Premature babies support group

gingal...

hmm...tts good for her...means she is dg well..yup, my son stayed vy long there.....i went there almost everyday except when i got work or thgs unresolved...

not every bb stays so long lah....my son is the exception haha....dun be frightened by me, okay...the pple there noe him vy well, the nurses bot him stuff, even the cleaning po po bought him presents....after so many years, they cant forget him...same for him and me..we love the docs and nurses there...

precious, didi
thx for the support & advice. my parents had used my name for this that, so no gd record.JB in May. mum already start moving stuff bit by bit. still try sort it out, plan move JB with my parents if cant. as I need my mum help with the kids. IL cant help as they workin, I dun want to either coz afraid once move in - v gd chance will have talk staying there perm. erh I dun think I can tahan them. take day by day, hope for e best

xbliss
hope he gets better soon!

choegal
that's high fever! hope ur bb gets better.

precious
surprised stil get it tho get vaccinated

Thanks everyone... my ger is getting better but quite weak as she is taking antibotics. Actually i heard before that bb before 1yrs is not supposed to be taking antibotics but no choice cause if not her fever will not go down. She recovered quickly

Day-C,
No prob
things will be ok, Stay Positive !!! you just have to eat and wait for your darling boy arrival

chloegal
hehe, I thot most of our premies were given antibiotics at certain time and they're not even full term yet. You are right, whatever that can cure our children, just let them have it first.

day-C/kkf
I am equally surprised too.

bbgal, wow the teacher so bad ah? but honestly i worked in childcare before, some teachers are like that, got good and lousy teachers...very hard to find a good childcare nowadays sianz.

btw, ur confinement over liao?

chloegal hope ur gal recovers quickly.

precious one, rather scary...

My girl was transfered again today.

She stayed one week at NICU, one week at NICU Step Down Unit, and Today she is brought over to SCN. Hope it is good for her...

kkf,
she is a middle-age lady & she looks so frustrated & impatient when handling the kids. dun worry cos' she is not dash's teacher, heng ah!

still on confinement but i marciam like not doing confinement cos' i broke all the rules, i.e. wash hair & bathe, go out & even drink cold water when nobody is around (shhhhhh...) cannot tahan as i drink cold water every day!

gingal,
i just found out today from the hospital that those admitted bef 1st jan 2009 not subjected to means test & old guidelines remain, i.e. as long as u r warded in c class, u will enjoy max subsidy of appro. 80% of the bills but stuff like drugs, injections r very ex & only less than 10% subsidy. but in total, still heavily subsidised by the govt. my twin's bill amounted to 70k for 25 days stay & after subsidy need to fork out 20k. imagine if they were to stay another 2 - 3 mths, the bills wld be terribly hugh w/o subsidy.

Hi bbgal,

I was admitted on 31st Dec 08, thus not subjected to MEANS test. The subsidy for me will be 80%. I have yet to receive any billing for my girl yet, or maybe they did send me, but it was sent to my home address? I am now at my MIL's place. Maybe I get hubby to check our mailbox tmr, it's been like more than 10 days he went back to open mailbox.

We are already prepared for the Sum of $$$ we need to fork out for our girl. We are lucky that both sides of our parents are supportive...we just hope that she will be healthy and grows well...

Anyway, heard that we can always work out an installment-free plan with kkh...

wow gingal, you already prepare the sum of $? wow!

but not to worry, i dun remember paying anything, even if just one or two thousands...

but it sure drains our medisave...till now my medisave still very little.

bbbgal, cannot lar, i believe your two boys will be your last babies? so this time must really do confinement well to build up your health! like that then you will have energy to chase your 3 kids around in the house.

gg11, you given birth liao? everyday ask u same question, haha, but you are in week 37-38 liao, shd be anytime!

yeah reaching my gynae target of week 34 tomorrow, so happy! finally reach my own target too...after that will count each day as an extra blessing...but honestly, hope to see my gal soon!

after remonal of stitch, tummy very hard and can feel contractions now. so should be anytime.

congrats! you'll be 34 weeks tmr. i'll be 38 weeks on sat. going to cut hair later cos people tell me will loss hair after delivery, so thought cut shorter so easier to manage and prevent lossing too much hair. my hair is at waist level now.

you got your purchases from bulk purchases? the items are so cute. bought an orange bodysuit for my boy cos think he will come out to celebrate cny.

