Premature babies support group

Nikki,
JIA YOU on the pumping. SURE CAN ONE...be positive and keep telling yourself to pump pump pump. Like i mentioned in my earlier post, i didn't have much milk for my elder boy. However, my pump is the same, but the only difference is that i bought a bigger sized breast shield pump. Cos the one that came with Pump-in-Style was actually not the correct size of my nipples. The fit is better and this time round, i have a lot more milk. Maybe you can check out the shield size.

My babies update:
Ethan is drinking about 3.2ml/hr now. Think that's good cos he is now 840g which is up from his birth weight of 720g. He has Grade 2 bleeding shown in the head scan, hope he will not go up to a higher grade. Doc said will resolve by itself, no medication and let's pray that it will resolve. His lungs are still not strong so must be on ventilator.

Emma is not doing fantastic, her weight is still lingering at 700g. Yesterday they fed her with little milk, but her tummy had some bleeding. They said stale blood so maybe from last week after the PDA medicine side effects. Her heart scan show that her PDA still not close, so doc said give her more time and see how next week. They will start the milk feeds today again and see if there's any bleeding. Lungs are also not strong, so ventilator is still on.

Hi Keann,

Have faith. Your warriors is gaining from strength to strength everyday. Ethan has already grown 16%. It is a outstanding achievement. Encourage Emma to challenges her brother and I bet she also want to win him.

Have faith, be positive. Encourage them to fight brave and strong, continue to speak the words of life.

<font color="119911">nikki_baby</font>,
oic. think my boy has small intake. that's why making me look like I have so much milk (freeze over 30 small bottles ard 60ml) for the first mth. oic, if bm not enu, bo bian, got to ask doc to temp replace with fm. it just 12d, gd job and effort liao....since bb is still in hospital, do have more rest so that you can produce more bm.

<font color="119911">Keanncyber11</font>,
oh...breast shield size make different. now then I know wor....u also jiayou...

<font color="119911">Keanncyber11/nikki_baby</font>,
do yr bb have jaundice? mine is classfied as prolong jaundice (only go off when he is 2mth (non-correct age)).
do u go and visit bb daily?

<font color="#3BB9FF">David</font>
how Danya now? will she mess up the hse? HX always did that.

Thanks David. We have been relying on our Papa Above everyday...keep calling straight direct call to Him even. hehe...

afaci,
Yes, i think the breast shield does make a difference for me. The area of the cyclinder portion is slightly bigger and will not cause any pain/abrasion. Even the power is switch on at the low level, it still pumps out nicely. I know what you mean when you said small intake. My twins are feeding quite little so i got lots of freezed milk in my freezer. I bought a chest freezer so that i can have more space to put all my freezer stuff. Quite useful cos my hubby loves ice-cream, so now, we can buy tubs and tubs of ice-cream now!

Jaundice was on twins last week and they were on it for 1 more day this week and doc said it's of good level now. So will have to monitor.
I do visit them everyday, noon and evening time. quite tiring running up and down, but i just want to be with them, give them the mummy power! What do you mean by prolong jaundice? Means he was on the photolight for 2 months? must be uncomfortable for the baby. How old is your bb now?

Hi Afcai,

Danya is doing great. Her weight is now 6.3kg. She is learning to walk. Very stubborn and like to touch new things. Especially fan and I will look at her with a stern look and say "No". Danya will than look at me with her innocent look and grumble "Pe, pe, pe, pe, pe".
. I like it as Danya is getting more adventurous and demanding. Please see recent pic.
4152092.jpg
4152093.jpg

Hi Keann,
Ethan &amp; Emma are in my prayers....they will do fine under God's protection and Dr + nurses' care.

I do not have the luxury of freezing extra as what I produce will be sent to baby in NICU. In fact, we have to make 3 milk runs so that baby gets BM for his daily feeds. Until I have more flow, we have to do this...I am pro BM and would like baby to hv BM rather then formula. If bo bian, I guess they will need to feed formular. Plus he still has TPN so he will nvr run of "food".

Hi David, your Danya is such a sweetheart.

Hi Afcai, my baby did have jaudice for many days...not sure what level though.Now he is off the photolight thing.
How can prolonged jaundice be treated?

Hi Nikki baby, I just read your thread and would also like to share my story. I delivered bb Ryan at 29wks on 12 May also in Mt A. His PD is Dr T.Tan (I believe your bb is also under him as he's one of those firm believer of TPN to help wt gain). Ryan was only 1.45kg at birth, need ventilator and CPAP for the first 3 day, and thank GOD,otherwise he is ok. Unfortunately, when everything was doing so well, he got a lung infection and also started showing signs of CLD (chronic lung disease), so Dr was not able to confirm which was it. He was having frequent O2 desaturation, but wt gain was good as he was also on TPN. Finally, just around 34 weeks, he was breathing better, then learned to drink from the bottle. He was discharged on the 19th June, after 39 days in the hospital (we could have met each other in the NICU, which bed is your bb in?).
Like you, I also run between home and hospital, twice in the beginning, then I realised that we could use the pumps there FOC once a day so I timed my visits after my pump at 2pm at home, then do once in the hospital at 5.30pm and then I go home about 7.30 to be in time for my next pump at about 9pm. Maybe you could also try this so you don't have to run around too much. Also, the hospital pump is of a bigger funnel size so it doesn't hurt too much. My milk flow is also not fantastic, at 1.5 months now, I'm only able to pump about 100ml each time, and last week it dipped to 60ml when my menses came. I'm trying everything to increase my production - motilium, fenegreek, nursing tea.. etc. I find motilium to be most effective. But most importantly is to drink plenty of water and have good rest.

