Premature babies support group

precious,
no la, i not mistaken la. i know wat u mean. but trying to encourage kkf, even (TOUCH WOOD) if violet is borned before full-term, she's oso not abnormal

good morning mummies

*wave to kkf*
jia you jia you, yes like xbliss say, don't worry abt the full month celebration, gathering we any time also can have ;) - i think all the mummies here really think you have done great and is just simply happy for u in our heart

gg11
thanks for sharing abt importance of iron, do keep us posted on your progress ah

day-C
how is baby doing? which gyane are you seeing

fairylander
happy new year to you too

xbliss
well, this year (year just started), i need to keep my annual leave + whatever cc leave i have because i have exhausted all my last year leave (brought forward none :|) so i cannot take leave. but if you all do have any gathering on weekends, i sure will go.

and i was ever telling mich (the twin mummy), i must make sure i take the group pix before i go :p.

Jane
my appt this friday, wk 24. kinda nervous coz tummy seems small leh. seeing Dr Paul Tseng at TMC. c how it goes...

day-C

size does not say everything. some babies is late bloomers (ie at later stage of trimester then start to put on weight which is good for the mummy)

ok ok let me know after your appointment

xiaowanzi,
U dun accept pm.. Can u pm me or email me?

nana,
Thanks! Now that Jac is back to work, quite difficult to go to her place cos weekends is normally dedicated to both our families.. :p But then again, the mummies here mention gotta hav a gathering, mayb we can meet up from there? keekee..

Jane,
Siang is very tall horr.. and his smile really very cute and sincere.. I like children when they smile so happily..

kkf,
although I dun post here very often but I m a regular reader for this thread.. I check in here everyday to see if there is any news from u.. When know u still here, very happy cos knowing Violet is a very sensible bb and stay put inside u.. Just dong another 2weeks+ and she is 35 gestation.. jiayouuuu!!!

day-C,
My sil tummy also not big all along her pregnancy.. partly becos she is those very petite size.. And I rem during her 4mth pregnancy, her tummy was flat and she can wore those tight tight wedding gown.. Then towards her 3rd trimester, her tummy suddenly grew bigger and bigger and her bb was born a healthy weight of 2.85kg.. So no worry.. Small tummy doesnt mean small bb, last time my tummy so so big and my little prince is only 1.5kg when born leh.. :p

Actually would like to make a survey here.. Do u all like to take cold drinks most of the time??

Not sure if its true but somehow I got a feeling by taking too much cold drink mean trigger premature delivery.. My sil doesn't take cold drinks and her bb is born 40weeker.. My mum said mayb I took too much cold drink which is not good for our womb..

So how many of u like me LUV cold drinks??

powergal
I dun really take cold drink, I drink it only when I am very thirsty on a very hot day.

day-C
My tummy was pretty small too for up to 22 weeks, then suddenly grow bigger like overnight, even the nurse commented on it.

xiaowanzi
Your boy broke my girl's record of 6 mths. I'm sure he is growing very well now.

Jane
I brought forward 3 days leave but also scared to take cos work bz and boss in a very agitated mood lately..but tmr am, I hv to go on leave cos A first day of school in a new church kindy. Must give her morale support.

Powergal,

Just sent you my email address.

Preious one,

Ya, think he's one of the record holder. He now still with the nasal canular, really Hope he can off it asap.

any mummies know, if after colour the hair, the EBM can be use? if cannot, then take how long the EBM can be use to feed the baby?

hi powergal
siang height should be around 84cm (?) haha i am not sure, everytime never manage to take proper measurement :p. maybe he just 'look' tall haha because of the camera angle? siang smile is like me; when we smile; our eye become so small; the sweetness of having single eye lid - cute :>

but oh yes, kids smile is the most angel look. i love to listen to kids laughter too.

that time when i was preggie with siang; i don't remember i drink lots of cold water ler.

xiaowanzi
Don't worry; i am sure soon your boy will be off the nasal canular. sorry, i only recently colour my hair...so cannot answer your question..

precious_one
well, at least you got extra 3 days this year. me is really start from whatever i have or is entitled this year :p. oh, pretty A is going to school! wow. ok ok must tell us how she adapt ah. hmm yes yes must watch; maybe lots of boys will be after her ler *wink wink* (joking). really so happy for you

powergal, i am one who loves cold drinks, but when i was pregnant with dash, i faithfully never even sipped a single drop of cold drink, still premature, so this pregnancy, me a bit bor chap liao...

