Support group - Miscarriages

Hi Mildstrawberry,

I din know that Dr Mahesh only visit NUH once a week. Now all the more I'm uncomfortable. If any of his patients are hospitalised or delivered, will he see them every day in the ward or he will assign his team Dr? To be fair, we are paying pte rate, shouldn't we see our Dr everyday if we are in the ward?

I see my Gynae everyday when I'm warded in TMC. He sees me even on Sun & CNY eve.

I think b4 you decide whether to go back to Dr Cheng, suggest you see how Dr Mahesh will handle you case & what is his plan. At the end of the day, we must be comfortable with who we are seeing.

Hi Ling,

I also hope nothing else show up from the test. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

hi Athen

yeah, will see first...
true enough, that is not convenient but dr.Mahesh also has private practise in Camden medical.

btw, you also diagnosed with protein S- deficiancy?
now i am wondering if it is one of the reason of restricted baby growth that caused my previous MCs

Hi Mildstrawberry,

I wander if Dr Mahesh delivers in any pte hosp since he has a pte practice?

Dr Mahesh has not officially disgnosed me as Protein S deficiancy. He just briefly mentioned that it is in the normal range. But a bit low. I think he will see all the test results b4 he make any conclusive comments.

Me too ...was so devasted!!!

I was at week 12....went to see gene as per schedule....after a detail scan, doctor said cannot detach heartbeat anymore....it was all right when I see him at week 8, I hv no spotting,bleeding no unusual feel at all...was already doing my best to take care of myself....ask doctor to save my baby, he said how can I retrieve A dead baby.....

CAN SOMEONE pls share to can we prevent baby heartbeat NOT TO stop???

This is my 2nd baby...1st also hv no heartbeat problem
At week 6

I just hope someone can highlight to us, how to cue and don't let this problem repeat itself again!!!

Hi Miko,

Sad to hear your loss. Hugs..

Typically, there are many causes for miscarriage such as chromosone problem, immunity problem or blood clotting problem, etc. Unless you do a detail blood test, if not, you won't be able to find out what causes the miscarriage & how to cure. There are also some people who ran all the blood tests & all is turns out fine. If you want to find out what happen & how to cure, suggest to do a blood test. Good luck.

Hi athens....tks for ur fast reply.....yes, hubby and I will consult dr on how to go bat testing our blood , to find out if possible.

CAN someone share the surrogate mum information - the source and contact u guys know to share.......

Lots of my friend said they already take supplement - iron & calcium once they tested positive and given by their gyneo

Is it crucial??..I am wondering could i not been tarking those supplement mention causes my baby heartbeat to stop,

Could iron & calcium pill cause baby heartbeat to STOP FUNCTION?

Pls kindly advise?

Hi Miko,

Stop blaming yourself for what you could have done or not done to cause the heartbeat to stop. Although it is essential to take supplements such as folic acid, multi-vit given by gynae, there could be other reasons (I mentioned in my previous post) that caused the miscarriage. I also understand that there are some mummies who did not take supplement & still give birth to healthy bbs.

For my case, I faithfully take folic acid, multi-vit even before I'm preg. But things still happen. Till now, I have not find a reason for the miscarriages. Still waiting for my blood test results.

To find out the reason for miscarriage, go for a blood test.

For recurrent miscarriages or multiple IVF failures, its high suspect genetic problems are at work right? Then is karyotyping good enough or have to also test for Lupus Anticoagulant, Anti-cardiolipin, Protein C & Protein S-Funct etc? Is NUH the best place to test all these?

Hi Miko...

If there is a way to prevent the baby heart from stopping I would gladly go through whatever is necessary however no such gurantee in life I guess. No one to blame for this sorta incidences.. Hence don't ever think is something you did or ate that cause it.

Sunny, I think karyotyping is just one of the tests available...I have done the mentioned tests and my results were good. However another test I did for my endocrine show I have abonormal high in antibodies. I am with NUH now to try and locate the exact problem. After numerous visits they were the only hospital willing to run through more tests for my recurrent mcs .. Might be worthwhile to check them out.

Hopefully God keep up with us because cannot help to think if he have forgotten about us.

