MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

Thanks hippo,
But her stomach is already so big - going to deliver in June. My husband says the school might be scared that something might happen to her in school and get the school into trouble. I'll let her know about it anyway. Thanks!

Goodness! My kid was doing her maths homework. I went to take a look and I realised I didn't know how to do! Laugh at me if you must. I'm a maths idiot anyway, but my husband who prides himself on being a maths expert also spent about 15 mins before he got the answer.
It's about shifting two toothpicks to change 2+9=5 into a correct addition statement. After that, you shift another two toothpicks from the corrected addition statement into a subtraction statement.
It's the first question which got us. Goodness! This is maths question meh? Lousy workbook!

Hi Jess,
The maths question is exactly the one I mentioned in my earlier post, just that toothpicks are arranged in the shape of numbers. Let me try to elaborate to give you a better pic:
Qn: This number sentence formed using toothpicks is incorrect: 2+9=5
a) Move two toothpicks to form a correct addition sentence.
b) After you've done (a), move two toothpicks in (a) to form a correct subtraction sentence.

I hope the pic is clearer now. It's more of an IQ question I think. Subsequently, I realised I couldn't solve some other problems in that darn workbook, like arranging two triangles and a rectangle into a triangle, and deciding what rhombuses, squares, rectangles, trapeziums and quadrilaterals are grouped together as. I got very discouraged and really worried. I wouldn't be able to teach her if I myself don't know how to do. A friend who helped me with the problems consoled me that these are more of creative stuff and not the conventional maths so that I don't feel so bad. Altho I know I've always been an idiot at maths, it's really quite another thing to feel helpless at a Primary One maths problem if you know what I mean, and it's not 1, but at least 3 which are on consecutive pages.

Maybe I should feel relieved that I'm not born in this generation instead.

Rains, is that from a school workbook? your gal's school not using "my pals are here"? i find this pretty interesting as it trains the kids to think.

Hi FZ, though I've enquired with Hanlin before, I did not send my boy there...can't remember why though. Maybe the fees...

Rains
Is it on the topic "Shapes and Patterns"? My son is doing this topic now and I also find the questions quite challenging.

Wen and Jess,
Yes, it's from a school workbook. Perhaps I shouldn't mention the name of the workbook here since I've effectively cursed it.
I'm glad there's another person thinking it's not as easy as it seems, altho I'm sure, unlike me, you would be able to solve them.

Hippo,
I wrote in to the school when my son was 5. But the school replied via mail saying they have sufficient volunteers. However, they called me in Jan 2006 asking if we still wish to be a volunteer. There were only 19 parent volunteers for Year 2000 Dragon bb.

I helped my sister call up a few schools she's looking at but they all say it's MOE's regulations for pv to do volunteering work one year prior to registration. All of a sudden, my sister says she's keen on ACS. My husband only has two words for her,"She's mad."

Rains
Regarding the Maths question using toothpicks, it also took me sometime to get the answer. Don't need to worry on this. In exams, they are not tested as such. I suppose it helps their brains to think when it comes to problem sums.

Thanks, caroline3sg,
Wah, you too didn't solve it immediately?

Yes, I do know that they are not tested on such problems in exams, but I found it demoralising for myself. I'm hopeless when it comes to maths - I think my brain just freezes when I see numbers or anything that looks frighteningly illogical. haha, excuses excuses excuses ... I'm just plain stupid la.:p

Hey Rimilyn,
My kid's swimming coach was telling me that they do have swimming tests - bronze, silver, gold. He says that my kid will go for bronze when it comes around. I told him she might freak out when she hears the word 'test'. He says not to worry. He's only worried that she might get overconfident.

Come in and talk leh. Me bored.

Rains
Do you happen to know what primary school is good? I am staying in the west.

How about good English centre for preparatory 1?

Hi caroline3sg,
The only school in the west that's very good is Nanhua - a sap school with gep. Other than that, the only other school I've heard by word of mouth that it's good is Rulang. If by any chance, you judge a school's 'goodness' based on its popularity, Jurong West and West Grove seem to be quite sought after by parents living in Jurong West, going by last year's P1 registration statistics.

As for enrichment centre, I never sign my kid up for any academic enrichment program, so I wouldn't know which centre is good.

