Referrals for good IVF Clinics?

Hi, anyone here tried Dr Caroline Khi at TMC? I called her today and she told me that IVF cost around 6 to 7 k as I am only 30. Anyone has tried IVF with her before? She seems to be a nice lady.

hi mooch,

its great that you are having at least some plans now. dun give up okie? i decided to try 1 more round of ivf at kkh..i was so undecided, like going ard in circles, not sure which dr to choose..but in the end, chose kkh lor..its affordable for us and we know tat it worked when i was under their program so i jus cross my fingers lor..do take care of urself okie? i think we will be doing our ivf ard the same time..im scheduling to start in 2 mths as well. u mus keep an open mind and forget abt ur past experiences. take care now and keep each other updated

Hi puipui80,
have u gone back to KKIVF again?
I found out that patients need to do booking before they get to do IVF at KK.
Dr Sheila Loh has recommended me and my hubby to do ICSI. As this will be our first time, can you tell me more about what the procedures are like and how often you have to go back to the hospital for scanning?
Also, how's things been going for you?
I am looking for gals who are having to go through the same problem as I do so that we can support each other and share information.
Please share.
kao_shy.gif

Hope every thing is fine with you all. I am new her and i am so happy to find out this forum that ppl willing to share their exp here.

Mu hubby and I have gone for IVF with DR Chen at Glen (I did the laprocopy with him at Apr 2004 becos of Endometrisis) after waiting for almost 3 years marraige. On the 6th day of stimulation jab, I found out that I was pregnant!!! Oh gosh....

DR Chen immediately stop the jab for me. But my HCG leval keep on dropping after that, DR Chen told us that the baby didn't grow... I also went to JE sinseh if she has any chinese med to help us, but the results was negative..she asked us to try again. After one and a half week, I was miscarriage.

It was so painful for us to face this incident, esp me, we really took some times for us to gone through this.

I am with doc Fong Yang now, he is very nice and will answer all your questions. Visited him last Monday. After scanning, he told us that I must go for laprascopy again to "open" my tube and to "take out" the water, after that I need to go for IVF before the water foam again. (Becos my both tubes are blocked). We have decided to go for DR LC Cheng of TMC for second opionin. (I really don't want to go for IVF again due to my last bad experience.)

Between, any one has done IVF with Dr Fong Yang before, can share her experience?

hi jeni,

how are you? i did go back to dr loh at kkivf but found out that due to hospital policy, i will need to use up my frozen embies before i can switch back to kkh to do a fresh cycle..she advised me to return to my dr at gleneagles for the frozen cycle as it will be a waste to destroy them without trying..so tis is my current plan, will be back at kkh in oct if im not pregnant by then.

she also ask me to lose weight before getting pregnant, haha..cause i put on alot after my miscarriage, havent lost the weight yet..so she advise me to go back to my normal weight first.

koalatree - so sorry to hear abt ur loss..i oso lost mine back in march due to embryo defect, baby didnt grow normally. i have heard dr fong yang is good but never seen him myself personally. i never come across ur situation, my dr at kkh said tat i had i tube tat may be blocked after going thru a hsg but she said no problem as ivf bypasses the tubes and places embryos straight into the womb so i dun understand why u need to get ur tubes fixed. maybe ur dr have a special reason for doing so. u can check out kkivf drs, they are pretty good and not as costly as pte clinics. why dun u check them out, success rate quite high at kkh oso.

Hi, Pui pui

Thanks and glad to have your reply.

Yes, I am aware that IVF can bypass by the tubes, the reasons given by Dr is becos the water which surrounding the tube need to be taken out :-

1) the water might make the tube burst in the process of stimulation;
2) it would be toxic to the fetus if I can preggie via IVF and cause another m/c.

Yes, we did consider KKIVF, but have no confident initially as too many ppl complaining abt its services. I did read the thread IVF mom to be , I think most of them are from KKIVF, under Dr SF Loh.

I understand that you are preggie now with IVF, still under Dr LC Foong from Glen?

All the best.

Hi Pui Pui,
I am now waiting for Oct to come to start the process. Wish me lucK!
Good Luck to you!
Babydust to you!

jeni, me oso suppose to see dr in oct to start process but im still undecided coz i may go straight for adoption instead. i will have to wait and see lor..but i will update u again.

koalatree, maybe u can seek kkh dr for another opinion, theres no harm..understand ur concerns cause im oso very afraid of another m/c..so far had 2 oredi..1 at 5 mths and the most recent at 7 weeks. its really not easy..but i feel kkivf drs and their services are quite good, maybe even better than pte clinics. yes, i heard abt sf loh, but mine was shiela loh..she's a really good ivf dr as well, im seeing dr foong at gleneagles to finish up my frozen embryos. hes also a very caring and understanding dr. yes, i did get pregnant under him but the baby had an abnormal growth and later on no heartbeat so i aborted. but he has been really understandin even when he knew i saw a 2nd opinion and had my d&c carried out by another dr as well. so i think its really how comfortable u feel with the dr u are seeking.

hope u can find a solution soon..all the best too!

hi pui pui, i have been reading some of the threads on this site, but haven't really had time to drop notes to all here. hope you have been well.
maybe you could try malaysia? some of these threads have written that malaysia is good also? i recently also read that Australia also good with IVF.

