Prof PC Wong - IVF with Norethisterone

bulskie, I did elonva 1st cycle and 2nd aborted cycle. It's gd! Haha... Cos 1 jab for 7 days, super shiok. I responded very well e 1st round, then 2nd round only 1 dominant follicle. So drs oso dunno wat happened. Then now my protocol (3rd cycle) changed.

Yup I also planned all the ER ET etc immediately after my exam.. Hahaha

Lessons starting in August again :(

I find it more stressful also leh. Cos I super no discipline one. Less things to do than working, less hours spent also.. But I'm happier when working I think

No choice leh.. If working, can only schedule all the appointments with prof during the hols.. If not so disruptive :(

@Day_Dreaming it's people give me stress leh! I also don't want to stress myself hahaha
Yah, after work i can totally switch off, just some occasional weekends and nights need to work. If study, after lesson still hv to study!

Wow Excellent summary! Since I had a cough for a couple of month, that cleared me from NK cells! :D

I really wish we could do PGDs, especially for those of us over 35, since the % of embryos with genetic abnormality goes way up. I promise not to ask about the gender! Don't even care if it's a girl or boy. Just want one!!!

Also for 1), I suspect the clinics also make more money with a fresh transfer than frozen, so even better if the patient has fewer snow babies. In the US each fresh cycle is over $25K USD.

Great discussion!

Nuh does examine or test for NK cells...I read abit on NK cells coz fren told me abt it...she was diagnosed with some protein receptor that either cause implantation failures, or not sustainable implantation, nk cells may even recognise embiess as foreign object n kills it...tt's wat she was told...

I asked prof abt it...nk cells testing is available but not under him,he can write a referral letter to get tt tested...if i din rem wrongly, ~$1k+ to $2k (cant rem the exact $$)....it can b done n tested but not necessary yet...his experiences suggest tt most often it will b implantation not sustainable....

PGD is allowed only to screen for a specific family history defect...is PGS tt's not legalized in sin...i happen to ask abt this as well...coz i often read pcos is aneuploidy...

Mermaid2015, I've been having cough too! Why take so long to clear ah? My gp says it's not normal to have persistent cough, but I feel well other than excessive phlegm in throat resulting in e urge to cough.

Thanks @Mermaid2015 aka Mary for sharing your findings!

My general findings after reading science journals and overseas forums:
1. Many overseas clinics refuse to do day3 transfer even when patients asked for day3 transfer because they want to keep their success rates as high as possible. IVF is a competitive lucrative business and they have to submit their success statistics to a govermnent board yearly.
2. Day5 transfers produce significantly more boy babies rather than gal babies than day3 transfers and natural births, so I deduce that some gal embryos who can survive in womb, cannot survive till day5 in the lab.
3. Grading is surface and do not tell you about the chromosomes normal or not. Several ladies who sent their day5 embryos for PGD found their 4AA embryos to be abnormal while lower grade ones are normal.
4. People with high NK cells rarely get sick, sick only once in every few years.
5. Development before day3 depends on egg quality, whereas development beyond day5 depends on the sperm quality.

Lastly, everything is still up to mother nature. What happen to other patients may not happen to us. Every body is unique.

I read abt 1,3,4 & 5...but not 2...something new to me...coz I read that gal x chromosome is more "hardy" than guy y chromosome...so logically x chromosomes shld survive better...:D

3) has always been my biggest fear n the fact tt it can still b successfully fertilised n go past ET

4) is subjective coz my fren does fall sick easily..mayb depends on wat NK?i duno..my guess only..:D...i dun like her ans coz it means gray area...

I read tt in US, d5 is a preferred approach,largely bcoz they do not wanna waste efforts,time n pain to transfer embies tt's not strong or nt capable of surviving....an elimination process is preferred to select the "best" embies of the pool...but they r being challenged to ans if they hav any stats/studies to deduce those tt arrest between d3-d5 cannt survive in the most natural womb envn...till date, no stats on this..which is y d5 approach is more suitable for ladies with a pool of embies due to high arrest rates..some ladies even resort to pool their embies from 2 fresh to proceed with blastocyst culturing....i suppose they r looking for the golden one...:D

Im thinking we can ask if nuh hav its own clinical data on d3 et success vs d5 et success rates, also blastocyst culturing arrest rates...
I din manage to find this online...one article only from moh but way too stale...n not categorized by embryo age on transfer...

Thanks for all the shares above... very interesting info that I mostly dunno. All I can say is... if u did a round of blasts and all not successful... next cycle try d3 la. Is all trial and error anw... maybe ur body suits a different type of embryo. That's my plan if all my d5s fail

Yeah man!
Really trial & error n gotta leave it to mother nature...coz I hav also read cases tt excellent embryo transfer failed but an average embryo yielded a bfp for the same lady...y?I suppose only mother nature can answer...once in the womb, is black box alr...but for sure, d5 embiess r at least 2 days older n stronger than d3...;)

I read abt 1,3,4 & 5...but not 2...something new to me...coz I read that gal x chromosome is more "hardy" than guy y chromosome...so logically x chromosomes shld survive better...:D

3) has always been my biggest fear n the fact tt it can still b successfully fertilised n go past ET

4) is subjective coz my fren does fall sick easily..mayb depends on wat NK?i duno..my guess only..:D...i dun like her ans coz it means gray area...

