IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi humble
i go to eu yan sang paragon to see dr xia rong for acu and medication.
she speaks english although she is more comfortable in mandarin.
she's generally very nice and helpful so you might want to give her a try.
but she will be on leave for one week starting next thu.
hope this helps.

im new to this thread, jus found out yest tat my hcg level is positive..quite excited and worried at same time..i havent had any discharge at all so far, is tat bad? my tummy seems to be getting slighltly smaller as well, not so bloated as before..but the headaches and nausea when it strikes, is extremely bad..anyone experiencing same thing? allowed to take panadol?

Jolene,

Hope like me, you can be successful under the sinseh's help..actually for me, wanted to stop halfway but my husband insist I must have trust and finish it..hee hee..so fight on..will pray for you..

Ya very nervous abt the scan..even dreamt of it..haha

Welcome puipui...er I don't have the same experience, probably it's good to check with your doc..

Jolene
in no time, u'll be a part of this thread
good luck!!

puipui
dun worry lah, every one's body built differently, so not all will hv the same symptoms. mine too, tummy shrunk during early 1st tri...and headaches/nausea r part of it although i only had mild nausea. i've heard fr some MTBs that they got persistent headaches. i think the normal panadol is fine cos i asked nurses if i was able to take it when i had fever. but do call ur doc to check just to be on safe side. i was told not to touch the STRONG panadol though.

thanks, really anxious for the next scan in 2 weeks time to see baby heartbeat and check if im having singleton or twins..is anyone having multiples here? i had triplets last year but lost them at 23 weeks due to complications..im jus glad tat im able to conceive thru ivf again in these 3 mths. at least can move on and look forward to having another baby.

Winter
thanks for the info, thinking of going to the same acu as u on tue, i m fine as long as she understands that i m going through ivf or test tube baby. Twins will be great for you i think, wouldn't it? Good luck

Jolene,
thanks, will wait for your info on mon and then go on tue to see her. I have a close friend who can speak mandarin but i hav not told her anythin abt the ivf thats why hesitant to bring her with me. My HB can speak hokein (hope i spelled correctly)very well, but dont know if that wil help.

You can post the acu info on cycle buddies thread, me too very much want to join this thread. I m sooooo happy for all the lovely ladies here. I m sure we can make it jolene.

Teddybaby,
Can you give me the tel no? would like to give it a try. thanks a lot.

Hi humble/Jolene,
I'm into my 8th weeks now. BB has grown and heart beat is very strong. Thanks for asking and I hope to see both of u joining us here very soon

puipui,
I also hv nausea and no appetite and it's getting worse. In fact, my Doc told me that nausea is good... he said that if I don't feel nausea he'll be worried. So try to bear with it, it'll pass.

Lately I've been having this weird taste in my mouth. I feel like sucking some sour or sweet stuffs. Any suggestions what to put inside the mouth?

Last nite I went to a shop 'Umeya' or something...to try out some of their preserved tibits but don't quite like it. Sigh...now I don't know what I like...I've to go for trial-an-error.

Jolene,
I'm sure the day will come very soon! Relax is the key word! Jia you!

hi curious
it's normal to have this weird taste in the mouth...it's cos of hormonal change that causes this strange metallic taste, and our body also producing more blood volume to feed bb

for me, i dislike all this preserved tidbits stuff so i just drink lots of water to rid of the taste, if not it's those sugarless mint

missmoon & blue rabbit,
thanks. juz now after lunch, i'm ok already. hee hee...will try fruit juice tomolo cos I don't fancy preserved tibits too...juz thot now bo bian...feel like sucking just 1 or 2 pieces temporary only.

curious, blue_rabbit
try not to take sweet stuff before ur gynae appt hor, cos soon, u'll be asked to test on urine strip that tests for sugar and protein levels. i kena once, drank prune juice before seeing gynae. and i was asked to go for GTT.

