MMI @ katong shopping centre

hi jamie,
oh then i better rest properly. Doctor kept saying brown discharge is ok. He said i don't need to stitch cervix yet as still close now. Thanks for sharing your experience, make me less worried. I was wondering why 2nd pregnancy so tough, normally people say only 1st one is hard and subsequent is easy. This is not true in our case.

smallbell
every pregnancy is different. i guess normally people refer to "giving birth" is easier since its the 2nd time. just rest well & dont worry too much

hi smallbell,
u r welcome.
Ur mum is surprised yesterday when she saw me carrying SiZhen

Zhaohui is still not well so hubby decided to leave him at home cos he slept so soundly this morning that he "bu shen de " wake him up... hehe But today he will be home with e maid with SiZhen n I'm back working...

hi elaine,
hahaha, think she didn't know you have 2 kids. Let Zhaohui rest at home, then can fully recover. Does he still need to take medication?

Hello Mummies, I was also interested to enrol my son who is turning 4 this year in MMI Katong and was reading through your posts. I was actually doing my research on the childcares and enrichment centres in the East so It was very informative to hear views on MMI Katong. By the way, just sharing with you ladies, i saw a new enrichment centre located around Siglap/ Frankel area running FasTrack programs. I went into the web and realised that they also conduct music lessons which was a program of Kindermusik as well and Pat Schoolhouse also runs these programs. I will be calling the centre to check on more details. Will share when i have gotten the information. cheers!

Hi Shinebride,
welcome to the thread. Thanks for sharing the info of the new enrichment centre. Now lots of enrichment centre coming up. Where do you stay?

There is a new childcare at Katong, next to Roxy square, it is the brain house, they do mind mapping for the kids. This mind mapping school has got an original branch in Toa Payoh, very popular enrichment center. But the fees for the childcare is ex.

smallbell
u mean mindchamp? my hubby did enquire before in their toa payoh branch. their fees is very ex! still need to go thru some tests to see if our child is suitable. i rather choose not to stress our little ones at such young age

shinebride
tks for sharing the info

hi Shinebride,
welcome here
Actually East side especially East coast area have lots n lots of enrichment centre n CC..... last time i also see until BLUR... hahahaaa dont know which to choose, which is good.... hopefully we can help u in answering some queries that u have

I'm new here, was introduced by Small Bell to join this chat. Am pleased to know of this group here, coz' I always don't get to see any parent/s who's child is in the same class as mine. Ahem... 10 mins grace - must charbok as fast as possible. Heehee! Therefore no time to chat.
I'm a SAHM and my girl, Aricia is in N1, Tr Ferlin/Tr Maz class.

Quick gizz: I think good preschool is equally important. I sent my older girl (now in P1) to a church Childcare and OMG! the standard is .. thank goodness I do teach my children at home, my girl is able to cope with P1. I heard the other kids in her Childcare couldn't cope with P1 coz' not prepared. That's why I insist on MMI this time round for Aricia, Baby Bonus will get wiped out real soon.
I do agree that the teachers speak well.
MindChamp Preschool is very ex. They are franchisees, not sure what they do there. One of Aricia's Shichida classmate just joined in (parents super rich siah!)and so far mummy is pleased coz' only 3 students in his class and get individual attention. Haha!

Based on experience too, kids at younger age get sick easily. What more the school is air-conditioned. Gradually they get sick lesser as each year pass. However it can be very sim-tia when you feel the $$ pinch.

Aricia, recently, has been even more tantrumny. I hope it's not due to the fact that her beloved Tr Ferlin and Tr Rin is not there. She keeps calling out their names at home.

Elaine : I think you're the one I see every morning. Hi!
Small Bell : Congratulations!

hi jamie,
yes, that's the mindchamps. But this one at eastgate is a childcare centre. My neighbour wanted to send his grandson to MMI katong, then with the opening of this mindchamps, decide to send him there. Next time i ask him if the school is good.

hi lily,
welcome here and thanks. I thought church childcare would be quite good, as in they teach prayers and courtesy. Aricia is in shichida now? Patrick attended for 2 years before i gave up and continue with home practice.

Elaine and Jamie, i was in the same secondary school as Lily. What a coincidence that years later, our kids also at the same school.
I think zhaohui, chloe and aricia should be same class then.

lily
kao_welcome.gif

my girl chloe & elaine's son zhaohui are in the same class as aricia. is aricia on half or full day?

yeah i agree due to the school is air con, our kids are even more prone to get sick. my hubby & myself are still trying to accept the fact that chloe just hv to go thru this transition period since she just started school not long.

hey my hubby also share the same sentiments, mindchamp is more for the super rich lah
consider the amt $$ u pay, sure give individual attention mah

Eastgate - that's the one the boy went to. According to my friend, she preferred this place coz the other one is 3 storeys and no parking lots to drop the kids.

