Left Handed or Right Handed?

vinegarqueen

Hi Mommies, just wanted to share something with u which i came across...

i saw a documentary show recently, showing that if ur child is a left handed. Dont try to force him/her to be right handed. This will cause ur child to be stutter[Kou(3)Chi(1)].

1 person had been invited onto the show, to share how his parent strongly insisted that he should switch into using right hand, when he was a child. And he started to stutter...

Years go by, his parent was very concern abt his stutter n brought him to a physcologist. then his parent realised that his stutter was caused by their forcing him to switch fm left-handed to right-handed!!! this forcing mess up his left n right brain system!!! they stopped forcing him to use his right hand. n he talks normally ever since...

ladies, this incident keeps me thinking of my cousin. he is a left-handed too n started talking properly only when he was 4yo. b4 this, my uncle n aunt tried very hard to switch my cousin fm left-handed to right-handed too!!! but in the end, they gave up!!! my cousin remains left-handed.

I'm glad to have read this. My hubby is left-handed while i am right-handed. So we're wondering how my baby will be. My mother keeps forcing my baby to use her right hand until I told her not to, giving her the same reasons that you stated above.

meixue, i did not know the impact of forcing a left-handed into using right hand is so bad... until i saw the show!! i m glad i did!

Great to hear that ur mom accepted ur reasons n did not force ur baby further...Hey, u were writing that ur DH is left-handed whereas u r right-handed!! who knows? ur bb might be able to use both left n right hands!!!

read that babies do not show particular inclination on which hand to use until 2-3 years old. before that, they interchange hands. i think at this stage it's important to let them use both hands to train their hand muscles.

what's wrong with being left handed????
i find left handed ppl more creative ( using their right brain more ) n intelligent....at least those that i met are all amazing ppl... wish i am left handed!

both my hubby and i are righty but i think my gal is lefty and none of our family nor hubby's family are lefty too, wired?

hi she she

how old is your gal? I think we having the same issue...none of my family are left handed, my 2mths plus baby starting taking the things we hand her with her left hand...and when we put the toy on the right hand, she actually transfer it to her left hand and bring it to the mouth...

My son is coming to 4YO this Dec. Since young, he has this inclination to take everything with his left hand. For eg, picking up the pencil very automatically with his left hand. My mum tries to change him whenever she sees him using his left hand. He will automatically drop the pencil when he holds with his right hand, let alone writing anything!

So gradually, we realised he is a "lefty". We are okay with tat. Me and hb are both right-handers. Anyway, we find our boy quite intelligent (yah, thick-skin). Btw, when he kicks football (can do that very well), he also uses his left foot.

hi rms,
she's 2.5yrs old, we first noticed her preference in using her left hand when she was abt 6 months to grab things and same to u that we intended to give thing to her right hand and she'll switch it to her left hand right away, and when she started to walk, we also noticed that she steps her left foot first and same as many other things like put on shoes, raise yr left hand first when putting on clothing....i used to read an article saying that we should confirm a child's preference hand when they reach 3yrs old, so i just wait coz i thought she'll change but up this moment, i've a strong believe that she's lefty, hubby & i never intend to switch her preference just a bit concern how would we teach her writing and adept to school life later on coz most of the equipment and facility in school are for the majority in right hand.

hi Sunshinekid,
yr son is 4yrs old already, is he doing well in school? will teacher adjust his preference hand?

ladies, if ur child is left-handed, when u wanted to grab their writing hands to guide them on writing, sit on their left, use ur right hand to guide their left hand!! got it? i did this to guide my cousin who is a left-handed too...

haha... while i read remind me when i'm younger...

well, i'm the only left hander in my family... nope of my cousins/relative are left hander (when i'm younger - i think i might have a younger cousin - about 10 year young might be left hander).

