Mummies in Australia?

mspiggy
yea .... guess is 70% perth lor. haha
if perth, i'll prob put up NOR first. cos i've got some frens there.

mspiggy
i love to view display houses. the trend in perth is to rent. somehow no one is buying. prob the houses are really expensive. and end of the day after the interest, we pay a lot more.

mspiggy,

$40 for childcare is cheap! Where is it located? If it's $40 a day, I dun mind working since I will still be able to get some money back.

For housing, rite now hb and fren are trying to secure a hse in cannington, but gotta wait until May before it can be confirmed.

hidora,
the childcare is located at Victoria Park near to the Coles. It's not those 'famous' childcare but my frd likes the teachers and principal there. It's run by an elderly lady (principal) and she finds her very patient and good.

OH GOOD!!! Cannington!!! I might go see look houses at Queens Park too

mspiggy,

I see! Hmm, didnt catch sight of the childcare when I went to Vic park. Nvm, if I decided to work, then I go there and rekke.

Heh, it'll be nice if you stay near Cannington. Then during weekends, we can meet up and go shop at Carousel. :p

hi to everyone here!
thanks for replying, if its not consecutive, makes it easier for me. cos my hb doesn't really wanna move there so soon yet. but i'm planning to go there 1st and study / work part-time. the plan is for me to go early next year. but at the same time we're also trying to get pregnant thru ivf, cos we have fertility problems... sigh... so much happening in my life... but i try to cheer myself up with my dreams of being a SAHM in perth...which is what some of you here are already becoming! lucky yous!

shazzer
welcome on board...dun be sad....be heppi...mayb GOd wants u achieve other things 1st. but juz keep trying ok...being a mummy is tough thou...

mspiggy
i brought a stroller n also sling juz in case my dd dun wanna seat on stroller..
Queen's park....quite good n quite..have a fren staying there...government house..he paid very very cheap...some more the house got garden....
curtin students like to rent houses here.....

gtg to go...me juz finish packing to bali tommorow for holiday...so excited my 1st trip with my 8 mths old dd n 31 mths old dd...sight so tired..must bring many things..will be beck next week....hope to read more good news...

ryatie,
enjoy your holidays.

my frd staying there told me that there are trying to get rid of the govt houses and build more new houses coz the area is quite near to city. guess once they started doing that the prices will be very different already.

mngo,
there's new Queens Park and old Queens Park apparently. guess no many these days else dont think my frd will buy a hse there. kekekeee

mngo, mspiggy,

A refers to? Asians? Aboriginals?

How many Queens Park are there in Perth? The Queens park you guys talking about is not the Queens Park near the city where the Red cat passes by and there's really a park, or is it the same?

Totally blur now.

hidora,
A = aborginos

Queens Park is a suburb near to Westfield Carousel shopping mall and also Cannington suburb

The park in city is Kings Park.

oh ! maybe the new queens park is better . haha

yr fren alredy bought a house? how much is land + house ah

mspiggy,

Ahahahha... gosh, can't believe I mix up the queens and the kings! Hehehe. So paisay.

Then for the old queens park and new queens park, are they in the same area?

mngo,
not sure if hers come with the land (didnt check with her). she paid around $385K for a 4 bedrooms and 2 baths, quite near to the train station. it's a 2-3 yr old house i think.

hidora,
it's alright we get confused at times

they shd be quite near to each other.. i mean the old and new queens park.

hi mspiggy
it has to come with land. cos building of a house is only 150k there abt. v cheap only.
is either she buy the land from Landower 1 and then get a Builder no 2 to build house.

I'm planning to lodge an AUS PR appln soon. Just a qn - do I submit the appln and supporting docs to the Aust High Comm in Singapore or mail them over to the Immig Office in AUS?

hi Tanwawas,
You can lodge it in Singapore.

btw mummies, my boys have their visas alr! I must say that's fast considering I'd only lodged it end of March -- took them two weeks.

