Support Group - Stillbirths

angel
the plaque is really beautiful! i think ur children will love them so much! pls take care and dun over work!

hi koli... yah..been having bleeding due to low lying placenta. now better. been on bed for 3 weeks now..hopefully can go to work next week liao

patsy
better rest well. take care of your bb. nothing comes more important than ur bb. dun worry about going to work or what people say. that time i confine on bed for 1 month, my colleague some also said nasty things or gossi behind my back. i also dun care.

hi koli, thanks. so far thngs are ok in the office, am just praying i will stop bleeding soon and can go back to the office for my own sanity!!! hehe

Hi all... i have gone thru all the postings with regards to still-birth and miscarriages. I am shocked that all these can happen even in the last trimester. I will like to know if all these has anything to do with the following;

1) Freqent drinking of cold water & cold drinks
2) Smoking
3) Food

I'm in my 31 wk and beginning to have nightmares and when i chance upon this site, it opened me up to more things.

Do advise....

Strawberry,
It's due to no apparent reason. But do refrain from being a smoker or a passive smoker. Like that, you risk having a smaller than normal baby.

My baby died of umbilical cord complications.

hi everyone..

Angel: Saw the newspaper article on your 3 angels on the Sunday Times. Must say that it was beautifully written and i admired you and your hubby's courage to tell everyone your story. It must have not been easy to go through the interview session. Like you mentioned, we are here for each other and i am always greatful that we have each other's support.

hugs
steph

Hi Angel, after going to your blog, it makes me cry for abt half an hour....as I was thinking my twinnies boy that i lost them 3 weeks+ in Aug. My BBs were on their wk20...

When i gone thru the blog, really heartbreaking...as you have the chance to cuddle your bb girl even its a short moment but I didnt ever have the chance to see my BBs alive when i delivered them out...

Yes, be strong and looking forward, this is all we can do, and pray for our beloved BBs in heaven...

Dear bbteng

sorry to bring you sad memories of your twins...but it's an outlet for my hubby and I to express the pain and tremendous grief we feel inside...I'm a Singaporean but my hubby is from Penang, just curious why did you ask? You need to restore your body after the delivery. Anyone cooking for you? If you need someone to talk to, I can PM you my mobile no...

Steph, so good to see you post again. How have you been? Still tied up at work? Wonder when we can finally meet up for a meal when everyone's so busy! Koli and Estbaby, thanks for your compliments on our babies' niche. We're going to add a tealight holder by the side today so we can illuminate the surroundings each time we visit...

Btw, today's Ashley's 100th Angel Day...we've added a poem to her blog. Do visit it when you all can.

Patsy, do come in here to chat when you're bored...we miss you...keep well ya? We've been bringing Sabie fresh change of flowers each time we visit and I think she loves it.

Hi Angel,

It is a special day for you, your hubby and baby Ashley. I remember when it was Gabriel's 100th day and all i could think of was how we miss him and how we have, with the support of our family and friends, gone through the period without him. Am sure that she, together with her brothers are all in Heaven, watching over you. A tealight holder sounds like a great idea! Am sure that it will bring much warmth and glow to everyone around them too!

Work has been busy.. hoping that it will slow down a bit but the pace has been hectic. And this pace is not going to slow down till Feb next year. Nevertheless, we can always meet up! Patsy is still on bed rest so can't come out but i sure hope she will get better soon.

btw, ur hubby is from Penang? My hubby's family is also from Penang!

bbteng - Am sorry to hear about your loss. you must take care of yourself alright? This is the time for your to rest and like angel said, you need to restore your body.

steph

Strawberry - I still dunno the answer to my stillbirth but am trying my best to be in best of health for the next try.

Angel,

Do you have a copy of the newspaper article? CP told me about it but I dun have newspaper at home.

My work pace is slowing down..so not that busy. Yes, we can definitely meet up.

Take care..
etsbaby

Dear Estbaby,
I've sent the PDF version of the article to your email. Do check if you receive it.