I know its not easy, but don't be too stressed up, the drs and nurses there are really professional and besides the patient to nurse ratio is small so your bb will have all the attention and care he needs. Don't worry,Luke will do fine. Hang in there and jia you

Nikki baby, oh the pump in style is a good pump. Dual pump is supposed to stimulate more supply. Maybe you can give it a try since that will also cut down the total time you spend pumping and let you rest more. Remember that most things will take a few days to see effect, be it fenugreek, motilium, or extra pumping, so be patient and continue with the good work. You can do it one!

keann, yeah the breastshields really do make a difference for me! The ones that don't fit really makes me sore and also doesn't pump out much milk. The funny thing is I have uneven sized nipples and the smaller one needs a bigger funnel. End up I had to buy so many different size funnels to trial and error...

<font color="119911">berrybaby</font>,
yr 'auntie' report so soon? my lochia lasted for 2mth...

<font color="119911">rhyea</font>,
pai seh just to ask not a must to use b.shield right? cos I try to use the shield when I use the Avent manual and electric pump but dun seems to generate bm very fast. but when I used the medela dual pump with funnel only, it generated more milk. hmm...to me, I find that shield does not work for me.maybe I dunno how to use blar...haa..but very troublesome to wash after that....

<font color="119911">keanncyber11</font>,
yup, all the upper portion of the freezer are used by me. when I returned to work, I also bought a mini fridge (those can put 6 cans of coke) and plc in office. will place ebm there after pump then. haaa gd use to plc ice-cream...oh, ice-cream can make one fat.

oh, u still on confinement?? running up and now with pumping at hosptial?? like that, will tire u out, confinement shd rest...like me, dunno if I did correctly, I only visit my boy twice for the first 2 weeks. of cos, hubby is the milk maid and he will send the ebm to hospital before gg to work. very tough for him. but on the third week, I was admitted to hospital for massive bleeding. so stayed in hospital for 3D2N loh. so can get to see my boy then.

my bb is 17mth next wk (CA 15mth). now, dun look like premiee, super active, stubbon and very temper.

<font color="aa00aa">David</font>,
glad to hear...I had not weight my boy since May (weight 8.xkg). yup, think bb born in yr of ox got character wor....stubbon.
now, my boy self help to on the fan wor...he knew he cannot touch the fans if not he will get scolding. think, our favourite word now is "NO". haa...

haa..Danya act blur or ....to prevent u fr scolding her. so cute...

what is TPN?

agreed that hospital pump is super gd...(at least compare to my medela dual pump). for me, during the visit, I also pumped in the SCN. wow, by using hospital pump, I can generate more.

<font color="119911">nikki_baby/keanncyber11</font>,
neo-doc classified my boy as prolong jaundice even when he was discharged. he was almost on photolight per day for 3-4hrs for 20+ days.his level is up to 200+ then drop to 188, remain constant at 166 loh...

when we went to visit him, so sad that to see him inside the photolight with all the tube. he was also being poke to draw blood at his tiny legs till blue black. even after 30 days after he discharged, we needed to go bck to polyclinic every wk for his check up. this last him till he was 2mth (CA shd be 40 wks). hence, the only way to treat prolonged jaundice is to do photolight. so his weight kept on dropping then.

Hi Berry baby,
I recall a Ryan there at Mt A. Where you the couple with an older son (Rueben..I believe) that came on the day Ryan was discharged?
I am not sure which bed Luke is at, but its the bed just behide the nurse station (to the left).

My PD is also Dr Terence Tan. Since day 1, Luke was been quite stable except for a few episodes of shallow/stopped breathing.
So far Luke's weight is increasing daily which is a good sign - not sure if its all due to TPN. Wondering for how long more must he be on TPN? Dr Tan says it will be until Luke can be full on BM which seems so far away as BM supply now cannot meet his needs and he is still taking 2/3 of his feeds via TPN. How long was Ryan on TPN?

As for BM, I cannot even reach 10ml mark after abt 2 weeks. I did try to pump at Mt A using their pump yesterday....it is a good option to pump while I am there. My visits to hospital depends on what time my hubby is available from work to fetch me so its hard to schedule pumping with the visits there...
I thought the "Heavy duty" pump at the hospital wld make a difference to the amt, but it was abt the same. Sigh!!!! I just have to keep going until supply increases...somehow.

At what stage was Ryan off the TPN? When could be bottle feed? Did you try to let him latch on at all?

Afcai, TPN, or total parenteral nutrition, is a type of IV fluid that provides total nutrition to premies who cannot take any nourishment by mouth. TPN contains sugars, electrolytes, vitamins, proteins, and fats, and can supply all of the nutrients that the body needs.

Using the hospital pump did not work wonders for me yet...

