IVF Mummies

Jeni, the left on our left facing us is the gal..hee hee looks cheeky but quite good natured, boy is the "sweeter" looking one who is actually the devil between the two. haha....so looks can deceive! yes, i took 6 months of NPL, seems quite long when i applied for it...who knows 5 months have gone in a flash...*sigh* i hope i can adjust when going back to work. did u face any difficulties? miss your baby when u go to work or not?

LY, thanks, but i want some more kids...but still in discussion with hubby who very scared leh.
i have lots of help from parents and parents in laws and a v good maid who has 8kids of her own, otherwise i dun think i can survive.

Hui, also think they cute at this stage. when will they start turning into monsters har? learning how to throw tantrum or exert their views...etc? v scared of that stage! u still got 2 months to delivery rite? everything prepared?

wow, dawn.... envy you but must be tough to handle 2 at the same time. I already felt tired and frustrated when dealing with 1 kid..... but when they smile, laugh or hug you, all troubles seem so far away....

if u intend to have a 3rd kid, then i think wait till ur twins are slightly older..... so that u can cope better.....esp if u intend to send them to child care after 2yrs.....

honestly, when i was back to work, i was so happy to have my own space & time :p freedom for me.... LOL

LY... dis ur son shortlisted for the next round? how does this contest works?

hi stacy, think hubby must go rite? haha...cos i told my hubby, i want some more kids, i just go ahead and do the ET myself, he told me he needs to sign his consent????

Dawn,
so sorry for mistaking them but they are both very cute with big eyes!

When I first went back to work, it was quite ok as all the boys have already gone for their holiday so I did not do any teaching. Hence, I can go home on the dot and even now, I still try my very best to go home on the dot to keep him company. Do you still go back to the same school? I heard that nowadays, if we take 1/2 year no pay leave, we'll be transferred out to another school as the school will not keep the placement for us. Is it true?

Well, did your hubby sign any consent form or anything of that sort when you did FET last time? Aren't you scare that you may get another pair of twins or even scarier, triplets?!! I really admire your courage leh... I just hope I can have twins the next time round, like you, 1 boy and 1 girl, then I can officially close shop liao... hahaha...

Dawn,
Really Envy leh... so many expert helping u...
My hb dun wan 2nd one liao, he said too heavy burden liao...Even thou I really hope for 2nd one...haha...

rae,
he was not short listed for next round, cos he cried lor... but lucky din go in cos in the end they need to go into final 12, then 8 followed by final round of 5 which is held end of the month...Very long winded contest. Also heard that those selected for final 5 all nearly 3 years old. Kids selected must know how to talk & knows words, number leh... I went back straight after he cried..haha...din even bother to stay & wait for result...cos I am very tired too...

Jeni, it is ok, babies all look the same...haha and u not the 1st to do so. hee he..
i m going back to the same school. yes nowadays heard that they can post u to other schools after the 6 months npl. when i go back will be SA2, prob will have to help to mark bah...

i can't remember seeing him signing anything leh...not sure he bluffing me or not? hmmmppppppp!

LY, oh dear, he cried? means he understand the whole process?
must be v tiring for both of u, heard have to be there the whole day one? my hubby also think financially it is v heavy. but i think the joy that children bring cannot be measured in terms of $$$$$.

jeni and dawn,

u are both teachers ?

LY,

ya..i read your blog too. quite interesting to read from somehow you 'know'.

I mostlikely stop at 1 also. Hubby and I have some friction when daughter comes along, so hard to imagine if another kid more friction will arise. tsk tsk

dawn,
I've problem bcos hubby may be posted out, and FET have no fixed timing, must wait till ovulate... afraid to be alone but no choice. Not sure is it a must that hb must be around for FET.

stumbled_by, yes both of us r pri school teachers.
understand, my hubby quite stressed about us having twins which i dun see why...*sigh* prob guys see it as their responsibility to provide for the extra "mouths"?

LY, can post ur blog again? last time u posted b4 i think, but lost track of it liow ...;)

stacy, urs is a natural cycle FET is it? mine was a medicated one, need lucrin jabs and some other things, so can predict the transfer date roughly. did u call KKIVF to check if hubby needs to be there?
let me know hor if they need to sign any consent.

Stacy,
dun worry... we'll be here to support you and espcially me, since we are doing this together again. My FET is the artificial one as I needed the medication to induce my menses but unlike dawn, I don't need ay jabs leh... thought I need but ask Dr Loh already and he said no need. Check with KKIVF, also said no need... You can also call up KKIVF to check if your hubby needs to sign anything. Tell them your case and I am sure they will be able to advise you better.