Hi kkf,
Use a new nick to start a new yr ma.. keke.. So happy for u!! 1 more week and ur gal can discharge together with u if u choose KKH.. 34wk tomolo!! Jiayou k?

xbliss,
Glad that ur boy recovered from his fever.. Next wed if my boy *touch wood cross finger* is ok after more than a week from MMR injection, we meet up in my hse k? keke..

gg11,
Really envy leh.. 38week full term.. How many kg is ur bb now??

gg11, think u shd be giving birth next week liao, excited???

yah yah, bought lots of stuff from bulk...hee. broke, but very happy. so envy you will be seeing your baby soon!

powergal or tree ice, haha, i can reach week 34 very happy liao considering my previous two very premature labor histories...
)))

maybe baby violet really wishes to be an ox baby!

kkf,
Yeah! My boy is a 34weekers
U really a great motivation to many of us who planning for a 2nd one after our premmie.. :p But I still can't TTC yet, my gynae said green light only after my 3rd AF after my D & C.. :p

So u started going out more often now? Planning to go bai nian?

seeing dr ann tan tomorrow, think she will ask me to aim for week 36...ha! after chinese new year!

Yah yah, u shd build up your health first tree ice or powergal....dun be in a hurry.

yes yes! will start going out more often! at least can go walk a bit! sunday planning to go my mum house to eat steamboat...hee

talking about bai nian, used to think during new year i will be doing confinement, but then suddenly realised may not be so! so i quickly make a new pair of glasses (current pair already full of scratches), intend to trim eyebrow next week (dunno like wat already), and now sourcing on the internet new cloth (cause still cannot go anywhere yet)...

Anyway, me a bit no stamina, walk a bit will be very tired and breathless. sianz...think because i have not been exercising for more than 7 plus months!!

btw, scarely you all see me on newspaper, violet is the first Chinese new year baby! hahaha (daydream again)

kkf,
Not surprising leh.. Who know Violet find it comfortable inside ur tummy that she decide to stay till 40weeks.. hahahaa..

hi hi tree_ice.. hehe cute nic. is it ur chinese name!? bryan finally recovered but got a bit of cough. my mum came down to help yesterday.. cos he so sticky wan to carry all the time when sick. and then make those cute whimpering sound (even though he recovered from his fever alr). i hope we can meet up next week lor! i cross fingers for craydon!!

kkf, u daydreaming! hahaha. but who knows.. wishes might just come true!! jia you jia you!!!

kkf,

Not really called prepared la, just prepared to dig into our savings and be it dry it up. Me and my HB's medisave very little, esp his, cos he is self-employed for years...As for me I started working later than my peers and also was not working throughout my pregnancy...Thus we are mentally prepared that our medisave not enough. But heard that can use grandparent's medisave wor...

See how it goes...

kkf/gg1,

Wow, One has reached Full Term and another closer to Full Term...:0 So glad for u both.

gg1,

I was told that my cervix is rather short and stitching might help in my next pregnancy to prevent prematurity again...
Can I ask how the procedure is like??? Do we still need to be put on Bedrest until Full Term, or we can just be like normal mummies doing whatever they like during pregnancy?

hi mummies..
i always read thru the posts silently. never had much advise to giv as not sooo experienced.

kkf,gg1
jia you!!

gingal,
smthing i can reply on...

arvin has a private paed whom he goes see for all his flu/fever/minor ailments. he goes to her too for all his optional jabs. actually personally i feel the followup session at kkh not v v gd. they do chck on those cases identified during bb's stay but like xtra xtra stuff they dun really bother.

