Mummies in Australia?

Thanx Mngo

Also, would any mommy happen to know where I can find a Notary Public to certify my documents?

Thanx!

BTW Ladies,
Does anyone know where I can find a Notary Public to certify my docs? For cheap? I hear that some charge as much as $10 per pc...

Hi Andrea,

We went to do our ones at

Chia Choon Yang
1 Coleman St #05-02A The Adelphi Singapore 179803
Tel : 6337 8573

First 10 copy at $28.

Hi Hidora,
Is this a Notary Public? Do you know the name of the law firm? How much do they charge if more than 10 copies?

Thanx

Hi Andrea,

Chia Choon Yang is the name of the notary public. And they mainly do certifying of true copies. They do not seem to handle any other things that lawyers do.

You will be a bit skeptical when you see their office.. It's really er... an eye-opener. Small room. Cramped, dirty sofa, old magazines... and many customers there doing certifying of true copies. This notary public is also listed on the list that the Aust High Comm gives out when you purchase any booklet of visa application (even thou it's stated on the list as randomly pulled from Yellowpages).

I'm not sure about the charges after 10 pieces. Think you may have to call and ask.

Hi Hidora,
Thanx! I was at the High Comm last week, all ready to submit my boys' applications. I thought I'd completed them already... until they whisked out this green sheet of paper, with MORE things for me to get hold of... and these were not listed in the application... imagine my annoyance :p

But thanx for the contact... will go down and do that... only have a small window of opportunity during my week-long holiday

Hi Hopeac,
Yes, I'm teaching
I haven't tried yet, but everyone sez it's easy to get a teaching job. The only stumbling block I'm facing now is registering with WACOT -- not so much an obstacle, but rather troublesome :p

Hi MsPiggy,
Yep... I'm holding a PR Visa myself

Hi Andrea,
how do you go abt sponsoring your child? not too sure what's the 1st step. can you advise?

Hi MsPiggy,
You need to fill out forms 47CH and 40CH. There are different rates of payment if you lodge it here or in Aus. It's cheaper here... about $1700+. I think in Aus it's close to $2K.

Then there is this list of items you need on this green sheet of paper they gave me... I will check it and let you know soon.

HTH

Hi Andrea,
Thanks alot! I've downloaded the forms from the web. Wow still have another list of things to provide! *faint*

btw, saw that you're looking for notory public to certify docs? Aus high comm will provide recommended list for you when we applied for our PR.

No, they didn't :p Quite irritated with them... I think they really need an info counter! I waited more than two hours, just to be told that I cannot submit yet, coz I didn't have those extras! If they could provide these over-the-counter info, it would certainly speed up the process. In fact the certification of extra docs is for the Child Visa... very frustrating...

Hi MsPiggy
This is the list of items we have to submit (from the green sheet...):

1. Original Form 47CH

2. Notarised copy of full BC for all family members included in the application

3. Original passports of main applicant must be presented with application for verification of application details.

4. Notarised copy of Personal Identification page(s) of passprts (ie. name, date of birth, passport number and passport validity) for the main applicant

5. FOUR recent passport-sized photographs (coloured or B&W)

6. Notarised copy of the parent's passport - bio data page, signature page and their current Australian resident visa

7. Notarised copy of marriage certification of parents.

8. Notarised copy of divorce absolute, custodu orders in respect of any children or adoption papers where applicable.

9. OFFICIAL Statutory Declaration from the Parent who is NOT the Sponsor, permitting the applicant(s) to migrate

10. Notarised copy of death certificate (if applicable)

11. Sponsorship Form 40CH - must be completed by your Sponsor and submitted AT THE TIME OF LODGEMENT of your application

12. We will instruct you AFTER you lodge your application about the timeframe adn procdedures for obtaining medical clearances and police clearances (where applicable).

Hi mummies in Australia,

I'm planning to bring my 14mths old son to Australia end of the year but if we self drive, will there be a car seat for tods? Also any mummies got good recommendations where and which part of Australia to bring our tods where they can enjoy? Thx!

hi kwan,
you can rent car seat from car rental companies. check with them first.

there's a lot of wildlife parks / farmstays / zoo in Australia which may interest your son.

Hi kwan,

Most car rental companies do provide child seat. Rental fee is around 2 plus per day. I was doing some comparision online (car rental of 2 wks) that day, found that Hertz's rates are quite reasonable and Avis is rather expensive. So you may want to take note.

hidora,
there's another rental company "Budget", prices are quite reasonable when I checked last time. you might want to check with them too

how's your packing coming along?

mspiggy,

Thanks for the info! Will ask my hb chk it out. Heh.