I read tt in US, d5 is a preferred approach,largely bcoz they do not wanna waste efforts,time n pain to transfer embies tt's not strong or nt capable of surviving....an elimination process is preferred to select the "best" embies of the pool...but they r being challenged to ans if they hav any stats/studies to deduce those tt arrest between d3-d5 cannt survive in the most natural womb envn...till date, no stats on this..which is y d5 approach is more suitable for ladies with a pool of embies due to high arrest rates..some ladies even resort to pool their embies from 2 fresh to proceed with blastocyst culturing....i suppose they r looking for the golden one...:D

Im thinking we can ask if nuh hav its own clinical data on d3 et success vs d5 et success rates, also blastocyst culturing arrest rates...
I din manage to find this online...one article only from moh but way too stale...n not categorized by embryo age on transfer...

The embryologist told me that Day 3 and Day 5 pregnancy rates are "comparable." It seems like she doesn't see a big advantage in Day 5 but maybe I'm reading too much into it.

Mermaid2015, I've been having cough too! Why take so long to clear ah? My gp says it's not normal to have persistent cough, but I feel well other than excessive phlegm in throat resulting in e urge to cough.

Yeah my cough has been on and off for months. Not sure what caused it. I was put on various kinds of antibiotics and got better then worse then better. Not sure why either...

Today is only 13dp3dt. I thought it's way too high too because my friend who bfp yesterday was 300 plus and possibly twins.
Hmm.. Should have asked prof. Yea only 1, but was a compacting.
Congratulations!!! I think the level is ok. Mine was at 1285 and Sharon tot I might have twins. But end up only singleton. Anyway, the level doesn't mean much

Enjoy the pregnancy!

And many baby dusts to all lovely ladies!!

The embryologist told me that Day 3 and Day 5 pregnancy rates are "comparable." It seems like she doesn't see a big advantage in Day 5 but maybe I'm reading too much into it.

Mayb embryologist a real embiess lover...she heartache to see good ones arrest..

When I had 7 good ones, I asked but she said she dun advise...but on day3, I guess mine were left to grow longer(purely based on my own guessing)...tt's y I received a very late call...mostly gua gua...my heart so pain also...
is ok...sj123 gives lotsa hope...:D ..The One!!...hers might b The Two ah...hehe...sj123 likely havin good feast to cheers on...:D..

Mayb embryologist a real embiess lover...she heartache to see good ones arrest..

When I had 7 good ones, I asked but she said she dun advise...but on day3, I guess mine were left to grow longer(purely based on my own guessing)...tt's y I received a very late call...mostly gua gua...my heart so pain also...
is ok...sj123 gives lotsa hope...:D ..The One!!...hers might b The Two ah...hehe...sj123 likely havin good feast to cheers on...:D..

I'm sure she is an embryo lover! Or else how can we trust her with our embabies? :) But seriously I think NUH is phenomenal in always giving us an update every day. Many hospitals don't do that.

Good bcoz it won't b a 1 call giv u hell or heaven situation n also show their high commitment n accountability...Bad only bcoz the embabies' mummies need to go through roller coaster rides...can go crazy,panicky...not so good for the fainted hearted...lol

Yeah that would be more accurate and welcoming. Is there a way to change thread names?
I thought of PM-ing admin or starting a new thread (under how to improve) to alert the admin of the intention.

Cos people who are looking up on NUH wouldn't know this is a NUH thread ... unless they've already done their research on NUH and recognise "Prof PC Wong". Like a signboard. :D

Then we can all be mummies and come up with a new name. Hehehe :p

BT results out ... confirmed negative ...

this morning my period started liao ... had to spend time cleaning all the stains everywhere lor cos didn't wear pad ma :eek:

oh dear! sorry to hear that veraine! :( have a good rest & do whatever u've been wanting to do/eat during the TWW...

Anyway, yest did something super hilarious. @queby77 was commenting we could tahan so long, actually i "tested" yest morning.

Remember the 4 hpt left over? I saw that one was expiring in August this year. So I thought I'll use that yest, then keep the early response one for today. Since will throw away anyway.

But me the terrible blurdoe used OPK instead o_O So I prepped myself for a while for the negative results, then saw that it's negative ... AND THEN opened the drawer and realised i took the wrong one while i was fumbling in the dark yest morning

So i told my husband, and then he reminded me NOT to test again yest hahaha

And I also told him yest's "exercise" was good because if it turned out positive, then it'll be a pleasant surprise ... if negative, then I would have rehearsed yest liao ...

so now I'm feeling normal, and looking forward to my shopping and all the exercise that I've been missing ;)

And really love you girls leh

So wanting to meet ALLLLL of you and have a good meal together wahahaha

Thanks for all the unwavering support for one another :)

My appt with prof is in Aug ... so hopefully can go on for my next fresh by October?