Dawn,
when r u going back exactly? Yes, my hubby is also worried that we have twins next time but he is still very adamant about having at least one whereas I am the one who is not that keen. However, I watched something from the TV the other day and suddenly realised that if I don't give my son any siblings, then he will be by himself and no one to turn to if both my hubby and I are gone next time...hahaha...Hence, will give it a try for the 2nd one.

Stumbled by,
yes, we are teachers...

stacy

your husband can go for frozen sperms if he is posted out

jeni/dawn,

not that guys are stressed by extra mouths to feed. but when it comes to child rearing and childcare arrangements, we cant reach a consensus. And there is in laws issues too

ya..agree daughter will be alone in this world when both of us are gone. It is sad that she doesnt have any close cousins too. I can only hope she will grow up to be more sociable and have her own family :p

Thanks ladies,
I will be going to do my saline test this Thursday and at the same time, drop by KKIVF to hand in letter. I will clarify with them on the spot. BTW, I dun need any medication, tink should be natural type bah! Forgot to ask DrLoh and he only give me folic.
When I see my son playing with his cousins so happily, I think I should try to give him his own siblings, in case next time when we are away he still have.... but also hard to say as nowadays, siblings also not so "Qing".
Dawn, I really envy you. You 've good assistance. Sure You still want more? Sometimes, I start thinking how to cope if have 2 or more...

Dawn,
dat's wat am encounter now.. Jovial the MONSTER! haa! I counted if #2 also come out @ 37 weeks will be on 14 Oct, if come out 40 weeks will be 4 Nov

Ly,
don't be too sad lah...
Next time if you see your hubby playing with your son happily, gently remind him that it is because of IVF that he is enjoying his son now!
Well, sorry to say that I am mostly the tyrant when it comes to my son. My hubby had taken so much crap from me. I think my fear etc come from during confinement when I had to do almost everything myself and did not learn to share the load with my hubby. Then blamed him for not sharing :p Well, when he is good mood, then he will take the crap lah but when he is not in good mood, then all hell break loose lah... hahaha

LY, at least u got time to do a blog. i want to do, but never really sat down to do it. same thing as doing scrapbook for my kids...sigh...now the photos r piling up!!! hmmm.....think ur hubby dun mean it, prob he stressed up so just say this in defence? i know my hubby sometimes do it.

stacy, i duuno what food can help, oni know
accupuncture helps. but just take less "liang" food. the chinese sinseh always say must keep womb warm....haha. yes i do want more, but haven't come to consensus with my hubby. good that your FET is a natural one, less jabs, less $$$! what is the saline test ? hmmm......how come i din do it?

Hui, wow that is coming soon! when u starting your maternity leave? how u handle now with Jovial so active? got pple to help?

Jeni, i returning on 17 oct cos took 6 months npl. that will be during the psle marking period. wonder what they will ask me to do. Think siblings are good...i can't imagine how my life will be without my sister.

stumbled_by, think all married couples will have alot of issues to iron out one. wonder if there r any couples who live happily ever after like the fairytales?

oh i will be going for short trip to taiwan with hubby tomorrow b4 i start work again. mainly to go n enjoy their food. went there in 2005 and enjoyed ourselves immensely. any body wants to buy anything let me know ok? catch up with u all again.

dawn/LY,

ya..every married couple has issues to iron out. but mine seems cant be ironed out, we just avoid the topics at times.

I really understand why some mothers love children more than husband. I am one of them! What about you guys ?

stacy,

dont eat cold food, as in straight from fridge. Lie 2 hours after ET. And minimise walking for next few days after ET. After ET I even sat in wheelchair to car, but I did get up to pee after 2hrs ;p Just cant pee using the 'urine pan'

Stacy, haha...maybe. but most difficult lah...cos if really can strike like that then wun have to go thro ivf liow! btw, i stopped breastfeeding around 8sept, but my AF have not resumed yet. when did your menses come back?

Jeni, no lah, how to enjoy if bring 2 of them along? yes going back to old school

stumbled_by, believe me....mine also have things that we know both of us will flare up if we continue discussing...*sigh*
urmm...of course love children more cos they more lovable mah! my hubby also love them more than me liow. wahaahaa...

dawn,

i think your AF wouldnt resume so fast, it will take a while. For me, I stopped bf when girl was 2months due to insurmountable problems. I think my AF only came close to 2 months later. But mine is 'worst' case cos i din have a gd confinement also :p

so u manage to bf twins until now ? I think so far here, besides LY, u are the only one who succeeded (not sure about Jeni tho)

I am a SAHM, so very free to do blog.
I think mother's love cannot be replaced by father's love, what do u think???

