Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

<font color="119911">Pastries:</font> I only know one friend who ever put her gal in a Mind Champ CC (Toa Payoh) then pulled her out of that centre. She was not happy w e teachers. Other than this, I actually don't have any info abt MC.

My B1 is e sociable and adventurous type - always gamed for something fun. But we make sure to let her do a trial class 1st so she can guage for herself if she likes it. She's been asking for art, violin and gymnastics class. We haven't let her try these yet. Right now we are actually thinking to stop her ballet coz it's really more for fun.

If anything, I wld like her to attend art and music classes - subject to finding good ones with the right timing. I think art is good for picking up additional skills and knowledge e.g. learning abt colours, shapes, textures, perspective, ratio, symmetry, etc. So far I'm considering Art Vision Enterprise in Clementi - started by a professional artist and his wife. Unfortunately they don't have weekday classes (we're keeping the weekend free for family).
http://artvisionenterprise.weebly.com/index.html

Can try art sauce studio at JK Building in Jln Jurong Kechil. It is run by an MOE teacher who came out to start her own art school.

She is also the editor of this year's Primary 1's art book.

Kendrick is taking lessons from her. She is flexible and allows makeup classes, etc. Also flexible as I requested for bi-monthly classes due to his CMA lessons, I didn't want to tire him out.

<font color="0000ff">25% Off @ Oldnavy.com</font> -- Any1 interested? This is a 2-day sale. The 25% discount is applicable to normal price as well as sale price i.e. 25% additional discount if item is on sale. However this 25% discount is not applicable to jeans or items listed under "Everyday Steals". Anyway, I'll spree subject to min. US50 in order to qualify for FOC ground shipping. So if u want anything do email me ur order or post here by 8am tml. Pls use this format:

Item Name:
Weblink to Item:
Colour:
Size:
Listed Price:
Do tt to me e USD total x 1.3. Tt to my POSB Savings acc 129-06329-7. The excess goes to cover vPost shipping to Sgp and I'll collect any top-up after I get my CC bill. I'm gonna shop for sibling looks. Size-wise, I find size 2T tops ok B2 bt 2T pants or shorts definitely have room to grow -- he's now abt 86cm tall. Whereas my B1 is wearing 4T pants comfortably and she's abt 105cm tall.

I stay in west n work at biopolis! Any mummies working there?

How much is safari schoolhouse? I have 2 kids n looking to switch school.

Hi Kidz_Skidz,

Seems like it is quite a breeze for your B1 to attend enrichment classes! My boy is those who needs time to warm up despite in CC environment for so long.

Art Vision Enterprise is so near my house! And yet I am not aware of it!

I visited LV at fusionpolis on Friday, so far quite satisfied, new branch, spacious &amp; clean environment. Just abit concerned about the space as the school is not very big but they are aiming at max 100 students. Currently is 52 students. Also, I don't see a room / isolated corner (for kids having fever waiting parents to fetch them home) though the Senior teacher told me they will isolate the kid.

Also, the parents there (at the moment) seems not so keen in additional enrichment classes for the kids, they could not start certain enrichment classes due to the insufficient number. This is the problem I am facing in MFS 339 now, there are 3 optional classes offered but only Kindermusic got the go ahead. The other 2, Art &amp; Chinese S&amp;D did not manage to get enough participants. Even for the Kindermusic we waited for 3 months (when there are new students coming in) then finally enough students to start the class.

Will be viewing Mindchamps at Fusionpolis (but don't think I will register my boy with Mindchamps because of the super high premium fees - value for money?) and Creative O next week.

Hi SY, are your kids currently at LV at Biopolis?

Oh Kidz_Skidz,

Wanted to ask you how u find Agape Little Uni for your B1? Thinking of widening my options, I don't recall much of their activities &amp; programs from my 1st visit.

pastries
my kids are not at LV. they are at hillview. quite a distance but nearer to home.

u working ard Fusionopolis or biopolis?

<font color="0000ff">Pastries:</font> Agape @ NTU Alumni was good when B1 started there in June 2007 as the centre was still new. Bt over time I found issues w the numerous outbreaks of HFMD - min. 4x in 2010, her last yr there. There was also chkn pox and H1N1 (the latter in her class...). Staff turnover was high. Anyway I din't nd to put her in a CC anymore so it was an easy decision to withdraw her. This particular Agape offers waterplay @ NTU Alumni Club's kid's pool. Is suppose to be scheduled on a weekly to fortnightly basis except that it kept getting cancelled due to the outbreaks of infectious diseases. Otherwise the centre offers a gym programe by Gym Kids (only 20mins once a week) and there's also English Speech &amp; Drama by Apple Pie.

