Brought my girl to the playgym at Kallang Leisure Park instead.

I realise there are a lot of FTWM in this thread.
Given you a choice, would you choose to be a SAHM or FTWM, and why?
One good benefit of being a FTWM, is to be able to provide more to our own parents, right?

Mummies & Kids Gathering
Date: 18 Oct, Sat morning
Time: 9.30am - 11.30am
------------------------------------------------
1) Precious n Gal (Born June 2006)
2) Dor & Chloe (born Mar '07)
3) 7/11 & Asher (born Mar '07)
4) Juliana and 2 kids 5yrs & 14 mths
5) Miin & Rasheed (Apr 05) & Aleesha (Dec 07)
6) Maltbibi & Chloe (born in July 2005)
7)
8)

JTS: Pattern Block with 12 different cardboards and 36 colour blocks @ $3.90 bought at Bugis Street.
Great for sorting out shapes/sizes too!

1778608.jpg
1778609.jpg

Precious

Great stuff ! Bugis street ?is it the one opp Bugis junction ?

In regards to your questions, the issue of whether to be SAHM or FTWM have been kept prompting on my mind.Both have pros and cons.
But I still prefer to work, you still listen other issues besides parenting or kids matter. Socialise, learn more things, get $$$ And sometimes you can do your own things in the offc.Whereby at home I only free when the kids sleeping then you must do housewrk,sometimes get irregular meals but perhaps you are master in handling the housewrk, kids. You are watching every details while your kids is growing.You don't miss the time.
I've been thinking to be a SAHM becos seems I lost the time when I can mold them. Throw the kids to the maid or other people care is one thing but you can feel the difference when we as a mother take care ourseleves.
Kids behaviours can tell,..really.

Given this though questions.....aaagh...haunting me all the time hehehe...

To balance those together hiihii...very difficult man !!! As a result become "sotong" hehee...
Miin you think so don't you. Joking lah...perhaps i'm lousy mother kekeke...

Oh no ! From the census can tell that My son is the oldest.
yah,...we have Chloes

If i have a choice, i prefer to work from home. A bit difficult to juggle but at least u r near your kids. Having a helper is good for household chores and u r at hand if something happens.

When I was teaching in Jkt, the best part is having school holidays.

Although working fulltime means less time with your kids, if u r hands on when u r home.. your r'ship should still be close.

For a SAHM, life can be very centred as it's oni you and your kid. Pros and cons.. some people are just not domesticated so staying home is not a viable option..

i'm losing track of who stays where.. almost wanna do a list.. haha..

Juliana, I can tell u it doesnt feel good to be so sotong... feels like losing control.. and so distracted..

Mummies & Kids Gathering
1) Precious n Gal (Born June 2006)
2) Dor & Chloe (born Mar '07)
3) 7/11 & Asher (born Mar '07)
4) Juliana and 2 kids 5yrs & 14 mths
5) Miin & Rasheed (Apr 05) & Aleesha (Dec 07)
6) Maltbibi & Chloe (born in July 2005)
7) Char & Leticia (born Mar '07)
8)

Juliana,
take your time to consider if u wanna be SAHM. i agree with you that u get time for yourself in the office and earn an income which we can contribute to our parents like wat precious mentioned. however we'll miss watching our kids grow, miss their 1st words, 1st step in crawling/walking, feeding themselves and watch the funny actions that they do and say as they grow older. but then there are the times where they misbehave and then you wonder if you should go back to work, haha! pros and cons.

Chloe seems to be a very common name nowadays. i'm also in the pasir ris mums thread and 2 of the mums there have gals by the name chloe too.

Char

Thanks for your concern. Appreciate it.
Wow,...so you are staying in Pasir Ris ?
Friend of Mine whose stay in Oz has a gal named Chloe as well. She is my best friend here last time but. Then she always call her "EE"

Miin
Yah,..foolish to myself when the things happened.
BTW berapa lama kamu tinggal di Jakarta ?
Don't you like the place.

Gathering
Response so good,..almost 10 mummies.Most of them have gals.

The gathering is sure receiving hot response. Wish I could attend but I have something on the same morning. Have a good time ya ...