like for eg, my private paed actually noticed tt he had a murmmur during one of his immunisation. then she referred me bck to kkh. this was altho i had been going bck to kkh almost mthly for arvin's chck up at tt time. they never picked up on it. so only aft tt referral did kkh send me to cardio for test.. bla bla.. luckily eventually it turned out to be nothing serious. functional murmmur.

gingal,
well it's a personal choice la. jus tt for all e common ailments cannot go kkh so nd to get a gd pvt paed outside. esp since our bbs r premmies so the pvt paed will noe of his past case history. i had showed all e case reports to her n she was able to keep tabs on his growth n progress thru the last yr.

gingal, i have twice premature labor, all started with contractions first, then labor, and my gynaes do not consider that as incompetent cervix cause my cervix was closed at that time.

So they did not stitch me up. From wat i noe, have to see whether yours is incompetent cervix before gynaes will consider to stitch u up. If stitch up, depending, some got to be on bed rest, some dun need leh...

like chloegal, she is not on total bedrest (right?), but for gg11, and my hod (she also had premature labor at week 20 plus), total bed rest, and couldn't move about.

For padetrician, you got to find one near your place and also follow up with kkh. Cause it is better to see your own padetrician for illnesses, and kkh for follow up like eye, lungs etc. For injections, I brought my boy to polyclinic.

btw, u so fast planning for no 2?? wow!!! i only dare to think of that 2 years later...

btw, there is a thread in this forum on incompetent cervix here. a lot of mummies went thru stitching before giving birth to healthy babies... chloegal was rather active in the thread. u can ask her.

Hi powergal
i also don't know the weight of my baby now. From the last detailed scan at 36 weeks, it was 2922g. Btw, bought 4d for this no but never strike :p

Hi kkf
i think and hope that it'll be soon cos i want to enjoy CNY
after the removal of the stitch, i'm hoping for waterbag to burst now cos i don't know how to identify with contractions. i think i'm having but don't know regular or not.

hi gingal
the procedure is called cervical suture. got to stitch and then closer to delivery, got to remove. i was put on bedrest but i think my gynae a bit ks :p
for my next one, i think i will ask him to do cervical suture for me in the beginning of the 2nd trimester and then i take ventolin lor ('ma chiam' i the expert hor?). for this pregnancy, i was moving slightly from week 28 and much more from week 32 :p

my gynae said that my cervix was opening up as I was having early contractions. he had to control the contractions with ventolin first before performing the surgery as if not, the contractions could be worse. also, after the surgery, need to monitor and make sure the contractions are not so bad else the stitch may tear!! think the workmanship must be good else the stitch may come off. he always check the stitch during every check up and said good workmanship cos the stitch is very much in tact
he removed the stitch when he felt that i was ready to deliver to prevent contractions from tearing the stitch.

the procedure is very simple. actually i don't feel a thing and no difference to me. no physical cut and no pain at all. the only pain was poking the needle for aneasthetic.

as for your question, think it differs from person to person. i think early prevention should help. think for our future pregnancies, we should just take ventolin and relax our uterus right at the start and do cervical suture to prevent the baby from coming out.

xlbiss,
U so clever!! How u know?? hahahaa.. Anyway today Craydon went to my mum's place cos I caught a flu too.. Throat abit funny liao.. So to be on a safe side better dun get too near to Craydon..

kkf,
Sometimes I wonder do I hav incompetent cervix that y when Craydon was only 1.5kg and my waterbag burst.. chloegal had that? U know how many kg is her bb when born?

gg11, haha, i also hopes waterbag burst, then i noe i must get to hospital...

though i have been thru 2 labors, but i still am not too sure when it is really time to go hospital as well, scare too late (i scare too late rather than early).

chloegal babies (2 gals) are born 34 weeks plus and over 2kg.

incompetent cervix if i am not wrong is define as cervix open without you knowing, and sometimes babies just slip out without you knowing too.

kkf,
I read from somewhere the cervix will also open if the bb is of certain weight which cervix cannot support it and stretch open.. But now that I know chloegal bb more than 1.5kg, I know mine is not.. :p

Anyway I m going TMC next week when my hubby back from biz trip.. Hav to bu yi bu my womb cos I suspect my womb is very weak..

