Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Hi Riushiki,
After my laparotomy, I tried for a stressful 6 months and got pregnant on clomid, but that was ectopic. I went for laparoscopy then and gynae checked and removed any endo. Then I rest for a month and next month (Oct05) good news already
I did put a lot of efforts into reading up about my condition and watched my diet since May05. I have given up coffee and anything with caffeine, given up instant noodles and canned food, cut down on dairy products since Oct04 after my laparotomy. I also cut away fast food and soft drinks. Changing diet to see results will take some time. Do be patient with it
I do take organic supplements too and drink fresh fruit juice almost everyday. Beetroot is good for us
I dun drink any types of juice.
It's not easy to change one's diet. But I do believe if you really want and have strong reasons for doing it, you will be able to do it without much efforts

Yes, breast cancer, or rather women's cancer are due to excess estrogen. Breast cancer, colon cancer and ovarian/womb cancer have some relationship, according to my cousin's oncologist. According to my gynae, endo is in between fibroids and cancer.
I realised that people with cysts/endo tend to like breads, cakes, chocolates, muffins, etc... most of the sweet things.

hmmm... my diet is still not the ideal one
I am still trying to change my habits and my likings for food. I have cut away seafood now. I eat mostly vegetables and fruits - 5 colours and 6 types per day. Plus nuts and beans. I still eat some pork and beef. I love cheese, so I still take cheese once in a while
I do not drink milk and yoghurt already. I avoid acidic food. There's a long list of acidic food to avoid
If I buy soy milk, I will buy the unsweetened one or one without preservatives
. I cut down a lot on deep fried food too, only take once in a while to satisfy my palate. Deep fried food is really no good... You can read up on the "principles" behind it. It gotta do with enzymes reactions with heated oil.
I read "Fit for Life" by Harvey and Marilyn Diamond and am trying to follow their diet plan for health. Just to clarify first, I do not mean diet to slim down... I also read books by Dr Bernard Jensen - the father of holistic health.

Backache during menses is a symptom of endo.

Regarding insurance, I also stopped buying insurance already cos there's exclusion to my pelvic area now. And I do not like my agent :p. haha... I think we got no "yuan" cos I dun like him... he dun like to talk to me maybe cos I have no income, and only interested to talk to my hubby. hahaha... and I asked my hubby dun buy from him cos I dun like him... :p Think he better go find out who can affect the decision making... Power of women... kekeke...

Oh yes, Riushiki, after my laparoscopy, my hubby also changed his diet and start to take supplements to improve his health. Cos my gynae suspected the ectopic I had is due to the sperms...

Hi hopeformiracle,
I wanted to buy pink of health. But becos there's exclusion, I chose not to buy already. I find my agent no good. He dun help a lot and dun give me good advice... Dun like him... Next time if he gonna ask my hubby out and plan for our "financial freedom". I will ask him if he's financially free already... hahaha... I am looking around for one that is very good

Hi sad heart,
Try to TTC first
But a very important thing is, stress is no no for conception.

Hi giggler,
Oh, I did not know pink of health can only claim once for one illness... hmm...
I dun really believe in insurance now. There are just too many clauses and too "mafan" already. And I am spending so much now on insurance... The agents over-promised most of the times. hmm... if any of you insurance agent out there... dun shoot me hor... that's just what I feel. My cousin bought 150k, but dunno what type of insurance, she can only claim 50k per year for her stage 4 cancer! I am expecting to be able to claim 100% she's covered for once the cancer is stage 4.

Talking about Pink of Health?? I made a claim from my hospital stay last year and its was quite easy but after that I did not renewed the policy because they add in the exclusion for me... So unfair.. :p So now I only have Healthshield policy...

Hi Girls
Can't chat with you all liao.
I going BKK this afternoon.

Will stick to my simple diet while I am in BKK. Not easy but will try lah :x :x

Enjoy yourself and will chat with you all when I am back ! :p

Hi all ladies,

Thank you for all your advises. I'll try to relax myself as much as possible. But sometimes the mind juz keep thinking....also dunno think what...juz couldnt fall asleep fast. Last nite I told hubby that I want to go for a short trip to relax (cheap ones). Anybody can suggest any short trip which i can relax? But I scared Indonesia area...so no Indonesia for me hor...keke Thks!

