Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

Hi Coffee Lover!
kao_welcome2.gif

I'm SAHM of two (好): B1 wl b 4YO in Feb while my B2 wl b 20MO 2mr. We're staying opp e mosque. This thread a bit quiet @ times bt still ALIVE!!!

<font color="ff0000">Ordering craft &amp; party supplies fr www.orientaltrading.com</font>
Hey mummies, I'm buying some stuffs fr OTC -- 25% off every USD79. Ground shipping is applicable &amp; will be split by no. of spreeists. Int'l shipping wl b apportioned by wt of ur individual orders.. Shipping in via vPost in 3-4wks time. Let me know if u r keen. I'm placing orders by Fri nite &amp; will strictly go by my CC's xchng rate as I'm juz sharing gd lobang + making shipping more worthwhile. Pls PM me if u r keen, provide me ur mobile no. so I can reply via SMS more quickly.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Blessed Lunar New Year Holiday Greetings!</font></font> <font color="ff0000">before I forget</font>

<font color="0000ff">Hi all!</font> Hope everyone's well. I've managed 2 settled down (more or less) with my two's new sch schedules liao. Bastion stl crying when I send him to his 3hr sch prog bt his P says juz cry abt 5mins then he'll go play.

B1 super happy w Faith Kindy. In fact on 1st day of sch, I woke her w "It's Faith Kindergarten day" and she woke up immediately then look @ me &amp; said "Mummy, u know I've been waiting many years for this day?"
She enjoys taking sch bus too, so much dat she was super upset on Mon when her daddy drove her 2 sch (he was off) that she refused to get out of the car &amp; wanted us to drive her back home to wait for sch bus

Anyway, now I'm like free for lunch 3 days a wk. Any1 wanna mt up??

kidz
wow great!! my #1 just yesterday didn't cry when he went to nursery 1. today a little teary, but it wasn't for long. hope he can keep it up!!

i'm free for lunch if you want to come help babysit :p actually not really lah, cos his school starts at 1pm.

<font color="119911">Iso:</font> Mayb we arrange during sch vacation? Dunno how is it on your side bt my B1's Term 1 calendar got days off here &amp; day for various celebrations/occasions
So different fr CC &amp; so impt there must be som1 available to take care of kids on those days - wl b hard on FTWP.

Not sure whether still remembered me, I seldom come into this thread.. Kidz_Skidz, my hubby collected the anti-baterial wet wipes from u before, not sure u still recalled. You are very knowledagable on enrichment courses, do you know whether I Can Read phonics program is good?

I am thinking of enrolling my boy to West Coast Plaza ICR cos is nearby &amp; convenient + there is Berries at opp West Coast CC, when he reaches 3, can enrol him to Berries.

Hi Elly, my boy is in My First Skool at 339. How old is your boy now? What I can said is that under 3 is still ok, their curriculum still lag behind other established CC chain. So under 3 is still fine, but once reaches 3, I think either signed up for enrichment classes or switch CC. However, environment, teachers, principal and even the cheerfulness and liveliness of the kids wise, no complaints! I like the way the kids are ever so lively &amp; cheerful and the older kids (in playgroup) will greet my boy when we reached. Have you visited the school?

Their control of HFMD is very good, so far their record is good, over at infant care side &amp; CC (my boy was from the infant care side, promoted to toddler class in Dec). They are stringent in checking the kids every morning. So far their HFMD limited to 1 or 2 kids per incident which is really good.

How about touch CC, have you visited them? I am looking around at another CC, thinking of switching when my boy turns 3.

Kinderland at SP - I have visited the school in Dec. I am not impressed at all, the whole school &amp; environment is run down. The most deciding factor is the teachers &amp; kids looked bored and not spontaneous at all! When we are leaving the classroom, we said goodbye to the kids &amp; teacher, the teacher responded with half heartedly bye. No way I will enroll my boy in the class..

Re: Primary School
My hubby friend's son is pri 1, he cannot get into NHPS, and end up Clementi Pri School no more slot, so he is in Pei Tong Pri School. The parents are so sad &amp; disappointed... Haiz.. that makes me stressed &amp; a little bit sad too..

Henry Park primary school is not so popular compared to NHPS?

How do you forget a nick like Pastries?? I remember us all saying that we feel hungry every time we see one of your posts ;)

I thought pei tong is pretty good, no? (not that I really know...)

Haha, funny u mummies!

Bellgal, I remembered you were the one your boy CC let them watch TV alot yeah? Is he still in the same CC?

