Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

<font color="0077aa">Kinderland @ SP:</font> Dint hv chance 2 visit yet. B2 had combi MMR + Chkn Pox vac on 12th Aug &amp; dev high fever fr 20-22. Aft dat kena rashes allovr agn. PD said no fvr liao so nt 2 worry. Y'day rashes was reali all ovr his face, torso, arms &amp; legs til he looked splotchy. Bt 2day rashes on his face subsided a bit. Itz Roseola agn bt I juz wonder how many x kan a kid get it? Coz he had it end June as well aft running high fever. Diz boy reali so diff fr his sis -- watever happens 2 him is like "major" e.g. pulled shelf down on himself, breaks out in rashes allovr. His sis wasn't like dat. Reali, both so diff &amp; kan b quite a headache... Haiz.

kidz. Sp 2 = science park 2 right? There is no kinderland there. Juz kinder corner and learning vision. They are opposite each other.

<font color="119911">Bellgal:</font> I was referring 2 Kinderland 2 Sgp Poly. They r located @ void deck of e SP staff apts, last block along Clementi Rd. Itz got outdoor garden, waterplay, sandplay, etc. Fr my plc it'll b like 15mins walk there datz why I wanna chk it out. Last x aft B1 was born, I had 2 look 4 infant care &amp; there was none here in Clementi (stl none) so I sent her 2 Buona Vista. Anyway, e Kinderland @ Sgp Poly is one of those ctrs w free parking &amp; big carpark. Thus even if end up I nd 2 take cab there (or on my way bak fr elsewhere) e cab kan wait w/o any charge or fuss.

Clementi Woods: I think quite popular leh. My first DD is there now doing K1. She joined half way this year cos her old Kindergarten faced some changes in mgt and the principal was "forced" to leave and her parting words for me was to change sch. Though it was stressful then, it turned out to be a great blessing cos my gal is enjoying school so much more with Clementi Woods. The teachers are caring and their system is good. Level is chinese much better than the ols school. WHen I register for mt DS this year (for N2 class in 2011), the sch informed me that the siblings are taking up some 60-70% of the slots liao...and by then they have not started ex-sibling and public registration yet!

Still there WILL be drop-outs along the way, cos many are expats children and when their parents have to leave, there will be vacancy.
hang on there

Fairfield: I din know that their SS is not so good. For me, just get thru the RS part first. Its so difficult to get into the school and I am in the >2km mark.

Oh, then cannot, I'm looking for full day ones...Ya, I know where the kindy is, just don't know how their schedule is like.

What is so good about that kindy? Why so difficult to enter?

haha...me really blur mum leh...I also dunno this good is so goood until I tried to enrol my son for next year. But the environment looks great and the teachers are really caring. I am more impressed with the chinese works. They do some chinese poems which to me is like "wow" cos I am chinese illiterate type.

Actually, Is the waiting list very long for the school?

Bellgal, you can consider cherie hearts right? Thought I saw one not too far from West Coast Plaza?

<font color="119911">Bellgal:</font> Tink coz itz e onli Christian kindy in Clementi so Christian parents wld prefer 2 put their children there -- myself included. Datz if u dun nd services of FD CC. Kindies r normally juz 3hrs tho @ Faith Kindy whc B1's going nxt yr, K2 is 4hr session -- prob cramp more wk in 2 prep them 4 PS. Haiz, enter PS is like no more childhood liao -- kidz crying ovr Chinese, Maths, etc. Bt there r some kindies whc wl arrange enrichment lessons (some hv vendors go 2 e kindy) e.g. art, abacus/mental maths, etc. Like my fren sends her kid 2 Arise Kindy behind Bt Timah SC &amp; signs her kid up 4 all e enrichment lessons so mommy has more x 2 look aft 2nd bb. Understand her B1 thus goes in 8:30am &amp; is bak onli 2:30pm on like 4/5D of e wk.

Btw, all stand alone kindies follow MOE holiday schedule so parents muz hv alternative bbsitting arrangemts during those hols. Tho quite a lot of private kindies wl arrange enrichment camps here &amp; there.

