Bluenosebear,

Yup that's me! Oh so you're the one after me
Tmr my appt is at 10.. Hope you're before me cos i think i'll take a while.. Quite scared of the jab.. Until now, i have to take so many deep breaths before i can poke in the needle for gonal f..

Min/Bluenosebear > Cetrotide is the one must mix a liquid & powder tog one itiz? Last night I blow my top at my dh! He forgotten n can't understand when I starting my lucrin & e difference btw long & short protocol. I told him I v sad cos all he did was just administer my jabs for me.... Then I felt bad after saying such comments.

Dreambear- stay cool
He already very good to administer on U, though he might be very heartache to jab U
Correct, Cetrotide need to mix. But Lucrin don need

faith > missus is using Dr Sadhana + TCM TSB combo.

As for advices during the IVF process, sisters in this forum great to share, especially on Red Bean which can help to grow lining

May the Force Be With You

Hah Positive > Am I asking for too much from my dh then? But it's just So annoying lor! Gynae & TCM talk to both of us & yet they still dun understand????

Dreambear,

Try to relax k.. Cool down.. I also don't explain everything to hubby all at one time.. I just tell him a bit more as we go thru each stage.. It can be complicating, sometimes i'm blur too.. I'm sure he cares abt the ivf as much as you

Dreambear - my hubby also blurblur one.. he usually goes into consultation with me then keep mostly quiet and will come out with more "I don't understand" than before he went in.. the ivf ppt presentation gave him abit more understanding but I bet he has already forgotten the bulk.. I think most men only remember - menses, injection, er, et and bt.. any small details in between they don't get.. but I'm also sure this does not equate to them not caring abt the procedure.. I'm sure ur dh cares abt u and what u r going thru alot too.. guys are just generally not so into details.. forgetful lot.. =)

Hi all, I am gg through a new journey with Ivf. There are still many things that I'm unsure of though after reading from the Internet.. How many types of protocol are available for Ivf? On average, how many days of scans is needed throughout the cycle? I'm concerned because my company doesn't give time offs... Sad...

Dreambear, dun feel too upset, ok? i realise cant expect much from DH..my dh also doesnt ask any questions during doc or tcm visits..neither does he adminster the injections for me...in the past, i feel very sian and upset..feel that he doesnt really care and i am the only one pushing along...esp when he's so busy with work n wont ask me anything unless i remind him..but slowly, i learn to take things easy..close one eye and dun expect too much fr him so that i am in a better mood..at least, he bothers to take the supplements diligently...so ur dh already quite good..at least does the injection for u...just need reminders only..n i am sure he cares for u too..

tsf: i have only been through a cycle which failed though...based on what i understand fr the sisters here, there are 2 types of protocol - long & short...short is where u start the injection on D2/D3 of the cycle..for long, i think u start the injections in the previous month.. when i was having short protocol, i met up with the dr on D2 to collect the injections...thereafter, think i was like having 3 scans till the extraction.. no scan between extraction and transfer..and after transfer, no scans either till the blood test..

ya my dh also cannot be bothered. he also dun understand a cycle is 28 days, and ovulation is D14 or so. ev consultation he just kept quiet, and when he came out, he asked me Q i dunno hw to ans. then i asked him why dun he ask the dr directly!? and when i got mid cycle spotting aft fail cycle wic i told him, but 2 wks later he forgot, and thot that was my mense. and he asked why i am still expecting my mense. faints.

brchow> ytd i went to see dr tan, but he said my mense 3 days is normal leh.. btw, u starting in april, wic is hw many mths rest from last cycle? i will be on long, use the same stim drugs as u, n saizen too. i dunno when to start yet. booked for may or june.. but must redo bt. are u on dhea also? when dr scan, he dun charge? also do u rem hw much is his subsequent consultations? dr tan is a handsome n positive dr, too bad cannot see him often hee.. he looks young hor, but married with kids liao

wondersss> u are starting in may, wic is still within 6mths, no need redo ivf bt? also hw many times per day u taking dhea?