I understand fee is quite high now. One thing I really did not like abt Agape is that it never informed parents when a teacher was leaving. When picking up B1, suddenly the teacher may say 'today's my last day...'. Then we find out they are on practicum, or whatever reason they're leaving. However there's no early warning so we can prepare our kids. It was esp bad when those quieter/more shy kids were very attached to the teacher. Also, no idea what our kids are learning cos they don't give weekly summary of lesson plan or anything to share what nursery rhyme, songs they've learnt so we can sing w our kids, etc.

Now @ B1's current kindy, every Fri there's a little note appended whc outlines e past wk's lesson plan e.g. learnt 'M', made popcorn, learn abt opposites, etc. Term folder contains all the nursery rhymes, songs they've learnt in the past term + quite a few photos of B1 going abt the different activities for the past term. This is something I find very helpful and also good to put aside for keepsake -- she can have something else to remember her childhood by

Hi SY, No, I am not working at that area, in fact, I worked 3 days a week at Raffles Place.

Have you visited Safari Schoolhouse already? I think Safari Schoolhouse charges should be on the high side as well.

Hi Kidz_Skidz,
I read from another forum that Agape Little Uni current charges was $1,284 before subsidy, need to top up $130+ for packet milk and $60 for English speech &amp; drama. So it is really ex..

It surprise me that for Agape to charge such fees but provides such service &amp; operating standard.. Currently my boy at MFS, the school did informed us when one of the infant care teacher was leaving. They also do not provide scrapbook / notes to let parents know what the kid is learning.. Many a times is when we saw the pictures pasted on wall then we know oh, they did such activities etc.. Well, but we do not expect too much from MFS, bascially is a no frills childcare centre.

I visited Mindchamps at fusionopolis today... Quite like it, but am not confident that their in house enrichment (it all subjects to the programme itself &amp; the teachers) are of comparable standard to the better enrichment programmes outside. Their fees for N1 and above is $1,280 before subsidy but they have very impressive curriculum. If their in house curriculum are carried out well &amp; of good quality, then it would be very attractive option as parents can enjoy weekend time with their kids instead of attending those weekend enrichment classes. I also like their value in that the emphasis is in critical thinking and problem solving. Well, still thinking.. Will schedule another appointment and bring hubby &amp; boy along. Also abit skeptical about whether is it all hype &amp; marketing talk..?

<font color="0000ff">Pastries:</font> Haha, yeah got some hype lah for Mindchamps. Bt the method they teach to stretch memory, etc is also available @ other enrichment centres. I also attended such trials while I was in sec/JC. Just that nowadays we start our kids early.

Last yr Agape charged abt $13-15 for milk subscription and then another $7+ for Yakult -- think 3 pk/bottle per wk? i.e. 6 altogether, if I rmbr correctly. Gymkidz is included in Agape fees. Oh fr Agape I realised that when a CC expands, the good/snr teachers all get transfered to new branches so e remaining centres see young/fairly new teachers getting promoted -- bit too quickly for my liking. This is one thing I've learnt to look out for if I need to consider CC again.

So MFS seems good compared to Agape

Kidz_Skidz,

How to compare MFS with Agape! Ha, MFS is really very basic, no phonics, maths, whatsoever till N2! They do offer extra enrichment classes but as I mentioned, the current MFS centre my boy is in, the parents quite bo chap and they only manage to start the Kindermusic course as other courses not enough take up rate :-(

Other then curriculum itself, I have no complaints about MFS, the teacher - student ratio is good for my boy's class. 3 teachers to 16 students, comparable to those branded CC ya.. And the fees for MFS is like more then 50% lower then those branded preschool lo. What's more, their menu are pretty good &amp; interesting too, with in house chef.

Which is why on one hand I am looking around, on the other hand, I am thinking maybe I shall stick with MFS and add on enrichment classes outside.. like Berries, I Can Read etc..

Headache..

I shall add 2 more centres to my visit - LSH at Buona Vista CC &amp; MMI West Coast before I made any decision..