Talking about Chloe, my sil's niece from her side also Chloe.. haha.. it's a nice name though..

Juliana, 3 tahun.. r u chinese or malay? u speak good bhs.. haha.. mine oni half bucket.. keke.

aiyo, is my son the oni boy there?? gosh.. he's gonna be so happy.. the leaf among the flowers.. hohohoho.. must remember to bring camera.. hahaha..

Thank you for sharing.
Though I have a supportive hb who keeps on encouraging me to be a SAHM, I do feel bad that I cannot provide more for my own family (etc: sponsoring them for a holiday, buy whatever they want ......)

<font color="ff6000">Gathering</font>
So happy that this time round, the response is so good!

Mummies &amp; Kids Gathering
1) Precious n Gal (born June 2006; will bring bubble machine, chwee kueh)
2) Dor &amp; Chloe (born Mar '07)
3) 7/11 &amp; Asher (born Mar '07)
4) Juliana and 2 kids 5yrs &amp; 14 mths
5) Miin &amp; Rasheed (Apr 05) &amp; Aleesha (Dec 07)
6) Maltbibi &amp; Chloe (born in July 2005)
7) Char &amp; Leticia (born Mar '07)
8)

juliana,
i'm staying at toa payoh. i joined the pasir ris mums thread when i was staying with my parents at pasir ris since my confinement for 1yr plus. i only came back here in july becos my fil who has been staying alone and is very old has not been feeling well. btw, i'm half peranakan so understood wat u asked miin, hee hee.

yeah, quite a few '07 babies, would be interesting to see how they'd interact with each other at the gathering.

Dor

Did you go to see Cambridge ? What is your comments ? I visited last saturday,..the centre very quite. The program and curicullum seems good to me. Add on enrichment program is also another benefit.The only thing I a bit hesitate is the space constrain. The place itself its well maintain, cleaniness, etc but the room is quite cramp with 10 or 12 students in the room. I'm not sure how it's look like when the students in the class, or nap becos sat the centre empty.

Miin
Do you think the space a little bit to cramp ?
and what time normally do you fetch him?can you make it on time ? Becos i thinking to get a school bus but...a bit expensive and sayang lah....since the place not so far. They charge me more than $100 a mth.

Juliana, u shld try to go down and c during weekdays then. Space wise is ok for me.. I've seen smaller space than this and separated by partition only. As for nap, usually they'll place the mattress side by side and sleep.

we pick/drop him via mrt cos using school bus means u need someone there to bring him up too.. plus it's expensive.. Usually i send him by 8am and his daddy will pick him cos he's studying now and time is flexible. If i'm the one picking him, i'll reach there by 6.20pm. If he's hungry, he'll look at me with grumpy face. haha

frankly i'm not too sure about K2 classes and schedule. maybe u can drop in during their class times and take a look.
so far i'm ok with my toddlers class.

Juliana,
Yeap went on Friday manage to see the students attending classes. The rooms are small thou compared to others however there is sufficient ventilation hence nt so worried. However, the tots room r quite dim and no windows that's the only draw back. Overall the Centre cleanliness is very well maintain, teachers r responsive and students r happy. Lots of craft work did by the students can be seen displaying on the walls n cupboard.

Precious,
Being a SAHM really has lots to scarify such as forgo your career, miss out on social live etc. However, you gain on seeing your child grow and mould her along the way. Especially when she is at a learning age, whereby you are even more eager to educate her. But whenever she is throwing tantrum or miss behave, you wish you are away and not the one who face these. Things like that can drive one crazy. Frankly, I salute those who choose to be a SAHM. If you are those domestic and homely types you may enjoy.
Being a FTWM no doubt is able to pursue ones career, has xtra income and keep oneself updated, however being a mummy, we miss out on our child growing stages. We are unable to really mould and discipline them due to lack of time, hence the only time we can make-up is after werk or over the weekends. I have to depend on gtg a goodcare giver or childcare centre in this case. I am not those homely type and no patient in handling kid hence I prefer to work.

oh i just add on.. previously when my son first join tod class, classroom is upstairs with attached bathroom and very airy. they moved the tods and N1 classes downstairs this year. heard parents are concerned young kids going up and downstairs. all the more parents shld feedback on the tod room ventilation. the N classes are ok.. very airy and big space..

precious, i think for you, the best part is u can afford time to do all these extra activities with Sha and bringing her to places.. for FTWM, this is more difficult for us..

