MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

Hi Queenaire,

Sad to hear that your son has such thoughts .... is he under a lot of stress ? You might want to bring him to a counsellor who can give professional advice ?

Queenaire,

I understand that some psychiatrists (private practice) offers such services but they can be pretty expensive. Alternatively, you might want to try IMH http://www.imh.com.sg/clinical_specialties/cap.htm

As mentioned on their website, most of the kids do not suffer from mental illness. Think they should be cheaper than the psychiatrists practicing privately.

Hope this helps. All the best !!

Keyt,
My son came back wif a memo from school...from the principal about not putting undue pressure on the kids.

Queenaire,
If your son is feeling such stress, you can bring him to the polyclinic to see a doctor for a referral to see a psychologist or psychiatrist at Alexandra Hospital.

I have depression, but it's under control. However, come exam period, I am stressed and have problems sleeping.

Hi Queenaire,

Every school should have a school counsellor so that students and parents can seek help. Do ask your son's teacher about it and let the teacher know about your son's situation.

keyt,

Your girl is so funny. Wants you to go oral with her. My girl is also a chatterbox and gets worried over oral, but not so uptight compared to yours. I think it's common for them to be worried over oral becos it's one-to-one with the teacher and you don't get to prepare very much beforehand. I used to worry over oral too especially the picture-conversation part bcos I was scared that I couldn't understand what the picture was trying to say. I'm a slowpoke. It takes some time for me to realise what's going on. Even my girl can interpret what advertisements and tv dramas are trying to say when they're not explicit.

Rains,
You're still up at 3am ??

My son loves to talk, but I worry about his oral exams too, bcos it's testing his communication skills. Anyway, I'm glad it's over and after 2day's CL compo, we can focus on Paper II.

My boy has his Listening Compre and Oral this week. Today he is having CL oral. Next Wed, the written exam papers will start and he has paper 1 and 2 on the same day for languages. So the entire exam duration is quite short compared to some other schools.

He has often been getting 91 or 92 for all his subjects, so yesterday I throw him a challenge - if he manages to get more than that for any subject, I will give him a good reward and he seems motivated by it. At least he told me that he will not play soccer during recess and try not to sweat too much during PE so that he will look neater during the oral exam - that is a big change in attitude to me because soccer and PE are his favourites!

glad!! My girl has finished all the P1. Next Tue will start with P2 till Fri. Today then realised that her grammar is weak especially the present continuous tense. She can't differentiate when to use it and when to use present tense. Plan to spend time with her in this area.
My boy is going to nuh again tomo. Hopefully can remove the cast tomo.

JessChan,
Wa, you're very greedy mum lei. If my girl can get above 90 this year, I will sure hug and kiss her for hours!!! Ha.........

keyt,
No lah, it is just that sometimes he can get complacent and lazy. And when he doesn't do well, he will find a lot of excuses. So once in a while I have to remind him he does well because he works hard, not because of luck.  

As the Chinese saying goes "学如逆水行舟,不进则退". I know it is not easy to maintain above 90 marks all the time but I hope he can sustain in for as long as he can.

hi hi mummies,

Just want to share something interesting with you: a colleague whose daughter is in gifted programme said that the best class in her girl's school is not the gifted class. The children in the best class were not recruited for gifted. Very interesting hor?

Janet,

I slept at 8.30pm the day before, and got up at 2am. After that, I couldn't get to sleep. Becos of the H1N1, we're asked to reach our workplace at 6.45am, and we don't get to go home early, so have been feeling very tired. Usually after my kid boarded her school bus at 5.35am, I get to sleep for another 30 to 45 mins before getting ready for work. But this week, I can't go back to sleep after prepping my kid. Twice this week, I dozed off doing my work halfway at night.

Jess,

Your son is quite mature. He actually knows that it could do him good if he looks neat during oral. Like when adults go for job interview, we also dress up nicely for it.