I have learnt, what is bound to happen will happen, no matter wat u do.

like other people can walk n walk like nobody business up till they deliver, for me, i just walked a bit, and my first boy was borned that early...sigh.

xiaowanzi, wow, your boy looks sooo ok now, no one will noe he stayed 11 mths in hospital.

honestly i m a bad mum. i keep thinking just let violet comes out now. i saw fr internet if mucus plug dropped off, then there is this risk of womb infection. got me so worried. also, i really hope to be free again, able to move about. bad right???

xiaowanzi, ur boy is durian right as in ur blog?

he is on nasal canular, but he is perfectly like a normal bb leh...those photos, he look sooo cute!

xiaowanzi
Your boy will grow out of it very soon. As u know, my girl was a trachy baby, was with trachy tube and hook onto oxygen support for half a year after discharged, trachy tube on her for 18mth in total, after decannulation, the hole in the neck was sugically stitched up only in Nov 07. She's Feb 05 baby. Her wound still can be seen on her neck....could be permanent....but heck, as long as she can breathe and be healthy.

jane
My girl until ytd still tell me she doesn't want to go to school. We pull her out of N1 in Sept last year so she play heartily from then till now. N2 starts at 0830 hrs tmr, dun know if she can wake up early or not...cos her sleeping pattern changed also, used to sleep early, now sleep rather late but wake up at about 0830 to 0900 hrs.

kkf
Let violet decides when she wants to arrive...it is her rights lei....

*waving at kkf
hmmm i felt that personally you have endure a lot thru this pregnancy and you are doing great. who say you are a bad mummy?? you are not bad, i think if i am you, i probably cannot wait to walk around, see this and eat that too.

wow violet is coming to 33 weeks or is it coming to 34 weeks? jia you jia you

precious_one
siang is not even in school yet you know. we are thinking let him go into play group (3-4 hours) or i may consider kindergarden. my colleagues just told me about the possibility of sending to kindergarden. siang is turning 2.5 years old this Feb. I think as they grow older there is this tenancy they will be like become more lazy (as we adults does keke) haha.

good morning..

jane,
wow, i tot i was early, who knows u r earlier! i came in earlier today, cos gg 2 visit my niece. rem i said she was not well, was admitted to kks last sat.. sigh.

my colleage juz sent her son to PAP N1, her son juz turn 30mth old, which is the min age requirement. maybe u chk out the schs ard ur place or ur mom's place, then slowly decide

precious,
dun worry la, angel will b a good girl in sch. prob she's juz used to the not gg sch. but once she started, she'll enjoy it.

ws got 'promoted' frm playgroup to pre-nursery in dec. she took 1 mth 2 'readjust' herself! started crying when we dropped her in sch. the group of frens were 'promoted' together with her, except for more new frens & new teachers. last fri, she juz suddenly became the happy,smily kid when we said bye bye..

kkf,
it's another bright new day. like jane said, u've come a long way. u hav sacrificed soo much 4 violet. Nobody, including yourself, can say u r a bad mommy.

good morning disneymickey (you start your day early too).

i am almost everyday also so early. because i want to knock off at 6pm on the dot. shuttling between the west and east ler. sometime so sian when the express way jam (plus now school starts there is lots of cars on the road - everyone fighting see who is earlier).

is your niece better?

30 months. which is about 2.5 years old lor? PAP N1 and the cc N1 got any different? sorry, i am really blur with all this. I did not want to send siang for full day class because worry his health not that goood. i wish to defer till he is like more ready but still i think he needs some form of 'discipline'. At 2.5 years old, he already say a lot of "He Don't know" (to everything that he actually knows. which i really shake head lor.

frankly, must really think carefully because with each changes, they take a while to readapt hor. but WS not bad ler. toke only 1 month. some kids really take quite a while ler

xiaowanzi

i ask one of my colleague who is still giving BM now. she say hor, after the mummy colour her hair, the first pump of EBM must be thrown away. so as to say, after colouring or treatment is done to our hair, if giving BM, the first pump or better still the next one (to play safe) must throw away. hope this info helps

kkf, so what did dr tan say during this visit? did u ask her abt infection if muscus plug is out? so u will go for c class/a class when violet comes out? *kapo*

bbgal,... take care.! which hospital is ur bb in?