<font color="0000ff">Laying an early foundatn 4 Maths &amp; Chinese:</font> I'm now lookg in2 these two areas 4 B1. She's veri fluent in spoken English bt lacks exposure 4 Chinese. So planning 2 send her 2 trial class @ Confucius Institute @ NTU Extension Ctr @ BV. Bt hv heard many moms rec Berries, seems e lessons r conducted in a veri enjoyable manner. 4 Maths, I understand once they're 4YO kan start going 4 mental maths class. Any1 has any rec? I visited CS Montessori a few wks back &amp; e manager there gave me a veri comprehensive tour of e facilities + info on e M method. Seems it also offers an early &amp; firm method in maths e.g. by 4 child learns 2 count up to thousands. Was chkg it out 4 B2 bt both CS branches requires quite a bit of travelling (Bt Timah Plz &amp; Tiong Bahru Plz) so I'm hesitant. They also offer Chinese &amp; Maths enrichment class on wkday PM &amp; Sats too. Bt I'll c how trial goes @ Confucius Institute 1st.

<font color="119911">Bellgal:</font> Only got two outlets: Tiong Bahru Plz (1st outlet) &amp; Bt Timah Plz. They r managed by same company i.e. nt franchised. I 1st saw @ TBP (level5 or 6) &amp; was attracted by e many pics they put up of Zoe Tay, Huang Biren visits 2 film abt e prog. Seems they've been featured in e media many x. Itz a sch so e daily classes I was exploring 4 B2 is 2hr formats, tink 5-6YO class is 3hr format. Tho e manager says got parent sign up e 3YO for two consecutive sessions i.e. 9-11am, 11-1pm

My boy attends full day cc. Is there any weekend program suitable for him as he will not be able to attend daily classes. How much is their fees?

<font color="119911">Bellgal:</font> Yah, I rmbr ur boy in FDCC - u collected e FM samples fr me b4 in evening, aft u picked him up &amp; he was shy
Y, they hv Sat class. Why nt u chk e webby 1st &amp; then u call them 4 info abt enrichment class rates coz I was onli interested in their daily presch.

Here u go
http://www.cs-montessori.com.sg/

<font color="ff6000">NICI:</font> No, hvnt chk it out yet. Wanted 2 bt my boy kena Roseola aft his MMR+Chkn pox vac. Plus e lady @ Kinderland says best 2 visit between 10-11 and 3-4pm. Both timings r hard 4 me 2 fit in2 my schedule w needing 2 bring B1 to her CC then running errands. She did mention 9-10 like they do outdoor play bt I dun suppose it'd b everyday.

I went 2 Dvr Rd -- e little one leading 2 United World College -- 2 chk out Zoo-phonics' 1st CC. Itz a little double storey house juz b4 e UWC gate, abt 200M in2 e road. Bt itz an empty shell now coz they doing major reno i.e. whole plc is like stripped down &amp; new walls, windows 2 b fitted in. Surrounded by green so I dunno if mozzies wl b an issue. Anyway, suppose 2 juz send in application 1st &amp; they'll contact parents 2 view e premises once itz ready. Juz dunno if they kan reali hv it ready 2 operate fr Jan 2011 either...

<font color="0077aa">Singapore Poly Graduates Guild:</font> Any1 mbr there? I'm actuali fr Ngee Ann bt realised if I get NP Alumni Mbrship, kan go use SP Guildhouse's facilities 2 e.g. pool, bowling alley. So contemplating it now.

<font color="119911">Bellgal:</font> Itz cheap if u r Ngee Ann Poly grad. Otherwise, othr mbrships r same price lor. Chk e websites 4 info. Btw, SP Graduates Guild is nxt to SP @ Dvr Road

http://www.naa.org.sg/
http://www.spgg.org.sg/

Bt cheapest mbr I noe is Civil Service Club w one clubhouse @ Bt Batok (near West Mall) &amp; veri gd pool facilities 4 kiddies http://www.csc.gov.sg/

Hey, bt u use ur fren's condo's pool @ West Coast rite? I tink datz best. None of my frenz stay in condo in diz vicinity!

hello everyone!
Long time nvr log in here (again...haha).

I'm now waiting for L2 to arrive (another 7+ more weeks)...