Hi Nikki, yes our older boy is called Reuben n he was there when Ryan discharged on Sat. I think I know who u r too as there's only one bb there on TPN. I think Ryan on Tpn for abt 2 wks until his bm feed was near full feeds which is abt 27ml every 3 hrly. How much bm is Luke on now? Is he yr first pregnancy? Did u drink lots of soup n water? Actually, my bm production also not fantastic, only managing abt 80ml per pump now, it was abt 120ml b4 bb discharged then my auntie reported ( only 5 wk after delivery) n the supply down. I'm now back on Motilium again, it worked for me, dr says it's safe to take upto 3 wks.
After Tpn, Ryan still on tube feed as he's too young, they usually progress to bottle feed first then latch on when bb is abt 1.8kg, abt 34 wks n also depends on his condition. Ryan was having CLD n he was breathing too well so they only bottle feed him when he's abt 34 wks got to monitor his breathing closely. I tried to latch on few days befor he discharged but was not successful. Now it's not easy as he's so used to the fast flow from the bottle. Everytime I latch him, he'll jus suck a little n fall asleep or refuse to suck totally. Then I'll bottle feed the ebm n pump out the rest. I think pretty soon my factory will also b out of business if he still refuses to suck.
Where do u stay? R u aware there's free shuttle to hospital fr bishan n novena? Try to spend as much time as u can w Luke n keep touching, stroking n talking to him, he knows it, it'll aslo help to stimulate milk production. Try not to b too stressed up. My friend w a 30wk premie told me she pump every 2 h during day n 3 hrly during night, in abt 3 mths she was pumping 500ml per pump, So dun give up just keep trying. Yr little warrior is also trying hard there

Hi berry baby, Yes..i think we now know who we are...there is now one other baby on TPN too.

Luke is taking 13ml milk feeds every 3hrly. Dr did say it shld reach to a level of 25-30ml before the TPN will be taken off.

You mean there is a limit of 3 weeks to take the Motilium? I was not aware...I am not religiously following the 3 tabs per day as some times I forget to take it.

What is CLD?

How is he now...almost a week back home? Has Ryan adjusted well back home? Any tips on what I should know or prepare for when baby comes home? Realize because our premies are small, most of his clothes will not fit. even the pampers and cloth diapers I have bought. Did you buy diapers or clothes meant for premies?
Seems the feeding part is hard as he is too used to bottle feeding at the hospital. But do keep trying...maybe he can get the hang of it.

Am staying in the east. I do know about the free shuttle but it will still be a long way home if I travel from Bishan or Novena. So I will just take a cab if my hubby is not available to fetch me. I'm suppose to be on confinement but I have been leaving the house everyday to visit, not getting as much rest as I should, etc. But what matters to me most now is Luke.

I met/talked with Sister Kang and the lactation staff for many times now...I even went thru 2 rounds of painful ordeal when she helped to massage and hand express the BM. It hurt so bad...subsequent pumps, production was lower (guess the body/breasts needed to recuprate).

I will keep trying...not matter what amt comes out. I will not give up - just hope my sore breasts does not surrender before i do...hehehehe. My milk production cannot keep up with the increased amt that Luke is taking anyways...so its a mix between BM and formula for now.

jiayou, preservance and hardwork are the wonder to keep moo moo gg. jiayou...seems like yr boy appetite is gd wor.....

thks for the infor on TPN. too many short term...now I learnt somehing new. I'm so envy my ex-col who still doing confinement now. I 'met' her online while she is moo moo. wow...she said she can generate 1.5-1.6litre of ebm per day and she pumped 4hrly...wow....

nikki_baby, Dr Tan told me can take up to 3 weeks, 2tabs 3x daily for first wk, then can tail down to 1 tab 3x daily for the next 2 weeks.
CLD is chronic lung disease of premature babies, preterm bb lesser than 30wks and on long oxgygen treatment are more prone to it.
Ryan is doing well at home, his milk intake is now 70ml 3.5hrly (compared to 43ml/3hrly when he discharged). But last night I think we found a small lump on his left groin and suspect he's having hernia, will be bring him to Dr Tan to confirm later as it can be life threatening if left untreated. I hope its not too serious otherwise he may need an operation to correct it. Any mummies here have experience to share?

There isn't much different from bringing home a full term bb, besides more care and better hygiene. Remember to wash your hands each time you handle him or his milk preparation. And keep anyone who's sick away as their immune system is not very developed. As for diapers, you can buy the same huggies newborn, they are slightly big but still fit, I'm using Dryper (S) which I find ok too (they are much cheaper and I change about 7 a day). I was lucky, I have some hand down premie clothes from a friend which she got in Australia for her premie boy last yr. I can't find any in Singapore. I think you can try those that wraps around with ribbon.
I can understand, I was also busy travelling to the hospital while on confinement, so much so that I sometimes forget I'm on confinement and bathed 2x a day as its so hot last month and the travelling and pumping didn't help.
I met with one of the LC during my Ryan stay too, the hand expression is so, so painful, that I did not dare ask for help a second time. You need to gently massage the breast and nipple after pumping and apply some nipple gel to help it heal faster.
My pump this morning was only 70ml and I think it may not be long before I need to supplement with fm... so sad (I just bought 4 box of nursing tea and 100 motilium, just praying it will pick up again soon). You hang in there too..

Hi afcai, I know what you mean abt all the new terms...as we go along, we learn about these terms and meanings.
I so envy those that produce so much (I hope I can achieve the same eventually too. I can only hope for now...)