Dear All

Was glad to come across a local forum about miscarriage. I have just terminated my preg at 25wk5days last mth at NUH. This was my 5th unsuccessful preg for consecutively 5 yrs. This added up to 3 x 2nd trimester termination which i hv to deliver them at 20-21wk and the other 2 was early m/c. It was really heartbreaking esp. this is my 1st preg that past 20th wk.

I have SLE and APS for many yrs, my past m/c was due to my illness even though i'm on clexane and aspirin. This preg i was on IVIG every 4 wk and it works! There's no blood flow prob, etc. On the 20th wk detailed scan we found out baby has a few structural defects. We did fetal blood sampling to chk for abnormality i can't do amniocentesis as my amniotic fluid is too low. They found out sth wrong with one of the chromosome. Both my hb and myself did cyctogenetic test and found out i'm a balanced translocation carrier. I'm 37 this yr, what are my odds now?! Why others can have healthy babies whereas i have to deliver to dead babies. We can only try again and pray i'll get a good egg next round.

My O/G told us to try after 2 cycles, non of my frds supported me as they are worried about my health, but i intended to try again next yr. Really hope I have no more health issue.

I've seen many specialists from private practice at Mt.E, Glene and Thomson all these yrs...in the end i'm back to NUH. I'm happy with the doctors i'm seeing now and the service is so much better compared to 10 yrs ago.

Hi Jaraine,

I wonder why we are chosen because it is ridiculous to have us go through such turmoil again and again.

I am just so inspired by your strength and your attitude because if you arent strong you cannot continue the journey. Hush.. you will not deliver dead babies... no more.

Are you taking additional supplements? Like CoQ10 and royal jelly to try and better the egg quality for next cycle? You must have heard them all anyways.

At the same time did the gynae say what are the chances for a balanced translocation carrier to have a chorosome defect? Also when did you start on the IVIG? Before the pregnancy or only after pregnancy?

I agree with you that NUH was the only hospital that actually was willing to find out more with me compared to other hospitals and gynae. Although I have only been to a pathetic appointment there I have experience a comforting experience and already DYING to go for my next appt.

Let keep in touch and give strength to one another. =)

Hi Jaraine, sorry to hear that. You have been thru so much. Rest well and nurse your health again before trying as your body is very much weakened now. Is cyctogenetic test also known as karyotyping? Another though came to my mind as i believe i also have defective eggs, wonder if PGD can be performed in our cases via IVF to only transfer the normal embryos so that the pregnancy wont run into risks?

Thanks Ling, is endocrine (antibodies) test any of the few i mentioned? Seems like there are tonnes of tests to do, oh no.

Good nutrition with good supplements will definitely help all of you. We are just not getting our basic microtrients frm our daily food. We have to understand this as the world changes, our food is more and more depleted in nutrition and add on the millions of free radicals we get from stressfull lifestyle, handphones, sun, smoke, drugs, pesticide etc...

Hi Sunny,

Antithyroid antibodies test is TPO so not in the list... The ones you mentioned resembles the miscarriage profile test which I think is pretty crap judging by so many ladies here go through them and find the readings good which doesnt exactly pinpoint any reasons for mcs

I went to NUH and they sent me to another 10 antibodies test to see what autoimmune disease I might have as well. Still waiting for the blood tests but the doctor have confirm my TPO can be a possible cause of my recurrent miscarriage as it prevent proper implantation hence might have resulted in oblighted ovum for my 2nd and 3rd miscarriage

Hi Ling,

I'm only on folic, vit B complex and calcium nvr try CoQ10 and royal jelly be4. But i've read gd things bout taking such supplements. As i'm on alot of medications daily plus i'm also taking tcm med, sometime i pop pills until i wanna puke. You have any good brands to recommend? Maybe i shld try.

In theory, 25% should be normal, 25% should have the same translocation, 50% will have an unbalanced translocation but i think all depends on the eggs, if there r more unbalanced eggs then my chances of m/c will be higher. I'm seeing Dr Sheila Vasoo for my lupus and APS, she actually suggested i do the IVIG prior to conception for maximum benefit but we chose to start only after we confirmed pregnancy as we duno how soon i will conceive and indeed it tooks us 6 mth before i get a positive result!! IVIG is an expensive treatment ard $2k+ per treatment (could be less or more depend on dosage) so can u imagine the cost if we start prior to conception plus ongoing treatment for the whole preg as in my case. I stopped the IVIG after 4 treatments when we found out baby has some defects at 20th wk cos my o/g find it's a waste of $ if we continue since baby is not normal. If there's IVIG long before i would hv 2 kids already. My last 2 has no physical defects. Now i hv to start all over again with additional issue.