<font color="0000ff">Pastries:</font> Haha. Yes, mayb better to go to dedicated enrichment centres then. Berries I definitely give top marks for making learning CL enjoyable. If MFS has 3 teachers to 16 students, that's a veri gd ratio. So save on MFS to spend elsewhere ;-)

pastries
i enquired on the charges for safari schoolhouse. it's 900 after subsidy for 7am - 7pm. very ex!

about mindchamps, i heard that they dun do much. not sure how true. but i realise sometimes the curriculum looks impressive but dunno about the execution part. unless u have a chance to see the execution in action over a few days (without bringing your kid) then i think it gives a clearer pic.

i realise a lot of schools only start phonics etc when the kids are in N2. not sure whether that is good or not. even my gal's current dun start blending till 4 years. i feel a bit inadequate. my boy was lucky cos his previous sch was very good and gave him superb foundation. so now he's always ahead but leads to other problems.

Kidz
which kindy is your kid in?

i m looking at one called innate montessori. plan to check that out. they know my son's previous teachers so trying to get them to give me some feedback about this sch. heard not too bad but currently no vacancy.

<font color="119911">Bellgal:</font> I called up Art Sauce &amp; also chked e website. Looks gd. &amp; veri flexi like u said coz I mentioned their class schedule bit too rush for me 2 bring my gal aft her kindy ends. So they say no problem, can change timing. I'll bring her for trial nxt wk. Btw can i find out whc teacher teaching ur K? How do u find e tchr? Also wat do u do in e 1hr K's in class -- I'm wondering how to pass time w B2 while his jie2 in class lor...

Kidz, there is no fixed teacher. Whoever is free whoever teaches. But initially Ken is shy, so taking lessons only from Ms Ng, the owner of the school.

But all teachers there are just as good. And it's a small ratio to each teacher for my group, coz my group only has 2 or 3 pax.

For other parents, they usually go off, but for me, as I don't drive there, I usually wait outside at the sofa. But if you are with B2, I suggest not, coz B2 will be too fidgety by end of the hour...But there are some toys there for B2 to play, only thing is, it might distract the students in class...

Hi SY, have you decided which school for your kids?

I am going Mindchamp Fusionopolis this Friday to check out the English, Chinese classes for N1. June &amp; Dec is holiday classes hence normal classes all stopped during these 2 months.

My friend's twins are in Mindchamp East Coast and she recommends Mindchamp when she knew I am looking around for a good school.

I have visited Mindchamp, LV at fusionopolis, Creative O at IBP and Little Skool House at Buona Vista CC. LV &amp; Mindchamp started Phonics at N1. You are right, alot of school only start Phonics at N2, Kinderland too.

A good website to intro Phonics, www.starfall.com. Check it out!

btw, saw this banner of Singapore Chinese Orchestra performance at Clementi Woods Park (just next to West Coast CC) on 30th July 5-7pm when I was at West Coast last weekend.

<font color="ff0000">Cute kid's furniture</font> Hey, one of my friend's bringing in kid's furniture -- veri nice designs. This Sat &amp; Sun she'll actually b showcasing them @ West Coast Plaza's flea mkt (basement, outside Paradise Inn restaurant). Do chk out her blog for pics or visit e flea mkt to view the range. Tell her Kidzskidz referred u

Kid's furniture: www.lilpieceofhaven.blogspot.com

Hi Kidz_Skidz,

Thanks for the lobang! ^^ I like the fairy table &amp; chair set! The areoplane series for boys are nice too! Thinking of getting it for my boy.

<font color="aa00aa">Iso &amp; Pastries:</font> Yeah lor, I also veri tempted by e furniture. So this wkend wl try 2 go &amp; c 1st hand. Thinking of getting e bookshelf coz my kids got lotsa books. Bt I gotta think of where to put...

Hi any feedback on Cherie hearts science park? Or any child care centre nearby that has school bus service to clement. Thanks in advance.

yup there's a cherie hearts there. LV science park no transport. dunno abt kinder corner 2.

will like to hear abt any childcare centre in the west area that has transport to clementi.

got this from the website, not familiar with science park.
Cherie Hearts@Science Park I
89 Science Park Drive
#01-11/12 TheRutherford

how's kindercorner...there's one at west coast road?

Oh, science Park 1...I see...It replaces kinder corner 1. Kinder Corner 1 has closed down and students combined into Kinder Corner 2 at Science Park 2 since last year.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Interested in Music Class for Toddlers?</font></font>

Hi ladies! Dunno if u rec'd a pamphlet abt Music Workshop's new ctr opening nxt to Clementi Mall soon (in Blk 443, where PO is). The ctr's opening in mid-Sep &amp; I'm keen to send my two to the two courses below. They don't hv class schedules out til maybe early Sep and they'll nd min. 3 to start a class. Bt can indicate now what days and type of timing is preferred i.e. reserve.