Rains
Thank you. I have in mind Nanhua as well but don't know of the chances.

Nanyang is good too but I heard no chance.

How is Peihwa?

caroline3sg,
Peihwa is also a sap school - Janet's kid is there.
Looking at the location, I would say Nanhua is harder to get in since it's just about the only sap school in the west area. You might want to try parent-volunteering in the school of your choice - that's how Janet got a place for her kid. And there're some schools that require more than a year's commitment, esp the highly sought-after ones. I've heard of parents making enquiries to volunteer at Nanyang when their kid was only 2 yrs old. So do make enquiries early if you are interested.
I think it's difficult to be a parent volunteer in Nanyang becos most of the parent volunteers are existing students' mothers, so they don't have many vacancies for new volunteers. Besides, they screen potential parent volunteers based on their needs bcos, as put in the principal's words, they have "hundredzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz" of parent volunteers already.
There is a link on the contacts of primary schools:
http://app.sis.moe.gov.sg/schinfo/index.asp
Just select the schools you are keen to find out more abt and it'll take you there.

Yep,Nanyang is very difficult to get in. My friend teaches there and she said most of the time, they have more than enough parent volunteers and they can even pick and choose....

But I think it is very important to consider the proximity of the school to where your child is going to stay - 6 years is a very long time....I personally don't want my children to spend too much time travelling to and from school everyday.

JessChan

strongly agreed. I want convenience too, didin't want my kids to take school bus. Since I have 2 girls, it's a total of 8 years!
I noticed school bus is very early, especially for morning session. If the school is nearby, can sleep later mah :eek:)

hehe, I found a primary school within walking distance. I started doing volunteer work in the school recently. Very fun leh, interacting with the P1 kids every week

Thanks Wen, regarding hanlin.

caroline3sg,
i heard Princess Elizabeth is also good, heard St Anthony is also good. mostly read from elsewhere one la.

I did consider about the issue of proximity during P1 registration, but the schools around my area are really the kind of schools most parents will not put their kids in unless really no choice (pls don't ask me abt the schools' names tho :p). And I knew my kid would have no friends if she had gone to one of those schools. One of my considerations was whether she would be happy in the school. I saw for myself how miserable she was when she was four becos she was in a nursery with kids who couldn't understand her, and vice versa, and wouldn't befriend her. And the school was just below my mother's place. I told myself I would never do that to her again.
True. She spends hours travelling and feels tired when she gets home, but she's a happy child and loves school and is learning well. And she has friends who protect her when boys try to be naughty. I still remember the glimmer in her eyes when she alighted from the schoolbus the first day while telling me,"I got friends!!!" and the time when she had milo stains all over her uniform and I teased at her in a childish tone, pretending to be another child,"eeee ... so dirty!" She said gleefully,"My friends never laugh at me!" I knew she would be happy in this school.
Every parent has different criteria for the school he or she wants for the child. Of course it's best that the school is near and good. But where there are opportunity costs involved, I guess we'll just need to decide which one exactly is more important for our child.

Hi Rains, thanks for the swimming test info.

Personally, proximity of the school is the second factor when I register my girl. I'm more concern on the teachers and the school management.

Side track a bit! My boy who is 3yrs old finally can float on the water without kicking board. Each lesson he will whine and cry very loud. He simply refused to try anything. I even spoke to my hubby to stop his swimming lesson cos I don't want to force him. Then, one evening he told me he wants to swim. And he did it without the board. His coach is very surprised too. clipart{happy}

Agree that the nearby school must also be good - that's why houses in places like Bishan is so expensive....

Rimilyn
My younger son just had his second swimming lesson last Friday. He hasn't learnt how to float but is able to jump into the pool with his head submerged fully. He is so happy and can't wait for his next lesson! I hope he can learn to swim without float soon.

rains
how would you know whether your girl will have friends or not in a particular school?
is it because all her existing friends went to other schools?

my elder girl used to be very attached to a particular friend in child care. When they had an argument, she felt so sad and lonely that she refused to go to school. I withdraw her from childcare eventually because I noticed her mood was very much affected
from that incident, I was also very concerned she will be even more of an introvent if she doesn't get along with other kids
I have been telling her frequently she can make new friends everywhere and anywhere since she's attending so many enrichment classes. Do not be influence by one person

she started her kindergarten this year in a new environment and managed to make many new friends from 1st week of school although there are some boys who disturbed her everyday and she will complain to her teacher directly

Hippo, my kid always tell me what happening at her school each day. She is very talkative! From there, I know her friends, teachers, canteen ladies PLUS school bus uncles.

