TOA PAYOH mummies

Char
Yes, he is 9mths old. Thanks.
Will call Nestle to check it out.

Elijah's mummy
I also realise it is not necessary to bring them to PD. Their prescribed medicines are more and less the similiar. After I have #2, I bring both kids to the family doctor instead. Thank God they seldom fall sick too.

Babe
I'm good though been busy at work too. How are your 2 kids? Who is taking care of them now?

Dor (and hubby!), thanks for collecting the race pack again. Quite a fair bit of goodies this time round
And so many sachets of Abbott Grow! Very well timed as I can use it for the trip to UK (and back), don't need to pack into the container. Tee quality also better this time round. The kids rummaged through their bags with so much excitement, haha!

Want to check, has anyone been to Carlton's Cafe Vic or M Hotel for buffet? MIL's birthday coming up in a few weeks so thinking of where to go for celebration. My first choice was to have Oriental's Melt but some don't see the point of forking out so much for a meal (works out at almost $100 per adult). Have to settle for something more mid price.

Babe, are, sometimes watery only. I guess it's ok? she still waking up often, dunno us it too dependent on pacifier.

hey mummies,my son suddenly refuse to tk pacifier,don know wat happen...so now he struggle to fall zz every time, as last time he use to tk pacifier then only can zz one...so now im so tiring everytime wen wan to let him zz!he is vy tired already but just just cant fall zz easily and everytime willmake alot of noice...haiz...

any adv to me?
actaully is good for him to stop tk pacifier,but some how he just cant fall zz without it(i suspected)...

precious,
unfortunately my fren's clinic only has samples for 1yr and above.

j_foo,
the buffet at carlton's vic cafe is ok, so so. i would recommend hotel rendezvous' straits cafe by the park and if your mil likes penang cuisine can go to copthorne king's princess terrace cafe.

newmummy,
maybe he's teething and finds it painful to suck on the pacifier. good to wean him off since he doesn't want it. it is normal for him to fall asleep without it, same for my gal but it'll take some time for him to get used to it. my gal took about 1week to get used to it.

mommies,

my girl 5 mths old, super dependent on pacifier... sigh. Do u all use pacifier on ur baby last time? when is a good time to wean off ar?

hi char,thx for the adv.well,i also know is good for him to wean off,but it seems already 2 weeks,he still not used to it lo..sometimes i force to put the pacifier to his mouth and let him suck it again to fall zz,but guess wat,he tk it out and throw it away!wat la!last time he was like treat the pacifier like him "best fren" le!
So ivy,thk by then ur gal will do tat so...so don worry much!haha~!

newmummy, how old ur boy now? i hope my girl will dislike her pacifier one day and i no choice to wean off. Rather than now i know she cry becos i dun give her... sigh.

Char, Copthorne Kings is where I go for my "Penang fix", haha! The adults would appreciate it but the kids, I doubt. My nephews each have a particular palette so need to have international spread to satisfy them all... Rendevous? Oh really? The last time I went (quite a few years back) I was thoroughly disappointed, maybe they've up their game since then.

Hi JFoo - have you tried CafeBiz at Trader's Hotel? I believe they still have a 1for1 for UOB card holders. Been 3 times, not disappointed yet.

Rendezvous - Straits Cafe is not bad too.

GrandHyatt - Straits Kichen is excellent. Lots of choice! (Cant remember the price tho. Quite some time since I went)

Halo Mothers,
I have a milk powder focus group discussion for mothers who use Dumex or Nespray or Abbott Grow on their 1 to 3 yrs babies or 3 to 6 yrs kids.
You will be paid $100.00 after the 1 1/2hrs. It gotta be on 20th to 22nd of May, time - 10.30am to 12pm or 1 to 3pm, Any taker? Kindly sms me your name, age of babies/kids and brand use to 97640028. Thanks. Sally

Just a quick note to ask if any mummies wanna send their kids to art class at the venue where KiddyABC is held.. this is held on Monday evenings from 7.30pm to 9pm. The present class size is down to 4, the RC may have to close it if the minimum nbr is not met (need 6). 2 parents are thinking of sending 2 of their younger kids to make up for the number but not cfmed.

So if you are interested, please contact:
Christina, the art teacher. She is a qualified teacher.

http://www.christinayap.blogspot.com/

Fees are reasonable, only $90 for 10 lessons.
Would be appropriate for kids above 4.5 years old, I think... Thanks

Hi Sunny

I think Yakult is not so sweet
Hubby and I drink Yakult usually.