<font color="ff0000">I'm hoping to send my kids for a wkday late afternoon class. E.g. between 4-6pm. Dunno if any1 is keen on this timing too? Then we can make up the numbers needed? Do let me know. If you prefer another timing, let me know too and I can consider as well.</font>

a) Music &amp; Movement Programme for 2-3YO (45mins, Parent accompanied)
http://www.musicworkshop.com.sg/movement.html

b) Chime Bar &amp; Keyboard Course for 4-6YO (1hr, Drop-off). http://www.musicworkshop.com.sg/chimebar%20course.pdf

<font color="119911">Glow10:</font> My B1 used to be in Agape Little Uni @ One-North. They do hv a sch bus service. Bt e sch bus vendor is quite lousy based on what I saw and the stories I've heard from other mums.

Anyway, I ever enquired abt using the service then gave up cause the vendor only has 1 van/bus to serve the same take-up fr the CC. Thus e travel time for my kid fr Clementi to One-North was like 40mins. It wld also change when new pick-ups get added in. @ that time my B1 was almost two and I wanted to accompany her on the ride coz she was stl small and wouldn't b able to tell me if anything wrong happened on the trips.

This yr I switched her to a kindy and since she's a super chatty 4YO, I was assured enuf to let her take e sch bus. She's able to tell me lotsa things that happen e.g. her friend fell on sch bus and kena cut on back of head, driver talk on hp, etc. Also trip only takes abt 15mins as she's like 1st last pick-up and 1st drop-off -- win-win for us.

yikes, thanks for warning. so far i checked the following:
1. cherie hearts at science park, got bus to clementi, but i'm also concerned journey may be too long
2. little skool house at ayer rajah cc, also got bus. shorter distance. but new cc, so not sure how experienced staff is
3. quite a few cc opening at intl business park, but so far the buses send in opp direction, to jurong west and bukit batok

<font color="119911">Glow10:</font> U r welcome! This is wat mummy forums r for: exchange of info &amp; tips

Actually I 4got to ask u if u've considered a CC nearer home? Wld ur wkg hrs accommodate this? Reason I'm asking is dat Agape wasn't really near Clementi bt it was e only plc w infant care then. Anyway she was there til 3YO and I was the person sending her in and picking her up as her dad's hrs were long. End u when I'm sick &amp; on MC I either stl had to drag myself out of bed to bring her to CC or no choice let her stay home. Basically I din't hv much rest on sick days.

So my conclusion is dat if e kid can go to a CC nearer home, it wld b much easier when parents r on sick leave or annual leave (like to run errands). U nd nt travel far (or back to wkplc) to send child in. Also formal learning starts in N1, thus nt gd for child to miss "school" even if it's just CC.

This is my opinion lah aft e experience of seeing how much my gal picked up fr her time in CC as compared to those going to 1.5-3hrs PG/Kindy. As it is this yr she's ahead of her kindy classmates in terms of her Letterland Phonics coz she started picking it up in PG at CC.

oh you put in infantcare too, ya my boy is in an infantcare near my workplace. like you, i am the one bringing to and fro every day. very tiring. which is why i am looking for cc near home.
which cc is ur gal attending now?

Hi Glow10, if it is within Clementi itself, not much CC, MFS (3 branches), Touch Community, that's all?

R u staying in Clementi? Where is your work place?

Fusionopolis has LV &amp; Mindchamp, easily assessible via One North MRT station, circle line opening on 8th Oct, I think it will be more convenient then Science Park since it is near MRT.. In fact, Mindchamp is just at the building whereby One North MRT is at..

Agreed with Kidz_Skidz, I fall sick twice when my hubby is overseas, throat infection + high fever, somemore is during weekend.. On Monday, still have to drag myself to bring my boy to CC, but have to cos I need to rest... But can always take a cab..

Thanks pastries, think best option for me now is little skool house at Ayer rajah cc. I can decide in end 2011.
All of you sound like you dun have maids at home? Sigh me too... Husband going for biz trip in oct...will be just me and baby then. Not looking forward to it.

hi i m moving to clementi , hope to have some advise on enrichment class, my girl just turn 2. I m a sahm. Hope to be able to meet some mommies here . Pls pm me as i may not check the thread often.