my appetitite has suddenly surged, now i keep feeling so hungry all the time and keepr craving for durian..jia lat, now onli 4 weeks plus oredi eat so much, but i know the nausea and vomitting will hit me lata on in another few weeks, so might as well enjoy my good appetitite now

puipui
haha, enjoy ur cravings! listen to ur body lah, indulge once in a while is ok. ur bb still growing at this stage. i was told only 3rd tri need to slow down, cos otherwise bb grow too big, dunno true or not. dun think of the nausea and vomitting now

Hi blue rabbit,
Yesterday I called up KK to enquire about antenatal package and maternity hospitalisation package under Dr Loh. Was quoted the following and wanted to share with you. I find it quite expensive as he is a snr consultant. Do u feel the same?

<u>1) Antenatal package (sign up at 5th mth)</u>
- $620.
- Medisave can claim $450.
- Difference of $170 bill after give birth.
- This antenatal package includes only normal scheduled consultations &amp; urine tests. The rests (scans, vitamins etc) have to pay.

<u>2) Maternity hospitalisation package</u>
- 2 types; Classic and Premier Packages
- This includes delivery charges, doctor's visits, nursery charges.
- exclude anesthesia, miscellaneous, paediatric to check on baby after birth etc.

<u>Premier Package - $3570+</u>
- medisave claim $1250.
- Must stay in A1 ward.
- During labour assessment, our selected gynae will do the assessment &amp; the delivery.
- No trainees or on-duty doctors to assess.

<u>Classic Package - Didn't find out the price.</u>
- Stay in B1 ward and above.
- During labour assessment, a group of trained doctors will assess the condition &amp; report to our selected gynae.
- Our selected gynae will only 'appear' upon onset of delivery.

In fact I'm in a dilemma now. Initially I thought I should continue to see Dr Loh from now till I deliver. But looking at charges, I wonder if private hospital &amp; the gynae fees are much cheaper? Or about the same?

I heard staying at A1 ward in KK, there's no subsidy is it? Cos already staying in A1, they take it as 'the person can afford'?

Though I gave birth 4 years ago at GlenE, I've forgotten the amount I spent there. My husband said is more or less the same. Anybody wish to share your opinions?

curious, I have signed for the antenatal package and possibly will take up the Premier Package unless there is a need to downgrade to B1. I also find it rather ex.

Your's is a singleton case right? If so, it probably doesn't matter whether u go to Pte hospital or KKH. Whereas for me, since I am carrying twin, I choose to remain in KKH as Dr has said in the case of preterm, he will downgrade me and also I think they are better equipment for such things.

Hi tch,
Thanks for sharing. Wow! Yours is twins ah? Oh yes I remembered you mentioned that you'll be having 3 boys...am I right?

I haven't gone for the scan yet so I don't know if I'm carrying singleton or twins. I 'think' shld be a singleton cos I heard if twins or triplets, the initial bHCG is very very high...is this true?

Btw, what's your bHCG when u tested on day 17? Still can remember? Mine was abt 227 and it rises to 668 after 2-3 days.

If I switch to pte hospital, I don't know which gynae is good. The previous gynae who delivered my 1st child, I don't quite like her. So not intending to see her again. Though I've gathered some info (their charges etc) of a few pte gynaes, I really don't about their skill and attitude. Unless thro' recommendation, else very difficult to charge leh. Unless I go &amp; try the pte gynae myself then I can tell whether I like him or not.

hi curious,

jus wondering, wats ur hcg level when u tested? mine tested on day 15 was 350.5 so doc said most likely singleton..u tested again after2 to 3 days? is it necessary? jus wondering coz my doc told me to leave it alone till next sat to scan if having 1 or 2 babies..so not sure if really need to mointor closely these 2 weeks.

puipui,
i hv mentioned my bHCG level in the thread juz b4 yours. day 16, HCG was abt 227. I went to pte gynae to monitor after 2-3 days, was 600+. I also heard if HCG very high, the higher chance of getting multiples.