Hope they find out the cause of ur m/c and provide the right treatment for u soon.

Hi Sunny,

Yes it's karyotyping. I think you can opt for pgd w/ivf. My o/g nvr suggest me to go for this maybe cos i've no problem conceiving naturally plus ivf dun guarantee a successful preg on 1st cycle. the success rate is not so much higher than me trying for a normal preg. naturally. We will try for another yr or so...we might consider pdg w/ivf as last option before i turn 40. HOpefully not!! Must tell myself to be positive!!! Can u imagine every preg i'll hv nightmares giving birth to a DS baby even docs tell me i'm not hi risk since i've early m/c then but who noes it really came true! Buy 4D aso nvr strike so easily!

Hi jaraine,

Me with dr vasoo as well
... the problem for me is that if I don't take the ivig I possibly end up with another blighted ovum because of bad implantation.. because my body have high risk of rejecting anything foreign in this case the fetus. Goodness 2 k a month. I better keep working in this case... Sigh

I am taking generic ones I bought from webshop. One of the royal jelly and bee pollen mix was quite a hit with ladies from a particular foreign forum for miscarriages. I am using the exact brand right now. If you need information do pm me. Coq10 I am taking 1 with selenium which is have shown it brings down the thyroid antibodies which I have. More convenient to pop 1 pill that contain both of the element. Let me know if you need info too.

Given your fertility rate I think u be preggers in no time! I know the pain because I was taking tcm but due to heavy travelling the past month I have temp halt it because getting hot water is like pulling teeth. Arrghhhh!! So many things to take but we only have 24 hours to rotate them!!

At least there is hope rather than the generic just throw again and off they send us off the door. Ladies with recurrent mcs don't give up! There is hope after all!!

Hello Girls,

It's been a while, I see that there are more and more girls joining us at this thread, which is obviously not good.
If I have carried the baby successfully, I would have given birth around this period. It's been a difficult 9 mths for me. Maybe this year is just now my year. I hope next year will be so much better.

Good luck girls, Hopefully when we stand together, we hear more good news!

Hi Reine..

I know how u feel.. coz if i hadnt mc, my baby would be due in another 2 weeks too.... hugz hugz... but we need to be positive... so babydust to all!!!

chatty! yeah, i remember.
When I got pregnant, it was only few months since i got married. Now, 1 year later, i still have nothing. Sometimes, when people ask, I still don't really know what to say.
Anyway, how have you been???

glad to have found this thread and reading some of your posts that are indeed insightful. i am a lupus patient who only detected my anti ro and anti la when my daughter was born. i am also ANA positive and my anti ds DNA is high. (not sure what the last one is). my girl was born full term but had neonatal lupus. she was a little small at birth 2.7 kg but no other issues accept for the rash on her face. she's now 3 and the antibodies have cleared so she's ok.

however, i had one miscarriage (blighted ovum) when she was 17 months and am pregnant now again. the bad news is... doc couldn't detect anything at 5 week scan and i think my hcg level is low. i'm going to see him tomo to get the actual numbers and re-doing my BT again. i wonder if the nuh treatment is effective for people with autoimmune problem like us? is the queue long for nuh treatment and who do we book appt with? prof mahesh or the rheumatologist? thanks gals.

Reine... ive been ok... trying not to think abt it.. esp these few weeks...

I hate it when people ask actually.. i know its no fault of theirs coz they dunno what we have been thru.. but the feeling just sucks.. and there doesnt seem to be a "correct" way of answering them...

How abt u? Doing alrite?

Hi jaradine, sorry to hear abt wat u been thru but i really admire ur strength n perseverance!

Hi sunny, saw ur posting at the other thread... wanted to mention to u to have antibodies tested.

Hi Tub,

I think more appropriate to book with the rheumatologist however I think yours is really too early into the pregnancy to detect the sac. Why not give it a couple of weeks...

As per Jaraine, it seems to work. I am inspired by her and dying to go to NUH even though I stay in the other side of Singapore.. arrggh!! I think you can request and see what they say. For me I got the appt really fast but for you I really think give it time... 5 weeks still really early to detect fetal pole isnt it.