Hi hopeformiracle,
Sorry i wrote the CARE charges on a piece of paper. But once heard so expensive, I threw the paper away. Maybe to me it is expensive, to others who can afford, may find it cheap.

Hi Giggler,
Yes...my husband also said while waiting for appt to go KKH (not yet go Polyclinic, haha) can juz TTC naturally first. When my appt with KKH is due, I'll then ask KK gynae if it is necessary for me to do SO-IUI.

lyn, so you're one of those who got preggie right after the laparoscopy.

Riushiki, enjoy yourself at BKK!

sad heart, how abt M'sia? Maybe Langkawi? Just try naturally first.

wat tis the Chinese physician talkking abt? I had endo removed 3mths ago, now got the 2nd jab. dun noe wat else can help as my gynae say continue the jab, ??helpless...thought of trying out with TCM. any one try.. or suggest. I also have change my diet to more fresh fruits, less meat, and fried food..etc doing exercise.

Hi giggler,
Actually I did not desperately try like I did before the laparoscopy.
Perhaps being stress free does helps

Hi sad heart,
What about going to somewhere in Malaysia? For example, Frasers Hill, Cameron Highlands, Langkawi, Penang, etc.

How's everybody today?

Hi Lyn,
Nice to see u here! Thanks a lot for all your encouragements all these while. I'll try my best to look at brighter side. I'll focus my 'energy' on my gal now and dun think abt TTC. Will let it come by naturally.

tanny, me also consider to go for TCM for a try to cure my endo. But still haven decide on one.

lyn, agreed that feeling stress-free does help in TTC. That's why there's so many stories abt pple who stop trying after many yrs, can conceive naturally.

qwer, how old is your gal now? I also have a gal, she's 18mths now.

hopeformiracle, you just boil the veg, that's all? I just had yong tau fu for lunch with all veg stuff.

wah you all good hor... can really change your diet so fast... me die liao lah..today already taken 2 cups of coffee... how to cure lidat??

Beary,

Just tell urself lor, u want bb or u want to be operated again. Determination is very important. Try to reduce to 1 cup coffe a day.

beary, I tell myself that I dun want to go for op again. That's why now I think carefully what to eat every meal. You can do it too. Jia you!!!

Hi qwer,
Just take it as you are now recuperating from the surgery now and dun think too much about it
But BD around your ovulation period without barrier
kekeke... Lots and lots of baby dust to you!

Hi hopeformiracle,
If you want to change to a diet of mainly vegetables and fruits. For a balanced diet, it is better to eat 5 colours and 6 types of vegetables and fruits per day
. For broccoli, cauliflower, sweetcorn, you have 3 colours already
. Perhaps steaming will be better than boiling
For more protein, add some raw sunflower seeds or raw almond or raw walnut... Or eat other nuts and grains. Then you will have a more balanced diet

Hi beary,
For health, we must change for the better
Gotta start somewhere and it's not easy to change overnight. It will take time to change our diet and palate.

Wealth cannot buy health, but health can create wealth. Without health, there will be no wealth.

Hi Hopeformiracle

Hanor, tats what I was thinking also but den again think I got to try to start off slowly first..

Hi Lyn

Thanks.. Agree with you... no health no wealth...Trying to start off slowly first.. the only problem is getting off coffee and bread as they are my mine diet..

Hi Tanny

If you like, you can give a try at Thong Chai Medical Institution at Chin Swee Rd. I went there for consultation and the TCM doctors are very frank and honest in their diagnosis. But I have to discontinue as she told me that for TCM treatment on Endo, once you reach Stage 3 Endo, TCM medications will be of no help and could do more harm instead. Since mine is already in Stage 3, she told me to go back to my gynae for continuation of treatment. Hope this info helps you..

Hi beary

thanks for yr info. I had a lapo to remove cyst 3mths ago..my gynae advised me on jab (2nd one liao). my endo was stage 3 also after they did the lapo. so TCM will help after the lapo? wonder where to seek for treatment...

hi riushiki

it informative on your forum ...went to read up last wk... keep it up. & thanks for sharing.

well, so many women got endo.. can be due to lack of exercise... maybe can do a statistic on the lifestyle, food we eat...

tanny,
Usually gynae will advise not to take TCM together with jab. Maybe u want to confirm with your gynae again whether can or not. My gynae strongly said NO. Btw, how many jabs you need to take. My 6th and final jab coming very soon, can't wait for it to done with!!!

