Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

Hi Koori,
i brought my darling to PD regarding phelgm and flu...
Total charges :$65/-
I think is reasonable...

Cause i brought her to kidslink at CCK, cost me abt $150/-...

Alot of different...

Hello Shirley, : )
nice to know that there's a mummy near me too ... how old is your baby? mine 22mths .... are u a SAHM too?

I never tried the GPs in Clementi s i only tried Silver Cross/ Holland: the wait can sometimes be very long but the medicine they gave is almost similar to those given by my BB dr. in KinderClinic - Gleneagles. So far, i haven't found a Dr. up to 'my standard' ... even my bb dr. in gleneagles is always busy and makes me feel very hurried ... he will talk & give advises but only when we ask him... not like those who will give advises automatically... sigh! is there no good dr. around?!..

kidzskidz: may i know where is the Dr. lau in RafflesClinic@Clementi?? Is it near the NTUC side?

Hello...
Yah! yr baby so young... must be very cute.. mine is big already.. very rowdy n active .. yes, I'm a SAHM... but always busy with baby.. i bet u too...

Mummies, I don't understand why people become PDs if their attitude and behavior is rude or abrupt. Isn't it very important for a baby and child doctor to be especially kind, nurturing and friendly (more so than a normal doc)?!?!?! If not how can they get children esp babies to trust them. I guess some only care about making $$$ off us parents.

My baby's birth PD at Kinderclinic MAH is a warm, friendly doc who goes out of his way to make me (us) feel at ease and even readily offers his personal experiences (if I rem correctly, he has 5 children himself) but it is not convenient for me to go there all the time, it's always a long wait if we don't have an appt and their charges are high!

Hi Melody05,
ya... very busy with my darling... cause she sleep during the day, wake up in the midnight abt 2am then sleep back around 7am...

Very "xiong", sometimes i also quite stress up... Cause my previous 2 boys doesn't have this problem...

Mummies here,
Anyone baby thrown up milk most of the time, even sometimes thru nose?

My darling vomit alot, sometimes she drink 90ml, she will thrown out abt 60ml...

Then less than 1.5hrs, hungry again...

How to prevent this?

Sleek,
can PM me the clinic address...

Grace: haha, yeah lo I blur mah.

If my family GP is still open and doing vax, I will surely bring my son to him instead of PD cos we've been seeing that GP since I was a kid myself. Too bad, so sad

Hi Shirley,
'Throwing up milk' thingy mostly happen to boys - my boy did that when he was just less than a month (for a couple of months - on, off) and i was very shocked/ worried/ scared/ you name it! But l have since learned that it's due to their system & like what sleek mentioned, 'acid reflux'. I have not heard it happened to girls before though (i had 4 sisters and nothing like that ever happened!). Think it's better to check with your dr. on this. If she's hungry, just feed her...cos with the amount of milk she throw up, she's going to be a skinny baby like my son... when you feed her milk, don't let her lie flat on the mattress - prop her head up or support her half body up slightly higher (but not as sitting position lah of cos) - that was what my dr. taught me.. hope this helps.

Sleek & Melody05,
thanks for your advice...

I brought her to the "Chia" PD, she says is normal...
I dun see this happen to my 2 sons...
Frankly speaking, my 2 sons never vomit milk even once...
For this daughter, me and my hubby quite worried...

Brought her to another doctor, they said that the Colic Medication prescrible by "Chia" suppose clear the stomach wind... But instead of clearing the stomach wind, the medication tighten the stomach ring, and force the milk to thrown out...

Quite worried, but all my relative says is normal... I even bought the "FRISO comfort" for her to drink, is good, she stop vomiting but...
She "Lao Sai"...

Really headache... Hopefully she's fine..
Maybe i only can blame myself, i drink and smoke thru out the whole pregnancy...

Due to my previous pregnancy, nothing happen... So i take smoke & drink for granted...

Next pregnancy, i will NOT smoke and drink again...

(",)

Shirley: Is she growing well and happy at other times? My son has spit-up for the 1st 6 mths, but never alot or through the nose and that's normal for all babies.

Hi sleek,

i happen to see my darling vomit once abt 1m away...
Just like merlion...

I was so shock and worried...

Brought her to several doctors, every GP or PD says the different thing...

Dunnoe which one to believe...

I am bring her to your recommended GP next week..
See how it goes..