Hi berrybaby, I hope Ryan is oK after your visit with Dr Tan.

I was not aware of how much of the tabs I shld take - just followed the instructions that says 1tab 3X daily. Maybe I shld ask Dr Tan on whether I can take more and when I shld stop.

Luke is my first child, so I dun have the experience of caring for a baby. Since he is premature, I worry if there is any special care I need to take note of.
I hope the new born sized pampers I bought will fit, I was even considering using cloth diapers (at least I can cut &amp; fold them to be even smaller). I would imagine that it will still look big on him.

I hear from a friend that a shop at KKH sells clothes just for premies. I am checking through his clothes and some hand me downs to see if any can fit his small frame.

It really does not feel like I am confinement at all. I move about so much...a confinement nanny will surely nag and not allow it.And yes, the weather these days can be so so hot and the days that rain make it so difficult to travel ard.

Hi NIkki,

Same like u, i wasnt doing much of confinement too. But mine was because my lactation nurse advised me as my babies were extremely prematured by then (25 weeks), and my breastmilk will be too " strong" for them if i eat those very tonic stuff..I travelled to NUH every 2 days (i stayed at Changi!) during my confinement, and i didnt even bother to drink the red dates water. I wonder what harm it did to me, but i m feeling good so far!!

For preemie clothes, please do not buy too many. Preemies grow really fast after they got discharged, Luke will outgrow the clothes so fast that you couldnt imagine!

I admire your strong will to breastfeed.. It's a long process, but I hope you would soon establish a stable and good flow! I too, went thru a very hard process, where i kept having blocked ducts, it was painful. At one point of time, the lactation nurse even used needle to poke my nipple...gosh. it was unbearable. But fortunately, the thought of my babies kept me going ! And finally i managed to breastfeed successfully for 14 months.

Jiayou, all mummies and your warriors!

I posted here back in March i think, and got some invaluable advice about delivering in SG. Just suddenly thought of updating here.

About 2.5 weeks ago, I delivered via planned c-sec at exactly 35 weeks in Mt E under Dr Ann to a 2.03kg baby boy. He was placed under the care of Dr Kenny Ee from Kinderclinic and was in NICU for 5 days before discharging. We are due for his 2nd review end of this coming week and will see if he has reached at least 2.5kg so that he can get his immunization jabs.

I tried to breastfeed him but was rather unsuccessful. The 2nd time i successfully latched him on, i din't know i was bleeding so instead of sucking milk, he was sucking blood from me as well, and that gave us quite a scare when the nurses drew out blood from the feeding tube. I ended up with extra lab charges (to test whose blood it was; mine or baby's), baby having to have his stomach cleansed, and not being able to breastfeed until my cracked nipples heal. But we still tried to hand express as much colostrum as possible for him.

Anyway, I was only given about a few days to breastfeed as much as I can. On day 6 after delivery, I had to go for PET Scan. with some radiation, I was not allowed near baby or my older kid and also couldn't breastfeed for at least a day. Then, on day 9 and 10, i was scheduled for my chemo treatments. So from then on, i'm officially not allowed to breastfeed my boy anymore. I'm currently trying the pump and dump method, hoping one day after all my treatments i might be able to still give him some breastmilk. I know it's a bit far fetched actually, especially after my doc said last friday i will need a stem cell transplant, but i try not to think about it now.

Currently, my boy is on Enfalac and Similac for preemies. He seems to be constipated, poo-ing once every few days. Doc does not seem to be overly worried. We have to use the flexible type of thermometer to stretch his anus a little so that he can poo more easily. I'm quite new with this whole formula-constipation problem with new borns coz i fully bf my 1st born and she had no constipation problem like this until i weaned off. Really hope it won't be a long term problem.

Actually, i have a question for mummies here too. I look at my older kid and I am all smiles, but whenever i carry my new baby and seeing his fragile frame, i always always get teary eyed and emotional. I am upset that i feel this way. This is not those post-natal depression symptoms right?

Hi Nikki,
How's Luke doing? hope he is getting stronger and healthier each day. All mummies here seems very concern about your milk flow, he he. Just dun worry, pump pump pump. The flow will come as long as you dun give up. I gave up for my elder boy when the flow was so little...so i kinda regretted. But i keep telling myself, express express express! I cannot believe what the lactation nurse did to Jas nipples, i would have fainted if they use a needle. It's painful enough to manually squeeze....

I agree with Jas, dun buy too many preemie clothing. I bought a lot of small clothes for my elder boy, and he grew out of it in 1 month. He got quite chubby within 1 month of birth. At that time, i fed him Similar Neonatal feeds. It is formulated esp for preemies. That one, i think very fatty milk, my boy grew so fat that everyone asked me to stop feeding the fat fat milk.
With Luke being your first child, dun worry that you can't be able to take care of him. It is a motherly instinct, sure can one.

Jas,
As for confinement, i know what you mean. I run back and forth everyday to the hospital during lunch time and evening time visiting hours. It's very tiring but i just hope to be able to touch them and ask them to jia you!
How old are your babies now? How long did they take to leave NICU? My twins are progressing very slowly. Girl is having a little bit of milk now (0.3ml/hr), and they are monitoring her tummy blood as it was caused by the PDA medicine. But boy is drinking about 4.5ml/hr now and it's just that he has some infections on his lungs. So we have to see how it goes next week.