Think the ladies here are trying to change their diet and see how it goes lor.

Can i join in too?? i m also a sufferer of endo. discovered 5yrs when i had a ruptured cyst. After that, life is diff. having menses cramp every mth and very torturing. Pain extended to back and thigh. sometime, i hardly can walk. Well, i m also seeing KKH gynae.. they said ive a small cyst abt 2cm and unknown mass... appearing and disappearing and appearing around my left and right tubes. sigh...

Nway, i m constantly taking tcm and pain killer.
Do u gals also take pain killer?? heard from a friend that it is not good.

Another thing is how did u gal find out it is 3rd stage or so? never heard there is stages on endo

Hi Aeina

You are most welcome to join us here... We are here to share and give support and encouragement to one another. You also seeing gynae at KKH?? Can I know who is your gynae?? I am also seeing gynae at KKH. Your gynae should be able to tell you which stage your endo is in...

Like you, I took pain-killers daily until now I am immunted to pain-killers and rendered useless to me... I have cramps daily and my gynae suggested that I go for another op to remove the endo and adhesions....

Hi Beary,
I m seeing Doc Yeap Li Min now. I think her name is spelt as such.. not sure if i m rite. Previously, i m seeing Prof Ho T H. he has left to join SGH as the head. After that, i was referred to see Dr Sim and also left to set up her own clinic. i didn't follow them cos will be expensive.

me too, i m getting quite immued to pain killer. i m taking strong pain killer eachtime. They also want me to go for op cos i ve unknown masses around my tubes but i refuse cos the previous op is pretty bad for me. my skin healing rate is extremely slow and bad.. got pus and infection oh.

Does this affect your work?? cos it is affecting mine. i m taking mc very often and doesn look good on my appraisal. then again, i can't help it. i can't even walk properly and how to come to work? very sad oh..

Hi Aeina

kekek... Her name Yeap Min Li... tats means she has the same clinical sessions as my gynae...

Hanor, I am also taking strong pain-killers and it does not help at all. Now my gynae refused to give me any more prescriptions for pain-killers...
I had an op done last yr and mine was complicated and had to be admitted for 8 days..

Its does affect my work cos whenever the cramps starts, I just cannot concentrate and sometimes I need to squat now for at least 5-10mins before I can stand up...

Hee hee.. we are seeing same doc. she is pretty patient and nice. she prescribed me this pain killer that can last me 12hrs but i still feel pain after taking it. I suppose will be even worse if i don't take it cos i ve many incidents of so pain till my vision turned blur and i can't see a thing. my mind is conscious but i m almost fainting. in the end, my friend got to escort me out of the train. sigh...

I understand what u r going thru. sigh... when will be we cure?? they said even after give birth will still experience it. Sometimes, i feel like taking out my womb and that will mean i won't ve baby.

Career wise, i m jus as bad. luckily, my co didn't sack me oh. when i had my a and e op, i stayed in hospital for 6 days. not as bad as yours but couldn't walk properly for 3 weeks

I'm back ! I failed .. didn't manage to stick to vege and fruits only :x :x :x

Want to check with your gals whether your AF will be affected by the operation ? My AF is late for a few days liao :x Dunno whether the surgery has caused it ? :x

Normally for gals with blood cyst (chocolate cyst), it's normally known as stage 3. I asked my gynae whether I am in stage 3. He said "that's the american way to determine" He said he dun like to classify according to stages :x

Hi Ruishiki,
Me too! Surgery done last mth only and AF this mth overdue for few days liao! Now still waiting for AF to come!! Sian!

I called my gynae and he said it is normal. He said sometimes will be late after surgery.

Hi Aeina

kekeke.. no no I am not seeing Yeap Min Li.. my gynae is Ben Tham and both of them has the same clinical sessions in B clinic... Hmmm.. can I know the name of the pain-killer so that I can ask my doc for it..kekeke

Well, removing the womb also may not be the answer to cure for endo.. Well, same here too and I was on 60days MC...