Hi Pui pui

Now I am under Dr LC Cheng from TMC, he advised me to take the Birth Control Pills for 21 days to see if it will help my condition. (have a funny feeling that I dun think so, but just give it a try)

Yup, KKIVF really not bad, after reading some of the threads, May be will try to fix an appt with Dr SF Loh. Thanks for your advice.

Best Regards

I am new here. I have done 3 times of IVF and my recently one failed. I got only 3 eggs and my 2 embryo does not mature. Does anyone know wat cause the failure of IVF? shd I try for the forth times and what can help to improve my FSH?

Hi Cheryl

I am also a high FSH bearer, I guess our problem is not OHSS but less eggs and embroys.

But this is not the barrier for us to succeed in IVF, basically we just 1 embroy to implant.

Q: Should I try forth times of IVF?

I think we should get our body "to be ready" for the treatment, no point of getting trying IVF.

Even we have enough embroys, if the body not ready for implantation and too weak to hold on the pregnancy even we can conceive via IVF, it also useless.

I don't know if you believe TCM and accupunture, TCM can tiao our body and improve our hormone and accupunture is to improve the chance of implantation. A lots of us did prepare ourselves for IVF by TCM and accupuncture.

You may visit the below link, got a lots of sisters who have been through or doing IVF currently are sharing info there.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/154014.ht

There are also a few links, like cycle buddies, for you to seek their opinion.

See you there.

Searching around the forum and ound this thread with regard to IVF.

Can anyone share what is the IVF charges with Prof Ng Soon Chye ? Understand that we can utilise $6k from Medisave for this procedure ?

How soon can we get this procedure done after paying him the first visit ?

Hi Jo Chan,

I will be starting my ivf with Prof Ng in couple of months time. it's about 8-9k for the procedure (can deduct 6k from medisave), 3-4k for hormones, and other miscellaneous charges.
I think overall after medisave deduction, be prepared to fork out about 8-9k.
You can pay him a visit and check out the whole thing with him. He is very nice and will explain the procedure.

Hi Bakaholic,

Thanks for the feedback. WoW...it not cheap to do it with him. Even after the medisave deductions, I need to set aside another 8-9k charges. It not a sure thing.

Sign....think I need to think twice.

Hi Bakaholic,

I did my 5th IUI 2 wks ago but failed again. I have intention to do IVF with prof Ng. The nurse told me it cost about 12K. Not sure whether it's the right time to do it now or wait for next cycle. Have you start your IVF program ?

anyone can advise how much we have to fork out after deducting medisave, financial help from ovt etc with Dr Ng or Dr L.C Foong?

Hi, sorry for interrupting.... has anyone of u tried Prof PC Wong at NUH?

We are thinking of seeing him partly cuz of the govt grant and he's pretty experienced in fertility. However, feedbacks abt him is he is very solemn, stern and not caring.

My name is Vini. I have read through hundreds of forums written by yourselves and other women like you.

I am in the middle of my research for a programme called pregnancy and parenting.

Could anyone who is willing to give an interview about what it all meant to you.
I know this is a very sensitive topics something which is very personal. But like how all of you are sharing your experiences here.
I would like these experiences to be heard by many more.

It will give them answers to who to speak with , which gyne to consult, what is the reality which is attached to IVF and etc.

If any of you are willing to talk about it please kindly contact me on +65-98868894.

Vini

Although I think Prof Ng is a good fertility doctor who comes across as warm and professional, I CANNOT recommend him to my friends in good faith because I don't want them to be unduly angered and stressed by bad and unprofessional conduct of his nurse especially the Dotty one.

Her tone is loud and jarring, hard to relax when she is speaking or is on the phone. Little confidentiality to be expected as everyone in the clinic can hear what she is saying to patients.

Heard her shout very loudly (her normal tone of speaking) at this hapless chap to 'put his sperm in this cup' a few times. Needless to say, the whole clinic heard her and saw the embarrassment on the man's face.

When one patient asked her why none of her medicine was labeled with name, timing and dosage required, she replied that since the patient has been taking the medication before, she should know the dosage requirements.

When asked to label every box of medicine instead of only the first one, she demanded angrily to know why! why! why the dosage instruction have to be put on every single box if the patient is to take the same dosage everyday. She assumes that patients do not take other medication except for hers and have good memory.

But her memory is bad and needed to be reminded by some of the patients themselves what the doctor prescribed or requested.

She was quick to add: "Of course, he is so slow in everything" to the comment that Dr Ng seems to take the stress of a hectic schedule well.

Frankly, Dr Ng's fertility success rate will be much higher if his staff is as professional as he is. Patients get already too stressed out by his nurse.