Glow10, so u have visited LSH at Ayer Rajah? How do u find the CC? So there is bus service from LSH at Ayer Rajah to Clementi huh?

I already registered my boy to a new CC starting next year but now going to withdraw him and am considering LSH at Ulu Pandan CC (but the location is not convenient)or LV at Fusionopolis

hi pastries, ya i visited LSH at ayer rajah cc. brand new premise. set up in jul 2011 and only 20kids now. but teachers are mostly new to LSH. Yes they have a bus service to west coast so clementi no problem.
any reason why you are thinking of changing CC before starting ur boy next year?

besides LSH at ayer rajah cc, i am also considering LV at icon (intl bus park). but the bus operator can only confirm if there will be bus service later this year.

Hi Glow10,

The reason I am going to withdraw my boy from the new CC is because just barely one month after I registered, they increase school fees by $200! Reason given was a new in house reading program.. Also I have gotten feedback from one mummy about the management there.. Now I don't feel keen to let my boy attend the CC. Besides, they already have existing in house reading program which they claim is good (at least, that is the assurance given to me by the managment when I enquired) so if I want to fork out additional $200, I might as well enrol him for I Can Read or other outside enrichment class which has proven effective &amp; popular.

So now is back to square one, searching for new CC. He is currently in MFS clementi. For CCs in IBP, it is not convenient for both me &amp; hubby as it is against our direction to work. I have heard quite good feedback abt LV at Icon though.

The teachers at LSH Ayer Rajah are experienced teachers? How old is your kid? My boy is only 27 months, abit too young to take bus right..

Oh on new CC centre, when I enrol my boy to current MFS Clementi, it is also new CC. In fact, he is the 2nd bb in the IFC! So I am not so worry about new CC as it still depends on the teachers &amp; principal.

Can't tell if teachers are experienced at lks Ayer rajah cc. Oh school bus can handle from 18 month. The bus auntie will carry up and down and help put on seat belt. Your boy 27 months should be ok. Lsh uses a ten seater bus. But I feel fees are high at 1k before subsidy... Not sure if it's really worth it. Have u heard any feedback about lsh program?

Can I join? I am staying at West Coast area.

Recently, I can't sleep well because I am not sure whether I should withdraw my girl from her current IFC to another. She is 6mth+. so she started recognise people.

Any good IFC can recommend?

Hi glow10,

Can ask the principal at LSH ayer rajah about the years of experience of the teachers, she should be able to tell you.

I don't feel comfortable letting him take bus at such a young age.. Ayer Rajah is near to Teban there right?

I visited LSH at Ulu Pandan CC, feel quite alright with their program. They are literacy based and will have projects / knowledge extend from 1 story book, which last for around 2-3 months? Their Chinese standard for K level is quite alright too. But I do not have friends whose kids attended LSH..

Hi ru, welcome! Where is your gal's current IFC? Care to share what happened that you wanted to do a switch?

hi pastries
ya ayer rajah is near teban. right now only 3 kids on the school bus, coz it's a new service.
hi ru
near west coast, cherie hearts at intl biz park and science park both have infantcare facilities.
kidz one of the mummies in this thread placed her baby at agape little uni at one north
mine is at an infantcare near raffles place where i work

oh and i think 6 months okay to change, babies are still adaptable at that age. but you are the best person to decide.

<font color="aa00aa">Gantei:</font> Welcome to this community. Back in 2007 I put my 3.5MO gal in Agape Little Uni @ One-North. The IFC tchrs also hv high turnover bt the few who stay on (stl there) are gd. Anyway my gal was there til N1. This yr I took her out and put her in kindy coz I've been SAHM since my B2 was born in 2009.

Hi glow10,

Nowadays mid range CC are about this price range. But LV had diff fees for diff centre, the one at Science Park is $850 &amp; IBP &amp; Fusionopolis is $1,000. LSH also charges $1,000, they are more on learning thru play, the one in Ulu Pandan had HYPY in K2.

kidz_skidz, yes, is really a lot!!! But that gave me an excuse to withdraw &amp; can fight to get back the 1 month sch fees. After hearing my friend's feedback, I don't really like the sch. In case u wondering y I didn't get to know earlier, cos we both registered at the same time but her child started earlier.

Hi ru, my boy is in MFS Clementi, graduated from the IFC, now in Toddler class.