MMI @ katong shopping centre

hi elaine,
actually all the kids slept till parents pick them up. The teacher told my mom that they will wake up individual child when the parent come. So all of them are super tired. Patrick kept telling me that he saw the giraffe urinating and they ate at KFC and played at the playground. But not sure why only he refuse to play with water.

hi jamie,
wow, Chloe is super, she has so much energy. But kids very strange, tired still refuse to sleep.

The gym class is confirmed already, the school will be starting the gym class soon, i need to pay $60 additional per month.

hi smallbell,
ya i saw some kids still sleeping too... actually quite good cos i'm always puzzled on where they sleep n how they sleep n wat they sleep on... finally tat day got a chance to see everythg n glad to know ZHaohui can sleep well in school n everything especially e environment is very cosy for them to sleep

gym class for patrick.... wow he must be very happy...
too bad my hubby dont want to let ZHaohui attend any class from e school hai...~~~ I'm actually quite interested in e music class...

hi elaine,
they sleep on the mattress, very cute right? did you purchase the mattress cover? last time i brought along pillow, blanket and jacket. Then realized that Patrick don't need any of these during nap time. The lights will be very dim during nap and they sing a song to get the kids to wake up after nap.

i think the other class didn't work out due to low response as i sign up all the classes but only got a note in the communication book that says gym class is confirmed.

hi smallbell,
ya e mattress very cute... so small
Ya i bought e mattress cover n it is even smaller than my baby cot mattress tat's y i always wonder how e kids sleep on such small mattress.

i saw in e communication book last nite abt e gym class too..

hi elaine,
not sure if the music class will be on as last saturday, patrick went for a free trial of it.

by mid year, there should be a parent meet teacher session, normally on a weekday afternoon. You can arrange to meet the chinese teacher as well and they will talk about your child's progress and return you the work he done in school. That is the best time to ask questions.

hi elaine and jamie,
good news, the school has opened a facebook account called "mmi katong'. That is the name used. All the kids zoo photo are inside. I have invited both of you to add to the name list, do go into facebook to add.

I have been asking for many months ever since patrick join school. Last time the teacher has a yahoo photo site but reminded them many times to add me, still they forgot. Then i left my email with them. I guess lots of parents asked them to have a photo site so they started with facebook.

hi smallbell,
even is on my hubby also dont want to let him join e sch one... cos we check e website... never see this program before..

i'm looking forward to e meet e teacher session...

hi smallbell,
thanks a lot... no wonder yesterday suddenly got 1 friend suggestion for me to add MMI.... but they havent add me so i cant see e photos leh...

hi elaine and jamie,
ok, if they still don't add you, let me know. But this weekend i will upload all the photos to my album so you can see it. I was laughing at the photos, all of them so cute and could tell the teachers were super busy, one teacher to so many students. They got photo of them inside the bus and throughout the zoo and small group photo.

My hubby asked me why he see more maid than parents in the photos.

elaine & smallbell
i finally get to see the zoo photos. looks like they did hv lots of fun. saw zhaohui but no chloe, only her back view haha...
didnt know the zoo have the water play section for kids, looks fun!

hi smallbell,
they add me liao... cos just nw i ask teacher mae to add me into e facebook so tat i can view e photos...
e photos r all so nicely taken...
wonder how they look after so many children....
jamie,
i saw chloe sitting beside zhaohui on e bus....
e waterplay section open last yr nov... very fun place for children,

hi jamie,
that's a new water play area, can visit next time.

hi elaine,
think for the older kids, a teacher look after many kids.

elaine, smallbell
yup i saw the photo zhaohui & chloe together in the bus liao. will make a trip there when my boy knows how to walk, otherwise very tiring leh keke...

hi jamie,
yes, can go when they are older. Really ex for zoo entrance.

don't see many names on the facebook, maybe still getting parents to join.

hi smallbell n jamie,
i'm so glad tat e kids enjoy themselves... n can walk throughout e few hours without us....

Zhaohui always bully us whenever we r out be it shopping or to e zoo we always have to carry him

hi elaine,
Zhaohui has grown up already, learnt independence. That is why school environment is always good. When you go out, could you run away from him so that he will not ask you to carry? i had this problem initially so what i do is both hubby and i must pretend to carry things in both hands. When he asked to carry, i say 'look no hands'. Then he slowly got used to it.

Do keep a look out for the mmi photos, think they are slowly adding more pics, some are of their daily activity.

hi elaine,
Zhaohui has grown up already, learnt independence. That is why school environment is always good. When you go out, could you run away from him so that he will not ask you to carry? i had this problem initially so what i do is both hubby and i must pretend to carry things in both hands. When he asked to carry, i say 'look no hands'. Then he slowly got used to it.

