IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Ru,
Gradually drop yr pumps from 3 to 2 to 1. Dun just stop.
Traditionally, bb first food is rice cereal cos its gentle in the tummy. U can feed just a bit dun need to be much. I gave my bb abt one tsp only. Then slowly intro purees.
U can buy bb yogurt from supermarket. It says for 6mths+
I dun suggest giving to yr bb now, prob later when she's had a bit more experience with solids.
I continued to sterilize until 1yr old. But aft 6mths a bit more lax. Sometimes just rinse with hot water if no time. But at least once a day I will sterilize. For bb solid food utensils I never sterilize at all.

baby, did u buy the puffs from agape? thinking of getting some to try..but if delivery just 1-2 bottles of puff like bo hua coz hv to pay delivery. i still hv plenty stocks of cereals and bottled foods...

Panda
Yes i bought the happy puff from agape when i did bb food shopping with them.. I only bout 1 bottle to try.. Take note, certain flavour contain gluten.. Only sweet potato and strawberry doesnt contain gluten.. So if u are particular on bbs taking gluten then only can take these two flavours...

Ntuc also selling.. But abit more exp at $9.90 per bottle.. Agape selling at $7.50... So if u only want to buy 1 then might as well get it from ntuc..

Or u can order other items from agape.. I also order toothpaste frm them.. Or u can buy bb finger biscuits..

Thanks all, noted all your advices.

Tickles: Begininning I was so mad and wanted to change to another IFC. Not only feeding issue, there is another issue.

In fact, during the first 3 days, I realised there is too cold in the resting room especially they put the bb cot directly under the air-con blowing out direction. So I requested them to change my girl's cot to one end. They did that (that time only my girl is sleeping on the cot) as per my request as the rest of the mobile infants are on the floor mat. I think few wks later, there is another younger infant enroll. So one day, I went to pick up my girl earlier and asked to use their toilet. I discover why my girl's cot was shifted back to the original place. I asked the teachers, they said the cleaner accidentally shift to wrong place. They didn't change and would shifted back. After few weeks, I went in again and c, they didn't change it back. Wanted to confront them but stop myself at the end. Because prior to that I already changed 2 times so I thought maybe is me too picky. Told friends and they said none is perfect and how many times can I change....:<

Ru,
My girl's cot position also in front of the air con unit. But one day they suddenly tell me they changed her position cos her hands and feets gets cold when she slp with the aircon blowing at her. Then I start to bring blanket for them to cover her when she slps. Maybe bring blanket for the teacher. Ask them to cover her when she's aslp. True that no one is perfect. At times if really not very serious, maybe just close 1 eye. But if you feel that its a prob then must voice out. At least when u voice out then the teachers will take note. Is your IFC private one or under PCF etc?

panda
Is yr two younger bbs eating better?

My small girl is improving.. Can take cereal and pear puree well.. And also those bottled puree and pudding... But those vege puree like pumpkin, potato.. She dont like... She also cant take oats.. Those that is grainy.. She only like smooth texture... So cant take porridge yet...

I notice my girls also got hard stools when taking cereal.. Aldry gave pear puree and let them drink water.. But poo still not creamy le...

Im thinking to let them take some barley water.. Can or not har? Those chinese barley... Bigger type...

Tickles: You see, your IFC so good. Mine is, I don't know how to describe. Every time I told them if cold whether pls help her to wear jacket. I bring balnket and jacket for my girl but I never seen them put on her. That was once I even called them because I saw heavy rain and I felt cold in office. The teacher just told me a while only now stop leow and the temperature not cold at the centre. We only turn on the air-con at 25c so will not cold..:<

private, school fee is $1500.00

If change to new IFC, I think I have to go near to my office leow as nearby home no much choice left.

Btw, you mentioned put the puree under warmer to warm up. You bring the warmer also or the centre have it?

