IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Good morning ladies....

Hi curious,
I'm ok. I done a Triple Test for down syndrome last Sat, now waiting for results. Not only they took my blood for TT, they also get me to do a blood count, HIV, Hep B, which I feel odd cos I tot all these tests had been done before IVF, which was less than 6 months ago.

U know, its seems that mother's instinct is very accurate, although I was hoping for a boy but somehow or other I would feel that my bb is likely to be a girl... During Sat's scan when Doc Loh scan over bb's buttock he asked me what do I think and I said it's a girl. True enough he said that there's nothing jetting out betw the legs, so most probably is a girl girl lor

summer
kao_welcome.gif

Don't worry, a few of us are also first time MTB here, so we'll learn from one another lah. Now that u r in ur 1st tri, impt thing is to get plenty of rest. If u feel tired, sleep. By the time u hit 2nd tri, u will feel a world of difference.

blue_rabbit, the nurses mentioned about those test again, but I said I have done for IVF and do not want to do it again. So I didn't have to waste $$ again.

Congrats, summer, just take it easy, rest and eat well.

blue_rabbit
dun think too much liao...all will be ok
i think they called it the antenatal screening test? i also reminded the nurses that i did that when embarked on IVF...they told me there're some other tests involved so i just went wif it. haha...i hope ur instinct is right
i thought i was going to have a girl...bb boy proved me wrong on the day of my detailed scan

missmoon,
hahaha.... I'll know in 1 month's time after my detailed scan

Oh ya, I went to OG-Albert yesterday and saw the latest Avent electric pump... it's called Avent ISIS UNO (single only), for those who are interested in electric pump u may want to consider it. It cost abt $279 and claimed to be touch sensitive with 15 mths warranty.

Wow... bb stuff really not cheap leh, I spent close to $300 buying only the steriliser, bathing products, 4 milk bottles and nappy cream. Can't imagine how much we need to spent on big items

blue rabbit
heh...hope ur instinct is right :D

wah, really that ex hor, the single pump. i got it cheap at the fair then. btw, i saw an advert in motherhood mag, that it is available for rent, for those who dun wan to invest in one now...can opt to buy it later. seems like an option for some?

ya lor, bb stuff definitely not cheap. spent a bomb as it is, even wif inheriting bulky items from frens/family.

hv u considered the BP threads from the marketplace here? some good deals if it's bought in bulk

missmoon,
Urs is the manual one that comes with a black bag with some bottles and other freebies? I think I saw it at OG too cost is $149.

I also saw the ad, think will go to their website to check later.

hi blue rabbit and other mtbs,
can u gals tell me how many days of abstitence is good before collecting sperm on ER? The nurse never give me a proper answer, she simply said just collect never mind la, I m soo scared later not enough sperm as ours is severe male factor pls adivice. Thanks!

morning everyone
i have just signed up with CordLife to store bb's cord blood upon delivery. just wondering if anyone is intending to sign up for the cord blood banking later on?

gd morning ladies

missmoon, haven't got into in depth discussion on the CordLife with my hubby. But yes, we are considering it. Understand from another forum that we can place it in the public bank as well. Not sure the cost though (if any) as it is open to anyone who needs it.

Which company did you engage to store the cord blood?

hi DiVeera
i signed up with CordLife. Understand there's another company that does it also - StemCord. i didn't know abt the public bank one though

morning missmoon,
I intend to store bb's cord blood too. But KKH one works differently from other cord blood bank. No need to pay fees for storage but should any kid needs it, they are authorised to use it.

blue rabbit
i see. no payment as well? for the gynae to extract the cord blood?

heh, u sign up antenatal class liao har? i wanted to do so but unfortunately, didn't go for it in the end.

missmoon,
I also dunno the detail.

I hvn't sign up yet, intend to do it soon in a month's time.

The breast pump that u bought is it called Avent ISIS? I went to Kiddy Palace and saw it but it looks like manual to me
kao_confused.gif

blue rabbit
i think full name of product is Avent ISIS UNO which has both electric and manual functions. if i'm not mistaken, Avent ISIS is manual?

