Perth Holiday - Any Suggestions/Advice/Tips?

Hi STmama,
We booked with AVIS...

will be going on 15jun F&E,, wonder if should cancel or request for postpone....

sighhh

TKL,

Same here.... Going on the 10th Jun. Now cannot cancel or postpone cos ticket alreasy issued.
How many days are u going?

How much u booked with AVIS?

STmama
my 2 kids were sick so cant take the jab altho now already recovered, too late liao. i'm also going on the 10th, taking SQ. u?

Chloe,

Nope, SQ's fully booked. Taking Qantas. Hey, maybe may see u there in Perth.

Bringing mask there, in case cos I am preggy now, beta take precaution for myself and my son.

U intend to go there and book apartment?

STmama
yeah its better to take precaution. i already booked my apt, except car rental, will book when i'm there. how long is your trip?

i paid AU$1390 (5 nites) for 2 bedroom apt, booked thru discoverwest. i stayed there before & i like it, like 5 star hotel

no, i only stayed at mont clare & mantra before. actually i booked Alderney on Hay coz my last trip i stayed at mont clare, fr our apt's view, alderney looks nice but their reviews also no good so i cancelled & booked back mantra.

Hi STmama,
I've booked with AVIS cos needed an MPV, some pickup location already SOLD out... actually you can book first as no need to make any deposit or payment...just to secure a car u need

will not be bringing any thermal wear, i just borrowed some long sleeve top from a friend and bring along some jacket/wind breaker.

am also taking Qantas... as for flu jab, still thinking cos i remembered reading a report tt says it's going to be worse if one had e jab b4 and got H1N1...

hi! im leavg on monday. so much things to pack for 6 of us, like endless stuffs!!

i will be bringing thermal wear though cos the weather at MR gonna be cold esp at nite. i remembered we were shivering the other yr we went. so better over bring than under bring in my case. but perth weather should be ok la.

perth should be safe dun worry. the jab also doesnt prevent us from gettg h1n1. its really hard to prevent cos its like normal flu, v infectious.

ST mama
im also preg, 6.5 mths now. how many mths r u? my gynae said h1n1 is unavoidable. if u r in 2nd trimester and above he said our babies shld be stable but of course best is not to get it. i bring along some n95 masks along also. only if i hear ppl coughing in the plane then i will wear.

blessedmommy
so fast hor u leaving on monday liao. i still hv not start packing. dont know where to start, seems like so many things to bring

think MR & Albany shd be even colder than perth city, u better bring more.

i would suggest u wear the mask inflight just to be on the safe side as its abt 5hrs in an enclosed area leh.

chloe_mum
u leavg few days after me right? yah so much things to bring lor! i brought 1kg of rice cos i know hub sure indulge in his "red rooster" and his "chicken treats" there n i hate it so i told him i will cook porridge and he can throw his bones inside, v yummy haha...

yah MR and albany will be cold, esp at nite. but this time we got the unit with reverse cycle air con so i think wont be too bad. i only bring thermal for the kids anyway.

my frd also ask me put on my mask inflight. but i was thinking i put and my family dun put also no use leh. cos if any one get it i sure have to look after them i will get it too! i think i will see the situation. thanks for ur concern!

i hope weather will be cold and not wet over there! have a good holiday!~~

blessedmommy
yeah, i'm leaving on wed. i'm also bringing 1kg of rice

sure hope the weather is nice & cool. u hv a great holiday too, maybe we might "bump" into each other in perth airport since we leaving on the same day, same time but different flight though

Blessed mummy,
I am in my 5th month now. Going to visit the gynae tomorrow and see what he said. Worse come to worse, may have to cancel the trip. Ya, beta put on the mask throughout the flight although it can be uncomfortable, and maybe the kids too...

Will be bringing thermal wear cos the weather seem quite unpredictable esp. in MR and Albany.

Chloe & TKL,
We managed to confirm booking at City Stay apartment. As for transport, we have reserved 2 Camry, awaiting for confirmation. I also haven't start packing, in case last min can't go but has written down what to pack.

Chloe,
What time is your flight? Mine at 9am. Maybe we may bump into each other at the airport.
. You seriously bringing a pack of rice? Heavy leh.
Also bringing laptop there cos my hubby need to on stand by for work cos his boss is also on leave that week, so can chat again at night if we are there, heehee.....
The Maze is in Perth??