Do keep a look out for the mmi photos, think they are slowly adding more pics, some are of their daily activity.

hi smallbell,
ya i saw the photos already... really very gOOd tat they have facebook

and also thanks for the tips tat u have given...i will try on Zhaohui if not after my maid left i will have problem bringing him n meimei out

hi elaine,
but trying the method has one disadvantage. As he might cry very loud outside. I was always embarassed to have a crying child who refuse to walk and every passer-by staring at me....

chloe is sick again
just brought her to PD this morning, PD advised to stop school for the time being till she fully recovers.

smallbell
i used the same trick on chloe too. but even if i dont carry things, i will be very firm not to carry her lor unless she's very tired. infact she knows i usually dont carry her so normally she will bully her daddy or grannies to carry her.

hi jamie,
Zhaohui is sick too... having diahoerra since yesterday. Brought him to PD this morning too, tomolo still dont know want to let him go school or not ... depending on whether he wakes up tonight n says tummyache

BTW there is a baby contest at Kampung Ubi CC (near eunos mrt) on e 19april... n i have sign my girl for e contest
Jamie r want to sign ur boy??

elaine
think u let zhaohui rest 1 more day then go back to school lah.
what baby contest is that? actually i hv not participate any contest in my life haha...

hi jamie,
hope Chloe recover soon. was it due to the zoo trip? as Patrick fell ill the day after the trip.

hi elaine,
hope zhaohui recover soon too. Baby contest is fun, last time i joined a baby crawling contest but he refuse to crawl, still at the starting point at the end of the race.

hi jamie n smallbell,

today Zhaohui still didnt go school cos diarrhoea 3 times from 530am to 7am. So i took leave again cos cant put my mind at ease if i go back work. So far he looks alrite can play n jump

jamie,
i never took part in any baby's competition too, only happen to see e banner of e contest near my place so when to sign up last sunday. Is healthy baby contest n most photogenic baby contest.... e healthy baby e doc will assess using health booklet n see e baby( i'm not very sure too), then e most photogenic one... e photographer will take e baby's photo on e spot then e judge will choose lor...

hi smallbell,
Patrick so cute... refused to crawl... tat's y i always feel it really depends on luck on tat day... cos we cant control our baby... if they happy on tat day then higher chance of winning but if tat day they throw tantrum then too bad... Zhaohui never learn to crawl when he is younger, he skip e crawling phrase so i never have chance to let him join any contest... now i will let SiZhen try some

smallbell
dont think its due to the zoo trip, probably some kids in school are sick so pass the virus to her. i guess she also the weak type thats why fall sick easily.

elaine
poor zhaohui, his buttock must be painful with all the pooing. last time chloe had diarrhoea she also seems normal except kept pooing lor.

baby contest
dont think i will let my boy join any contest. he is such a terror & really cant sit still. scarly on that day throw tantrum, really pai seh!!
i feel boys are more difficult to look after compare to girls.

hi elaine,
oh dear, hope zhaohui will be ok. Was it due to food he ate? do let SiZhen try the contest, she is very chubby and cute, high chance. The goody bags are quite good for baby contest.

hi jamie,
ic. Then just hope her immune system will be better soon. Children sick very sad, see them suffer and we cannot do much.

smallbell
yes i agree, we really cant do much except to see them suffer when they fall sick.

elaine
how's zhaohui? maybe let him rest for 1 more day or 2 before going back to school. chloe still having flu & cough, only slight better nia. was thinking when she fully recovers, may want to bring her to TCM but then again, she already screaming when taking western medicine, not to mention the yucky taste of chinese medicine.

hi jamie,
Zhaohui is alrite liao.... only pass 1 motion in sch today. Usually Zhaohui likes to eat medicine n can ask for more... but this time round e PD changed all e usual med he eats for flu n cough n also give new type for his diarrhoea so he hates all e med now...Teacher Ferlin told me she had a hard time to coax him eat med this morning.
Anyway i'm going to stop all his med since he will well now...

elaine
good to hear that zhaohui is ok liao & back to school. i just brought chloe back to PD again yesterday coz got fever & her cough & flu still nt well. anyway got to use the neubraliser again & put on antibiotics. poor girl, she already got phobia taking medicine. PD advised to temporary stop school. my mum said maybe the school is not suitable for her thats why she kept falling ill.