I thought Pei Tong is the worse among the 3 Clementi Pri school? But then for NHPS, the mandarin standard is really high, I heard it can be quite stressful if the kid's mandarin is poor. My niece is in NHPS P5 this year (ballot), my sis is so lucky! She is coping well, her mandarin is good.

Pastries, yep that's me and my boy...

Nope, I transferred him out since beginning of this year when he's in K1. School fees, school work and stress level are twice as much, but I think he should be able to handle it.

But he's more on the mischievous side, so everyday I hear teacher complaining about him. Almost about every teacher punishes him...

I also want NHPS, but don't think I'll try since I'm not alumni, not near NHPS, so it's like zero chance of getting in...

Hi Pastries,

My girl is 19 months old now. I plan to let her to go to CC next year, when she has turned 2 as she is keen to play with other kids.

I visited the Touch CC,very spacious but the place is kind of run down too. So now still thinking...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Ordering Namebubbles.com personalized labels</font></font>

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Hi mummies, long time no post. Bastion just turned two last Sat. I was busy with his b'day preps that I 4got I have a 20% discount for Namebubbles.com personalized labels. The discount code expires 12 April (US time) so I'm doing a quick spree for myself + any other mum who needs the labels.</font></font>}

<font color="ff6000">I had ordered from Namebubbles last Dec and am already using the labels on both kids' uniforms. I actually ordered the Party Pack and shared it with some friends as each of these packs contains 6 sheets of labels and each sheet is for 1 child's name. So each pack can be shared by a max. of 6 mummies or like what I did was to order 2 sheets for each of my child.

Price per pack is USD19.88 before discount. The item is light and will be shipped via direct int'l airmail (registered) which is not expensive. Do take a look and let me know if you want to order. Below are photos of the labels I ordered previously. I will be choosing these same icons and colour combinations as I had found them to be the nicest.

Please check the Namebubbles site directly for info on what you are getting or for info on what else is available. http://www.namebubbles.com/labelpack/sampler-pack.html

Then PM me your order by 4pm tomorrow along with funds transfer of SGD$4 for each sheet of Party Pack labels. Will collect for any top-up based on final bill. Pls tt to my POSB Savings acc 129-06329-7. PM me your contact details as well so I can sms you updates. I'll refund in full if order can't go through.

For the price you are getting 6 rectangluar dishwasher safe labels, 6 round laundry labels and 1 pair of shoe labels (for 1 pair of shoes). These labels are IRON-FREE -- just paste on well &amp; leave for 24 hours before washing/laundering.

DEADLINE TO PLACE ORDER WITH ME: By 4pm of Tuesday, 12 April 2011 (to give me time to check on payment)

OTHER CONDITION: I will top-up to complete the 6-sheet Party Pack if there are less than 6 orders. However I advise that you get at least 2 sheets as this is the best discount Namebubbles has given (usually 10% only) -- as I completed a survey they sent me as an existing customer.</font>

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">For girls: Pink colour combi with fairy wand icon. For boys: Redwood colour combi with rocket icon</font></font>
5330128.jpg
5330129.jpg

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">GAP.COM SPREE -- 30% off regular prices. Take another 15% off sale prices (which are already slashed UP TO 50%)</font></font>
<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Deadline: Midnight of 13 April (Wed)</font></font>

<font color="119911">Any1 interested? Take a look &amp; let me know if u wanna order together. As usual I'm ordering stuffs myself so friends are welcomed to tag on and share shipping costs. FOC domestic shipping for orders of USD50 or more. Int'l shipping is via vPost &amp; calculated by weight of each item.</font>

<font color="119911">Order format:
Item name:
Item URL:
Size:
Colour:
If OOS: ??
Item price: (USD x .7 for regular priced items) or (USD x .85 for sale items)

Total: USD total x 1.35*

*Should cover int'l shipping. I will collect if top-up needed or refund if there is excess. But I go by the rate charged on my CC bill.

Pls:
1. PM or email ([email protected]) me your order along with payment
2. Tt payment to: POSB Savings 129-06329-7
3. Include your contact no.
I will refund if any item is OOS at point of ordering.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Link to sale section:</font>
http://www.gap.com/browse/category.do?cid=65179&amp;mlink=5058,2785993,16&amp;clink=2785993

<font color="0077aa">Pastries:</font> Sorry, just saw ur post abt enrichment courses. My younger sis sent her boy to ICR b4. She said tho they use native-English speakers to teach there is an asst who is local. Her observation is it all depends on e teacher coz her son's teacher was like a hippy, bohchap guy (somemore shoulder length hair). &amp; e asst tchr was nt so good either. I learnt fr another mummy that it helps to ask online whc teachers are gd &amp; if we can, try to get in2 dat class.