Oh, did I tell u mummies about the result of my review with my gynae 2 weeks after my D & C?? My gynae said no reason was found for my miscarriage and it was a rare case and shd not happen again in my next pregnancy.. And he found a cyst as big as a kiwi fruit, about 6cm+.. He said if next next menses, the cyst still there and not shrink, I may hav to go for an operation to remove it.. I asked him is my miscarriage cos by the cyst and he said no, it is a harmless cyst and not cancerous but to be on the safe side, he done a pap smear for me and result will be out tomolo.. Pray hard nothing happen to me.. sighzz..

Tree_Ice tea
During my first pregnancy, my cervix dilated at 22wks and an emergency cerclage was done and was ordered CRIB. I managed to prolong my pregnancy to 25wks and my boy was 775g at birth.

My two subsequent pregnancy, my gynae put in the cerclage at 12wks to prevent my cervix from dilating early and to support my pregnancy. I manage to tahan till 34wks and my sis who has incompetence also managed to prolong till 36 wks.

hi chloegal
your case like very similar to mine hor? b4 and aafter the op, were you also on ventolin drip and pills? was your dilation due to early tightenings and contractions also?

from your sharing on your 2nd pregnancy, i feel more assured of my plan - asking the gynae to sew up before the dilation
during the 2nd pregnancy, were you on bedrest or taking any medication?

hi ice tree
i've gained 20kg so far for my baby to be this weight. big sacrifice from mummy leh :p

Thanks Mummies for all the information...

Actually it's not that I'm planning for 2nd one so soon, it's just that due to this case, now alot ppl are telling me remedies etc. so I just wanna find out wat is it actually...

Just got a hard feeling that this will happen again in my next pregnancy...

gg11,

Putting on weight is good.
I forgot where I read, one of the symptoms of premature labour is when Mummy doesn't put on weight for her pregnancy..Which it really happened to me...Is this true?

kkf
I think i dilated 4cm.
gg11
yes b4 and after the ops i was on ventolin drip and pills for my first pregnancy. But mine was not due to tightenings and contraction. I am diagnoise as incompetence cervix where the cervix will just dilate without any sign which is why it is usually diagnoise after the first pregnancy.

During 2nd pregnancy, as my cerclage is done early, i was not on bedrest but have to take antibodies every mth to prevent infection. I still work as usual after 3 wks of MCs. After the ops, my gynae will give me pills to stop contraction but just for the first wks.

gingal,
Not true la.. I put on 20kg+ last time and my boy borned 1.5kg and premature at 34wks too.. hahahaa.. :p My sil put on 8kg and she gav birth in 40wks..

Hey gg11 and cholegal, my new nick is Tree_Ice la.. Not Tree Ice Tea or Ice Tree leh.. hahahaaa..

hey gg11, i also put on 20kg liao, and me still have 4 weeks to go (to reach week 38) leh.

tree ice you gained 20 plus? you manage to shed off all the excess weight? me rather worry...

wow chloegal 4cm a lot...you dun feel pains right? but then how you noe you have to go hospital?

my gynae did tell me if you feel contractions (painful) that means not incompetent cervix.

yes yes! week 34! i finally meet my gynae and my own target! yes yes!
so happy! good job, violet! thereafter everyday is just an additional bonus to me liao. very happy already.