Got a scare of my life this morning. When i was cleaning up after passing motion, i see a patch of red stain! Quickly rushed to see doctor and did a v-scan plus taking a look at the cervix. Dr said the bleeding comes from the cervix and some pple tend to get it during their first pregnancy. Anyone experience this before? So scared that now i dare not leave my bed, been lying here the whole afternoon...

chloe
how far along are you? this is my first pregnancy, and i haven't experienced that so far. but everyone's body is built differently. i understand that early on in first trimester, it's common to have spotting? if gynae isn't too worried, pls try not to worry too much also. rest more

hi missmoon

i am in my 5th week. No more bleeding so far, but will have to be more careful from now on.

diveera, thanks, will do a lot of bed rest starting from now.

Chloe,
I also no bleeding since my last menses. Now that ur bleeding has stopped, don't worry too much. Hv plenty of bed rest and no household chores.

missmoon,
The Avent Isis UNO is what I want to buy, u really bought it at a very good price leh. It's selling at $279 now.

chloe
that's good
i'm sure everything will be all right. most importantly, must be positive and happy lah...NO carrying heavy stuff

blue rabbit
hopefully got other fairs coming up, see got good bargains bo.

I heard from other MTBs there's nothing much at the WH sale so don't waste time and effort going there.

Hi Curious

Me bn busy with work too.

I just past the 1 tri, now in the 13th week. However the nausea doesn't seems to go away though I don't get it daily.

Trust you are all well!

Diveera,
I think nausea will fade gradually...when u don't think of it, it'll juz be gone.
Hope yours be gone soon too!!

hi curious, just had my checkup on Sat. Now at 27weeks. Dr keep wanting me to rest at home cos he said that this coming month is very crucial. After I pass this month, it's not so risky even if it's preterm. I am on leave this week anyway and still contemplating whether to take the other 2weeks of MC before the next checkup.

How's everyone's progress?

Hi tch, is there any reason why Dr want you to rest at home even though u r already at 27weeks?

I did IVF at KK under Dr Shelia Loh but switch to my own gynae at Mt E. So not sure if the test/checks for normal preg is similar to IVF.

Due for my blood test & detail scan this thu, Jun 15.

hi tch,
thanks for updating... well, since Dr Loh already highlighted u on this issue, perhaps u shld get further MC to have a very good rest at home. after this period, u can go to work again.

as for me, so far so good. I'm just into my 2nd trimester. appetite is improving....but still try not to eat too much cos will have bloatedness.

hi curious
good to know ur appetite is better now. i too had bloatedness even in 2nd tri but it got better as progress along further into mid 2nd tri

hi tch
shld heed doc's advice then
u're carrying twice the weight and since he said crucial period, shld just take the 2 wks mc? can always go back to work after that, as curious said. how big r ur bbs now?

hi diveera
i'm sure nausea will fade away soon...dun think abt it
i compared the checkups wif other preggie frens...seems like quite a standard procedure, no diff from other gynaes at all. good luck wif ur detailed scan
u'll be able to tell the bb's gender then, right?

i still hv 3 more weeks to go!! can really feel the weight bearing down on me now...backaches etc. more tired and achy these days...and soooo hard to get a good nite's sleep! otherwise, the anticipation to the BIG day is really building up

diveera, cos i am carrying twins..high risk of preterm delivery..

Curious, good to hear that your appetite is improving..enjoy while u can.

Missmoon, i understand how u feel. I am already feeling that way now. Can you imagine, even the Dr also comment that my stomach is big...good thing you only have 3 more weeks to go. I can hardly sleep well too. Sometimes waking up at 4/5am, can't get back to sleep.

missmoon,
wow! 3 more wks to go!!! time flies!!!! all preparation done?

oh initially i still thot my 2nd bb can wear those old clothes worn by my elder one. but recently found out that those old clothes, look quite old & the elastic bands for the baby's pants are all loosed! think I kept for 4 yrs lah... so my hubby said gotta buy again.

now I hv to find time when I'm less tired & go buy those clothes.

Good morning mummies,
Glad to hear that all are progressing well.

