Mummies in Australia?

I have a query... does anyone know if child tickets are entitled to 20kg luggage as well (coz they take up a seat)? Or is it partial weight limit...?

TIA :D

andrea
paid adults and children with seats r entitle for the 20kg for economy...only infant is entitle for 10 kg regarles of wat class u take.

I've just moved to Perth last Sunday and will be having my first baby here in Nov.. glad to see so many of u are planning to come over too. I used to study in Perth years ago and enjoyed it thoroughly but i just get v homesick this time round.. anyway, i guess after reading that so many singaporeans are coming over does provide some consolation.. haha..

Hi Ryatie
Thanx for the info... quite relieved to learn there's weight allowance for the children's tickets... still have stuff to bring over, that I didn't manage to pack with the shipment :p

Hi Lavendar
How are you settling in? I remember when I first went over to study, I was TERRIBLY homesick... I hope it'll be better this time...

I'm alr beginning to think about how my parents will cope without seeing my boys when we are in Perth... the only consolation is that they will visit every now and then...

So where are you putting up? And congrats on your pregnancy and soon-to-arrive baby!!

Hi Andrea,

I'm just the opposite. When i was in Perth for studies, i was never homesick!! But i am now.. TERRIBLY!! i just hope this will go away soon.. i was lucky enough to get a job in less than a week. Am starting this coming week, so hopefully this will keep me occupied and feel better..

My hubby and I are staying with a friend at Winthrop now. Will be staying put till probably sometime near my delivery and we'll be shifting out. Being new here, everything is a challenge esp since this is my first pregnancy, everything also dunno what to expect.. and the medical system is different too.. i miss my gynae in Singapore.. sob sob..

hi lavender
wow ur lucky 2 get a job within a week especialy when ur already preg...hw many months preg..n wat time of line r u in...cos in sg my fren got to resign when her boss know she is delivering althou she's been working there more than 1n half years........

Hi Lavender
Congrats on the new job! I'm sure it will help you take your mind off the homesickness as well...

Don't worry about your pregnancy too... If you need help, you can always check in to this forum and get support too
Just enjoy the pregnancy

My husband and I were actually looking for a place near his workplace in Winthrop and the surrounding suburbs. But we've managed to find a place much further south
I haven't seen the place, but I hope we'll all be able to settle in soon, and nicely too

hi Ladies
would like to check if anyone knows abt child immunisation programme in Aus? I understand that when we register the children under Medicare, they will be in the system, and as parents, we will then be reminded abt their immunisation schedule.

Do children receive these vaccinations FOC? What is the amount payable?

Hi Ryatie/Andrea,

I'm in the banking/finance area. Was doing banking operations in Singapore and will be doing similiar things in my new job.. i'm now in my 15 weeks. Sometimes i guess too many changes are happening at the same time, so it's a bit hard to cope emotionally. Probably that's why i'm so homesick..

Where have you found, Andrea? Do u intend to work here or be a SAHM?

hi andrea,

from wat i know, some of the vaccines are FOC if they are funded by the gov. not sure if all others are claimable under the medicare.

http://www.medicare.gov.au/providers/programs_services/acir/current_immunisation_schedule.htm

http://www.medicare.gov.au/yourhealth/our_services/aacir.shtml

then there is this Maternity Immunisation allowance which u can get, if the child is fully immunised between 18 and 24 months
http://www.centrelink.gov.au/internet/internet.nsf/payments/qual_how_mia.htm

Hi Lavender,
We'll be moving to join my husband on 1st June. About 2 weeks more
We found a house near Rockingham. Will be renting for awhile.

Will be a stay-home mom for the initial months at least, until my boys are more or less settled... then I'll come out to work again

<font color="ff0000">Hi all

Would like to seek your advise on Australian tax:-

Does the Australian govt tax permanent residences solely on income earned in AUS or is worldwide income included in the tax net (like the US tax system)???

Urgently need to know this.

Anyone knows this, pls post here or pm me.

Thank you lots!</font>

Hi Lavender,

Hope you are feeling fine.
I have a friend who is expecting and she is moving to perth too. I'm helping her find out some info on the medical system.

You mentioned, it's different in perth.can share what's the difference? and,which gynae you seeing in perth? can share?

pls PM me if it's inconvenient to reveal too much here.