My B1 (4YO) started @ Berries WCCC abt 6wks ago. She's veri happy bt this is a girl who reali loves going to sch one :S Any1 I was happy to see @ Berries they use cartoon video clips to intro e nursery rhymes/kid's songs. Aft her trial lesson I asked B1 if her teacher @ Confucius Institute also showed video. She told me "yes". I asked her when, as mummy nvr saw it b4. She replied "I'll ask my tchr to start showing videos" :)

<font color="119911">Elly:</font> I worked for TOUCH Community Services previously. It's non-profit charity &amp; operates two TOUCH CC. E team in charge is good -- hv e welfare of e kids &amp; family in mind. That's why e two CCs hv "Family Development" in their names. The tchrs even do home visits to better follow through w e child's development. Bt as w any CC, do expect tchrs to come &amp; go aft a while. If u can, find e opportunity to hang around there when it's "closing time" so u can talk to some of the parents &amp; ask for their feedback. I've done that before w some enrichment centres &amp; it's useful.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">A Play for 2-4YO -- "Rocky, the Baby Panda"</font></font>

SYNOPSIS
‘No! No! No!’ says Rocky, the Baby Panda to Mama Panda for just about everything! One day, Rocky decides to venture out into the forest on his own despite Mama Panda’s warnings…. And gets himself into a little bit more adventure than he can handle! Come journey with us into this deep deep forest and meet creatures big and small, as Rocky learns that a little respect can never hurt anyone.

DATE: 20-23 Jul 2011 (Wed - Fri: 9.30am, 11am &amp; 4pm) (Sat, 11am, 2pm &amp; 4pm)
DURATION: Approx 40 mins (no intermission)
VENUE(S): Esplanade Recital Studio (sit on floor)
TICKET PRICE (Exclude Booking Fee): Standard - S$15

Book through SISTIC

<font color="119911">Iso:</font> I was thinking of bringing both my kids coz B2 always going "No, no, no!" and now wl turn his whole body away after such "disagreements". It's only 45mins production too so he should be able to sit through it. Anyway e audience of 2-4YO won't be behaving either :p

kidz
last time i brought #1 to the magical garden he was just past 2YO and think he was too young for it. I was also looking at the big eyes one, looks interesting!

Just came across this thread. I'm from Clementi Ave 4 with a 17MO girl. She is currently at My First Skool @ 375, promoting to toddler class in June.

This thread is very useful for west side activities!

Hi Kidz_Skidz, I seldom come to this forum nowadays.. Now then saw your reply to me. Thanks! My friend's daughter was in ICR, but my friend said the progress is rather slow?? I read from Kiasu parent forum that some kids attending ICR, they can read but they don't understand the word..

How is the curriculum for TOUCH CC? Actually my husband's friend's son was in the CC, we happened to bump into one another quite often. Maybe next time I can check with her on this CC.

I am thinking of transferring my boy out from MFS because I find their curriculum is slow compared to the middle range CC. They only taught phonics at age 4. My boy is speaking alot now and I think he is actuall ready for Phonics now. My headache is my husband travels frequently and I don't drive so it would be quite troublesome if it is not in Clementi area..

Hi Kidz_Skidz, your B1 was in Confucious Institute before? They had a branch at Clementi Mall now. So is she attending both now or just Berries?

Anyone heard of Creative O at Creative Tech building at IBP? Read from Kiasu Parent that they focused on creativity and is different from those academic based CC. I will visit the school and enquire..

Hi Pei, nice to see you here ;-)

Oh, I missed out the Big Eyes Big Mind activities..

Kidz_Skidz, thanks for posting so many lobangs here! I really need to check out this thread more often!

<font color="0000ff">Pastries:</font> Most welcomed. It was a fun 1-hour @ Big Eyes. The format was really very "digestible" for B1 &amp; B2 (4 &amp; 2). Both were laughing away -- as did e rest of the kids. Saw Diana Ser there w her two buds too. I'm now looking @ some plays to bring them to - quite a few coming up in next few months

Re: CI --> Nope, she's not there anymore. Was for two terms starting last Sep. Then I switched her to Berries this Mar aft a successful trial class. By successful I mean she greatly enjoyed it and I found their system good. Curriculum's not a problem coz @ this pre-school stage I find there's no big difference between e various schools. System is referring to class size of max. 12 bt w two teachers handling (incl asst teacher) + how they chaperone e kids into the toilet (not wait outside like I see @ West Coast Plaza -- not sure which school that is).