Oh dear, I've been telling my kid if she doesn't get more than 95 marks, I'll beat her for every mark she loses. On the inside, I'm not expecting her to get 95 marks actually. I'm just trying to set a target for her so that she doesn't fall too far below the mark. I never even say anything about rewarding her if she gets a certain mark. I only remember her performing well when I beat her. Lousy mother!

I'll tell her I'll give her a reward if she does well then. She already said,"You always want to beat me."

But I think I'll still cane her for careless mistakes.

My gal just finished her Science paper today. Very worried. She said they have 2 papers - one is MCQ and the other is Short Answers. And it's 1h 45 mins. I find it quite strange. Usually Science paper is only 1h. I'm even more worried when she said she finished them within 1h.

WA!!!! rains, you're very cruel lei. All of your expectations are so high. So my girl is the most "sin-lang". I hope she can get band 1 only, even just band 1 like 85 marks also happy liao. I even give different rewards based on band 1 and band 2. No beating for any results, just expect scolding. If no careless mistake got additional reward of ice-cream treat.
Sigh..... maybe my method is not good, thats why my girl is not doing so well like yours.
Very bad, my boy has not recovered. Need the cast for another 3 more weeks and then due for another review in late May. Feel very disappointed about it.
Actually, those whom I know in gifted programs are not the top 3 positions in class and last year my friend's son went into gifted class is not even from the best class. For gifted tests, they are looking especially in Maths, IQ Maths questions and not too much in English too. However, in school streaming, they take all subjects into consideration, so those who are good in Maths and so good in other subjects will not get into the best class in school. However, they can get through gifted program as the weighting in Maths paper is very high.

sorry, I mean for those who are good in Maths and not so good in other subjects will not get into the best class in school. However, they can get through gifted program as the weighting for Maths paper is very high.

hi keyt,

From what I know, it's nice to be in gifted programme bcos the class size is really small. So teachers can devote more attention to the individuals. And once you get in, it's almost like your future is set.

I think in life, many a times, we need to be cruel to be nice. They are only kids. If we don't push them, who will? I don't think I've high expectations. I am just trying to make her aim high. I don't want her to follow my footsteps. Since young, my parents made us feel that a university education is something beyond us and never talked to us about it. And very often, my mother put us down by saying that it's no use for us to study as we're not 'studying materials'. It was ingrained in us that studying is something really difficult and beyond our ability, and has a lot to do with luck. And becos I got a zero for Spelling the first time I took it (as I forgot to learn it), my family taunted and teased me for a lifetime, and used that to measure my intelligence, or lack of it.

My parents never talked to us about what we can do when we're adults. They never told us the importance of money either. It made us think that money will automatically come when you are an adult. It sounds incredible but when you're not taught about something, you really wouldn't know it. Even when I became an adult, subconsciously, I still had the same belief that somehow, money will come my way no matter what job I hold.

I didn't think that I could have a degree to my name until I was very old.

Since young, I wasn't very loved and didn't know what it meant if a person loves me. So I had a lousy bf who treated me really badly most of the time, but once in a blue moon good to me. I thought that was love, bcos he was nice to me anyhow. My friends told me he was bad to me, but to me, he was already very nice to me becos there were times when he was nice to me. I thought it's becos they only saw the bad side of him.

It's all very scary when I think about all these. I just know that I don't want my daughter to suffer the same way I did, or to have the same warped values that ruined my life, and make the wrong decisions all the time.

I want her to be the exact opposite of me. Outspoken, confident, makes right decisions most of the time, believes that everything is possible, and does well in her studies and knows that you need to have good qualifications to earn the right amount of money for a living.

So sorry to type such a long post. I got carried away sharing about my thoughts.

To All Mommies,
HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY!!!
No matter what we do, no matter what methods we use, ultimately all of us are having the same objective : to nurture our children.
We are all loving mommies........

eh Mummies,

You got scared by my sharing is it? Or find me very weird is it?

I think my parents did want us to do well in life, just that they motivated us in the wrong manner. By putting us down constantly, they hoped that we could strive to prove them wrong. By saying that we're stupid, they hoped that we could show that we were clever by doing well in our studies. By telling us that we couldn't make it, they hoped that we could excel. By comparing us against one another, they hoped that we would be motivated to outdo one another in our studies. But I guess these methods didn't work out. We become very mediocre, and were full of strifes among ourselves. We valued friends above siblings.

