Mummies in Australia?

Andrea
Melbourne ah .. .i went there for 2 weeks last year.

but we ended up at apollo bay. din go to ballarat. r u going for a short trip?

yeah!!! the section is up!!

Hi Pinkyfur,
can i check, do the gynae do detailed scan at week20 in perth?

my friend is considering if she should go to perth only after the detailed scan.

I'm 11wks pregnant and is waiting for CVS before I decide if whether I should deliver in SG or AU. My 5 yr old daughter is delivered here in SG, so I definitely feel more comfortable delivering here than in AU. If I am going to AU to deliver, I have to decide between Perth, Melbourne & Sydney. As I studied & lived in Perth for many years, I am more familiar over there. But for the next few years, I am thinking of living in Melbourne or Sydney.

Hen

are you a Aus PR? coz if deliver in Au, baby is automatically Aussie citizen, or else have to apply seperate PR.

Andrea

I think good suburbs are those with good schools nearby. I think for them, they have same system here whereby kids who live nearby would have priority in entering schools so the best suburbs would be those which have good schools in them. If you have kids, I think this is an impt thing to consider

Point cook is up and coming suburb...so I think it is nice area to live in.

sunnygirl
actually clarkson gives me a feeling it is like point cook. dunno why but i like such new suburbs

Hi hebe

yup, i did my 20 week scan at perth. My gynae sent me to "Women's Imaging Services" to do the scan.

After the scan, they will print out pictures (in 2D n 3D) of your baby and make a DVD of the scan for your keepsake.

mspiggy
i actually went to santuary lake. mmmm i tot it is inside point cook. just tat the compound is named santuary lake. expensive.
now .. then i know it is another suburb.

hey Pinkyfur,

I went for my first check up here on Monday. It's not much diff from Singapore except that there's no scan.. so can't see baby
I actually signed up with the Birth Centre at KEMH but am now seriously considering to get them transfer me to the main hospital coz i want the option of having epidural for delivery. I shld think it's better, right? Going for my detailed scan on 19 June.. hopefully i'll get the DVD as well!!!

btw, do u intend to register your baby as Singapore citizen? trouble is Singapore doesn't have a consulate office in Perth. I was looking at the ICA website.. it says we can get a local sponsor to submit the citizenship registration on the parents' behalf. Have u considered abt this?

Hi Lavender

I think u made a right choice to go with the main hospital cos i heard that birth centre dun hv emergency medical assistance.....so if anything (touchwood la) went wrong, they still will transfer u to the main hospital.

We will register our baby as Singapore citizen cos we are not holding any Aust PR (though have been living in perth for 15mths liao). Actually wanted to get PR but we hold on to it cos hubby's co insured us private health insurance as we are on 457 visa and it covers 100% of the maternity cost.

Not sure on the procedure on the submission cos hvnt do homework on it yet.... heeheee....

You will definitely get the DVD one cos it records the whole process of the scanning of your baby. As for the detailed scan, they will briefy u throughout the scan...(eg. will tell u this is baby's kdneys lah, count baby's fingers and toes lah, etc)

mngo,
i am not migrating. but i used to stay in melb for about 5 years, gave birth there & came back when baby was 4mths, and been here since. Always wanted to go back.. miss melb a lot!! =)

but accordingly,
i would rather give birth in SG rather than Melb. I gave birth in public hospital.. and apparantly, i only find their "after-birth" house visits good... other than that, sg medical gives me so much more assurance...

lavender
where abt u stay in perth?

sarah
oh!! u stayed in mel for 5 years. how come u come back again.

pinkyfur
where abt do u stay? how long hv u been in perth?
by the way, why not u guys sign up www.bubhub.com and we can go there to chat too! the thread tat was setup for us is a bit quiet...

it had been quite sometime tat i'd not log in...it seems u all can log on often...i could hardly log in with my busy schedule at work ...very intresting topic abt given birth in aus ...

sarahbb
y u prefer 2 give birth here....didi u had a bad experience ther...can share...thanks...
mngo..i'd created my account there,,,,nobody leh....

hi mngo

we have beeen staying here for 15mths liao.

we stay at city area (murray street) cos hubby works in city and he prefer to walk to work than driving so we rent an apartment in city (his work place is just 5min walk from home)

ryatie22... oh! u created there? got le.. got me (mngo), sunnycake, achander leh.

