SMH Scrapbooking Club !!!!

I also din scrap for sometime. The most recent one is for my friend's newborn and that's like few weeks ago? :p

I will join to support to.

ok ok...
got respond.. not so bad.
i go think of something. will post up the details n T&Cs soon after i think of a challenge.

lol... don worry la.. nothing too fancy.

Really envious of all who have time to scrap. Are u working mums? I've a 9 mths old boy who sleeps only at 11pm. So I scrap at like 1 am in the morning..or take take leave to scrap! And do 2-3 LOs at one time. Then next day go to the office with eye bags. Sigh.

Still of loads of photos to scrap..so little time..

Dorcas,
I also want to join... hehe... never took part in challenges before :p

SweetPea,
Dun worry, you are not alone. My gal is 7mths now. I also scrap when she sleeps and usually weekend nights so like fri night and sat night i will scrap then sleep at 2am or even 3am sometimes :p

Sweetpea
Let me make you feel more normal. Ha ha for me when I read bedtime stories to my kids and I tend to doze off with them.

I wake up at 2 plus 3 am, ha ha if I am in mood to scrap, and scrap till 6 am and get ready to go to work. Xiao man.

Now I bake more. So sometimes ha ha morning have freshly baked stuff for makan

SweetPea, we are mostly working moms. I have 2 kids at 6 and 3 yo. Now very stress cause my elder son going P1 and I suddenly realised that his chinese is kind of weak! Panicking, I started revision with him last night. Just do 1 assessment every night is my plan till his new school life starts. wherelse, I'm pretty surprise that he can read english pretty well, or rather, over my expectation, cause since young, he's in a mandarin speaking environment. (although I find his phonics is not very strong). At home, only me and my eldest sil who is seldom at home speaks english to him. So now, here I am, a very panicky and stressed mom.

I also have very little time to scrap cause my kids sleeps around 10.30 to 11pm as well. But I will try to do when they are napping in the afternoon. Most of the time, I cannot finish even one layout but at least, I started something and can touch up a little bit now and then when I have time.

Jchew
oh ya I forgot your son oso going P1. Ha ha mine too just went for orientation last week. Aiyo the books I ordered they never give me in full, want to whack liao. Then have to go buy 1 more set of name tags and PE Attire. Ha ha my gal can read but alamak her writting sucks and her school must do Chinese Calligraphy.

CL, I let him tried on a short chinese para and I was shocked to find that he can only read 50%! I remembered in the past, he used to learn chinese spelling faster than english, and don't know when, suddenly his chinese interest lost and now he is stronger in English. But I suspect because he has been attending the P1 prep class from his kindergarten and they only concentrate on English and Maths. So now, I have to do my part and read more with him.

My son's school is a single session school. I heard almost everyday got PE, and we were told to get at least 3 sets of PE attire and only 1 set of full uniform. Other than that, all students compulsory must go for swimming lesson. My friend who's girl already in the same school, told me that they need to have email address, learn online chat and write digital story book!!! No wonder we have to get thumbdrive, cd-rw, dvd-rw, and headset with mic! And P2 onwards, everyone has to get a laptop!!! My eyes almost pop-out when I hear that.

Then I asked about her girl's result and she told me one word - STRESSED. Her girl got an overall of 220+ points, supposed to be on average, but teacher says, not good enough, 250 then consider average. And those who score better, next yr, other than their usual class, the better ones will be grouped together to go for advance learning. :|

Can you imagine my stress level?

Jchew
I forgot what school you enrol liao? Wow so on le this school.

My NYPS oso does not sound so stress. First semester no exam, only starts second semester and all will be promoted to pri 2 regardless of result leh

CL
same as me... i also zzz with me girl. den wake up later to scrap.
but now preggy. zzz mean thur out liao.. until weird hours like 4am or 5am. but in the end will still kena chase back to zzz by hb. cos he say i need more rest. =X

Chicken Little..wah...*clap hands*. I think SB is really a passion for you. Only then do you have the "discipline" to wake up and do.

JChew..yah I also find myself doing my LO in stages. Add a brad here today, add a button there tomorrow. Hehehe. I hear your story about your boy starting P1 and I am getting stressed. ahahaha. My boy's not even a year old and I feel stressed liao. I think he's biggest prob will be Chinese, like me. Coz everbody speaks to him in English. cham cham cham

CL, my son will be in Beacon Primary School. One of the pioneer future school if you read the news. Maybe it's a new school and they wants to show some results and build their reputation.

I really worry for my son. Not because that I think he's not up to standard, but more like the expectation of the school. Anyway, too late to think of anything liao. Will just do my best to buck him up. I don't want to be a kiasu parents and stress my kid, but at the same time, I don't want him to feel left out too.