Any special care after they leave the hospital? Can you share your experiences? I am quite worried that i need to watch them 24 hrs and not sure if i can manage twins!

Hi Jas, Keann

Yeah - mummies here do offer lotsa advice about my milk flow...I am very encouraged and will jiayou.

I cannot imagine being poked at the nipples (i would be screaming out load). Already, when the LC hand express for me twice, I was in so much pain. Frankly, if I had to see the LC again and she repeats this...I will think twice about seeing her. While I know it would be for the better (to help unclog), the "torture" the body/breasts go through can be so unbearable.

Where do I get Similac for premies? Is this the same as what the nurses feed our babies while in hospital? Does it come in powdered form as per normal Similac formula milk?

Jas, What iS the weight of your twins now?
Dun worry too much...progress may be slow but any progress is a step towards getting better.

As mummies to premies, I feel we live day to day - monitoring baby's progress &amp; condition, hoping that our babies get stronger, feed well and grow daily.

As for premie clothes, I agree with you...it may not be wise to buy or buy too many. I do have some pieces of hand me down XS clothes that may fit him; hope what i have enough to last till he grows into the normal sized clothes.

hi nikki,

Haha, must be coz preemie mummies are obsessed with milk flow. After all, we all went through the same pains in building milk supply. Actually, I dunno why some of the LCs are so rough. Don't think breasts are meant to be tortured that way. >_<

I found this video teaching how to hand express. Maybe it will help. http://newborns.stanford.edu/Breastfeeding/MaxProduction.html

About preemie clothes, I took the advice of the mummies here and just buy regular sized NB clothes. Really outgrow super fast esp in the first month when my boy just came home.

bannyeng, this is my first child. But I think it's natural to have negative emotions sometimes. Recognizing it is a good first step. But if it's persistent, it might be depression then you should seek help for both you and bb's sake.

For me, I'll also have negative thoughts, like occasionally feel guilt that I somehow caused him to be premature and unhappiness because I feel like I'm not a good enough mum. And I'll even think about the days when we were childless. Luckily, my spouse is very supportive so I can rant to him and let out these unpleasant feelings. Maybe find someone you can talk to about it, or rant rant a bit here. It will make you feel better.

Hi nikki,
The similac one is powdered form. I think the name is Similac Neosure or sth like that.
I used it after my elder boy went home with me. I think recommended by the PD or my Gynae then. Cannot remember who told me about it. Not all places sell them, big big supermarkets like cold storage or big NTUC should have them.

My Twin Boy has put on weight to 880g. Otherwise all else is the same, with infection in his lungs and grade 2 bleeding in brain. Girl just started little bit of BM feeds and today, nurse updated us that she is POO POOing. Aiyo, we never realised poo poo can make us so happy. This means that she can poo poo on her own after the BM. Once in the morning and she poo again in the afternoon. YIPEE! For the past week, surgeons have been helping her "wash-out" her poo poo because she cannot do it.

I know what you mean by living day to day. No long term plans, just hope that today they grow and grow. Tomorrow, see how....

Hi Cindy,Thanks for the welcome.

Hows your baby now? How long has your baby been in NICU (which hospital?)so far?
My boy has been in there for 20 days now...

Hi Nikki,
How is luke doing? Hope he is getting stronger and healthier each passing day!

Hi Cindy,
Thanks. Which hospital is your baby in now?

Hi Nikki, saw bb Luke out of the incubator this afternoon, I'm sure you must be happy and excited that he's doing well. I noticed he's also of TPN, is he on full feed now? He should be going home pretty soon. Btw, you asked about what to prepare for bringing him home? After what happened to Ryan on Sun night, I would say - read up and get some information on child first aid, you never know it will come in handy.

Any mummies share experience of the ventilator extubation? Doc is telling us that they may like to extubate the ventilator and change to CPAP. But told us that they will give steriods jabs to baby.... i am kinda worried, cos they tried to extubate from my baby boy in week 1 of birth and it didn't work, so they put back ventilator. Then my boy had lungs infection which they are treating with medicine.... just worried....

Hi Keann,

Danya was extubated for 3 times. During her 2nd try on CPAP, her right lung collapsed. Prolong period on mechanical ventilator is not really good as it can damage the lungs tissue. Steroid is miracle drugs. It works on Danya and on her 3rd try, she finally succeed. Infection is worrying especially in the nasal area which is always moist and virus tends to grow easily.

During that time when Danya was in NICU, there was an outbreak of MRSA, a type of hospital superbug virus. Fortunately, Danya was not infected but some of the preemies were infected and they were isolated. But in SCN, Danya was infected with enterovirus prior to discharge. Doc told us to bring her back with the virus as MRSA is still lingering in the ward which is more severe than enterovirus.

The most important is hygiene, always be vigilant and kiasu. If you see the nurse not cleaning her hands before touching your warriors, please tell them to do so. Those days, I would tell those parents to take off their watches or rings when they enter NICU, not just for the safety of my daughter but also for their baby.

BTW, Ethan and Emma have done well. Ethan has grown by 22% in less than a month. Emma has also poo poo by herself. I should give the credit to the brave and fierce Mama Keann.