Hi tub, do u have symptoms of Lupus now or even before u are tested positive for it?

Juz a short intro abt myself, i had 2 falied iui and 1 failed ivf and been trying to conceive for 4 years. Had mild hyper thyroid for 6 years but under controlled n recently then found out i had high thyroid antibodies!! Which no doctors had mentioned to me that these antibodies will diificulties in conceiving n also high miscarriage chance!

Hi ling, thx... I really hope to see something but after the last experience, I m scared. Also, I hv absolutely no pg symptoms now so not hopeful at all. I will call nuh for my next tic if this one fails.

Lyn, nope. I hv no symptoms at all, before pg, during pg and after. I just had a rude shock when daughter was born cos she had this huge butterfly patch on her face!!!!!!! Even the pd, ob and skin doc in mt a couldnt diagnose. We only found out a week later when we visited the skin ctr. Imagine the trauma. But she is ok now. Patch is gone and normal.

Hi Tub,

No symptons doesnt mean anything.. Must have positive thoughts! Despite having the 3rd miscarriage I am still hopeful that it will hold for my 4th.

I am throughly inspired by Jaraine experiences at NUH to be truthful.

Lyn, how you will keep your appt with NUH?

just drop by to say hi. Reading all the post, and want to say thank you for very informative posting. Although most....i don't really understand what is it... Hope we can overcome this recurrent MCs finally and soon see good news posting.
My spotting after D&C finally stopped for a good 3 weeks. Now, i am having my first "natural" (not induced) menses. Taken blood test on 2nd day, waiting for the result.

Tub, stay positive. I know it is hard, but be strong. 5 weeks is still eary. Try to find something to do that cheer you up.

Hi my hcg dropped to 38 so no hope for this one. How do u contact nuh to make the appt? Can let me know the process?

Bibi,

You how many MC ald? is it 3? You still taking the RJ?

Tub, So sorry to hear that =( I have book with NUH on their website and cite recurrent miscarriage as a reason and they got back to me pretty fast.

Lyn.. Go lah.. see if it helps. I mean at this point of time I think we either do it or remain childless period.

yes lyn, try. that's the least we could do or leave it up to luck. i just got online with nuh. hope they get back soon.

ling, i'm ok la. used to it now since it's my 2nd mc already. but i was in such a bad mood i lashed out at my daughter ystd when she threw a tantrum. my mum said i was crazy. i am currently with a rheumatologist (right spelling?) at mt e. just did a blood test with her (that cost me $300+++!!!!!!) and waiting for the result in 2 weeks. i will also ask her about the nuh treatment and sees what she says.

bibi, thanks...i try to. my daughter is my sunshine these days although she drives me nuts. come to think of it, she is really a MIRACLE, isnt it! i'm glad i didn't know about my condition at all when i was preggy with her.

so to all of us who have abnormal antibodies here, it's STILL POSSIBLE to have a baby. we just have to endure a little more, suffer a bit more and pay a bit more than other people but it is possible! jia you!

Ling,

i had 2 MC. Yes, i am still taking the RJ.

Tub, i can understand your feeling. My son is also my sunshine. Don't think too much, make sure you have a good rest and recovery.

chatty, yeah, doing well. we havent been trying cos we just changed jobs. I guess it's going to take a while before i have good news.

tub & ling & bibi: *hugz* I can't imagine going through this more than once, it has a very bad effect on me the 1st time! Both of You must be really strong. I really hope we can all 'graduate' from this thread soon.

Hi reineluv, thx so much. I had d&c ysyd. I was fast and I was out of my dr's clinic in no time. Made an appt with prof mahesh on dec 2. I hope he can share some insights with me when I show him my blood test report.

Jeraine,jia you. I have an ex colleague who has an issue with balanced translocation. I think her hubby shares the same condition. Thing is, she had 3 miscarriages, all at about4-5 months but she has one healthy daughter as well. She must be 7this year.

I've had 3m/cs each yr from 2007,08,09.
I spent $$ to do all testings,including chromosome testing for POC,for me & my hubby.

Luckily,I've had a 6yrs old son.I feel sad everytime I look at him playing alone n i can't give him a sibling.

After my 3rd m/c,i stopped trying for a yr.I've no problem to conceive,though i am under treatment for hyperthyroid.