Btw, my mum juz knew abt my SO-IUI. She is very worried that I'm having multiples and a bit angry that I resort to this assisted procedure. She said I shld try naturally. Anyway, she is my mum. I jus keep quiet. Perhaps she thinks differently from me.

hi curious,

sorry, didnt seee ur ealier thread..mm, so far my doc onli mentioned tat my level would be a singleton..i had triplets b4, tested at day 17, the hcg level was 2645. so maybe tat was wat they meant by very high..

i understand wat u mean by ur mum reaction..my mum and mil blamed me for doing ivf last year when i lost my triplets as well, they said i should have tried naturally too and reminded me many times not to do ivf again..even my relatives advised against it..but i dun believe tat ivf is wrong and it gave me hope to have a child esp trying for past 4 years. i jus told my mum im pregnant too but her reaction is like urs, she dun dare to tell anybody for fear i lose the baby again..so im very paranoid abt tis baby, very precious to me now..dun worry so much, i believe tat as long u have a good doc, even with multiples, u can manage to carry them..i had complications previously cause my antenatal care was not very good and the problems snowballed till it was too late to save..so dun worry so much and rest well, its important to find a doc tat handles multiples well though, cause mine immediately transferred me to another doc once i had complications..which really reflected badly to me.

Hi curious,
I compared with my friends too. In fact, KK charges at A1 is about the average gyne package outside. There are some cheap packages at HDB practices like Sembawang, Sengkang... The problem is facility. One of my friend was seeing in Gleneagles when her baby had serious problems with growth. Her gyne told her that to deliver the baby in Gleneagles will cost her about few hundred thousand dollars for the baby intensive care. When her gyne tried to send her to KK, the intensive care there was full so that they would only accept babies born to KK patients. She was sent from one hospital to another. But then, very few people as unlucky as my friend.

I am in the Private Suite too. I remember that for premier package, I could choose to stay in B1 too. The amount for delivery package is cheaper than that, I remember. I'd better check it out the next visit too.

Hi puipui,
Thanks...I'm sorry to hear your plight. Thanks I understand what u mean &amp; I know &amp; read somewhere about your incident with the previous gynae. Actually I'm rather shocked too.

Wow! Your previous hcg level was real high! Actually I'm worried abt this baby too. I hope all of us will succeed this time round and be proud mothers in Dec!

As for your mum &amp; MIL, they are concern of you, that's why. I think our mothers' time, they can conceive easily so they don't understand why we need to go through all these. I really hope they can understand us cos going thro all these programmes aren't easy. At least give us mental support lah...right?

Hi Christine,
Thanks for sharing. I think if Premier Package too expensive for me, I'll choose Classic Package. I called up KK nurse yesterday to enquire. She told me in Classic Package, as long as I choose B1 &amp; above, I'll be seen &amp; delivered by my own gynae. But during routine checkup, I'll see my gynae at Clinic D &amp; not TPS. Whew!! That's what I want. I don't want those trainees etc to touch me leh...

As for Premier Package, it is a must to stay in A1. I think the difference between Premier &amp; Classic Package is about $1K. To me, that's a lot. Anyway, after labour, we only stay in hospital for abt days. So B1 also can lah.

I told my hubby B1 I think is 4 bedded. Then toilet wise will be a little inconvenient. Especially after labour, we tend to spend longer time in the toilet, cleaning &amp; washing etc. Then he told me to choose A1 then. I'll check with my gynae when I see him next week.

curious,
All IVF patients r put into A1 ward. We hv to sign consent forms before we start the treatment, so I hv no choice but to take A1 lor. Good also cos my hubby can stay with me when I deliver
I'm sure I need all the help he can offer.

Btw, my EDD is 16/11/06. Doc Loh calculated for me alr and my bb is 1.53cm as on last Sat.

How's ur scan, was it yesterday?

Hi blue rabbit,
Oh ya hor...I forgotten that IVF patients must stay in A1. Paiseh....

I haven't seen Dr Loh yet. Appt is next week...still hv to wait long long leh.....