Baby: how you make the pear puree. Just buy normal pear (Green color/Chinese type)and steam then put in the blender and serve?

baby,
can give barley. but not too frequent, like maybe once a wk? u can boil some barley water and use the water to make formula feed.
it works.

Ru
Yes... I bought those beckham green pear.. Hu lu shape.. Those normal ones... I tried buying those smaller blush pear.. But not so sweet...
Just steam and blend.. Its easy to soften... My girls love it.. Its sweet in nature.. And lots of water content.. So its good for constipation too...

Grumpus
Oh can use it to make fm... Will it be too much at one go?

baby,
yup can use to make fm. that's wat i used to do to make sure my girl drinks a certain amt.
it's a very old trick. old ppl use this method last time when formula was very heaty.

if it's only for one feed it's ok, and u dun hv to make the barley very thick mah, just a bit of barley, more water.

Ru,
Ic.. Erm, the teacher not very caring... Mine stil not so bad cos not the entire area is airconditioned de. Only sleeping area only. Play area is non aircon de. 25d is quite cold leh. Esp during rainy days.

The sch has warmer de. In fact most IFC has cos also need to warm up EBM ma.

Just want to share with other forumers my experience selling an item to with PandaWife (rinang). I listed a leapfrog 4-in-1 ride on for $60 with attached picture. She asked for $50 with delivery and I obliged.

Today my husband delivered the toy to her place and she started to nitpick on the condition of the toy e.g. side of the sticker is slightly peeling and there are sticky tape marks on the handle of the toy and only paid my husband $35 for the toy which is in excellent working condition and cost $120 brand new. Neither of the complaints affects the working condition of the toy at all. As we've already driven all the way from the east to Woodlands, we decided to just let it go.

So whoever wants to sell anything to this lady, please be aware that she is only willing to pay a pittance and expects brand new condition. So seller beware.

Tickles/ Ru,

Aircon in IFC that your child goes is set at what temp? I sent my girl to IFC starting this Mon. To my surprise, they set it at 22 deg...omg...yesterday my girl started to have running nose. This morning, she was coughing and had mild fever. Bought her to see PD. Damn angry.

Mentioned to the teachers on the very first day that the aircon is cold but no action taken. 2nd day I went into the room where my girl's cot is and adjusted the temp to 24 deg. Yesterday, I went in to check again, it was 23 deg.

And, the shower area is an open area concern. Meaning there is no door between play area and shower area. The shower area is aircon as well!!!!

After showering, the teacher will put my girl on the playmate in the play room and dun cover her with blanket. Damn angry.

Now thinking to swop her to a non-aircon IFC if any. Does anyone knows any non-aircon IFC near Seng Kang area?

Prayhard,
I don't know what temp they set it at. But I know that they will off it on rainy days cos its cold. For mine, still not so bad. cos only slp area is air con de. The rest is non aircon with ceiling and wall fans. So when bathing its still room temp. Not cold. Maybe you should feedback to the teacher. Tell them that 22 d is too cold for babies. 26d is most ideal actually. Or is it cos the centre currently got sick babies? That why kena flu?

Tickles,

I was there for the past 3 days, almost all babies are sick. Some are coughing and some are having running nose. And I think the teachers are insensitive also. On the very first day, they placed a coughing baby besides my girl. I asked the teacher is that child sick? She said yes. Then I told her nicely to separate my girl from that child. See, this kind of common sense thing still need me to say...haiz...

Rhyea, your post is so misleading. I was not given a pic of the real item. the link on your thread is that of a brand new one.

I double confirmed and you assured that this set is only 6 months old bought brand new from Toys r us, and your boy hardly used it. So its in excellent condition.

When it was delivered this afternoon, the set definitely is not in excellent condition. It was covered w dirt and dust, stickers are torn n peeling, and the handle has sticky residue all over. I was kind enough not to reject the item as your hubby said you guys are relocating to US tomorrow. Hence he also agreed to lower the price.

I never expect that you would make such a post to badmouth me.

