Mummies in Australia?

hidora,
understand your worries. i find it very hard to handle baby all alone especially this is our 1st one.

now hubby and i are still thinking if we should just give up the PR and forget all abt AUS. alot of qns running thru our heads now..
1. will we be happier there?
2. is it really benefit our kid?
3. our parents?? etc etc etc

sighhhhhhhhhhhhhh

For you gals who already made up your mind then I will say just DO IT!

rooster,

I'm not sure abt medical care. But I heard my hb said everything is handled at the hospital? Then another mummy's hb who studied in Perth said PD very far?

mspiggy,

My hb went becos he believed our children will have a better life. But is that really true? No one knows. So it really is 1001 ques in the head.

mspiggy
i m not sure if i can and want to be sahm. maybe i will IF , i cannot find a job :p

i rather work leh. but on other hand , i am worried abt my boy there.

Hidora
u know wat my fren - who migrated - told me?
he says $3/- per family in perth is more than enough. seems like 1 breadwinner is good enough.

Rooster
U hv to apply medicare card if u can - if u r PR. Else buy medical insurance. For the walk in cases, some do handle. in worst case , just walk in to A&E :p haaa

Actually my own parent r reluctant for me to move. only my inlaws r supportive. think for now, we just take 1 step at a time. dun think too much. if we do, we will stil be here by the time we retire.

hidora
i think kids wil hv better life. i always think and believe the quality of life is much better. i have another fren, migrated with wife + 3 kids. and NOT coming back!

mngo and hidora,
yeah... initially we also thought it's a good place to raise our kids.

i've already applied for the medicare card though me not physically there yet. heheheee super KS coz we were so keen to make the move then.

been continuing to send resumes out... always get the same reply. "keep in touch when you are in Australia"

mspiggy
wat?! u applied for medicare card liao? can meh? then where do they send the card to?
how long does it take for them to process the card, and wat do we need in order to apply?

is easier for us to get a job if we r located there physically lor.

mngo,
my SIL is already in melb mah... i used their address lor. actually dont need much info, just your passport and your PR visa. go to any medicare centre and apply can already. i think we got the cards within 1 mth.

mngo,
you moving over soon right? apply after you moved.. guess it's alright. i cant use the card also.

Hi MsPiggy and Mngo,
My husband is working as an administrator in the Uni. He was lucky I suppose... managed to find one in less than 3 months. When we visited him in June, he was still without a job, and we were quite worried.

For awhile, we were really getting quite comfortable here, and even contemplated not going. But that would really be a pity -- a waste of the visa, so we thought we should at least give it a try.

My parents are very supportive of our move. In fact, it was my mom who pushed me to get the visa. My sister is already in Sydney. It'll be more difficult for all of us to meet up next time...

Right now, we are just biding our time, and hopefully a good place is up for rent... Today, I just read that interest rates are on hold... don't know how that would really affect the property market. *sigh*

Anyway, we are looking forward to the move... but yes, the apprehension is always there... must get a job and ease into the routine of living there... then we'll begin to enjoy the pace and quality of life there.

It'll be good if we all the mommies here keep in touch -- even if we can't meet, at least communicating via email/forum will provide a support base

mspiggy
we r not moving tat soon lor. maybe another 1 yr or so.

andrea
wish you enjoy life there! slower pace.... and better weather, bigger house. haaaa

We are applying for PR as me as main applicant as my job is in MODL. My hub also got his license to teach in Mel. But, I am not really sure that if it is really a right choice. I look at the housing in australia. Though it seems comparatively cheaper than singapore for a house. But the interest rates is at 8 % pa , it would mean we would end up paying much more unless you pay in cash.

Education system in Australia is slower than singapore. And parents do supplementing with other materials. The state run schools are cheap, the standard from what I gather from locals etc , it is not that good, and you can only choose schools near where you stay. If u suay suay stay near all the no good state school, then your kid will be really cham. The better state schools are something called state selective, which are much better but you need to do very well to get in. For the normal kids, the better schools are the independent or private run schools, which starts from 5000 a year and could go up 20 K when to higher levels. Can we afford so much for a good education? Lastly, of course the worry that I cannot get a job.

hopeac

was told Grammar schools in melb are good schools. not sure if it is govt ones. seems like their edu is somwat similar than singpaore. like the independent vs govt.

for pri school, how to proof we do v well in order to get in to state selective?

hopeac
u r apply for PR, means u hv not gotten yr pr yet right? r u moving to perth as well? which line r u in?
housing in australia is high, bank int also quite high. but of cos we cannot compare to our
cpf int rate of 2% and the loan int of 2.5% from cpf.

hi mngo,
The schools that are referering to are for normal state schools.

