Pine Close Mummies

cat,
Here's Chen Li number: 6345 1802.

Hi Dreambabyd & Gen,

My new maid so far OK. Can speak better than my Indo maid. At least we do not have to keep repeating what we have been trying to say. We have not been able to have PORK dish for close to 2 years liao(though we do have occassionally just not often enough) when we had Indo maid. Now, we are so happy to have pork almost every other day.

Surprisingly my boy is OK with this auntie. Now training her to put him to sleep at night.

Not CC for the time being, just playgroup. Don't they offer that as well? Sorry I am quite suaku.

How about the one at Blk 68 (masionette block) there? Anyone knows if it's still there?

Mgteo, what's the bad review? Can share?

ginger,
Not really bad is just that they are air-conditioned then in terms of space it is not as spacious. At least at NTUC they get to do gardening, kind of like more outdoor activites then cooped up in the confined area. Then as most of them said its abit cina (thats what I felt too). :p

mgteo,
Thanks for the info & number. Looks like my gal can only sniff but can't enrol this year.
Ya, Blk 5 has playgroup teaching Montessori. I dun really like the environment cos they are using the current RC, so boring.
Well, NTUC CC is not so cina. Got ang mo put up there..haha. Wonder u noe abt the atheletic & his german wife at our area? They put their kids there.

Ginger,
Btw, Chen LI is not CC. It's a nursery & kindergarten. Correct me if I am wrong, hong.

aiyo...paisay it's so confusing for a 1st time mummy like me. Sorry i am abit suaku.

What is the difference between a CC, playgroup, nursery and kindergarten?

Do they provide all services like playgroup, nursery etc? Or they only provide either CC, playgroup, or nursery?

cat_tail

Wah salute your friend...I wanted to do that but always find it no time coz only me looking after my boy and no maid...

mgteo

Ya the GD cards is just words only...

CC - Childcare. They offer half day or full day programme. Parents get govt subsidy if u put ur kids in there.

Nursery or Kindergarten - Normally only 3 hrs programme. Not govt subsidy but some center allow u to use baby bonus to pay for the fee.

Playground is meant for 1.5yr - 3yr

N1 - 3yr
N2 - 4yr
K1 - 5yr
K2 - 6yr
P1 - 7yr

Ginger,
Chen Li only have 3 hr programme. It is not a childcare center.

Mgteo,
which timing will u be enrolling ur ger?

Cat, why dun u just go and view the place with MgTeo? When was Edna borned? Why cannot enrol this yr? I saw a new student in Janelle class this term.

yah i saw the atheletic & his german wife bringing the kids to NTUC CC every morning.

BTW, Chen Li have outdoor playtime everyday unless raining or teachers decided they have water play etc. So the kids really use up their energy for the whole 3hr. Once Jan back, she took her meal and straight head to Zzzz world. MIL said she seem so tired after school. I told her i like it this way, that mean she is enjoying her school and that only leave my MIL more time for Julian.

They teach phonics using Letterland program. I was very surprised after Janelle showed me her HOMEWORK after 1st term. She will show me every of her work and describe wat she done in school and read it to me.

Thanks Hong for your detailed explanation

So it means my 16mths old son not eligible for the nursery class yet. Looks like Chen Li has good comments from mummies here.

Anyone knows the rates for CC, playgroup and how much is the nursery class for Chen Li?

Ginger,
i think u have to wait a little longer.

Chen Li charge $450 for each term, $25 material fee. $100 for deposit.

Hmm, i'm still considering should i put my boy (20 mths old) in the CC near our place. My mil is looking after him currently & i'm a weekend mummy. As he get older, he wanted to go home with us and always fuss, cried when he saw us leaving. Heartache...

Hmm... so much "talk" on the Chen Li. I guess I should make a trip down to take a look myself. Personally, I don't like the NTUC CC as I don't think the teachers there are "trained" enough to teach our precious little ones. I went there more some time ago thinking I might want to put my elder girl there. After seeing the ways that handle kids, I change my mind.

Oh dear, NTUC also no good...Blk 49 also no good.

How ah...where to put my son ?? Hmm....guess have to wait a little longer.

Gen, you sending your younger gal to playgroup yet?

hong,
That's a very detail description.