Enjoy your trip to Perth (and me too
). Who knows, we may bump into each other when we are there....
Have fun!!!

Blessedmommy,
You have 5 kids?!! Must salute to u
. Who help u to take care? U have a maid?
Me going with family of 10 (including only 1 kid)!

BTW, how much you bought for the N95 mask? Thought of getting 2, one for my son and the other for me.

STmama
city stay, so near to harbourtown outlet
, can shop shop shop
my flight is at 9.30am T3. we may bump into each other at perth aiport ba. yup bringing in a pkt of rice, now thinking if shd include a small bottle of soy sauce haha... oh gosh my list is getting longer. my hubby also may bring his laptop, so if he does, we can chat again there

the maze is at upper swan valley area. not sure if its worth the visit.

can someone advise me is it a MUST to have car seat if i rent car in Perth? my kids are 3 & 5yrs. some told me YES & some say NO.. i'm confuse.

i enquire fr the car rental co they told me only children below 1yr MUST hv car seat. older than 1yr is not necessary to hv car seat but must belt up.

Thank alot

Moomoo,
Also not too sure but may be bringing my own booster seat so my son can enjoy the scenery while travelling on the road. He likes looking out when sitting in the car.

If the car rental shop says not need, should be non compulsory bah..

thanks alot
hopefully. dun wanna bring my booster seat cos too bulky.. we travelling on jetstar so try to travel light

btw.. can we bring food like biscuit & cup noodle? need to declare?

moomoo
you need to declare. ANY TYPES of food - you must declare. Else you have to pay a fine of $250 AU

I just came back from Perth today. Very nice place! Aussie is very friendly.
The weather is good in city when I left yesterday.

But it was raining on first 4 days when I was in Albany and Pemberton. I think the temperature during the raining season is less than 10°C, I even needed to buy a winter jacket at Albany for my son. Luckily the weather was great when we reached MR and Augusta.

For Accommodation, I highly recommended:
At Albany, I stayed Cape Howe Cottages (Keeper lodge)
Very nice place, beside the cottage is a small animal farm. My sons got up to feed the Alpaca and horses every morning.

At Pemberton, we stayed at Pump hill Farm cottage.
Every morning, we had hayride and animal feeding activities. Children were able to hand feed the duck, sheep, chicken and cow. They even collected eggs every morning for their BF.

For the last stay, we managed to change our Mount Clare apartment to “homefromhome” apartment as we need the late check out. Tks,MTDT.

It was a very neat and clean apartment. But the PIC identity remains a mystery, I dun even get to meet him at all. only pick the key at the letter box.

Lastly, I would to thank every mummies for the contribution to this thread!

Jenny

Jenny - u r welcome!
hahaha the PIC identity still a mystery huh! :p wonder if anyone met him before or not. hahaha

how many nites u stay in pemberton?

MTDT,

I stayed only 2 nights at Pemberton. A nice place with Karri Forest surrounded our cottage. But we needed to set up fire ourselves in the fire place. Hubby got a hard time playing with fire.

2558626.jpg

Forest opp our cottage
2558627.jpg

PERTH Supermarket:
Understand that near Mont Clare there are 2 supermarkets but read that these are small ones, could anyone advise where is the nearest "bigger" supermarket

Perth Beach:
Which beach would be recommended to bring a toddler to play.

Busselton:
Since the Jetty is under renovation is it still worth to go there? What else is there to see there

Thank you very much

hihi.. just back from perth last nite. our qantas flight was delayed for an hour! in the end only landed at changi at 10pm.

my kids had a tremendous time at sunflowers farm. the hosts were very nice n friendly n there were so much space to run n feed the animals. this is definitely the best farm i visited so far and kids complained 2 nites not enuf! will definitely be back. there were 3 other sporean families staying there.

we skipped caversham park this time since we been there the last trip and we had enuf of feeding the kangaroos at sunflowers. so we tot of trying cuddly farm. boy! was it a mistake!! such a great disappointment. the farm logo showed pic with a koala so i tot my kids can take pics with koala there but no koala at all. only has some sheeps, goats, chickens, ducks and rabbits. and after hvg so much fun at a larger sunflowers farm, this was no big deal to us and kids showed no interest at all. they only interested in playing at the bouncing castle and taking the mini tractor ride. it was a weekend when we were there and was so crowded with very young kids who were running wildly all over the place.