Hi Nikki,

How is warrior Luke doing? Neosure will be recommend by all Neonate Doc and it can be purchase from leading super market at S$19.9 per tin. We also brought an Angelcare monitor before Danya is allowed to be home because we are worry about Apnea. More important for me is hand sanitizer and disposable mask. All preemies lungs are not too strong. Try to minimize any risk or exposure to them. If any family has a cold, please practice personal hygiene by putting on the mask and cleaning of their hands. I did not welcome any visitor for more than 6 months just to be on the safer side.

Hi David,
Luke is doing OK. He is now out of the incubator and off TPN and glucose drip. Only thing is he is still trying to adapt to full milk feeds...at times, he can finish all on his own but sometimes, he loses interest or strength to suckle and rest of milk has to be fed through the tube. I hope for the day he can do it on his own.

Today, we were told he lost a little weight. Dr explained cos his metabolism is up so uses more energy to keep warm and feed. Did your bb also lose weight when first out of the incubator.

So we should get Neosure? How different is this from normal formula? Something to do with more fats in the milk? By the way, what is an Angelcare monitor and wnat is Apnea?

Hi Berrybaby, am glad to see bb Ryan is back home. I walked by today to see if you were still around and realized you have left. How is he now? What exactly happened to Ryan...what caused him to stop breathing?
I must take your advice and read up on child first aid...i hv absolutely no knowledge of it.

Yes, bb Luke is out of the incubator and off TPN. He is on full feeds but at times still needs the tube to finish his milk (tube was removed the day before but was inserted again today); I think he get tired or lazy from suckling too long. Or I hope its a matter of getting used to it...considering its only day 2 since he is on full feed.

Keann, hang in there...your twins are constantly in my prayers. They will get better...

thread finally up

<font color="#87F717">berryfarmer</font>,
keep it up....jiayou for yr moo moo task. think with nursing tea and other supplement to boost up bm.....yr bm will return soon.

glad that yr boy is bck hm....do take care...

<font color="#87F717">nikki_baby</font>,
yeah...dunno why some mum produce more bm than mummy. how envy....really mum are amazing...anyway, just do our very best....

for us, we use clothes diaper during the day time and at night only wear diaper.

<font color="#87F717">berryfarmer/nikki_baby/keanncyber11</font>,
do take care, wear socks and dun catch the chills since you are still 'doing' confinement. won't yr elderly say u not doing proper confinement??

<font color="aa00aa">Jas</font>,
just curious, when LC poke the needle into the nipple, will it bleed?? is it the way to cure block ducts?

Hi Nikki,

Great &amp; Cheers to Luke. Luke is indeed a brave and fierce warrior. During the days in KKH, Danya weight gain is really poor due to her STOMA condition and thus she stay a total of 135 days in KKH. It is always a good indication that Luke is losing weight slight due to his increased metabolism rate.

Neosure is special formula with additional stuff like MCT which help provide the extra calories.

Angelcare is a baby monitor which has a sensor plate attachment which monitor baby breathing while they sleep. If a baby stop breathing for 20 sec, it will trigger a alarm. Apnea is a condition which the baby forget to breath. 20 sec is the threshold which a CPR must be perform immediately. We were thought CPR prior bring Danya home.

Hi Nikki,
Yes, I'm so glad that bb Ryan is home again this afternoon, and I pray that we'll never need to return there ever again.

Well, when I feeding him on Sun night about 1am, he did not burp very well after first half of his feed. After trying for quite awhile, he let out a small burp (he was half sleeping), so I continued feeding him the last 10ml. He was sucking very slowly, suddenly I realised he wasn't breathing and the next thing I saw was he was turning blue very fast and then his whole body turned limped. It was the most scary sight and experience I've ever encountered my whole life. We tried waking him up by moving him, rubbing his sternum and feet but non of the methods worked. My hubby called for an ambulance, while I hold on to his motionless body crying and pleading to GOD for help. Then when my hubby return he tried to perform (adult) CPR, which suddenly bought me back to my sense. I took over quickly and did the child artifical respiration (or rescue breathing)which I had learned previously. After blowing 2 breaths, his facial colour got better though he was still motionless. As I continued the AR, he managed a slight cough, then finally let out a cry and come through. Thank GOD we managed to resuscitate him before it was too late. Then about 10mins later the ambulance arrived and send us to KKH. After some questioning and checking, dr suggested bb to stay overnight for monitoring to be on the safe side. However, since bb's history is all at Mt. A, we requested to bring bb over to Mt A for the monitoring and also he's scheduled for his hernia operation at Mt A this week, so we discharged him from KK and moved him to Mt A, where he had his hernia operation on Tuesday and further monitoring. If we had waited for the ambulance to arrive, it might be too late...

<font color="119911">berryfarmer</font>,
oic. it is really a close shave. so scary.....any idea what's the cause of Ryan situation?

Hi David and afcai, dr think the apnea is likely due to reflux of milk n mayb some choking as he continued feeding during his sleep. The body simply stops breathing to prevent the refluxed milk from going into the airway n lungs. Since then, his feed has been reduced fr 70, 75 to 60ml, n also thickened to prevent reflux which seem to work quite well. If I understand correctly, caffeine is for bb who forgets to breath, so dr did not prescribe it for Ryan. Btw, he's 37wk today, hopefully all will now be well from here also he's about 2.7 kg now

Hi Berryfarmer,

Did Doc recommend any motilium to prevent reflux? Danya develop reflux after a 10 months and she is normal on Enfalac A+ AR which help but the nutrient is not sufficient. Thus we have to add MCT and Cabories.

hi berrybaby,
it happened to me before too, the nurse told me to flick the bottom of baby feet n tt will cos baby to cry hence breath.....