Once she has some disagreement with her best friend in K2. She was very upset and impatient. She refused to tell me or my hubby what happened. Luckly I managed to find out from her teacher. I explained and anaylse the pro and cons to her and let her decide if she still need this friend or not. I let her solve her own problem. To me, she has to learn to live with different people in different environment. There is no one man island in this world. I just want to share with you my experience, no hard feeling ok! I'm not a very motherly type of women. I'm still using the NAG NAG method and my daughter always want me to cast as the big bad wolf cos I'm one of them in her life. Ha ha!

hi hippo2022,
To answer your question on how I would know whether my girl will have friends or not in a particular school, I look at the culture or environment of the school - the children who go there. If the children who go to a particular school are more likely to speak mother tongues, then most likely they wouldn't like my kid. It's through experiences I guess. Since she was young, I observed that she's closer to indians and chinese kids seem to be averse to her, esp when they only speak Mandarin. Even when I took her to a Sunday school near my mother's place, the chinese kids didn't seem to like her altho they spoke some English. It was as if it's something instinctive. They were either rude to her or simply ignored her when she tried to talk to them. But I noticed that she gets along well with kids at the Ikea ballroom. I'm not exactly sure why these happen, but I guess as a mother, I knew that she needed an environment with kids who speak the same language at the same level.

To adults, we know that it's not possible to have the whole world as our friends, but friends are very important and mean everything to a child. It affects his self-esteem and like what you said, it affects the child's personality. So to me, the environment tops the priority.

I was also concerned that my kid might end up having only indian friends bcos as it was, her best friends at my mother's place and her kindy were indians.

Of course it's a 'gamble' then, since I already knew that chinese kids don't take to my kid. But the majority of Singapore is still chinese. She won't be able to run away from the race or the language they speak. I told myself that if it happens that she's ostracised in this school, I'll change school. Even her name is associated with being happy - that speaks of how desperate I am to want her to be happy. haha ...

In my opinion, teachers do not make a huge difference to the kids becos ultimately, it's the parental support that's more important. And I don't think that a branded school's teachers are any better than a neighbourhood school's becos they all come from the same place, NIE. And they are at the schools by the virtue of posting and not becos they make fantastic teachers. I know of a few teachers who couldn't even speak proper English and pronounce 'fry' as 'fly' who got very good grades for teaching.

And the schools are 'good' and produce good results becos of the cohort of children who go there, bcos their parents are hardworking in supporting them academically. That's why sometimes we see 'good schools' congregating at certain areas. Some schools start giving sentences for spelling at P1 while others give single words for spelling at P2 - this is becos the teachers are pitching at the abilities of the children in general, not becos the teachers do not know that knowing how to spell full sentences are better than just knowing single words. Some schools use more difficult textbooks while others use easier ones - this is also becos teachers are catering to the abilities of the children in general, not becos the teachers themselves don't know the content of the more difficult textbooks.

I ramble again. It's just typical of me la, to give an opinion when I have one. Like I have said, different parent want different things for their kids. So you might not agree with me and that's absolutely fine.

hippo,
Your kid doesn't sound like an introvert to me. She complains to her teacher directly. hahahaa ... so cute. I always ask my kid to complain to the teacher directly but she never does. Always end up with me complaining to the teacher and looking like a difficult and over-protective parent.

Rains
I have heard of the sentence "we have many parent volunteers and we don't need any now". We don't have time for volunteering. We are hoping to get a place during 2C balloting since birth rates has been declining since 1997.

Jess
While I agree that proximity is important but I don't like neighbourhood schools.

fz
Where is Princess Elizabeth? Is this all girls' school? I don't think St. Antony is as good as Nanyang & Nan Hua. People have been telling me South View is good, De La Salle not bad. These latter 2 are the better ones amongst neighbourhood schools. But neighbourhood also need balloting, might as well ballot for those really good ones.

caroline3sg,
Yes yes, I'm also hoping that my nephew can get into a school of his mother's choice by the virtue of low birth rate. My elder sister was saying that it's precisely the birth rate is comparatively lower that my sister, my nephew's mother, should be a parent volunteer earlier on becos it's almost certain that they could get a place in the school they like if she was a PV.