Hi there, mummies in TPY. I've just moved in to TPY lor 5. Am teaching piano and flute at home (I graduated with Masters in Music). Anyone's kids interested? Email me at [email protected]. Thanks! And by the way, can I join in at the gatherings in TPY?

Mummies &amp; Kids Gathering
1) Precious n Gal (born June 2006; will bring bubble machine, chwee kueh)
2) Dor &amp; Chloe (born Mar '07)
3) 7/11 &amp; Asher (born Mar '07)
4) Juliana and 2 kids 5yrs &amp; 14 mths
5) Miin &amp; Rasheed (Apr 05) &amp; Aleesha (Dec 07)
6) Maltbibi &amp; Chloe (born in July 2005)
7) Char &amp; Leticia (born Mar '07)
8)

JTS: Advised by a doctor. He advised me not to let her continue to wear crocs shoes, maybe except for rainy days, waterplay.
Wear shoes which fit well helps good development in their bones, as well as proper walking.

I stay at block 50. Still trying to find my way through TPY but getting there. I've ventured to almost all the lorongs! Haha! To find nice food

I'd normally suggest starting piano lessons on an individual one-to-one basis around the age of 3. Really depends on the individual kids, but as long as he/she can write, communicate, sit and concentrate for 15 mins, then that's a starting point.

What I do with many of my students is to group them in such a way that those who are around the same standard/grade come back to back so they get to hear a bit of each other at times. I also like to conduct half yearly concerts for students to "perform" - boost their confidence and give them a sense of achievement.

Charges start at $140pm for individual lessons. There are one or two week breaks every quarter, following school term.

I hope to make it for the gathering. Sat morning I'd normally have to teach.

By the way, anyone looking for shoes for toddler boys? I have two pre-loved Clarks (one pair of sandals and one pair of shoes), UK size 4 and 4.5 (insole 14cm and 15cm). Also have a pair of Osh-Kosh brand new denim shoes )far left). All going for $15. There's also a pair of Fisher-Price UK size 2 (insole 12cm), $5 (far right).
1787725.jpg

mummies, wanna check if u remember when the first 2 bottom teeth appears.. how many of your babies have teeth in a straight row or crooked?

my gal is having her 1st 2 teeth sprouting together. Seems a bit crooked leh... i wonder if it's bcos she doesnt drink enough milk huh?? I dun have this prob with my elder one. his teeth all straight and very nice..
i hope she doesnt have to wear braces to straighten them when she grows up.. is teeth pattern hereditary too?

Precious

Will check the email.
Actually Crocs shoes is comfortable and convenient to wear but the incident ( toes toddlers stuck in the escalator) mostly due to the same design of shoes (clog shoes)like crocs shoes design.

Miin
I don't think the teeth pattern is affected my hereditary. I believe somethings like pacifier, teether will affect the teeth pattern.

jfoo
Hope to see you this saturday

thanks juliana.. i'm trying to reduce her usage of pacifier too.. except when she's going to sleep..

any mummies been to LV at Gentle Lane? how's the school?

Miin,
Chloe has crooked teeth too coz she suck thumb.....very hard to kick the habit. Am prepared to let her wear braces liao. Any mummies hs good advice on this do share wif me. Thanks!