Will go get tickets now

Need advice... currently packing up now, and there are lots of important documents to bring over. It's really heavy, but not sure if it'll be entirely safe to ship it over.

For mommies already in Australia, did you put these items in the container as well?

thanx!

hi andrea,
congrats ... tat was fast ...

can help me to chk what's the period they gav for ur boys to make their 1st entry to aus? coz i need to plan when to logde for my bb as i wil only b gng back in Dec..

Hi Jojos,
thanx... we were surprised how fast it took too!

Anyway, the boys have the next 6 months to make their entry. They were granted five years on their visas
That works out well I suppose... could possibly mean that it'll be easier for us to apply for an RRV...

hi Hidora,
I'm not very sure abt the RRV... haven't really read up on it, since we don't intend to return so soon...

However, from what I know... there are two kinds of RRV... one is 3 months, and the other is 5 years (out of which you must clock two years again).

those with 3 months, must have a compelling reason to leave the country (perhaps on compassionate grounds).

The RRV allows re-entry into Aust. So if you wish to leave Aus, and your visa is expiring, such as is my case, you must make sure you have an RRV before leaving the country. Otherwise, the PR visa may expire, while you are out of Aus, and you won't be able to enter Aus without a valid RRV...

erm... am I making sense? Okie... found something that might be useful... before I confuse anyone else :p

http://www.australia-migration.com/page/RRV/91

Hope this helps :D

Hi Andrea,

Thanks for your fast reply!

Hmm, still very blur.. Maybe cos I'm not a PR yet. Hehe.

So right now you are returning is due to current RRV expiring? Or PR expiring?

Hi Andrea,

Then assuming your pr expires next yr, do you not have to apply for RRV if you intend to come back for holiday eg during CNY?

Hi again Hidora,
Yup... my PR expires end of this year. So if I want to come back next year for a visit, I will need to apply for RRV :D

hi mngo,
still packing up now :p my house looks as if a whirlwind had come through ... it's a mess, and it'll be this way until the movers come this Fri.

Don't know what to pack anymore... suddenly looks as if it's a lot of stuff!! HELP!

Did you put your documents with the shipment as well?

i'm back fr bali....woow the home decors stuff r cheap there..children clothes r cheap tooo...

andre..still pecking...i guess very tiring..me pack 4 holiday already tired....

mrs piggy...385 for 4bed n 2 baths is very cheap man...hope my huby quickly file my PR aplnn..aussie rate i risin....

hey ryatie,

i'm MSpiggy lah... MRSpiggy is another user

this area is still cheap coz not that developed yet.

i'm so excited abt the coming trip ... thinking what to pack for my boy. 1st time bringing overseas ;)

sorry mspiggy.....tat time i 1st time bring my dd to perth also very excited..i packed 1 packet of diaper...cos the diaper very ex....brought a tin of unopen milk powder cos' scared they confiscate if it's open.. make sure all liquid u bring in ur carry bag is less than 100ml....

ryatie22,
yeah noted the new regulations... very ma fan! but luckily baby coming along hence they will be ok with the water for baby.

I was thinking of converting my sg money to aus money to enjoy the higher interest rate for aus currency. I know for maybank etc, you have to convert back to singapore dollars. Are there any way of converting the money to aus dollars,enjoy the higher interest rates and then not convert back the money.

hi mspiggy,
In the process. Was surfing around just now, saw this dual currency saving account OCBC. You know anything about it?

hopeac
wat do u want to know abt this dual currency saving? maybe i can help. i opened an account with them

Hi Mngo,
I have an account with Commonwealth Bank. Do you know if they will charge taxes if we have an account there?

I hear from my sister that she is taxed on the interest or something... can't remember now...

hi mngo,
Just to confirm that if I sign up for the dual currency saving, I will be able to withdraw Sg or Aus currency.

Hi Andrea,

I think your sister is refering to the 10% withholding tax on gross interest if one is not a resident (for tax purposes-the 180days rule).

My father has an AUD time deposit account with CBA Singapore, no taxes what-so-ever was deducted from his monthly interest income so far.