IVF with KKH (Dr Matthew Lau)

I was seeing Dr Paul Tseng @ TMC. Just did Lap 3 weeks ago. I don't find him informative enough. Both my tubes were blocked and all he said was "not worth the effort to clear. You will have to go thru IVF". I was too tired after the lap to ask further questions. Have yet to go back to him for review.

So.. if I really have to go for IVF, not going to go back to him.

I was seeing dr paul few years ago too but decided to change as felt not as helpful after unsuccessful iui. Decided to go kkh to try ivf as can use subsidy.

Will ivf programme affect our working lifestyle as in need to take many leaves to go for test n surgeries involve?

When full flow menses comes, call up kkivf. They will ask us to go down next day morning for scans. So far i went for 4 scans during my stimulation. Scans are to be done in the morning cos kkivf docs are only available in the morning. Hospitalization leaves will be given from the day we do egg retrieval. It will covers all the way till bloodtest.

cheerywalnuts said:
Hi Hixian, it depends whether u want to be under gov subsidy before transferred to ivf center. The differences between private & subsidy are 1. Choice of dr & 2. Charges.

Under private, u get to decide the dr u preferred. Charges are all in private rates be it consultation(depending on the rank of the dr), scan & meds.

Under subsidy by referral from polyclinic, the dr will be assigned to u. Charges for 1st & repeated consultation are $32 & $30 respectively. Scan will be 50% subsidized & meds will heavily subsidized. You will go to clinic for diagnosis first before the dr refer u to ivf center.

Once at ivf center, all patients are considered private rates. U will only see ur dr during Egg retrieval & Embryo transfer. Once pregnant, ur dr will ask u if u want to convert to private suite or remain as sub pt.
Thanks for the detailed explanation. Shall discuss with hubby. :)

Hlixian, if u are not comfortable with ur assigned dr via subsidy. From what I know u can still change dr b4 starting ivf. But will need to have a consultation with ur choice dr by informing the nurse at the ivf center :)

Mind if u can let me know how much u pay upfront cash apart from the medisave claim?

I think $500+ for the registration plus counseling session (short briefing plus signing of documents and to do bloodtests).

I cant rem the exact price.

Im turning 33. I was with dr lau since last yr Apr. He didnt mention if it will be higher chances for me but he said still young will have higher chance. And cos my hubby's swimmers are low count and thus might not be able to dive naturally so ivf is a better option.

During egg retrieval, i got 15 eggs. 2 days later went back for egg transfer but end up didnt cos dr lau recommend me to just transfer 1 and so he will put me into day 5 transfer which by then embryos will becomes blastocyst. Blastocyst got higher chance too.

@Pkp: if u and your hubby really want to have a child of your own, you will be able to conquer all factors. Age: the earlier u start, there is still chance. BMI: how about do some ex tt u like and eat healthily. Smoking: start to cut down now and eventually quit. $: so far only the 500+ for counselling and BT. Others deduct from medisave.
Yes definitely cause some disruption to work. During the stimulation period which is doing all the self jabs, u'll need to go for frequent scans and reviews in the morn. Could be up to 3x a week. Thereafter, 20 days hospitalization leave after egg retrieval.
You have to be mentally prepared. Have faith within you and things will be well. :)

Thanks ladies for all the advise. For my case, it is quite shocking for me coz i nvr tot it will occur to me. I already had a boy age 12 (1st marriage). After 2 yrs plus on my 2nd marriage, hubby n myself feel something could be wrong. So we decide to go for check up. 1st check on my hubby got low sperm count due to blockage n sperm oso not healthy. Then he went for surgery n he os baxk to normal. Now my turn, saying i got poor quality of egg due to my age play apart. Gynae boost my egg wz jab and ovuamin oso no helps. Then now go ivf.

I do agree with faith we can overcome all things. Thanks sumiko83. But we oso worry on the cost. We check it out after medisave claim we probably gotta fork out cash 12k. Alot hor???

No bah. My hubby and I are both sporean. Gov subsidy about 6k. Medisave can also claim up to 6k. Not much of cash topup. Now with the financial assistance, many couples are willing to give it a try. ;)

We check with our clinic n they say the ivf programme is abt 16-18k. Yes 6k inclusive to claim frm medisave. So if we take the max 18k minus off 6k n we pay cash 12k. Wat financial assistance can we get?

May i ask u n meiling how much u guys pay for the whole ivf programme that include retrival n transfer of eggs? I read from the old threads u all do it in kkh?

We check with our clinic n they say the ivf programme is abt 16-18k. Yes 6k inclusive to claim frm medisave. So if we take the max 18k minus off 6k n we pay cash 12k. Wat financial assistance can we get?
I see. I was referring to gov hospital. Yours is tmc?

May i ask u n meiling how much u guys pay for the whole ivf programme that include retrival n transfer of eggs? I read from the old threads u all do it in kkh?
Hi Pkp my total bill was abt 10k. I did not have to fork out any cash beside what others had mention earlier the $500. The amt also vary from what is the dose of medication u need.

Sudden change of bowel movement: all emptied last night. With cramps tt I usually have when menses about to come.

sumiko83 dun worry,think is the symptoms.. cos during my 2ww,i oso have a sudden change of bowel habit n cramps like AF is coming too.. just dun think too much,relax n have more rest during this period of time. Fighting ;)

@niece, how come u dun nid t9 pay a single cents? Do u do it at kkh as well? Do u have financial assistance? Yes my gynae oso say the amt varies n depends on the amy of medi i take. So im taking the worst sceanerio mine(example) n gotta fork out 12k after claim 6k frm medisave.
@meiling, ur oso good dun nid to pay at all.