Long time no see! If some of you still remember who I am

Finally received a call from Edufarm after 6 months on wait list for the playground. Wants me to confirm today to start in July.

Realised this morning Jessin is also asking for enrolment now from the road banners. Problem is it's at Blk 122. I hv to let my girl take the school bus. Overall cost will be higher including school bus fee (2-way). But i found out that their student teacher ratio is 1:5. Quite good. Thinking of checking out their centre environment.

Any mummies here can share your experience on the 2 centres?

Hi Surf

Jessin is 1:5? This ratio is good. My gal attended edufarm startots for 1mth. The ratio is 2:13 lor. Cant really oversees all children at the same time. Personally i dun like edufarm becoz i find the place nt very clean. becoz it is RC centre and it is shared by others too. like nite time, there are tuition going on..

Oh rlrenn, you in Edufarm now... great, finally found a mummy whose kid is there. Was trying to get feedback in this thread but seems like no one sends their kid there for this year. If I am not wrong, i think it's only 1 qualified teacher at edufarm. The other one is only an assistant. Jessin has 2 qualified teachers (1 teaches english and 1 teaches Chinese) plus a helper. So effectively, it's 3 : 10.

Where do you stay in Toa Payoh? Near blk 122? If not, I guess you probably hv to take their transport too. From my place, can walk lar. Maybe about 15min. But my mil/mum be the one sending her there to and fro, I think they are going to complain to me lor. Haha.

But I was hoping to start my girl asap. Jessin only starts the class next Jan for 2011 intake for kids born in 2008.

Hi surf

no, my gal is nt at edufarm already coz im back to work full time. nw she attends playgroup in jurong.
yes edufarm has only 1 qualifed teacher and the other one just assisting to look after the children. Jessin is also 2hr playgroup?

Hi rlenn

Jurong?! But you staying in Toa Payoh??

Yup, Jessin is also 2-hr playgroup.

Haha, that reminds me, i guess there's 1 vacancy at Edufarm now coz you withdrew. Haha.

surf

haha.. yes mayb u are taking my place.
yes jurong lor. far rite? im staying at my mum's place nw. Cant bear to leave gal alone there lah. i will miss her terribly.

I see. Yah, better to be with you girl rather than be weekend parents. We ever comtemplated that before but I also can't bear to do that.

Actually, I also place myself on wait list for the 1/2 day cc in TPY. Most of them said earliest is Jan next year where my girl can go into N1. The ratio is much higher though but she can be there for 4 hours. Mum/Mil can take a longer break in the morning.

Hey, hokkaido in Dec is cold! Better get your girl the thickest clothing you can find! wool sweater, padded jackets, thermal wear.

which cc in TPY? me also intend to put my gal in cc so tat my mum can take break in the morning. but am sourcing ard jurong.

thickest clothing?? u r scaring me.. wow must lookout for sales nw.. i wonder is it the right time to bring a 2yo gal to winter countries...

I hv heard of not too good reviews about Club HDB but my fren's kid is there for 2 years already. She is not HDB's staff. She said it's actually not too bad. Other than that, i also put my name at Little Skool House and my First Skool. Not that many cc in TPY actually. Nevertheless, will see which one calls me up. All told me no vacancies this year. That's why meanwhile, I thought of sending her to Edufarm to go learn something lar, better than sit at home watch TV right? Mil/Mum already ran out of ideas to entertain her for whole day. haha.

Hmm... personally, I won't bring my kid to winter countries yet. I find it difficult to manage her when she's sick in SG. So I cannot imagine how I can manage overseas. But then again, it's me lar, I think I cannot manage. So I rather not bring her. I do know of mummies who bring their kids to winter countries

Precious - Jessin only asking for playgroup enrolment for children born in 2008, regardless which month they are born in. Class only starts in Jan 2011 though.

Jap's gonna be cold in Dec. I've brought my kids to UK during winter period but then we're there to visit my parents, not so much for a holiday, which means we take things leisurely, stay-in most of the time. You'll need lots of warm clothing that's for sure.

My family drink Yakult ACE, supposedly more healthy bacteria than the norm.

hey surf,wer is little skool hse located at TPY?i just out my son name under waiting list at my first skool..thk by then the vacancy available,my son already turn 2 yo liao...hmm...thk is also a best time for him,but just hope can let him go learn thgs asap...rather than watch tv lo...btw,b4 go for cc,must go play group1st?or is not a must?playgroup is normally how long one? tat day forgot ask the cc..

newmummy08,
Playgrp has a min. age limit and only carter for 2-3 hrs thereafter the child will go back home. Wherease Childcare they hv half or full day programme.

ya lo Dor,i heard is it 2-3 yo only eligible?
hmm...then better go cc for half day....was thk to get my nanny bring him back from cc and evening i go tk him back..but don know how yet,also don know nanny want or not...will see how lo...thx 4 the info.