I just check with another forum mummy who has a 4yo set. she told me her stickers are still intact n nice. hence if the set i bought has peeling n torn ones, it cant be 6 mths old.

Rhyea, I just want to clarify the facts and will not reply anymore of your postings. Anyhow even if you want to badmouth me, this is the inappropriate thread.

baby, i just found out today tht my gal likes to eat hard foods. she can munch teething biscuit n rice cracker so well.. but feed puree, cereals or porridge she not interested....

younger boy still struggling w foods too... giv abit more he gags.. so i tink still not ready..

Panda
Aiyo why the seller will make such posting.. She is so dishonest on the condition of toy.. I definitely trust u.. Somemore u bought so many preloved bb items with no problem before...

Same same leh.. My small girl also love to munch on teething biscuits and rice cracker... But when comes to real food.. She usually turn away her head..
Luckily now she starts to accept cereal...and today she totally reject milk.. No matter how i coax her... She simply refuse to suck.. But when i make cereal for her.. She eagerly open her mouth... Can u imagine i make her full milk of 170ml into cereal.. Thats alot!! She finish all up... Still want somemore but i stop...

My elder girl loves her porridge.. Today i make potato and cauliflower porridge... V yummy... My hb keeps saying it smell v nice when he is feeding her...
So far i make carrot, zucchii, potato, cauliflower, sweet potato combi for her... Max 2 vege puree each time.. Hvt try spinach yet...

Prayhard,
Then I think it's not the aircon. It's probably the sick kids pass the germs over. My elder girl last time also like that. Go IFC, every month need to see doc at least once a month.

Panda,
I'm on your side too. ;)

Baby, thks for the support! It's just bad luck to meet this seller. I just realized she sold me the toy with two missing parts! And I specifically checked with her on this n she again assured me it was a complete set. Turns out whatever she has committed is not true and I have to be defamed by her! She even started a new thread w my nick as title warning other sellers about me! Really bad luck!

My gal on some days eat her cereals n puree some days dun like. These 2 days her milk intake drop ..think she is teething..whine alot n fuss..v unlike her. I will try to make thicker cereal tmr so tht can "chew" see if she likes it better.

I basically try almost all the different brands cereal n types Liao..

Ur gals r v gd cereal eaters!! V encouraging when see them eat well. I m still patiently trying...

Prayhard: my girl IFC teacher always said they set at 25c not cold. Today called the principal and requested to meet on mon, hopefully after this meeting situation can improve. Based on my experience, it is really very hard to get one perfect. This is the third centre that I have tried. Really don't wish to change again, that is why even feel very angry about the amt that they feed het and the dishonestly about shifting my girl' cot.

Panda,
Both my girls r not cereal n puree eaters. Both love to chew. My elder girl by 7mths plus was eating steamed cubes of potato, carrot, sweet potato, cauliflower florets etc.
By 10mths she was eating rice.

My younger girl at 6.5mths already eating lumpy porridge with grated or finely chopped vege.

Since yr girl likes to chew, u can google 'baby led weaning' it may work for her. But a bit difficult since u hv 3 to hv to prepare so many different food

Ru, Tickles,

After discussed with my hubby and checked with the other IFC which is much nearer to my place, I have decided to change the IFC for my girl. This new IFC said they set the aircon temp at 25 deg at all time, which I think it Is already much better compared to the current one at 22 deg. But the transfer can only be done in 1st Sept....haiz...And for feeding, I realized my girl always unable to finish her 120ml milk over there, not such what is the problem. In suspect is the way the teacher carries her.

Tickles,
Besides the temp in the centre, my another worry is why almost every infant is sick over there? Aiyo...I see till I so worry leh...

Grumpus, my gal no teeth yet. Ok to gv lumpy or steam cubes food? Now I already preparing 2 different sets of foods coz only one eating well.