Dear Steph,
how coincidental that our hubbies all hail from Penang! We just went back over the National Day Holiday...Nothing much has changed, still the same old-world charm with lots of good food esp the Chendol with ice-cream!
Thanks for remembering our baby's 100th Day. Hubby took MC and we got to spend longer time at the columbarium. It's very tranquil and quiet on a Tuesday afternoon and we had a 'private' ceremony there. We played music on the CD player, sat on a strawmat, changed the flowers, installed the tealight holder and attached a helium balloon to the niche. Of course, when the song Amazing Grace was played, tears streamed down my face as it's the music that we chose for both Joash and Ashley's funeral...Some people may think we go overboard in trying to commemorate these special days but to us, that's the least we can do as their parents to propagate their memories...

Hi everyone, haven't posted in a while... trying to keep myself busy
slowly trying to surive bed rest.. it's been a month now and i really am starting to go crazy! Really admire Angel for staying in the hospital!!!

I'm trying to do up a website in memory of sabie... never realized it was so hard!!!!

Hi Patsy,

How are you now? Feeling fine?

Angel, I also hope to read the article. Can you e-mail me too? [email protected]

Actually I'm so happy that you hold a private ceremony for yr bb. It's so lovely and sweet action. No. It's not overboard.

Dear Eunice,

article sent. Do check.

Dear Patsy,
it was really tough to be confined to the hospital bed - for few weeks, I wasn't even allowed to have toilet priviledges and had to call for a bedpan everytime
You can imagine how inconvenient that was so do listen to your doc's advice and keep activity to a minimum. Hey, doing up a website for Sabie sounds like a really great idea - can't wait to see it...another busy day...

hi eunice, am better i guess... trying to keep busy to get my mind off things. at least my sister got me a bed lap top try so i can still work/surf/email from bed.

angel... yah.. at least i can go to the loo.. and now can walk to the kitchen once in a while.

Hi Patsy & to all mummies,

Can I ask a stupid question? Is it a must to subscribe to boardband to connect to internet? I'm trying to get a laptop for 2 - 3 months. What if the laptop has no wireless card? What is the cheapest way to get connected without much spending?

hi eunice. err dunno leh, for me we got the broadband with starhub cable tv... i dunno if there is still dial up plans, maybe best to call singtel/starhub to ask?

Hi Angel and Steph, I am also from Penang....

Now I am still in Penang doing my confinement...

Will back to town on Oct 20, then start work in Nov...back to normal life again...

Yes, doing a complete bed rest in hospital is torturing, I have been goen thru it to rescue my twinnies...really hard to pass thru it...by using a bedpan...everything on bed...

Hi! Angel,

I got your mail but cant seem to open the attachment

Patsy - talk about doing up a website! yep, it is not easy but I will look forward to seeing it someday. Maybe next gathering would have to be at your home since you cant come to us, we come to you!!

Hi bbteng,

I presume you are back in Penang becos your family is there to look after you? Were you hospitalised in Singapore or Penang? Anyways, hope that you are feeling better now. Its good that you are giving yourself a good rest cos that is very important.

Angel - it is lovely what you did for Ashley's special day
I went crazy buying the small figurine toys for gabriel so that i can stick them to his niche and we change his toys quite often so that he wouldn't get bored of them. I totally understand what you mean by some people thinking that we are going overboard, but hey, this is just something small that we are doing for them right? small but so meaningful. My family are also getting hooked on getting more small toys for him.. in fact for the coming mid autumn festival, my sister got him a lantern!

Patsy - hey u are not suppose to be up and about too much k? grins.. rest well!

hi eunice, thanks!! am surfing from bed lah, my sister got me a lap top tray for bed

estbaby, yah!! come over!! i get my maid to cook!!! i have actually been dilly dallying on the website coz i get very emotional leh...

steph, yes ma'am!! i hoping to go office sometime next week. will call you !!

hey, am heading to KL for the weekend as it's my twins' EDD on Monday (17 Sep) and we want to get-away and just be alone...

when I'm back, let's visit Patsy (and taste her maid's cooking) shall we?

Steph, yes, i back to Penang now. I was hospitalised at SGH. I have to go back S'pore by Oct and back to office in Nov...

hi..

Its another rainy afternoon. Yes yes, let's visit Patsy (if she is okie with us crashing at her place
next week should be good for me.

Hi girls... you're all very welcome to come over!! Maybe next week is better coz i just had a bad bleeding episode over the weekend.

I'm back...today's my EDD, going away even for a short 2 nights' trip does help to take my mind off the painful memories...ask my hubby why - he says maybe it's the change of scenery and environment. Now that I'm back, start to feel melancholic again...sighz
the house is just too quiet for 2 of us. It's missing the pitter-patter of children's feets and their laughter...