min> hw was yr scan ytd? follicles? do u exp sneezing and eczema flares up during stim? i got that and even now continues..

babysmurf> is yr cramps better now??

oh, and ytd dr asked to redo my amh bt. but there was no blood from the usual veins i usu took for bt! in the end had to poked at where usu poke for the drip... first time no blood fr that vein. is it cos too cold? one hr in kkh i already shivering..

lin: maybe my age n ur age diff. me spotting a day b4 AF, then day 1 of AF is light (1 pad last whole day), day 2 moderate heavy, day 3 bk to less than usual n day 4 light or finish. so for smthg like that at my age may b a concern for dr.
i failed my 1st mid dec n rested fr then till coming cycle which is ard 3rd wk of apr. like that is abt 4 mths bah.
i'm still on short. no dhea required but will hv to redo the necessary BTs cos more than 6mths by the time i ER in early may. when dr scan my ovaries, there is charge of $28 on top of the dr consultation fees $59.
arh... i dunno he got kids leh.... handsome yes lah... hahaha... but not available liao... kekeke.

Lin,

Now that you bring it up, i did have a flare of rhinitis 2 nights ago.. I haven't had it for a long time so was quite uncomfortable.. I didn't wanna think too much and just took it as a one-off thing.. Eczema so far don't have (i prayi pray i pray!).. Maybe all these might flare cos of over active hormones due to jabs.. You using nasal spray? How's ur skin? Try using cetaphil..

Yesterday's scan R side 5 follicles, L side 4.. All 10mm.. Started on cetrotide this morning.. Next scan on sat..

min, think u b gg for ER soon w ur pretty good follicles

brchow n lin, im oso hving short n little af, not sure whether itiz gd or bad

tsf0205, as wat dream mentioned there r long n short protocol, think for long protocol, d jab will start at D21. prehaps u can request for mc during ur scan.

Wondering if any of u did ivf at kkh? If yes how much do u girls paid?

What is the estimated cost for 1 cycle of ivf?

How much cash do we have to fork out? And how much will govt subsidise?

As we don't have medisave I need to know how much it cost..

Thanks..

lin, im also on short protocol and using Gonal F & saizen for next cycle.. same as brchow..

Brchow, *hi 5* im exactly the same as u... i thought u trying in april?? so are we going to be cycle buddies for this cycle...?? hehehe.. so excited!!! y need to redo BT?? Dr Sadhana never ask me to redo le... hmm..

Strawberries - I'm with KKIVF and for first fresh, government grant is 6.3k and can use 6k from Medisave.. So generally almost everything is covered cos the estimated cost of ivf at kkh is between 10-12k but there are some items which are not claimable.. Like bloodtests for hiv etc, registration fee, compulsory ivf presentation, storage fees if u have embryos to freeze and also the consultation fees u pay to the dr before u actually start ivf at kkivf center.. I think all.these come up to almost 2k cash..

Wondersss: I am juz reminded abt redo BT after 6 mths. I think if I do FET in May, I might haf to do BT again

Rembr my last BT was in Nov 2012. Shall I do FET in April anoT? hmmm..

lynx, issit?? We are about the same time le... y never ask me to do ar????
Aiya, u FET simpler liao.. me jialat.. got to restart again.. lols.. so looking forward to injections sia.. :p

wondersss: got leh.. Dr Sadhana asked me when I wanna do FET. Coz blood test done in Nov. SO maybe try to do it before the 6mth is due.
Why u looking fwd to injection?? tink u siaoz oredi.

Dreambear, yr hb very good already to help u do the injections. Mine cant b bothered at all..hehe. Everything i got to do n remember on my own.

Cheer up and JY! don let small matters affect yr mood.