Kidz, my L1 and your B1 are about the same age (bt 10 mths apart). You're considering mandarin enrichment classes? I've been quite lazy...ever since she started CC, I just leave it to the school to teach her. haha. you mentioned that your B1 goes to I can Read at Pandan Valley? can share with me the duration of each lesson and what do they do there? I am thinking of sending L1 there too...

hi Mummies

I'm a SAHM
was thinking to send my boy to kindergarten, but don't know which to go. those that was mentioned seems so expensive. how about thos PCF? My son is turning 3 next year. any recommendation

Thanks in advance

CSI
congrats!!!! why L1 and L2? is it their names both start with L? Enjoy this time before the 2nd one arrives
these days i reminise about the times i had NO kids :p

Moon
hi, my son just started in PCF but in tanjong pagar cos our flat is here and my hubby works here. but half the time we're with my inlaws in clementi (where we've lived since we got married also).

I long time nv come into this thread. Seem like everyone is busying with school stuff.. Me oso headache abt enrolling my son. I tink now my oni choice is to enroll him into BEK learning centre since my first choice Clementi Woods is full. On the waiting list but tink is no chance. Or any recommendation??

Iso,

Thanks! Yup, their names start with L. heehee...coz hb and mine also L mah...kekeke. Yah lorh. I also miss those days when I had no kids. So much freedom. hahaha...

U stay at Tanjong Pagar? Pinacle @ Duxton? So ur hb's work place is just below? Hee...good leh. Nice place...didn't know there's a PCF at Tanjong Pagar...hehs.

<font color="ff6000">Cutie:</font> Whc one is BEK? Agree Clementi Woods no chance unless transfer later in e yr like other mommy mentioned earlier in diz thread. I waiting 4 ltr fr Faith Kindergarten 4 briefing on wat 2 prepare, expect, buy uniform, sign up 4 sch bus, etc. -- suppose 2 b around Oct/Nov.

<font color="119911">CSI Fan:</font> Haha, so urs is 'L' family? My case hb &amp; I 'P'. Then B1's name is 'S' &amp; we happen 2 like another name w 'S' when looking 2 name B2.

<font color="aa00aa">Iso:</font> I also agree, wonder abt days gone by when I cld do as I wish i.e. chiong sales early in e AM... Now gotta rush B1 to CC w B2 in tow...

<font color="0000ff">Moon:</font> Whc ones expensive? U mean childcare? I think PCF kindergartens r perfectly fine bt I dun hv info abt e ones in our area. Any othr mommy kan help Moon?

<font color="119911">CSI Fan:</font> Ireadnwrite is 1.5hrs per session. Teaches word recognition so @ trial lesson B1 learnt 5 words liao dat goes 2 make up e story in Level 0 (zero) e.g. mom, dad, Digger (dog)... Her tchr says she's progressing fast, oledi @ Bk 6 in Level 0. She started mid-July &amp; goes twice a wk. I dun test her bt @ each lesson she kan rmbr e words she's learnt &amp; they revisit those words 2 ensure she noes them. Now she's veri interested in signs around us &amp; wl ask me 2 read them 2 her e.g. "Open", "Sorry, we are closed", "Slow", "Danger". I've also started giving her ABC Activity &amp; Colouring Books -- $1 ea @ Pasar Malam, w Hello Kitty/Thomas/Dora characters. So she's colouring in these books &amp; learning 2 write e alphabets. Doing more of e former. Bt she's developing stronger grip on her markers/colour pencils whc helps her progress in writing. Overall, we're veri happy w ireadnwrite prog &amp; highly recommend othr parents. E variety of toys &amp; e company of othr children @ e classes makes it so fun &amp; engaging dat B1 looks fwd 2 ea lesson. Kant rmbr if I've mentioned, bt 1M back she started saying, "Mommy I dun wanna go to Sun Sch -- itz nt fun like reading sch!"

kidzskidz: those childcare is like $400-$500 and i not working so no subsidy.
those 2-3 hours is ard $150-$200 per mth.
cmummies, can share how much are you paying per mth for kindergarten.how long is the session. icanread is enrichment programme right.

Hi Kidzskidz

BEK is a playgroup. Is located at the HDB block 708. Not an idea place. But with limited choice and convenient for my mum i have to choose there.

I'm also staying in this area. My DD is 1, thinking of her N1 now. Abit kiasu I know but seeing some comments from DingDong and other mummies about the long queue at Clementiwoods is making me worried, cos it is very near to our place.