Meanwhile, shall watch my diet and lose all the inches!! By the time I start next round of hormones, I must fit into all my clothes again!!

Oh, and I noticed all my cycles with trigger for ovulation, my AF will come exactly on the 16th day without fail.

So I know now my magic number is that regardless of treatment ... must get beyond that number next time :mad:

And really love you girls leh

So wanting to meet ALLLLL of you and have a good meal together wahahaha

Thanks for all the unwavering support for one another :)

My appt with prof is in Aug ... so hopefully can go on for my next fresh by October?

Meanwhile, shall watch my diet and lose all the inches!! By the time I start next round of hormones, I must fit into all my clothes again!!
I actually saw you at woman's clinic once! haha! it was the day of happybb2015's BT. you were describing what u were wearing online! V pretty! :) but i no mood that day to smile at u. heehee. was confirming bad news.

*Hugs* Be strong and try again.

I just took time off from work to see a GP. Waiting now. My boss must be thinking I very troublesome. This morning my phlegm get worse. NUH called to remind me about my OR for tomorrow and I told them about my condition. They said I better see a GP today if not tomorrow the anesthesia might be affect etc. Sianz...

I actually saw you at woman's clinic once! haha! it was the day of happybb2015's BT. you were describing what u were wearing online! V pretty! :) but i no mood that day to smile at u. heehee. was confirming bad news.
Next time must wave at me ah. And hopefully we will have more than enough reason to smile at each other the next time :)

I've only "seen" @MonkeyChick once (prob can't recognise her liao) and a quick glance at @queby77 cos she was mostly behind me haha

And not pretty la, @MonkeyChick is the pretty one with the nice nice hair.. I just look adorable :)

Hugzzz....my dear...go for the activities u planned...recharge n come back to the battlefield again....

*Hugs* Be strong and try again.

I just took time off from work to see a GP. Waiting now. My boss must be thinking I very troublesome. This morning my phlegm get worse. NUH called to remind me about my OR for tomorrow and I told them about my condition. They said I better see a GP today if not tomorrow the anesthesia might be affect etc. Sianz...
Hope your GP can give u some med which is effective quickly..

Don't care abt your boss for now.. Some bosses are just inconsiderate and don't know what empathy is, and if they're like that, they're not worth working for liao

Next time must wave at me ah. And hopefully we will have more than enough reason to smile at each other the next time :)

I've only "seen" @MonkeyChick once (prob can't recognise her liao) and a quick glance at @queby77 cos she was mostly behind me haha

And not pretty la, @MonkeyChick is the pretty one with the nice nice hair.. I just look adorable :)

I suspect I spotted the wrong veraine...
I saw a pretty one(i woWow)& one tt's fierce looking...the fierce looking I dun dare to keep eye contact coz scared...so logically impression cant b pretty...din see clearly also...

N when i asked veraine if she alone or with hubby...by the ans,i thot it's the fierce looking one.....lolzzzz...now looking at the comments...i highly suspect veraine is the other one...ur hubby might hav walked away for a while...

Im pretty sure liao...lolzzz...
The fierce looking lady...if u r a silent reader, not tt u r not pretty...jus tt i din dare to look at u...to hav a good look....

So veraine, now u understand y i din comment after meeting u?scare...lolzzz....but now i noe which one liao...hehe...whistling!!!we weed...:p

n im jus ordinary looking leh...but i bet u like my outrageous hairstyle...lol...coz u still rem it...lol...

Pretty lah! haha! i saw happybb2015 too, cos she was just at the sofa outside then. :p

Hope your GP can give u some med which is effective quickly..

Don't care abt your boss for now.. Some bosses are just inconsiderate and don't know what empathy is, and if they're like that, they're not worth working for liao

Tok abt bosses...till now...Im still pretty hurt tt I worked n fought for the wrong one...everytime I think abt it, Im sad...coz after all, it has been yearss with her....I din expect her to b like this,esp when I needed her support the most...:(

I suspect I spotted the wrong veraine...
I saw a pretty one(i woWow)& one tt's fierce looking...the fierce looking I dun dare to keep eye contact coz scared...so logically impression cant b pretty...din see clearly also...

N when i asked veraine if she alone or with hubby...by the ans,i thot it's the fierce looking one.....lolzzzz...now looking at the comments...i highly suspect veraine is the other one...ur hubby might hav walked away for a while...

Im pretty sure liao...lolzzz...
The fierce looking lady...if u r a silent reader, not tt u r not pretty...jus tt i din dare to look at u...to hav a good look....

So veraine, now u understand y i din comment after meeting u?scare...lolzzz....but now i noe which one liao...hehe...whistling!!!we weed...:p

n im jus ordinary looking leh...but i bet u like my outrageous hairstyle...lol...coz u still rem it...lol...
Yr hair not outrageous! It's vintage! And it's something I can only pull off if I wear a wig cos I have such little hair which is so thin and floppy :mad:

And my students usually say first impression of me is I'm quite fierce leh. Then they'll change their mind and say I'm cute. LOL