Edna is only 19mths, so she got to wait until next year. Think I better wait until year end then arrange with the principle to see the place.

Ginger,
There are a big range of rates for CC. Say eg like those bungalow type of CC, it can cost u up to $1200+ for a whole day or ard $800+ for half day session! Those at HDB will be cheaper but of cos, "yi feng qian yi feng huo" lor. I heard Pat's Sch House at Katong area is very gd but too exp liao..

Look at this site for a better idea.
http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_main_result_region_vm.asp?sort=&SERVICES_ID=4&PageIndex=1&nt10=1&CENTRE_ID=PT7700,PT4280,PT5340,PT8439,PT7360,PT6550,PT8351,PT3850,PT3140,PT8424,PT8426,PT5300,PT6900,PT7620,PT8350,PT4730,PT8388,PT8384,PT8411,PT8448,YW0050,PT7560&MAP_URL=&szMod=serv&szSubMod=child

jen
If you don't have issue on caregiving arrangement at the moment, it is best to sent only when they are older.

petals
My hubby is a supporter of Neo garden, been getting from them ever since my wedding reception till now for most of the occassions.

ginger
Agreed with cat_tail, there's a NTUC CC coz my SIL placed her boy there before.

By the way, saw from the news that NTUC CC is changing their circulum in one or two months time, suppose to be a better approach.

cat_tail
Agents are always eyeing those flats coming to 5 yrs and below 10yrs coz got more buyers. The frequency of calls should reduce as the flat aged... just bear with it for the time being.

Anyone knows where to get portable toilet seat cover for training toddlers outside home ? I dont know is there such thing as foldable seat cover ? Please advise..

mgteo

After changing to those attach to adult seat kind, he more willing...just now manage to poo and urine there..me so happy...finally he willing...

dreambabyd,
U can get the graco folderable toilet seat from Toys R us. I got mine there.

Ginger,
Not yet. My hub thinks that she is still too young.

dreambabyd,
Thats good news!! But why do you want to buy those portable ones?

jen,
Just my point of view, I personally find that parents and child should have lots of bonding. So if every night he is crying and wailing of going off with you then you should really consider CC. At least you get to see him more often!

JasTan, my mil didnt complaint anything abt taking care of my boy (tired etc). Once my fil comes home, he will take turn to look after my boy, VERY precious one to them as he's the only grandson!

But somehow i feel they pamper him too much. His reaction at home and at their place are different.

mgteo, i wanted to bring him home so badly lor. So am looking around for CC around our place now. But all negative feedbacks of all CC here except Chen Li...

remember sometime last week we were discussing abt meeting up? Since nothing has been finalised yet, I would like to invite you mummies, daddies & babies/kids to my baby boy's first birthday celebration next sun (22 Apr) at abt 1 pm. It will just be a small party and I tot it will be a good idea for us to meetup.

Pls do come if u can make it and let me know ur attendance. Thanks!

Jen,
yah Chen Li not a CC leh.

Petals,
thanks for inviting. Can I confirm with u end of this week? Happy bday to ur boy.

Hi JasTan,

i didnt check CC near my office. Feel it's more convenient if CC near our place.

Maybe i should start looking around near my workplace. But will not be cheap either since ii'm located at Shenton way.

Petals, you didn't mention mtb :-( am i invited hehehehe

I'd love to attend since we are in the same block..... do give me the details.... my mom asks me home for lunch every sun.... i'd see if i can come after the lunch. Pl PM me your unit number.

Sorry, tink I have made the screen elongated. :p

Jen,
Just click the link I posted & check the CC around your workplace. They have the fees listed.

Petals,
Thanks for the invitation. Will be popping by on that day.

cat_tail

Thanks for your help last night...My hubby quite keen in the Maths cards..just need some more info..like total how many cards and i remember seeing equations behind each card right ?

GD set got numerical cards too...yours have ?

You can remember how much you bought for the 2 sets ? Then maybe we can quote you easier...

Sorry ah so many questions

Petals

Thanks for your invitation ...my boy having nap at that timing leh..what time your party ending ? I check with my husband seems like got something on that day..

jen,
I thought there's a CC at Shenton Way? Think is next to Shenton House if I'm not mistaken. There are quite a few around Tanjong Pagar area you can try searching. Hope you will find a good one.