For pri sch will be sending her to Henry Park. It's more than 3km away but no choice cos NHPS, which is closer to us is almost impossible to get in given its popularity.

<font color="0000ff">Moon:</font> How come u dun get subsidy? My B1 in FT childcare &amp; I'm a SAHM. I still getting 50% subsidy for non-wkg moms i.e. $150. Bt if u opt for 1/2D childcare then some ctrs tell me subsidy for non-wkg moms is onli $75. Faith Kindergarten's fee is abt $200/M. Kindergartens r generally 3hr sessions. Bt some may offer enrichment lessons (gotta pay xtra) aft e 3hr session. Nt all kindergartens do &amp; even those who do dun offer every day.

Yes, I Can Read is an enrichment prog whc teaches phonics, reading &amp; eventually writing skills. They hv many branches -- I noe got 1 @ Pandan Valley condo, 1 @ West Coast Plaza, 1 @ Jurong East Central (in 1 of e blocks near NTUC). But e one my B1's attending is www.ireadnwrite.com -- itz a word recognition prog so she learns 2 read words fr e start. She's already learning phonics (e Letterland system) in her CC so I dint wanna sign her up 4 more phonics. I shared earlier abt diz prog, u kan scroll up diz pg 2 chk if keen.
I'm veri happy w my gal's progress in e past 1.5M -- sends her in twice a wk &amp; veri shiong tho on parents. Think they charge $460 for 12 lessons in a term, or $900 for 24 lessons in a term. I hear dat I Can Read is also not cheap coz their tchrs r native speakers.

<font color="ff6000">Cutie:</font> I c. Totally agree dat w cc arrangements, convenience is impt. Now as I search 4 progs 4 B2, I 1st lookg @ content then location (travel convenience + how it gels w B1's schedule nxt yr), lastly how much time I get 4 myself!
I also chked out a 2hr playgrp near Clementi NTUC -- loved e timing + location. Stl it dint top my shortlist in e end but I reali learnt alot abt wat 2 kp looking 4 fr e visit. E.g. coz e PG uses e RC centre so e venue is nt purpose-built 4 children. E furniture e PG provides 4 e children r also like "temporary" fixtures. E toilet is nt even designed w children's level sink or potty bt got real potty

Anyway, itz back to e "drawing board" 4 me. Bt rite now FT CC nearby looks like e best option since it'll allow me time 2 bring B1 4 afternoon enrichment lessons + some x 4 myself. If I go w FT CC option, I prob send B2 in shorter hours of 9-4:30pm i.e. pick up aft tea-break; &amp; mayb even 2x half-days per wk i.e. pick up 12 noon.

<font color="0000ff">Moon:</font> Izzit u &amp; hb nt locals? Anyway, I was wkg PT previously bt 5hr per day so more than 56hrs/mth &amp; was able 2 get full $300 subsidy. Actuali if I send B2 to Full Day CC &amp; I kan manage B1's scheduling, then I'm tempted 2 look 4 PT wk agn

Kidzskidz: Yes. I agree with u. The facility really no gd. very small area of place. Will let my boy try out for a while den likely will look for some other places next yr. Headache.. can be quite stressful trying to look for a gd place for them.

CSI
yup
but hubby still works at the tanjong pagar clinic and not usually at the pinnacle one, but still q close. The PCF is in the estate, super convenient! if you are ever in the area and want to come up and take a look, just let me know ;) kidz, u 2!

school
anyone have any tips on how to get kids used to school? #1 will cry at home everyday before going, bbut once we get there he usually stops although he's not excited to go in. So far it's been 2 weeks, and he's like so scared to go to sch every day!

<font color="119911">Iso:</font> Tx 4 invite -- i imagine e view is fantastic! I stl fretting &amp; stressing ovr where 2 put B2. He so sticky, stand @ kitchen gate &amp; cry when I'm in FULL VIEW!!!!

<font color="aa00aa">Cutie:</font> I kena quite a lot of white hairs past 3M fr e stress of hunting 4 prog/sch/cc for B2 + whc enrichment courses 2 sign B1 up 4. @ least now things settled 4 B1 &amp; she's enjoying herself so much (I'm so RELIEVED!) Bt I tink B2 wl cry like mad when I send him 2 PG or CC... tinking abt it makes me even more stressed!

kidz
aiyo.. how old is he now? my #2 seems to be q sticky also, need to carry him a lot. and now at 4 months he's like 7.3kg, so every day and night i'm aching!!