<font color="ff0000">Peicatz:</font> 'allo! Welcome to this thread. It's not very active nowadays but do continue to drop in now and then and share lobangs or post queries. Will help whenever I can

<font color="0000ff">Pastries:</font> CI @ Clementi Mall: My impression is it's an accredited centre to teach Pri-level Chinese only. Bt I dint go in to ask. Abt Creative O -- I hvn't come across it. The Zoophonics @ Dover looks nice (we drove pass to look-see over wkend) but I wonder abt mozzies since it's located next to greens

Hi Kidz_Skidz,

Thanks! Seems like Berries is good!

The Zoophonics at Dover is the Safari Schoolhouse right? I will be visiting Learning Vision at Biopolis tomorrow. Shall provide update here after the visit. ^^

<font color="119911">Pastries:</font> LV @ Bio used to hv access to a playground next to Matrix bldg. Bt I always see e teachers bring the kids down then the adults hide fr e sun. Out of 4 tchrs there, onli 1 is actively helping/watching e kids. I saw this up to last yr coz I wld come down e hill fr NTU Alumni bldg where my B1 was then in Agape Little Uni. Anyway, two mths ago when we tried to bring e kids to the Biopolis playground, found some construction going on next to it, grass veri long, etc... So we left for fear of mozzies. Anyway, I end up w bad impression of e LV teachers bt mayb they're better w e kids indoor.

Yes, I was talking abt Safari Schoolhouse

Btw, anybody wanna take two pkts of Drypantz (pull ups) off my hands? I'm selling @ $12.50/pkt. I only have L-size, 36pcs each. I can throw in another 2pcs (separately sealed) free. Collect fr me in Clementi. Let me know if keen. I gotta get XL size for B2 now coz L giving him a wedgie

kidz
how old is B1 now? I'm so lazy to research on enrichment classes, and to bring them to it too! Also I find if I got 2 kids I need to do something with 1 of them while the other is in class, so lay-chay. What a lazy mummy :D

My #2 just turned 1 a week ago!

<font color="aa00aa">Iso:</font> Happy belated b'day to A!

My gal is 4 (Feb baby). Yes, quite tiring trying to entertain B2 while his Jie2's in class. Ballet stil ok -- just 45mins whc we usually spend in front of e pet shop. Bt Berries is 1h45m so I bring him to Sheng Siong @ West Coast -- then let e live seafood there entertain him
I can't wait til he's 3 next yr so he can join her @ Ireadnwrite + Berries. Just hoping e latter has same class timing when we wanna sign him up. Main thing abt all these classes is quality. 2nd: distance 3rd: Amenities. Things like sheltered drop-off/pick-up pt, ease of parking or ease of taking a cab.

Kidz_Skidz,

I meant to write Fusionpolis but don't know why I wrote Biopolis. Ha!

Oh, so your B1 was from Agape Little Uni. I visited the school when I was preggy, that was like 2.5 yrs ago!

Not easy to juggle 2 kids and bringing 2 around for enrichment classes! Gosh..

Do you drive? Or you take taxi / public transport bringing the kids daily to schools and enrichment classes? I find all these commuting so troublesome.. I am another lazy mummy too..

<font color="119911">Pastries:</font> Is there Mind Champs CC @ Fusionopolis? Thot I saw some advert last yr. I dun hv licence so take taxi w e kids. Invested in a buggy-type stroller whc is very compact &amp; lite to carry in &amp; out of e cab. I'm used 2 all e lugging kids, stroller &amp; bag(s) around. Only bummer is when it rains heavily. If it's heavy rain I sometimes just ask for a make-up class

Oh, I started B1 @ Jelic (Jurong East) 3 wks back. It's puzzle based brain training. She's enjoying it. Calls it her Gummy Bear Class (in lieu of Jelly...). Go figure

pastries
i drive but i still find it tiring to bring everyone (plus helper) and everything out! but guess my boys still young so no need enrichment yet, but if i have #3 then lagi no energy to bring them for classes??

Kidz_Skidz, yes, Mind Champs have one centre at Fusionpolis. Are they really that good? Is ex though.. Close to $1.2 k after subsidy. They have a new branch at JTC Summit too.

Wow, so your B1 also attend quite a few enrichment classes too.

Yes, when it rains heavily, is too troublesome to go out, and worry the kids might catch a cold. I was thinking if I switch CC for my boy, then on days when my husband is not in town and if it rains heavily, I need to rely on taxi too! But Monday morn is damn difficult to get a cab!

Isobellies: I think you are like me, just lazy lo (or like princess), haha! I hate all these bringing kids to enrichment classes, rush here &amp; there like mad women. But when they are ready for the classes, then we just need to 'force' ourselves.