Dear sisters here, dun get me wrong. Im not attas person n go geneagles n do ivf. But so happen my gynae's clinic is at gleneagle n his status is professor. O my!

Tts y i needed help n advice frm u all. N may i noe is the waiting time long to go tru all tests n ivf programme. As i mentioned, all odds against me n hubby. Im 36 n he is 39. Bmi no good.

Dear sisters here, dun get me wrong. Im not attas person n go geneagles n do ivf. But so happen my gynae's clinic is at gleneagle n his status is professor. O my!
Pkp there's nothing wrong. All of us here are with kkh(govt hosp) that's y no need to pay cash due to the govt grant. The govt grant is 75%, 55% & 35% for the 1st 2nd & 3rd cycle respectively.
Medisave withdrawal is same as private capped at 15k per couple
We understand for ur case under private only can use medisave no gov grant

@niece, how come u dun nid t9 pay a single cents? Do u do it at kkh as well? Do u have financial assistance? Yes my gynae oso say the amt varies n depends on the amy of medi i take. So im taking the worst sceanerio mine(example) n gotta fork out 12k after claim 6k frm medisave.

I guess like what others said, also depends on your medication etc.
Why didn't you consider govt hospital in the first place? 12k is alot leh~

Hi PKp, I understand ur concern. I did my ivf at kkh and most of us are dr matthew lau patients. I did not have to fork out cash before government grant is 6k and medisave is also 6k. Therefore I need not have to pay any cash.
I understand from my friends that private hospital ivf are slightly more ex and the gov grant im not sure if it is applicable to private hospitals.
As for the waitin time to start ivf depends too. I remembered the first time I wanted to start then the dr said lining too thick, start next cycle. I sense that u are very tensed up. Pls relax cos it can affect the quality of ur eggs.

@cheerywalnuts, thanks for you info. Veri informative.
@ meiling, coz in the very 1st place we went tcm (chinese sinseh) to check on fertility n thereafter refer me to my current gynae. Nvr did we know we must go for ivf programe. N tt y i ended up here. :(
@niece, u r rite. Am veri stress now. Coz we do not know of we should change to kkh anot.
If i were to continue wz my gynae, it very ex! Me n hubby r just commoners, money hard to earn oso leh. ;). My gynae knows our record n history n etc...we r comfortable but at the same time he's ex lor...:(
If we go kkh, how do i go abt it? G0 polyclinic n ask for referal to kkh?
Waiting time tink gonna be long...as i said me n hubby no longer young, we do not uave the luxury time to wait...:(:(:(
N nxt week going to see my gynae again coz he going to review me as i took bloodtest few days back n he say dun noe wat to check my reserve egg n see wat medi to start give me n stary the ivf.

Sumiko83 relax. Dun anyhow think. U will soon be joining meilingg , cheerywalnut and the rest to be mummy too. U had a day 5 transfer too?
Niece, yes mine is day 5 trsf on tues. Just woke up. Always been deep sleep. Don't understand why so tired. Now hungry.

Tts y i needed help n advice frm u all. N may i noe is the waiting time long to go tru all tests n ivf programme. As i mentioned, all odds against me n hubby. Im 36 n he is 39. Bmi no good.
How about getting a second opinion from doc in kk?

@Pkp actually depends on the financial comfortability of u & ur hubby. When u embark on ivf with ur current gynae, will it be financially too taxing for both of u. Cos both of u may be stressed out financially & emotionally once u start the program.

Actually govt ivf centers are also as good. There are so many gynae in sg not necessary have to tied up with ur current one. If u do not want to wait via referral from polyclinic, u can always call direct to kkh or any other govt hosp ivf centers. Choose the gynae u prefer & meet him once or twice to let him study ur case and u can start le. Wun take u few years to do tt. Maybe just a mth or 2 from now.

Actually i think don't need to get referral letter since at kkivf center, everyone is consider as private patients so ya loh, why not go kkivf and have a try...

Niece, yes mine is day 5 trsf on tues. Just woke up. Always been deep sleep. Don't understand why so tired. Now hungry.
I also doze off most of the time. Sleeping is actually very good :D
I still crave for spicy food
lol dunno why the hotter the tastier

Btw I have been sweating alot while sleeping at night even with aircon on. Do u experience tt too?

Actually i think don't need to get referral letter since at kkivf center, everyone is consider as private patients so ya loh, why not go kkivf and have a try...
Yap true also only the pre consultation before gg to ivf center will enjoy subsidy. Unless after preggie, u like to continue to be in subsidized class then needs polyclinic referral.
Once u convert from subsidized to private, ur baby will also be in private rates @ kkh & cannot change to subsidized class.

I also doze off most of the time. Sleeping is actually very good :D
I still crave for spicy food
lol dunno why the hotter the tastier

Btw I have been sweating alot while sleeping at night even with aircon on. Do u experience tt too?
It happened once while I was about to have my lunch. My whole body suddenly sweat alot. So scary. But after awhile was much better. How about u?
After clearing all the junk in my bowel, my tummy size shrink alot as compared to after er. not so bloated now. How about u, cheerywalnuts?

It happened once while I was about to have my lunch. My whole body suddenly sweat alot. So scary. But after awhile was much better. How about u?
After clearing all the junk in my bowel, my tummy size shrink alot as compared to after er. not so bloated now. How about u, cheerywalnuts?
I started to sweat quite a bit during meals since last sun. Like burning alot of calories while eating.
Usually tummy will be abit bloated after dinner. Once cleared the bowels the next morning ok le. Just completed my course of the 8 days meds forgot to take one dosage on mon.. hehe