Laki_gal: i'm not sure if short af is good or not. i'm just worried that short af mean lesser blood in endo to shed which in turn means low possibility of implantation...

wondersss/lynx_sea: i'm still starting my cycle in apr when AF arrives (ard 3rd wk bah).
i went thru w the nurse in kkivf centre. my last BT done on 20 Oct. so by the time i start cycling 3rd wk of apr,it wud b exactly 6 mths.
the nurse told me unless i start cycling in mar n did my ER b4 20 apr than no need to do BT again. the BT we did must b valid till the day we do our ER n not when we begin the cycle.
so even if u r a couple of days shy of ER for the BT results to be valid, u hv to retake.
my nx round still on short but 2 jabs to start off (pergoveris + saizen) then after abt 3/4 days add 1 more jab (orgalutran)... sianz to the max....

Lynx, actually injections are ok for me de... is the waking up in the mornings and go scans plus waiting abit sian lo
then how ar..?? should i call or write email to dr sadhana and ask her???

Brchow, what is pergoveris?

Dream: thanks for the advice! I'm not sure if I will be gg through the long or short protocol.... Jus hopefully not too much scans needed. Hee....
Laki gal: long protocol more scans??? If take too many mc, boss wun be pleased....

hi everyone...i have read here that hormones are usually messed up after ivf...how do we know if they are already back to normal? i just failed my first ivf in Jan/Feb and wondering when should i go for my FET..
My AF came last Sat which is about my usual cycle of 34 days and lasted for about 4 days...also abt the same as my previous cycles before i tried ivf...

tsf: yah...is difficult to inform bosses unless u tell them the truth..i did not and chose to tell the boss that i am going for a procedure...and i took a few days AL before my estimated retrieval and so manage to cover some of my scans while i am on leave...

where are u doing ivf? i think doc will advise u on long or short...though i dunno how they arrive at the decision...

tsf0205, i think long protocol will b hving more scan. Sorry can't advice u much as I was on short protocol. For sure, boss won't b happy if we r on leave or mc for too long. Bt i feel tat bfp is d most impt thing so for me, I won't care if my boss is unhappy as long as I finish my work on time. Bt if ur boss is those family type, prehaps u might wanna tell ur boss bout ur plan.

Dream, for me i rested only a mth n proceed w my FET but mostly, pple encourage to rest for at least 2 mths to ensure body is back to normal b4 FET.

Laki, dunno y...maybe cos failed once liao...now like no motivation to prepare for FET...i initially want to start taking supplements but is like half hearted...thinking tat i may not make it for FET anyway

Dear sisters > Thank u for all ur assurance tat most dh r like mine!! I will try to look at the bright side.

Bluenosebear > Gd to see u again! We finally have the chance to talk to each other!!!!

BrChow > Mine af also like ur's, very light. After failed ivf, got even lesser but when back to normal after lap. Normal for me means D1 & D2, 2 pads each day enough already & D3 onwards v v v light flow le.

Dream - Don't give up! Must jiayou! Not every first tries is a success case.. Preserve and I'm sure BFP will be near de!

I read usually those with PCOS are usually given short protocol, not sure how true isit.. I have PCOS and am going to start short protocol.. Maybe next time I see Dr I will ask how the decision is made..

Last time always hope AF don't come.. Now when I wana start cycle its like stuck and haven start.. Aiyoooo...

Laki-gal: ya will update again after my next visit next month. It's my first Ivf attempt, probably it will be a long protocol. Btw, is there anywhere to learn about the short form terms? I see alot of unfamiliar terms. Heehee.....

Babysteps, dun keep thinking abt starting ur ivf.. Will stress ur Af... When I was starting my ivf, my Af actually delayed by a week n I was still googling online on how to induce af naturally... haha .. So take it easy...

Mayb I rest next wk n start fresh in mar

Dream - Hehe, thanks! I try! I was wondering, how the nurses do day2 scan for u girls ah? I know I have to do ultrasound on day2 but I mean, got AF wor, do they do it the same way like when they scan follies? Wont it be v messy? (Sorry, tmi)

Positive,

Today's the 6th day of jabs.. I'm told to continue this dosage till saturday after yesterday's scan.. Dunno whether will increase after this sat's scan..