May I ask those of u doing IVF at KKH, how many frozen embryo u have left after the 1st transfer? many people I know doing IVF in NUH dun left much frozem embryo, like me...left none.
Izzit when u do the 2nd FET, u defrost all the embryo?

Dawn,
I went Taiwan in 2005 Jan too..miss the weather there. Enjoy your trip.

Stacy,
Both of us like his present hair style lor so din bring him go for cut, also he dislike going for haircut..will cry & scream very loudly...Only bring him once every 3 months...

LY,

aiya..u still 'cry' over no frozen embryo har ? Just let it be lar. As i told u, the first round of IVF i did in NUH I had 2 frozen embryos left. After thawing the grade is still rather good or average...but in the end still din succeed :p

Suan4 le4 lar...I think if its yours, its yours..haha

dawn,
hmmm, ct rem if he did went with me but i doubt so, just need him to do blood tests for HIV, tt's all.... njoy the taiwan trip and have a Made in Taiwan too
but do look at the labels before eating
too much food scare now.....

LY,
thin the contest has a show now and will soon broadcast on tv....
mayb will see u & yr boy...
left with 4 embroys after 1st IVF, used up all during the FET....like wat stumbled_by said, it's urs, it's urs..... just like our 1st/2nd born, it's our precious darlings....

stumbled_by, partial BF, not enuff to feed them lah, so i just pump out/latch every 4 hours the rest just top up with FM. anyway, i gave up waking up during the nite to pump after 3 weeks...that is simply too tiring and in the end affect milk supply.

LY, i agree with u mother's love is much stronger than daddy's love. we carry them for 10 months leh! and got maternal instinct mah!

Rae, haha...if really made in taiwan i will be v delighted...haha...then my hubby will start worrying again...

LY, i have 20 frozen embies left after my first ivf with KKH, then the following FET, i did blastocyst culture that used up 11 embies just to get 2 good blastocyst, so now i have 9 left. that is why i quite keen to have some more kids. Rae, i do agree with what u say "what is yours is yours" ....think should just be zhi zhu (satisfied) with my twins bah.

Ya...Actually I am very contented & felt very blessed to have one cute boy boy..hehe...
When I first opened my eye after retrivial of eggs in the operating threate, the first thing I asked the nurse was how many eggs were been retrieved? At that time I am still half-conscious, I remembered she told me was 5. After I was send back to the ward, I told my hb abt it and I could not control my tears, knowing that the chances of success with 5 eggs was so slim. After awhile, my gynae came, & he assured me that is sufficient, he only need 1 good egg.
Those 3 waiting day was a torturing for me, the hospital din call me to inform me the status of the embroyo, cos happened to be labour day. So on the 3rd day morning, I received a call from NUH asking me to come down in 2 hours time for the transfer. At that moment, I was so happy just like i had strike a lottery.Funny hor...
For that 18days, I din go out at all, I stay at home to sleep all day, everyday pray so hard...now come to think abt it...it quite memorable.

Rae,
I know Serene thru Jan Mum forum. Meet her for lunch b4. How u know her?
I doubt my boy will appear on TV, cos he cried leh, so dun think they shoot that.

Stumbled by,
I tot u done your first attempt of IVF at some other place, din know u done 2 times at NUH. hahaha...me so blur..

dawn,
Wow...u got so many embbies left arh...which mean your fresh cycle not successful that y u went for blastocyst??? & from the 11 ebbies, izzit really only 2 good ones, wat happen to the other 9? discard them? Izzit very expensive to keep so many embbies in frozen state?
And u put 2 in & got twin...wow...so lucky...

Jeni, I'm scheduled to do transfer in November bcos I need to take medicine for lining after my october menses, my Sept menses just passed. so we are likely to do it togehter again. so lucky ha... check with them not need to have hb to sign anything. Just need him to go down for blood test.I've not decided to put in how many???

Stacy,
early, mid or late November? Mine is mid. I have 3 embies left and I'm going to put them all in and hope to get a boy and a girl... hahaha... Ambitious right? I'll be happy if I am as lucky as last time and be successful this time round.

Dawn,
i will work till pop.. MIL helping me do confinement lo.. but duno she can handle with 2 toddler which is 1 month apart nia ( Jovial & Ayden), one NB anot.. if cannot then will ask my sis to pick Jovial t go my grandma hse and stay.

LY,

u were very lucky! U only have 5 eggs retrieve yet u have 2 or 3 embroys..I have 20 or 21 eggs retrieved in my 1st IVF fresh cycle. For 2nd fresh cycle, I had 12 or 13 eggs [Partly cos I did TCM so in the end the Gonal-F injection i was on the lowest dosage :p]

But in the end only 30% of less of the eggs became embryos. Prof Wong also said its less than average pple :p

Hui,

wow, your MIL so super woman. How to take care of 2 toddlers and one newborn ? U better prepare alternatives plan. Is your MIL about the age of your grandma ?? haha..