munyi, heheh..ur bb can rem ur smell thats why he is so comfy in ur arms

xbliss, yes, show us ur new fringe!
i am wondering if i should straighten for CNY..but seeing my natural hair is so curly ..i think it will be very ugly when the new hair comes out.. ice cream shop?? hehehe.. u r not afraid in the end the kids ask for ice cream? :p actually till now i never give my gal (2 yo) ice cream leh :p very kiasi.. i will suggest somewhere with a pte room/condo fn room..cos if open restaurant they might wan to run out... then all of us will be busy catching the kids... alot of pp fighting to carry bryan at home? my fren's fullterm bb also walk after 1 yo cos she speaks early so ask the adults to do things for her then she does not have to walk!

gg11, ahh..so still got to wait 2 more weeks...eat more pig liver?

jane..ehehe..great minds think alike! when i read what dm type, i also think 'next time we must shout our kids' name loudly if we suspect a mommy is nearby'... i already miss shelllow that time at kkh, and costa at big walk... i think we should have one big gathering too... after violet came out ok?

nana, yes, ryan is one lucky boy! 33 weeker and now heavier than my kate!

powergal, i do take cold drinks (maybe once every week/fortnight) during my pregnancy but dont think its due to that lah...

opps xiaowanzi, par seh, got confused...tot the blog is yours. sorry preggy woman tends to be like that, a bit blur and forgetful.

actually dash is also sick since last week, fever and cough, now left cough. still coughing badly.
DM, dash is also in nursery now, he is in N2. He is enjoying himself in school as well, chatting with the teachers and principal (dunno chatting wat, everytime hubby went to fetch him, he is talking to them). I haven't start him on full day yet, intend to start this year, but he is sick...
so still half day so far.

Precious one, yah, violet has the right to choose when to come out, but since ann tan said she may come out this week, everyday, i was like waiting in anticipation, thinking is it today? haha. really...everyday thinking and guessing when? I hope she will be guai guai, and will wait when daddy is around to bring me hospital...

jane, yup going to 33 weeks. but dunno can dong till friday or not? thursday going see kkh gynae, maybe he will admit me again,cause i am going to deliver anytime?

bloom, yes will stay c class ward if baby arrives before 34 weeks. save $. anyway, its just 2 days 1 night stay, no need to stay so good...haha.

last time when i delivered dash, went to stay single bedded at raffles. very comfy, but then got to pay in cash leh.

yah yah, we will have on big gathering soon, jane still have to pass you the books, and i still have to get those sweetie clothings fr a lot of nice mummies here for violet! hee.

bloom

haha ok ok deal. we shall all do that if we suspect another baby in this form is near by keke haha

OH yes, the gathering we been talking and talking abt. hehe okie, we shall wait for the arrival of violet (kkf, no rush okie)

kkf
Oh yes yes, i can try to arrange to pick up the books from you. but i thought, now better don't disturb u on such small things. wow so violet is into 33 weeks! you are really doing great. i thinnk hor, violet will come out nearly in full term ler. really ler.

actually, if u intend to really opt for KKH, you can go for their 4 bedder. which cost is still relatively okay? don't have to go for the C ward pah (not saying that C ward is not good la). i guess the 4 bedder at KKH can still pay via mediasave?

Hey you got buy 4D or not? haha suddenly thought side track. some old folks say hor, having baby gal will bring wealth ler ;) :p. ah yo! what is this horrible jane talking abt early in the morning. Boy or gal, healthy can liao.

hope dash recover fast

jane,
where's ur office? i oso stay in CCK & my office is near expo. u still got car 2 sit, poor me got to take train. normally drop ws @sch, take the 7.18 train frm cck, reach expo abt 8.20. 1hr frm station 2 station. yawn. but lucky thing is, no matter wat time i reach office (if go eat bfast, will b b4 9, if nev eat bfast, will b 8.30), i still leave office @5.15, 2 catch the 5.25 train
unless got work 2 finish up la..

kkf,
hope dash recover soon..i packed 2 bags of clothes alrdy. can either pass 2 u or my colleagues. we have 4 preggy in office, 1 of them juz delivered last sat. big boy, 3.6kg! 1 more in may, 1 in jun & 1 in jul ..

disneymickey
wow 1 hour on the train. me is from Jurong East to Bedok (to and fro). i work in the West (near bunoa vista). its a wonder u can spend 2 hours (in one day) on the train. sometime if i go back to my mum house myself (from buona vista to eunos MRT) is already about 1 hour journey.