hi jamie,
oh poor chloe, she is same as Zhaohui when he just started playgroup last time.... every wk we will need to bring him see PD and keep using neubraliser too.... but so far never put on antibiotic as he dont have fever.... this goes on for 1/2 a year then he become better but will still fall sick every month....
I guess every child needs to go throught this phrase of being sick when they just started school.... i'm very worried that when SiZhen goes to sch she will be sick often too....
Hope Chloe can get well soon... have u try putting e med into her milk n let her drink without her knowing..??? this is wat i do to Zhaohui when he is younger.... but now he know something is not right with e taste... heheeee so cant do it anymore...

elaine
our PD tried not to give her antibiotics again coz she just had one round abt 2 weeks ago but no choice lor, since she's not getting any better. my PD doesnt encourage putting inside the milk coz chloe usually doesnt finish her milk when she's sick. i still use the syringe to force feed her instead of the spoon. everytime when giving her medicine is really very trying, very traumatize for her
hope she gets well soon.

hi jamie,
hope Chloe will be ok soon, poor gal. i heard that tcm medication can be adjusted to kid's taste, not as bitter. So you could try it.

hi elaine,
the teacher at MMI quite good, will try to give medicine. Last time they give panadol for fever but later they said not able to feed panadol. If got even slight fever, must stay at home. I tried the adding med into milk method before but patrick will totally reject the milk and not drink any milk after that. So it was a total failure. When i give via stringe, sometimes he vomit all out.

hi smallbell n jamie,
ya nowadays Zhaohui also wont drink e milk once he taste MED inside... heheeee cant trick him anymore.
Usually we will talk to him till he drinks himself using e syringe, or ask Sizhen to "feed" him then he will drink. When i force he will spit it out... tat was wat he did few days ago when he is having diarrhoea n i got so so angry that i give him few slaps on his face becos he split out all e med i give him.... I regretted so so much cos till today e fingers marking are still there...

happy easter ladies!!

elaine
aiyo poor boy, u really slap him? i understand its really frustrating at times to feed medicine. chloe sometimes also tried to vomit out but i told her if she really throw up then i will hv to give her again.

hi elaine,
understand your frustration, it is ok. There was once when Patrick was having really high fever, he refuse to eat the panadol and i ran out of those panadol insert from the bum medicine. So he continue to be really hot till need to be hospitalized.

Then he stayed over 2 nights in hospital, got poke by injection, took blood pressure every 4 hours. I watched how the nurse feed him panadol. 4 nurses pin him down and one nurse will force open the mouth, put in the stringe, he spit out, they force it back. Then they wait for him to vomit out the medicine and food. If he did not vomit, then they leave. This routine drama action continue every 4 hours. During the night, the nurse will also wake him up to feed. They also make sure he drank sufficient plain water. After this hospital stay, he suddenly changed to become a different person. We kept using the nurse, doctor to scare him and kept reminding him of how they force him to drink the medicine. Now he take panadol like a dessert, open mouth immediately. Hahaha....so i think sometimes kids need to learn from the hard way.

smallbell
i agree, sometimes kids just hv to learn the hard way. i did feed chloe medicine again when she throw up after i fed her. so everytime i will remind her NOT to throw up otherwise she has to go thru another round.

anyway she's better liao, brought her for PD's review today, was given 1mth MC to rest so will only go back to school mid next mth.

hi smallbell,
u did mention before tat Patrick used to be in NTUC CC.... may i know y u change him to MMI??

I'm considering to change ZH to another CC, cherie hearts cos they open a new one a UBI(starhub centre).... so i will find one day n go down take a look at e place.... reason being MMI too expensive if both my kids r there next yr

called the school this morning regarding waiver of school fees but both Ms Mei & Rin are not in. accordingly to teacher cystal who answer the call, they dont waive the fees when our child goes on holiday or on MC. but she still get Mei to return my call.

elaine
is cherie hearts cheaper than MMI? i guess its also nearer your place so its much convenient hor. aiyah just when ZH already settled down in MMI, he has to readapt again ...

hi jamie,
ya lor... he just settle down n like e school... even if we want to change will not change now too ... most probably finish tis year 1st lor...
cherie heart is much cheaper...i did went to 1 of their branch last yr if i'm not wrong e fees is less than $700 then after subsidy is less than $400... not sure abt this new branch...

hi elaine,
oh, i was staying at sembawang last time, then when i started work and put him into the NTUC CC for a month, sometimes i am late to pick him up. My journey from work to sembawang was too far. So i moved back to stay with my parents, my mom can pick him when i work late.

I do agree, MMI is very ex, ntuc was only half price. I think franchaise cc like cherie hearts is the same price for all branches.

hi jamie,
actually easy for the change, as long as been to a cc already, children can adapt easily to the next cc. It is the switch from home care to cc that is more difficult.