my mother as a right hander, keep teaching me using the right hand... with force.... haha everytime i pick up anything with my left hand... she will hit or cane me ... but my mother say regardless what she do..... i simply refuse to change even though with the regular beating.... haha till my mother give up.... u know my primary 1 exam - 1st exam i nearly need to repeat as all my math, english, chinese, i wrote a mirror image of the answer though they are correct except for those answer is 1, 8 or 0, haha luckily my pri 1 teacher is a left hander with her guideline, i don remember how i manage to do it rite later... my mother keep the paper for me to see....

now my boy is 17month going to 18... he used both hand.... haha i had a pact with my hubby... if my boy is a left hander i will need to guide him, but if he turn out to be a right hander... i can sit and relax... haha so secretly hoping my boy to be a right hander so mummy more eng....

btw i read a article - only less than 10% of the left hander used more of their right brain, those are the genius.... there is still a larger group of pple used more of the left brain. their right brain might be more develop compare with a right hander but that is only for co-ordination of hand and foot only... just for information

she_she

My son is doing ok in school. Did not hear any complains fr the teachers with regards to his writing .. more of his naughtiness.. hahah..

I find that it's quite normal for toddlers to write mirror image, even for those who are right-handed. Now my son can write 1-10 quite well, though I must admit at times, he still does write his 7 in the mirror image way. Just needs to remind and reinforce.. no big deal.

poshies,
the reason why u write ur answers in a mirror image, has it got to do with you being a lefty?

Actually what's wrong with being a lefty??? I simply don't understand ...

My boy is showing some inclination of being a lefty though he uses his right hand too.

whatever you do, don't force the kid to switch hands! i personally don't feel it makes much dif whether the kid is left- or right-handed. maybe eat at round tables a bit inconvenient but that's no big deal. i'm a lefty and still remember the horrible episodes in school and at home of being watched with a cane all the time. don't traumatise your kid!

HELP!!! read that some of you mummies came across some articles (internet or books?) abt the dangers of telling the kid to switch from LH to RH. Could you pse tell me where to get access to these articles?

Recently my child was told by people around him to write on his right hand and i tried to explain to hubby but he doesnt seem to understand. End up in a big argument. So if anyone of you mummies know, pseee let me know...

Well, both my hubby and myself are LEFT-handed, and both my kids (20 month old and 3.5 yrs old) are RIGHT-handed, from the way they hold things and grab things, write etc...

I have many relatives including my mum who is left-handed, while my hubby does not have...

Don't read too much into it...I also do not believe there is a need to switch hands...worry about the bigger things in life =)

yeah, should talk to your hubby to just leave it be. why go through the hassle of switching hands for no apparent benefit? just let your kid use its prefered hand. changing and all is confusing and will slow your child down. lefties are good people too ma.

I'd just like to point out from experience hor. If you're a lefty, it can be difficult to write while in school, especially when the desks are joined together, and you might end up jabbing or being jabbed with the elbow of the person sitting next to you. My lefty friends usually have to slant their bodies to write, I've noticed.

I'm a user of both hands, depending on which activity I'm doing. I've also noticed that it can be dangerous to cook if you're left handed, 'cos the appliances are more natural for right handed. Many times I've tried to pour things from saucepan and I realised that the spout is on the other side of the pan I'm pouring from! (Yes, I was holding the saucepan in my left hand) Another example is those training chopsticks you see nowadays? They're for righties. and many electrical appliances are connected for righties to use. sigh...

So while I don't encourage forcing your kid to use a particular hand, do note that there are disadvantages to being a lefty. But then, yep, lfties are more creative - Einstein, Marilyn Monroe, even a few of the more popular US Presidents (I think Abraham Lincoln was one) are lefties.

Oh yah, computer mouse usage! Have to readjust the configuration for lefties!

o, this computer mouse thing reminds me of a funny incident.

at home, i configured mine to be a left hand mouse and placed it on the left side of my pc; but one day i was in the office using the communal pcs they placed in a row, and after switching one of them on, i realised that the mouse was not responding and went 'ta ma de' and started shaking the mouse about. then my friend who was watching me from behind laughed and reminded me that i had conveniently grabbed the left side mouse belonging to another pc. so paisay.

ya, some things (can openers, scissors, some rulers etc) are made for the convenience of right handers and left handers do feel awkward handling these things. but can adapt one la. so far no accident yet. touch wood!