State selective are for secondary schools, they refered to it as for gifted students. So need to do well in the pri schools. The difference between the pri schools between state, independent and private is not so wide. But it seems as you go higher, the difference can get very big. And there is variety of courses you can choose in private school as compared to state run.And the facilities in the private and independent schools are much better than state run. I read somewhere alot of those who do well for the 'A' levels and go into go good uni are from private schools. So alot of parents slog to send their kids to private schools where possible.

Some readings
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopi...tion_Private_v_Public-Melbourne_Victoria.html

http://fl.localschooldirectory.com/schools.php/cPath/2913

http://www.cis.org.au/IssueAnalysis/ia13/ia13.pdf

Grammar schools are good but very hard to enter... high competition. The edu system is indeed much slower than SIN.

hopeac,mspiggy

think i just will not send my boy to private schoo. i think even in sg , he may not end up at RI. maybe he will be in neighbrhood school

mngo,
state schools are ok but somehow the students are more 'beng' from my personal opinion. seen cases for 2 cousin-in-laws... 1 from state sch and 1 from pte sch. :p

mspiggy
mmm.... was thinking part of it is the family upbringing. not too necc school.

wah... stress now

mngo,
the 2 are brothers from the same family leh... cant be too different upbringing right? or maybe just coincidental

i am thinking of getting a job in australia and re-locate there as a PR.

can anyone advise on the job agencies in singapore or australia that provide job opportunity?

and the procedures of visa and living standards there.

i am thinking of sydney.

hi taregal,
it's not easy to get a job without a valid working visa. so my advice is that you first apply PR then move over to find a job.

we are all looking for a job ourselves though we already have the PR

Just to quote some remarks from another forum.

"He has to pay a lot for his children's schooling (they are in the primary and secondary school). Altough education is free, it is only for public schools and he says the standard is very low so he has no choice but to enrol his kids in a private school"

"Not bashing schools in australia but the secondary schools can be pretty wild"

"I have friends in Australia who had to send their kids to private schools for both primary and secondary. They even had to supplement with books from Singapore coz the standard of the public school system is very low"

While all these are just views, these views may hold some truth in it as they are so similar.

Oh well.. headache ah.

Hey
Pardon me for what my comment is going to be

1) singaporeans are super ks
2) my hb, from nz college which standard is much worst than malaysia, made it to the top university in nz, and with a good hons
3) why go back to sg syllabus, ksium when u r already migrate.
4) i think , really spoil mkt.
5) if want to compare singapore, then better stuck in sg better.

Hidora,
personally i know this is very true... but if we decided to move there for good then we cant compare with the singapore standard.

singapore is having one of the best system in the world. but some will think it's causing too much stress for the little ones

Ms piggy
I love u man! i like what u write!!! Cos tat's my thinking as well!

hopefully not every one is like yr 2 cousins...

http://www.answers.com/topic/private-school

Private schools in Australia
Private schools are one of two types of school in Australia, the other being government schools (state schools). Whilst private schools are sometimes considered 'public' schools (as in the Associated Public Schools of Victoria), the term 'public school' is usually synonymous with a government school. Private schools are either denominational (often Catholic) or independent.

Private schools in Australia may be favoured for many reasons: prestige, and the social status of the 'old school tie'; better quality physical-infrastructure and more facilities (eg. playing fields, swimming pool, etc.), higher-paid teachers, a perceived higher quality of education; some schools offer the removal of the distractions of co-education; the presence of boarding facilities; or stricter discipline.

Private schools in Australia are still heavily government funded, although they are also more expensive than government schools.

Private schools may have a greater focus on sports and other associations than public schools. The GPS schools in New South Wales) and Queensland were established to promote certain sports perceived to be elite within these schools.

Unlike most public schools, most Australian private school students are subject to strict dress codes - for example, a blazer for boys.

Uh, dun have to bash me for what I quoted. Just that since the topic is now on schooling, just thought I should paste regarding comments on the same topic.

"I have friends in Australia who had to send their kids to private schools for both primary and secondary. They even had to supplement with books from Singapore coz the standard of the public school system is very low"

Actually for this quote, I only quoted half. The other half states "They are not Singaporeans. Also have friends(non-asians) in US and Europe supplementing their children with Singapore textbooks/assessment books too."

So, it's not really those migrated Singaporeans that are spoiling the market.

I believed it's not a matter of wanting to compare Aust public school standard with Spore standard. It's just that things are so bad that you can't help but look at alternatives. I dun see parents comparing the standard when their kids are in private schools, except for the cost maybe.