Since we are on this topic. Do you intend to put your girl in any enrichment class when she starts P1?

hahahah... SweetPea, your son not even 1yo leh. But if I'm you, I'll feel stress too, cause by the time your son starts school, I'm sure the standard will be even higher. I guess this is also the down side of SG being developing too fast.

One thing I can't do at the middle of the night though..is to punch hole and hammer my eyelets. Think my neighbour will throw shoe at us. So sometimes I quite xian coz do LO halfway then must leave the hole punch and eyelets for another time.

Sweetpea, Dorcas,
It is not I wake up for Sb. In fact I have not been scrapping for months as I am into baking now. I just wake up when I sleep enuff, auto alarm in me. ha ha. so i wake up will touch this and that. I may not scrap all the time.

Jchew
Now I remember. Ya now the school will gear all up so it will be a "tomorrow school". That is a high tec school i think.

Ya, she will continue with her MPM and her chinese at home. Then will start one more english likely at wordplus bukit timah with her cousins. Because aiyo they use stellar programme no text book leh I dunno how to gear her. ha ha

Sweetpea
you will be surprise some mummies started parent volunteering for the school they want when the kid is born. For me I am blessed to be from Nanyang but then again I think my gal is complaining now because her long hair is gone. She has to cut short due to school rules which never change since my time. She says she no more princess look.

Must have crop a dile then, no more worrying about hammering

CL, what is MPM? and chinese at home means you teach her yourself? I find all the pte schools they only concentrate on 1 thing, then you got to enrol your kids with many schools.

I'm not sure if I need to send my son for chinese tuition (I'm very reluctant though). But might consider enrichment class with Just Education for Eng/Maths. I'm thinking of monitoring him first and if really need be, then I enrol him for class. HOpefully, by then is not too late?

Ya, I think most schools are using the steller program. They concentrate on listening comprehension and building up vocab.

Jchew
Refer to this Link http://www.mpmmath.com.sg/classroom.html

Me took up this one just to let her loves maths if not next time see maths she scare. Chinese is a china chinese tutor teaching a group of 3 students at my place lah. Every Sat 2 to 3.30 pm. Ha ha want to join , then they study we scrap.

You can monitor first no problem

Okay people. I managed to come up with something. Now am doing the "sample". Lol.. even manage to come up with the blog. So at least u all wouldnt get "lost" about which is for the challenge which is for sharing. lol.

keep you mummies update!!!

Dorcas, that's fast.

CL, you got msn account? Want to check about MPM with you.

CL, I added your msn. Now I downloading skype, cause I realised alot of my friends use skype due to company security reason. hahaha...... Just now I was away, that's why did not respond to you gmail chat.

the challenge #01 is HERE !!!!
http://momentsrecorded.blogspot.com

the T&Cs for this challenge. Using :

1 cardstock (any sizes or shapes)
1 chipboard (embellishments/stickers etc)
2 (at least) photos of your little one/ones
3 pattern papers, with 1 colour related to the photos used

And beside using the above T&Cs to complete your work, you also need to JOURNAL. Nothing is less important then journalling. Journal theme will be "Your Little Ones", share about the joys of having your little ones at home.

Bonus point challenge:
using the left over scrap of papers to create a card for "Xmas - Secret Swap"

Dateline: 15th Dec 2008

People joining this challenge:
- Dorcas (work will up coming up soon, on http://dorcasyhj.blogspot.com)
- Name (link of ur work if any)

ps: don just email the work, also must remember to post here to share with other scrappers.

JChew,
Thats the problem. I cannot STOP shopping for SB supplies... on top of that, the kits I have are not exactly my type so thats why I thinking of stopping now before it floods my desk which is already FULL.... haa.... seriously I now thinking of selling the 3 kits I have somemore leh.... *faint*

Dorcas,
really loved your LO... and your blog too... like what my son's favorite word now is.... NICE!
I also got blog but hor... paisey leh... me really no time to update... most of the time take pic liao also never got chance to update the blog... :p Here it is, http://luvinscraps.blogspot.com/
wah... impressive leh... you so fast create one blog for this challenge ah... solid... NICE blog!

Sweetpea,
haa... I am working mum lah... my 2+ yo boy also slept at 10+pm... by then I almost half dead liao... and now old liao cannot tahan until 2-3am... I got to reach school (work place) before 8am and drop my boy in CC by 7+am... how to chiong all the way... ha....
worse still... no leave to take hor...