Chanced upon this thread and just wanna share.

I'm a lefty too but my kindergarten teacher forced me to write with my right hand. I do now but I still do everything else with my left hand. I also din stutter leh... ;P Come to think of it, I am glad I can write with my right cos like what some of you mentioned, it's really more convenient. Actually, now I can write with both hands... so it's a plus for me!

Oh, the best thing is I can eat (holding chopsticks with my left) while doing my work (writing with my right) simultaneously. Super efficient lor.

Bottom line, not a prob to train lefties to write with right hand.

I am a lefty myself since birth, writing and holding chopsticks by the left. Personally I don't encounter any problems in my life let it be cutting using normal scissors or using can opener, driving, or computer mouse. In fact isn't it more effective that I can use the mouse on my RH and write using left at the same time?

Felt that it's only olden days the Chinese beliefs for using right hand is better cos hand writing will be nicer and when u eat at a round table using chopsticks, u will not "fight" with the person sitting beside you.

Both myself and my hubby are right-handed, but my girl is a lefty. Big deal. She's coming to 10 this year, and is no different fr other kids.

we never tried to change her, but made accomodation. like config mouse for her, make sure she doesn't sit on the right of another classmate in case their pens 'fight'. earlier on, i even bot her left-hand scissors. she doesn't use it now, coz she says she's ok with the normal ones.

let your kids be! why change?

Just some thoughts on this...

I am a left hander, was never force to correct it as a kid and have remained a left hander.

Academic wise, I did not suffer as a result of being a lefty. On the contrary, I did very well topping in exams throughout my schooling years up to university. Quite a number of my frens who did well in uni were also lefties.. which makes me wonder sometimes if the old wives' tale of lefties being better in studies may be true?
Perhaps it is just pure coincidence but many famous brilliant minds in the world are lefties; such as Ludwig van Beethoven, Albert Einstein, Isaac Newton, Benjamin Franklin, Bobby Fisher, Ronald Reagan, Paul McCartney, John McEnroe, Diego Maradona, Tom Cruise, Julius Caesar, Napolean, H.G Wells, Jimi Hendrix, Raphael, Michelangelo, Da Vinci, Charlie Chaplin and Martina Navratilova just to name a few.

I never had any difficulties coping with everyday tasks such as using a pair scissors, pens etc too. My hubby is right handed and we get along just fine at mealtimes even though we eat with opposing hands!

Also, there are certain sporting advantages being a lefty.. eg: I have known some lefties who do really well in racquet games because it's harder for right handers to gauge the direction of their return hits.

So there's perfectly nothing wrong in being a lefty... parents should never force their children to become a right hander if they r naturally lefties.

Be proud to be a lefty! ^_^

Famous people and celebrities such as Ronald Reagan, George Bush, Bill Clinton, Tom Cruise, Whoopie Goldberg, Julia Roberts, Bruce Willis and Oprah Winfrey are/were left handers too.

I am also one, and am proud of it, even name my blog called www.left-handedpassion.blogspot.com

My parent in law also extremely particular when my 2 years old girl uses her left hand to pick biscuit, or use left hand for normal activities. I am not happy about it, but I cant do anything just grumble to my husband.

What is most important is that the child is normal and healthy. Whether left or right is the dorminent hand is not that important.

actually i was also trained to use my 'right hand' cos my kindy tr told my mum that it would be more convenient for me when i grow up. my father would hold my right hand and we would practice writing and my mum would 'correct' me whenever i use my left hand. now, i'm a right-handed. i din stutter but my handwriting was really bad when i was a child. thr process of getting him/her to change from using their right hand to left hand can be confusing for a child.

My 9 year son is left-handed. I think I would be left-handed if my mum hadn't made me correct me then.

It was difficult teaching him to write then because he could not see what he was writing, and I had to sit on his left too.

I heard from my uncle that people who are left-handed are better in racket games like what Mrs P mentioned. I dont know about that though but my son is able to draw very well.