When I was staying in Tas just a few years back, there was this piece of news on TV that looked into the schooling system of Australia. They reported that the system is so bad that 15 yr olds students can't even spell simple words that shld have been taught in primary school. Some, couldn't even write their alphabets properly.

When you see things like that on national tv, you can't help but worried if you have kids in public school. Imagine you can not earn enough to send your kids to private school, wouldn't you want them to at least study based on other materials in hope that they wun end up like those students in the news?

Seriously, not everyone can afford to send their kids to private school. My hb found out that the top private primary sch in perth cost ard $3k a year. And that's only primary. Even if the normal private school are not as exp, the fees will still go higher with each level. If you only have 1 kid, then that's fine. But what if you have 2 to 3, and only 1 person is working?

While I do not need my kids to be geniuses, I do want them to grad from uni nicely. How to find a job if they are not uni grads when uni grads are abundant in aust? And if they can't even pass their high school properly, how to enter the uni?

So in situation whereby we gotta send our kids to public school and the system really sucks, I will consider getting them spore schooling materials. Spore schooling materials simply becos they are easily available. If I can get my hands on the private school materials, they will work too. And if that's ks, so be it.

But of cos, if my kids can go into those good public school or private school, I dun think I will bother doing anything. Considering the fact that almost everyone in the June mummy thread is talking about GD, Shicida, enrichment course, all I'm letting my son do is sleep, eat and play.

hidora
dun worry, not going to bash u :p

if i have $$$$ , i will want private. haaa - for the sake of prestige. but hor~~ maybe if i want to be so damn cheapo to make use of the free school fees, then bo bian, i will park my boy at public.

our kids r still so young, and here we are worrying for their future. I think by the time the kids grow up, they will not be worried abt their own.

cant imagine tat private schools in singapore used to be for people who fail. <not>

but now seems is the other way around

watever it is, dun worry too much! your son.. still young. so have to enjoy his life, to let him sleep, eat and play cos he has a whole life ahead next time to study.

hidora,
not bashing you lah... just giving my personal opinion also

me same as you... no flash cards/shicida/GD for my boy too. coz he might be an Australian, let him start like them! hehehehee

mspiggy
my hb also thinks tat if we want to move to OZ, we should be immerse into their culture, bring our son up in a way like Aussie.

Recently the papers mentioned tat the migrants to australia dun seem to be well immerse into their culture, therefore giving problems.

hidora
somehow i hope my son can be uni grad. but somehow i think a brick layer is paid much better and get a job easier. and better off if he get a diploma in brick laying.

mngo,
yes it's true that those skilled workers are earning more! technicians are earning more than engineers.... i actually ask my hubby to be a technician instead! hahahahaa

frankly speaking, i think it's kinda of hard for us (asians) to accept the way the Aussies raise their kids for a start. they can let go more easily than us... i find it hard to let go at times. been telling myself, MUST LEARN TO LET GO!!! hahaha

Hmm, imo, not all australians are so relaxed in the way they bring up their kids. If that's the case, they will not have different types of school. And the not so relaxed parents who want their kids to excel will send them to the top private schools regardless of the fees involved.

So it really depends on which type of Australian are you talking about. Since there are also ks australian who used sg textbooks for their kids.

As for talk of immersing into their culture, I wonder what kind of culture are they talking about. Cos, youngsters and abled wo/men bumping around without a job and living on dough is also part of their culture. Ahahaha, I dun mind doing that.

Anyway, since we can migrate to Aust, our kids may also choose to migrate to other parts of the world, or maybe even come back to sg! So having a uni degree will be a more secured option even though it is a fact that skilled worker earns more. My hb's cousin in Perth was asking me to go learn hairdressing. But I'm more interested in being a beautician. Keke, maybe I will go pick it up when I got free time.

since i'm going to perth in 3 weeks time, u wana me to help u chk out anything? i'll be going display villages visits

mngo,
you going for holidays? *envy* hope to make a trip in late march. updates me with your visits!

Actually, what are the non academic skills that are useful when we go there. Was thinking of learning some skill before going there just in case cannot use my formal skills to get a job.

hopeac
my fren's cousin took up baking certifcate. they have a masters degree.....

mspiggy
ya i m going for holidays. yeah!! Perth!
i've got some frens there, so i want to visit them too

hi mngo,
ehhehe. I also have masters. 8P. I was also thinking of the baking cert. But was wondering how to get it part time.

Haha... No worries ladies... decided to check on this as Hidora mentioned about finding a good pd...

At least now I don't hv to worry too... so many paeds in familiar areas... btw, can we use medicare? I'm quite blur about this thing...

Happy New Year ladies
I suppose the CNY must have been a hectic period... it's rather quiet in here...

Anyway, was just wondering if mommies already in Perth can recommend good/reliable child care?