Stumbled By,
I also on TCM , & my gonal F on low dosage too. Only 11 eggs observed on the scan. I din mentioned to Prof Wong abt it. Din know it will affect the numver og eggs leh....Can tell more abt it.

Hui,
Ya...your MIL can handle so many??? need to enage maid or extra helper??? My auntie also bb-sit for 4 children but with help of a maid.

LY,

i also din tell Prof Wong i was on TCM for my 2nd fresh cycle..i am not sure if TCM will affect the no. of eggs, but if u compare my 1st and 2nd fresh cycle, 1st cycle no TCM(20+eggs) and 2nd cycle has(12-13eggs).

But I think quantity doesnt matter. So what my 1st cycle has so many eggs and even got spare embryos for FET ? In the end no success in 1st and FET. Perhaps I was on TCM for 2nd cycle thats why got pregnant..

Someone told me the ideal no. of eggs for each cycle is about 10+, so in the sense my 2nd cycle I had the ideal no. of eggs n in the end i did get pregnant. But again, I have 10+ eggs also resulted only 4 viable embryos in the end..(the 4th one didnt survive 'blastocycst' needed for storage. I think its 5th or 6th day. Luckily din survive, cos 1 embryo for transfer also sound low chance :p)

stumbled by,
After hearing wat u said,maybe TCM really helps...thou eggs may be lesser but quality better...also depends on luck ...

Did u gals heard abt the news in Taiwan, wonder how is Dawn or is she back already?

LY, me back on Monday nite 11pm.
experienced the typhoon that swept through taiwan. was on the street trying to finish buying my stuff a few hours b4 the typhoon predicted to come...the walk to the shopping centre 2 buildings from my hotel took 20mins, cos walk awhile must hide, wait for the wind slightly weaker than dash to the next shelter.

yes from 11 embies oni 2 became blastocyst. the other 9 either din survive thawing or oni grew the 1st or 2nd day then stopped growing liow. so all discarded liow. I was originally told that 9 will be taken out to culture 3 blastocyst, but oni 1 blastocyst resulted from the 9 taken out, so they took out another 2 to culture, luckily from these 2, 1 became blastocyst.
was telling my hubby then v heart pain suddenly used up 11 embies.....but now think back, as long can get pregnant...dun care how many embies use lah.

stumbled_by n LY, i also think TCM helps in IVF. but my sinseh (the hougang one) don't like to mix east n west methods leh, so no choice, stop taking the chinese medicine when i start ivf.

hui, wah your mum v lihai, can handle 2 toddlers. my mum helping me, with the help of my maid always v tired at the end of the day.

jeni, if u get 1boy1gal, we can hi5 liow!!!

Dawn,
Glad u back liao... Must be a good experience in taiwan...hehehe...cos in Spore will never get chances to see wat typhoon is...
My gynae also disapprove us mixing chinese & western medicine...
So r u going to employ another maid in future??? or maybe can send them to childcare.

Hui, Just read your blog, your tummy getting very big liao ( from the video clip of u & Jovial). When is your edd??

Hui,
I am so blur, just read your personal blog & seen your edd liao... Jia You...1 more month to go & u get to see your little princess...

LY,
haa.. me now in 35 weeks.. Hoping faster come out.. abit xin ku @ late stage leh.. Yesterday saw Ch8 the bb contest show.. when they flim the bb pics i looking for RYan's photo leh..

Oh.. u see that show too arh...Dunno u got chance to see or not leh..cos, his group is only broadcast in 2 more week time, next week is for gal gal 6-12 months lor...Maybe at that time he gonna pop liao...
Very paiseh lor...if he appear cos only can see him cry...hahaha...

But only 35 weeks, think better for bb to come out after 38 weeks lor...better to manage... u take care...must ask hb to inform us in the forum when u delivery.

LY, u asked a good qn....*sigh* haven't really given it a serious thought. 2nd maid or childcare centre. not sure if my current maid plus MIL/Mum can handle the twins or not. can u all share ur experience as the kids get older, is it very very much more energy draining to take care of them? nowadays i m so tired looking after them the whole day as they sleep less and seem to want to do so much things. crawl here, climb there...throw their toys...*sigh* is it going to be worse?

hui, wow seems only a while ago u told us u preggy again, now going to pop liow! post ur princess photos ok? how's jovial taking the idea of having another sibling?

Dawn,
Jovial now know where's meimei and he also call mei mei already :D
i find #2 pregnancy is faster than #1.. i haven even pack my bag and buy my button front gown leh..