I think anyone would agree with me that school reputation can be one thing, the teachers makes another point to note. For eg. when she started out, the school is good. Then subsequently alot of good teachers left. They are not happy in there,turnover rate is high. And can you imagine, I was hesitant in pulling her out when my older girl dreads going to school, she said it's boring coz' it's not teaching her much. It's not that I geh-kiang and teach her things beyond her level. I also follow accordingly to P1 syllabus. So it prove to me that her teacher was not teaching accordingly but more like K1 work. No wonder her classmates all cannot cope in P1! Worst still, in the communication book she wrote a note to us - past tense, present tense all inside. Grammatical errors!
When she was about to graduate, even Aunties can come to teach!!!
Church based, yes they do pray which I think MMI also do right? Courtesy?? Yes and no, I think every school will teach that. I guess my main concern about sending kids to a school is to educate academically, life values can be taught in school but parents have to teach their own children.
Therefore I'm pleased when I heard how the teachers speak. Even Teacher Amy don't have that malay accent. I hope it continues this way until she graduates.

My older girl fell sick very often, pull her out from CC alot of times. Then her school fees is also cheap, don't feel the pinch. Hee!
. Then it got lesser and lesser each year. It was a non- aircon environment but I suspect being in full day CC plays a part. Also, there were many socially irresponsible parents who bring their children to school even when they have mucus dripping from their noses.

Air-conditioned - the air gets to circulate in the room. Anyway, falling sick is part and parcel.From there, they'll build up immunity.

Jamie : Aricia, she's in half day. It probably gives her less exposure or maybe I managed to breastfeed her a little longer.?? 4 months. Haha! So she don't fall sick that often like her sister.

Small Bell : She's been in Shichida since 7 months old
You all on FB as well?

hi lily,
oh no, the church kindergarten seems quite terrible. Ahhh, i know what you mean, at NTUC childcare, also the aunties who does cooking will teach awhile when the main teacher is busy. This shows how lack of staff they have.

MMI is quite efficient in teaching values and courtesy. They have a naughty corner for punishment.

You are still breastfeeding? that's good. Do you do home practice daily for Shichida? you see any results in her yet?

When my boy reached the 2 year old class, they started having test, linking memory of 40-50 cards. I thought that was crazy, so stressful. Then he just run away whenever i do linking memory.

hi lily,
welcome here
Ya i know who u r... n we met each other most of e time when we send our child there n Zhaohui n Chloe are in the same class as Alicia

I thought Church kindergarten r gOOd too... do u mind to share with me which church kindergarten did ur elder girl attend perviously? BTW which pri sch is ur girl now??

Hi Patricia,
Oh I didn't know about the naughty corner. Where? I think I'll see my girl in there more often. Heehee..
No more breastfeeding, was very sad that I had to stop. That one vy long story unless u want to hear.
Yes, been doing daily practice for her. She's improving alot. Last time used to walk to the back of class for a few months n play 'mahjong' with the LM cards & any activities. Many months back, she surprised me with the 10 cards instead of the 6. Now vy good girl in class. Think you're talking about the 3yr-old class right? She's doing the Brain Olympics now - 40 cards in 3 mins.Now, she recites the cards to me instead of putting cards. So I was vy surprised when she could place all first 20 cards in class that day.

Hi Elaine,

Now I know how to address you instead of nodding head all the time. Hee!
I better pm you on that CC name.(not nice to wash dirty linen in public) My girl is in CHIJ(Katong).

hi Lily,
ok u PM me...

my Zhaohui is sick sick n sick.... cough and cries e whole nite.... keep saying dont want dont want i dont want... hubby n I didnt really sleep last nite... e only person who slept very well is SiZhen.... she is really not affected by her brother, or maybe she is used to it liao... so she dont care :p
Later need to bring him see PD again.... but in e afternoon la cos i really need to come back work for at least half a day...

hi lily,
i am not sure where is the naughty corner in school but heard teacher mention and my boy also there frequently. When he comes home, he also thought punishment must stand naughty corner so we put 2 different corners at home to punish him.

wow, that is very good results from LM. Keep up the good work. I still use the 5 minute suggestion very often, it really works. How do you find time to make the home practice flashcards? Your older gal still in Shichida?