i like your off work time
so u only got 10 mins to walk from your office to the MRT Stn. that is pretty rush. no wonder you are in such good shape (shy shy).

wow your office same as me. many preggie ladies. i got 3 here ler. also around same period as you mentions. this OX year really is bb bloom and i heard my colleague (she is preggie) say its good year for boys and gals.

jane,
haha i agree wif u.wen catherine was born,she bring luck to my father in law.he strike 1st prize 4D 2 days after i deliver catherina.

fairylander
you confirm what my mum said! (she is the 'some old folks i mention haha). wow! your fil must really really sayang catherina. your ger bring really good luck and fortune.

i got a fren. he got 2 gals. really strike quite a lot in recent years lor. i know another who has a gal and a boy. that time he strike until he can pay off a car (imagine!!).

no offence to those who had boys..its really just old folk tales

kkf
hahaha..wow now you are getting excited (just now u mention u nver been so bored before - hehe). fairylander and me caught your attention *wink wink*

i really don't know ler. CNY coming. must remeber to buy the red packet big toto draw (that one i sure buy a bit keke). as for 4D, i really have not much idea

mummies here who do not do such investment. please don't take offence of our posts. its just chit chat really

actually u noe mummies, somehow i already very happy violet is 32 weeks, at least when i tell people, dash is 27 weeks and his mei mei 32 weeks, well, it's like quite ok...

got a fren got two premiees too, 33 weekers, and 35 weekers. hers even better though, and she is a teacher as well!

haha, i actually heard that before as well. my colleague when expecting her gal really strike a bit of lottery and win at majong session.

A's first day of school after 4 mths break, she super ah...no separation anxiety, can talk to teachers and participate in class. MIL and I followed her to the class from far behind, we did not enter the classroom with her, then we went for breakfast, rtn to peep and see that she's participating well, then we went MIL house to take a rest and fetched her after school. Somemore, she happily said bye bye to me as I had to go home and get changed to work. BIG girl liao! So happy!

but kkf, just now the 2 case i mention is true case. no bluff

Not encouraging u to do such investment :p. just chit chat chit chat

precious_one
its a great achievement for A and yourself
- should reward yourself a bit, having had put in so much effort these couple of years

yah lor dash's gf is a big gal now. same as dash leh, dash also likes to talk to the principal and teachers. haha.

Jane,
Really huh ? tell you something when I was carrying D&D, my hb's car no came out 1st prize
hb didn't win cause he dun believe in 4D, me only meagre 2k
then my house no. came out in starter too so I think my D&D sayang mommy (I alway tell my hb that), b4 all that we think that those who just got married and those expecting bbs are very lucky

didi
wow! well, so far after i had siang. i did strike 2nd prize guesss what :| i only win S$80 because i buy via the lucky pick keke...

2k is consider quite a good win. yes yes. many pple also say, preggie ladies very heng one
and i really think so

mommies, abbott send me 1 sachet of pediasure vanilla 45.7g and choco 45.7g and a $2 off if u buy 400g at fairprice/cold storage/guardian/giant. valid till 28 feb

i can pass to u between boon lay mrt -> admiralty mrt between 6.40pm - 7.10pm daily.

I will see if there is any response from any of u before i post in the free items forum

jane, powergal, precious
thx for the reasurrance! appreciate it.

precious
must feel gd seeing A adapt so well
great!

All mummies
Happy New Year!

kkf
good accomplishments
Looking forwar to the gathering n oso passing u the clothies.\

It has been bz for the last few days as Ezann started her childcare, accompanying my eldest son to his new secondary school etc.. Thank God Ezann loves school
No separation anxiety.. Jus that it seems a bit tiring.. She enjoyed playing with her peers.She is now attending N1

jane,
ya catherina is the 1st grandchild of my in law side.he really sayang n spoil my girl sometimes i also headache.

kkf,
juz buy any number u feel u wan to buy coz my fil tat time also anyhow buy hehe.

I was checking my emails and saw an invitation by kkf to this thread. I am glad that there is this support group here for us to share...

I had a Miscarriage late 2007 and was pregnant again within 6 months after I miscarried.

I managed to keep my baby this round and am already very glad...My Girl is 7 days old today...She was born at gestional age 29 week and 2 days on New Year's Day!