<font color="0077aa">Speaking from my personal experiences.

My older sister is a lefty, however, was asked to use her right hand to write. Guess, she caved in... hence she is writing with her right now. However, she is a lefty for all other stuff. Consolation is she didn't stutter.

As for myself, I am a lefty too. My mum did try her luck but she gave up coz I insisted of using my left hand. Well, guess I am pretty ambidextrous by now.

My younger girl is also a lefty.

Well, doesn't matter left or right. More importantly, just leave it to whichever hand they are comfortable with.</font>

I was born a left-hander, but my mum's strict and so I now write with my right hand. However, when using scissors, it will be my left-hand (hee...cos' I only cut when my mum's not around then).

Now I can actually use both of my hands to do things (ie. cutting and writing on either hand is not a problem), so I am ambidextrous. Like many, I do not stutter.

Many times, when I saw the inconveniences faced by left-handers, I am really grateful to my mum for correcting me in the past. Hence, whenever I see my No. 2 (who seems to be left-hander), I will try to remind her to use her right-hand.

Still thanks to VQ, your post does set some thinking in me.

Howver, in my opinion, it's important to stimulate both the right and left brain of children when young. So, it shouldn't be a problem to teach them to use their right hand when young (if they are left-handers).

What's wrong with being left handed? I'm born left handed and my parents did try to correct me in the beginning when I was young but gave up coz it's not point forcing me to write with the "unnatural" hand. Statistically, only 4% of the population are left handed so we're a rare breed. Your child will learn to adapt to this world. No worries.

oh yes, I'm left-handed. My mum did try.. but failed.

My girl is also left-handed.

Talking about a small percentage of 4%, my sister is also left handed. Hence we have three of us being left handed. Given our family size is not huge, the percentage is pretty high!!

As I was told by my girl, her class comprises almost 30% of them being left-handed. Not sure if we are rare breed.. or maybe they do congregate somehow

My kid writes using left or right hand depending on what he needs to do with the crayon (3 yr old). I don't mind it so long as he enjoys what he's doing.

My boy (4 yrs old) is left-handed so is my hb.. my hb side of their family members (including relatives) many lefty.. i believed it is genetic but of cos there sure to have some exceptional case.. like my 2nd bro.. noone is lefty except him.. I have no concern abt it.. i let my boy decides which is best for him.. now my girl is 10mths old have yet to koe.. but looks like she uses her right more.. let's see..

I am a leftie and I can tell you that I too stuttered when I was 5 to 8 years old. I am not sure if its really due to the fact that my parents did force me to use my right hand more. But it sounds like a possible cause. I just remembered that my mum was so worried then she sang to me every night and wanted me to sing along with her, I think it was her way to get rid of my stutter haha. The stutter went away on its own, I never convert to a rightie and proud of it
So please dont force your child and let them follow their natural inclination. There is nothing wrong with being left-handed. I only recalled my fingers get smudges from pencil or pens after writing for long. Thats about it! Advantages are sometimes you get to be the only one to use sports gear designed for leftie. When I was in my school baseball team, the leftie glove became my personal glove since I was the only leftie
Like one mummy above said is true, there are bigger things to worry about in life. My son is a leftie like me. He was using his right hand since a baby but one fine day when he was abt 3 years old he started to draw with his left hand I guess nature has its own timing.

I am a leftie... For me nothing changes except for writing marks (ink or pencil) on my hands when writing composition, and it's irritating for the person sitting next to me for a meal because we have to "fight" for table space due to our hands clashing. Also to be more "normal" in my younger days, I wear my watch on my left hand and its tough and uncomfortable especially when I am writing.

Other than that nothing changes other than these social aspects. Although I must say I am more artistic and language based but maybe it's just a coincidence.

I am glad to see this thread. At least knew that let things goes naturally and not forced. Because recently my hubby is toying with the idea of training our baby to be leftie if they are rightie. As he think leftie are smarter and more creative. Since he is also in design line, he wants his kids to be creative too.