Baby steps,

Last time i was so worried abt that day 2 scan too.. Hehe.. But it was ok la.. I think the docs are used to it..

Hi ladies, just like to check if i dont attend a funeral, can i still give "bai jin"?

tsf0205, i'm now in the suppresion stage of the long cycle with KKH, on day 21 you go down to collect your lucrin, you probably need 1.5 - 2 hrs and you can go anytime from 10am - 3pm. I have to return for BT and V scan on day 14 morning. There might be another BT and V scan after day 14. Have to pay for lucrin. Medisave and grant only kicks in at stimulation stage.

Thanks girls, i hope i dont make a mess.. My day2 usually v heavy flow.. =p

My good friend just told me she preggy with #2 le.. ive been trying with her since she got #1, till now #2 liao i still #0.. Haha.. Hopefully this year is my year! Sharing the baby dust she spread to me to all u girls.. Jiayou!

Would like to share about something useful i bought today.. Bought a Blender Bottle (small size) from GNC.. Has a stainless steel whisk-like thing inside.. Just put water and powder and shake.. I tried it just now, all well mixed just in 10 sec.. Specially made to mix protein drinks so suitable for ensure milk.. But no hot boiling water..

Dian tang,

I'm doing ok, on short protocol
Still very scared of jabs but forcing myself to do on my own.. Sounds silly but i actually feel very accomplished after every jab

Min81: you are doing great! I also felt the same as you after the jab! Very soon the protocol is going to over . Just keep positive especially dur ur 2 ww !

Lin: I am better. Thank you. Will reply to u y this week. But damn sian. Kena bully in office. Have to settle baby stuffs. Have not even buy anything lol. Left another 15wks only. Scarely.

lynx_sea: the BT is exactly the same test which u did b4 embarking on ivf. think they r kiasu n at the same time being cautious that the mother n father dun carry any of those incurable/infectious diseases which definitely will pass onto the foetus.

tsf0205: this link will provide details abt the protocols s well s the drugs used in ivf
http://www.ivf-embryo.gr/en/ivf-protocols

wondersss: pergoveris usually is used for poor responders to the stim drugs. it has been produced which combines both luteinising hormone and FSH. There is hope that using the two hormones together may improve the quality of the embryo created and increase its chances of survival according to the internet.

min81: thks for sharing.... seems like a good tool to dissolve immunocal mix w fruit juice.. how much is it?

dreambear: my af has been short n moderately light since a year or two ago..... so i hope i'm not having early menopausal symptoms.... very worried... the bio clock in my body keep tick-tocking everyday macham like gonna explode anytime soon.

babysmurf: take care. y ur colleagues so evil to bully preg woman? anyway, dun get too stress out... not good for baby.

I am back! 新年好!
1st IVF was a failed cycle (july) with 7 eggs matured and 5 fertilised but nothing at blastocyst.. Changed clinic. Took DHEA for 5 months, TCM to improve egg DNA and antioxidants. Did my 2nd in Jan (last month). I had better results. 12 eggs and 9 matured but had zero fertilisation with ICSI. What a horror!
Like the cockroach, never say die I am going for my 3rd cycle end Feb/ early Mar depending on when the royal highness, AF arrives. I have stopped DHEA though i was advised to continue it. They think it could be the switch of medication. My gut feeling says it is DHEA.
Good luck to all ladies waiting for BT, on cycle and waiting for one.

Morning ladies

dream, dont gve up k, i was like u af failed my 1st ivf, i feel v sian coz thinkin of gg thru d jab all over again but then i still think of my main motive (being a mummy) so i still nv gve up n continue to jy. I believe we will b a mummy soon. Dont force urself to tk those supplements k, do it bits by bits n u will feel better as well. Let jy tog

tsf0205, prehaps u will b in short protocol, juz c wat ur doc plan for u, only our doc knw best k.

babysteps, im given short protocol bt i dont hve pcos so i oso not sure how our doc define d protocol for u.