JChew,
wah... so stress... use SB to destress lah... hee....
haa.. you so bad... intro sweetpea new toys... haa....

erh... dorcas...
so based on your T&C hor... cannot use anything else besides stated is it? e.g stamping or die cuts (not chipboards) etc??

GOod Challenge dorcas!!! Wow! Got blog site for it somemore!!! Happening sia!!

Sweet Pea
If it's any consolation to you, when I 1st started scrapping, I was a FTWM with a 10 month old baby (same as Chicken Little as we all started same time) we were highly ambitious to try to complete a 1st year album to showcase their 1st year at their 1st year bday party. I easily stayed up till 3 plus am just to finish 1 LO!!!

So can imagine back then we were all panda-eyed. LOL!

Right now, to scrap faster, it's best to form a concept and vision in your mind on what you want to do with your photos, gather those photos and pull out the papers that goes with them and the embellies you might want to use and then....go back to sleep. hahaha, start the following night when you've settled your family matters (can always think of title and continue to work on concept during lunch time, write or sketch down on a rough paper). It makes scrapping really much faster and more efficient.

I find that eversince I organized my embellishments in a more organized manner, I tend to scrap better as in I know where my embellishments are and I know how to access to them easily...compared to before where I end up wasting time looking for this and that.

JChew
Wow, your boy's school sounds stressful. I think don't fret too much. I'm pretty sure they will learn much more once they start school. Do note that if they learn everything by this stage, when comes to school, they might not pay much attention in school for concepts learnt way beforehand also...then that'll become a problem too.

Maybe I'm more chin chai now....won't know how I will be when it's my boy's turn...long way to go lah... I just make sure I can find my alma mater's report book so I no need go crazy over balloting to get in.

vivian
can.. can use other stuffs too. rub ons, stickers, tags etc etc... those T&Cs are just like a "must" la. the rest like be mosre like add-ons =)

the challenge #01
http://momentsrecorded.blogspot.com

the T&Cs for this challenge. Using :

1 cardstock (any sizes or shapes)
1 chipboard (embellishments/stickers etc)
2 (at least) photos of your little one/ones
3 pattern papers, with 1 colour related to the photos used

And beside using the above T&Cs to complete your work, you also need to JOURNAL. Nothing is less important then journalling. Journal theme will be "Your Little Ones", share about the joys of having your little ones at home.

Bonus point challenge:
using the left over scrap of papers to create a card for "Xmas - Secret Swap"

Dateline: 15th Dec 2008

People joining this challenge:
- Dorcas (work on http://dorcasyhj.blogspot.com)
- Name (link of ur work if any)

ps: don just email the work, also must remember to post here to share with other scrappers.

aiyo... dorcas... you so fast...
like wat CL has said, standard so high... STRESS...
haa....
(but make this thing so exciting!! haa... must go search and see what pic to use liao...)

aiyo.
my papers and the flowers are actually all from my LT Sept kit. lol.

don be stress la.. come come. let's scrap.
anyone else joining too??

Vivian/CL
LOL! Don't be to stressed! This is suppose to be fun and help you to get started using the kits that's sitting in our cupboards/shelves/tables. can't wait to see what you all come up with.

Hahaha thanks all mummies here..yes..you have indeed comforted me. And inspired me to persist in SB even though we all have so little time to ourselves.

Mamachan, me also trying to do up a 1st year album for my son before his birthday
Then can show off. ahahaha

One of my dreams - is to have an entire room to SB, store and organanize all my growing stash of SB stuff. Think one reason I take rather long to do my LO is finding my papers and tools and embellishments. And then keeping everything back after I've finished.

sweetpea
ah ya.. i have half a room to myself for scrapping, so called scrap room, cos other half ia taken up by my girl. But still useless lei. cos most of the things are inside the drawers etc. make me more lazy to bring them out to use and see what i got in there. in the end, buy buy buy, keep keep keep. lol.

Sigh... I took out 2 pics and wanted to start doing the LO last night. Then guess what? I so concentrate on one of the pic that I forgot the other. Ended up with a single photo LO. Now got start on another. But good thing is, I started scraping again! hahahaha...

CL, no stress no stress. I actually just find photos, then matching paper, then start playing around. Because of the '3' pattern paper, I had headache for a while, cause not easy to have 3 pattern paper in 1 sheet if you don't do overlay.

JChew
Ooohhh! That's such a cute LO! Great job!!! =) Can continue to do more LOs eh! hahahaha, no limit to how many you can submit =P Then can scrap up all the back-log of photos.

Thanks Mamachan. Actually hor, if you all realised, I got the title wrong. Her raincoat is actually a little chick, not a duck. hahahahahah.... I only realised about it this morning. :p