Hi Hebe,

Unfortunately, i'm not exactly too sure how the system here works. All i can say for now is that the check-ups are not as frequent as in Singapore. Back home, we visit the gynae once a month but over here, the schedule is like.. 16, 24, 30, 33 weeks, etc.. when i was first advised on this, i went "16 wks then again 24 wks? 2 months??".. also, they dun perform ultrasound scans on every visit. And if your friend does not have private insurance here, she will be seen as a public patient and hence, will be attended to by midwives only.. even for delivery. Doctors step in only when there's complication. It feels kind of insecure hearing all these different practices.

I haven't gone for my first visit here yet, so that's all i know for now. I'm not even sure if they'll prescribe me with those vitamins/supplement. Frankly, i've been feeling v frustrated abt these limited info. I would like to know more but there's really not many people whom i can ask here. None of the people i know gone thru their pregnancy here. Sometimes i just thot maybe i shld hv just stayed in Singapore and come over only after delivering..

By the way, they dun even have Anmum here, you know, that milk powder for pregnant mums. They dun seem to have any milk powder specially formulated for pregnant women. So if your friend is drinking that, perhaps she may wish to bring a few tins over. haha..

Hi Lavender,
You might like to check out http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/index.php for help on their medical system there.

It's a forum much like this one, useful for networking with mums in Australia. I've joined that forum too, as I find it useful to connect with some Aussie mums who know the country and system better as well. They've been helpful

hope it will help to answer your questions...

Hi Lavender,
thanks for the info. The system in perth sounds scary and insecure.
Even if you see a regular gynae, the gynae wont deliver for you?

I think the doctors where dun really believe in prescribing too much medication. I was in perth with hubby and my hubby was sick (pretty bad sore throat, coughing). Went to see a GP. He just ask him to take Vit C.So, he took abt 1 mth to recover! aiyoh.....torture.
In S'pore, i think the GPs will give anti-biotics and recover in 1 week.so, i tell myself, cannot get sick in perth,else suffer.

i'll check with my friend whether she has more info and i'll share with you too. meanwhile, dun get too stressed out.

Hi Andrea,
thanks for the website.I'll get my friend to check it out too.

BTW, where are you gers staying in perth?

Take Care

Hi Lavender

i m also pregnant, currently at my 31week and my edd is in july... =)

i also find that the system here is really lousy...but i find it quite strange that how come u only get to see ur gynae every 2 mths? U seeing a public or private gynae? i m seeing a private gynae and get to see her every mth for early stage and now start to see her every 2/3 week. My gynae does not prescribe me with those vitamins/supplement when i ask for it. She just mentioned that i can get them at pharmacy....so during my last trip back to SG, i went to a gynae and get all the vitamins/supplement.

My gynae also dun do scanning on every visit, saying that it is not necesary, just hear the baby's heart beat will do. So till now i still dun know my baby's length and weight....=(

Btw, u should ask for the 12wk and 20wk detailed scans cos these are the only times you get to see your baby, somemore in 3D. And after each scanning, u will given copies of baby's pictures and a DVD of the scans.... =)

Hi Lavender,
Don't worry about the vitamins and supplement. You can get them on your own at the Pharmacist. When I was pregnant, I just went to the Guardians and got folic acid tablets for the duration of my pregnancy. I know some mommies take in only for their first trimester ... but I took it for all nine months :D

Then just get some fish oil capsules... can't remember which brand I got... That will help too
I think it's for EPA or something :p

And get iron supplement too... really useful.

Hi Hebe,
no worries... hope you'll find the forum useful too

Over in Aus, (and other Western countries I was told), they depend more on the Pharmacist than the doctors. You only go to the doctor when it's quite serious.... otherwise you can simply go to the Pharmacist, and describe your symptoms and then they'll prescribe some meds for you.

I remember one time I was coughing quite badly and for a long time already. It was due to a virus. The doctor just looked at me and told me to wait it out, since it's viral, and that I should go home and try my chinese medicines instead!

Since then, I've learnt to just go to the Chemist and get generic medicines... it might take longer, but I'll still get better

pinkyfur
i think medical in singapore is one of the best. i know tat my frens who delivered in Australia or States complained abt their medical system. cos both my frens had C-section, they had doctors to attend to them. If not, they will be done by mid wives too

hey ladies,
i'm back from Perth.

yes Andrea is right. the docs in AUS or any other Western countries don't really want to prescribe medicine coz they believe to let our bodies fight on its own hence we can build up our antibodies. which is good in a way.

my SIL and friend who delieved in AUS said they dont scan every mth like we do here coz they believe too much scanning is not good for the babies. and if you go public hospital, we dont get to see the same doc coz they go by color group. E.G. if you belong to yellow grp, you will be seeing the panel of docs in yellow grp depending who is on shift. But 1 thing good is... everything is FREE!!!!!

mspiggy
haha... yellow see yellow doc. at least good also. haha

how's perth ? now very cold hor. r u moving in june too?

tax
to answer the tax thingy, is only taxable based on income/interest earned in australia

mngo,
not that cold during the week i was there. afternoon still hot, cold in the nights but there's heater.

nope not moving in june.. Andrea will be moving in June.