Shirley: OH no, very scary to see a baby vomit till 1m away. The doc I pm you about is a PD, you must be prepared to wait 2-3 hours to see him as a walk-in. On Wed when I brought my son to see him, the clinic assistant was telling a customer on the phone that there are no appt till March. Normally what I do when I go to him, is to go register, then tell the clinic that you're going downstairs to eat or walk around, then they will ask if need to call you. So at least you don't have to wait at the clinic for so long with all the sick children around. Hope he can come up with a good answer for you.

Btw, another mummy in another thread told me about a good PD at farrer road, you want me to get the details from her for you?

Ya Sleek,,
quite scary, i was so "kan cheong" that i shout for my hubby...

So far, she is putting on weight... Now coming to 2 mths, she is already 5kg plus...

When she was born, she only weight 2.864kg...

Quite confused...

Anyway, i dun mind waiting... Cause if the PD can cure my darling's problems... I think is worth it...

All parents hope to give their child the best if possible... So do i...

No matter wat, afterall, she's still my darling...

Actually we intend to try for another baby this month... But i really scared liao.. NOt the labour pain, but the heartache to see them suffer like this...

Shirley, haha you also dont sleep so early. That's good she is putting on weight, if not even scarier for you. I hope the PD doesnt disappoint you, feel quite pressured now that you have expectations of him, heh.

Wah you want to try so soon, your girl just 2 mths old. Personally, I cannot imagine having 2 babies so close together. Already so tired with just 1.
Some more you have 2 older boys! *pei fu*

Anyway, i am still young...
I married at 16 due to shotgun...

Gave birth my 1st one at 17, 2nd one at 18...
Their age different is just 11 months...

Me this year only 24... My hubby 28...

That's why we hope to try for another gal...

Maybe now life may be bitter but in future, will be sweeter...

Like this, we will not have much age gap with our kids...

Actually i gave birth to the 1st and 2nd very easy... Like laying eggs... 15mins push out liao.. Not so pain, nothing...

For my darling.. Haiix...
Induce, pain from 11pm to 8am...
I can't imagine it...

But no matter how pain, once i see her face that moment, i forgot about everyting...

Child is a gift from god [ sori, i am not christian], i been TTC for my darling nearly 3 years...

Miscarriage once, even since then, we tried so hard, still cannot get pregnant...

Till last year, i search for TTC methods online, and notice that take Robintussin can help to get pregnant easier... I try... YES!!!! I got pregnant that month...

Frankly speaking, i always tell my hubby and myself...
"Things belongs to you, no one able to snatch it from you"
"But things doesn't belongs to you, don't force yourself to steal it"

Heehee, this post suddenly alot of logic...

shirley: dun worry too much... ur kid will be fine...
btw, u already 3 kids u still wanna go for #4? difficult to care for?

btw, mummies... i'm due to pop in abt 2wks time.. very scary hor... i'm fearing delivery liao...
i also scared i dunno how to care for my boy properly.
i also scared my MIL hygiene lvl does not reach my standard...
i also scared during my confinement, my hb need to travel for work, i may kenna PNB frm the above 2 fears...

i'll prob bring my boy to poly for the jabs.. too ex at PDs..

Hi Petrina,
Don't worry too much as everything will be fine, where will u be giving birth?

Hi Shirley,
wow envy u for being such a young mummy, gng for #4 is really a real challenge, salute you, btw are you a SAHM?

Hi Melody05,
it's nice having "Long Feng Tai" but taking care part is a big challenge indeed... hmm BD party, u can try Cheveron nesr to IMM, condo clubhse, etc... I hold their BD party @ my MIL hse after sourcing as bringing the 2 of them out is troublesome and if they want to nap will be a problem oso...

Hi Sleek,

Are u referring to Dr Tan fm Kinder Clinic @ MA, he is a very nice & parient Dr. ***Two Thumbs Up" for his excellent service