Prayhard: for sick issue no choice. It is very common when u put them in IFC or later childcare. There r too many children, one sick the virus will spread. Mine also very mth see dr

Panda,
Yes! As long as u steam soft enuff, bb will use their gums to mash up the food. If need teeth then biscuit also can't eat right?

Panda,
Maybe when u make yr purees, before blending u take out a few pcs first for yr girl. Mash with fork n dun add water. See if she takes it better.

Prayhard , Ru I also thinking of putting my gal in infant care early next yr. 1 way is to prepare her for Childcare when she is 18mths n 2ndly also i see my mum lost alot of weight, also heartpain.
How do u decide the infant care? What else beside air con u look out for to make decision? Only learning vision and pat school house is near my home. Not sure if they r good.

Prayhard,

Can share with IFC you send your girl to? I am also staying in sengkang. Will avoid your IFC.. 22deg is really too cold. At night, I usually set my room temp to 28-29 deg. My girl's legs and hands are cold already without blanket.

Pandawife, I am on your side too. I will report to moderator that she post in irrelevant thread.

Gan,

For me, besides aircon temp, I will ask the ratio (teacher vs infant). My current IFC is 1:3, this is the major reason why I chose them in the first place even though they are further from my place. Another area I will look at is the showering area. Try not to be aircon cos I think small babies will catch cold easily.

I am going to view another IFC this afternoon. Pray hard is a good one even though I know nothing is perfect. Worry sia....I start work next week leh...really hope can put my girl in a safe and cozy place.

Gan: I think you have to observe yourself. Regardless the name of the IFC. Because even though there are under the same management but the person in charge will have their own authority to make some changes on their centre. example I went to 2 x learning vision centre before. One allow to use rocker but the other centre said no.

So you asked yourself what is the most important for your girl. Enviroment, Teacher qualification, education program etc...

If you consider to enroll, start earlier. Otherwise you will feel more heartpain when you see your bb crying when she doesn't use to the place and the person. Because when they are young, they don't know.

Like my girl, everyone is ok one. She let everyone carry.

Gan,

Forgot to mention, standard ratio is 1:5. The IFC I am going to view today is 1:5 when I asked her but currently there are only 6 babies with 5.5 teachers ( one teacher works half day). So it is much better than 1:3, right?

Gan,

Agreed with Ru, I'd you intend to put your girl in IFC has to start early cos she tends to recognize people especially her primary care taker.

Like me, I initially thought of putting her after 6 months, after all her jabs and also "bu Shen de" to go to IFC so young. Intended to take unpaid leave for another 3-4 months. But one day I realized she cried even my husband carried her, then I know she recognizes people. Worried she will cry if she didn't see me so decided to start putting her starting this month. And I also extended my leave. Now I am using my Child Care Leaves. Next week still need to take leave to settle her transferring....hiaz...never ending worries...

Panda
I steam and blend the potato, cauliflower separatly.. Then freeze into cube... I cook plain porridge with slow cooker then when its cooked to the texture i want.. I will throw in the cube puree and cook awhile more... And its done!

Aiyo u really bad luck to meet such seller... Nvrm la.. Its a one time off thing.. Just ignore her...

Ya its v encouraging to see yr bbs eat well.. So more enthu to make food for them... I will timed my small girl eating time.. Got to feed her after she took her nap and near to milk time.. So she will be hungry and energized to accept solids... If i dont do this.. She will nvr open her mouth..

Lately alot of discussion on IFC... May i know the decision to put bb into IFC? Is it cos both side parents not able to take care or its a choice?
Im also abit overwhelmed sometimes on handling my girls.. Putting them into IFC did crosss my mind... Cos my own parents not able to take care.. Whereas inlaws can helpout occasionally but not everyday...

Thou im a sahm... But its quite straining sometimes.. So i ponder maybe can put my girls there for a few hrs a few days a week so i can have my rest and run some errands... Biscally i totally have no "me" time at all... 24/7 looking aft them... My hb also busy at work... Only have a maid to help me...

baby:
I have no choice. Both side parents are unable to take care. They also disagree to let nanny and maid handle, so we only left 2 choices. IFC or I resign. But I am a outgoing person so hb feel I better continue to work. So both of us agreed to send to IFC.