Abt MS, although i'm into my Wk18, I still feel nausea everyday. How I wish it would pass very soon.

tch,
Take this chance to rest at home, work can wait

missmoon,
3 weeks pass by very fast one... it's time to deliver before u know it

curious,
So long didn't see u here, everything ok?

morning everyone!

tch, can understand the lack of sleep...some more u carrying 2 inside of u! take this time to rest more and rest well at home
so long as bbs are growing well, that's all that matters lah, they're all sooo precious to us, afterall we've gone thru

curious
preparation done but my mental preparation still not complete. heee. take this GSS seriously and start shopping for ur little one... maybe take leave and go shopping? hopefullyl less crowded.

blue rabbit
hope the MS will go away and u can start enjoying a good appetite soon! wow...u can expect to do ur detailed scan very very soon? in 2 wks time?

at times i wish 3 wks will pass slowly, yet on the other, hope it'll pass quickly...very contradicting hor. i also dunno y...

take good care, everyone.

blue rabbit,
yes, everything ok...thanks...
last nite I had char siew rice + roast duck for dinner. I also ordered some oyster vege. to my surprise, I finish everything & still felt like not very full! but I told myself not to be too greedy this time. so after that, rest a while...tummy feel jus right.

missmoon,
ya lor...think hv to take maybe halfday leave in the afternoon, then go shopping to buy bb clothes, milk bottles etc. but hor...I'm only 14 wks plus...I still find a bit too early to buy leh... but again, now GSS...don't want to miss the chance to grab good bargains.

do u know anywhere selling bb stuffs having sale now? i wan2 jus go, grab & go home. zoom in faster lah...instead of going shopping aimlessly & wasting my leave... Robinson? Seiyu? Thanks...

curious
i went Tangs...there're some bb stuff there, got Tollyjoy bb clothing there which i was recommended...not bad lah. think tangs range is small but basically can get stuff lo. depends on wat brand bottles u wanna get. but robinsons, seiyu and tangs...definitely cannot go wrong. oh yes, takashimaya too, i think. maybe wait a couple wks more? when does GSS end anyway? heee...if still on after the school holidays, even better. lesser crowd.

wah, ur appetite quite good...but got self control, so good!

tch, do listen to the Dr, take the MC and rest well.

missmoon, you take good care too. only 3 more weeks to go.....

To the rest of the MTBs, take good care and hope you ladies have a good work week.

missmoon,
i also dunno when does GSS end. anyway, maybe i'll go check it out end June. hopefully like u said, less crowd & also hope to hv good buy. milk bottles, i dun go for branded or expensive ones. last time my older child, i juz buy normal types & use pigeon teats.

oh yes, gotta buy some size S teats. in case those teats that come with the milk bottles are not size S. newborn use size S teats.

thanks for your compliments. me not good in self control lah...juz that I got the merlion phobia liao. so now, must be more obedient....must remind myself not to eat too much.

juz now ard 11am plu, I ate 2 slices of cake. then lunch time 12.30pm ate 1 bowl of noodles. yum yum!! so happy! i still hv another 2 slices of cakes. later hungry at 3pm or 4pm can eat again. btw, wonder if cake is no good for preggie? Is it too high in sugar?

curious
haha...u're most welcome. got appetite, good. just eat. really! i think so long as there's not too much carbo in it, shld be ok. cakes ah...maybe got high sugar content...not so advisable to take too much? anything and everything in moderation.

heard newborns can use many many teats type hor...no teeth also can "spoil" so many.

Had my scan today. Baby is only 3.8mm, Dr mentioned it is so tiny becos it is just the beginning of week 6. Heart beat has started, but considering it is still very early, it is slower now. Hopefully during my next scan in the 8th week, everything will be clearer. i may have more than 1 baby, cos he also saw another 2 sacs, but without heartbeat. He said as my uterus is straight up, he could not see the other 2 clearly, so still dunno whether they are actually babies. Got to wait and see lor. Watever it is, i am happy as long as i can have one. If more than one, then the extras will be bonuses!

missmoon, not true that newborns will spoil the teats. So don't hv to buy too many. Especially Avent, cos the very first step is 0mth, after that there is the next step for 1mth. So they will outgrow the teats very fast.

As for clothings, check out John Little. During my elder son time, I bought a lot of little white ones for new borns and younger bbs, very comfy and cheap during sale. Don't know whether they still hv them now.

Chloe, wow 3??? Congrats..keep us updated.

hi MTBs, jus got results yest tt i hv been tested positive.... am with kkh ivf but wld like to hv a gynae in pte practice?? when is the gd time to switch gynae?? hw shld i tell kkh gynae abt it?? thanks

Hi MTBs
I know tht some of u switch gynaes once confirmed pregnant after IVF. Is this advisable ? Also, when filling up the form for insurance for ivf, u would have stated the hospital name, so if mid-term changes hosp, does insurance company still honour the claim if there is one eventually when bb is born ?