Sgal,
I am not so sure guess playgrp avg age is ard 1.5yo also depending on the ctr. Perhaps some mummies can advice.

newmummy08,
it will be very costly for u if u r sending your son to half day cc and then to nanny.
if your concern is to let him mingle and learn something, for a start u may wanna consider sending him to few hours of playgrp or enrichment class. otherwise, u can consider switching to full day childcare whereby most ccc will have a comprehensive prog and is more worth it. but then again u'll face some inconvenience such as restricted timing.
again is all depending on what is your priority.

Sgal, Newmummy08
Think Orangeygal posted earlier but here you go anyway.

Ages for the different categories and MCYS minimum teacher student ratio is:
Infants(2 months to 17 months) 1:5
Toddlers(18 months to 30 months) 1:8
Nursery 1 (sometimes called Playgroup)(above 30 months to 3 years) 1:12
Nursery 2(if there is Playgroup, N2 is just "Nursery") (above 3 years to 4 years) 1:15
Kindergarten 1 & 2 (above 4 years to 6 years old) 1:25

But like Dor says, you have to check with the Centre, if e.g. they normally only have a class for 30months onward, but their ratio is still 1:7, they may accept a younger child (cos they will still meet MCYS' student teacher ratio (calculated based on the age of the youngest child in the group). If however their ratio is already 1:9 for that group, than they will probably not accept any younger child.

The centres dont really like to make the above known to people cos if they agree to accept a child younger than the age group, they will have to limit/reduce the total number of children they could otherwise have taken for that age group. But it can be done and you can ask, no harm trying.

opps sorry, just realised you guys were probably talking about a different kind of "playgroup"ing, not half day or full day childcare but 2-3 hour actual supervised "play" with a group keke

Sunny, Yakult ACE is available in most NTUC, Shop&Save, Cold Storage. It's natural (as in original flavour) so I find it less sweet.

Newmummy08 you're most welcome.

JFoo - wanted to buy Yakult Ace for my kid but coincidentally enough, Yakult is right now having a school programme at my girl's childcare. Just got the brochure yesterday.
They have pictures of Yakult and Yakult Ace Light. I asked Principal to check whether we can choose. Principal called up Yakult and they explained that the normal Yakult is better for children. ACE has less 'fats' and is more for adults (who dont want to gain weight). Also you are right, ACE has 30billion of the probiotics bacteria compared to 10billion in the normal Yakult but Yakult said again, the increased bacterial amount is more aimed at the larger adults. May be too strong for children. Just FYI la. In view of the explanation, I think I'll stick to the normal Yakult cos at present if my girl drinks more than 2 bottles a week, she starts having runny stools. But thank you so much for your feedback.

hi Mummies

There's an article in the Today's paper today about Little Neuro Tree's boss having disappeared and creditors are chasing after the company. Do be careful before signing up for further terms if your child is with the school. Apparently there is new management in place but they still have to deal with the creditors.

sunny,
thanks for sharing. i called up tpy branch immediately after rx your text msg.
apparently they said this branch is not affected as they r under franchiased.
keep my fingercross as i'd paid the term fees till sept '10. *sigh*

do your child experience hard stool after taking TCM?
now nanny is giving my gal a bit prune juice to help soften it. alternatively i may try yogurt drinks as well.

dor
If your girl doesn't like yogurt drinks (very rare), try Neobiotics. I found this to be very helpful as well to regulate bowel movements and soften stools. Can buy in Guardian. I give my girl half the recommended dose cos it works (a bit too) well for her. esp good to bring on trips or to give after trips if their normal bowel routine has been upset.

Thanks for the info Sunny. I give my kids (7 and 3) one bottle, probably once or twice a week, so far no problem.

By the way mummies, there's a NEW (yes, more!) brain training centre based at HSR building, it's called Right Brilliance. Classes are split into sections concentrating on - right brain and left brain. Prices are $500 per term for 1hr 15mins (ages 3-6), slightly less for the 1-2 yr olds (1hr).

dor,
now i recall my gal had hard bowels when taking TCM. had to force her to drink more water & eat more fruits. i also was giving her the colostrum during that period but still hard stools but then she's prone to that. think the TCM quite heaty.