Btw, can u feel your bb's heartbeat when u lie down and put hands on your tummy? Last nite when I lie down on sofa, I put my hands on tummy &amp; could feel heartbeat. My hubby said it's my own heartbeat! LOL
But how can my own heartbeat be felt on the tummy?

curious,
Really??? U can feel ur bb's heartbeat ah??!!
I can't feel leh, my hubby also said he can't hear it when he put his ear on my tummy. Can only see from scan that it's beating very fast.

jus wondering if its necessary to sign up package and when should i sign up..sorry but im totally clueless abt these things..

thanks curious,

has ur tummy slimmed down alot, mine has, so im getting alittle worried..not sure if i should ask my doc to give me another hcg test to check or not..i dun seem to get any symptoms as well, very anxious lor.

Ya puipui, do stay positive &amp; juz treat everything as per normal. Just set an alarm 1 day b4 your appt date to remind yourself. Then forget about the date, hee hee...(if possible).

Your tummy may 'look' slimmed down perhaps due to the clothes you wore that day or something. Sometimes different material will flatten the tummy. But in actual fact, tummy still not slimmed down.
Whatever it is, like blue rabbit said, worry too much no good....

Btw, my tummy doesn't 'slimmed down'. Morning look small, afternoon slightly bigger. But when evening and at night, tummy even bigger. My mum asked me why only 5 wks, look like 3 mths at night?

I've bought maternity skirts from a maternity shop. The skirt is super stretchable at the waist with elastic waistband only at the back. I can adjust the elastic inside. In fact it doesn't look like maternity wear at all. I put on babydoll top with that skirt. Still can look very slim. Only if I lift up the top and poise sideways, then I can see tummy bulging.

thanks for the positive encouragement, i guess im stressing myself too much lor..maybe cause i had very bad ohss so now its getting better so my tummy seems to have gone down alot so felt uneasy abt it..my hubby arranged an appt to see another doc at raffles hospital, a physchatrist to help me cope with my stress and anxiety..cause i had quite abit of depression in my 1st pregnancy as well, so he hopes tat a therapist can help cope with my tis pregnancy and help me feel more calm abt the changes.

hi bluerabbit,

my scan will be next friday so i think baby should be ard 6 weeks then, not sure if can detect heart beat by then? i read from sm ladies, 6 weeks sometimes still cannot see, so not sure oso..i remembered tat time kkh scanned me once at ard 5 weeks plus cause i had quite abit of brown spotting and at tat time onli 2 sacs could be seen, so sm how at 1 week later, 3 heart beats could be seen..so i guess need time for them to grow? but if im carrying a singleton, tis will be something new lor..my husband oredi warned me not to be paranoid if my tummy doesnt grow as big and as fast as my 1st pregnancy..

are u all first time mothers here? hope to learn more from u all if u are 2nd timers esp when nearing towards 3rd trimester

hi puipui,
your hubby so good....

i'm not 1st timer. i've a 4 yr old daughter.
this morning I think my breakfast couldn't digest, and later vomitted. hope that is my 1st and last time...

hi mtbs,
how's everyone doing? Hope all the little ones in u gals are doing great too.

Just a question, how many of you are working after getting pregnant here? I m thinking whether to tell my boss or not. If i want to continue i better dont tell her.

winter,
how's your job? are u still working? remember u saying job is quiet stressful.

morning everyone!

hi humble
i'm still working
i took 2 months leave after testing positive and returned to work only in jan this year. i didn't tell my boss abt the IVF but did tell him that i was going for a procedure during the ER and ET stage. then told him that i m preggie and gynae wanted me to take hospital leave to rest until pregnancy is stabilised.

good morning ladies.

humble,
I'm still working, did not stop even during treatment, except the 5 days MC given by kkh.

puipui,
I'm a first time mom, so a lot of things to learn from curious.

curious,
where did u buy the skirt from and how much is it? Btw, is there any the pregnant ladies cannot eat? Like raw food and anything else? And can ML in first trimester or not?

humble,
I'm working too. My job is quite 'sin nang' so no problem.

blue rabbit,
paiseh lah...can say share tips lah...don't say learn from me leh...cos I'm a blur blur person. Hee hee!! As for the maternity skirt, it cost abt $50+. Bought it at Perfect Mum but not at Hougang branch, cos remember I told u that sales gal? I went to International Plaza branch. After I bought, a bit 'sim tia' cos I find it quite X. But very comfortable. So to fully utilised it, start wearing now, haha!