It's only when we reached adulthood that we realised that siblings shouldn't be competing against one another and hope that each other do badly. It's abit late, but I suppose it's better late than never.

Don't be scared la. I'm really normal. Just that how I was brought up affect what I want my own kids to be or have.

Rains,

I suppose it is rather common that parents want the children to enjoy or do things that they themselves didn't get to do so when young. Different children also respond to different types of motivation/punishment.

Like you, I also agree that sometimes we need to be cruel to be nice. Many children are playful by nature and most children will rather do anything than study. In current days, if we don't ensure that they study, even the smart ones will not be able to do well academically by the time they are in upper primary levels.

BTW, the current Chinese drama serial on Channel 8 at 9pm reflects is a rather good show for parents to watch and do self-reflection.

Tomo my girl last paper. Ha so happy!!
The Chinese drama on Channel 8 at 9pm is not really suitable for children lei. I have mio tv at home and my mum has finished the whole show. She told me the fat lazy boy left home to escape fr his work and the secondary girl who separated from her father attempted suicide. Another boy faked her mother's signature on the exam paper.

Hi Rains,
Do take care or else you're going to fall sick from lack of rest. It's stressful esp this week.
I told my son I want Band 1 for his subjects esp Maths, Chinese and Eng. Or else his SA2 results will be pulled down.

Hi Keyt,
Kids now are intelligent and will pass their exams, but that grade is insufficient if there is no push on our side. Bcos subjects will get harder as they move up.

My son's last paper is on Monday...Science. Hubby & I not so stressed bcos there is a 2 day break b4 the last paper. Hubby heard from another mummy after picking up son from school, that she also likes this interval instead of having back-to-back exams. Students are dismissed 1 hr earlier fm school to let them rest and prepare for next paper.

Keyt,
I usually watch TV programmes with my kids, esp those Chinese drama and movies, if they do watch, because I think sometimes parental guidance is required. But they seldom watch Chinese drama because I told them it is too time consuming - if they spent two hrs after dinner to watch TV, the night is gone because they sleep at 9.30pm. So they will rather play than watch TV.

My son's last paper is also on Monday - Science as well. Today's paper is Maths. He has already finished revising his Science, so this weekend will be less stressful.

My girl in P1 now. Lots to learn from experienced mommies here

By the way, you ever enrolled your kids in <font color="119911">inline skating</font> course?
Which instructor is good? Please recommend. Thanks!

keyt...totally agree...so happy SA1 over...can relax abit before the results are out ;p

yawn, last year my son joined a short inline skating holiday course organised by his student care but i dunno who's the instructer. think there are such courses held at cc so maybe you want to check out.

This thread has been pretty quiet for a while. What have you mummies been up to during the holidays ? I've been trying to make DS go through his work as his grades have dropped but having negative results most of the time *bang head!!*

Yeah, this thread is usually very quiet after exams end and during the school hols......

My boy's results are ok, still managed to get Band 1 for all subjects. Will focus more on creative writing and oral for both languages during this school holidays.

Except mt, my girl's results are ok too. Got above 90% for maths and science and band 1 for english too. But mt got band 2 only. She got her rewards that she wants lo.

Signed up 3 cooking/baking workshops for my children as they enjoy baking. As usual, didn't plan to focus any revision during school holidays. Normally, I let them recharge during school holidays.

Mine had band 3 for MT...but I didn't scold him coz I half blame teacher and half blame myself. Took awhile for me to get over though ;p Anyway starting this holiday, I'm reading MT books/textbooks with him every night, bought MT vcds for him to watch. Hope that'll help some.

Rest of the subjects are within expectations but bcoz of his MT, he only got "2nd prize" from me...some transformer toy he wanted.

His student care planning some excursions so i didn't sign up other holiday programs. We'll probably spend a weekend at one of the hotels in Sentosa...it's a yearly thingy ;p

EHYmum,

Very sorry to interrupt.