Princess Elizabeth and St Anthony are both mixed schools. They are both in Bt Batok. If the opinion of people is anything to go by, South View is a 'good' school in CCK area. I'm not so sure abt De La Salle tho. I heard that the discipline in the school is not very good and the standard has dropped these two years. It's all hear-say only tho so you don't have to take what I say seriously.

haha ... I was talking to my sister and she was saying that it's not that worthwhile to volunteer in a neighbourhood school. Like what you mentioned about 'might as well ballot for those really good ones', she said she might as well volunteer at the really good schools. But it's precisely the chances of getting in the really good ones are also very low when you volunteer that people go for the next best. I got this friend who did parent volunteer work at henry park for more than a year and she didn't get a place during the balloting. It's like providing free labour for the school.

Rains
I agree with you that teachers in good schools may not be necessarily better than those in neighbourhood schools -- I am referring to young teachers who have just graduated from NIE. But we do not know if MOE allocate best teachers to best schools because parents of these schools are rich enough to send their kids to enrichment and thereby higher chance of becoming scholars to enter civil sector. I am not saying I want my children to be scholars but at least get good PSLE results to enter good schools and hence higher chances of getting a good pay.

The level of difficulty (ie spelling word by word versus sentence) differs by school, even by class, though this is just one aspect, there are many more. There are pros & cons. Good in the sense that you are more confident that children from good schools tend to get better PSLE results due to exposure to difficult questions. I am not referring to those just one or 2 top children from neighbourhood schools where the Principal boast about. Cons in the sense that heavy workload.

caroline3sg,
MOE will definitely interview and allocate teachers they think are good to students in GEP. Other than that, I think they don't practise really explicit discrimination in allocation of teachers. If not, all the teachers with masters or first class honours would be teaching at the few top schools already.

Wah, you very brave. You're not scared that people might accuse you of being 'elitist' ('I don't like neighbourhood schools').

Rains
Free labour at Henry Park? Isn't volunteering free labour for all schools?

I have one crazy idea. Education system never get changed for many decades. To save on parents' worry & headache, Why don't MOE expand good schools'area and reduce the not so good ones since teachers can be deloyed according to demand.

There are a lot of things to be changed but the speed is tremendously slow. I am referring to the class size. 30 is still big. Start timing also need to be later.

Rains
It is a fact that good schools' worksheets & exam questions are more difficult than neighbourhood schools.

It is also a fact that teaching methods are different.

All mummies out there who want good schools:
Be prepared to actively engaged in your child's school work. Parents are half teachers as well. Recently I realised school touch & go. I also get confirmation from ex-school teacher that it is so, that's why she quitted and join enrichment centre.

caroline3sg,
It's free labour becos she didn't get a place back in exchange for her volunteer work. It won't be 'that' free if she got a place for her child.
To parents, education system seems constant. But I believe that teachers will tell you that education system is always changing, and changing at an incredible rate. I don't think it's possible to 'expand good school areas' and reduce the not so good ones bcos you need to have schools in every area for accessibility reasons. Maybe I got you wrong or didn't understand correctly. And schools don't become good or not good over time. It's the children that makes up the schools most of the time.

True. 30 students for a class size is actually still big. But you go anything lower than that and teachers will need to take a pay cut bcos since they could handle 40 previously, the ministry would expect that 30 is a luxury for them. Timing cannot be changed for logistics reasons. Some parents work and they need to send children to school early so that they can arrive at work on time. Given that schools start at 8am, parents would still send their kids at 7am or even 6.30am bcos they themselves need to work.

Rains
Education system has many aspects. Contents wise, yes, changing. In the past, teachers can handle 40 pupils because contents was easy. In P1 now, teachers don't teach present tense, past tense. Teachers also don't care you understand or not, just pass on information. Last time, we start to speak English in P1.

Regarding expanding good schools' area & reducing not so good ones, I mean, instead of every school can take in 400 pupils, maybe good schools take in 600. Schools change location as well. So when they shift / build new buildings, can take this into consideration.