Hi David,
What do you mean by lungs collapse? Sounds scary and worrying! Today i just feel so overwhemled with nothing much to do for them kinda feeling. I know need to be strong but sometimes just wonder how to be strong...

Today feels like a good day! Hope to get some good news from NICU when i go down later...even no good news, as long as they are progressing in their small tiny ways, also ok!

Shellow, do u mean press or cause some pain to the bb feet?we tried that but didn't work, guess I was too gentle.

David, I need help with those short forms u using, btw, dr only requested to add some thick n easy to thicken the feeds so far. Do any of yr kids strain at lot when they sleep? Ryan's straining is so noisy that I'm losing my sleep

Hi berrybaby,
I am so so glad that Ryan is Ok. Dun worry..he will do well. He is putting on weight very well...my Luke is coming to 36 weeks and still under 2kg.

A girlfriend of mine who had premie twins mentioned to me about reflux and that it is very common to happen; even recommend to buy a support type of pillow so that the baby sleep a bit elavated to prevent reflux. I was not sure whether it is necessary...maybe it is. U keen to buy it for Ryan? Let me know...I ca give you more info.

Why does he need a hernia operation? Hope the operation will go well.

I fear the same for my bb as I had a mini episode yesterday when I was just holding him in my arms and the monitor beeped - thinking everything is OK since I was simpily holding him. I must have held him the wrong way that affected his breathing. GOSH! happened once also when i was bottle feeding him in NICU...without the monitors to warn me, I fear I will not know.

Hi David, where did you buy this angelcare? How much? It may be a worthwhile investement for a piece of mind that he is breathing OK.

Hi Shellow, Berrybaby, the nurses did tell me to press his feet so as to wake him up or to make him cry, if anything happens to his breathing.

Hi Nikki, Ryan loves to strain so much that he had hernia, also premies have 30% more chance of getting it as their intestinal muscles are not fully develop like termed babies, so when they strain too much, it tears and the intestine drops out. Ryan is recovering well from the op, though he was crying in pain on the day of op as they did not give him painkiller besides "Cordial" used during the op. Currently, I'm elevating the bed slightly (like what they do in the NICU) and its helping. You must rememnber that you'll not have the monitor when you go home, so you must know how to monitor his face colour.
How heavy is Luke now, I'm sure he's close to discharge now since he's already coming to 36weeks, just need to gain a little more weight. Did you know that the little bb girl 'Natalie' was discharged before she reached 2kg?

Hi Berrybaby,
How does a mummy know if baby is straining?

I really cannot imagine our babies gg thru ops...already I feel heartache seeing him poked all over for the TPN, drips etc. My girlfriend's premie has to undergo an op too and till today has scars (she calls them "war scares") from the op.

How do you elevate the bed now? I think I shld do the same...

I try to notice the face color change but at times I cannot really tell. I MUST be more observant esp when I am "practising" at the hospital.

Luke is now 1.91kg; Dr says he is close to discharge. Part of me feels eager for him to be hom...part of me worries and feels he will be in better hands at NICU. Its mixed feelings (not sure why) as I'm nervous on what to expect.

Yeah -I recall when Ryan was discharged, bb Natalie was also discharged and heard she was under 2kg. Guess its not all abt the weight, it must also be how well bb is feeding etc.
Luke still cannot finish all 100% of feed via bottle as he gets tired/lazy/not interested and rely on the tube. Until he can feed 100%, I am not sure if he can be discharged.

nikki baby, berybaby,
i was told to flick to cause pain, nt press.....
normally i tried nt to feed when she is sleeping or too hungry.....

Hi Keann,

During that time, Danya secretion is alot despite daily suction. Even physiotherapist was called in every alternate day to do tapping on her rib cage to release the secretion in her lungs. It was the secretion which causes her lungs to stuck together and collapse. Danya lungs were not well development and do not have enough strength to open up her lungs cavity by herself.

Today is definitely a good day for Ethan, Emma, Luke &amp; Ryan.

Hi Berrybaby,

What shelllow suggestion is right. Pinch, Ryan feet and make him cry. He will immediately start breathing when he cries. MCT is a type of oil which will help to put on weight. Cabories(Velans) is also a additive which give extra calories. Enfalac A+ AR is an anti-reflux type of milk power but the nutrient is much lower than Similac Neosure.

What do you mean by straining? Did Ryan stretch alot when he sleeps? My girl tosses alot when she sleeps.

Hi Nikki,

When baby stop breathing, look at the color of their lips. It will turn purple at a very fast rate.

One of the most challenging moments is bottle feeding. Most of the preemies brain coordination between suction and breathing are not so well connected. They need more practice to remember. You will learn how to pace them when bottle feeding.

Luke is doing great. Home sweet home soon.

Hi David and Nikki,

Straining is alot like stretching, but more vigorous. Its like trying to poo when you have severe constipation, his whole face and even body will turn really red and seems like quite uncomfortable.

Shellow, I was told to pinch the feet too, which I tried that night, but I think was too gentle.