Does Katong Convent primary still has the different colour team? red, blue, yellow, green i think. Last year i saw Mrs Ooi at a supermarket, she aged alot but dressing still the same lah.

hi elaine,
hope Zhaohui recovers soon, think is the weather too hot recently and rainy at night. Can put them separate room, if not Sizhen might get the cough. Try training your maid to bring him to PD, then you can speak to doctor over the handphone. This is what my friend taught her maid and she does not have to take leave.

hi jamie,
i am joining you to be sahm, got approval from boss to take no pay leave starting today. But this sahm is useless, whole day do nothing except lie down in bed.

lily
yes we all on FB. chloe is also on half day. wow u r one hardworking sahm who does home teaching, reallly pei fu!! i'm one lazy mum here, hardly got any time (or isit excuses??
) & chloe's attention is pretty short. she rather watch educational tv programs & cartoons.
hey CHIJ is my hubby's fav school! when we stayed at marine parade a couple of years ago, we plan to put chloe there, but our 2nd child is a boy so gave up the idea. dont want to go thru the balloting stress twice

elaine
chloe is also sick after 3rd day in school
. now my boy also kenna, just went to PD clinic to get medicine this morning. hubby again upset lor, suggested changing school/ environment. haiz ....

smallbell
dont say u useless. bedrest is what u need most now. just rest well.

hi jamie,
read more to chloe, shorten the tv time. This should help her attention increase.

Oh no, Chloe sick again. She returned to school last week? Changing school will not help, will still fall sick.

yes, i am resting well now. Really bored of bed rest already, lucky could still chat with you all.

smallbell
both me & hubby tried although my hubby is a much better story teller, she cant even sit still for 5mins!

yeah she's back to school last wed but on fri afternoon she start having running nose ... she's now much better, tot send her back to school on wed.
i think will stop school 1 week before our perth trip next mth, otherwise skali last min sick again like our HK trip

can understand your boredom but at least can still chat here. take it as a break, u will "miss" it when your #2 comes

hi jamie,
oh yes, then better stop school before your trip. now the swine flu is in control so ok. will your family be taking the flu jab before going?

Yes, a break from work. I think will need to consult you all in future for looking after baby. It's been long time and memory fading away.

hi jamie,
frankly speaking...hubby n i are also looking for another sch for Zhaohui.
We r looking for a church kindergarten for him since we start to realise tat actually my maid can handle 2 at e same time n also like chloe... Zhaohui is always sick.
Actually u dont really have to worry abt primary school, Kong hwa is a very gOOd sch n do u know tat all their P1-P4 children take higher chinese instead of e normal chinese?? I only found out this 2 wks ago... So u have a good school near ur place
e teachers here n very good too... at least they are very friendly.

elaine
at least your area has more preschools to choose unlike mine
most of the preschools near my place abit ex leh.
since your maid can handle 2, its more convenient to find a nearby one so your maid can fetch him home.
i know kong hwa is a good school but my concern is since its a chinese school, i'm afraid their english wont be that good? afterall english is our 1st language.

hi elaine,
has zhaohui recover yet?

hi jamie,
i forgot, where do you stay now?

my neighbour said her grandson attending mindchamps at east gate, cost $1500 per month. So far only 3 students in total, with 8 teachers. Enrolment is still slow but good service. She don't think the school will last very long with only a few students. The fees are too high to afford but she got no choice as her leg has some problem so cannot send grandson to MMI. She will change school once leg recover.

hi smallbell,
zhaohui is so much better liao... at least zzzz so soundly last nite

hi jamie,
i'm going to a church kinder near potong pasir area to take a look tis sat as it is their open hse... my friend's daughter is there. i wont change ZH until i find a good kindergarten.
do u have any good ones near my place to recommend??

smallbell
i'm at old airport road.
wow mindchamp is super ex leh! no wonder only 3 students, not many can afford such high fees.
kindergarten school fees is quite cheap but no subsidy though.

elaine
glad to know zhaohui is better. chloe is also much better liao so may put her back to school tomorrow or thurs.
i think i know which kindy u refering to. the one near to the main road?
i know there's a new church along paya lebar, just next to le cresendo condo. not sure u know where, i think that's the nearest to your place ba. but i'm not sure they hv kindy there, i would think most church hv kindy, rite?

any idea if MMI provides trial class for my 2yr old to try out?
previously he attended 2 playgroups but i think he wasn't ready yet.
this time round want to try him out again.

another question...
my 2yr old boy can only say 1 word at a time, not in sentences yet.
is he considered slow in speech?
should he attend playgroup or nursery?