For those not so good ones, either remain space for 400 pupils or have rooms for 300 pupils.

If ministers are now having very high pay can get pay increase,(everyone have same basic needs, once basic needs are met, the rest are savings money) why can't teachers? Why cannot recruit more teachers? I believe a lot of people now go into teaching & nursing. Government always say youngsters are the next generation to run S'pore, why aren't they spending more money on education?

Have you heard of CHIJ at Bukit Timah? The principal change start timing. Some new neighbourhood schools also start later. For the majority, they have old mind set. They refuse to change to today's requirements. I have asked MOE regarding start timing and the reason is transport operators need to fetch factory workers. The CHIJ Bukit Timah case has led to transport operators not happy because they have pay cut. Ultimately they think of own pocket and not the children's well being. How many factories do we have now? What time they start? If children start school at 8am, still enough time for adults to report work at 8.30am (very few start so early). The real issue here is transport operators have pay cut.

<font color="ff0000">Ladies,</font>
let's talk abt something more relax.... hahaha....

i hv not shown u the lunchbox which i prepare for my DD on every Wed co my DD has been having the same stuff so i did not post BUT.. today i made for her sushi which she is very happy abt it!!! Plus she is using the new lunchbox which my DH had bought for her!! i think she has more than 10 lunchboxes now!!!

my lunchbox for my DD today! i dont feel very satisfy or tempting for the sushi i had made today! but i will try again.. this is the 1st time i make sushi!!! hahaa..
775454.jpg

caroline3sg,
Sometimes I worry that Singapore might one day become something like Philippines where everybody is a graduate - ten years down the road, when you throw a stone out onto the street, you might just hit a teacher or an ex-teacher becos the recruitment and turnover rate is so high.

Like what you've said, education system has many aspects. Content wise, there're comparatively few changes. At most they shift the content for this level to another level, or take out one or two stuff and repack 3 or 4 stuff in. I don't think content has much to do with the class size becos most teachers are still handling 40 per class, esp P4 and above. The contents are heavier compared to the lower primary. I'm not in a position to question your opinion of course. You're probably just voicing out what you've witnessed or experienced. I just thought that there are many things that are not within the teachers' control. The approach that MOE adopts for the education system today is a different approach from the time you were in P1. Last time, our teachers taught us present and past tense very explicitly bcos the syllabus dictated that they should. I believe kids are still taught present and past tenses but probably using a more implicit approach. It's not that teachers don't care whether the kids understand or not, but the teachers themselves don't even have time to complete the syllabus if they kept reinforcing or reteaching parts kids don't understand. And teaching is no longer the major scope of teachers - this is another change in the education system.

Oh now I understand what you meant by expanding school area. But I forsee that good schools will never have enough space bcos the demand for their places will always exceed supply. I think they also won't want too many students. When you have too many, quality will drop - I am talking about the children.

Aiyo, I don't dare to say anything about the ministers' pay. (tremble tremble) They will tell you they already spent alot of money on education and teachers' pay are already very high.

I think we can only have a change of start timing when all schools across the island are single-session. If not, parents who are teachers in double-session schools will be affected as well, if their kids are not in the same school.

oooo ... VQ, share share how you make sushi lunchbox, please?!! Are the bear and rabbit sushi still in their containers? And the sausage, hahahaa ... like sotong. How did you do it? Is there any sauce to go with the sushi or sausage?

rains

hehe, she is an introvert but I guess personality can be mould ? what I have been telling her probably get absorbed, that she can make new friends everywhere and anywhere. Do not cling to one friend when you have more than 20 classmates in a class.
and I always tell her to be assertive, don't get bullied in class & just drop tears silently. Kick up a fuss so that teacher takes note & that bully will stay away from you in future. I also write in her communication book to complain to teacher. haha, this mommy very bad hor

no choice. my childhood was quite dramatic, got many big bullies in my school, always ended up in bruises, and teachers don't really interfer, in fact they were also bullying us, I got pinched so many times if teachers happened to be in a bad mood that day. sob sob.
so must teach my kids to protect themselves. but that was 30 years ago lah, teachers nowsaday not so daring anymore

hippo2002,
i don't think personality can be moulded one.

being an introvent just have to rely on finding friends who can click along rather than just be friends with anyone.

do not cling onto any friends will be better. be independent.