mont clare apt - so so only. during our second check in there after back from MR (the first being the first nite we arrived in perth then next day we drove to MR) the sofa bed was not set up and when i went to the recept to ask, they said their housekeeping has gone home at 12pm! and that she is the only one manning the counter and if i want i can take the sheets and do it myself if not can wait till housekeeper comes tomo morn. hub said, thats aussie for you! haha.. then, the kitchen floor was so sticky and the bathroom floor was sticky too plus not v clean! it was as if they pour lots of soap but didnt rinse it off. i nearly fell in the shower cos it was so slippery when wet! other than that it was ok, i have no complaints. but i dun think i will stay there again.

weather was great! only rained one nite we were at MR and by morn the ground had dried up. my kids went crazy over jester pies and they insisted to bring home so i brought back over 40 frozen pies! they were basically like hungry puppies there kept looking for food everywhere. i think we spent a bulk just on food!

harbourtown - many of the brands r aussie brands which r not very well known and price isnt that "outlet price" the only good bargains were from patch pumpkin and cotton on. i managed to grab quite a number of beautiful maternity wear for only aud 14 each! what a steal!

i brought a few nissin cup noodles which got confiscated by customs cos they said it contains eggs! urgh! i was thinking of eatg them on the way to MR cos i hate to be munching on nothing but chips and sausages.

and guess what! hub got fined aud 150 cos he was caught speeding at 120 km during our drive to MR! actually he was only trying to overtake the lorry in front but so suay got police doing speed checks right in front haha... he actually wanted to fine us 600 cos my kids sitting behind were not on seat belt! but thats also becos we just got into the car from the rest stop and they were busy munching on their chips. but thank God he decided to waive it cos he said we are first time offenders. phew! he was also nice enuf to advise us the importance of wearg seat belts. so those of u doing country driving, pls watch out. there r police everywhere. buckle up pls!

The River Retreat - no big deal compared to sunflowers. their animals r pathetic n looked very "unmaintained". but they have very nice n comfy beds! we went to whiteman park there was a very huge and nice sand playground suitable for kids of all ages. took tram ride and basically just let kids run all over. nice park.

oggies ice cream at swan vs simmos at MR - i prefer simmos. they have so many varieties and very creamy. yummy..

KK
i never shopped at small supermarkets. after we reached perth at 2pm we collected our car and went straight to garden city where we shopped for groceries at coles.

for beach u can go to scarborough or cottlesloe beach. we also went hillary's quay. now they have a play centre for kids which my kids really enjoyed and best of all they played till shiok but wont perspire hehe...

busselton jetty still under major reno, cant do anything there except to the shop which didnt sell much stuffs. i think u dun waste time gg there.

chloemom
how was ur trip?? didnt manage to catch u at airport.

STmama
yes i brought 4 kids plus one in tummy. wah no joke but v fulfilling family trip. we rented a tarago but they gave us a hyundai i max which was huge and more like a van~! its similar to our alphard and even bigger!

i noticed australia is one of the affected countried listed. used to be victoria and melbourne b4 i left. i wondering if i should quarantine the kids not cos their frds keep wantg to come play with them

hi there, back last nite, same as blessedmommy!

my trip was good! but abit short though ...
weather was also good thru out except rain on the 2nd day.

initially tot only rent car for 1 day but end up rent thru out our 6 days trip.

below are my itineary for my trip:

Day 1 : after checked in, went grocery shopping.

Day 2: After collected our car, went kings park but soon it started to rain. so went to Westfield carousel shopping, since hv to stay indoor. i particularly like their nursing rooms. it comes with TV, so can feed the kids & watch at the same time

we spend the whole day there coz its really a mega mall!!

Day 3: Caversham pk/ whiteman pk & MR choc factory
my kids only enjoyed at caversham pk. nothing much at whiteman pk, my elder girl very "gu niang", didnt like the playground coz its sandy & dirty haha.. she LOVES the playground near our apt though ...
when we reached MR choc factory, its near to closing time so just browse only, will go back the next day.

Day 4: The Maze, Mondo Nougat factory & MR choc factory
my kids love it & really enjoyed at the Maze, esp the mini golf. there's also koala & kangeroo there. i find the kangeroos are more active & lively here compared to those at caversham pk, where they just lie & sleep.
End our day at MR choc, enjoying cake over coffee ...