You don't accept PM. Would like to check with you on something regarding your child. Would appreciate it if you can PM me. Thanks so much!

Thought this thread is close to dying.

My kid's Eng, Maths and Science are in the 80s range but Chinese in the 70s. None exceeded 90. I made her revise her Chinese characters for Textbook 3A as she doesn't know how to write many characters.

I don't know why but she seems to have the mentality that she just needs to learn a particular item for that particular time frame, so she doesn't retain.

I told her that she won't be able to get into her choice sec school if she continues to be like this, but I think also no use.

She's gone back to Malaysia with my parents for quite a few days now so I got a few days to myself.

Hi moms,
How are all of you? My girl's teacher a little too "hardworking". Giving them many on-line assignments to do. Besides that, still need to do book reviews for eng and mt. Sigh...... This is considered as school holidays!!!????
My children have attended one of the cooking lessons. Aiyo, the whole kitchen is full of children. They didn't have chance to try every steps, just took turn to do certain procedures like flouring and cutting bread only. But, my children still came out happily and said they enjoyed it. Ha.......

Hi Keyt,

We should be happy that they have assignments
I also received a mail from the form teacher yesterday abt the assignments to be completed and am very happy abt them else DS will be like a monkey in the house the whole day.

As for activities, we did not do anything much ..... just the normal things.

Next Friday will be my official last day at work !! Mixed feelings now ..... cos I've been working from home for past few weeks but DS doesn't seem to like it ..... kept complaining that I'm too strict, too fierce
makes me feel like a lousy mother clipart{uhoh)

H, I have some G Stilton, Zac Power books that are read only once by my boy. Anyone here wish to exchange? We can than get fresh titles to read. Recently, he just finished the latest Mr Mystery book, The Mystery of the Unlucky Undertaker. Pls email me at [email protected] to exchange books.

Our G. Stilton titles are ; 35 a merry christmas, 32 valley of the giant skeletons, 25 the search for sunken treasure, 23 valentine's day disaster, 2 the curse of the cheese pyramid, &amp; book 34, 31, 26, 22, 18, 11.

biyan, last year i exchanged with my colleagues' kids. as a result, my boy read almost all the G Stilton titles except no. 4.

ehymum, dun think that way...you're a great mom. you've made a big sacrifice...i'm sure your boy appreciates. do some fun things together if he starts complaining again lo.

brought my boy cycling together with his good friend's family last weekend. the boys also did volcano experiment using a kit i bought. likely to bring him to a movie before school reopens.

recently made my boy do one MT compo over few days. realised his ability to put a proper sentence together is very poor. trying to teach him simple technics to improve. actually i myself have to think hard trying to come up with a proper MT sentence ;p

Check with you whether your children take any vitamins daily? Mine are taking brands vit c daily. Any other recommendations?

i didn't get any vitamins for my boy. he just wants to eat an apple every day...i figured that should be good enough ;p

any recommendations for creative writing classes?

After consideration, I intend to stop my dd1's English enrichment. Initially wanted to continue because I've not found a replacement English enrichment for her. But after speaking to teacher, she commented my dd space out in class because the pace was too slow for her, so I guess no point lor, waste my money, especially I've not seen substantial improvement in her creative writing after almost 2 years in the programme. I think I should focus on searching for a creative writing enrichment

thanks in advance

Hi yawn yawn,
I am also searching for creative writing class for my P3 girl. Presently, she's with Joanna Choo Language Centre at Clementi. But,find their teaching method is quite strange. Every lesson, the teacher will just go through some phrases, then project a model compo for the students to copy. That's all. My girl has been attending for almost a year but has not written any compo during the lesson yet. The teacher just asks them to read or type out the model compo again at home. Moreover, their classes are super big in size. They mention that the bigger the better for creative writing classes!! However, many people have good commends on the centre. That's also why I send my girl there. Ha......