JFYI,some centres do take in ac-hoc basis but the price is quite ex (no gov sub). If you enroll half day the price is almost the same as full day. ex the school fee at my girl IFC is like full day 1500-600 =900, half day 1200-300 = 900.

btw, any mummies using baeba babycook? any comment? Currently Taka got sale, seem attractive compare to normal price. But the price is on the high side so wonder whether it is worth to invest,,,

Baby,

I do not have parent-inlaws. They passed away before I married my husband. My mother had 2 operations within the last 3 months so asking her to look after is totally out of question. And my father is already 70+ years old so again not possible.

Actually I can be a SAHM now but I would like to work till my girl is going to Primary 1. Wanted to have own money to buy things that I like
and also want to save up as much as I can now. Cos if my girl goes to Primary School, I can't send her to any centre after school till I come back from work, right? So by that time, very very high chances that I have to be a SAHM liao.

baby, u plan to be sahm all the way?

i wanna tahan until bbs are 2yo..then i will pack them off to childcare.. n only keep 1 maid to help me w them at night after work.

i tried the porridge today.. i used potato puree n threw in fresh cauliflower... my boy hates it..scream n scream.. my gal loves to chew the cauliflower..i just mash it lightly w a spoon..

grumpus, thanks for the tip!! i made cereal thts thicker n let her try.. she ate some of it.. n seems to have fun chewing the food

Lately alot of discussion on IFC... May i know the decision to put bb into IFC? Is it cos both side parents not able to take care or its a choice?
Im also abit overwhelmed sometimes on handling my girls.. Putting them into IFC did crosss my mind... Cos my own parents not able to take care.. Whereas inlaws can helpout occasionally but not everyday...

Thou im a sahm... But its quite straining sometimes.. So i ponder maybe can put my girls there for a few hrs a few days a week so i can have my rest and run some errands... Biscally i totally have no "me" time at all... 24/7 looking aft them... My hb also busy at work... Only have a maid to help me...

alamak.. Double posting again...

Sigh.. I guess mummies also dont wish to put bbs into ifc.. Luckily there are ifc around to help us.. Else we got no place to turn to...

Panda
Hmm.. Dont know leh.. I also dont know whether i can tahan to be sahm not... So far still managable.. But sometimes can go bonkers... Esp lately both abit cranky.. And both cant sleep thru the night.. I suspect their upper teeth cutting soon.. Cos i can see white spot...

Yr boy doesnt like potato and cauliflower combi maybe... Did u taste it yrself? Taste good?
I always taste the porridge myself.. If i find it yucky.. I usually dont expect my girl to finish... I tried putting sweet potato.. Yucks mann... I bought those normal orange flesh type.. Not sweet at all... Got a raw taste.. True enough, my elder girl ate halfway and refuse to continue.. Next time i will try those purple skin type.. Sweeter... But more starchy...

Im gg to intro fish to the porridge for my elder girl soon... But find no time to go market.. Cos most food i buy from ntuc.. Ans its difficult to buy norh ge fish from ntuc... So abit lazy to start... Hmmm...

Panda
Wait till bbs are 2yrs old still long long way to go mann... Dont know i can tahan till then not..

Yr 2nd maid come liao? Yr mother still helping u now?
Luckily u still have yr mother to help u.. Else can faint...
Im still comtemplating whether to get another maid not... Some days i feel its managable... Some days i go crazy with only one pair of extra hands...

When bbs go sleep at night.. I feel so tired.. Totally no energy to go prepare the food puree.. Feel so guilty..

Btw, can try happy cereal... I notice when i give this to my girl, her poo will be creamy and nice.. Maybe due to the prebiotic in it.. But too bad dont have white rice.. Only have brown rice..