Patsy, am worried to read that you're bleeding again. Please go consult your doc anytime you are unsure, never try to dismiss the symptoms yourself. Really hope this bleeding will stop completely and both baby and you can have a comfortable and safe pregnancy...let us know ya? We'll go visit you only when you're more stable and able to chit-chat (entertain) us. Keep your spirits up in the meantime k?

hi Angel
can understand ur feelings. please be strong ok? at least u have a very supportive and loving hubby.your hubby is really very caring.

Hi Angel, glad that the short break revitalized you! James did mention he didnt' see you in Mandai last Sunday...

Yah, am on strict orders from my gyne that any bleeding that is fresh blood and more than a few spots I have to let him know... am feeling ok actually, just bored and depressed coz Sabie's birthday coming up... but keeping busy and praying that God will keep me and the baby safe.

Hi Patsy, pls rest well...God bless. Hope everything is going well...

Hi Angel, my email add is correct...

Didnt expect me to come to this thread but seemed god wants mi 2 come.

My baby boy had recently became an angel. Today is his 21st day tat he was with the god. Really missed him and whenever I saw his photo or toks abt him, my tears flow naturally.

Now I am trying to recover my feelings and glad to have tis thread which at least I can able to find some support from u gals. Unable to go and c him 2dae as i'm working. Will be visiting him during weekends. Due to my son's incident, my co is not really happy abt my performance.

Dear dilemmagal

my heart sank as I read what you wrote...I am truly sorry to hear of your baby boy's demise but I assure you, all the mummies here feel your sorrow and pain. I for one have received tremendous support from the friendship that's been forged through the unpleasant losses of our babies' deaths...

If it's not too personal, perhaps you might want to share with us what's your bb's name and what happened to him? Where's his niche? Patsy's daughter -Sabie's and my children's are at Mandai Columbarium whereas Steph's son Gabriel's is at CCK Garden of Remembrance. if you need someone to talk to, can PM any of us and we can give you a call...do keep well.

Hi Angel

Thanks, compare to mine and your case, I really admire your courage. I did read the article that you wrote in Straits Times. Really touching.

While my baby boy's name is Jerren. He became angel when he was 4mth and 2 days. The death certificate showed he died due to severe lung disease. He was a very brave boy. I'm having twins - gal and boy. Was diagnoised the boy to have reverse blood flow during 25 wks gestation. Doctors said may not be able to live more than 1 wk but he was strong enough to come out till 28 wks. Wt - 641g. He had a major op on the 1st day of arrival within 24hrs. Still the surgeon told my hb tat the chances of survival onli 10%. 2nd time he pulled thru'. During the 4mths plus in this world, he had total 3 ops and was a success. Imagine we adults almost every mth went 2 op cannot tahan, wonder how's abt the baby? He even can close the PDA by himself without the ops.

Thot after all these 3 ops, everything will become smooth but unfortunately probably due to the lost energy, tat he fights and fights, his lungs had to depend 100% oxygen on the machine for abt 1 mth. When I saw him in this way, my heart pains. Finally I told him : My handsome Jerren, if u cannot tahan the pain and wishes to give up, go ahead and bcome an angel. Mummy cant bear to leave u but if it is good for u, mummy had to leave u but promise mummy tat u will bcome my baby boy again."

He was cremated in Mandai columbarium but his niche was put at "kong meng San monastery" as his great grandma, his grandpa were all there. I even purchased myself and my hb niche in advance so that when both of us died, we can be together with my baby boy.

Thanks for the condolence. As I said I'm trying to recover my feelings but will cry like now when I tok abt my baby son. My hb said we can hv another baby but no one will be able to understand tat he is he and future baby will b future baby. They both hv different lives.

hi angle..

hope u are getting on well.. just dropping by to see how u are doing..

i missed the sunday times article that u wrote.. can you share it with me if u dun mind..?

ladies.. u are all very strong. i really admire ur courage in facing all these difficulties.

i've gone thru a miscarraige in May this yr.. but seriously.. it's nothing as compared to what u gals have gone thru.

pls be strong and may things go well for all u ladies here in the future.