I have good news!!!! My PR got extended!!!!!! Dont have to rush into AUS now!

I went to the immi and submit my application for RRV and present my case to the officer to show that I'm sincerely returning to AUS and the reasons for not able to do so now.

Guess I met a very kind officer coz I heard pple using the same method got rejected! Very blessed to meet this officer!!!

hello all

i am also Aussie PR..planning to move to Perth next year.

pinky: I wanted to go to Perth for the birth of my child too...but in the end, decided to stay in SG coz I was having a difficult pregnancy...On hindsight, good decision as I think i won't get the same amount of care there.

Mspiggy: when do u plan to move to Aus then?

Hi Pinkyfur,
can you share with me, who's your gynae?
will she be delivering for you?
which hospital are you going to deliver?

Hi Lavender,
My friend say,there's a sporean gynae in perth. let me know if you are interested to know the details.

Hi pinkyfur,

I'm a public patient as i dun hv private insurance. I'm going to the KEMH and seeing midwives only. Despite my friends and gynae in Singapore reassuring me that the midwives here are v experienced, it just feel something is lacking coz they're afterall not doctors? well...

Anyway, i think i'll probably hv a friend to get a few months' supply of vitamins for me from my Singapore gynae. It still feels safer taking them even though our daily diet may provide sufficient nutrients. Actually, the 2 month interval is only from 16th-24th week. Thereafter, it's a 6-week interval, and 3 i think. Still, it's not frequent enough in my opinion. How i miss Singapore!!

Which hospital are u going to?

Hi Hebe,

i heard abt the singaporean gynae.. we may be referring to the same one.. Vincent Lee, i think? i actually thot of going to him but i think he's considered a private doctor, so without private insurance, it's gonna be v expensive..

I m seeing this female gynae, Dr Linda Wong. She is actually from Malaysia. As for labour, the midwife will monitor the contractions and Dr Wong will do the final delivery.

My hospital is St John of God Hospital,a private hospital. Not sure of the cost yet cos have not done by pre-admission interview with them. All patients will be entitled to a double-bed room which means hubby can stay if he wants (with extra boarding fee).

Actually, i dont see any different from seeing a doc or midwife cos doc also does nothing much. Just heard baby's heartbeat, take my blood pressure, touch/press the stomach to estimate the size of baby and answer questions if you have any. Each visit is abt 5 to 10 min and costs $80. Somemore need to pay them a fee called the pregnancy planning and management fee which costs $1400. It is a fee for taking care of you 24hrs...cant remember the full details.

Can i have the information on the singaporean gynae?

sunnygal,
thanks. will go over when my son is abt 2 yrs which is another 1 yr from now.

mngo,
thanks. i booked at budget apartment at Como. nice place and price very reasonable.

jojos,
thanks. yes another 5 yrs from the day i got my renewal!

jojos,

mspiggy
can pm me como contact/website?
keke...

wah .. looks like you wont be going back to au until 5 years later. cos of the RRV. so good hor

mspiggy
no lah .not for holidays. is for good. hehe
but i hv to find a good acom for me to stay for 1-2 weeks while i go find rental unit.

mngo,
oh i see... in that case i think this place is reasonable. Como very nice area and quite central too.

when you're moving?

Can I check if you might know where I can find a Chinese Medicine Hall in Perth? I only know of one in Northbridge, where Singapore Chinatown is, but not sure if it's still there...

Thanx!

Hi Lavender

Thanks for the link.

Hi Andrea

Not sure which one u r referring to but there is one at northbridge which is manage by a lady doc from china...we call her Zhang Yi Shi (Dr Zhang).

andrea
there is a chinese provision shop at north bridge. just two doors next to the butcher shop.
tat butcher shop is the famous one where u hv to to take queue number :p

Does anyone know Melbourne, Victoria well? Would like to check which suburbs are good and safe -- along the Western Freeway, heading towards Ballarat.