I still rembr that I felt contractions and my cervix was already dilated when she was still a 27th weeker. I have to be hospitalised to Bedrest with Ventolin Drips and Adaluit to control the contractions and further dilation. Total 3 Jabs to mature my Girl's lung. I was then discharged for 1 month Home Complete Bedrest after 1 week in TMC. My water bag has not burst and there is no show of blood yet. Thus, I felt safe to go home. Who knows, after a week at home, on 31st Dec 09 Morning 6.00am, my water bag burst...My Gynae has already advised me what to do should this happened, so I called him and was told to proceed to KKH immediately. I was prepared that my Girl will be borned that day...

But, KKH was not ready to deliver me, they tried to keep baby with me for as long as possible, and she managed to stay for another 20 hours in my womb...which was amazing to the fact that I have little water left in my bag...and I am dilated 6 cm already...and further dilating fast...The team at KKH Delivery did not even give up when I was dilated at 9cm...At 2.00am, it was confirmed that she is at a very low position and I was dilated @ 10cm, thus I can deliver her liao...I applause their efforts even to the very last min, they are still tryingw ays to keep baby in me and not giving up. My Girl was Borned @ 0210, with weight of 1.355kg.

Now my girl is in NICU, I am visiting her every Alt Days. Ytd, I was so glad that she can be off her breathing tube and is doing well breathing on her own. She lost some weight in initial 3 days, but has since gained back some weight after I produced my milk on the 4th day. Heard from nurse that it is normal to lose some water on the 1st days that baby is born. She also developed high Jaundice on the 3rd day she was borned, and had to be on 2 x Phototherapy machines. But luckily the level dropped and she can be off the machine now, and to use only when necessary. Heard also that this is common on Premmies. Now she is feeding on 4mls every 2 hours which is not alot, as she has experienced some disgestion problems ytd Morning. Once she is ok, the nurse will slowly increase her feeds. I wish she can be off her feeding tubes soon...
I managed to touched her ytd,and her response was really amazing. She keep trying to open her eyes to see me and her dad, but i guess it's too bright and her eyes can't stay open for long..so she just blinked everytime we talk to her..when we were talking to the nurse, she will make small cries to catch our attention...When we turn back and say "ok sayang", she will stop...So Amazing!!! I think she will be a Strong Fighter and will be back in my arms soon...

Right now, Me and HB are taking it very positively, as I feel that we are doing quite well in this already, thinking that she wanted to come out when she was only 27 weeks old...so dragging another 2 weeks and with the Jabs to mature her lungs taken 2 weeks early really helps. Today My Girl's Gestational age is 30 weeks and 2 days...I can't wiat to see her Grow fast and strong soon...

Pardon me for my super Loh Soh Story...

Now I have some queries that maybe some of you can help...

1. I was told that if my girl is doing well these 2 days, she can be transferred to the Special Care Nursery. My cousin said that since my girl is still so small, it is better to leave her at NICU as the ratio for Nurse:Baby is 1:2, whereas as SCN, the ratio is 1:6?

My baby is still at 1.3+kg and really small, I kinda not feel safe if the Nurse ratio difference is so huge. What do u girls suggest???

2. Another thing is, I was also told that there is a tiny hole in my girl's heart...the nurse re-assured us that every premmie has it..but depends on big or small hole. Big holes needs operation to close it, small hole will heal by itself...is it true??? Will this lead to future complications???

3. I'm Expressing Breast Milk just like u girls to transport to the hosiptal. Right now, my supply is like total 60mls per session every 3 hours, and this is the 7th day after I gave birth. Is this amount ok??? If I'm doing well already, I wish to slow down abit, as the breasts really hurts when the supply comes in so fast...Is this advisable?

Is there anyone whose baby is still in NICU???

Hope u girls can help me on the above questions...Thanks to all mummies in advance

Hi gingal, glad to have you join our thread!

Wow, your gal is 01/01/2009 baby!

your questions:
1. of course transfer. cause only if transfer, then will have chance to go home!
thats the dream of all parents in nicu, to get their babies transfer to scn. Anyway if your baby is not stable, they will not transfer. And visiting hours more flexi at scn.

2. tiny hole, pda is common. dun worry. if it is serious, the doctor will tell you. like my boy, he has hole in heart (moderate), the doctors told us his hole needs to be operated on.

3. breast milk is one area i can't help, as I dun have much supply last time...

4. yes, bbgal twins are at nicu. you may like to contact her if she doesn't mind.

and keep us updated! your 29 weekers is doing very well!!!

And I do agree that kkh really tries their best to keep our babies till full term. I was admitted twice for threatened premature labor, and they really tried their very best to delay.