re: Parent volunteer

I only consider volunteer work for school within 1 km. really waste of effort if ended up in balloting & kanna ballot out !
at least within 1 km, will have priority even if ballot, unless all parent volunteers are within 1 km lah

regardless of birth rate, good schools are forever in demand

neighbour schools also ballot nowsaday leh. the advantage is the convenience, less travelling time
unless there is another top school nearby. then again, if it's more than 2 km away, may ended up as 'free labour' afterall

it's all about calculated risk.

re: phrase 2C balloting

the way I see it, there is an opportunity cost in balloting
we can only register for one school on enrolment day. if ballot & can't get into 1st choice school, while 2nd & 3rd choice schools are all fully taken up on the same day, then really stuck with limited choices, can only enrol in those 'left over' ones leh

my hubby's friend bought a condo in Bishan next to a school but because of balloting, his son didn't get a vacancy. The other nearby schools were also taken up. He ended up in a 'left over' primary school >3 km away, really frustrating leh

hippo2002

how can we find out about our chances in the balloting way before the actual phase 2C process? i am going for phase 2C only and also worry later end up take the left over schools.

I can imagine the frustration of parents who put in so much effort and yet can't get their kids into choice school. I guess alot depends on luck...e.g. someone I knew bought a condo near a popular school and is required to ballot.

The balloting was done such that each parent will draw a slip of paper containing name of child and this child will gain a place. It seems this mother I knew was the last to draw and lo and behold she drew her own son's name. Imagine she says it feels better than striking 4D.

VQ, last month I tried to make tuna sushi for my boy. I took a pic but too bad not enough lighting so can't see clearly. Problem is by recess time, the items in the lunch box were tossed around that the tuna even got onto some gummies. My boy ate everything anyway so I have yet to think of a good way to secure the items.

What did you mix inside the sushi? I saw packets of sushi mix being sold but dare not buy coz dunno how to mix (instructions in japanese) plus dunno nice or not. Did you try yours...how the taste ah?

fz
you can track this year statistic during registration period. when is your son registering for P1?

I tracked the previous year enrollment statistic on the few nearby schools I am interested in
data is only available during registration period

statistic on the web site now is the final phrase, doesn't reflect the ballot details before phrase 2C

Rains
Thank you for listening to my grievances. Yes, I am dissatisfied with current education system.

Hippo
Ya, if didn't get into choice school, will be stuck with left overs.

caroline3sg,
Perhaps the ones who are most dissatisfied with the education system are the teachers themselves.

I would like to thank you too for making exchanges with me over here. I've learnt something new from you eg. the transport operators. I didn't think that it could impact them. Interesting. And I didn't know that there're schools who are so radical as to change the start time.

hippo,
O yes, I remember my P5 teacher slapping my classmates' faces repeatedly as he marked their books,"Why did you write this?!!" and my friend said,"Ouch! Ouch! Ouch!" as he slapped her. Fortunately, 3 other girls and I were of smaller build and he pinched our faces instead of slapped. When I was in sec one, I had this history teacher who conveniently used the words "cowdung" and "idiot" on us when our answers were not correct. Imagine how silly the report on a teacher scolding a student stupid was. "Stupid" sounds better than "cowdung" or "idiot" I thought.

<font color="ff0000">Rains/Wen,</font>
the black dots on the sushi r those packets rice mixed u can get fm the supermart.. i got mine fm IMM DAISO! <font color="ff0000">Dorothy</font> used this too!

of cos i tried before giving my DD.. hahaha... very nice.. make the rice taste nice even without any fillings... my DD prefer to dip the sushi with her favourite mayo plus tomatoes sauce! hahaa...

the rabbit n bear sushi r made fm the sushi mould i got fm IMM DAISO lor! u all forget liao ah? i use the same mould to make sandwiches! remember?

as for the sauages, u cut them up lor.. very easy.. try it!

hippo2002,
track the stats...do you mean they will post the stats at the moe board after each ballot? or have to search under yahoo? my boy is registering next yr. i am worried about being left with the left overs, so is considering whether to just try the not so popular (but not bad also) schools cos chances are that parents are looking at the popular ones.

but even if you know the enrollment statistic on the few nearby schools, if you don't know the amt of applicants in each phase, how to compare?