Hi Riushiki

Welcome back.. Enjoy your trip... Stick to diet?? kekeke... I tried my best but failed too... Still need my daily dosage of caffine and bread... kekek
AF will be affected after the op... My cycle went haywire for a 3 months before it become normal again.. so relax don't worry... As for classification.. thing SG gynaes don;t like to classify them.. The reason I wan to know is because of the TCM doctor that is why I asked my gynae..

Hi gals, heehee.... I also failed leh. Last nite dinner eat only meat cos nothing much left for me. Then this morning bfast taking bread. But we got to try harder???

Hi Giggler

ekkeke.... think we all got to try much much harder..:p But hor really cannot survive without coffee..:p Think we got encourage one another daily...

hopeformiracle
is it, tcm cant work when on TH..not sure for how long. initially, he say abt 6mths.. I did a HSG abt 2 wks n one of my tubes is struck. my gynae say... must continue with the TH before TTC. my nx appt is Mar06..and ultrasound.
so u also did try TCM? after op?

hi beary,
my gynae is also Ben Tham at KKH. same one huh

Hi Tanny

wat a coincidence... ur gynae also ben tham...kekeke You are also on GnRH jabs?? Max is 6 mths only..

I will be seeing him in Feb 06..

Hi Gals
For those on you on Lucrin, any severe side effects so far ?

Gwer, you already have a gal gal
That's nice :p

Hi Riushiki,

I've just had my 2nd Lucrin injection. So far, am tolerating it well. Have you started on it already?

Hi Riushiki,
Ya a gal gal...hee hee...in fact now very convenient to bring her out already. No need to bring lots of stuff out like a small little baby. Sometimes I still call her 'baby' but she will tell me that she is not a baby anymore, haha!

qwer,
Your little gal is so cute... Kids like people to say they have grown up hor
Nowadays I got 4 kids in my home. Headache ah... kekeke... guess I gotta start getting used to the noise and mess in my home... kekeke... This morning I almost lost my temper... wake up only have to spend an hour cleaning just my kitchen top... I cannot stand seeing ants everywhere my home... kekeke...

Hi giggler,riushiki,
It's not easy to change one's diet. Many times, we know something is not healthy, but we still take them... kekeke... but gotta try and start from somewhere and be more conscious of what you eat
Slowly, you will be able to change to a healthier diet

Remember, if you wanna eat fruits, eat before food
If you wanna eat after food, eat 3 hours after food.

Hi Beary,
the painkiller is arcoxia (etoricoxib) 120mg. I used to take vioxx and feel it is pretty good but vioxx is only for 12hrs. this is for 24hrs. can still feel pain but not as bad as pained till faint. Do u still ve pain everyday??? Did u try to do a MRI to find the cause? i used to have pain everyday and the docs jus wanna to op me to see. i refuse and did a MRI. realise it is haemorrhage inside. Gynae said nothing to be done... jus got to wait till the bleeding stop by itself. argghh..... nway, i tried TCM and the pain went away. i also monitored my lifestyle to see what trigger the everyday pains. My sin seh said don't take melons and true i love to take water melon and will cause pain even though i m not having menses. don't carry heavy stuff like pail of water.. indeed, if i do, i will have pain too. I also don't take orchid tea. once i took, i had pain.. tried it a few times and sure get it. the only thing is I MUST HAVE MY COFFEE oh. sob sob

Hi Aeina

Thanks for the info. Yes, I do have pain daily. I too was taking Vioxx daily till it was banned and withdraw from the market. I have several TCM docs and even tried accupunture but it does not help. Went for CT-Scan as my gynae was worried that something else inside is causing the pain.. He said that the possibilities on the causes of the pain are endo, adhesions or my adenomyosis... I have spoken to another doc and he said that surgery is the only to check what is causing the pain. I too cannot carry heavy things or engage in strenous exercise as the pain will be even worse.. kekeke... I too cannot do without coffee..

Hi beary,
Tried MRI. it is better than CT scan. more accurate and detailed. But also more expensive. I think KKH doesn't ve the facilities. i did it at TTSH. They always say op is the only way one lah. i refuse to ve the op. After seeing my result from the MRI, they realise OP cant help much. Tried to ask yr gynae to prescribe the medicine above for u. it is pretty good but the pharmacy in KKH doesn't ve it the other time when i tried to buy. I bought it from outside phamarcy. expensive drug. 2.50 per pill. hope price has gone down. i bought a yr supply oh.