Yesterday did not sleep much, wan my life, dash coughing and coughing, he was getting better, but dunno why, yesterday coughing quite badly again. will be bringing him to see another round of doctor, he has been coughing for 2-3 weeks liao, afraid will affect lungs. Thinking of going mount E, but the waiting time can kill leh, 2-3 hours, i dun have the stamina to sit so long...

haiz, pregnant a lot of things are beyond my means and have to trouble everyone.

Then at about 4 plus in the morning, got sms fr my sister. She has problem with her hubby long time ago...cause her hubby got a few occassions never came home at night...

good morning..

kkf,
well done! ws was born @34wks. looks like violet is doing great & she's of good weight 2. well done! u really deserve a good treat/pampering after violet is born!

aiyoh, seems like a lot happening with u 2 hor. but u can't help much with ur sis' prob rt? after u've given birth then try & help her lor..

i think u shld bring dash to another doc. either pd or mt e or watever. i dun think it's good 4 a kid 2 b coughing for weeks & med is not helping. u shld get another opinion.

ws' dot dots oso seem like appearing more obvious & disappearing. so i oso sian. think tmrw will bring her 2 c doc again. hopefully, hopefully can get clearance & get her back 2 sch on monday! 1wk plus nev go sch, really scared she'll start crying again..sigh.

hav been asking her wat she wans 4 her bday. she say wan a big cake in sch! haha. guess she's older now, hav frens in sch alrdy. was thinking, actually it's oso good 4 her 2 celebrate in sch, cos her frens r all in sch. i juz need 2 buy cakes & prepare some goodie bags. but tot, my parents & sis will surely wan 2 celebrate her bday 2. my sis has alrdy bought her bday present long ago. so maybe need 2 do another small cake cutting @my parents' place. heehee.. but dunno whether i'm looking 4 trouble or not..so gei-kiang, trying 2 do so many things.

bit sian recently oso..work wise, macam no motivation to work. partly becos so much problems at work & ws falling sick, HFMD, myself falling sick. no mood 4 work. hope after the new year (yr of ox), mood will b better

sorry 2 bored u all with my lengthly post, juz feeling q sian..so must vent somewhere

once again, congrats to kkf!

Oops Tree_Ice so sorrie, ha... ha... i must be thinking of drinking Ice Tea at that time.

kkf
No, i dun feel any pain. I still can remember very clearly that on 17 Dec 04, when i wake up to go toilet, i find a big patch of blood on my panties. I was very scare and wake my hubby up. I rest on the bed while he was preparing to send me to hospital. I know something is very wrong as my twin sister who have incompetence cervix have experience this before. But i was more lucky than her, i still can have an emergency cerclage done as my cervix didnt dilate further during th 3 days that they try to stablise me before going for the cerclage. That day is also my friend's wedding day, i was supposed to go for her dinner that nite.

kkf,
I lost 12kgs within a mth but gain back again.. hahahaa.. blame it on my big appetite.. :p

anyway dun worry about the weight now, sure can lose one but jus dun like me like that horr eat and eat non stop.. hahahaa..

dm, yah, just bought dash to mount E and see a specialist there. Spray spray spray (ventolin and another spray), thats wat the doctor prescribed, no oral medicine.

ws celebrating her birthday soon? yes, buy her a nice cake to celebrate her birthday with friends, that will be fun! and prepare some nice goodie bags! dash was so excited yesterday to receive a goodie bag from his friend...haha, i think for his birthday, got to do the same...

Normal to have no mood...chinese new year coming! yeah cheer yourself up!

Just came back fr gynae visit, violet is 2.4kg at 34 weeks and with long hair (1cm?), gynae said can give birth at mount E liao...still thinking, cause i dun like to wait for gynae to arrive, by the time page her, she drives here, i might give birth liao...

Chloegal oic, then yours is surely incompetent cervix cause you dun feel pain.

tree ice, looking in the mirror i find myself like a pig now, so sad...chinese new year also dunno wear wat...sianz.

I get to carry my little girl today!!! 1st time that I get to feel like a real Mummy, carry her in my arms...She is now 1598g and doing well...

2087561.jpg