Pinkyfur > wow u r staying right in the shopping street. so nice! is the apt expensive to rent?

New to this thread. Was thrilled to find it. I'll be moving to Perth at the end of this year and was hoping to find mummies already there. I used to study there so am familiar with the place but not so from a Mum's perspective. Hoping to get some tips and info from you helpful mums already there.

mngo & ryatie22,

the main reason why i tink SG would be so much better is because of the "before-birth" check-ups and the "during-birth" hospital stay.

my before birth check up only did like a total of 2 scans? - which my husb say its quite dangeroud cos u never know what is really happening esp towards e end..
the doc would just base on the sense of their touch, to see where is e head.. and not much being done to see if the baby is healthy... just felt very insecure with their checks there.

just right sfter birth, i had a choice to snitch up e wound.. but e midwive told me "everything natural better".. but they did not advise me that it would take so much longer to heal.. and i would be suffering in pain longer.. (took me 2 mths to totally recover.. and 1.5mths for the pain to subside to a more toleralable pain)... than had to stay in hosp for 3 days... in which, baby was with e mother the whole time (not too sure if sg is this way).. but cos husb not ard in hosp, so i couldn't go take my bath for 2 days (took a shower e day i gave birth).. cos noone help look after e baby??....i ask e nurse, the nurse say they would keep a lookout for me but not be there e whole time... (am tinking, what if someone else took e baby?)..

anyhow, e "After-birth" was good, cos midwives came to my house for baby & mummy checkup like weekly than mthly or something... and their jab are free including precunnmal, which is ex in sg... but there no BCG, and in sg, my PD told me its better to get this jab...

yea, but e only thing that made me not regret giving birth there was that i got to take care of my baby alone til he was 4 mths old... (i had a 9am-5pm help mon to sat for the first 2 mths frm my china confinement lady)

i tot a public hospital would be a better place to give birth rather than a private hosp.. but its seem i was wrong.. haa..

now, IF i wanna have second kid, i would give birth here first.. than bring over to aust...

mngo,
i came back cos after i came back.. so much help frm everyone for my son... so, just stay here first... hehe.. =)
but am still undecided if i wan him to study there or in sg... =/

Hi mngo

we pay $420 per week for this fully furnished 2bedroom apt....quite a small place.

Hi sarahbb

do you still have your confinement lady's contact no? I have problem finding a confinement lady here.

sarah mngo ryatie,
Hope you don't mind my contributing to this convo. I had my bb in the UK, and it sounds similar to sarah's experience, except I actually like the process and feel positive towards it. In the sense that my bb was with me in the ward the whole tme we were in hospital but I didn't feel insecure about leaving him while I went to the bathroom etc. I had 2 scans and the rest of the check-ups with midwives who felt my bump and measured his heartbeat made me feel very assured. I didn't see the need for more scans than the 2. I enjoyed interacting with midwives over doctors as they seemed a lot more experienced. BCG is not in the schedule of jabs but can be requested thru your GP and you can return to the hospital to take it FOC.

Sarah,
Hope you're not annoyed with my post. Just wanted to share my views.

When I was preg, did some research on birthing in Aus. apprarently, the best care would be to go private, but is very very $$$...up to 10K for hospital and birth only(excl doc). So in the end , I gave birth here.

Do you guys plan to work in Perth? Or stay home mum? My daughter will be about 1 yo by time I go over. Should be old enough for child care..but I think they childcare is quite diff from here one...they quite strict with timing for pickup etc..

sarahbb
when u came back, were u on a holiday kind of thing and then stayed till now? u have OZ PR?

I din know tat the birth experience is so diff from sg
. seems sg is a better place to hv a child

zoe
thanks for yr experience. mmmm... without scanning, the doct can tell the growth of the child? will the doc also be able to tell of any defects in the child (eg cleft or watever). at which months are the 2 scans done?

sunnygirl
for first few months, think i will stay at home - untill everything is settled. but of cos unless i can find a job lor. else i hv to stay at home until indefinite time period

mngo
The first scan was around 12 weeks and the second around 20 weeks. I think. I can't remember exactly. If there are any defects they would've shown up on these 2 scans. The bb was inspected very carefully during the second scan. Growth is measured by feeling for the bb itself. The midwife measures this with a measuring tape fter feeling for where the head, bum, limbs are. I guess I'm a more relaxed person who tries not to worry so much. In certain districts in the UK, only one scan is performed. The first is an optional one you have to pay for should you choose to have it done.