hi smallbell n jamie,
e kindergarten cost $700+ per term. 3hr15mins but my friend says morning like no slot liao only left afternoon which is from 11.30- 2.45pm.
is call Ascension Kindergarten beside At Andrew village.

hi jamie,
ya i know there is a new church but dont know e kindergarten there good or not hor.... think tat's nearest to my place...

hi jamie,
e church name is called "trinity at paya lebar" but they dont have kindergarten there.

hi jas,
MMI katong have sat class for mother n toddler to attend together, maybe u can try tat before putting him at a half day or full day student.
If not then u can ask them cos I remember when i register they do state there tat got trial but not very sure cos i nv ask. Anyway for a child to get used to a sch is not easy but wat i can tell u is e teachers in this school is very patient cos my son cried badly when he just started n till now almost every morning he still cries abit but e teacher bother to coax him unlike some sch they can really let e child cries unattended.

My boy also start talking more recently... ard 2++yrs old. At 2 yrs old... he is like ur son dont talk much only 1 word at a time... no worries... as long as they can talk they will catch up :p
Now my boy talk non-stop at home but he was a quiet boy in school.... He eats a lot in school but he dont eat at home.... werid boy :p

elaine
Yes thats the kindy i'm refering to. usually morning slot very luck gu, same as Chen Li. only left with afternoon slot.
maybe trinity is still new thats y no kindergarten yet ba. otherwise i think there's another one towards hougang direction. if u know wat i mean, abt 5 or 10mins drive.
think upper east coast area also got a few but will be quite far for u.

jas
i also start of my girl in the mother toddler class to let her familarise the school & teachers before putting her in half day.

jas
i paid $120 (4 sessions) per mth last time, but i think they hv increase the fees liao. yes only on sat morning, 1hr.

Hi jamie,
your place is going to have the new circle line mrt right? glad that chloe is better, how about your boy?
I told my neighbour might as well just send to MMI, then pay for the school bus, still cheaper than going mindchamps.
But good advantage is that her grandson who is very sticky and sickly is ok with mindchamps, as so many teachers can carry him whole day and only 3 kids, how to fall sick.

hi jas,
welcome to the thread. It's ok about speech, boys are normally slower than gals. My boy after 2 year old birthday was uttering simple words like ball or book in a funny tone. He could not form sentence either and don't even know how to say most objects. He only point to things he want. But after some time, about 2 year plus, then slowly improve speech. Do give MMI a visit first and see if your boy likes the school environment. Can call them to make appointment for a visit.

hi elaine,
oh ic. The fees of the kindergarten is reasonable. Time slot is ok as only 3 hours.

small bell
thanks. am glad i chance upon this thread, as i'm staying very near to Katong Shopping Centre.
since i have only 2 weeks left of my ML, i better fast hand fast leg go and check out....

smallbell
yup the circle took umpteen years to build leh! before i married till now hv 2 kids liao still not finish yet

chloe is much better liao, will send her back to school today. actually my boy recovers faster than chloe.

hi jamie,
u r early today

hi jas,
ya no harm going there to take a look, morning is the most crowded cos e full enrolment will be there.... so dont get scared by e noise...hahaaa cos there is once i went in the morning to bring Zhaohui back earlier n almost faint with e big big crowd which i never see before and also lots of unfamiliar teachers cos some of their teacher only teach in the morning then afternoon they will all off work BUT in e afternoon then u got to go at 3pm++ cos 1-3pm is e fullday children nap time so u cant see much too

hi jamie,
wow, took so long for circle line.

hi elaine,
my mom cannot make it to sizhen's birthday. She has cc activities to attend on that day. Thanks. I have never seen the school in full force, in fact never seen how teachers conduct lesson before. Last time i register as it was the nearest school and affordable. My mom visited Shaw cc, that is next cloest but super ex.

hi smallbell,
is alrite no problem

I nv see them teaching too, when i went there to fetch ZH is ard 12pm+ n they r having their lunch.
I register ZH there becos i cant find e next cleanest school liao :p heehee n also i like e small, low basin which is very safe for e children

smallbell
yeah they really take their "own sweet time" to build this circle line
who knows by the time they complete i might hv move house liao haha...

elaine
i also never see them teach, it would be nice to sit in & see what's their daily activity.
i agree, the school is the cleanest i seen probably due to the white color & natural sunlight ba

mother toddler class
i just called MMI and they said they'd ceased the programme cos all the kids have been promoted to Playgroup class.
awww.....