Hi Hapi Melodiu...
Yes, i can image that! My little king is enough to keep me spinning non-stop & you have twins!! hee ....
For his 1st year birthday we did it at the clubhouse but this year I'm thinking to do it at Gymboree ... maybe more fun??! but the timing is very limited at Gymboree... sigh! I don't know what to do yet ..
Shirley..
You are 1 steady mama leh .... 2boys, 1gal + 1more??! I can't even handle 1 here! much less talk about number 2!! haa ... salute you!!
Petrina...
Don't worry so much or else it will affect baby hor ... try to think of the positive...
1. A mother's instinct is very strong, once your baby is out, you will automatically know what to do - if not, there's always the hospital doctors/ nurses/ books.. + us here, to feedback on.
2. At least you have a MIL around to help you ... i don't have. All you need to do is communicate and tell her your reasons/ fears and hope she will follow your way.. hee .. cannot help you : )
3. Aiyah .. don't need to rely on hubby all the time lah... you are a modern woman and we MW can do everything ourselves (except of cos procreate..hee...) - my hubby flew off less than a week after we came back from the hospital and he's always not in town but still we are doing fine... (luckily i have very helpful sisters! hee...) so don't worry too much. Get a maid to help you with the chores so that you won't be too stressed up. Relax abit and you will be fine.

Hi Melody05,

tat's why, really a bundle to handle. Gymboree is nice but as what you say, timing is very short. Still have time to think, are you a SAHM? Planning for yr 2nd bb?

melodius: i'm delivering in glens.. nearest mah.. dr chris chong. yet to choose a PD in glens.
i'm semi SAHM.

melody: i hope so.. MIL is my main fear n concern.. language also a prob mah. no maid.. not getting. no CL also. only me n mil at home. i scared WW3 when hb isn't ard. hb is usually peacemaker. tats y i fear PNB. i m very confident i can handle everything myself. but MIL wanna add in.. so i scared i may end up being *pek cek*.

full mth, i intend to do at home.

Hi Petrina,

oic, Gleneagles is a nice hosp.

Don't worry as everything wiill be fine, just don't bother abt MIL, for me sometimes oso dun quite like my MIL style in handling the children. Just ignore her BUT sometimes really very pissed off with their attitude. Make sure that you rest as much as you can during this one month, everything will be fine

Hapi Melodius...
Yes, I'm a SAHM... no lah 2nd bb?! I can't handle so many .. 1 is enough for me.. very tired liao leh ...

Petrina...
Don't worry too much .... did you talk to your hubby about your fears/ concerns? It's better that he knows so that he can take 'preventive actions'.. : )
Can your MIL do your confinement stuff? Marketing, Cooking, washing, etc..? If you are not budget constrain i think it's best to get a CL .. cos there's alot of stuff they have to do besides taking care of baby and esp. if your MIL is staying with you... cos at least there is a CL around if your MIL disagrees with your way of handling.. the CL I had was very good & PRO so i follow what she taught me... Whatever decision you made, ultimately, the baby is yours so nobody has the right to say anything - they can only advise, not instruct.
Take care and don't worry too much ... Don't be stress with nonsense stuff, just concentrate on your baby and getting enough rest for yourself.

hi there mummies

can I join you? I stay in the same blk as kidzskidz! What a coincidence
My child-bearing journey is not as straight-forward and blessed as everyones'. I delivered 3 times (1st two natural, 3rd time C-section) but none of my babies are with me anymore as they were all born premature and gone to Heaven.
My last pregnancy was also 'Long-Feng Tai' like Happy Melodius but I delivered my boy Joash stillborn on 22 April 07 at 20 weeks gestation and my girl Ashley on 3 June 07 at 25 weeks gestation. Baby Ashley survived for a day in the KKH NICU before she too passed away. It is a very painful experience so we keep our memories of them alive by starting an online blog. You're invited to read it here: Baby Ashley's Blog. Our heartbreaking experience of losing 3 babies in 4 years was also published in the Sunday Times on 9th Sept last year (if you recall reading such a sad article...)

The reason why I'm joining this group is because my husband and I are now undergoing the Adoption Home Study Report (HSR) with MCYS. Once that's completed (hopefully by Apr/May), we can officially adopt a baby. So I'll definitely need support from fellow mummies, esp those staying nearby! Hope I'll be welcomed here.

melody: can't tell hb.. he already so stressed up.. plus there r future probs like where my son will slp when he grows up etc.. so he's trying to avoid the topic. i'm hoping for the best..

Hi Petrina:

I will share the same set of MIL issues with you after my CL completes her 28days. And I am home alone with her!! GOSH... If I am not happy with her 'old-school of thot', I will tell her off.
And then 'cold-war' begins... sound very bitchy, right?! hahahha....

If MIL is getting on your nerves, just step away... No point arguing as they will always want face-value & win all the times.