Re: Anything pregnant ladies cannot eat?
Ans: I asked Dr Loh b4. He said avoid coffee, blue cheese, raw food, smokers, alcohol &amp; chinese herbs. Basically I eat anything one...

Re: Can ML in 1st trimester?
Ans: I read from magazines &amp; bks, usually they say can. But I don't know why KKIVF nurse told me cannot at the moment. So I follow instructions lor.... Maybe you can email Dr Loh and ask him, hee hee!!

humble, I am still working too. Did not stop during the cycle as well except for the MCs given.

I am a second time mum so I am taking real easy...hehehe..just that as I am caring twins now, I can really feel the difference.

My morning sickness was worst. I actually did vomited food most of the time after dinner. But that is over now. Then, the tummy is getting so much bigger than last time. Sometimes I feel like I am already as big as my 3rd trimester in last pregnancy. Getting breathless more easily also, I suppose due to twins.

My appetite is ok now though not as good as No. 1 cos I think my stomach got squashed so can't eat much.

In addition, my hands and feet also start swelling a little now at 19weeks though in my 1st preggy, it only starts in the last 2 months or so.

blue rabbit, besides raw food, cannot eat grass jelly, aloe vera, sugar-free sweets(due to aspartum ingredients).

Puipui, don't worry, I had OHSS and my stomach also reduced after confirmed positive. Don't give yourself too much stress. Just take it easy and be happy

thanks curious and tch.

curious, I broke the rule of 'no sex in 1st trimester' liao. Paiseh to ask Doc leh. Anyway, no bleeding so far, so I think it's alright lah. And seeing my hb like so poor thing so I gave in lor.

blue rabbit, usu for such things, i ask hubby to ask himself... and he'd ask.... and i'd just smile.... he say nothing to paiseh about one....

HI MTSs,
Thanks for the reply, it will help me to make my decision later.

tch,
wow, u work with twins ah? Take care

HAPPY AND HOPPY EASTER TO ALL THE MTBs!

403848.gif
403849.gif
403850.gif
403851.gif

i oso broke the no sex rule but i had an orgasm as well..no bleeding though its been 1 day so far, hope it will not hurt the baby.

Humble,

Ya still working..wanted to take leave but in the end came back to work...today is Saturday and I'm still working...

tch, did Dr Loh mention that we should take mc from week 24 onwards? I thought I heard him mention 24 weeks..that's early...dun know how to tell my boss..

Puipui, from your experience, do you think I will see another heartbeat in my next scan...am quite afraid the 3rd will appear...

hi winter,

my 3rd baby tat time didnt appear at 5 weeks when i went for scan, onli till ard 6.5 weeks did they see a 3rd heartbeat.. i think by tat time they should be able to confirm the no of babies tat u are having..i advise early bed rest as they suggest though cause multiples make ur tummy very big very early on..i was oredi on bed rest by the time i hit 4 mths, by 5mth oredi size of a normal full term singleton, very scary feeling cause grew so fast esp since it was 1st pregnancy, so take as much rest u can afford.

Thanks puipui for the info...
actually rest early is also a good thing...hee hee can escape from stressful work...

hi winter,

no prob, try not to overwork urself lor..im not working so can rest but time sure passes really slow..sm times feel like working part time but my husband rather i stay at home and rest..but i have to do an op on my cervix at 4 mths so will have to be on bedrest till birth esp if im carrying twins..well next friday will know