Petals,
Thanks for inviting but I've got something on on that day.

Hong,
thanks. Do let me know how many of u will be coming and I'll pm u my addy.

Mesh,
apologies... don't mean to leave u out...you are of course invited. Try and come if u can. I will pm u my unit no. later.

Cat_tail,
I will pm u my addy later. are u coming alone with ur gal or together with hubby? I need the headcount as we'll be catering food.

Dreambabyd,
try and pop by if u can since we are at the same blk. not sure what time it'll end but buffet will probably start around 1 plus and cake cutting at around 3pm.

Mgteo,
no worries, we'll hv a chance to meet up next time

dreambabyd,
Dun mention, I will be glad to sell u my GD maths kits if you want cos it's collecting too many dust liao.
My set is just red dot, will sms u the no. of cards.

Petals,
Hubby will be away so just me & my gal coming. Dun count me in for the food cos I eat like a cat. Heehee...

dreambabyd,
The folder seat is abt $20+, if I didn't remember wrongly.

Petals,
Don't count me in for the foods also as my 2 daughters are allergic to certain food.

I went to Chen Li today. The Pre-Nursery is $550 & Nursery & up are $450 per term. Personally, I find it not bad too but still considering.

gen,
$550 per term? u include the deposit? I was not informed of the new fee leh.

When did u visit the school? This morning? U went to the class?

gen,
Like to share what u seen at Chen Li?
Did u sign up? I intend to pay a visit this yr end since my gal will only be qualify for next yr Jan intake.

hong,
How much u pay for Jan's fees?

gen, hong, cat
I was told the fee is $450 per term. First enrollment is more expensive cos include materials, uniform etc...Think the principal mention first time has to pay around $500plus.

Hong, cat & mgteo,

Dunno leh, This is the fees the principal quote me. She was mentioning that the school is still waiting for MOE to approve then they will announce to parents. The $550 per term is for Pre-Nursery Level. As for the Nursery & up is $450 per term. The principal also mention other fees like materials & other misc. There is also a optional computer class from K1 onward & the fee is $120.

Cat,
Although the school seems not bad in term of food, school fees. After discussion with my hubby yesterday, I don't think I'll put my girl there. As we do not want to pull down our girl standard. The nursery standard is abit slower than my girl's present school.

Wah they are going to increase school fee. Hope MOE dun approved.

Gen, where is ur ger now?

Mgteo,
fee, deposit, bag, uniform n material will come to ard $700++ not $500++

Hong/Gen/Mgteo,
just a bit curious abt the fees at Chen Li, does one term = one month?

Gen,
can i confirm if u are coming with ur 2 gals? if yes, I'll pm u my addy.

hi can i check with u mummies, is it preggie cannot take oranges? i'm taking 2 per day now..... just read that it could give babies phlegm when born.... have u heard about it?

mesh,
Don't listen to the old myths. I had a lot of oranges during preggie also and my girl is fine so far.

Petals,
One term is 10 weeks if I'm not wrong.

gen,
Why do you say their standard is slow? Where is your girl putting up then?

mesh,
Don't listen to the old myths. I had a lot of oranges during preggie also and my girl is fine so far.

Petals,
One term is 10 weeks if I'm not wrong.

gen,
Why do you say their standard is slow? Where is your girl putting up then?

mgteo, that is a great relief.... i love oranges now.... even though i never touched oranges before i got preggie.... unless someone juice it for me.... hehehe. so i can continue my indulgence in oranges now....

anyone else heard otherwise?

gen,
Where u r putting your gal at?

mesh,
That's definitely old folks' tales..heehee..
Orange is good, gives you more Vitamin C to build up your immune system. Oso rem to have more varieties of fruits instead of just orange. There's a recent report that taking apples are good for preg woman.

mgteo,
thanks. 10 wks for abt $500 is still not tat bad. I've known of some half day child care (abt 3 hrs) charging $600+ for a month.

mesh,
don't worry about eating oranges. like cat_tail has said, it's good source of Vit C. But it's always good to eat everything in moderation and try and include different colours of fruits and veg in ur diet.