My 1st m/c:heartbeat stopped ard wk7
2nd m/c: Chromosome problem with baby,result shows that he is a triploidy
3rd m/c: Blighted ovum.

I took a yr break n now I am 6wk preggie n gynae did a scan n found no heartbeat,it is a 5wk gestation sac.I suspect it is another blighted ovum & i am reali sad. If it is really another blighted ovum,this will be my 4th m/c & i wonder if i hv a courage to try again or i just give up.

both my hubby & my chromosomes r fine. I did auto-immune-lupus ARP4 tests as well,everything turn out to be normal.
I oso did a miscarriage profile test consist of kidney/diabetes,the result is ok.

Both my hubby n me lead a healthy lifestyle so i reali can't understand why this keep happening to me!

I've visited numerous gynae from SF Loh at KK,Peter Chew, at Glen,TC Chang at TMC,Ann Tan at Mt Elizabeth..etc...But nobody can treat my recurrent m/c.

We ever think of PGD,IVI,but it doesn't prove that they will ensure good DNA eggs/sperms.

Hi all, I don't know what to do???

When I had my 1st IVF, I was told few eggs all cannot be used...I hv to take donor eggs....imagine after few years of marriage, last resort and hope is IVF....but my hope are All crash after a call fr a doctor at 6am.....to say all my eggs canny use and no tranfer and I can only get pregnant by donors egg fr other kind soul

Ok...we agreed as diagnosed by gyneo.....we went able , donor egg but Ivf failed.....we never give up....we went to another gene to try....went for operation for me and hubby then try ivf under hum....failed again

With many years of trying Chinese sinseh, tar king medicine, iui....ivf....all still failed...we are already lost

Then I got pregnant naturally after.....1 st time pregnant...kind of shocks....but bb no heartbeat , miscarriage at week 6

Was sad but somehow more encouraging to try again ....at least I can get pregnant

Try all my best, eating right, work less then see a new Chinese sinseh to bu body....change a new fen Sui master....finally after 1 years, I was pregnant again!!!!

This time I v v careful, bur pregnant was tough at 1st tri

Tough morning sickness....but i tolerate...try my best to be at home, resting

Then after few scan and baby heartbeat and developing well until 3 months

My 5 scan and Check up ...up what I hated most....my bb stopped growing, heartbeat stopped and die!!!!!

I dunno what to say, what to do...I was devasted

After coming 10 years of trying for a baby ...up till now, it's my FATE....went to numerous gene..at different hospital...

Still I can't just fulfill a chance to just have a healthy baby of my own

I am lost with words and what's more can I do???

Hi reineluv,

not sure if we are strong but we don have a choice. It was destined we go through the heartbreak so many times I guess but hopefully that wouldn't break us.

Tub, what blood test you done with the rheumatologist at mt e? I think some of the girls here also doing more tests in nuh and me too actually costing up to 1 k so must be prepared. I am now not sure if going to the gynae should be the route or should we get our autoimmune check done by the rheumatologist than proceed to a gynae. It is very confusing right now. I am waiting for my diagnosis soon and will update all so we can make an informed choice.

Hi avocado and miko,

the thing is we have done so many tests but somehow the few that I feel we are suppose to do and which are most common is the one for antibodies are something which gynae almost never ask us to do. If our bodies is just not allowing our fetus a chance and attack it when they are an ovum .. I have done so many rubbish tests that yield nothing until a non related request of test from my endocrine doctor that reveal my abnormal high thyroid antibodies in my system. It is a little sad that I took 3 miscarriages and continously questionings and research on the Internet to find out.

The comforting fact is that we might have a solution with nuh and jaraine testimonial to how ivig would work give me some hope ... Blighted ovum should not be a recurrent issue if it does happen again we really need to check why. The rheumatologist cite the possibilites of the thyroid antibodies prevent the ovum from implantation hence resulting in my last 2 blight ovum miscarriages.

I don't know if I would give up just yet but I will try very hard again because the longing to have a little of hubby and me is very strong and I want to at least to be able to say we tried and if we remain barren it was in Gods' plan.

Girls, on a side note... I am curring taking supplements to prepare my body for conception.