My packing is 0% done! Lol. I'm busy chasing HK drama serials, no time at all. :p

Still thinking to engage a mover, or to just freight some things over..

Btw, I'm gng over to Perth for holiday next week, want me to check on anything?

hi Hidora,
i've just asked one of the moving companies - Interport, to come in this morning, to make a quote. Will let you know how it goes. Will be contacting crossroads as well... I've written to them, but just want to be sure that there is no costs involved, if I do not engage them after all...

BTW, when are you gg over? If it's possible, can you pls help me check on child care? what do centres include? I know some don't provide food at all... how much does it cost? which is preferred -- the centres or those registered nannies? also, how does the family tax benefit work? I found it on www.familyassist.gov.au... but don't quite understand it...

Sorry to load you with so many questions... only if you have time

Thanx!

Hi folks
I am back from perth! But ... now in the airport.. waiting for next flight to india
anyway , shortupdate

childcare may be costly in perth, but you can claim tax benefits.

gynae fees can be claim up to 50% by medicare.. and u pay only less than 50 aud per visit.

lots of things u can claim...

lots of SAHM. not much woman work

Hi Andrea,

Shall wait for you to update me on the moving companies!

I will be going over next sat for 2 wks. I think I will look around the childcare centres in town during free time. I'm glad you raised some questions, else I wouldn't know what to look out for. I heard from hb that nannies are chrging at $16/hr.

Reagrding tax benefits, I also dun quite understand.. So many diff types.. so blur. I will try to find out more when I'm there.

Hi Hidora,
Thank you for the contact again at Chia Choon Yang! I went down today to get my documents certified. It cost me $26 for the first 10 copies, and the lady told me to keep the receipt, as for subsequent visits, it'll cost $2 per copy
Finally an affordable notary public

Anyway, I've yet to hear from Interport, but so far, I'm quite impressed by what i heard about what they can do. The Sales rep came by punctually on Sat to assess what I will be bringing over, and carefully explained the procedure. Even showed pictures of each stage of the packing and moving.

It covers the full service -- packing, insurance, door-to-door, customs clearance....

Anyway, will still have to wait for the quote and see how it is... will update you again

Hi Hidora,
thanks for offering to help. i'll be going for a short trip to do my 'research' in May. dont really understand those claimable things either.

heard from my friend staying there, she mentioned that good childcare centers are very hot. we need recommendation to get a place else diff to get it.

I've a question...

My ds is on formula milk. How many tins am I allowed to bring in? was thinking of a dozen :p

SQ having promo to Perth. Most likely I'm going to take the offer and fly to Perth this May... can't wait!

Me still in perth. Flying back this sat. Life here is damn boring (even though I'm living in the city) and the climate is lousy. Only here for 1 wk and my skin is peeling badly. Have to apply Vaseline everyday. My son even worse. Having dry and red cheeks. His smooth skin turned totally rough.

Another thing, he cant drink the water here. Too much iron. Made him have black hard stool. We bought one 15L of spring water just for him. Think we will have to invest in an extremely good filter or buy spring water when we moved over.

Didn't manage to check out any child care since there are none in the city. My hb is shifting to Carousel in June. So will look around then.

Andrea,

Sry, I forgot to help you ask the custom officer. As we brought many food over, the custom inspection make us blur already.

p/s: Curry powders with cloves cannot be brought over. And Bao Ji Wan too. Kena confiscated.

Re: Other things

I'm using Home's Brand (from Woolworths) diapers. Pretty good. It is the cheapest here.

The selection of FM here is really limited. Only brand I recognize is S26 and NAN.

Hi Hidora,
Carousel has one of the largest suburb shopping mall.

Agree the weather is dry, gotta take care and apply moisturer.