Hi David,
I was reading abt the angelcare monitor that you mentioned. The website mention that the sensory pad is placed under the mattress. Correct? how does it sense movement and for that matter breathing if its under the mattress? Bb breathing is so light, can the pad sense it through the mattress? I kinda find it hard to believe. Am considering to get it but want to be sure it works.

Did you use this monitor till yr bb was older?

hi, nikki, i was using the angelcare monitor. it is super sensitive. can really detect almost anything. pro and cons.... cos if the fan is blowing at the cot, it kinda activate the sensor as well. so 'touch wood', if baby is not breathing but the fan is blowing at the cot, the alarm would not go off. it was helpful for me during the first few months when my baby was home with us. susbsequently, we use it as a audio detector instead. if you are interested, i can sell you. hee.... quite new. let me know bah.

nate just passed his 1st birthday recently. and we are so taankful. i wrote a letter to him and would like to share with all the mummies and daddy who has been such an encouragement to me.
======================
29 june 2010, tuesday

Dear nate,

you are one year old today. Well, at least in terms of your birth age. According to your corrected age, you are only nine months old. The first 78 days of your life was spent at KKH NICU and SCN. Mummy did not manage to hold you when you came out. That’s because at 28 gestational weeks, your lungs were not fully developed. At birth, you needed resuscitation and subsequently a ventilator was inserted to help you breathe. I will never forget your birth because it was a traumatic one for me. Three weeks earlier before your birth, the sterile environment a.k.a. water bag has ruptured. Medically, mummy was in labour. We are so thankful that God kept you in for three weeks. Each day is a daily grace from the Lord. Hence Huai En (remembering God’s grace).

Mummy still remember the first time I saw you. Daddy has gone back to rest. 6 hours after delivery, I hobbled down from the ward to NICU. Nothing could have prepared for what I was about to see. You were so tiny. I think the tubes; TNP and CPAP (an apparatus which pump in oxygen to help you breathe) were heavier than your 1 kg frame. I wept. Silently. I could only say ‘sorry, baby’. Sorry that mummy could not keep you in longer. Quickly I composed myself because I know that mummy need to be strong. The NICU soon became a familiar place during the confinement. I was not exactly confined considering that I visited you twice daily. Thank God for Sister Winnie who is a senior nurse at the NICU. She is mummy’s friend’s friend. She gave you special care. Daily, she would walk over and pray for you. You had quite a bad case of jaundice. The nurses would strip you naked and sun bathe you. Thank God your liver started working actively and after two weeks, you were off the phototherapy. His daily grace.

At about one week after your birth, you needed blood transfusion. Subsequently, you went on to have another two rounds of transfusion because your red blood count wasn’t exactly fantastic. A dentist had to be called in as a pre-natal tooth decided to make its appearance. It was rather wobbly and with the ventilator inserted, they did not want to risk having a loose tooth go missing in your airways. That would have been bad. Really bad. The dentist was extremely nice. He told daddy and mummy not to worry about the alignments because God made all things beautiful and when you grow up, the teeth will form up nicely by itself.

Feeding you was a challenge by itself. All these while, you have been fed through the TNP and tube fed. When the doctors decided to let you try the bottle, we were warned that you might desat. Desaturation means you forget to breathe and your face turns blue and we have to inflict a slight pain to remind you to breathe. Mummy read somewhere that it is better to latch you on. And you did really well. But because you were on vitamins, iron drops, MCT oil and protein, for a large part of the feeds, we used the bottle.

Towards the end of August, daddy had to go overseas. It was also during this time that we were notified of a lump near your groin area. Hernia. A surgery was scheduled. Again, mummy sobbed silently when you were wheeled into the operating theatre. Mummy, at the ripe old age of 33 have not gone under the knife yet. But you, a mere 8 weeks old has so much medical procedure done already. The uncles and aunties in the cell group prayed for you. They love you very much, you know? The operation went really well. The scar is hardly visible.

You were discharged a few days later. After 78 long days in the hospital, we can finally have you home with us.

The reason why mummy wrote such a long letter to you is because I want to remember His daily grace in our lives – especially yours. You were discharged with a whole list of problems. ROP Stage II (abnormal growth of the blood vessels in your eyes); poor post-natal growth; congenital muscular torticollios (which if not corrected with therapy may result in you not being able to crawl and walk) and anaemic. But you overcame them one by one as you grew older. You are a fighter. And maybe because you had to fight for a chance to live, you are more strong-will as compared to zach gor gor. Recently, you grabbed zach gor gor’s hair because he was teasing you to no end. I think you pulled out quite a substantial lock from his hair. Since then, he has been rather cautious around you.

Nate, you are one year old today. There are still many milestones that you have to reach. Some are easier and some might be a little more challenging. But mummy knows that you will overcome them because of His grace in your life.

Nate, blessed one year old and mummy loves you very much.

Love,
Mummy

Hi lilac

Thanks for your comments on the angelcare monitor...i think it does help to give us parents a peace of mind to know if bb is moving/breathing. Noted on the blowing fan...the monitor must be super sensitive.
if you are willing to sell, I don't mind. Still in good working condition right? How much will you sell me?

Your letter is so touching. It brought tears to my eyes and i think abt my bb.
Our premies are all fighters - in whatever they go through.

Happy Birthday to Nate!!! Hugz &amp; kissies