Day 5: Fremantle/ E-shed mkt
window shop at freo mkt only, bought most of it at e-shed mkt. dinner at cicerello. will probably try kailis on our next trip lah.

Day 6: Home sweet Home

<font color="ff0000">blessedmommy</font>
yeah we "missed' each other at the airport. great that u &amp; family enjoyed the trip. we enjoyed too, really good family bonding for us.
anyway i think melbourne got the most H1N1 case but not perth, so i would think its not necessary to quarantine your kids lah.
Mont clare: my hubby also said wont go back haha ... although its really value for $$$

i will definitely try sunflower farm on my next trip which i intend to include farm stay. sounds good &amp; interesting which i think my kids will enjoy.

<font color="0000ff">KK</font>
there are 2 small supermkt along hay street that closes quite late. if u prefer bigger supermart, there's woolsworth in the city centre which u can either walk (quite a distance though) or take the CAT.

hi chloe &amp; mama to 6Js

May i know wat the weather there?? isit very cold? luk at the weather forcast is like 6-20deg.. 6deg is more for nite rite? day time how? cos i thinking whether to bring thick jacket for my kids.. we flying tml

chloemom
oh ur stay was so short! already my kids complained whole day when it was time to go back! now kept sayg wanna go back to farm!

oh we always ate at kailis at fremantle. dun ask me why cos hub has been eatg there since school days! didnt buy anything at market leh, didnt see anything i fancy.

i think the kangaroos at caversham overly fed and too fat lah thats why all so lazy haha!! even the kangaroos at sunflowers are more lively.

as much as i try to tell the kids not to go neighbours house, my neighbour kids kept asking them over to play and swim. gosh they must have missed each other. how to reject?

moomoo
the weather there to me quite unpredictable leh. certain places v cold certain places just like air con temp. i think its the wind chill that bites into ur bones lah. if u spending time in parks where there is open space its good to wear a jacket, otherwise just a long sleeve t shirt will do which my boys do. country side like margaret river and albany will be colder but even then i think it was colder during our last trip even though we were there end may. i think the reverse cycle air con helps a lot! so at nite the cold is not that bad.

moomoo
the weather actually is not that cold in the city. like wat blessedmommy said, usually its the wind that is chilly. if u stay outdoor, just put on a jacket. but if u travelling to MR &amp; albany, its colder so may need to put on more.

blessedmommy
ya my stay abit short but my kids didnt complain lah. my itineary is pretty slow, cant pack in too much activities due to their young age

is kailis better? i guess your neighbour kids really missed their playmates

Hi Chloe,

Could you feedback on your stay at Mantra on Hay?

Sorry a bit suaku, are Coles and Woolworth the "big" supermarket over there.

Also where is Westfield carousel shopping?

KK
i hv stayed at mantra on my previous trips, i'm happy with it, no complains except price is abit ex. place is nice &amp; clean with fully equipped kitchen, washer &amp; dryer. it also provides complimentary housekeeping daily. but carparking is not free, they charge $20 per day which is also ex.

coles &amp; woolworths are their major supermarket. westfield carousel is along albany hwy. u can check out their webby http://westfield.com.au/carousel/ its very easy to get there, basically the roads in perth are pretty "straight"

I second Westfield Carousel! Whatever you can find in Perth town shopping centres, you can find in Westfield Carousel and some are at even cheaper price! I bought my Lucas Papaw ointment at a pharmacy in town for AUD$6.53 after looking at a few pharmacies and it was the cheapest I could find already. When I went to Westfield on my 2nd last day, the pharmacy there sold it as AUD$4.83 wah lau a lot of difference leh!!!

Can anyone advise if aug weather in perth is very cold? I think its spring, but will kids need to be clothed in thermal wear?

I am planning a very short trip, only have 5 days after minus flying time. I cant decide if we want to do a perth/swan valley/fremantle, or to do a perth/fremantle/bunbury/margaret river. Any one have any suggestions or advise?

I will be travelling with a 2yo and 4yo. Hopefully i will survive..

Hi Jas
I dont think you need thermal wear.
Lately, there's some hail though.
By Aug, weather should mellowed a little.

5 days - pls give MR a miss. you need abt 3 days 2 nights there. Driving is 3-6 hours depending.

Hi Mngo thanks! i think i will take your advise. Any suggestion where to stay at SV? and places not miss there? I tried booking the vale at SV, but they are booked up. only one night avail.