Cheer Up... If not, we can go HV - Coffeebean for hi-tea...hahahha

angela: where u stay? when ur confinement finishing? hehe, i also think like u leh. if i not happy, i may buay tahan n tell her off.. cold war also bo bian lor..
i give HB heads up liao.. he say he'll avoid.. n leave the bb caring to both woman.. haha

Hi angel

I am so sorry to hear of your baby experience plight... I share your sorrows.

Wishing you success in your adoption...

Cheerz..

petrina:

me stay at Blk 18 Dover Crescent
my EDD is 17 Mar so I think confinement will start from early Mar.

I am PRO - dun make HB difficult. just give face lah. then cold war with MIL... hahahah

so I think -hi-tea is good for us...

angela: ya. HB will be left out in the war..
u working mah? exchange no. i wanna go HV walk walk this wk.. hope to deliver asap wif all the walking...
u can join me in the MAR MTB forum.. i'm active there.

babymaybe: Really sorry to hear about your losses, I cannot imagine how devastated your hb & you must be to have to deliver your precious babies who are already not with you and then watch helplessly as Ashley slips away from you. I've had 3 pregnancies but only have 1 baby and it just never gets easier to face these losses. All the best to your HSR with MCYS and hope to hear good news from you

Melodious: Yeah it's him, he's very good at reassuring and attending to us. That's why I still prefer to go to him when my son's condition is not improving, I'm even 'kum guan' to travel there and pay their fees.

Petrina: it's perfectly normal to be worried and scared but like Melody says, if really need be, you can come here and share/ talk to us about anything

I bring my son to the polyclinic too, they have improved their system alot so the waiting time is shortened and they give you appt time for your future visits. I think the most I've encountered is 1 hour for waiting time, the actual vax and doc check-up if any. The only thing is encountering a grouchy nurse who administers the vax, haha but you can encounter such people even if you pay for PD prices!

shirley: chris chong good mah? sewing skills n difficult birth skills.. keke
i scared after birth, V part become loose...

yup.. update list.. keke

Babymaybe.. i wish you success in your adoption plan

... i too lost a baby (at 2mths) - my boy was supposed to have a sibiling (twins) but i guess i was too stressed up with being pregnant & the twins news all at one go that it happened ...

Petrina... if in future you have cold wars n find it too stifling to stay home, bring baby out and we have tea or come over to my place (when I'm home cos i bring my boy to school on Tue/ Thur) ... though i don't have MIL problems, i bought my baby out shopping at 2mths (i remember some KPO older women in the shopping ctr told me tt I'm not supposed to bring baby out at such a tender age!! ... thankgod they are not my mother nor MIL!)

Hi Angel,
firstly, i welcome you...
I read your blog, i broke into tears...
I understand how a parent would feel if lost a beloved child...

From the pics of Ashley, the written blog, i really feel sad for you...

Maybe the following sentence might help you...
Let her go, don't force her to stay...
You can't bear her to suffer all of her life...

But always remember...
She's and her 2 brothers will always in your memories... Always be love by you 2...

There will sure be one day, you guys will reunited in heaven...

Hereby, i take this chance to tell all mummies...
Child is a gift of god, DON'T ever think of abortion... Cause some parents want kids but don't have, since you being bless by god with kids... No matter how hard life is... Bring the kid up...

melody: i rem.. i confirm wif u tmr nite or wed morn.. cause i anytime due mah.. keke.. ltr onz u, then i show how? haha

Petrina,
He's good...
Listen to his instruction...
For me wise, he didn't cut down there... [U know where hor]
He try to expand for me, so i recover very fast...

Don't worry about labour pain, when your precious is born, you forgot everything...

As for Chris sewing skill, i not sure...
Cause i have no chance to see my "POP POP"...

For what my hubby seen [coz he been thru with me all along] he did a good job...
He sew the tear area nicely and i recover the stitches within 1.5 week...

Remember, buy a dettol... Dun use the wound lotion... Buy a Dettol, 1ml of Dettol mix with 1 full glass of warm water... Rinse your "POP POP" everytime you go toilet...

Remember, dun use wipe method, use tap method with toilet paper to dry instead...

anyway i am a SAHM...
Kids to me is just wonderful...
Mischeif is their natural of learning...
Have more paitence with them, they will respect and listen to you...

My 2 sons are consider hyper active kids...
Firstly i quite stress up... But now nope...

They are my wonderful gifts ever...

Shirley..you are a young mommy with 3 kids..think im the oldest mommy in this thread..
I dare not try for another after having my gal haha.

Angel..be strong. you are most welcome to join. do keep us update on your adoption.