Precious,
Thanks for the info, I was abt to get her a pair of crocs @ DFS hee!

so crooked teeth is most prob due to pacifier or sucking on something huh.. aiyo.. i must try to wean my gal off pacifier then..
my son never used pacifier before..

how to help it staighten huh..

talking abt the crocs shoe.. so scary on the escalator incident.. i din buy any crocs for my son.. we plan to stick to osh kosh covered shoes for a while.. last time we let him wear open toes shoes and his toe nails keep getting chipped.. not too safe too.. better get covered shoes for him

Miin, my niece has crooked teeth when she was a toddler but when the milk teeth started to fall and the permanent ones came out, it all fell into place nicely and neatly. So don't fret over it ya. :D

Miin, I visited LV at Gentle Lane. The place was very clean, the kids seemed happy, teachers were friendly too and does not looked uncomfortable receiving visitors. Their school's based on thematic curriculum but for tots and N1, they don't stree too much on it. They believe 'learn thru play' and cultivate fun in learning at very young age. Overall quite a good school - a bit ex for me tho as I am not entitled to any subsidies
. It depends what are your criterias. Some schools emphasise a lot on academic even at N1 level, some adopts a more relaxed approach and focus on building a child's confidence, public speaking, character building etc. Both schools have its pros and cons. :D

Hi! Girlizz,
Is this place behind Revenue Hse and easily access?...or is quite deep in. Do u noe what r the charges like?

Precious,hahaha! aiyah we share the same agony. My nanny says most chinese medical hall has a kinda powder taste quite bitter can apply on her thumb to avoid sucking. Chloe is too young to consume perhaps u can chk it out n try on ur daughter...can imagine how frast they'll feel during their bed time heehee!

thanks mummies.. i called LV gentle lane.. the infantcare fee so exp after subsidy... abt $800+ then i call TTSH LV, it's 600+.. they claim it's bcos of the rental fee. I dun tink i'll take LV Gentle Lane. Out of budget..

I'm looking at this NTUC one at Yio Chu Kang mrt. waiting for P to revert. otherwise may have to go to ntuc in toa payoh or safra. last time bus 232 goes to safra and it'll be so convenient for me to take 1 bus.. now 232 change their route, there's no direct bus to safra.

dor, alternatively u can try chilli sauce or something bitter and apply on chloe's thumb.. that's wat some do to wean off pacifier or breast.. unless she loves chilli sauce la.. haha

Dor

So, are you going to register with Cambridge ?
Thinking of LV @ Gentle lane for another option but a bit difficult to reach.
Perhaps will follow Miin to put him in Cambridge hehehe...

Miin
Still hauting for the infant care yah?
No doubt transport is a problem if you choose Safra.Have you check Club HDB @ HDB hub for the infant care ?

girlizz
Any idea how long it takes to walk from MRT to LV @ gentle rd?
Hv you ever visited Cambridge cc the place that Miin put her son.

Juliana, how old is ur son? I hvnt decide yet coz still chking out a few plcs. Also I need to depend on where by bbysitter gonna shift to early nxt yr, if is within TPY most likely will still let her look after Chloe, otw will hv to source for a childcare ctr liao. I think Miin had chk it out Club @ HDB Hub no vacancies.

Dor, LV Gentle Lane is very near Rev House. I parked my car at RV and walked to LV, maybe like 5 mins stroll. Parking is a nightmare there and the school is located just right after a bend.

On the fees, for N1 ($1000 FD, $800 hald day - before subsidies).

Juliana, if you stop at Newton MRT, the journey should take you around 15 mins to reach LV Gentle Road.

Yes.. I have visited Cambridge. I like their curriculum and their after school curriculums are def a plus point.. unfortunately I was not given a good impression during my visit as I saw one lady rudely pulling a N1 student away because he was accused of pushing another girl. She held on to the kids arms while scolding him loudly for the crime he just did. And she was vastly shocked when she saw me walked in. That 'guilty look'. Poor kid was inconsolable. Although I dont agree with the kid's action but I believe in proper counselling, telling him right and wrong, time out discipline etc. Afterall, they are all just 3 year old kids. My boy is a very active boy. I know discipline is a must but it breaks my heart worrying if he will be treated the same, if not worse since he's the cheeky monster type.
This is just my point of view. Not fair for me to judge the school based on one visit tho.

Oh, in case anyone considering Little Woods Montessori, I've also visited the school. Curriculum wise, it's the same Montessori everywhere. Teachers okay, not as friendly as JG, LV kind but still acceptable. But only one concern, it's too crowded. The school is not very huge but they accommodate like 100 students and the teacher told me most are on extended half day meaning (8am - 3pm). Faint!

Anyone on Newton Kindergarten?