Zoe,
no problem... cos it was my first birth & the midwives were experience, but i just felt that it was a sense of insecurity cos the checkups were not as through as sg.. =)

mngo,
urm, i should more of say my stay in sg was suppose to be the holiday but ended up me staying so long.. and husb flying up and down. we are both aust PR.

pinkyfur,
i still got her number... but her rates is mon-sat 9am-5pm (usually she come @ 830am).. and its A$700 per week, excluding food.. let me know if u wan her number, i PM u or leave ur email i email u.... btw, she is in MELBOURNE... staying near doncaster.

ooohh.. and just to add, i didnt know until after i gave birth.. there are many people, pay lots of money to give birth in sg (cos of e medical).. so yea, dun look down on sg welfare! hahaha... *true blue singaporean?* hahaha ;)

Zoe and sarahbb
thanks for the experience and guide...find it useful...cos maybe want 2 have the 3rd one there but like wat sarah said down here got help..but down under no help.....so now i must tink over..

sunnygirl,

We already AU PR, that's if shd go over to deliver. I have been asking my friends who are living in AU or gave birth in AU abt private vs public. Unless u bought private health insurance one year before u conceive, else it is definitely cheaper to go public.

Oct'06, I decided to be a SAHM, so when I move to AU, I'll probably be a SAHM for awhile.

would like to make check if anyone knows abt parent visa?

I recently heard that if a PR obtains citizenship, then parents will be 'automatically' given PR (ie. they don't have to pay for their visa)... can anyone help to verify this?

Just wondering

Parents still need to apply and the waiting time is quite long. For faster approval, there's contributory parent visa where you pay a lot more but approval is very fast.

hi andrea,

i asked my agent abt the parent migration abt 1+ yr back. i was told there are 2 options, both also must meet balance of family test :
- option 1 is to put in parents queue, but may take years
- option 2 is to apply under contributory parent scheme, the contribtory amt is not refundable, benefits is can get PR fast

pm me if u need more details, coz its too lengthy to type all the details here and i m not sure if the details he gave me is still valid after so long ...

how r u settling down in perth?

andrea,
i heard that if all the immediate family already settled in AUS then parents alone in SIN, they will grant them with TR first which allow them to stay for a period of 2 years.

Any mummies or spouses (who are PR) in IT line?

My hb's company (local Aussie firm in Perth) is planning to hire some IT staff from SG. If anyone is keen, drop me a pm.

Hi mommies, hope to seek some advice here
may I know what good brands of therma bags for storing milk in milk bottles and baby carriers can I find in Sydney ? as I planned to get my bro there to purchase for me
many thanks

hidora,

I'm really keen on the IT job (I was in IT/travel industry before I turn SAHM last Oct) but too bad, I won't be available till mid next yr. I'm currently 5mths pregnant n will deliver in Dec here in SG. Will only move to AU sometime middle of next year.

Hope to keep in contact n keep me inform of any new opportunities available next year. Thanks.

Hi Lavender,

how's the bub and u? I'm also Aussie PR. Went to Perth when i was 32 weeks preg and waited for my bub to come out! yes i can imagine how bored u are since u can't hang out like in Sgp till late.. plus i missed my hokkien mee and satay etc.

I was also a public patient at KEMH. it's really not so bad...most of the midwives very nice except for one or 2. I used the hospital not the birth centre. 'cos i know i definitely needed the epidural!!!

on top of that, my pelvis so narrow and my boy's head too big! in the end i had an emergency C-section. yes...everything free!!!! somemore they're very generous with their dose of epidural & later on other pain-killers...not like singapore.

The hospital food is really really good so eat all u can during your stay!!!! If your pregnancy is a straight forward one, then dun worry about not having the same doc...it's really ok

the other thing is breast-feeding. good for u if u have breastmilk or can persist... if u think u'r getting too stressed out and would like to opt for formula feeding, DON"T BE AFRAID to say so and sign the option to formula feed. Dun let the midwives stress u out since Oz very pro-breastfeeding. My boy got quite dehydrated until he was peeing pink crystals so we were exasperated. The last thing i wanted was to compromise my baby's health..esp hydration levels.

Oh yes, we'll be moving to Perth this December. maybe we can keep in touch....better to email me.