HI Dilemmagal, sorry for yr loss....
At least you have your DD to accompany by yr side... some of us none... I also lost my twinnies boys in Aug, both stillborn BBs, dead b4 I delivered then on wk20 due to water bags burst.... long story... more or less the same as Angel...

The only thing we can do is "be strong"...

Dear Hopes

haven't seen you around for a while too. Very touched that you came to check on me. I just went to Dr Loh y'day for my review - told him I still v much want to have a baby so what's next for us. He reiterated again, 'Surrogacy' (before I was discharged from KKH, he already asked my hubby and I whether we are interested as he sits in this steering committee looking at introducing surrogacy in Singapore.
We said 'no'. I asked should I try IVF again but Dr Loh said he's afraid my womb may fail me again
He's afriad if he stitch up my cervix, when my womb goes into involutary contractions at 20+ weeks pregancy, it'll result in more complications when baby cannot be delivered in time. So the road ahead is really bleak - I almost have zero chances of ever conceiving, or having my own babies. Looks like we either have to be content with being childless or search around for adoption after we've saved enough (my recent twin losses+hospitalisation bills depleted all ou savings). Dilemmagal, I believe it's the same for you too right as you were trying to save Jerren at all costs

Since so many mummies want to read that Straits Times article, let me try to post it here.
<!-attachment-!><center>
attachment_icon.gif
</center><!-/attachment-!>

Dear Hopes

haven't seen you around for a while too. Very touched that you came to check on me. I just went to Dr Loh y'day for my review - told him I still v much want to have a baby so what's next for us. He reiterated again, 'Surrogacy' (before I was discharged from KKH, he already asked my hubby and I whether we are interested as he sits in this steering committee looking at introducing surrogacy in Singapore.
We said 'no'. I asked should I try IVF again but Dr Loh said he's afraid my womb may fail me again
He's afriad if he stitch up my cervix, when my womb goes into involutary contractions at 20+ weeks pregancy, it'll result in more complications when baby cannot be delivered in time. So the road ahead is really bleak - I almost have zero chances of ever conceiving, or having my own babies. Looks like we either have to be content with being childless or search around for adoption after we've saved enough (my recent twin losses+hospitalisation bills depleted all ou savings). Dilemmagal, I believe it's the same for you too right as you were trying to save Jerren at all costs

I tried uploading the article here for mummies who want to read that Straits Times article published on Sep 9 but failed. Please PM me your email and I'll send it over.

with love,
neverbaby

Dear Dilemmagal,

So sorry to hear your lost. What I can say to you is be strong! Really hope that you will recover your pain soon. Little Jerren is really a strong boy.

Hi Angel,

Maybe you take a short break. Am I too harsh to ask you not to think for re-convieve again for the time being?

Pls take good care of your health. God may have a plan for you, but need you to take good care of yourself 1st.

Hi Angel

Y u cant hv baby anymore? Sorry to say that I really didnt go thru all the messages in this thread. If you dun mind sharing with mi, u can pm mi.

Btw, wat is surrogancy. It is new to mi. Can share?

Yap, the hospitalisation fee for both of my children were a big bomb. My baby gal bill is ok but not the baby boy as he used the most advance technology machine to support his lungs. 1 day rental is $1k. Total my bill was abt $60k.

To All
Thanks every1 of your moral support. Yup, I am trying to coup my feelings as I am planning to have another baby.

Well, truth to be told, I dunno much about the technical and legal aspects of surrogacy too but in essence, I'll have to undergo another fresh cycle of IVF, have my eggs stimulated and retrieved, fertilised with my hubby's sperms in the lab, then instead of replacing the embryoes back into me (since my womb is 'faulty' and will automatically expel the baby in late 2nd trimester, terminating the pregnancy), doc will put the embryoes back into a surrogate mother. It's like we're borrowing another woman's womb to carry our baby for us. This surrogate mother will charge a fee (very high fee you bet! on top of all her medical and hospital bills) for helping us (or other couples) to carry the baby to full term until delivery then surrender the baby back to us. Surrogacy is highly controversial but legal in USA and India. Singapore is looking at allowing Surrogacy to boost baby population. I guess, my case is the classic example which suits surrogacy hence Dr Loh's recommendation.

At the moment, we have turned down this idea and will wait for adoption opportunities to arise. After going through so much, we believe we can love any baby as our own.