I have been taking coq10 with selenium and royal jelly from this particular brand. I used to buy them from spree but the broken royal jelly jars are a waste of my money hence been buying from this webshop for the past few weeks Www.babydustshop.blogspot.com so I don't have to worry abt broken jars. This royal jelly I have been reading in some foreign thread on ivf and miscarriage N Apparently most of the ladies in the thread that have tried from 2008 And 2009 most of them have had a successful birth in their signature information. At this point I just want to try everything.

I have been receiving some emIls asking me abt the supplements I am taking so I thought I would just shared it here.

Thanks Jaraine, Lyn and sisters for helping with my qns.

So not of the usual tests are helpful? Main thing should do autoimmune and karyotyping? Lupus and all the protein tests useful to do? My gynae has agreed to karyotyping for me but didnt propose more, wonder what are some of the other tests i should bug him for.

hi Ling, is thyroid antibodies covered under normal thyroid tests - T3, T4 etc ...? I have done those and was told results normal. If not under normal thyroid tests then i have 1 more test to bug my gynae for. Or can do at normal GP since thyroid related?

Miko, hugs, i PMed you when i read your post in another thread.

Avocado, don't be sad for your son. I'm sure he'll grow up fine with or without a sibling. I've seen many pitiful souls who have many siblings too. Many people like to stereotype single child, which is so unfair.

Ling, I'll do both concurrently. Most importantly I just want to see watt prof mahesh says about my condition first.

Hi sunny,

thyroid antibodies is not covered by thyroid test. The name is actually tpo testing. Lupus and karoytyping I have done too And it does rule out certain factors. However in m. Opinion if anyone here have thyroid issues they should have thyroid antibodies check. I think u can actually get it done at gp is really not a big test but something to rule out possible autoimmune disease.

Tub, yeah I think is good to go both concurrently.

We will see some light somehow!!

hi Ling,Sunny,
Thyroid Screen is called Thyroid Profile T3(TP3) consists of:
FREE T4
T3
TSH
Thyroglobulin Antibody
TPO Antibody

I've done this test before.However,I am not sure is Thyroid Antibodies u refered to is it TPO antibody?

Hi avocado,

Yes that is the tpo antibodies I am talking abt. I have done another 10 possible antibody tests with nuh recently and waiting for results to see any more form of auto immune diseases thru the rheumatologist now.

Coincidentally I was rummaging my past company overall wellness test and also saw my reumatoid factor is marked as exceptional another hint of another form of auto immune disease.

alamak... i only know about ana, anti ro, anti la. u mean there are so many more to test? FAINT.

For those who have seen dr mahesh, what will he say or do during the first consultation? can advise?

Hi Jaraine,

I feel very sad after reading your post. You are very strong. I have 4 MC. Now seeing Prof Mahesh at NUH to investiage on my MCs.

Which Gynae did you see in NUH? How often does he see you? How do they monitor your bb's growth during each visit? Using ultra sound?

Hi tub,

Please bring all your medical report (blood test results, pap smear results) during you 1st consultation. Also bring your hubby's report (if any). Prof Mahesh will review the results & put you on more blood test if he think is necessary. He won't tell you much until he gets the results.

My blood test experience at NUH sucks. Got to draw blood 3 times. 2 out of 3 times, the nurse cannot find my blood vessel. They poke the needle in & start pushing the needle in & out trying to find it. Really painful. Why do I have to go thru this?

I'm very emotional these days. My son asked me why I don't give him a DiDi. What can I say? I'm really sad. Will be seeing Prof Mahesh next Thurs for the blood test results.

Athen, thanks for the information! Will remember to bring the results. As for blood tests, i've done at least 4 in Mt e this past week?!!! Most are to determine my beta hcg for the recent MC and 1 for the tests ordered by my rheumatologist. I tell myself at least there's prof mahesh here to help us and at least we are proactively seeking help from him and not merely griping. At least there's some light at the end of the tunnel and there's someone out there who could attempt to answer our questions. Can you imagine i asked my gynae the link between my lupus antibodies and my miscarriages as well as why i managed to have a healthy baby for my first pregnancy and his reply was: Oh! it could POSSIBLY be due to lupus antibodies and for your baby, that's because she's a blessing. I know she's a blessing but that's not what i want to hear! I think we need scientific explanation for our condition(s) and ways to resolve them and not leave things to blessings and luck.

Stay strong, ok?

How old is your son?