<font color="119911">Iso:</font> He'l b 18MO on 9th Oct. Bt I stay home w him e whole 18M liao so he like diz lor. Tho he's sociable w his peers e.g. when we go Apr 09 bbs gathering, go Gymboree, etc. Bt once he sees me turn my back on him and walk away he bawls. Last Sat go Apr Bbs party, I slip out 2 go loo &amp; end up another mommy had to carry him 2 stay @ e toilet entrance &amp; I talk 2 him fr my cubicle!

Hey, ur 4M &amp; 7.3kg is BIG! Super Mommy's milk???
Mine, e wt plateau @ 10.5kg liao for like past 3-4M... B1 is big coz she's tall -- 14.3kg. &amp; stl wants to b carried bt my hb &amp; I both kant carry her for long leh...

can I check anyone sending kids to enrichment centre located at Pandan Valley Condo? I can't seems to get the webby to check what centre is available in there..
Planning to send my 4yr old boy for reading, writing class, probably I can Read as well as my 10 yr old girl for piano class.. anyone knows if there's music centre there ? Thanks !

<font color="0000ff">Mamayeo:</font> I posted earlier about another reading prog available @ Pandan Valley -- www.ireadnwrite.com. My gal's been in it 3M liao, 2x wkly &amp; had graduated to reading her 1st book (basic reader in a series). U wanna chk it out? Company is called Children's Cottage &amp; e system is via word-recognition so the child learns to read straightaway. There's 30mins free trial. I referred another mummy there &amp; we're splitting e referral benefit of 1 free lesson per child. PM me if u like more info abt e prog or scroll up &amp; read my post abt it. My gal lurves e classes so much dat she's told me she likes reading sch more than Sun sch!

@ Pandan Valley, there's a music sch bt I think it only teaches piano. There's a Gifted Artists arts sch, CMA Mental Arithmetic sch, Kumon, I Can Read. Btw Pandan Valley trying to go for en-bloc. They hv committee set-up bt I'm nt sure if voting's done yet.

Otherwise, I wld recommend u look to West Coast Plaza or Jurong East for both reading and music lessons -- as in both kinds of lessons r available in either locations i.e. one-stop only for u. Bt it's e co-ordinating of e class schedule's datz e big headache.

hi kidz,
thks for the info.. will PM u..

Hoping to get them at 1 place so that no need to rush for classes.. stress for them and for me. I want them to enjoy the class instead of going to war zone.
We still hv lorna whiston finishing this term.. I will arrange for trial, calling them later.

<font color="0000ff">Mamayeo:</font> Other location is Bt Timah Plz whc has I Can Read, phonics @ CS Montessori + Chin enrichment ctr, ballet &amp; music sch. Actually, the only drawback for Pandan Valley is there is no sheltered alighting point to the commecial schools. Bt it's convi for me as I have direct bus &amp; onli a few stops away.

<font color="aa00aa">B2 started playgroup today:</font> He was @ Pandan Valley for 2hr playgroup. It's his 1st x @ drop-off prog but when I left him he was happily exploring &amp; playing with the different toys. However when I went to pick him up he started to cry --- juz dat few minutes before dismissal x. The tchrs did say he cried on and off but no major H2Oworks. He'l go again on Thu -- 2x wkly. Bt I went 2 chk a 3hr montessori prog @ Henry Park juz now as it offers a better timing to fit in2 B1's kindergarten schedule in 2011. Looks good so I'm likely 2 put B2 in2 e 3hr prog 3x a wk -- means a longer break for me 2
. The charges r quite reasonable as well -- $960/term for 3x wkly.

kidz
wow quite good! my #1 is still bawling when going to nursery, usually he will just cry for a while then be ok but today he cried for 1 hr. he's been going since mid sept, but there have been public holidays, sick days, school closures and our holidays, so he hasn't been going consistently. hopefully when sch reopens next year it'll be better!

btw at last count #2 was 8.5kg at 5.5 months. wah piang! :D