Hi yawn yawn,

You might want to try British Council. My DS enjoys it and we find that his compo has improved ..... they teach English in a fun way.... but hor, if you do not see the results that you want, don't blame me hor ...... could be my expectations are lower

Long time no post ....... care to share how your kids have been spending this holiday ?? For me, I've actually wanted to start preparing DS for SA2 but in the end, this lazy mummy decided to give herself and DS a break - only my mum is as on as ever ..... keep revising his Chinese with him. What a lazy mother I am

Hi hi, my boy spent this week long holiday attending full day student care coz I can't take leave to bring him out due to busy work schedule.

I've been feeling stressed over his deteriorating Chinese. He failed his CA2 test...I'm almost at wit's end how to help him.

He's already attending Berries and recently started MT Speech &amp; Drama at another place. I've tried Chinese comic books, Chinese assessment books, Chinese VCDs...dunno what else to do.

I've even considered one-to-one Chinese tuition instead of Berries but have no idea of a good teacher. I'm also afraid it might be boring for him...

Didn't do much with kids during this holiday. Just spent half day at Science centre and another at Qian Hu Farm. When I was working in the mornings, my 2 kids were playing and watching pokemon at home. They are pokemon fans. Ha..... School work? Nope at all, my girl just did 3 worksheets fr school. She did 1 each day.

Wen,
Think speech &amp; drama is not so helpful at this age. Try 1-1 tuition. Your boy may not follow the class in Berries anymore. My friend whose child in Berries told me that the pace is very fast, they are always far ahead of school. And her daughter also didn't benefit from Berries becoz of their speed in teaching.

Thanks Keyt. You got it right...my boy's MT fundamental is not strong and he's already struggling with the pace of school syllabus.

Berries teaches ahead of school so I don't see him benefitting from it anymore. I plan to let him stop after this year.

Tuition to keep pace with school is more practical. Problem is I don't have links to any good teacher and would hate to 'trial &amp; error'. Anyway I'll keep looking.

I send him to MT speech &amp; drama just to let him have fun in a chinese environment. He enjoys attending the class as they get to play games, tongue twisters etc.

I guess all of you must be stressed, now that SA2 is round the corner. My son just had his EL/CL compo...after the 1 week at home, it will be the 4 'main' papers.

His teacher gave him 3 past year exam paper to be done during tis 1 week...I'll use them as revision. It's going to be a tough week ahead.

Wen,
My boy started having CL group tuition when he was in K2. Then a friend advised me to send him for individual tuition bcos his group tuition was just once a wk and his school uses Higher Chinese. Now the focus is on CL compo.

Hi Janet, I guess most are preoccupied with SA2 hehe. My boy will have his English coming Wednesday followed by Science then Maths. His last paper MT is on 2/Nov.

Now I'm getting him to practise more MT cloze passage which is his weak section...hope it helps.

Where did you find the individual MT tuition for your boy? I've not decided where to send mine next year after stopping berries. Most probably let him take a break from MT classes first.

Hi Wen,
We mothers are all sitting for SA2 exam. HaHaHa.
My son's Eng paper 2 on Thur, Maths Fri, followed by Chinese 2/11 and Science on 3/11.

BTW what is MT ? Is it mother tongue ? My son's weak area for Chinese is his comprehension. He used to dislike 作文 but it's much better now.

He has been getting individual tuition for Chinese since P1. A friend of mine recommended tutor bcos his Chinese is weak and once a week group tuition doesn't help. With individual tuition, Chinese has improved.

Wen,
My son's Paper 2 starts 2moro with Eng and Maths (Fri), Chinese (Mon) and finally Science on Tue !!! I just cannot imagine my son will be in P4 next year.

Next year gotta register younger one for P1.
Come 2011, both in different sessions
, which has pros and cons lah. 100% attention for each kid but whole day busy with them as compared to now when I have morns all to myself.

Janet

How do you coach your kids when both at home in the afternoon? They can do homework alongside? Mine keep distracting each other

Yawn Yawn,
I usually coach my kids in my son's room. My son can do his work at the table while I coach the younger one. They cannot sit beside each other or my younger one will distract.