Hope you will grow to like Perth more when you're more settled, then can drive ard on your own

hi Hidora,
no worries

You are right about the water. Whenever we visit, we buy those really BIG containers of spring water... and it'll last us. You are also right about the weather -- very dry. Must put on more moisturiser -- it gets worse in winter. And must always remember to slap on the sunscreen for the children

anyway, I'm finishing up with school... so busy with planning. hubby is busy running around looking for a rental home. Not easy -- he's seen more than 12 homes now, and still no luck.

as for movers, Interport was quite good... but expensive for us. I've got 3 more companies coming into quote in the next few days, and one this afternoon. Will keep you ladies posted

Ok... gtg get ready

i am back from perth too. but two weeks ago. and i am catching up some of the post.... see if i can help

hi hidora
is that the first time u been in perth? frm my experience, i find tat whether is perth or melbourne or nz, the weather is pretty dry.
and when i went to india, it was really dry too!
i got my son physio gel and his skin is good even though weather is dry.

as for water, perth water has a lot of minerals. generally the asians will get water filter.

ms piggy
i love carousel mall!

andrea
can email me abt the movers info?

Mspiggy,

Yup, Westfield is huge. But shopping wise (the woman's stuff), I still prefer Singapore. More stuff and cheaper. Except for boots! I loved the boots here. Cheap and nice.

I think I will have to take up refresher driving course. Totally can't drive now. Lol.

Andrea,

My 15L last around 1wk plus. Are there any bigger containers? I got mine from the supermarket.

Mngo,

Nope, second time to Perth. Stayed in Tasmania for nearly a year thou. Ya, the climate here is really dry. I'm generally ok. But quite upset to see my son reacting badly to the dryness. Applying loads of moisturizers onto him.

Do you have any water filter to recommend?

Re: Sunscreen

Do any of you have any sunscreen to recommend? I'm using those that's non-greasy. But it seems to dry out the skin even more, perhaps due to the alcohol content.

Hi Andrea your list was very informative. I'd just got a replied from EEE in canberra that my hub cerf is under skilled staff...juz abt to fill the lengthy form...so happy to this info...

i heard that childcare is ex there...so maybe i decide to stay home...

mums in australia r u all working or SAHM>thanks :)

re : water filter

my SIL bought those 'portable' ones can be bought from Target etc. comes in a jar form with filter in it.

so just fill up the jar with tap water then pour from the jar to use. cheaper this way. the filter re-fill can be bought from COLES/Target etc

mngo,
did you say u went perth to view those display houses this time round?

if so, may i know which are the areas you went and worthwhile to go?

mspiggy
yea.. i am supposed to check out the display villages. but wat happened was tat the houses only open on certain days. and when we reach there, it was not open for viewing.

i went to clarkson - mmm somehow gave me the point cook (melbourne) feeling. a nice place but far from town. is near to hillary's boat harbor.

ryatie22
the price range of house + land in clarkson is aud400k there abt. the price range of house and land in town/city/south perth is more than 500k.

i've done my calculations and seems like not worth to buy if the place is more than 500k

andrea,
saw ur list of items for the child migration, it juz came at the rite time, very useful. i m gng to lodge for my bb boy in the next few weeks, think i still got some doc missing from ur list ...

hi all mummies,
can anyone explain to me how the PR visa renewal works? me got PR 2 yrs back ... i know we hav to fulfil the 2 out of 5 yrs thingy .. wat if we cant fulfil the 2 yr stay by the time my visa expired?

Hi mngo
thanks for the pricing wow400-500k...so ex...the price seems to rise so fast...my cousin bought her house 2-3 yrs back it was abt 200++k only...he stays in rivervale..so near to carousel...tot of buying near them so easy if i need help.....

mngo,
oh like point cook huh?! my SIL is staying at point cook right now. nice area. but hillary's boat harbour is really abit out of the way if you work in the city.

jojos,
my understanding is if you can go over just before your expiry and stayed there for 2 yrs then they shd grant you another 5 yrs.

if you cant make it before the expiry, then i will be forefited.

josjos
ms piggy is right. i know of people who go there just 1 or 2 mths before expiry, and becos of it, they cannot get out of OZ. they hv to wait until 2 years later. If they go out of OZ even for a holiday, they will not be able to return to OZ as a resident. becos they do not have RRV (resident return visa)

ryatie22
oh yea.. u know the prices of the house rise like crazy! even in the Peel Region - City of Mandurah, the houses can go up to 800k! 2-3 years ago.. economy in perth not so good. but lately this 1-2 yr or so, the property price shot up like nothing

Carousel is near the airport - down south. heee

mspiggy
oh yea.. is like point cook. mmm cos maybe is new place, lots of empty land for future developments. and the place is not too cluttered.
u r right.... if we work in city, clarkson is too far. unless we take train.

mngo
if i kno i should had invested earlier..it's more than double the price...so broke...but actually floor area price is double than a executive hdb that can cost more then 500k ..so to think of it worth it....